Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Arch / Matheos - Winter Ethereal (2018-2019)

2nd single "Wanderlust"

haven't heard yet, will listen after work, etc. Bugs me a lot of other sites got promos, but whatevs, May 10th is only a 1-week from Friday (and an Album Stream probably will show up soon, although I also preordered).


At work = can't listen yet.

Dark/Gloomy cover art. Almost reminds me of like an Agalloch album cover. And the title "Winter Ethereal" sounds rather Agalloch, Opeth or Scandinavian Metal esque.

Anyway, very excited for May 10th, or even just later tonight to hear "Straight and Narrow" the 1st single (available on multiple formats: facebook, youtube, itunes, bandcamp, etc).

Love me some John Arch!

edit: Yeah "Straight and Narrow" is outstanding. Album of the Year?..maybe


Press Release on FB 

Arch / Matheos reveals details for new album, 'Winter Ethereal'; launches video for first single, "Straight and Narrow"

Winter Ethereal will be released May 10th on Metal Blade Records. A video for the song "Straight and Narrow" is available now for streaming. Watch the video and pre-order the album in various bundle packages at http://www.metalblade.com/archmatheos

In progressive metal circles, the names of guitarist Jim Matheos and vocalist John Arch are spoken with due reverence. With the former having been a driving force in Fates Warning for thirty-five years, and the latter the original front-man of that band, they also have a single seminal work under the Arch / Matheos banner, 2011's Sympathetic Resonance. In 2019, they have reunited to follow that record up with Winter Ethereal, a more stylistically varied and perhaps deeper collection that explores a lot of sonic territory over the course of nine immersive tracks. "This stems from both of us trying to step out of our comfort zones a bit, sometimes voluntarily, sometimes being pushed," states Matheos. "Having worked together so many times, it would be easy to fall into the same way of doing things, and I think we were both interested in exploring some new areas." Arch concurs and adds: "Each song is notably different from the next, and nothing sounds repetitive. It is not a concept album, but somehow after a full listen from start to finish, there does seem to be continuity between the songs that I can't describe. At over an hour long, I think the fans will agree that it is a full listening experience."

Winter Ethereal will be available in the following formats:
-black / white marbled swirl (US exclusive - limited to 700 copies)
-clear w/ blue smoke (US exclusive - limited to 300 copies)
-180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)
-blue / red marbled vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 300 copies)
-ice blue marbled vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 200 copies)
-white vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 100 copies)
-white / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 400 copies)
* exclusive bundles with shirts, plus digital options are also available!

Winter Ethereal track-listing

1. Vermilion Moons
2. Wanderlust
3. Solitary Man
4. Wrath of the Universe
5. Tethered
6. Straight and Narrow
7. Pitch Black Prism
8. Never in Your Hands
9. Kindred Spirits