Monday, May 31, 2010

Lost: lol

the kids who made this have a lot of time on their hands, but still, it's worth giving them effort points for all the video-syncs in that short of a time-span.

However, most of those questions I'd be surprised will be answered on the dvds.

Saturday, May 29, 2010


Steven Wilson at that show in 2005 (thank google and the user on Flickr who took and hosted this photo)

May 29th, 2005 was the last time Porcupine Tree played in Minnesota. The show SOLD OUT by the way.

And since they've done 6 North American Tours and 103 concerts without coming back to Minnesota. Including 4 different tours where they played in Chicago, twice where they played there 2 times. And also twice where they played in Milwaukee.

25 (Fall of 2005. 2 in Chicago, 1 in Milwaukee)
6 (Fall of 2006)
19 (Spring of 2007. 2 in Chicago, 1 Milwaukee, 1 Grand Rapids)
20 (Fall of 2007)
12 (Fall of 2009. Chicago)
21 (Spring of 2010 Chicago)

Let's hope by May 29th, 2015 it won't become a 10-year drought, because on many of those North American tours, the band could have found a way to come play here. Some of that has to do with promoters, because I heard they were trying to come back but the promoter from Minneapolis had never heard of them. But chances are the show 5 years ago and the show in July 2003 with Opeth, that both had 500+ people (capacity) at The Fine Line, they were unaware of.

Dream Theater and Opeth continue to come back to Minnesota, so Porcupine Tree's mgmt should take note of that and realize there is quite a large fan base there and make more of an effort to comeback.

Friday, May 28, 2010

dredg - Leitmotif Vinyl (Limited quanities now available to purchase!)

dredg myspace blog

Thursday, May 27, 2010
Leitmotif Vinyl Available Online!
The limited edition Leitmotif 180 gram vinyl is now available on the dredg webstore! CLICK HERE to get your copy. Remember, this is a very limited pressing.

it ends up adding up to about $30. As a dedicated supporter and fan of the band, I picked one up. Even if I probably will never listen to it.

Thursday, May 27, 2010

School of Seven Bells - Disconnect From Desire (2010)

Hear "Babelonia"

01 Windstorm
02 Heart Is Strange
03 Dust Devil
04 I L U
05 Babelonia
06 Joviann
07 Cammarilla
08 Dial
09 Bye Bye Bye
10 The Wait

I thought I posted something about this album already. O well. Here's the info. It drops on July 13th. There's that song above you can stream. I was just thinking about that song and my issue with their studio work may still exist. It's not like their music is bad or un-interesting. It's cool. But that show I was floored by them largely because of the visual displays.

So maybe they need to include some kind of graphic enhanced file with their albums and I'll like them more? Regardless, I am looking forward to this. Maybe I just need to find something to look at with their music on. The problem with that is, I listen to music at work, which is where it's impossible to look at anything else by my work.

Vote For REVERE - "We Won't Be Here Tomorrow"

I probably should mention, their album "Hey! Selim" is finally coming out on August 2nd.

Here's a good way to help them out, going up against 2 hipster bands in Morning Benders and The Mynabirds on a BBC Radio show.

REVERE Our single is on the @lamacqshow Rebel Playlist! Please vote for us by email (REVERE in subject line) THANK YOU x

1. At 7:12pm on 26 May 2010, Rich wrote:

the links to vote for Revere and The Morning Benders are the wrong way round!

go here to find the proper link. The one in the embeded sample below won't have you voting for Revere, but The Morning Benders instead.

Summer TV Schedule


-Sons of Tuscon (Returns 6/6 FOX 6:30PM) Tyler Labine show that was 86'ed. The un-aired episodes are going to air.
-True Blood (Returns 6/13 HBO)
-Breaking Bad (AMC 8PM. Season 3 Finale 6/13)
-Scoundrels (Premieres 6/20 ABC 8PM) The new show with Virginia Madsen.
-The Gates (Premieres 6/20 ABC 9PM) The new vampire show with Rhona Mitra.
-My Boys (Premieres 7/25 TBS 9PM) the final season.


-The Good Guys (Premieres 6/7 FOX 8PM)


-Memphis Beat (Premieres 6/22) The new Jason Lee show on TNT
-Warehouse 13 (Returns 7/6 SyFy 8PM). A crossover episode with "Eureka" is happening in August.
-White Collar (Returns 7/13 USA Network 8PM)
-Covert Affairs (Premieres 7/13 USA Network 9PM)
-Caprica (Returns 9/17 which is a Friday? or on Tuesdays in October on SyFy)


-In Plain Sight (USA Network 9PM)
-Psych (Returns 7/14 USA Network 8PM)


-Burn Notice (Returns 6/3 USA Network, 8PM)
-Royal Pains (Returns 6/3 USA Network 9PM). Marcia Gay-Harden joins the cast and Henry Winkler is going to be a guest.


-Doctor Who (BBC America 8PM. 7/10 is the Series/Season 5 Finale)
-Being Human (Returns 7/24 on BBC America)


-World Cup Soccer Fri 6/11 through Sun 7/11
-Golf US Open 6-17-6/20 British Open 7/15-7/18 PGA 8-12-815
-NBA Draft Thurs 6/24

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Emanuel and the Fear - Listen (2010.) [2.0]

Track Listing
1. The Introduction 2:12
2. Guatemala 3:38
3. Ariel And The River 5:25
4. Jimme's Song (Full Band Version) 5:24
5. Duckies 0:16
6. Free Life 3:52
7. Dear Friend 4:18
8. Yo, Jåmin 0:31
9. Trucker Lovesong 5:40
10. Baclony 6:44
11. Whatever You Do 4:08
12. Bridges And Ladies 0:16
13. The Raiman 5:13
14. Same Way 3:33
15. Simple Eyes 4:03
16. Song For A Girl 3:34
17. The Finale 5:47
18. Look Ma, The Walls Are Moving! 0:23
19. Razzmatazz 3:49


I've now gone through this record at least 4 full times and my thoughts about it are this.

It's best songs are really awesome.The opening 4 tracks/suite "The Introduction/Guatemala/Ariel and the River/Jimme's Song" work exceptionally well. The chamber element in Guatemala is great. The interplay that includes a flute solo almost does remind me of Jethro Tull. "Jimme's Song" is the album's biggest highlight for me. The gradual build of the theme between instruments and especially the vocal chorus never leaves my head.

"I don't want to do nothing but be in a rock band. I don't wanna get a job, I don't wanna be a man."

The way the fat synths come in there and begin repeating is unforgettable. The "indietronica" part if you will. Apes and Androids could have written that part.

As the rest of this album continues, there are some short sound-bytes or movements along with some more thematic tracks. "Dear Friend" certainly stands out, even if it does sound lifted from some musical on Broadway.

"I see all the people passing by..and I smile to myself, in the most peculiar wayyy ...walking along singing a tune for all the people passing by..I was smiling in the most peculiar way, feeling happy. something I'd never thought I'd say."

The arrangement is very show-tuney, but it's rather catchy no matter. And I enjoy the horn and other chamber parts of it.

From the 10th track "Balcony" to the 15th track "Simple Eyes" I'm luke warm about. "Song For a Girl" I am enjoying more now, due to not having issue with the female singer or the dialog vocals. The outro especially really works and leads well into "The Finale" which is probably the most overt prog rock or just *technical* this record becomes. Intricate phrasing. Some chromatic work on it, almost sounds like Elton John's "Funeral For a Friend" or even a classical influence (Beethoven?). It's a rather grandiose and bombastic way to come down the stretch, but it never comes across as pretentious to me.

The last 2 tracks "Look Ma, The Walls Are Moving" and especially "Razzmatazz" are remotely interesting for the story I guess, but the truth is, I'm not sure how many times I'm going to want to hear the dark comedic attempt. "It's a beehive!!!"
That I guess along with a few other moments prevent this album from being really great, maybe partially I find it lacks some cohesiveness that could help it all the way through..

But for a debut album, this is still pretty impressive and actually somewhat original approach to a Rock Opera. I'm not sure there's a band who sounds exactly like these guys. You could compare them to Apes and Androids or someone like Arcade Fire in their wall of sound. The Dear Hunter or Gavin Castleton's "Home" also might be somewhat reasonable comparisons, but there's still a lot of differences to their writing approach.

I just hope they can continue on forward here, because based on a lot of the songwriting and musicianship, they have a lot of talent and could make a lot more music, probably even better than this.


I need to also include something here. They posted these outrageously funny promotional videos on youtube for their debut ep last year.

Thursday, May 20, 2010

Local Natives on 89.3 (from Monday 5/17/10)

go here

St. Paul, Minn. — Everyone from Stereogum to Pitchfork has been heavily recommending Local Natives to the music world for the last year, and they're right.

Mixing Americana templates with a sunny L.A. outlook, Local Natives' debut record, "Gorilla Manor," has given them the chance to go from Silver Lake to the clubs around the country. Local Natives dropped in The Current studios for a live performance.

Songs performed: "Wide Eyes," "Sticky Thread," and "Airplanes."

They did "Sticky Thread" which of course was the only track off Gorilla Manor they weren't able to play the other night.

good performance of course, and actually the interview wasn't bad either. "Americana mixed with Sunny LA." That one is vague. Of course the word prog or art-rock never comes up. But I will maintain, they are as effective at genre-blending as any progressive rock out there. The media and blogs just either don't realize it, or even if they believed it, they wouldn't want to use the p-word. Cowards.

They're going to be releasing "World News" as a single in July, plus they were just at Daytrotter again and from what Taylor told me, they're some cool re-arranged songs they recorded there which should be released soon.

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Menomena - Mines (2010)

5/19/10 5:56PM

01. Queen Black Acid
02. Taos
03. Killemall
04. Dirty Cartoons
05. Tithe
06. Bote
07. Lunchmeat
08. Oh Pretty Boy, You're Such a Big Boy
09. Five Little Rooms
10. Sleeping Beauty
11. Intil

go hear "Five Little Rooms" (with an email submission)

4/8/10 12:49AM


yes, yes, yes! cannot-wait-for-this!

"Pilgrim's Progress" is there (via to stream. But it's a b-side, so it's not going to be on Mines. The band have also added a 4th member for live shows I guess.

AND... a new b-side called "Pilgrim's Progress" on a limited split 7" with our BFF's The Helio Sequence for Record Store Day, April 17 (Record Store Day)! about 13 hours ago via web

The fourth Menomena album is called MINES and it will be released on July 27th. It's gonna blow the doors off your Vespa! about 13 hours ago via web

New CBS Sitcom: Shit My Dad Says starring WILLIAM SHATNER!

the CBS fall Lineup hasn't been announced yet, but I am immediately most intrigued by this new show!

James Burrows to direct and 1 of the writers from Will & Grace is involved. I could see CBS putting this on after Two and a Half Men as that show gets away with a ton of questionable language, sexuality and themes that this show it may sound like could do as well.

The title may be changed to "Crap My Dad Says" or maybe even "(Bleep) My Dad Says"

if only "frak" wasn't licensed, lol.

CBS will air a sitcom in which William Shatner plays a cranky old fogie whose rants are captured by a Twitter-obsessed son with a million followers. No, we're not kidding.

The program is based on the real-life Twitter feed shitmydadsays, which claims more than 1.3 million followers. It was started last August by Justin Helpern shortly after he went to live with his father, who it would seem rarely misses a chance to volunteer patronizing one-liners in doses small enough to fit Twitter's 140-word limit.

Shatner reportedly will play the father in a series tentatively titled Bleep My Dad Says. He announced the news on his own Twitter account.

"I pushed for Mr. Shatner," Helpern told The Chicago Sun-Times. "He's been fantastic. He's like my dad in that he says what he wants to say when he wants to say it."

Shitmydadsays has already interjected itself into popular culture with a book that's now No. 8 on The New York Times nonfiction best-seller list. It's based on the younger Helpern's relationship with Sam Helpern, a retired doctor of nuclear medicine.

ABC and whatever network gets announced tomorrow should be coming soon, as it's been a rather busy night with Lost, NBA playoffs + lottery (Wolves draft 4th, blech!) and all the activity online.

Isis RIP

I'm not really much of a fan, but I'd be kidding myself if I didn't admit that I like some music that they influenced (Russian Circles, Long Distance Calling, etc).

ISIS, the innovative Los Angeles-by-way-of-Boston-based band, has released the following statement:

"ISIS has reached an end. It's hard to try to say it in any delicate way, and it is a truth that is best spoken plainly.

"This end isn't something that occurred overnight and it hasn't been brought about by a single cataclysmic fracture in the band. Simply put, ISIS has done everything we wanted to do, said everything we wanted to say.

"In the interest of preserving the love we have of this band, for each other, for the music made and for all the people who have continually supported us, it is time to bring it to a close. We've seen too many bands push past the point of a dignified death and we all promised one another early on in the life of the band that we would do our best to ensure ISIS would never fall victim to that syndrome.

"We've had a much longer run than we ever expected we would and accomplished a great deal more than we ever imagined possible.

"We never set any specific goals when the band was founded other than to make the music we wanted to hear and to play (and to stay true to that ideal), so everything else that has come along the long and winding path has been an absolute gift.

"As with any momentous life-changing decision (which this certainly is for the five of us), we feel a very dynamic range of emotions about this and cannot express all of it within the space of a few sentences, and perhaps it's best to do what we've always done in and let our music speak for us. It is and has been the truest expression of who we are as a collective and in some ways who we are as individuals for the 13 years in which we've been together.

"The last, and perhaps most important, thing we might say in relation to all this is how grateful we are for the people that have supported us over the years. It is a lengthy list that would include those who put out our records, those that played on them and put them to tape, the many bands with whom we shared the stage, all of our family, friends and companions who supported us in our individual lives and thus made it possible for us to continue on in the band, and most importantly those who truly listened to our music whether in recorded form or by coming to out to our shows (or both).

"It is quite true that we would never have done what we have without those people, that is many of you who are reading this. Our words can never fully express what we feel, but we hope that our music and the efforts made to bring it into being can serve as a more proper expression of gratitude for this life and for everyone in it. Thank you.

"In more immediate and practical terms, the tour we are about to embark upon is indeed our last. We are hoping that these final live rituals can help us bring a close to the life of this band in a celebratory and reverent way, and also provide us with a chance to say goodbye to many of those that have supported us over the years.

"While there is a measure of sadness that comes with the passing of this band, we hope that the final days can be joyous ones during which any and all that wish to come and join us will do so.

"It seems fitting that the last show of the tour and of our active existence will take place in Montreal, the site of the very first ISIS show in 1997 (though that was an unintentional move when booking the show initially).

"After the tour we also plan to follow through with other projects set in motion some time ago — pursuing the completion of a final EP, compiling live audio and visual material for future releases, and generally doing whatever we can to make our music available for as long as there are people who wish to hear it.

"Thanks again to any and all."

ISIS's video for the song "20 Minutes / 40 Years" can be viewed below. The track comes off the group's fifth full-length album, "Wavering Radiant", which was released in the U.S. on May 5, 2009 via Ipecac Recordings. The CD, produced by Joe Baressi (TOOL, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE), received a limited-edition vinyl release on April 21. TOOL's Adam Jones contributed guitar to two songs from the LP.

"Wavering Radiant" sold 5,800 copies in the United States in its first week of release to land at position No. 98 on The Billboard 200 chart. ISIS' first full-length in over two years, saw the colossal fivesome moving beyond the visible spectrum of rock and the realm of the uninspired. Blissfully melodic, frighteningly dense; the album was an epic conflict between worlds of beauty and the darkest of demons. A monster of epic proportions, its seven tracks clock in at a total of 54 minutes. The shortest number (also the album's title cut) stays under two minutes, while its longest reaches 11 minutes.

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Transatlantic: Ronnie James Dio SPONTANEOUS tribute

the other night in Italy, Transatlantic did a a bitof a spontaneous Dio tribute with Mike Portnoy on bass and vocals for it. It's nothing amazing, but Mike explained how the band had no idea about doing it beforehand (hence, spontaneous).

dredg Live @ The Troubadour 5/14 - 5/15 (Leitmotif shows)

audio here. Thanks Darshun!

Stationary Transient + The Ornament

The Canyon Behind Her
Bug Eyes
Stationary Transient
The Ornament

Ode to the Sun
Same ol' Road
Down to the Cellar
-5 Minute Break-
Symbol Song
Movement I
Movement II
Traversing Through the Arctic Cold...
Movement III
Penguins in the Desert
Movement IV
Movement V

I saw the Leitmotif show a few years ago and it was a special show, so this didn't hold quite as much meaning to me as it may had I not. I also understand they have pre-orders for the vinyl at those shows, so possibly 1 other benefit.

Here's some videos

Local Natives in Minneapolis 5/17/2010

I just got back from an epic show tonight in Minneapolis. They did the entire Gorilla Manor save for "Sticky Thread" (ironically, the song I probably wanted to see most. Good things come to those who wait?) And had it not been for some power issues, they probably would have included that in the set. That was definitely the most memorable of the 4 times I've seen them. The 400 Bar only holds a couple hundred people, their next show here they will definitely be playing at a larger venue.

The 400 Bar either doesn't have AC, or theirs broke. It was comparable to Station 4. Like a sauna as they said throughout their set. But regardless, they had their normal high-energy set.

Some 275 tickets were sold I guess.

I got to chat with some of the guys afterward as well. Taylor, Matt, Andy and Kelcey even. Ryan I don't think I even saw after the show.

I encounter many new fans of course, although some old ones. The *originals*..this guy John and his wife brother I think who know the band like me, going back to that 1st show in St.Paul in 2007.

1st Ave is the word on where they'll likely play. Mute Math did. Fair to Midland may as well. I guess it's a little like my feeling on all the reviews. I'd rather see them at the Varsity or even The Cedar, but I know 1st Ave would benefit them the most. Necessary Evil. Just hopefully it won't fall on a Friday or Saturday night. They mentioned probably in October.

The opener, "Suckers" who actually did a cool remix recently of LN's song "Wide Eyes" actually weren't bad. I'll probably check out their full-length when it drops next month.

The only sour note I guess is the fact I purchased 2 new tee-shirts from them, and could only find one, when I got home. Maybe someone turned it in there, but otherwise I donated an extra $15 to them, which I don't mind, but it sort of sucks because I really liked the way that new white t-shirt looked.

Kevin Gilbert 11/20/1966-5/17/1996

I'd have more of a tribute, but not right now. May 17th of course it is the anniversary. Dio's passing definitely didn't help this be a focus (nor did returning to work and the Local Natives show tonight).

Monday, May 17, 2010

Fox 2010-2011 Fall Lineup

8-9 p.m: House
9-10 p.m: Lonestar (new)

8-9 p.m.: Glee
9-9:30 p.m.: Raising Hope (new)
9:30-10 p.m.: Running Wilde (new)

8-9 p.m.: Lie to Me
9-10 p.m.: Hell's Kitchen

8-9 p.m.: Bones
9-10 p.m.: Fringe

8-9 p.m.: Human Target
9-10 p.m.: The Good Guys (new)

7-8 p.m.: The OT (NFL postgame)
8-8:30 p.m.: The Simpsons
8:30-9:00 p.m.: The Cleveland Show
9:00-9:30 p.m.: Family Guy
9:30-10:00 p.m.: American Dad

Fringe is the only actual good show they got left with Dollhouse gone. Human Target the jury is out on still for me, but a friend of mine thinks it's awful. But seeing it placed in the 7pm time slot on Fridays pretty much makes it this season's Dollhouse. The odds are it won't last, but I'm unclear how much I can care right now.

New shows:
Lone Star: created by the same people who did Party of Five and 500 Days of Summer the movie. The cast really does nothing for me. If they could get Bill Pullman to reprise his Spaceballs role, this might intrigue me more.

Running Wilde and Raising Hope/Keep Hope Alive. 1 of these shows has My Name Is Earl creator Greg Garcia involved, the other is about a playboy played by Will Arnett going after his hs sweetheart played by Keri Russell. I guess if Garcia were writing for the Arnett show, I'd more interested in that show. The Garcia show, sounds a bit like a show based on the Dax Shepherd character in Parenthood. Martha Plimpton was good recently on Fringe, but beyond her, the cast doesn't strike much of an impression with me.

The Good Guys is maybe the 1 show I'm a little more optimistic about. A comedy-drama cop show. It's fate however, at 8pm on Friday Nights, may see it be doomed no matter how good it is. It actually premieres this Wednesday May 19th. Jenny Wade who was good on Reaper, Bradley Whitford was on the West Wing, which makes me wonder if he has/or will guest star on Psych. It also includes Tom Hanks son Colin, who doesn't really do a lot for me as an actor, but I honestly haven't seen that much of his work. But the biggest reason this show may be good is it created by Burn Notice creator Matt Nix.

Like NBC, this network has really only 1 good show in Fringe. A couple of years ago with that, Terminator and Dollhouse, I was optimistic they might be one of the better networks. But sadly, network tv sucks so much anyway, having more than 1 quality show on your air means you're better than the competition. This network always cancels good stuff (Sons of Tuscon? least the un-aired episodes will be on this Summer), which sucks because some of the others like NBC and the CW barely come up with good shows to begin with. it wouldn't surprise if The Good Guys is actually a good show, and with that 8pm Friday night time slot, nobody watches it and it's gone before November.

NBC 2010-2011 Fall Lineup

8-9 p.m: Chuck (13 episode pickup)
9-10 p.m: The Event (new)
10-11 p.m.: Chase (new)

8-10 p.m.: The Biggest Loser
10-11 p.m.: Parenthood

8-9 p.m.: Undercovers (new)
9-10 p.m.: Law & Order: Special Victims Unit
10-11 p.m.: Law & Order: Los Angeles (new)

8- 8:30 p.m.: Community
8:30-9 p.m.: 30 Rock
9-9:30 p.m.: The Office
9:30-10 p.m.: Outsourced (new)
10-11 p.m.: Love Bites (new)

8-9 p.m.: Who Do You Think You Are?/School Pride (new)
9-10 p.m.: Dateline NBC
10-11 p.m.: Outlaw (new)

7- 8:15 p.m.: Football Night in America
8:15-11:30 p.m.: NBC Sunday Night Football

Chuck and Parenthood are the only shows I watch that are coming back. Why Chuck only gets a 13-episode order is baffling since it's really the only consistently, quality show on the network.

The new stuff:

Undercovers is the new JJ Abrams show with the girl who played Martha's sister on Doctor Who a few years ago, that is like a Mr. and Mr.s Smith or more serious version of Chuck if he were married.

The Event and Chase

The Event: NBC's attempt at the next Lost. Sean Walker (Jason Ritter) investigates the mysterious disappearance of his fiancee. Also stars: Sarah Roemer, Blair Underwood, Scott Patterson.

Scott Patterson from Gilmore Girls, Jason Ritter obviously won't be on Parenthood with that gig, but if it gets pulled he could return. The network-thing going on there. Blair Underwood is another notable. Why they are trying to do a new Lost? who knows, but I predict it flops unless there's a good writer.

The Chase: US Marshall's show with no real notables. Cole Hauser I suppose is 1 name I recognize.

Love Bites I noticed is the NBC show Jordana Spiro is going to be on and it appears ex-My Boys co-star Kyle Howard (not to be confused with the singer of the great band, The Stiletto Formal, who coincidentally, moved to LA recently).
I just noticed it being at 9pm on Thursday, it conflicts with Fringe. Fuck!

edit: oops, 9pm, not 8 thankfully.

It's created by one-of the people involved with Sex & the City. This would suck if this show sucks, and gets canceled, and My Boys went bye bye for something far inferior. $ calls though.

Outsourced: I don't recognize any of the cast, and the writers don't do a ton for me. Robert Borden worked on Drew Carey which gives him a point or 2. And John Jeffcoat did work on the 2006 (2008) independent movie of the same name, which wasn't bad (although contrary to what a friend of mine said about it, itwas not nearly as good as Slumdog Millionaire, lol). Maybe they'll get some of the movie's cast to appear, namely Josh Hamilton.

a couple of mid-season shows listed as replacements, 1 being Perfect Couples which stars Kyle Howard as well. And The Cape, which stars one of the actresses from Life On Mars (US version I'm assuming). The premise sounds bad though, about a guy who goes around living up to a kid's fantasy of seeing his favorite comic-heroes or something.

Heroes is gone. I did watch the last episode the other day, and while the show did some serious shark-jumping, with a better writer and some other things, they could right the ship again I suppose. But the logistics to do that really don't seem realistic. It's too bad given the end of recent epic/episodic/story-arc shows. Heroes never finished it's story. If only Bryan Fuller were the captain.

So NBC, the 3rd(last) place network, has a couple new shows to look forward to, but odds are the goldmine on the USA Network would help them out a lot more than the gambles (failures) they keep taking year after year.

Muse - Neutron Star Collision (Love Forever) Single (2010)

For however long it remains available to stream, now. Here it is. Nothing too different than The Resistance unfortunately. C'mon Matt, give us a jaw dropping guitar solo or something.

It does come off the new Twilight movie soundtrack, so I suppose the quality of the song sort of matches the quality of the movie.

Saturday, May 15, 2010

Jimmy Gnecco live 5/14/2010..Howler

I posted this little review on the killtheband forum when I got back last night.

I did acquire the new 7inch vinyl single and a new white-tee of course. My gawd, the production on these new songs is just perfect. This track "Patiently Waiting" is stunning. The single of course came with a download code for the 2 songs off the vinyl and another 3rd video performance of "It's Only Love."

I should add, I really do enjoy getting to share some time with Jimmy after the shows. Although I often feel like I wished I'd asked or said 1 or 2 things differently to him. But I'm not sure it matters to him. I really take a lot for him recognizing me, even if it's just for being the guy who he pulled up on stage a few years ago to play drums on for "Worst Things Beautiful."

It's also great to hear he will be back with a band under his name/supporting his album I'd presume.

just got back a bit ago. It was a pretty long afternoon/evening as I went to see a matinee at Lagoon Theater and then saw a friend of mine's 1 of many band's called "Howler" play in uptown at "The Beat" all prior to heading to The Entry tonight.

I sat/waited through Greg Laswell's set until 12:45am to have a few words with Jimmy. In retrospect, I probably shouldn't have, but so be it.

Set List

Here is the Light
Bring You Home
Light on the Grave
The Bells
The Heart

I noticed Gravity in some other sets, I know he didn't do that one. The song I didn't recognize he didn't announce was Light on the Grave, which based on some other sets, I'd guess that was in there.

I didn't realize he has/had been working on "The Bells" since 1996.

The biggest highlight, among many, was The Heart. Some of the acoustic fretboard work in the outro was masterful. I'm pretty curious how the studio version came out now with that.

watch the last 20 seconds or so of this.

I talked to Jimmy a bit before the show as he was outside helping a girl who used to be on the old forum I guess, who I've seen at almost every show he's been here since I've been a fan (2005). Her real name is Beth. But he allowed her to bring her bike inside and downstairs when she noticed she forgot her bike lock.

I did vaguely ask Jimmy about Ours, but he didn't have much to add other than they've written a little. But he did say he plans to tour later this year with the full-band. I guess that means Static and a drummer? I'm not sure.

I also asked him about Living In a Video and Wished For None. He didn't say anything about the latter, but he either said he recently finished a video for a song, or that song. I wasn't clear. Probably a video from something off The Heart.

As for Greg Laswell and Brian Wright. I can't say they were awful, but I'd be lying if seeing them was more than just killing time.

One thing that added to my feeling about downtown (along with Uptown and The West Bank) on Fridays and Saturdays..when I got back to my car around 1:20am, there were cop cars down the street. I was talking to some people who confirmed there was a stabbing. wtf. Murderopolis? We're not supposed to be NYC at these hours. i-don-t-get-it. I suppose had I left the show during Laswell's performance, I might have witnessed it, so I guess that's a relief, if there is any.

It was also good to see (bug :p) April Bauer again. I guess I can expect to see her on any tour now as I'm not sure how many times she's been in town with Ours and Jimmy, but I want to say at least 3.

edit: I got my vinyl copy of Bring You Home of course and it included a card that says "download an intimate video performance of "It's Only Love," one of 15 songs from "THE HEART."

Jimmy also mentioned 15 (not 13) songs on the album to me.

okay, here's the track list I've seen pretty much everywhere

01. Rest Your Soul
02. Light on the Grave
03. Mystery
04. The Heart
05. Bring You Home
06. These Are My Hands
07. Gravity
08. I Heard Your Singing
09. Take a Chance
10. Darling
11. Patiently Waiting
12. It’s Only Love
13. Talk to Me

so there are 2 more songs that weren't reported?..bonus tracks? I'm curious and wondering if "The Bells" is supposed to be on the album.

Maybe to add a word or 2 about Jordan Gatesmith, one of Minnesota youngest and brightest musical talents. The show I saw last night was another one of his bands "Howler." Despite the sauna-like conditions and the fact The Beat I'm not sure works for electric music too well (I only was there one other time seeing Jenny Dalton alone with her keyboard and a mic). Howler impressed me enough. I'd describe as sort of garage power-pop.

They had a free 4(5) song demo available at the show.
Howler Facebook Wall

I suppose it's also worth adding, last night was supposed to be the release show for We Valedictorians "The Goon" but that, I would hope for good reason, will be in the near future. The record is done anyway, Jordan and the others just need to do all the logistical busy work to put it out and have a release show to go along with it.

The movie I caught was "Exit Through the Giftshop," and a review should be coming rather soon about it. I'll add here, it definitely lived up to how good it appeared from the trailers.

Friday, May 14, 2010

East of the Wall - Ressentiment (2010)

5/14/10 2:15AM

album page on translation loss records (a "Purchase Release" link is there).

July 20th "Ressentiment" is released.

Track Listing:
1. The Ladder
2. Salieri
3. Fool's Errand
4. A Wisp Of Tow
5. Ocean Of Water
6. It's Always Worth While Speaking To A Clever Man
7. Fleshmaker
8. Maybe I'm Malaised
9. A Long Defeat
10. Gordian Corridor
11. Handshake In Your Mouth
12. Don't Stop Bereaving
13. Beasteater

2008's "Farmer's Almanac" was pretty good. I guess I like this band more for their progressive post-metal of sorts, style. Long Distance Calling I like more, and Shelter Red perhaps as much. But being a fan of those bands and of course Russian Circles (namely Enter), I am looking forward to this. I just remember never being able to track a hard copy of Farmer's Almanac and always hoping to at Cheapo. I should check amazon used and some other spots.

East of the Wall (who are now mostly members of The Postman Syndrome, although I never got too into that band.
East of the Wall

edit: on their myspace page, they also have something called "Get In Touch" tour dates listed for the Summer (along with a bunch of other dates) and July 24th they are projecting apparently to try and play in Minneapolis, Madison, WI or Wausau (or some other spot I'd presume).

I'd definitely go see them if they came here; I just don't know what the chances of getting them booked in town. The Triplerock, Entry, 400 Bar, or maybe The Varsity would be likely spots. It's with some band called "Name."

Kaura - That Which Defines Us (2010)

5/14/10 1:27AM

from their facebook:

KAURA We will be posting a link so you can purchase a Special Advance Deluxe CD/DVD version of our debut album next week. Stay Tuned!
April 27 at 1:25pm ·

good to see the artwork, but of course there is nothing apparently about where or when to purchase this record still, over 2 weeks after they posted that. I'm sure it'll come out, but when who knows. I'm not sure how much I care. On 1 hand, the songs they had on myspace for a few years sound good, but I could easily call them a blatant Tool-clone + some strings. I suppose my feeling isn't all that different than it is/was about Dead Letter Circus, and they've more or less left my doghouse and their debut album is as good if not a lot better than I expected.

Perhaps Kaura will surprise and impress me as well. At least they took their time to try (although Janus did as well, so who knows).

3/25/10 7:00AM


no time to go into detail about this band and pretty long awaited full-length debut album. But apparently that is the title and it'll be available at some upcoming gigs they are doing in April. Of course those concerts are in California where they are from.

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Wolf Parade - Expo 86 (2010)

5/13/10 11:57A.M.

sucker leaked at 128 save for the 2 singles: "Ghost Pressure" and "What Did My Lover Say? (It Always Had to Go This Way)

I'm listening right now, and as I go through it all, I am liking it more. But, some of these songs seem rather different than At Mt.Zoomer.

Also the fact they got another ep's worth of material to release, no matter how good this is, that is something more to look forward to.

p4k article with the 2 singles to stream

01 Cloud Shadow on the Mountain
02 Palm Road
03 What Did My Lover Say? (It Always Had to Go This Way)
04 Little Golden Age
05 In the Direction of the Moon
06 Ghost Pressure
07 Pobody's Nerfect
08 Two Men in New Tuxedos
09 Oh You, Old Thing
10 Yulia
11 Cave-o-Sapien

4/3/10 3:33AM
"Expo 86" is the title. Very excited to hear this and/or whatever else they release from their recent writing.

Also this p4k article included the following tour dates with this Japanese band The Moools. And a date at 1st Crapenue!

04-03 Halifax, Nova Scotia - Paragon Theatre *
04-04 Fredericton, New Brunswick - The Market *
04-06 Kingston, Ontario - Ale House *
04-07 Toronto, Ontario - Phoenix Concert Theatre *
05-06 Pecs, Hungary - Europe Mania Festival
05-07 Krems an der Donau, Austria - Donau Festival
05-08 Leipzig, Germany - Pop Up Festival
05-09 Prague, Czech Republic - Matrix
05-11 Salzburg, Austria - Rockhouse
05-12 Bologna, Italy - Lokomotiv
05-13 Torino, Italy - Spazio 211
05-16 Brussels, Belgium - Le Botanique
05-17 Brighton, England - Concorde 2
05-19 Glasgow, Scotland - Oran Mor
05-20 Dublin, Ireland - Vicar Street
05-21 Manchester, England - Club Academy
05-22 Utrecht, Netherlands - Tivoli
05-25 Lubijana, Slovenia - Menza Pri Koritu
05-26 Zagreb, Croatia - Teatar & TD
05-27 Milan, Italy - Salumeria della Musica
05-28 Gallen, Switzerland - Palace
05-29 Dudingen, Switzerland - Bad Bonn
05-31 Paris, France - Nouveau Casino
07-08 Montreal, Quebec - Le National
07-09 Montreal, Quebec - Le National
07-11 Portland, ME - Port City Music Hall
07-12 Boston, MA - House of Blues
07-13 New York, NY - Terminal 5
07-15 Cleveland, OH - Beachland Ballroom
07-16 Newport, KY - Southgate House
07-18 Minneapolis, MN - First Avenue
07-19 Winnipeg, Manitoba - Garrick Center
07-21 Saskatoon, Saskatchewan - Louis (University of Saskatoon Campus)
07-22 Calgary, Alberta - Republik
07-23 Edmonton, Alberta - The Starlight Room
07-25 Vancouver, British Columbia - Vogue Theatre
07-26 Seattle, WA - Showbox
07-27 Portland, OR - Crystal Ballroom
07-29 Santa Cruz, CA - Catalyst Club
07-30 Oakland, CA - The Fox
07-31 Los Angeles, CA - The Wiltern
09-15 London, England - The Forum

* with We Are Wolves

3/20/10 4:08PM
new, yet to be titled album expected June 29th.


"Everyone's been working on it for 12 hours a day, seven days a week for the last two weeks," he explains. "We ended up recording, I think, 15 songs, over 80 minutes of music, and we don't really know now whether we're going to put out an LP or a double album. If we did an LP maybe we'd do an LP and an EP, because we want to put all of the songs out. There were no songs that we recorded where everyone was like, 'Oh, that's a dud.'"

notes and more to come.

I have those movie reviews to post and at least a few blogs about music. I've been catching up on tv of late too. Lost is almost over and Breaking Bad is winding down and close to end of it's season as well. I just am a bit depressed about epic/episodic story-arc tv shows not really being around now with Lost gone. BSG is over already, Caprica is good, but not as intriguing at this stage as BSG was (yet). And Fringe has gotten better, but it's still not Lost or even BSG really. But at least it's gone from watchable to intriguing.

And of course next week is the fall lineup announcements. I suppose along with posting that whole thing (or what is each day by network) it should be worth adding some more of the Summer calendar stuff. When Royal Pains, Burn Notice, White Collar and Psych (along with Covert Affairs) will air. I'm totally behind In Plain Sight still along with Parenthood and V. Hopefully not for long. But also returning this Summer are Warehouse 13 on SyFy and I'm still assuming My Boys, which I guess is the final season with Jordana Spiro starring in a new NBC show I guess next fall/year.

Speaking of, here's a list of shows I hope to see now and/or in the future.

Sellevision: Bryan Fuller fictional show about a home shopping network. It's Bryan Fuller. That's all I need to know.

The Star Wars live-action show: imdb says it's slated for 2011 now. Set between Episode III and IV and it's supposed to focus on the minor characters i.e. not Luke, Leah, Han Solo or even Vader I guess. Just kill off JarJar at least.

Party Down: Rob Thomas of Veronica Mars and Cupid among other work has been doing this show at least for a year. The cast and guest stars are people I really enjoy. It's on the Starz! network which I don't get, but the 1st Season is probably on DVD now and/or online hulu or another site to stream. I along with Daria and some other shows, am going to have to try and make en effort to watch over the Summer.

Undercover: a new JJ Abrams show which is described like a Mr and Mrs. Smith the tv show, or a more serious/dramatic version of Chuck if he was married to Sarah.

True Blood: I may sign up for HBO just for this over the Summer. It returns soon, like maybe even in June.

Bryan K Vaughan has not worked on Lost this season. I'm not sure if his presence would have helped, but so be it. Imdb does list feature length movies for "Y: The Last Man" "Ex Machina" and "Runaways" among others for him. Joss Whedon may be involved in some of those, namely Runaways, which I believe both of them along with a few others were writers. As long as the casting is ok, I'm totally looking forward to those. But Shia LeBeauf as Yorick better not happen in Y: The Last Man.

Demians - Mute (2010)

blog posting

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

DEMIANS Mute - New album out June 28th
Current mood: energetic
Hello everyone! The new Demians record, entitled "Mute", comes out June 28th on Inside Out Music, distributed by EMI Music.

The album includes the following tracks:
1. Swing Of The Airwaves
2. Feel Alive
3. Porcelain
4. Black Over Gold
5. Overhead
6. Tidal
7. Rainbow Ruse
8. Hesitation Waltz
9. Falling From The Sun Stay tuned to for some new songs and infos very soon.


"Swing of the Airwaves (Edit)" is there

But no Chapel? maybe it got renamed? I hope, otherwise damn! I do like the bassline on that new track and other parts of it, sans for the compression on the cymbals which may be myspace thing itself.

But I will confess, as much as I am happy to see Demians and Nic make it, Building and Empire is an album that wasn't quite as addictive as I hoped. "Temple" is still a fantastic track. But I can't claim to have wanted to play it as much as I would have expected. Perhaps this new album will be more addictive and maybe even get me to revist BaE again and renew my interest in Demians overall.

Preview/Overview: Emanuel and the Fear - Listen (2010)

okay, given I've been on vacation for the past week, and will still be until Monday May 17th, some of the music I might want to thoroughly or at least more accurately talk about in here and/or review, well I'd rather wait.

But, at least it's worth bringing some of this stuff up.

Emanuel and the Fear is a new band who a friend of mine on suggested a few weeks ago. This friend also really enjoys Apes and Androids like I do. And I guess the best thing to do is copy/paste how they described them.

Hey, have you checked out Emanuel and The Fear yet? They're a rock orchestra from NY. Very cool and kind of prog-rock and remind me a lot of Apes and Androids, a little bit sound wise, but also with how they're kind of taking an existing genre and making it their own.

so that description sounds totally up my alley. I listened to their debut album "Listen" once and liked some of it, but wasn't entirely sold due to it being a "Rock Opera." But in playing it once more, and finally with headphones, I liked it more.

I've posted on some of the forums, I think among the new albums I have heard in 2010, the best thing clearly is The River Empires 88-minute epic debut record. And the 2nd best is the Lehto & Wright album "Children's Songs." And among my top 10-15, Foals and I would possibly include Dead Letter Circus as pleasant surprises that belong pretty high up.

But this record from Emanuel and the Fear, may potentially get addictive and thus may be the 1st real challenge to The River Empires in the race right now.

I've thought to myself, what may end up happening in 2010, may be similar to 2008 with TRE album may end up being like Apes and Androids, and Emanuel and the Fear being like The Stiletto Formal or Burst. A damn good record, that in another year would finish on top, but the same year something even better and landmark comes out.

But I bought a copy of "Listen" already for under $2 on Amazon.

1. The Introduction 2:12
2. Guatemala 3:38
3. Ariel And The River 5:25
4. Jimme's Song (Full Band Version) 5:24
5. Duckies 0:16
6. Free Life 3:52
7. Dear Friend 4:18
8. Yo, Jåmin 0:31
9. Trucker Lovesong 5:40
10. Baclony 6:44
11. Whatever You Do 4:08
12. Bridges And Ladies 0:16
13. The Raiman 5:13
14. Same Way 3:33
15. Simple Eyes 4:03
16. Song For A Girl 3:34
17. The Finale 5:47
18. Look Ma, The Walls Are Moving! 0:23
19. Razzmatazz 3:49

hopefully a true review and feeling on how good this album is will come soon, along with a 1st half of 2010 index report of some kind.

Covert Affairs : new USA Network Show

premieres July 13th (Tuesday Nights)

Piper Perabo who I know from "Coyote Ugly" "Lost and Delirious" and the 2000 live action movie "Rocky and Bullwinkle" stars.
Christopher Gorham (Jake 2.0, Ugly Betty, and Out of Practice)
Sendhil Ramamurthy (Mohinder on Heroes)
Peter Gallagher (The O.C. among other notable work)

New jobs are tough- especially when your new employer is the CIA. Annie Walker (Piper Perabo) is fluent in six languages, has traveled all over the world and is besting her fellow CIA trainees in every test, but that doesn't explain why she's suddenly summoned by CIA headquarters to report for active duty as a field operative a month before her training is over. What she doesn't know is there may be something-or someone-from her past that her CIA bosses are really after. With the help of Auggie Anderson (Christopher Gorham), a tech ops expert who was blinded while on assignment and is Annie's unofficial guide to this inscrutable world filled with intrigue, danger, and bureaucratic red tape, this quick study won't be kept in the dark for long.

another CIA show, but pretty much everything the USA Network brings on is gold right now. With the cast and premise, no matter if the creators, are unknown, I expect this to be another good show. And they even got to direct (the pilot I imagine) Tim Matheson, who has directed and appeared on some of their shows in recent years.

Ramona Falls - Russia video (2010)

rather surreal how the camera is used with the woman constantly moving backwards or up.

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Local Natives - World News Video (2010)

I'm curious on who all the extras they got for this video. Especially the girls in those bikinis, hehe. Something I'll try and remember to ask them when I see them again next Monday with some band called "Suckers" at the 400 Bar in Minneapolis.

It also should be pretty interesting to see how many people show up for that show. I fear but also hope there's more or less a capacity there, and the belief they are big enough to be headlining some larger venues like The Varsity Theater or The Cedar Cultural Center. Guess if they come back later in the year, it'll be more evident.

My 4th show seeing them (including 1 as Cavil at Rest).

Thursday, May 6, 2010

Lost: A prognostication

I wrote this last week. It's worth throwing out there.

Apr. 29

this may be totally and completely off on how the writers will end and explain everything with it. But it just hit me today they could do this.

Every passenger on board the Oceanic plane and every person they meet or come into contact with extensively on and off the Island, before any of those events happened, were in fact people who agreed to be part of a scientific experiment with therapy, memory, etc. Each one of them were hypnotized to have no recollection of agreeing to do this.

It's all (the entire show) a virtual (or subconscious) simulation that they signed waivers for, before they even took on a new name and life in this simulation.

Nobody died or anything.

It's an easy, cop-out way to explain the show, but it would work. The guy who portrays Jacob is the designer of the simulation.

That would be similar to The Matrix, but so be it.