Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Josh Rouse - The Embers of Time (2014-2015)

1/14/15 5:49PM
Release date April 7th, 2015 preorder link there.

The Embers of Time, Josh Rouse

1 Some Days I'm Golden All Night 3:20
2 Too Many Things On My Mind 2:50
3 New Young 3:30
4 You Walked Through the Door 3:23
5 Time 3:13
6 Pheasant Feather (feat. Jessie Baylin) 3:20
7 Coat for a Pillow 3:27
8 Jr Worried Blues 3:06
9 Ex-pat Blues 3:03
10 Crystal Falls 4:30

New song is okay. Some of the stuff online about it says it harkens back to the Nashville style, which if it is, I and my Josh Rouse fangirl gf, will be happy. The Happiness Waltz was good, and probably better than his previous record, but at the same time, I haven't longed to listen to it recently. But maybe The Embers of Time will be more so.

from Josh's site

Pre-order the New Album,
The Embers of Time, Now at iTunes
“It’s my surreal expat therapy record,” observes Josh Rouse about his new LP, The Embers Of Time out April 7 via Yep Roc Records.  The album takes inspiration from his self-admitted crisis of confidence and bouts with existential psychotherapy in his adopted home of Valencia, Spain. 

The 10-song collection of originals contains some of Rouse’s most beautiful arrangements and complex songwriting to date. First song and lead single “Some Days I’m Golden All Night” channels Glen Campbell-style Countrypolitan pop mastery through Self Portrait-era Dylan confessional lyrics.