Thursday, July 19, 2012

Anathallo - Floating World VINYL?

The Floating World Project was started by two guys across two countries, with one shared passion. Floating World by Anathallo is one of the most exciting, unique, emotional and colorful releases of the last ten years. It was released in 2006 independently by the band on CD with incredibly unique packaging. Today, we want to release Floating World on vinyl, with just as much attention to detail and quality as the music itself. To do this, we need your help. We have started a fundraising campaign that will go towards the pressing of this wonderful album onto high quality wax, all packaged in high quality materials.

This is a project I just got wind about yesterday from an online friend of mine I know from a few different forums, whose as big a fan of Anathallo as I've ever come across.

Anathallo, sadly, are on hiatus and/or retired for the foresee-able future. However, their music still remains for those to enjoy and discover. This in-effect 1st proper full-length LP was buzzing among the blogosphere and message boards around when it was released in 2006. And it was most fans 1st introduction to the band. It has been regarded by many as their most enjoyed and accomplished work (although, hardly their only, as many fans enjoy more or less everything they released).

Their follow-up LP Canopy Glow in 2008, was released on Vinyl, but this never was.

Just from chatting with this friend of mine a few hours ago, some kind of campaign could be launched to help fund the production of this record on Vinyl. Gatefold, 180 gram 2xLP perhaps. Price may range, but approximately $30 for a standard copy.

I guess right now, this is just an announcement for what may be coming pretty soon. A possible target date for a release could be by November 2012.

I would suggest anyone whose never heard the band or this album, to go online to various sites (youtube, spotify, grooveshark) and check it out. Also if you are one who enjoys Vinyl record collecting, or if you enjoy similar artists such as Sufjan Stevens, The Dear Hunter, Cloud Cult, etc among others.

1 Ame 0:49
2 Genessaret
(Going Out Over 30,000 Fathoms Of Water) 5:32
3 Hoodwink 5:48
4 By Number 5:08
5 Dokkoise House (With Face Covered) 6:00
6 Hanasakajijii
(Four: A Great Wind, More Ash) 4:44
7 Hanasakajijii
(One: The Angry Neighbor) 3:10
8 Inu (Howling) 1:19
9 Hanasakajijii (Two: Floating World) 4:57
10 The Bruised Reed 6:04
11 Yuki! Yuki! Yuki! 1:13
12 Hanasakajijii
(Three: The Man Who Made Dead Trees Bloom) 4:26
13 Cuckoo Spitting Blood 3:05
14 Kasa No Hone (The Umbrella's Bones) 2:08