Saturday, June 25, 2016

Random Artist Feature: Ours



This video, as a 2nd attempt, came out good in length (11 mins, relatively). It was a 2nd draft per say, largely because on the 1st attempt I gave more details about the backstory, etc.

That is kind of the issue or 1 of some issues with making these, as there's a lot to tell, details, anecdotes, etc.

Anyway, it did get me thinking of wanting to do just album feature videos at some point, which some might be rehash, some may not. I dunno. I often get the sense with doing just an album, I don't have a lot of specifics to talk about with each song, beyond 1 or 2 words, but that may all that is needed, even if it's an amazing, favorite song, etc.

But I do plan to continue to just make these for awhile now, and once I've sort of gotten through a lot of my favorites, I may then restart doing videos and try and do album reviews specifically. But not likely in series per say. I dunno, I guess I'll see.
Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Friday, June 24, 2016

Archive - The False Foundation (2015-2016)

I haven't checked this one out just yet, but with another calendar year, and another Archive album coming, there's no questioning how prolific they are. I checked an interview with Steven Wilson per YouTube the other day and he mentioned how up until the early 90's, artists would always release at least 1 album a year. So it's not that weird. Kevin Gilbert used to say the same thing. A professional musician should be able to spend 12 months writing/recording etc to release an album (10 songs I recall he mentioned).


That being the case, the best thing Archive has done in recent years, I think was Axiom and Controlling Crowds before that. I did enjoy Restriction from 2015 as well, although the whole electronic/industrial thing I think maybe is a work in progress for them, in that I am waiting for them to put out something better. Although CC is 1 of my favorite records of the last 5-10 years certainly.

The video below for "Driving in Nails" and the Preorder for the October 7th release is linked on their site.

 photo 510eabef-3872-48a2-a505-2334d074dea9_zpsjs8fviip.png
1. Blue Faces
2. Driving In Nails
3. The Pull Out
4. The False Foundation
5. Bright Lights
6. A Thousand Thoughts
7. Splinters
8. Sell Out
9. Stay Tribal
10. The Weight Of The World

http://www.archiveofficial.uk/
Picadilly Records 




Fates Warning - Theories of Flight (2015-2016)

6/24/16 6:45AM

"White Flag" play through video below.

Um, great track. I've now finally heard this record like many, and I'll share a couple of things I did on Social Media./rym/forums yesterday about it.

this album's a monster. The 1st 4 tracks are perfect. "The Light and Shade of Things" is among the best pieces they've (Jim Matheos) has ever composed.
As a longtime fan(boy), I can't get enough of this record right now.

the new Fates Warning album Theories of Flight is a monster. I'm really enjoying it.

Theories may become really addictive. the 1st 4 tracks have this great, *FW-energy* to sound sort of cheesy.  I feel like I'm listening to an album that sounds like Parallels, APOSG, Disconnected and XV yet is very modern

I'll probably make a video review time permitting (maybe on a Tuesday in early July?). But as a huge fan, I'm really happy to hear such a great new record from a favorite band of mine.



  6/3/16 6:25AM

1st single "From the Rooftops"


5/26/16 11:40AM

Teaser:

Fanboy bias included, I'm liking these clips, although I'm not sure if I am hearing tons of new things. If anything, it's more calling back to the past, but may end up being for the best anyway.

 

 
4/23/16 7:46PM
Preorder

2 LP+CD

July 1st Release Date (Insideout).

Stoked. Although interesting to notice the track list. I recall a recent interview with Joey Vera talking about how this new album could have 1 or 2 extensive epics (like 15 mins?) but it appears there's 2 10 minute pieces. Maybe they decided to re-arrange them or something.

Regardless, Fates Warning are an all-time favorite band of mine, and I am highly anticipating this one, like the Pain of Salvation and Marillion albums among other long time favorite bands of mine releasing new albums soon.

b-mouth story with quotes from the band

Fates Warning - Theories of Flight.jpg
CD 1 – Main Album:
1. From The Rooftops (06:52)
2. Seven Stars (05:33)
3. SOS (04:34)
4. The Light And Shade Of Things (10:14)
5. White Flag (05:20)
6. Like Stars Our Eyes Have Seen (05:13)
7. The Ghosts Of Home (10:31)
8. Theories of Flight (04:00)

CD2 – Acoustic Bonus Disc:
1. Firefly (03:15, previously unreleased)
2. Seven Stars (04:25, previously unreleased)
3. Another Perfect Day (03:25, previously unreleased)
4. Pray Your Gods (03:45, Toad The Wet Sprocket cover version)
5. Adela (02:25, Joaquin Rodrigo cover version)
6. Rain (04:03, Uriah Heep cover version)

The Monkees - You Bring the Summer [Official Video]



Nice animation which Jason Nesmith I guess made, and I imagine required a lot of work to finish. The big thing beyond it is most of the Monkees aficionados have been dissecting this and spotting Easter eggs left and right.

-For one, just the styles of clothing, looks, are homages to different parts of episodes of the tv show. Even just the end of course with the four faces.

The color sequences blend together and segue into different eras.

-Daily Nightly newspaper
-Andy Partridge's name in the newspaper
-Love to Love in the newspaper
-a Keg/Case of Root Beer in the car (Root Beer in the lyrics)
-different nations flags in the background towards the end including Mexico and Japan.

it only has 9 thousand plays on YouTube, which it was shared a couple of days ago, but I'm still surprised by that number. More people should see this video, even if they don't spot a lot of the visual references.

Sting sings "Dancing with the Moonlit Knight" into Message



Too bad Peter Gabriel didn't come out for it, but still pretty surreal. I wish I could go to the Chicago show, but alas, time/money, etc.

Maybe Gabriel will return to Minnesota someday in the future.

The comments are kind of funny as many are saying "Selling England by the Pound" etc..that is fine, but it's not the name of the SONG he's singing, just the ALBUM it comes after. I imagine there are many in the crowd that don't know that track, but hopefully will.

Also the subject matter/lyrics fit what recently happened in England and Brelix marketing. Kind of foreshadowing I guess.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

The Dear Hunter - Act V: Hymns with the Devil in Confessional (2015-2016)

http://hymnswiththedevil.com/

Release Date per iTunes link below is September 9th, 2016.
Although as 2 entries says, the link above will likely have more details come at 1PM Central. 

Cover Art for Act V, Hymns with the Devil in Confessional.jpg
1 Regress 1:22   
2 The Moon / Awake 6:09        
3 Cascade 5:11        
4 The Most Cursed of Hands / Who Am I 6:42        
5 The Revival 5:00        
6 Melpomene 4:14        
7 Mr. Usher (On His Way to Town) 4:59        
8 The Haves Have Naught 4:12        
9 Light 4:02        
10 Gloria 5:16        
11 The Flame (Is Gone) 5:40        
12 The Fire (Remains) 5:26        
13 The March 4:12        
14 Blood 4:33        
15 A Beginning 6:19

iTunes Preorder

"Gloria" streaming on Spotify

Tour Dates also are coming with Eisley and Gavin Castleton which Minneapolis is already confirmed on September 16th at The Fine Line (I should go, but I may not per another show out of town with the fiancee and Monkees/Nesmith/50th Anniversary related in LA).


Note from Casey per the above link


In January of 2015, I shared an image with my friends on Instagram of a book of sheet music. This music, prepared with the help of Brian Adam McCune (who also added additional orchestration) was being tracked at Fantasy Studios in  Berkeley, CA with the amazing Awesöme Orchestra, lead by David Möschler (conductor).

The image, at the time, had the title blurred out. I’ve never been a fan of talking something up before it’s finished… before I even know if I want people to hear it. There is such a large trend with artists to discuss their future creation at length - to promise the best work of their career; a return to form; etc… It seems, more often than not, that these promises rarely deliver, and serve more as morale boosters for the artists themselves.

I would be lying if I didn’t admit that I enjoy the opposite. While I am not an elusive, or mysterious person - I do enjoy the mystery, and elusion… and since it seems a rare occurrence that the matter makes good on the mystery - I steep in that realm for as long as I can.

I’ve fielded many questions. I’ve told many lies. Every inquiry met with dismissal… Every ‘What are you guys doing next?’ met with a ‘Really? Act IV just came out… less than a year ago! Don’t I deserve some time off?’… Some of my acidity may have been rooted in some authentic anxiety… in all reality, it had only been 8 months…

So, with that image (in link), I would like to announce Act V. These two albums, Act IV and V, were written and recorded much in the same time frame- though each album retains its own unique identity, tone, and experience.

Act V, however, will be the final ‘rock’ record in the Act series. This may read as though I am abandoning the project, one record early - but the truth is simply that in knowing what Act VI means to the series, and what its story has to say - presenting it in the same form as Acts I-V would be short selling the creative opportunity it presents.

It isn’t always easy to find the balance between personal creative fulfillment, and the fulfillment of our fans/friends - especially when you’ve spent more than a decade of your life pursuing one path… and though my personal path has been, at times, far more tangential than the paths I see so many artists walking - I still find myself pushing for new, and exciting ideas… It is that same gut instinct that has lead me through the Acts, the Color Spectrum, Migrant, and Amour & Attrition… and as always, I need to trust that instinct.

In the foreseeable future, this means to recognize the box that The Dear Hunter has lived in, and blow the box up. This doesn’t mean more than it says. This band is not ending… I am not quitting… This is nothing more than vocalizing the desire for fresh air after what I believe has been the busiest, and most obsessive, two years of my life.

So - to commemorate this moment in both my, and the band’s creative history, we are setting out this September on what I am calling ‘The Final Act Tour’… Does it sound grim? Possibly… Is it? No. This is a celebration of everything that has brought me to this point… a celebration for every person who ever toiled over the meaning of a verse; the placement of an illustration; the name of a song; the point of view the lyrics maintain… This tour is for all of you, and we couldn’t be more excited to see you.

In addition to the tour, we will also be having ‘Story Time with Casey’, and while that sounds like the setup for a late night cartoon, it’s really an opportunity to get together, meet face to face, and discuss the larger world that exists in the records - be it the story or the music.

In summation - I need to stress something to you all…The single greatest responsibility I have is my commitment to creativity.  The task of remaining true and authentic is not something I take lightly, and I may have imploded long ago, if not for the incredible and endless support I receive daily from fans, friends, and family… I am humbled, and grateful to have you all in my life - and I am incredibly excited for the remainder of this year.


Act V: Hymns with the Devil in Confessional will be released this September on Cave & Canary Goods / Equal Vision Records.

Act V was written at the same time as Act IV and this Act V is the final "Rock" act per say. I wonder if Act VI will end up being a symphony?

Edit: Also GOOD LORD, there's like a dozen different preorder packages, including a $90 and $100 one that includes among a number of other things, the ACT I: THE LAKE SOUTH, THE RIVER NORTH GRAPHIC NOVEL. Also playing cards, coffee, a flask, mug and other stuff. I can't see how I won't be able to preorder, although I was hoping to wait. The issue could be with the Colored Vinyl being limited in quantities right now.

Tour Dates:
Jul 16 PromoWest Fest Columbus, OH
Sep 09 DOUG FIR LOUNGE Portland, OR
Sep 10 NEUMOS Seattle, WA
Sep 13 The Complex Salt Lake City, UT
Sep 14 Summit Music Hall Denver, CO
Sep 16 Fine Line Music Hall Minneapolis, MN
Sep 20 The Ready Room St Louis, MO
Sep 21 Metro Chicago, IL
Sep 23 The Loving Touch Ferndale, MI
Sep 24 Beachland Ballroom Cleveland, OH
Sep 25 The Waiting Room Buffalo, NY
Sep 27 The Met Pawtucket, RI
Sep 29 Paradise Rock Club Boston, MA
Sep 30 Union Transfer Philadelphia, PA
Oct 01 Webster Hall New York, NY
Oct 05 Rock & Roll Hotel Washington, DC
Oct 07 Cat's Cradle Carrboro, NC
Oct 08 Exit In Nashville, TN
Oct 09 Terminal West @ King Plow Arts Center Atlanta, GA
Oct 12 The Social Orlando, FL
Oct 14 White Oak Music Hall Houston, TX
Oct 15 The Mohawk Austin, TX
Oct 16 Gas Monkey Bar N Grill Dallas, TX
Oct 20 Crescent Ballroom Phoenix, AZ
Oct 21 The Irenic San Diego, CA
Oct 22 The Glass House Pomona, CA
Oct 25 El Rey Theatre Los Angeles, CA
Oct 28 The Fillmore San Francisco, CA

Ministry of Music Album Reviews Ranked (and linked)

So ever since discovering this young man from Wales YouTube Channel nearly a year ago, its become kind of a staple and addiction to check out his album reviews (and "React to Watchmojo" lists among other Lists like from Magazines, etc).

And with his album reviews, like many reviews/reviewers, he often gives a rating for the album. Out of 10.  So a couple of months ago, it got me curious what every album he's reviewed would look like in a comparison. So I went ahead and reviewed all his reviews and I finally completed a ranking of every one he's done on this channel which per the below description, began on May 31st, 2014.

Now, mind you, he's said he intends to re-review many of these albums, so the rating that he gave many of these albums when the review was uploaded, would likely now be different. Particularly, some of the Dream Theater albums and even like Deadwing from Porcupine Tree.

I think he has only re-reviewed 1 album, being Rush's Signals, which I included on the below list of course. But if I recall, Alex has said he intends to re-review a number of others. And I guess with the interest to keep this list accurate and up to date, I'll have to edit and bump this entry when that happens.

Also I compiled a list of albums that from watching the reviews multiple times, I did not hear him give a rating at this point. 11 albums as it comes to. Perhaps those also will be re-reviewed at some point and then given a rating, etc.

The Bolded albums are most if not all the albums I personally requested that he reviewed. I know there are some I requested that he has not reviewed yet. But given the list below is 1-419, I will plan to update/edit/bump this in the future, more from myself should show up.

However I have ceased to requesting more albums for him to review per his extensively long list of requests (1 user named JoeyRuss guessed around 250 or more recently), I figured to ease up on them and let him try and catch up. He's closing-in on 500 reviews which I would guess will come sometime near my Wedding in September.

He does tend to chose big albums to review at Milestone numbers, like Scenes from a Memory at 100,  Pet Sounds at 200,  The Wall at 300, Ziggy Stardust at 400, etc, so 500 certainly may be something pretty significant.

And I was thinking of making a similar/transcribed list on to rateyourmusic.com which is certainly easily able to update, etc. Perhaps around the time of his 500th review.

Why? I guess this can both be a neat resource for the past and future reviews. Partially per his taste and my own align somewhat well, so I just thought it would be neat to see how his ratings may compare to my own and just among his own tastes. The re-reviews I suppose could certainly reflect on this current rating ranking in the future.

I counted 46? 10/10's which is not far off from the number of albums I have on rym at 5-stars which is somewhere in the 50's or 60's I recall.


Ministry of Music on YouTube

Joined May 31, 2014

Description
Hi, I'm Alex and I will review the albums that I have bought. So if you want unbiased reviews from a 15 year old guy with a broad music taste, then watch my videos. In my spare time, I play drums for a Hard Rock/Blues Rock band in South Wales, hoping to be a successful originals band.

Rankings Highest to Lowest

10/10 Rush - Hemispheres (3)
10/10 Yes - Fragile (9)
10/10 Air - Pocket Symphony (11)
10/10 Genesis - ...And Then There Were Three... (15)
10/10 10cc - How Dare You! (18)
10/10 Steven Wilson - The Raven That Refused to Sing (25)
10/10 Pink Floyd - The Dark Side of the Moon (29)
10/10 Nick Drake - Bryter Layter (31)
10/10 Porcupine Tree - The Incident (35)
10/10 Genesis - Selling England By the Pound (36)
10/10 10cc - 10cc (41)
10/10 King Crimson - In the Court of the Crimson King (43)
10/10 The Beatles - Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (44)
10/10 Genesis - Foxtrot (46)
10/10 MGMT - MGMT (48)
10/10 Black Sabbath - Black Sabbath (50)
10/10 The Who - Tommy (54)
10/10 The Beatles - The White Album (56)
10/10 Genesis - Nursery Cryme (59)
10/10 Air - Moon Safari (63)
10/10 Porcupine Tree - Signify (65)
10/10 The Beatles - Rubber Soul (70)
10/10 Porcupine Tree - In Absentia (75)
10/10 Jellyfish - Bellybutton (76)
10/10 Air - Le Voyage Dans La Lune (83)
10/10 Rush - Permanent Waves (87)
10/10 Fleet Foxes - Fleet Foxes (89)
10/10 Genesis - A Trick of the Tail (92)
10/10 Porcupine Tree - Stupid Dream (96)
10/10 Rush - Caress of Steel (112)
10/10 Rush - 2112 (114)
10/10 Rush - All the World's a Stage (116)
10/10 Steven Wilson - Hand.Cannot.Erase (117)
10/10 Genesis - The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway (119)
10/10 Rush - Exit...Stage Left (120)
10/10 The Conotortionist - Exoplanet (125)
10/10 Yes - Yessongs (129)
10/10 Opeth - Ghost Reveries (131)
10/10 Opeth - Blackwater Park (135)
10/10 The Beatles - Abbey Road (174)
10/10 Iron Maiden - The Book of Souls (176)
10/10 Iron Maiden - Live After Death (213)
10/10 Iron Maiden - Rock in Rio (251)
10/10 Iron Maiden - Death on the Road (280)
10/10 Pink Floyd - The Wall (300)
10/10 Iron Maiden - En Vivo! (306)
10/10 Pink Floyd - Meddle (310)
10/10 Iron Maiden - Maiden England'88 (313)
10/10 Between the Buried and Me - Colors (323)
9.9/10 Iron Maiden - Flight 666 (297)
9.85/10 Iron Maiden - Beast Over Hammersmith (270)
9.82/10 Tears for Fears - Songs from the Big Chair (250)
9.8/10 Dream Theater - Images and Words (97)
9.8/10 Iron Maiden - Live at Donington (242)
9.8/10 Iron Maiden - BBC Archives (260)
9.7/10 Iron Maiden - Piece of Mind (156)
9.7/10 Iron Maiden - Powerslave (158)
9.7.10 Megadeth - Dystopia (290)
9.7/10 Queen - Live at the Rainbow '74 (308)
9.7/10 The Dear Hunter - Act I: The Lake South, the River North (367)
9.68/10 Steven Wilson - 4 1/2 [EP] (289)
9.65/10 David Bowie - Blackstar (275)
9.65/10 Bob Dylan - Blood on the Tracks (360)
9.63/10 Queen - A Night at the Opera (293)
9.6/10 Porcupine Tree - The Incident (160)
9.6/10 Dream Theater - Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (178)
9.6/10 Jellyfish - Spilt Milk (185)
9.6/10 Led Zeppelin - Houses of the Holy (221)
9.6/10 The Smashing Pumpkins - Siamese Dream (247)
9.55/10 The Who - Who's Next (204)
9.55/10 Pink Floyd - Animals (254)
9.55/10 Edge of Sanity - Crimson (266)
9.5 Led Zeppelin - Celebration Day (13)
9.5/10 Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin (20)
9.5/10 Nick Drake - Five Leaves Left (30)
9.5/10 Rush - Fly By Night (39)
9.5/10 Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin II (53)
9.5/10 Black Sabbath - Paranoid (90)
9.5/10 Rush - Rush (110)
9.5/10 Iron Maiden - Brave New World (168)
9.5/10 Weezer - Pinkerton (181)
9.5/10 Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here (194)
9.5/10 Black Sabbath - Headless Cross (231)
9.5/10 Megadeth - Endgam (237)
9.5/10 Tool - 10,000 Days (259)
9.5/10 The Beatles - A Hard Day's Night (302)
9.5/10 Rainbow - Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow (312)
9.5/10 David Bowie - The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars (400)
9.5/10 Pantera - Vulgar Display of Power (403)
9.5/10 The Beatles - Let it Be (404)
9.5/10 Enslaved - Below the Lights (405)
9.5/10 Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool (417) 
9.47/10 Blur - Modern Life is Rubbish (366)
9.45/10 TesseracT - Polaris (191)
9.45/10 Black Sabbath - Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (219)
9.45/10 Mercyful Fate - Melissa (235)
9.45/10 Roger Joseph Manning Jr - The Land of Pure Imagination (244)
9.45/10 Queen - Queen (268)
9.45/10 Pantera - Cowboys from Hell (272)
9.45/10 Queen - Sheer Heart Attack (285)
9.45/10 Pain of Salvation - Remedy Lane (309)
9.45/10 Spawn of Possession - Incurso (347)
9.45/10 BADBADNOTGOOD - BBNG2 (394)
9.45/10 David Bowie - Low (416) 
9.4/10 Yes - Tales from Topographic Oceans (137)
9.4/10 Iron Maiden - Somewhere in Time (161)
9.4/10 Death - Symbolic (182)
9.4/10 Metallica - Ride the Lightning (188)
9.4/10 Cannibal Corpse - Torture (192)
9.4/10 The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds (200)
9.4/10 Iron Maiden - A Real Live One (225)
9.4/10 Transatlantic - SMPT:e (252)
9.4/10 Fearless Vampire Killers - Bruises (264)
9.4/10 Manic Street Preachers - The Holy Bible (265)
9.4/10 Queen - Queen on Fire - Live at the Bowl (331)
9.4/10 Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited (342)
9.4/10 Father John Misty - I Love You, Honeybear (377)
9.4/10 Talking Heads - Remain in Light (391)
9.4/10 Lamb of God - Wrath (402)
9.4/10 Radiohead - The Bends (409)
9.38/10 Oasis - Standing on the Shoulder of Giants (299)
9.35/10 Blaze Bayley - The Man Who Would Not Die (163)
9.35/10 Judas Priest - Stained Class (210)
9.35/10 Kreator - Violent Revolution (239)
9.35/10 Mercyful Fate - Don't Break the Oath (261)
9.35/10 Metallica - Master of Puppets (292)
9.35/10 Genesis - Duke (295)
9.35/10 Queen - Jazz (321)
9.35/10 maudlin of the Well - Bath (329)
9.35/10 Queen - Innuendo (349)
9.35/10 Burzum - Hvis Lyset Tar Oss (If the Light Takes Us) (357)
9.35/10 Ghost - Meliora (359)
9.33/10 Queen - A Day at the Races (340)
9.3/10 Rush - Counterparts (134)
9.3/10 Iron Maiden - A Matter of Life and Death (139)
9.3/10 Iron Maiden - Number of the Beast (154)
9.3/10 Iron Maiden - Virtual XI (167)
9.3/10 Emerson Lake and Palmer - Brain Salad Surgery (172)
9.3/10 Symphony X - V: The New Mythology Suite (199)
9.3/10 Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin IV (217)
9.3/10 Oasis - (What's the Story) Morning Glory (258)
9.3/10 Megadeth - Peace Sells...But Who's Buying? (274)
9.3/10 Queen - Queen II (278)
9.3/10 The Faceless - Akeldama (343)
9.3/10 Pink Floyd - Atom Heart Mother (350)
9.3/10 Pink Floyd - Obscured By Clouds (361)
9.3/10 Blue Oyster Cult - Tyranny and Mutation (364)
9.3/10 The Dear Hunter - Act IV: Rebirth in Reprise (396)
9.3/10 George Harrison - All Things Must Pass (406)
9.27/10 Nine Inch Nails - The Downward Spiral (392)
9.25/10 Iron Maiden - The Final Frontier (171) 
9.25/10 Rick Wakeman - White Rock (189)
9.25/10 Judas Priest - Sad Wings of Destiny (206)
9.25/10 The Mars Volta - Frances the Mute (245)
9.25/10 Oasis - Definitely Maybe (248)
9.25/10 Blue Oyster Cult - Blue Oyster Cult (255)
9.25/10 Oasis - The Masterplan (368)
9.2/10 Kevin Gilbert - The Shaming of the True (227)
9,2/10 Iron Maiden - A Real Dead One (234)
9.2/10 Cannibal Corpse - A Skeletal Domain (277)
9.2/10 Megadeth - Cryptic Writings (287)
9.2/10 Rainbow - Rising (320)
9.2/10 The Smashing Pumpkins - Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness (353)
9/17/10 Oasis - Dig Out Your Soul (319)
9.17/10 Rainbow - Long Live Rock 'n Roll (325)
9.15/10 Queensryche - Operation: Mindcrime (187)
9.15/10 Tool - Ænima (256)
9.15/10 Oasis - Heathen Chemistry (303)
9.15/10 Pantera - Far Beyond Driven (407)
9.15/10 David Bowie - Aladdin Sane (414)
9.1/10 Yes - Going for the One (141)
9.1/10 The Who - The Who By Numbers (153)
9.1/10 Judas Priest - Painkiller (155) 
9.1/10 Rick Wakeman - The Six Wives of Henry VIII (159)
9.1/10 Iron Maiden - Seventh Son of a Seventh Son (162)
9.1/10 Judas Priest - Screaming for Vengeance (220)
9.1/10 Tool - Undertow (249)
9.1/10 Mercyful Fate - Mercyful Fate [EP] (257)
9.1/10 Manic Street Preachers - Journal for Plague Lovers (271)
9.1/10 Arctic Monkeys - Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not (352)
9.1/10 Transatlantic - Bridge Across Forever (362)
9.1/10 Blur - Parklife (373)
9/05/10 Judas Priest - Sin After Sin (273)
9.05/10 Led Zeppelin - Physical Graffiti (279)
9.05/10 Metallica - Kill 'Em All (284)
9.05/10 Kevin Gilbert - Thud (294)
9.05/10 The Mars Volta - Tremulant [EP] (334)
9/10 The Who - The Who Sell Out (2)
9/10 Tame Impala - Lonerism (4)
9/10 David Bowie - Hunky Dory (7)
9/10 Jon Anderson - Olias of Sunhillow (14)
9/10 The Beatles - Revolver (17)
9/10 The Mothers of Invention - Absolutely Free (24)
9/10 Air - The Virigin Suicides OST (28)
9/10 Yes - The Yes Album (42)
9/10 MGMT - Congratulations (60)
9/10 Rush - Moving Pictures (68)
9/10 Green Day - Dookie (74)
9/10 The Smiths - The Queen is Dead (79)
9/10 Yes - Relayer (88)
9/10 Pink Floyd - The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (91)
9/10 Genesis - Wind and Wuthering (93)
9/10 Genesis - Seconds Out (94)
9/10 Radiohead - OK Computer (107)
9/10 Goldfrapp - Felt Mountain (109)
9/10 Emerson Lake and Palmer - Trilogy (111)
9/10 The Who - Quadrophenia (115)
9/10 Rush - A Farewell to Kings (118)
9/10 Deep Purple - Machine Head (123)
9/10 Gavin Harrison - Cheating the Polygraph (133)
9/10 Iron Maiden - The X Factor (148)
9/10 Mastodon - Crack the Skye (151)
9/10 Iron Maiden - Killers (152)
9/10 Iron Maiden - Dance of Death (170)
9/10 Toy Matinee - Toy Matinee (195)
9/10 Weezer - Maldroit (202)
9/10 Ghost - Opus Eponymous (215)
9/10 Pain of Salvation - The Perfect Element I (233)
9/10 Bend Sinister - Stories of Brothers, Tales of Lovers (241)
9/10 Yes - Talk (316)
9/10 Lynyrd Skynyrd - (Pronounced 'Lĕh-'nérd 'Skin-'nérd) (344)
9/10 Metallica - Metallica (The Black Album) (358)
9/10 Edge of Sanity - Crimson II  (371)
9/10 Enslaved - Vikingligr Veldi (401)
8.95/10 Janis Joplin - Pearl (203)
8.95/10 Judas Priest - Defenders of the Faith (226)
8.95/10 Big Star - #1 Record (324)
8.9-9/10 Death - The Sound of Perseverance (146)
8.9/10 Rush - Signals (122)
8.9/10 Rush - Roll the Bones (132)
8.9/10 Cannibal Corpse - Vile (175)
8.9/10 Dio - Dream Evil (207)
8.9/10 Death Cab for Cutie - Plans (288)
8.9/10 Genesis - Invisible Touch (307)
8.9/10 The Strokes - Is This It (337)
8.9/10 Puya - Fundamental (370)
8.9/10 Ween - Chocolate and Cheese (376)
8.9/10 Gorgoroth - Under the Sign of Hell (378)
8.9/10 Pantera - The Great Southern Trendkill (412)
8.89/10 SikTh - Death of a Dead Day (332)
8.85/10 Jeff Buckley - Grace (326)
8.8/10 Iron Maiden - Fear of the Dark (165)
8.8/10 Metallica - And Justice for All (166)
8.8/10 Deep- Purple - Made in Japan (186)
8.8/10 Weezer - Weezer (Green Album) (193)
8.8/10 The Who - Odds and Sodds (216)
8.8/10 Venom - At War with Satan (223)
8.8/10 Oasis - Be Here Now (262)
8.8/10 Rainbow - Down to Earth (330)
8.8/10 Suede - Dog Man Star (413)
8.7/10 Arcade Fire - Reflektor (169)
8.7/10 Weezer - Weezer (Blue Album) (173)
8.7/10 Rick Wakeman - Criminal Record (183)
8.7/10 Blaze - Silicon Messiah (184)
8.7/10 Nine Inch Nails - Broken (301)
8.7/10 Queen - News of the World (317)
8.7/10 The Mars Volta - De-Loused in the Comatorium (328)
8.7/10 Deicide - Legion (386)
8.7/10 The Velvet Underground and Nico - The Velvet Underground and Nico (418)
8.65/10 Uriah Heep - Uriah Heep Live (236)
8.65/10 Burzum - Filosofem (253)
8.6/10 Kreator - Phantom Antichrist (304)
8.6/10 Puya - Puya  (355)
8.6/10 MGMT - Time to Pretend EP (145)
8.6/10 King Diamond - Abigail (201)
8.6/10 Judas Priest - Turbo (214)
8.6/10 Weezer - Weezer (The White Album) (351)
8.6/10 System of a Down - Steal This Album! (419)
8.6/10 Megadeth - The System Has Failed (420)
8.5-9/10 Porcupine Tree - Nil Recurring [EP] (51)
8.5-9/10 Kraftwerk - Radio-Activity (121)
8.5/10 Pink Floyd - A Saucerful of Secrets (47)
8.5/10 Steven Wilson - Grace for Drowning (78)
8/5/10 Emerson Lake and Palmer - Tarkus (82)
8.5/10 The Who - My Generation (86)
8.5/10 Rush - Presto (130)
8.5/10 Oasis - Don't Believe the Truth (314)
8.5/10 Gorgoroth - Antichrist (375)
8.4/10 Iron Maiden - No Prayer for the Dying (164)
8.4/10 Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End (211)
8.4/10 My Chemical Romance - Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge (348)
8.35/10 Big Brother and the Holding Company - Cheap Thrills (197)
8.35/10 The Doors - Morrison Hotel (346)
8.35/10 Cannibal Corpse - Tomb Of The Mutilate (421)
8.3/10 Yngwie Malmsteen's Rising Force - Trilogy (276)
8.3/10 Bend Sinister - Bend Sinister [EP] (305)
8.3/10 Gorgoroth - Pentagram (369)
8.25 Darkthrone -  A Blaze in the Northern Sky (410)
8.2/10 Korn - Follow the Leader (336)
8.2/10 Darkthrone - Under a Funeral Moon (415)
8.1/10 Fight - War of Words (232)
8.1/10 Elliott Smith - Either / Or (387)
8.05/10 Bathory - Bathory (246)
8.05/10 Judas Priest - British Steel (281)
8/10 The Doors - The Doors (5)
8/10 Van Halen - Van Halen (6)
8/10 Porcupine Tree - Recordings (10)
8/10 The Dave Brubeck Quartet - Time Out (16)
8/10 MGMT - MGMT (21)
8/10 Nick Drake - Pink Moon (32)
8/10 Nick Drake - Made to Love Magic (33)
8/10 Kraftwerk - The Man Machine (37)
8/10 The Black Keys - Turn Blue (38)
8/10 Storm Corrosion - Storm Corrosion (58)
8/10 10cc - Sheet Music (62)
8/10 Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin III (64)
8/10 Rush - Snakes and Arrows (77)
8/10 George Benson - The Other Side of Abbey Road (80)
8/10 Dream Theater - Train of Thought (101)
8/10 The Beatles - With the Beatles (108)
8/10 Rush - Grace Under Pressure (124)
8/10 Rush - Power Windows (126)
8/10 Marillion - Marbles (205)
8/10 Styx - Paradise Theater (238)
8/10 My Chemical Romance - The Black Parade (354)
8/10 Deicide - Deicide (382)
7.9-8/10 Megadeth - Rust in Peace (144)
7.9/10 Paul McCartney - Ram (224)
7.9/10 Cirith Ungol - King of the Dead (335)
7.85 Bruce Dickinson - Tattooed Millionaire (228)
7.85/10 John Lennon - John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band (267)
7.8/10 Marillion - Misplaced Childhood (198)
7.8/10 Steve Harris - British Lion (230)
7.8/10 Journey - Frontiers (338)
7.8/10 Ween - The Pod (356)
7.8/10 Possessed - Seven Churches (393)
7.8/10 The Decemberists - The Crane Wife (408)
7.8/10 Green Day - Nimrod (363)
7.75/10 Styx - Equinox (212)
7.75/10 Spiritualized - Ladies and Gentleman We Are Floating in Space (229)
7.7/10 Rush - Test for Echo (136)
7.6/10 Rick Wakeman - Journey to the Centre of the Earth (177)
7.6/10 Dream Theater - The Astonishing (296)
7.5/10 Porcupine Tree - Deadwing (1)
7.5/10 King Crimson - Thrak (12)
7.5/10 Syd Barrett - Madcap Laughs (22)
7.5/10 Bruford - Feels Good to Me (26)
7.5/10 John Lennon - Imagine (61)
7.5/10 Mike Oldfield - Tubular Bells (67)
7.5/10 XTC - Drums and Wires (71)
7.5/10 The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Are You Experienced (73)
7.5/10 Animal Collective - Merriweather Post Pavilion (84)
7/5/10 Tool - Lateralus (113)
7.5/10 Paul McCartney - McCartney (208)
7.5/10 Bend Sinister - Through the Broken City (311)
7.5/10 Weezer - Make Believe (327)
7.3/10 Puya - Union (378)
7.2/10 Backstreet Symphony - Thunder (298)
7.2/10 Yes - Union (315)
7-8/10 Primus - Sailing the Seas of Cheese (49)
7/10 The Doors - The Soft Parade (19)
7/10 Nick Drake - Family Tree (34)
7/10 Yes - Heaven and Earth (55)
7/10 Dream Theater - Octavarium (66)
7/10 The Small Faces - Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake (69)
7/10 Haken - The Mountain (72)
7/10 Miles Davis - Kind of Blue (81)
7/10 Dream Theater - Metropolis II: Scenes From a Memory (100)
7/10 Manic Street Preachers - Futurology (105)
7/10 Rick Wakeman - The Myths and Legends of King Arthur and the Knights (149)
7/10 Pearl Jam - Ten (179)
7/10 The Dear Hunter - Act III: Life and Death (380)
7/10 The Apples in Stereo - New Magnetic Wonder (388)
6.9/10 Iced Earth - Burnt Offerings (180)
6.9/10 Blue Oyster Cult - Secret Treaties (372)
6.8/10 Yes - Tormato (143)
6.8/10 Weezer - Weezer (The Red Album) (333)
6.7/10 Celtic Frost - To Mega Therion (240)
6.7/10 King's X - Dogman (341)
6.66/10 Slayer - Repentless (190)
6.5-7/10 Dream Theater - Awake (98)
6.5/10 Super Furry Animals - Radiator (147)
6.5/10 Celtic Frost - Into the Pandemonium (318)
6.45/10 King's X - Gretchen Goes to Nebraska (243)
6.3/10 System of a Down - Toxicity (269)
6/10 Cream - Disreali Gears (85)
6/10 Dream Theater - Falling Into Infinity (99)
6/10 Steve Hackett - Genesis Revisited II (106)
6/10 Saxon - Into the Labyrinth (196)
6/10 System of a Down - System of a Down (398)
6.5/10 Bend Sinister - Animals (157)
6.3/10 Cannibal Corpse - The Bleeding (127)
6.3/10 Animal Collective - Painting With (322)
5.9/10 Rush - Vapor Trails (138)
5.85/10 System of a Down - Mezmerize (291)
5.7/10 The Dear Hunter - Act II: The Meaning of and All Things Regarding Ms.Leading (374)
5.65 System of a Down - Hypnotize (283)
5.6/10 Neutral Milk Hotel - In the Aeroplane Over the Sea (263)
5.5/10 Green Day - American Idiot (23)
5.5/10 The Eagles - Hotel California (365)
5.2/10 Rush - Feedback (140)
5/10 My Bloody Valentine - Loveless (8)
5/10 Green Day - ¡Tre! (104)
4.5/10 Steve Miller Band - Fly Like an Eagle (52)
4/10 Green Day - ¡Dos! (103)
3.75/10 Weezer - Hurley (345)
3.3/10 Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band - Born to Run (389)
2.5/10 Weezer - Raditude (339)
2.5/10 The Pretty Reckless - Going to Hell (411)
2/10 Green Day - ¡Uno! (102)
2/10 Black Flag - Damaged (286)

No Rating
*40.  The Who - Live at Leeds
*45.  Steven Wilson - Insurgentes
*57.  King Crimson - Larks' Tongue in Aspic
*95.  Jethro Tull - Heavy Horses
*128.  Rush - Hold Your Fire
*142.  Rush - Clockwork Angels
*150.  Iron Maiden - Iron Maiden
*209. Iron Maiden - Best of the B-Sides
*218. Styx - The Grand Illusion
*222. Styx - Pieces of Eight
*282. Megadeth - Countdown to Extinction

edit #1 8:38 PM
Opeth - Ghost Reveries, Dream Theater - Images and Words, Between the Buried and Me - Colors, Genesis - Nursery Cryme

Numrical History: (1-419+)
1. Porcupine Tree - Deadwing
2. The Who - The Who Sell Out
3. Rush - Hemispheres
4. Tame Impala - Lonerism
5. The Doors - The Doors
6. Van Halen - Van Halen
7. David Bowie - Hunky Dory
8. My Bloody Valentine - Loveless
9. Yes - Fragile
10. Porcupine Tree - Recordings
11. Air - Pocket Symphony
12. King Crimson - Thrak
13. Led Zeppelin - Celebration Day
14. Jon Anderson - Olias of Sunhillow
15. Genesis - ...And Then There Were Three...
16. The Dave Brubeck Quartet - Time Out
17. The Beatles - Revolver
18. 10cc - How Dare You!
19. The Doors - The Soft Parade
20. Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin
21.  MGMT - MGMT
22.  Syd Barrett - The Madcap Laughs
23.  Green Day - American Idiot
24.  The Mothers of Invention - Absolutely Free
25.  Steven Wilson - The Raven That Refused to Sing
26.  Bruford - Feels Good to Me
27.  Emerson Lake and Palmer - Pictures at an Exhibition
28.  Air - The Virgin Suicides OST
29.  Pink Floyd - The Dark Side of the Moon
30.  Nick Drake - Five Leaves Left
31.  Nick Drake - Bryter Later
32.  Nick Drake - Pink Moon
33.  Nick Drake - Made to Love Magic
34.  Nick Drake - The Family Tree
35.  Porcupine Tree - Fear of a Blank Planet
36.  Genesis - Selling England By the Pound
37.  Kraftwerk - The Man Machine
38.  The Black Keys - Turn Blue
39.  Rush - Fly By Night
*40.  The Who - Live at Leeds
41.  10cc - 10cc
42.  Yes - The Yes Album
43.  King Crimson - In the Court of the Crimson King
44.  The Beatles - Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
*45.  Steven Wilson - Insurgentes
46.  Genesis - Foxtrot
47.  Pink Floyd - A Saucerful of Secrets
48.  MGMT - Oracular Spectacular
49.  Primus - Sailing the Seas of Cheese
50.   Black Sabbath - Black Sabbath
51.  Porcupine Tree - Nil Recurring
52.  Steve Miller Band - Fly Like an Eagle
53.  Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin II
54.  The Who - Tommy
55.  Yes - Heaven and Earth
56.  The Beatles - The White Album CD 1
56.  The Beatles - The White Album CD 2
*57.  King Crimson - Larks' Tongue in Aspic
58.  Storm Corrosion - Storm Corrosion
59.  Genesis - Nursery Cryme
60.  MGMT - Contgratulations
61.  John Lennon - Imagine
62.  10cc - Sheet Music
63.  Air - Moon Safari
64.  Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin III
65. Porcupine Tree - Signify
66.  Dream Theater - Octavarium
67.  Mike Oldfield - Tubular Bells
68.  Rush - Moving Pictures
69.  The Small Faces - Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake
70. The Beatles - Rubber Soul
71.  XTC - Drums and Wires
72.  Haken - The Mountain
73.  The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Are You Experienced [UK]
74.  Green Day - Dookie
75.  Porcupine Tree - In Absentia
76.  Jellyfish - Bellybutton
77.  Rush - Snakes and Arrows
78.  Steven Wilson - Grace For Drowning
79.  The Smiths - The Queen is Dead
80.  George Benson - The Other Side of Abbey Road
81.  Miles Davis - Kind of Blue
82.  Emerson Lake and Palmer - Tarkus
83.  Air - Le Voyage Dans La Lune
84.  Animal Collective - Merriwether Post Pavilion
85.  Cream - Disreali Gears
86.  The Who - My Generation
87.  Rush - Permanent Waves
88.  Yes - Relayer
89.  Fleet Foxes - Fleet Foxes
90.  Black Sabbath - Paranoid
91.  Pink Floyd - The Piper at the Gates of Dawn
92.  Genesis - A Trick of the Tail
93.  Genesis - Wind and Wuthering
94.  Genesis - Seconds Out
*95.  Jethro Tull - Heavy Horses
96.  Porcupine Tree - Stupid Dream
97.  Dream Theater - Images and Words
98.  Dream Theater - Awake
99.  Dream Theater - Falling Into Infinity
100.  Dream Theater - Metropolis Pt 2: Scenes From a Memory
101.  Dream Theater - Train of Thought
102.  Green Day - Uno!
103.  Green Day - Dos!
104.  Green Day - Tre!
105.  Manic Street Preachers -Futurology
106.  Steve Hackett - Genesis Revisited II
107.  Radiohead - OK Computer
108.  The Beatles - With the Beatles
109.  Goldfrapp - Felt Mountain
110.  Rush - Rush
111.  Emerson Lake and Palmer - Trilogy
112.  Rush - Caress of Steel
113.  Tool - Lateralus
114.  Rush - 2112
115.  The Who - Quadrophenia
116.  Rush - All the World's A Stage
117.  Steven Wilson - Hand.Cannot.Erase
118.  Rush - A Farewell to Kings
119.  Genesis - The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway
120.  Rush - Exit...Stage Left
121.  Kraftwerk - Radio-Acivity
122.  Rush - Signals (also Re-Reviewed)
123.  Deep Purple - Machine Head
124.  Rush - Grace Under Pressure
125.  The Contortionist - Exoplanet
126.  Rush - Power Windows
127.  Cannibal Corpse - The Bleeding
*128.  Rush - Hold Your Fire
129.  Yes - Yessongs
130.  Rush - Presto
131.  Opeth - Ghost Reveries
132.  Rush - Roll the Bones
133.  Gavin Harrison - Chasing the Polygraph
134.  Rush - Counterparts
135.  Opeth - Blackwater Park
136.  Rush - Test for Echo
137.  Yes - Tales From Topographic Oceans
138.  Rush - Vapor Trails
139.  Iron Maiden - A Matter of Life and Death
140.  Rush - Feedback
141.  Yes - Going for the One
*142.  Rush - Clockwork Angels
143.  Yes - Tormato
144.  Megadeth - Rust in Peace
145.  MGMT - Time to Pretend [EP]
146.  Death - The Sound of Perseverance
147.  Super Furry Animals - Radiator
148.  Iron Maiden - The X Factor
149.  Rick Wakeman - Myths and Legends of King Arthur
*150.  Iron Maiden - Iron Maiden
151.  Mastodon - Crack the Skye
152.  Iron Maiden - Killers
153.  The Who - The Who By Numbers
154.  Iron Maiden - The Number of the Beast
155.  Judas Priest - Painkiller
156.  Iron Maiden - Piece of Mind
157.  Bend Sinister - Animals
158.  Iron Maiden - Powerslave
159.  Rick Wakeman - The Six Wives of Henry VIII
160.  Porcupine Tree - The Incident
161.  Iron Maiden - Somewhere in Time
162.  Iron Maiden - Seventh Son of a Seventh Son
163. Blaze Bayley - The Man Who Would Not Die
164. Iron Maiden - No Prayer for the Dying
165. Iron Maiden - Fear of the Dark
166. Metallica - And Justice for All
167. Iron Maiden - Virtual XI
168. Iron Maiden - Brave New World
169. Arcade Fire - Reflektor
170. Iron Maiden - Dance of Death
171. Iron Maiden - The Final Frontier
172. Emerson Lake and Palmer - Brain Salad Surgery
173. Weezer - Weezer (The Blue Album
174. The Beatles - Abbey Road
175. Cannibal Corpse - Vile
176. Iron Maiden - The Book Souls
177. Rick Wakeman - Journey to the Centre of the Earth
178. Dream Theater - Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence
179. Pearl Jam - Ten
180. Iced Earth - Burnt Offerings
181. Weezer - Pinkerton
182. Death - Symbolic
183. Rick Wakeman - Criminal Record
184. Blaze - Silicon Messiah
185. Jellyfish - Spiltmilk
186. Deep Purple - Made in Japan
187. Queensryche - Operation: Mindcrime
188. Metallica - Ride the Lightning
189. Rick Wakeman - White Rock
190. Slayer - Repentless
191. Tesseract - Polaris
192. Cannibal Corpse - Torture
193. Weezer - Weezer (The Green Album)
194. Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here
195. Toy Matinee - Toy Matinee
196. Saxon - Into the Labyrinth
197. Big Brother and Holding Company - Cheap Thrills
198. Marillion - Misplaced Childhood
199. Symphony X - V: The New Mythology Suite
200. The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds
201. King Diamond - Abigail
202. Weezer - Maldroit
203. Janis Joplin - Pearl
204. The Who - Who's Next
205. Marillion - Marbles
206. Judas Priest - Sad Wings of Destiny
207. Dio - Dream Evil
208. Paul McCartney - McCartney
209. Iron Maiden - Best of the B-sides CD 1
209. Iron Maiden - Best of the B-sides CD 1
210. Judas Priest - Stained Class
211. Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End
212. Styx - Equinox
213. Iron Maiden - Live After Death
214. Judas Priest - Turbo
215. Ghost - Opus Eponymous
216. The Who - Odds and Sodds
217. Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin IV
*218. Styx - The Grand Illusion
219. Black Sabbath - Sabbath Black Sabbath
220. Judas Priest - Screaming for Vengeance
221. Led Zeppelin - Houses of the Holy
*222. Styx - Pieces of Eight
223. Venom - At War With Satan
224. Paul McCartney - Ram
225. Iron Maiden - A Real Live One
226. Judas Priest - Defenders of the Faith
227. Kevin Gilbert - The Shaming of the True
228. Bruce Dickinson - Tattoed Millionaire
229. Spiritulaized  - Ladies and Gentleman, We Are Floating in Space
230. Steve Harris - British Lion
231. Black Sabbath - Headless Cross
232. Fight - War of Words
233. Pain of Salvation - The Perfect Element, Part 1
234. Iron Maiden - A Real Dead One
235. Mercyful Fate - Melissa
236. Uriah Heap - Uriah Heap Live
237. Megadeth - Endgame
238. Styx - Paradise Theatre
239. Kreator - Violent Revolution
240. Celtic Frost - To Mega Therion
241. Bend Sinister - Stories of Brothers, Tales of Lovers
242. Iron Maiden - Live at Donington
243. King's X - Gretchen Goes to Nebraska
244. Roher Joseph Manning Jr - The Land of Pure Imagination
245. The Mars Volta - Frances the Mute
246. Bathory - Bathory
247. The Smashing Pumpkins - Siamese Dream
248. Oasis - Definitely Maybe
249. Tool - Undertow
250. Tears for Fears - Songs from the Big Chair
251. Iron Maiden - Rock in Rio
252. Transatlantic - SMPT:e
253. Burzum - Filosofem
254. Pink Floyd - Animals
255. Blue Oyster Cult - Blue Oyster Cult
256. Tool - Ænima
257. Mercyful Fate - Mercyful Fate [EP]
258. Oasis - (What's the Story) Morning Glory?
259. Tool - 10,000 Days
260. Iron Maiden - BBC Archives CD 1
260. Iron Maiden - BBC Archives CD 2
261. Mercyful Fate - Don't Break the Oath
262. Oasis - Be Here Now
263. Neutral Milk Hotel - In the Aeroplane Over the Sea
264. Fearless Vampire Killers - Bruises
265. Manic Street Preachers - The Holy Bible
266. Edge of Sanity - Crimson
267. John Lennon - John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band
268. Queen - Queen
269. System of a Down - Toxicity
270. Iron Maiden - Beast Over Hammersmith
271. Manic Street Preachers - Journal for Plague Lovers
272. Pantera - Cowboys From Hell
273. Judas Priest - Sin After Sin
274. Megadeth - Peace Sells...But Who's Buying
275. David Bowie - Blackstar
276. Yngwie Malmsteen's Rising Force - Trilogy
277. Cannibal Corpse - Skeletal Domain
278. Queen - Queen II
279. Led Zeppelin - Physical Graffiti
280. Iron Maiden - Death on the Road
281. Judas Priest - British Steel
*282. Megadeth - Countdown to Extinction
283. System of a Down - Hypnotize
284. Metallica - Kill 'Em All
285. Queen - Sheer Heart Attack
286. Black Flag - Damaged
287. Megadeth - Cryptic Writings
288. Death Cab for Cutie - Plans
289. Steven Wilson - 4 1/2
290. Megadeth - Dystopia
291. System of a Down - Mezmerize
292. Metallica - Master of Puppets
293. Queen - A Night at the Opera
294. Kevin Gilbert - Thud
295. Genesis - Duke
296. Dream Theater - The Astonishing
297. Iron Maiden - Flight 666
298. Backstreet Symphony - Thunder
299. Oasis - Standing on the Should of Giants
300. Pink Floyd - The Wall
301. Nine Inch Nails - Broken
302. The Beatles - A Hard Day's Night
303. Oasis - Heathen Chemistry
304. Kreator - Phantom Antichrist
305. Bend Sinister - Bend Sinister [EP]
306. Iron Maiden - En Vivo!
307. Genesis - Invisible Touch
308. Queen - Live at the Rainbow'74 CD 1
308. Queen - Live at the Rainbow'74 CD 2
309. Pain of Salvation - Remedy Lane
310. Pink Floyd - Meddle
311. Bend Sinister - Through the Broken City
312. Rainbow - Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow
313. Iron Maiden - Maiden England'88
314. Oasis - Don't Believe the Truth
315. Yes - Union
316. Yes - Talk
317.  Queen - News of the World
318. Celtic Frost - Into the Pandemonium
319. Oasis - Dig Out Your Soul
320. Rainbow - Rising
321. Queen - Jazz
322. Animal Collective - Painting With
323. Between the Buried and Me - Colors
324. Big Star - #1 Record
325. Rainbow -Long Live Rock'n Roll
326. Jeff Buckley - Grace
327. Weezer - Make Believe
328. The Mars Volta - DeLoused in the Comatorium
329. maudlin of the Well - Bath
330. Rainbow - Down to Earth
331. Queen - Queen on Fire: Live at the Bowl
332. SikTh - Death of a Dead Day
333. Weezer - Weezer (The Red Album)
334. The Mars Volta - Tremulant
335. Cirith Ungol - King of the Dead
336. Korn - Follow the Leader
337. The Strokes - Is This It
338. Journey - Frontiers
339. Weezer - Raditude
340. Queen - A Day at the Races
341. King's X - Dogman
342. Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited
343. The Faceless - Akeldama
344. Lynyrd Skynyrd - (Pronounced 'Lĕh-'nérd 'Skin-'nérd)
345. Weezer - Hurley
346. The Doors - Morrison Hotel
347. Spawn of Possession - Incurso
348. My Chemical Romance - Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge
349. Queen - Innuendo
350. Pink Floyd - Atom Heart Mother
351. Weezer - Weezer (The White Album)
352. Arctic Monkeys - Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not
353. The Smashing Pumpkins - Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness
354. My Chemical Romanc - The Black Parade
355. Puya - Puya
356. Ween - The Pod
357. Burzum - Hvis Lyset Tar Oss (If the Light Takes Us)
358. Metallica - Metallica (The Black Album)
359. Ghost - Meliora
360. Bob Dylan - Blood on the Tracks
361. Pink Floyd - Obscured By Clouds
362. Transatlantic - Bridge Across Forever
363. Green Day - Nimrod
364. Blue Oyster Cult - Tyranny and Mutation
365. The Eagles - Hotel California
366. Blur - Modern Life is Rubbish
367. The Dear Hunter - The Lake South, the River North
368. Oasis - The Masterplan
369. Gorgoroth - Pentagram
370. Puya - Fundamental
371.  Edge of Sanity - Crimson II
372. Blue Oyster Cult - Secret Treaties
373. Blur - Parklife
374. The Dear Hunter - Act II: The Meaning of and All Things Regarding Ms.Leading
375. Gorgoroth - Antichrist
376. Ween - Chocolate and Cheese
377. Father John Misty - I Love You, Honeybear
378. Puya - Union
379. Gorgoroth - Under the Sign of Hell
380. The Dear Hunter - Act III: Life and Death
381. Blue Oyster Cult - Agents of Fortune
382. Deicide - Deicide
383. Blur - 13
384. Muse - Absolution
385. Sufjan Stevens - Illinois
386. Deicide - Legion
387. Elliott Smith - Either / Or
388. The Apples in Stereo - New Magnetic Wonder
389. Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band - Born to Run
390. Prince - Purple Rain
391. Talking Heads - Remain in Light
392. Nine Inch Nails - The Downward Spiral
393. Possessed - Seven Churches
394. BADBADNOTGOOD - BBNG2
395. Deicide - Once Upon the Cross
396. The Dear Hunter - Rebirth in Reprise
397. Blur - Magic Whip
398. System of a Down - System of a Down
399. Deicide - Serpents of the Light
400. David Bowie - The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars
401. Enslaved - Vikingligr Veldi
402. Lamb of God - Wrath
403. Pantera - Vulgar Display of Power
404. The Beatles - Let it Be
405. Enslaved - Below the Lights
406. George Harrison - All Things Must Pass
407. Pantera - Far Beyond Driven
408. The Decemberists - The Crane Wife
409. Radiohead - The Bends
410. Darkthrone - A Blaze In The Northern Sky
411. The Pretty Reckless - Going To Hell
412. Pantera - Great Southern Trendkill
413. Suede - Dog Man Star
414. David Bowie - Aladdin Sane
415. Darkthrone - Under A Funeral Moon
416. David Bowie -  Low
417. Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool
418. The Velvet Underground and Nico - The Velvet Underground and Nico
419. System of a Down - Steal This Album!
420. Megadeth - The System Has Failed
421. Cannibal Corpse - Tomb Of The Mutilate 

422. David Bowie - Heroes
423. Yngwie Malmsteen's Rising Force - Rising Force
424. Darkthrone - Transilvanian Hunger
425. Blue Oyster Cult - Extraterrestrial Live
426. Pantera - Reinventing The Steel
427. Deep Purple - Deep Purple In Rock
428. Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse
429. David Bowie - Lodger
430.
431.
432.
433.
434.
435.
436.
437.
438.
439.
440.
441.
442.
443.
444.
445.
446.
447.
448.
449.
450.
451.
452.
453.
454.
455.
456.
457.
458.
459.
460.
461.
462.
463.
464.
465.
466.
467.
468.
469.
470.
471.
472.
473.
474.
475.
476.
477.
478.
479.
480.
481.
482.
483.
484.
485.
486.
487.
488.
489.
490.
491.
492.
493.
494.
495.
496
497
498.
499.
500.

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

The Dear Hunter: http://hymnswiththedevil.com/ (6/22/16 1PM CST)

http://hymnswiththedevil.com/

Link to sample?

As a Lifetime Member, I along with Antone from the link above, had a Postcard sent per Equalvision Records and The Dear Hunter of course.

From Postcard:

"Consider. Observe yourself in the mirror. Are you particularly happy? Do you feel your hair graying? Are you the person you feel is found in the real world and by that I mean do you tell the truth? My friends I have found myself unconvinced some days, the Great War long gone, the very fabric of our society is at an impasse. Do we stumble out from the humdrum? Rise to the street as it meets us? Or are we singing hymns with the devil in confession? Believe me when I tell you, we are the makers of our own destinies. I look forward to seeing and speaking with you all on the streets of our beautiful city. Goodnight and God bless."

Wedneday afternoon at 1PM Central time, something is being launched/announced etc..perhaps Act V? a Pledgemusic or maybe something new/different, etc.

Guess we'll find out tomorrow afternoon.

Also a new song or 2 to share:

Marialena's Song


Monday, June 20, 2016

40

Yeah, I'm officially over the bloody hill now, lol.

I can use this just to announce I am doing a special WAVE Project on KFAI next Sunday as a retrospective on my life with music. Really just a microcosm as to cram in 40 or really 26-35 years of being a fan of music into 40 minutes (+20 minutes of babbling), of course is just scratching a tiny little surface.

What I hope to try and do, and I hope it doesn't cause a lot of talking-too-fast, is to tell the story/my story among all the music I got into in my life. The select few tracks I will be playing are obviously going to be favorites songs and artists. But sort of representing periods of time I guess in some ways.

I.e. I may only play 4-6 songs, but I hopefully will talk or at least mention dozens of musical artists within this limited 1-hour special.

Next Sunday June 26th at 11AM Central on KFAI, and archived for 2 weeks after to stream or download.

As for today?the usual mini-golf, music shopping, lunch deal sadly, but still enjoyable.

One of these years I will actually get back on the golf course and play actual golf, even at just an executive or par-3.

But 40 years, I can officially say I'm not that young anymore, at least numerically.

Oh and I just found this cool, somewhat rare item today at Know Name Records.

   

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Opeth - Sorceress (....-2016-....)

Facebook link to story

I'm looking forward to it, but at the same time, not expecting a ton of course, like their last couple of albums.,

Also interesting they sign to Nuclear Blast, Roadrunner wasn't working out? not shocked though.

As for the title, not a Fates Warning reference, but if it somehow was...

details should be bumped of course. Not sure on the release season/year per if it ends up coming out in November.

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Trent Gardner Rest in Peace (Magellan)

https://www.gofundme.com/29ckrzbg

I'm not going to talk extensively about this, but Trent Gardner was the singer, keyboardist and one of the main songwriters in the progressive rock band Magellan, I thought I read on 1 of the forums he was ill, within the last year or 2, but I can't find anything really about it now,

Magellan were 1 of the bands I checked out in the mid 90's up to early 2000's really. Their album Test of Wills got a fair amount of attention among Dream Theater fans and people who enjoyed bands on the Magna Carta label beyond Liquid Tension Experiment.

Also there were a handful of tribute albums that MC issued, Yes, Genesis, Rush, ELP, etc, and Trent and Magellan played on some of them as well.

He also ended up collaborating with James LaBrie on maybe more than 1 project. Namely the Leonardo: the Absolute Man album. Along with John Petrucci and some others on Explorer's Club.

He really was all over the place if you enjoyed smaller, modern prog bands/albums for almost a decade.

And I'll fully admit, while I enjoyed Test of Wills, I never got around to hearing any of the other Magellan albums, largely per not as favorable reviews. And then hearing some stuff on those collaborations, I kind of stopped pursuing his music. It seemed he used a lot of the same keyboard patches for long, extensive sections.

But in retrospect, and compared to many of the so-called "prog" bands since Magellan and his work left my radar, I would definitely favor his stuff and style over many.

Also not to forget the use of Trombone with Magellan's music, which was quite unusual for prog. I guess I kind of see it as pretty unique and forward-thinking now. I guess Chicago were a very big influence on him, and he eventually got to collaborate with them recently.

Anyway, Rest in Peace Trent, along with your brother and fellow Magellan bandmate Wayne.