Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Some more names/titles

iamthemorning
Gavin Castleton - Blessed
Dream the Electric Sleep
Hardcore Crayons
Strange Relations (opened for Genders..local band)
U2 - Songs of Innocence
Slash
Karen O
Field Mouse

Rubik - Solar (2011)


revisited over the weekend:
dredg - Live at the Fillmore
Mew - No More Stories

gawd I miss both of these bands. 10 years at the same co. got me nostalgic. Not that I was in tears, but I sort of did feel like I should have been. 10 bloody years..and all that music, and other life experiences. It feels like it was a different time for me. Even just read this blog a few years back and it's surreal, sad, haunting, and about a bazillion other adjectives.

albums coming from

Demians
Mew
Subterranean Masquerade
Kaddisfly
The Bird & the Bee
Tuxedo (Mayer Hawthorne sideproject)
Jessie Ware (with a rel date in October)

anyway gotta go..sorry for the scattered, un-detailed update,
Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Monday, September 15, 2014

Rare Jeff Buckley interview

http://www.brainpickings.org/2014/09/11/jeff-buckley-interview/



not a long interview/discussion being about 8 minutes, but you do get some more insights into what Jeff thought about. This seems to have taken place sometime in 1995. I forget the exact timeline, but if I recall correctly, he was still in Jersey (or NYC) at this point.

The interviewer Luisa Cotardo I guess has a tumblr page she keeps. I'd be curious what other interviews/recordings she may have put up there or on the brainpickings site.

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Orphaned Land - Jeremy [Pearl Jam cover]..ltr to E Vedder

I noticed this on my Facebook feed earlier and I'm mainly passing this along for the outstanding cover Orphaned Land did of PJ's "Jeremy."

The letter itself seems rather genuine and heartfelt, even if Eddie Vedder never even sees it or hears the cover. The politics I'm not going to get into, but I suppose it's worth saying I hope Israel does have Pearl Jam come play there at some point soon.


Metal Hammer story




Orphaned Land frontman Kobi Farhi has written an open letter to one of his heroes, Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder, urging the US musician to bring his band to Israel for the first time.

Earlier this summer, Vedder was accused by the Jerusalem Post of making a "harsh anti-Israel diatribe" following an onstage speech referencing the conflict in Gaza. A prominent Israeli rock DJ, Ben Red, then published an open letter to Vedder telling him to stay away from Israel as his "true face has finally been revealed." But Kobi Farhi's own open letter takes a rather different tack.

The full text of the letter is below:

Dear Eddie Vedder

I hope this open letter finds you well.

I thought that reaching 100,000 views for the cover of ‘Jeremy’ I did with my friends might be a good reason to write you.
We've never met Eddie, you don’t really know me. However, on Facebook I'm always told I look like you. Add the fact that I’m a musician too, I always knew that you and me, big or small stars, we are made and sent from the same solar system. I've always been your fan.

When I was a teenager back in the 90’s, it was always a well known and such an appreciated fact that Pearl Jam are one of those bands who cares about their fans before anyone else. We remember how you fought for the tickets prices to be fair or how you never sold yourself out for some big sponsors. Ever since those days, up until that moment right now, we in Israel have never had the chance to see you guys live.

As someone who was always so much into his own fans, you probably saw the amazing page Bring Pearl Jam To Israel. I can’t remember seeing anywhere in the history of music such a beautiful movement of fans calling the band they love with cover versions, 
paintings, photos, tattoos; people took everything that is beautiful in music out there. That was the most creative, colourful, loving call I have ever seen for a band, yet we've never heard any word from you, though we still believe that you are that dude from the 90’s, and the same way you always moved us, we feel that it’s our duty to move you too.

Eddie – Music is a cure, music enters our hearts, brings tears to our eyes, gives us hopes in moments of fear, it’s a simple light in a twisted darkness; music is the best gift of the universe. Nothing new here – you know it.

Yes, bad things are happening in many places in this world, and that's the reason we need to be together, sing with our eyes closed, hearts open and our faces towards the stars. It is needed now more than ever. It’s your duty, as well as ours.

If music is the greatest form of harmony, can you agree with me that it’s mostly needed in places that suffer from disharmony?

It has nothing to do with supporting governments or being one sided in conflicts. It’s about you and your fans, people whom you entered their hearts like a bullet of never ending flame.

Mercedes Sosa RIP always sang those amazing words of a famous song:  “Ci se calla el cantor, calla la vida” – If the singer is silent, life will be silenced."

Eddie, my friend whom I’ve never met – come to the promised land, bring your light, be our Moses for a few hours, let us hear you, let us sing with you.
Think about what I wrote here, please.

Yours sincerely,

Kobi Farhi
Orphaned Land

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Sound & Shape - Venus [Video]



new album is out in a few weeks I guess too. I'll try and edit or post more about that soon.

Monday, September 8, 2014

Subterranean Masquerade - The Great Bazaar (2014-2015)

9/8/14 1:53PM

Album pushed back until December per the situation in Israel. While it does kind of suck for now, it makes sense. Another 3 months doesn't seem like much. It won't be on the Countdown, but whatever, it just means 2014-2015 will be all the better. with the way things are going, albums from many others will end up in the next season too (Kaddisfly?).

Facebook Post

Hello All
Due to the recent fighting in the South of Israel we have decided to push back the release of "THE GREAT BAZAAR" from September to December. Reason being is that we want people to approach our new music with nothing but enthusiasm for what it is.
Our new single "reliving the feeling" is now live at Metal Underground and pre-orders continue as before. We are down to the last few copies of the Bronze vinyl and the shirts so THANK YOU for the support!
Spread the word and get ready for THE GREAT BAZAAR



9/1/14 11:20AM

new song "Reliving the Feeling."

Terrific track. Love the piano.



7/1/14 12:12PM
The Preorder links says Release is "12-9" ..September 12th?

Photo: Subterranean Masquerade reveal the cover art of THE GREAT BAZAAR 

Subterranean Masquerade reveal the artwork for the upcoming album, titled "THE GREAT BAZAAR" and compile 7 new tracks that clocks over 40 minutes. "I think we covered almost every genre we enjoy playing", says the band song writer Tomer Pink, "it has progressive metal themes along with melodic folk, blasting death metal riffage wrapped with rich ensemble orchestration, a wide range of instruments including violins, brass section, flutes and clarinets, Arabic instruments such as Persian Tar, Turkish Saz and Oud, lots of Keys and synths and even a guest appearance by Kobi Farhi of Orphaned Land" 

"This album is so surprising you're gonna have to put on a seat belt before joining the ride." 

THE GREAT BAZAAR is being mixed by Dan Swano at Unisound Studios, artwork done by long time partner Travis Smith and it will be released as limited edition digibook CD with bonus tracks and Vinyl via Tomer's new label "Taklit Music". The album will soon be available for preorder, make sure you stay tuned to our Facebook page www.facebook.com/submasq and website www.submasq.net

Subterranean Masquerade are ready to take the show on the road in support of the album. Dates will follow as soon as they become available.

As published last week, Subterranean Masquerade announced Kjetil Nordhus ( Green Carnation, Tristania) as the band's new singer. Kjetil is joining Paul Kuhr of Novembers Doom who have been with the band since the first album. 

They both join an impressive lineup including drummer Matan Shmuely (Orphaned Land), Keyboardist Shai Yallin (Solstice Coil), guitarists Tomer Pink & Or Shalev and Bassist Golan Farhi. "This is the first time we function like a band and not just a project, everyone brings his own signature and influences and together we've created something I think is very special".

Album Tracklist to be announced soon. 

Get ready for THE GREAT BAZAAR

01 - Early Morning Mantra
02 - Reliving the Feeling
03 - Tour Diary
04 - Nigen
05 - Waiting
06 - Specter
07 - Father and Son

http://www.submasq.net/

Preorders

"Tour Diary" lyric video.


.rather orchestral, and the vocals naturally do sound like Green Carnation. The build up that starts around the 3 minute mark is pretty sweet.

6/25/14 11:00PM

review of the track "Tour Diary" (coming rather soon)

Artwork, info about the format, 7 songs/40 minutes, etc are all posted below per This Facebook Post

The way the new track reads, with the Kjetil Nordhus (of Green Carnation) sang vocal track "Tour Diary" has me intrigued to say the least. More info will of course be put in this entry when it's available (which it sounds like it should be rather soon).

I can't see myself not ordering the Vinyl.




Subterranean Masquerade reveal the cover art of THE GREAT BAZAAR 

Subterranean Masquerade reveal the artwork for the upcoming album, titled "THE GREAT BAZAAR" and compile 7 new tracks that clocks over 40 minutes. "I think we covered almost every genre we enjoy playing", says the band song writer Tomer Pink, "it has progressive metal themes along with melodic folk, blasting death metal riffage wrapped with rich ensemble orchestration, a wide range of instruments including violins, brass section, flutes and clarinets, Arabic instruments such as Persian Tar, Turkish Saz and Oud, lots of Keys and synths and even a guest appearance by Kobi Farhi of Orphaned Land"

"This album is so surprising you're gonna have to put on a seat belt before joining the ride."

THE GREAT BAZAAR is being mixed by Dan Swano at Unisound Studios, artwork done by long time partner Travis Smith and it will be released as limited edition digibook CD with bonus tracks and Vinyl via Tomer's new label "Taklit Music". The album will soon be available for preorder, make sure you stay tuned to our Facebook page www.facebook.com/submasq and websitewww.submasq.net

Subterranean Masquerade are ready to take the show on the road in support of the album. Dates will follow as soon as they become available.

As published last week, Subterranean Masquerade announced Kjetil Nordhus ( Green CarnationTristania) as the band's new singer. Kjetil is joining Paul Kuhr of Novembers Doom who have been with the band since the first album.

They both join an impressive lineup including drummer Matan Shmuely (Orphaned Land), Keyboardist Shai Yallin (Solstice Coil), guitarists Tomer Pink & Or Shalev and Bassist Golan Farhi. "This is the first time we function like a band and not just a project, everyone brings his own signature and influences and together we've created something I think is very special".

Album Tracklist to be announced soon.

Get ready for THE GREAT BAZAAR

Sunday, September 7, 2014

Majestyy - Lost Mesmerist

Yes, another piece, that was put up only a few days ago. I swear, it may be my Apes and Androids-Kool-Aid in my ears/brain talking, but everything this guy creates I love. Whether many others feel the same way or not, it shouldn't matter.

Hell even the REMIXES he makes on his soundcloud of pop songs; most recently from Rihanna and Katy Perry I dig.

Now "Lost Recordings" may imply this is an older recording, but I can only speculate/guess I suppose.

Saturday, September 6, 2014

Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel (2014-2015)

9/6/14 11:03AM

Sorry for the delay as this was shared a few days ago. Been dealing with a flare up and other time-occupying things of course.

Stream "Curator" here per Season of the Mist's Soundcloud

Digging this new track a lot, maybe more than I expected; which is part of that 23-minute suite/epic "Painters of the Tempest."

I just pre-ordered the colored vinyl even, lol.

Here are the links the band shared on their post on Facebook.

AUS: nervegas.com.au/ne-obliviscaris
EUR: http://shop.season-of-mist.com/predefined-search?id_list=56
USA: http://shopusa.season-of-mist.com/



1. Painters of the Tempest (Part I): Wyrmholes
2. Painters of the Tempest (Part II): Triptych Lux
Movement I: Creator
Movement Ii: Cynosure
Movement Iii: Curator
3. Painters of the Tempest (Part III): Reveries from the Stained Glass Womb
4. Pyrrhic
5. Devour Me, Colossus (Part I): Blackholes

6. Devour Me, Colossus (Part II): Contortions

8/18/14 12:30PM
I'm excited for this record certainly, and the 1st with their new drummer? if I recall. And they have a pozible.com crowd funding campaign still going on to help fund a tour which if I recall, already met their goal with at least a few weeks left.

One sort of semantics note for myself, this record will not be included in my 2013-2014 Season-ending Countdown per the release date being after Halloween. So, in-effect, this is the 1st official record for 2014-2015 to anticipate that has a title and release date (Team Me sort of qualifies as well, but given their album comes out in a few weeks in Japan and Norway, they likely won't).

But as far as the title, artwork, etc..doesn't seem surprising, or repulsive; yet  nothing it doesn't seem shocking or that different compared to Portal of I.

My biggest wish for this record is for the PRODUCTION and MIXING to not be so compressed and HOT. PoI I enjoy how clean at times it was sounded,, but it also at times seemed very loud and the amounts of layers sometimes hurt being able to hear the actual performances clearly, and how they come across.

Not so *hot* guys, and this record may eclipse your great debut LP by a lot.

From Facebook




We are extremely excited to announce that our new album 'CITADEL' is set for release on November 7/11th (US) through Season of Mist!

'Citadel' is everything we ever envisioned this band could one day become.

And we can't wait to share it with you all very soon.

Artwork by Xen

Enchant - The Great Divide (2014) + A Blueprint of the World Vinyl

9/6/14 10:50PM

1st song shared "Within an Inch"..pretty sweet. I'm starting to get more excited about this record now.
Ted's vocals, the keyboard solo, Doug guitar work, some of the drums, etc..all working well, like the Enchant band I used to listen to frequently.


8/20/14 5:53AM

2nd Teaser/Trailer. Honestly, when I checked this out last night after I got home from work, I was really kind of underwhelmed. It sounds quite prog rock-like, like modern prog rock like in a Spock's or maybe worse stuff like Haken or Beardfish kind of way.

However a 2nd listening sort of has me warming up to it. I suppose to hope/expect a ton of new elements to their sound, even if it has been 10 long years, is unlikely. But I suppose this is till only 2.5 mins worth.



7/24/14 12:08PM



Finally after 11 years, one of my favorite bands from the 90's and early 2000's returns. Maybe I'll edit in more later as to why that is (or try and write up a brief history about them my experience, my take on each record briefly, etc).

Also the news below about the A Blueprint of the World vinyl (incl colored Blue) I can't see myself passing up on as it's one of my favorite records.

September 29th/30th. Touring? doubt beyond some festival shows, but it would be cool to see them support this album with one.

Also given the Blueprint Vinyl, I wonder if this new record will also find its way onto vinyl soon.

I also can't forget about how Insideout Music band Ice Age had an album of the exact same title like 13 years ago, but I'm sure Enchant new album title had nothing to do with that, lol.

Sound-wise for this new record? I wonder if the band may mix things up/modernize them a bit since we last heard new music from them in 2003.



1. Circles
2. Within an Inch
3. The Great Divide
4. All Mixed Up
5. Transparent Man
6. Life in a Shadow
7. Deserve to Feel
8. Here and Now
9. Prognosticator


ENCHANT – Announce release of new studio album “The Great Divide”; Launch online teaser!

ENCHANT, the Bay Area’s long-running Prog Rock institution founded in 1989, have completed working on their much anticipated comeback release after ten years of silence.

Entitled “The Great Divide”, ENCHANT’s 8th studio album will be released on September 29th, 2014 in Europe and on September 30th, 2014 in North America via the band’s longtime label partner InsideOutMusic.

ENCHANT’s main songwriter and guitarist Douglas A. Ott had the following to say about the upcoming release:

"Well it's finally here folks! There was a time when I was unsure of ENCHANT’s future but fear not! 
We've made another album after 10 years and we are very excited and proud of this endeavor! 
Our new album is called The Great Divide and we can't wait for you to hear it! 9 brand new ENCHANT tracks, including 1 instrumental. Classic ENCHANT but with a bunch of new twists and turns! Long time in the making but it is surely worth the wait! Coming out late September, so be sure to check it out!"

A first online teaser for the “The Great Divide” can be viewed here: http://youtu.be/_vwh95n2X0s

In related ENCHANT news, InsideOutMusic is happy to announce the first ever LP release of the band’s classic debut album “A Blueprint Of The World” from 1993. As for September 1st, 2014 this epic record will be available on 180gr. black vinyl in the gatefold double LP format including the original 10 songs and one bonus track in a total playing time of 74 minutes as well as the full album on a bonus CD. Check pre-order details of the strictly limited (100x copies) edition on transparent blue vinyl here: www.insideoutshop.de

Keep your eyes and ears open for further details on “The Great Divide” coming soon…

ENCHANT Discography:
A Blueprint Of The World – CD 1993
Wounded – CD 1996
Time Lost – CD 1997
Break – CD 1998
Juggling 9 Or Dropping 10 – CD 2000
Blink Of An Eye – CD 2002
Tug Of War – CD 2003
Live At Last – 2CD/2DVD 2004
The Great Divide – CD 2014

ENCHANT Line-Up 2014:
Ted Leonard - Lead vocals (Spock’s Beard / Thought Chamber)
Douglas A. Ott - Guitars and backing vocals
Ed Platt - Bass guitar and bass pedals
Bill Jenkins - Keyboards (Sound Of Contact / Thought Chamber)
Sean Flanegan – Drums (Cynthesis)

ENCHANT online:
www.enchantband.com
www.facebook.com/enchantband
www.twitter.com/enchantband

INSIDEOUTMUSIC online:
www.insideoutmusic.com
www.youtube.com/InsideOutMusicTV
www.facebook.com/InsideOutMusic
www.twitter.com/insideouteu

Visit the new InsideOut Shop:
www.insideoutshop.de







Friday, September 5, 2014

Update 9/5/14

Edit: here's something new..sorta for Social Media image purposes:



Been behind for various reasons the past few days. Mostly due to work, ot, and time with the gf. But the albums are coming in like floods.


Have listened to 1-2 times..
The Tea Party
Team Me
The Mercury Tree

on deck at some point soon:
Solstafir
Field Mouse
Karen O
Sucre

and then non-new releases

XTC - Drums and Wires
XTC - The Black Sea?
Cardiacs - forget the title..an album from 1988 I think

I also have something to write given I have the time about album anticipation and historically for myself.

And of course with the season ending in less than 2 months, that annual write up is closer than for most.

Ne Obvlisicaris new song is boss and the entry will be updated hopefully later tonight/ And it by default now will be the top record for 2014-2015.

Concerts:
Sunday: Genders
Tuesday: Mercury Tree/Brice Plays Drums

The Family Crest
RisingSide
Coheed: not happening sadly given it's Yom Kippur
Marketa Irglova?
Kimbra

Fela Kuti documentary..(Genesis, Jaco Pastorius and the Kevin Gilbert ones coming as well).

1 or 2 other points..ahh right, the barrage of albums. Like a dozen or so in Sept/Oct..now like 4 or 5 have been available.

Still waiting on news from the likes of Kaddisfly, 22, Subterranean Masquerade, Hotel of the Laughing Tree and some others..Daniel Johns, Klimt 1918, Bubblemath, Between Two Skies, The Pneumatic Transit plus a lot more.

Need to write something about Hardcore Crayons as well.

anyway, that is all for the news for now...maybe more l8ter.

Thursday, September 4, 2014

The Mercury Tree - Countenance (2014)

9/4/14 5:40AM
Stream and downloadable:


8/22/14 6:30PM-8/23/14 7:24PM
Interview and a STREAM of "Pitchless Tone" the opening track.

Bandcamp

The Family Style EP from earlier this year is awesome. Very excited to hear this soon on September 3rd..

Countenance cover art

1. Pitchless Tone
2. Vestigial
3. Otoliths
4. Mazz Jathy
5. To Serve Man
6. The Ellsberg Cycle
7. False Meaning
8. Artifracture
9. Jazz Hands of Doom
10. Rappel

Why wouldn't there be a dragon in space?
credits
releases 03 September 2014

Ben Spees - guitar, keyboard, vocals 
Connor Reilly - drums 
Oliver Campbell - bass (1, 2, 6, 8, 10), vocals 
Aaron Clark - fretless bass (3, 4, 5, 7, 9), vocals 

Recorded 2013-2014 at College of Wizardry & Bongo Fury, Portland, Oregon. 
Mixed by Ben Spees. 
Mastered by Stephan Hawkes. 

Lead vocals on "The Ellsberg Cycle" by Aaron Clark.

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

The Tea Party - The Ocean at the End (2014)

9/3/14 5:00PM
ALBUM STREAM FOR PEOPLE IN CANADA

8/22/14 6:06AM

Interview with Jeff Martin.





8/18/14 8:31PM

Per Wikipedia and Amazon.ca Preorder

Release Date: September 8th (in Canada at least) 8:37 title track?

New website as well, with a question the band want fans to submit: Pictures and Memories.

http://www.teaparty.com/



1 The L.O.C 4:14
2 The Black Sea 3:59
3 Cypher 3:58
4 The Maker 4:11
5 Black Roses 5:29
6 Brazil 4:44
7 The 11th Hour 4:59
8 Submission 3:54
9 The Cass Corridor 2:41
10 Water's On Fire 4:45
11 The Ocean At the End 8:37
12 Into the Unknown 5:02


6/28/14 7:11PM

Water's On Fire  The Tea Party

1st single "Water's on Fire" sounds pretty good.

iTunes

https://www.hmvdigital.ca/releases/3577591



This story says the album is expected to be released "this fall."

3/29/14 11:52 AM

I am a fan of these guys, even owning nearly their whole catalog on cd. The Edges of Twilight I think still stands out as my favorite, although I enjoy more or less everything they've done. I always liken them to like if Jim Morrison sang with a band who reminded me of a lot of Led Zeppelin, specifically Led Zeppelin III. But that is mostly their early records.

The story below has me optimistic about it, although I was also about the Crash Karma album Burrows and Edwin from I Mother Earth did.; and I can't say I loved that record too much.

But it sounds like they put a fair amount of thought into this record, so we'll see. It says it's expected in the Fall, the 1st single in June, so I'll be sure to update this when more information is provided about it.


http://www.theprovince.com/touch/story.html?id=9674993


Five years ago, members of The Tea Party could hardly stand being in the same room together let alone spend a month in a recording studio. But wonders never cease, and this week Jeff Martin, Jeff Burrows and Stuart Chatwood put the finishing touches on their first studio album in a decade, collectively swallowing six years and a mountain of pride.
The word from the band’s camp is that The Ocean at the End could be the nearest The Tea Party has come to perfection in its 23-year history.
“It’s the best of everything for The Tea Party,” raved Martin, the band’s lead singer and guitarist, this week.
The usually reserved Chatwood, keyboardist and bass player, declared: “On our tombstones it’ll say These Guys Played Music.”
Due out in the fall, The Ocean at the End will mark the first studio release for the trio since 2004’s Seven Circles. It’ll also be the first album, other than a limited edition, live collection made in Australia last year, since the band reformed in 2011 following a six-year split.
“It was either going to be a disaster,” Martin said, “or one of the best things we could do. I’m counting on it being the latter.”
The first single, as yet undecided, will be out by June, said Martin, and the album “in a perfect world” by early fall.
There will be 10 tracks, plus two bonus songs, including the eight-minute opus that gives the album its title. The Ocean at the End is the album’s final track, written by Martin and Burrows, and featuring guest soloist Ian Anderson of Jethro Tull on flute. The band may also include a cover of Daniel Lanois’s The Maker, which it has woven into the middle section of Save Me at its concerts.
Chatwood, however, said the title song will impress even the most diehard fan: “It’s like a harder Pink Floyd.”
Much of the album, in fact, is a throwback to The Tea Party’s earlier albums, Splendor Solis and The Edges of Twilight, when their adventurous use of instrumentation was often compared with Led Zeppelin.
“It was my idea to bring in the flute and the mellotron,” Chatwood said. “Jeff Martin said he wanted to do a blues thing for the final song, and Jeff Burrows brought in this really melodic idea ... ”
He added that 60 per cent of the new material was conceived in the band’s home city of Windsor, during writing sessions last fall.
In that sense, The Tea Party has returned to its roots as most of the music on the first three albums was produced during jam sessions in a downtown Windsor rehearsal studio.
After toiling in local bands, Martin, Burrows and Chatwood, all within a year of one another in age, teamed up to record their first independent, self-titled record in 1991. Now in their early 40s, they were 21 and 22 at the time.
Chatwood recalled those early days fondly when describing the new music, and added the years have only burnished that Tea Party sound to a brilliant shine.
“We’ve all grown as musicians,” he said. “As you get older, you’re open to new ideas. When you’re young, you sometimes think you might not be doing this for the rest of your life. But that’s kind of set in stone for us, now.”
Martin believes there’s something for every period of Tea Party fans: “I think the album in its entirety has something for everyone as far The Tea Party is concerned. It has all the different musical elements we’ve embraced over the years.”
While Martin has often been accused of being the source of friction in The Tea Party, something he doesn’t deny, his complete acceptance of where the band is at now and where it’s heading, appears to have closed the circle.
“I’ve always been proud of the way we’ve been able to raise the bar for ourselves. I realize the expectations are high for this new record, but I think, and I believe Jeff and Stuart would agree, that we’ll meet all the expectations.”
He, too, referred back to their beginnings.
“In some ways, the feeling is even better than when we started out. There have been a lot of lessons learned when we were apart and the mutual respect for each other is even greater than what it was in the past.”
During the six-year hiatus, members of The Tea Party found a variety of projects to keep them busy. Martin wrote and recorded a pair of solo albums, moved to Australia, and tours Down Under with Sarah McLeod. Burrows helped form pop-rockers Crash Karma and hosted a radio show in Windsor. Chatwood has composed film and video soundtracks in his home studio in Vancouver, while also producing music for the likes of New York entrepreneur Tim Sommer.
“We’re all bringing a lot more experience doing different things to the table this time,” Chatwood said.
The heavy rock influences remain, but they sound better in the new context.
“It’s not retro-rock, it’s respectful rock,” Chatwood said. “We don’t wear our influences on our sleeve. We just let them come out naturally.”

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Faith No More: News, new album?..9/2/14 ALBUM COMING APRIL 2015

9/2/14 12:17PM

RS link/interview

well it's finally happening. April 2015.

"Motherfucker" the single being released on Black Friday Record Store Day as a 7-inch with a b-side.




I'll say it again, this is cool they are (obviously better than no album at all), but if Jim Martin were involved, this would be an even bigger deal.

They have a tour planned around the time:

Though no dates have been booked, the band is planning a full U.S. tour around the album's release. Since their return to the stage in 2009, they've only played five American cities.


A Minnesota date? I would imagine they'd be at XCel or Target Center and tickets would be at least $70 or $80. I'd still have to think about trying to go as I've always wanted to see them.

6/20/12 10:40AM


A new album from them would be welcome and everything, but, I still hold on to the fact it would be even greater if JIM MARTIN were involved.

But beggars can't be choosers I suppose. A new Jellyfish album, tour, or anything would probably mean even more to me, so at least FNM are at where they are compared to the long yet mostly impossible dream of a Jellyfish reunion (or for that matter, Peter Gabriel with Genesis, etc).

fnm.com

Who would have thought, but here we are, 11 years dead and now back...posting news again!! Along with revitalizing the band, we've been working on FNM.COM, and while it is still a work in progress, we also hope it can begin to serve as a main information point regarding tourdates, announcements, confirmations, tshirts...and all things Faith No More. As for now, and thanks to the good folks who created the original fnm.com, this will be functioning as a band run site.

WIth this spirit, we're trying to keep our operation small, the theme of this site as simple as possible. There will be no marketing teams, record labels, PR firms involved in gathering your personal info; hopefully just real info passed along from us to you.

There are lots of things coming up—especially new show announcements—so please try to check in every now and then for the latest. In the meantime, we'll leave you with our official statement:



Faith No More has always stood out as some sort of unique beast; part dog, part cat—its music almost as schizophrenic as the personalities of its members. When it all worked, it worked really well, even if the chemistry was always volatile. Throughout our 17years of existence, the mental and physical energy required to sustain this creature was considerable and relentless. Though amicable enough, when we finally split, we all followed paths seemingly destined to opposite ends of the universe.

Yet during the entire 10 years that have passed since our decision to break up we've experienced constant rumors and requests from fans and promoters alike. Nevertheless, for whatever reason, none of us kept in regular touch, much less to discuss any possibilities of getting together.

What's changed is that this year, for the first time, we've all decided to sit down together and talk about it. And what we've discovered is that time has afforded us enough distance to look back on our years together through a clearer lens and made us realize that through all the hard work, the music still sounds good, and we are beginning to appreciate the fact that we might have actually done something right.

Meanwhile we find ourselves at a moment in time with zero label obligations, still young and strong enough to deliver a kickass set, with enthusiasm to not only revisit our past but possibly add something to the present. And so with this we've decided to hold our collective breaths and jump off this cliff....
BACK, GOD FORBID, INTO THE MONKEY CAGE!!!

We can only hope that the experience of playing together again will yield results erratic and unpredictable enough to live up to the legacy of FNM.
Who know where this will end or what it will bring up...only the future knows. But we are about to find out!


FAITH NO MORE are:
Mike Bordin, Roddy Bottum, Bill Gould, Jon Hudson and Mike Patton

Monday, September 1, 2014

Fjokra - Love, Thrust, Burn [Official Video, 2014]

Love the song, and the video is rather arty of course. I suppose I tend to picture (in a completely heterosexual way mind you) a guy (Fjokra himself namely) either in the shower or scantily clad or something, mainly with the lyric "ooh, you look so good, standing in my bedroom in nude"

Anyway, this video with the ballerina? and accompanied male dancer fits a bit in the theme/tone I suppose. What the deal is with the people in clear tubes or whatever, I'm not sure other than some other metaphor of looking at someone or these 2 dancers in a hidden, isolated space or something?

I often picture someone with binoculars across the street or something, a peeping tom or a P.I in some movie or show (or novel).

But regardless, one of the excellent tracks from Thoughtsteps, and if I'm not mistaken, now there's a video for every track on the new EP.

I wonder (hope) that means Fjokra is or will be looking to write and record some music soon and if not this year, perhaps in 2015 we'll get to hear more from this great new artist.




Sunday, August 31, 2014

WatchMojo.com List: Top 10 The Police songs (MY LIST, their video)



I'm a somewhat nostalgic, from High School mainly, Police fan, mainly because my best friend in HS was an absolute Police and Sting addict, and he drove every where we'd go, thus he also controlled the music. So I spent dozens and dozens (literally) of trips and especially Friday and Saturday nights listening to The Police and Sting on those drives getting into mischief, or just to our local McDonalds and Mr.Movies/Blockbuster/Hollywood Video..and of course Best Buy and Tidal Wave at one point.

Why we rarely went to Cheapo? I honestly don't recall. I suppose mainly due to the fact my best friend was someone who time was of the essence, and he always wanted to go do things asap (eating dinner on the drive home for instance, lol). And so driving into St.Paul to Cheapo would have compromised more time that he'd rather watch movies or play basketball down at the park near my folks place.

At any case, the WatchMojo.com list isn't bad, but also pretty predictable. Voices Inside My Head gets an HM and not something like Spirits in the Material World? yeah, that one is kind of surprising given the shear amount of Airplay for both songs, but whatevah.

Below is an Guestimation of my own personal top 12 or so with a few Honorable Mentions. I probably am leaving a few off at least the HM, but this is pretty close to my favorite songs from these guys.

Synchronicity II
Wrapped Around Your Finger
The Bed's Too Big Without You
Spirits in the Material World
Man in a Suitcase
It's Alright For You
Message in a Bottle
Secret Journey
Synchronicity I
Canary in a Coalmine
Bring on the Night
Too Much Information

HM: Can't Stand Losing You, King of Pain, So Lonely, De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da, Tea in the Sahara

 

Monday, August 25, 2014

Kimbra - The Golden Echo (2014)

8/25/14 12:07PM
I just watched it without sound, but I guess the mixing and some other elements of the song in this video differ. The video itself, meh, I guess if it has it's Madonna or Britney style to it a little, it's no big deal, as long as someone new to her doesn't pigeonhole her music that way (which I'll admit, I once sort of did with Janelle Monae).


8/11/14 1:01PM
Full Album Stream


npr again *rolls eyes*, although at least in this case they aren't being given an exclusive stream to a Metal album.

As far as the record, I am enjoying it a lot, although I would be surprised if I consider it as good as Vows ultimately, but time will only tell of course. "Carolina" may be my favorite track. "Teen Heat" "As You Are" and "Madhouse" also all have stood out in some ways, although I think every track on this album is worth listening to at this point.

I haven't heard those 3 bonus tracks of course, 1 of them includes Jonas from Mew.

7/26/14 1:06PM

cool lyric video for "Love In High Places" (previously posted below).



opener for the Fall US Tour is "Empress Of" although apparently not in Minneapolis according to that link edited in below.

7/21/14 5:12PM-7/22/14 1:40PM

Brief US Tour this Fall including October 30th @ The Fine Line in Minneapolis. I wonder if she'll get an opener (The Dear Hunter?..wishful thinking of course)

http://www.kimbramusic.com/tour

10/20 San Francisco, CA - The Independent*
10/23 Los Angeles, CA - The Roxy*
10/24 Santa Ana, CA - The Observatory*
10/25-10/26 Las Vegas, NV - Life Is Beautiful Festival
10/27 Salt Lake City, UT - In The Venue*
10/28 Denver, CO - Sherman Street Event Center*
10/30 Minneapolis, MN - Fine Line Music Café
11/01 Chicago, IL - Lincoln Hall
11/06 New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom*
11/07 Philadelphia, PA - World Café Live - Downstairs*
11/08 Washington, DC - U Street Music Hall*
11/09 Allston, MA - Brighton Music Hall*
Edit: opener listed here:
* w/ Empress Of

"Miracle" dancey/disco-ish.



6/13/14 10:30PM

Jonas from Mew (along with Ben and Omar) are on Bonus tracks. Longstreth and Flying Lotus won't be on any version of the album at this point (but will come out).

article

UPDATE: Warner Bros. have issued a correction saying that while Kimbra worked with Flying Lotus and Dave Longstreth during the making of The Golden Echo, those songs will not appear on the album. They will eventually be released however. Also, "bonus tracks on the deluxe edition include appearances from Ben Weinman of the Dillinger Escape Plan, The Mars Volta's Omar Rodríguez-López, and Jonas Bjerre of Danish band Mew."

6/10/14 10:58PM

Released August 19th

2 new tracks "Nobody But You" and "Love In High Places."









Deluxe Edition (iTunes)  Tracklist (see the Preorder link in the YouTube videos)

The Golden Echo

1 Teen Heat
2 90s Music 3:36
3 Carolina
4 Goldmine
5 Miracle
6 Rescue Him
7 Madhouse
8 Everlovin' Ya (feat. Bilal)
9 As You Are
10 Love In High Places 5:15
11 Nobody But You 5:22
12 Waltz Me To the Grave
13 Slum Love (Bonus Track)
14 Sugar Lies (Bonus Track)
15 The Magic Hour (Bonus Track)

Daniel Johns/Can Dyke Parks? Omar Rodriguez-Lopez? Ben Weinman? more details I'm sure will include them, but Bilal appears to be the only name "featured" which honestly, might be a good thing with so much emphasis on whose-who of guest in the track titles on so many recent albums.

edit: ...
"with a list of collaborators including Flying Lotus, Dave Longstreth, John Legend, and Matt Bellamy."

6/3/14 4:15PM

Video for "90's Music"..dig the pop/culture (pop music) references. Playful video that at times resembles something Michel Gondry might do, which fittingly, the 1990's is when he was making music videos if I recall, lol.

Nice chameleon looks from Kimbra as well.

\


  5/19/14 5:25PM

cover art: see above

Billboard Link
"from the singer's second studio album, "The Golden Echo," due out in August on Warner Bros. Records." 


for the official release of the "90's Music" single, Kimbra's album title and release month were also included in the press release. What format and of course all the details of the track list and artwork probably aren't too far away.

Also kind of obvious now why her tour with Janelle Monae down under was titled the "Golden Electric Tour." Which it probably is worth adding how Janelle had to pull out of a show and the dates until May 26th due to some kind of health issue. I haven't seen any details, but Kimbra posted a get well wish to Janelle the other day after she had to bow out of a show the other night.

5/4/14 2:13PM



The first single is titled "90's Music" and I'm just guessing, but I think it was played on Triple J yesterday or early this morning and someone may have ripped it and it was shared on the Tumblr Link below.

Odd tune to say the least, but take this 1st track with a grain of salt given the assortment of guests showing up on this record.

Someone also claims on twitter, the album title and more details will be announced per Triple J in the next week or 2. The fact Kimbra has been teasing with cryptic comments on fb/twitter about it.



The beetle wings are rustling with whispers of what's to come!!!



http://empireofkimbra.tumblr.com/post/84701084271/kimbra-90s-music

image

Check Out/Stream a 90's music MIX Kimbra made


Also here's a live version of 1 of the new tracks "Madhouse."