Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Pepe Deluxe - Go Girl Go [1B] (2016)

New Pepe Deluxe Track!

While this differs in some ways from the Queen of the Wave stuff, it still has a big Pepe-vibe to it. The organic/acoustic production, retro sounding, electronics, and catchy/poppy female-centered vocals.

Love the digitized almost 80's SPEAK AND SPELL sounding voiced lines at points.

There's more to come soon from following them on Facebook over the last few months. When? maybe 2017?

Facebook Link

New Pepe Music! Again! :)
I was just informed by Higher Powers (TM) that "Go Girl Go", the new Pepe song we wrote for the Catskills 20 years comp, is finally ready to be inspected by your audio connoisseur ears!
Here's a nice introduction written by Monsieur Ranta:
And you can hear the song here:
In addition to Paul's modular synth madness and guitar riffs, this simple party tune features Finland's champion cheerleaders (recorded thru a Edison witches hat speaker), a modified Speak & Spell, some laid-back drumming by Teppo Mäkynen, (808 cow)bells&whistles and an ocarina (played by yours truly).
Available exclusively on “Catskills Records: 20 Years of Victory!”, out 25th November on 2 X CD / 3 x Alpine Green Vinyl / Download / Streaming. You can pre-order it here:http://www.catmerch.com/store/advanced_search_result.php…
Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

2017 Rock Hall Noms: Yes, ELO, Jane's Addiction NO MONKEES!

Not enough time to do a proper write-up, but I did vote by submitting my email address.

You can with that or with a facebook login. Once per day, which may improve the flooding issue, but does not fix nor actually address more of the important/bigger issues as I posted last year here

if I find the time of course as always, which probably won't be all that soon, I would go for writing a more detailed take on who I want and who I think will get in.

And/or a YouTube video.

But as short as I can, I will just say I think this may be Yes's best shot as among the people who would vote for them, only really have ELO and possibly The Zombies to consider in the Psych/Prog area.

Will it happen? My initial inclination is NO. However, they received a lot of votes in the FAN VOTE last year if I recall. But as I wrote about last year, it really comes down to the 800+ voters a lot more than the 1 vote for the Fans.

Of course so many names still missing like The Moody Blues, Jethro Tull, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest and especially THE MONKEES.

Just get on the fucking ballot ONCE please. Their new album with a handful of modern songwriters including Rivers Cuomo and Andy Partridge, and 50th Anniversary didn't seem to do enough this year.

Why the NOMINATING COMMITTEE needs to BE REVEALED and RE-ASSESSED . At least reveal the whole fucking list for once so fans like myself can at least understand ALL OF WHO CONTROLS WHO GETS ON THE BALLOT EVERY YEAR.


Bad Brains
Cars, The
Chaka Khan
Depeche Mode
Electric Light Orchestra
J Geils Band
Jane's Addiction
Janet Jackson
Joan Baez
Joe Tex
Pearl Jam
Tupac Shakur
Zombies, The

oh , the likes of the MC5, Bad Brains and Tupac..is just pitiful to see on there.
Kraftwerk, Depeche Mode, Steppenwolf, Janet Jackson, Chaka Khan, etc I likely won't vote for, but at least I can follow and if they got in I wouldn't be as annoyed.

Pearl Jam are just like Nirvana Jr. Overrated but the media and obsession with them more or less writes their ticket in. Although I'd say the same about Nine Inch Nails, Radiohead, Smashiing Pumpkins, Foo Fighters and many others.

I do think Journey will get in, as they have mass popularity, especially since The Sopranos finale using Don't Stop Believin' and then it going viral on iTunes to all the millennial kids.

Sunday, October 16, 2016

Klimt 1918 - Sentimentale Jugend (2016-2017)

10/16/16 3:50PM

Finally the details, release date being December 2nd, track list, artwork and just with the title now being shortened to
Sentimentale Jugend.
I am naturally excited for this, and am awfully curious per the description, tracklist, etc.

I do wonder a bit given it is so much, how addictive it may get. But some double albums still demand the headphone in recent years like Sun and Moon from Timbre or The River Empires of course.

US Release? unlikely right away, but I very well may just have to import it per Prophecy or another source.

Preorders per Prophecy Records

The new Klimt 1918 album "Sentimentale Jugend" as 2CD hardcover book plus a Klimt 1918 shirt for a special price.
One has to be a decided connoisseur of alternative music culture to associate the title "Sentimentale Jugend" (sentimental youth) with the short-lived experimental noise act of the same name, founded by Alexander Hacke (Einstürzende Neubauten) and his then significant other Christiane Flescherinow (also known as Christiane F. from the bestselling non-fiction book "We Children From Bahnhof Zoo") in the early 1980s. However, it is for a reason that Italian indie rock flagship Klimt 1918 names its latest double album after this footnote of pop history, namely a conscious hint at the underlying mood of the songs. "Sentimentale Jugend" captures West Berlin in its pulsating, nihilistic glory during the late 70s - just as David Bowie did with his Berlin Trilogy of the albums "Low", "Heroes" and "Lodger" - and processes notions from Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck's award-winning movie "The Lives Of Others", be it the foggy winter atmosphere in East Berlin during the early 80s or the female protagonist's melancholy.
Eight years after the 'Soundtrack For The Cassette Generation' "Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again", Klimt 1918 stay true to their sound, alternating the energetic with the wistful by means of shoegaze, indie and new wave from the 80s and 90s, yet for the first time, the sonic spectrum gets expanded with the signature guitar effects and drum rhythms of 50s and 60s pop. Ultimately, "Sentimentale Jugend" harks back to such diverse artists as The Chameleons, iLikeTrains, Cocteau Twins, The Jesus and Mary Chain, The Everly Brothers, Sigur Rós or Dead Can Dance and may be suitably tagged "dirty and noisy three beats dream pop".
"Sentimentale Jugend" consists of the separate albums "Sentimentale" (9 songs, 54 minutes) and "Jugend" (10 songs, 53 minutes), the former being the more "serene" chapter with its slow and partially long tracks, whereas the latter with its faster tunes is the more driving counterpart. Both albums are also available together with the exclusive bonus track "Lycans" as a high-quality book edition (hardcover, 18x18 cm, 48 pages).
Release date: 02.12.2016
Available editions:
- 2CD hardcover book (48 pages, 18x18 cm), containing both albums plus bonus track (700 copies)
- CD Digisleeve "Sentimentale"
- CD Digisleeve "Jugend"

Klimt 1918 - Sentimentale Jugend - Book + Shirt Bundle

Tracklist "Sentimentale":

1. Montecristo
2. Comandante
3. La Notte
4. It Was To Be
5. Belvedere
6. Once We Were
7. Take My Breath Away
8. Sentimentale
9. Gaza Youth (Exist/Resist)

Tracklist "Jugend":

1. Nostalghia
2. Fracture
3. Ciudad Lineal
4. Sant’Angelo (The Sound & The Fury)
5. Unemployed & Dreamrunner
6. The Hunger Strike
7. Resig-nation
8. Caelum Stellatum
9. Juvenile
10. Stupenda e Misera Città
11. Lycans (bonus track, only on 2CD hardcover book edition)

7/20/16 1:54PM
Fantastic news! It's been so long since Just In Case We'll Never Meet Again...Double album? Feast or Famine perhaps, but I'm optimistic given it's been so long, the songs could have been refined and tweaked a lot, and there will be more of them.

Perhaps a concept album as well?..will bump with more info obviously.

Facebook post

Dear friends, just want to inform you that we will post soon some news about the new Album *** Sentimentale Jugend *** as some of you might know, it will be a Double Album, the first one is called " Sentimentale" and the second one is called "Jugend".
It will be available as two separate CDs or together in one ArtBook
We know is taking ages and we really thank you for your patience and support.

Friday, October 14, 2016

REVERE - Rest in Peace

So British Band Revere have finally called it a day.
They sent me a package with some stuff from their last campaign which included a signed Setlist from a concert in 2015, and then a signed copy of their latest release, Man of Atom.

And for that I want to thank Revere for sure.

Stephen Ellis specifically as he included a nice note, thanking me in the package.

(I'll try and show it on YouTube hopefully soon)

This news of their ending while is sad, I guess I can't be highly surprised by save for the fact they've been a band for so many years (15) and yet have always been particular on how often and what they release. But many of their peers retired long before them (Pure Reason Revolution, Oceansize namely), so it was odd how they managed to stay afloat longer. I suppose a band like Archive or Biffy Clyro still are thankfully, although at least with Biffy, they did gain a large following in recent years, so that makes some sense.

I guess I've grown to see them as a live band who only recorded material when it was fully ready to record (and they had the funds of course). Why they have a limited body of work, even though they were a band for 15 years. 4 EP's, many singles and 2 full-lengths.

But their full-length albums, Hey! Selim and My Mirror / Your Target I enjoy both certainly. Their style of chamber/baroque pop/rock I always have liked and thought of with some of the other artists in the last 10-15 years using that kind of instrumentation and approach to creating music.

It is a little sad that I never got to see them live, but they are from across the pond, and while they seemed to gain a following over there, the US and North America, it was mostly blogs like my own here that found them on their radar.

So the story goes.

Hopefully the members will have future musical work to check out down the line, but until then, we do have a new video off Man of Atom, "Sonder" done by Ryan Pearce aka Man of Atom
to check out.

Revere's Homepage 

It is with a heavy heart that we announce our  decision for  REVERE to call it a day. After more than 15 years together, and as many lineup changes, we feel the time has come for us to focus on other musical projects.
We feel immensely proud of what we've achieved in more than 15 years together as a band, leaving behind two albums, a handful of EPs and a large collection of singles. This has also been done without any major support from a record label (although we must give shoutouts to Albino, Gift Of The Gab and V2). We were often asked why we were still together and the truth was that we just enjoyed writing and playing music together. We felt that what we were doing was a little bit different and exciting and enough of you agreed with us to keep us going. Thank you for that! Your support has meant everything to us!

Behind the scenes, we especially want to thank Dave Jewerén Moore whose brilliant production skills and endless patience helped mould us into the band we eventually became. Also Ryan Pearce, whose visuals and music videos added further layers of meaning and excitement to our live shows. It is fitting that our last video, for Sonder, was also made by Ryan and is a video we are especially proud of.

Saturday, October 8, 2016

Disilliusion is BACK with ALEA [1B, coming in October]

10/8/16 9:57PM

It's up of course, was yesterday. CD, Digital, Shirts, etc.

It's a 10 minute track at least; although I may not be able to give it a go until Monday.


7/27/16 9:26AM
This is nice to see, although 3 months for this 1 track on October 7th, I guess tells how much time they have had, etc.

But this is the 1st thing in a DECADE from Disillusion, so beggars can't be...of course.

Hopefully this will be a little like Subterranean Masquerade, where this 1st single will just be a taste of what's to come in the coming months afterwards.

Disillusion, the textured, progressive Melodic Death Metal band from Germany, which have 2 records in their history, but 2006 seems like ages ago of course. Many people wondered if they broke up, etc.

June 29th on Facebook
Dear friends, today is a Great Day! After many years we have finally finished something NEW! Together with my dear friend and colleague Alexander Tscholakov from Tam Recordings - who has been such an amazing part of all Disillusion releases to date - we finalized the mix of new Disillusion material that is soon to come. I am so full of pride!! It all sounds great ... The mastering will be done tomorrow by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios and we're really excited about that. Great Day. Talk to you very soon.
Thank you all! Andy & Dis.

Thursday, October 6, 2016

Roger Waters - Mexico City 9/28/16 incl Dogs, Pigs, Fearless

not enough time to share those highlight clips, but the whole show is there and links to each track below.

No Sheep unfortunately. C'mon Roger, play the Full Animals!

and maybe someday, stuff like Obscured By Clouds or even Atom Heart as well?


1 - Speak to Me - https://youtu.be/056uWRa2Akw
2 - Breathe - https://youtu.be/056uWRa2Akw
3 - Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun - https://youtu.be/x3LimvfifgI
4 - One of These Days - https://youtu.be/uFUASdEo6EY
5 - Time - https://youtu.be/RvBsq2V7rF8
6 - Breathe (Reprise) - https://youtu.be/RvBsq2V7rF8
7 - The Great Gig in the Sky - https://youtu.be/GIo8W25RRbQ
8 - Money - https://youtu.be/qNWCy57eHF0
9 - Us and Them - https://youtu.be/8YIahDrru94
10 Fearless - https://youtu.be/2jIzN_rQN5o
11 - You'll never walk alone - 
12 - Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts I-V) - https://youtu.be/MzpnTO5jasM
13 - Welcome to the Machine - https://youtu.be/BmQnekuGCUs
14 - Have a Cigar - https://youtu.be/2JHX1aWM7sg
15 - Wish You Were Here - https://youtu.be/ake2XcUdEV0
16 - Interlude - 
17 - Pigs on the Wing (Part 1) - https://youtu.be/NcfJujSAgNY
18 - Dogs - https://youtu.be/Srp8cFSduU4
19 - Pigs (Three Different Ones) - https://youtu.be/UH6iSA3MOmg
20 - The Happiest Days of Our Lives - 
21 - Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2) -
22 - Mother - https://youtu.be/CKxq-IzGE8E
23 - Run Like Hell - https://youtu.be/tEpLErdaWj0
24 - Brain Damage - https://youtu.be/zofs5NxLUwg
25 - Eclipse - https://youtu.be/zofs5NxLUwg
26 - Vera - https://youtu.be/iL60E8JHDGM
27 - Bring the Boys Back Home - https://youtu.be/iL60E8JHDGM
28 - Comfortably Numb - https://youtu.be/3_VQ9-P5Ibc

Follow me:
Twitter - https://twitter.com/sandrogogi
Instagram - https://instagram.com/sandrogogi
Facebook - https://facebook.com/sandrogogi

Videos taken from:
1. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS40...
2. https://www.youtube.com/user/JOELDETH1
3. https://www.youtube.com/user/Beattale...
4. https://www.youtube.com/user/elesevik
7. https://www.youtube.com/user/tera7ful
8. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC3W...

Major Parkinson - Madeleine Crumbles [1B] (2016)

Great new Major Parkinson track "Madeleine Crumbles" ! String arrangement stands out and xylophone.and as it's noted below per Facebook, it's the 1st single from their upcoming 4th LP.

Unsure if the track Pretty Eyes, Pretty Eyes! from back in April will be included as well, but I guess we'll find out when the info on their next record is announced.


Tomorrow, Madeleine Crumbles is officially released - the first single from our fourth album. And as we kind of like you people, we figured we'd even make it available for you today. Where? Just follow the moon:http://bit.ly/2dMzpCC
Feel free to support us by buying the track, and let us know what you think of the thing.

Friday, September 30, 2016

Capital Cities - Vowels [1B] (2016)

Nice synthy new track from Capital Cities.

I can't help but think of the Muzzy El, Grande Vowels video which I saw in High School but in SPANISH class, and the version was en Espanol. That specific Spanish version I'm failing to find but the English one is similar enough.

Hopefully their next full-length is coming soon as well.

Pain of Salvation - In the Passing Light of Day (2016-2017)

9/30/16 9:23AM

Coming out on January 13th, 2017.

4/22/16 9:47AM

Not a ton of details save for the cover and whatever Daniel is referring to in June. But per a lot of updates and that short window of time, the details should come soon. What is Daniel talking about? the obvious guess is a new video or maybe new website. Perhaps interactive, or something. Maybe some novelty item associated with this new album of theirs?

a tour? I guess we'll learn soon enough.

Good to get some good news amongst all the Prince stuff the past 24 hours. I certainly am interested in this new album, even if my passion for PoS hasn't been really high for almost 10 years.

I probably should/and will make a Random Artist Feature about them soon, perhaps sooner per this news.


There is some interesting news coming up in the next few days. I'm not the one to shower our fans with news about every little thing we do, since I don't... well, since I simply don't enjoy that social direction. So, in the last months we have simply worked on the new album, which is turning out absolutely awesome! The album title (which I know you have been waiting for and speculated about) is:
In the Passing Light of Day
However, we have also prepared another little surprise release for you all, scheduled for June. I can't wait to see how this will be received, but I have a feeling it will be very appreciated. 😀
Anyway, that about that for now, keep your eyes and ears open and you'll get more intel on the surprise release and the new album in the next coming days.
Wet kisses!

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Kimbra - Sweet Relief [1B] (2016)

New track, which if I recall, she played live recently. Cool synthy outro, and the whole song has a big electronic/funk side to it.

Hopefully there's more of this coming soon. New album in 2017?

Also interesting how 2 Kimbra tracks were played at my wedding last Saturday, including "Miracle" as the Wedding Party processed into the Reception. I have video, which I may share at some point actually.

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Blackfield - Blackfield V (2016-2017)

9/28/16 7:12PM
Facebook Update

pushed back until January 20th.

Unfortunately the release of the new Blackfieldalbum has been delayed, and Kscope have rescheduled it for 20th January. We apologise profusely for this, but it is due to circumstances beyond our control. Frustrating though it is, hopefully when you hear the album you will agree it was worth the wait! In the meantime we hope to bring you more audio and video preview material from the finished album soon.

9/15/16 6:00AM

why an album this long is a double lp? kind of surprising other than for vinyl thickness, etc.

From Facebook

Blackfield V will soon be available to pre-order. There will be a gatefold vinyl edition (on 2 LPs cut at 45rpm for maximum quality), a standard CD, and a deluxe CD/Blu-Ray edition. The Blu-Ray includes the album in both high resolution stereo and 5.1 surround sound. The 13 track album runs approximately 45 minutes, track listing as follows:

1. A Drop in the Ocean (1.23)
2. Family Man (3.37)
3. How Was Your Ride? (3.58)
4. We’ll Never Be Apart (2.54)
5. Sorrys (2.58)
6. Life is an Ocean (3.26)
7. Lately (3.24)
8. October (3.31)
9. The Jackal (3.56)
10. Salt Water (2.39)
11. Undercover Heart (4.02)
12. Lonely Soul (3.42)
13. From 44 to 48 (4.31)

9/2/16 7:20AM
Sounds intriguing, and like that write-up says, I agree that the 1st 2 albums were favorites or their best to me. Steven Wilson's involvement has a lot to do with that.

Steven Wilson's Facebook Page

Blackfield V will be released on 18th November byKscope, and sees a return to the full partnership that made the first two albums such firm favourites with fans. Written and recorded over a period of 18 months in both Israel and England, Blackfield V contains 13 linked songs that form a flowing 45 minute ocean themed song cycle. With Steven Wilson and Aviv Geffen expertly handling vocals, guitars, and keyboards, Tomer Z from the Blackfield band on drums, and string arrangements performed by the London Session Orchestra, the album is a powerful journey through catchy melodies, lush arrangements, and stunning production. Legendary producer / engineer Alan Parsons produced three of the album’s key tracks.

Both musicians consider Blackfield V to be their best collaboration to date. The album will be released by Kscope as a Digipack CD with a 16 page booklet, CD/Blu Ray with high resolution audio, and double vinyl.

Cover photography by Lasse Hoile.

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Anticipated Albums late 2016 and 2017 (Part 1)

Part 1?, as this is a list of a few artists that have upcoming albums, some that may make it out before the end of this blog's albums year (Painted in Exile) and many that will not, etc.

Bullet Height
Capital Cities (new single Friday 9/30)
Diablo Swing Orchestra
Disillusion (new single in October) 
The Family Crest
East of the Wall
The Faceless
Klimt 1918 - Die Sentimentale Jugend
Major Parkinson - (new single "Madeleine Crumbles" October 7th)
Moonloop - Devocean (release date TBA)
Neverending White Lights
Pain of Salvation - In the Passing Light of Day
Painted in Exile - The Ordeal (out October 28th)
The Red Paintings
Sculptured - The Liminal Phase (early 2017)
Small Leaks Sink Ships
Subterranean Masquerade
The Reign of Kindo: (1 song per month per their new Patreon, with an official full-length release in the Spring of 2017)
Tiny Giant
Watchtower - Concepts of Math: Book One (October 7th)

Blackfield - Blackfield V (now scheduled for January 20th)
Galactic Cowboys
Pepe Deluxe
Steven Wilson

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

The Reign of Kindo: Patreon. 1st Song "Human Convention"

9/20/16 10:30PM

Facebook link


The band posted something within the last month about new music finally coming soon, and this is it. Am I surprised? not incredibly. I signed up, mainly because I love this band and want to support them. I just downloaded the 1st song of many as they explain in the video below. Song is titled "Human Convention."

I haven't listened to it yet, per my fiancee is on the phone.

Of course our wedding is only 4 days away now, so my focus on this stuff isn't what it is normally, but once the wedding is over, I hopefully can get back to all this stuff.

But for now, I wanted to pass this along anyone who may not have seen. The Reign of Kindo is a favorite of mine, and really should have a much larger following than they do. But we'll see if this new platform will be quite helpful for them to make music and not worry so much about costs of making it, etc.

And of course, at some point they tour as much if not more than they are. The Dear Hunter and them someday should tour, at least if the stars allign. And they should play in Minnesota as I know a ton of people in town who are fans, and even were of This Day and Age back in the day.

And with The Dear Hunter in Minnesota would be just perfect to happen. Spring 2017? I'm just wishing for. If it does? maybe it'll feel like fate, if it happens in a year or 2, I still will be overjoyed.

Also I may post a new entry for each song, or maybe I'll try and do what I did with the Three entry back in 2014 and just bump this with each new track.

edit: finally checked it out. Catchy as hell at times. Love the synths.

The time has come.
New music available now. Download 'Human Convention' for free.
Visit www.thereignofkindo.com to get it and learn things. 
We're trying something new.

Original hand-painted artwork by Jeffrey Peter Dickash.
Spread the news all over everyone's faces.
We love you.

Friday, September 16, 2016

Painted in Exile - The Ordeal (2015-2016)



Fucking finally, after 7 long years, Painted in Exile's debut full-length is coming out on October 28th.

10 tracks, 46 minutes long.

New song below.

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Sculptured - The Liminal Phase (2016-2017)

Brave Words Story

Some very good information. Don says it's going to be more of a mixture of Embodiment and Apollo Ends. Some ex-members of Agalloch are involved, which doesn't surprise me too much, but still adds intrigue.

I hope they use samples again and piano, but regardless, it's been what seems like forever since 2008's Embodiment.

Man, I cannot wait to hear something from them again.

The band will gradually begin recording over the next few months, with a release date tentatively set for early 2017.

“At The Margins Of Light”
“Living Deliberately”
“State Of Exception”
“The Ordeal Of Undecidability”
“Only Shame Can Save Us”