Wednesday, December 7, 2011

For the Imperium - For the Imperium (2011)

1 Ignition
2 Creator
3 California Girl (Born n' Raised)
4 Hero
5 Until the End
6 Die Dead
7 Working Class Heroine
8 Pike River
9 Österbotten
10 Elisa
11 Seek for Help

Wow, this caught me by surprise. This new Finnish Metal band bends genres left and right, and still manages to write songs that are catchy, energetic, tongue-in-cheek and more or less work well.

They will remind people of artists like Protest the Hero and Avenged Sevenfold among some others (System of a Down, Faith No More, Mr.Bungle, Coheed and Cambria), but at least just hearing this album a few times now, the influences are more so just that, rather than exact emulating. Their singer does seem to sound close to Mike Patton on a few of these songs, but I guess his voice in general seems to be his own, or at least not exactly like Patton's, like some other sites have suggested.

It is so late in the year, but I don't care. This could be one of those huge grower records, even in a short time, that I'll look back and think of 2011 (and maybe more likely 2012) for.