Wednesday, November 2, 2011

The Jelly Jam - Shall We Descend (2011)

1. Who's Comin' Now
2. Stay Together
3. Halos in Hell
4. Same Way Down
5. Barometric Reign
6. March of the Trolls
7. Questions
8. Shall We Descend
9. Come Alive
10. Ten

Pre-Order here

**NEW RELEASE! CD SHIP DATE - 11/28/11**

**PLEASE READ SHIPPING INSTRUCTIONS -- Please be aware that if you preorder this title and also purchase other titles (that are currently available) in the same order, the entire order will not ship until 11/28/11**


"Shall We Descend" is the brand-new, third album by The Jelly Jam. This trio is comprised of Ty Tabor (King's X), John Myung (Dream Theater) and Rod Morgenstein (Dixie Dregs/Winger).

"Shall We Descend" is the long-awaited follow up to "2" (originally released in 2004). This album is heavy, cohesive, and sure to please fans of this great band. Features the first single, "Who's Comin' Now" as well as gems such as "Halos in Hell" and "Stay Together."

Rod Morgenstein - Drums, Percussion
John Myung - Bass
Ty Tabor - Vocals, Guitars

10 songs. 48 minutes.

Just checked out the new tune, not bad, yet rather different. Some comments on are comparing it to Porcupine Tree. Eh, maybe a little with the intro riff, but I (naturally) got more of a King's X vibe from it, more than anything.

Although I'll admit to owning at least 1 of their 2 discs, and the 2 Platypus albums, and I can't claim to ever been blown away by any of them. The 1st Platypus record When Pus Comes to Shove I always liked, but found it to be a bit like a less excessive Liquid Tension Experiment.

Also given that this album is coming so late in the year, as far as 2011 albums index factor, I wouldn't expect much. It may by default be given the "didn't listen to enough" category unless it's unexpectedly amazing and addictive for a few days.