Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Godspeed You! Black Emperor - 'Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress' (2014-2015)

3/24/15 11:55AM

Guardian has the official Soundcloud Embed

I haven't been able to listen yet as my morning has been consumed by working without headphones.

But, just based on some of the comments on various sites, my guess is what I suspected before. More droney Godspeed, and less layered climaxing Godspeed.

But can't be sure yet.

[hyperbole/tangent/soapbox]If I am right, I think an entry and maybe even a Video could be in order for what I guess I could describe "Trendrock music from artists I have liked, but recent work is overhyped and not close to the music I fell in love with them."

a mouthful I suppose, but  that's the jist of it. Basically, all the bands I like who the hipsters like who have done prog of a kind in the past, new stuff whether prog or not, just frankly, is not very good or memorable.

But a lot of Trendrock fans are going to succumb to the hype, even just telling everyone else about it. Even albums like the new Kendrick Lamar is being shoved down so many people's throats, much like Kanye West new albums are, it becomes highly nauseating to me, at least for awhile. [/hyperbole/tangent/soapbox]

2/24/15 4:22PM

Not a bad title, but it looks/reads, with the single-quote marks and 4-word length, a bit like their last record's title "'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!, which down the road, may cause many to mix them up.

I love how they mention "inviting" local Record stores to submit links for Preorders and Minnesota is nowhere to be found on the list, kind of like how Minnesota seems to be nowhere to be found on any tour agendas of theris either, lol.

This 1st piece shared "Peasantry or 'Light! Inside of Light!", which was originally called "Behemoth" I guess, I'm luke warm about at best. Godspeed doing more drone? I hope it's limited. Their last record 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!, while a pleasant surprise to have anything new from them, was uneven.

Based on that, I am not expecting anything as good as the Skinny Fists record here. But I'll certainly check this out.

The fact they are putting out a new record is not surprising, even though I recall a couple of years ago, seeing many people not expecting a new album/new material so soon.  But the fact as that write-up below says, they've been incorporating new music in those Minnesota-less Live shows since 2010, really suggests they were bound to record some of it and put it out. Well, here it is (their last record of course was all old material).

March 31st is the street date. March and April keep getting more filled up with new music.


1. Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’
2. Lambs’ Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled

We've invited independent music retailers to submit links for pre-orders and we encourage you to support them. You should also benefit from much lower shipping costs by doing so (outside Canada, and especially for the 180 gram gatefold vinyl). This list of indie retail links will be updated throughout the week of Feb 23-27. 

• ORIGAMI VINYL (Los Angeles, CA): LP 
• AMOEBA MUSIC (Los Angeles, CA): CD / LP 
• TONEVENDOR (St. Augustine, FL): CD / LP 
• GRIMEY'S (Nashville, TN): In-store preorder 
• LANDLOCKED MUSIC (Bloomington, IN): In-store preorder 
• LOVE GARDEN SOUNDS (Lawrence, KS): In-store preorder 
• ZIA RECORDS (Phoenix/Tucson, AZ): CD / LP 
• LUNA MUSIC (Indianapolis, IN): LP 
• DEAD TANK (Jacksonville, FL): LP 


• FLIGHT 13: CD / LP 

• TINY RECORD SHOP (Toronto, ON): CD / LP 
• ENCORE RECORDS (Kitchener, ON): CD / LP 
• DR. DISC (Hamilton, ON): In-store preorder 
• COMPACT MUSIC (Ottawa, ON): In-store preorder 
• BLACKBYRD MYOOZIK (Edmonton, AB): In-store preorder 
• GOOD MUSIC (Toronto, ON): In-store preorder 

Godspeed You! Black Emperor (GYBE) returns with its first single LP-length release since the group's earliest days in 1997-99. 'Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress' clocks in at a succinct 40:23 and is arguably the most focused and best-sounding recording of the band's career. Working with sound engineer Greg Norman (Electrical Audio) at studios in North Carolina and Montreal, GYBE slowly and steadily put the new album together through late 2013 and 2014, emerging with a mighty slab of superlative sonics, shot through with all the band's inimitable signposts and touchstones: huge unison riffage, savage noise/drone, oscillating overtones, guitar vs. string counterpoint, inexorable crescendos and scorched-earth transitions. 

Following Godspeed's return from a long hiatus at the end of 2010 to begin playing live shows again, and with the hugely acclaimed 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! release in 2012 marking their first new release in a decade, the group continued to perform regularly on their own headlining tours (and as headliners at many leading festivals), often including a new multi-movement piece in concert over the past couple of years. Known to fans and through live show recordings by the sobriquet "Behemoth", GYBE has gradually distilled this new work down to a fastidious and uncompromising essence in the studio, with the swing-time swagger of the opening unison riff in "Peasantry or 'Light! Inside of Light!'" giving way to increasing microtonal divergences and an exhilarating immersion in the harmonic power of massed amplified instruments, before collapsing into some of the most visceral and unalloyed noise/drone the band has yet committed to tape on "Lambs' Breath" and "’Asunder, Sweet'”. The album closes with "Piss Crowns Are Trebled", a classic 14-minute piece of vintage Godspeed, where ascending and descending guitar and violin melodies intertwine over gut-rattling distorted bass in 3/4 time, segueing into a pummeling four-on-the-floor series of sparkling, soaring crescendos 

'Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress' finds Godspeed in top form; a sterling celebration of the band's awesome dialectic, where composition, emotion and 'note-choice' is inextricable from an exacting focus on tone, timbre, resonance and the sheer materiality of sound. The album is available on 180 gram vinyl in a gatefold jacket with printed inner sleeve and insert poster, on CD in a 100% recycled custom paperboard jacket, and on all manner of formats in our fractured digital marketplace. 

Thanks for listening. 

Release date: 31 March 2015 
Running time: 40:23 

CD comes in a custom gatefold jacket printed on thick 24pt. paperboard with a printed CD dust sleeve. LP is pressed on 180 gram virgin vinyl at Optimal (Germany) and comes in a heavyweight gatefold jacket with full-colour printed dust sleeve, pull-out art poster and download code for 320 kbps MP3 copy of the album. 

1. Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’ 
2. Lambs’ Breath 
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled 

Thierry Amar: Bass and contrebasse 
David Bryant: Electric guitar, portasound, organs and drones 
Aidan Girt: Drums 
Timothy Herzog: Drums and drones 
Efrim Manuel Menuck: Electric guitar 
Michael Moya: Electric guitar 
Mauro Pezzente: Electric bass 
Sophie Trudeau: Violins and drones 
Karl Lemieux: 16mm film projections 

Recorded by Greg Norman at Fidelitorium, Hotel 2 Tango and The Pines. 
Mixed by Greg Norman and GYBE at Mixart and Hotel 2 Tango. 
Masted by Harris Newman at Greymarket.