Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Blackfield - Blackfield V (2016-2017)

9/28/16 7:12PM
Facebook Update

pushed back until January 20th.

Unfortunately the release of the new Blackfieldalbum has been delayed, and Kscope have rescheduled it for 20th January. We apologise profusely for this, but it is due to circumstances beyond our control. Frustrating though it is, hopefully when you hear the album you will agree it was worth the wait! In the meantime we hope to bring you more audio and video preview material from the finished album soon.

9/15/16 6:00AM

why an album this long is a double lp? kind of surprising other than for vinyl thickness, etc.

From Facebook

Blackfield V will soon be available to pre-order. There will be a gatefold vinyl edition (on 2 LPs cut at 45rpm for maximum quality), a standard CD, and a deluxe CD/Blu-Ray edition. The Blu-Ray includes the album in both high resolution stereo and 5.1 surround sound. The 13 track album runs approximately 45 minutes, track listing as follows:

1. A Drop in the Ocean (1.23)
2. Family Man (3.37)
3. How Was Your Ride? (3.58)
4. We’ll Never Be Apart (2.54)
5. Sorrys (2.58)
6. Life is an Ocean (3.26)
7. Lately (3.24)
8. October (3.31)
9. The Jackal (3.56)
10. Salt Water (2.39)
11. Undercover Heart (4.02)
12. Lonely Soul (3.42)
13. From 44 to 48 (4.31)



9/2/16 7:20AM
Sounds intriguing, and like that write-up says, I agree that the 1st 2 albums were favorites or their best to me. Steven Wilson's involvement has a lot to do with that.



Steven Wilson's Facebook Page

Blackfield V will be released on 18th November byKscope, and sees a return to the full partnership that made the first two albums such firm favourites with fans. Written and recorded over a period of 18 months in both Israel and England, Blackfield V contains 13 linked songs that form a flowing 45 minute ocean themed song cycle. With Steven Wilson and Aviv Geffen expertly handling vocals, guitars, and keyboards, Tomer Z from the Blackfield band on drums, and string arrangements performed by the London Session Orchestra, the album is a powerful journey through catchy melodies, lush arrangements, and stunning production. Legendary producer / engineer Alan Parsons produced three of the album’s key tracks.

Both musicians consider Blackfield V to be their best collaboration to date. The album will be released by Kscope as a Digipack CD with a 16 page booklet, CD/Blu Ray with high resolution audio, and double vinyl.

Cover photography by Lasse Hoile.
Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Anticipated Albums late 2016 and 2017 (Part 1)

Part 1?, as this is a list of a few artists that have upcoming albums, some that may make it out before the end of this blog's albums year (Painted in Exile) and many that will not, etc.


22
Anakdota
Bullet Height
Capital Cities (new single Friday 9/30)
Diablo Swing Orchestra
Disillusion (new single in October) 
The Family Crest
East of the Wall
The Faceless
Journal
Klimt 1918 - Die Sentimentale Jugend
Major Parkinson - (new single "Madeleine Crumbles" October 7th)
Moonloop - Devocean (release date TBA)
Neverending White Lights
Pain of Salvation - In the Passing Light of Day
Painted in Exile - The Ordeal (out October 28th)
Persefone
The Red Paintings
Sculptured - The Liminal Phase (early 2017)
Small Leaks Sink Ships
Subterranean Masquerade
The Reign of Kindo: (1 song per month per their new Patreon, with an official full-length release in the Spring of 2017)
Tiny Giant
Watchtower - Concepts of Math: Book One (October 7th)

2017
Anathema
Blackfield - Blackfield V (now scheduled for January 20th)
Fjokra
Galactic Cowboys
Karnivool
Kimbra
Pepe Deluxe
Ours
Typhoon
Steven Wilson


Tuesday, September 20, 2016

The Reign of Kindo: Patreon. 1st Song "Human Convention"

9/20/16 10:30PM

Facebook link

https://www.patreon.com/thereignofkindo

The band posted something within the last month about new music finally coming soon, and this is it. Am I surprised? not incredibly. I signed up, mainly because I love this band and want to support them. I just downloaded the 1st song of many as they explain in the video below. Song is titled "Human Convention."

I haven't listened to it yet, per my fiancee is on the phone.

Of course our wedding is only 4 days away now, so my focus on this stuff isn't what it is normally, but once the wedding is over, I hopefully can get back to all this stuff.

But for now, I wanted to pass this along anyone who may not have seen. The Reign of Kindo is a favorite of mine, and really should have a much larger following than they do. But we'll see if this new platform will be quite helpful for them to make music and not worry so much about costs of making it, etc.

And of course, at some point they tour as much if not more than they are. The Dear Hunter and them someday should tour, at least if the stars allign. And they should play in Minnesota as I know a ton of people in town who are fans, and even were of This Day and Age back in the day.

And with The Dear Hunter in Minnesota would be just perfect to happen. Spring 2017? I'm just wishing for. If it does? maybe it'll feel like fate, if it happens in a year or 2, I still will be overjoyed.

Also I may post a new entry for each song, or maybe I'll try and do what I did with the Three entry back in 2014 and just bump this with each new track.

edit: finally checked it out. Catchy as hell at times. Love the synths.






The time has come.
New music available now. Download 'Human Convention' for free.
Visit www.thereignofkindo.com to get it and learn things. 
We're trying something new.

Original hand-painted artwork by Jeffrey Peter Dickash.
Spread the news all over everyone's faces.
We love you.

Friday, September 16, 2016

Painted in Exile - The Ordeal (2015-2016)

Story

http://paintedinexile.bigcartel.com/

Fucking finally, after 7 long years, Painted in Exile's debut full-length is coming out on October 28th.

10 tracks, 46 minutes long.

New song below.

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Sculptured - The Liminal Phase (2016-2017)



Brave Words Story

Some very good information. Don says it's going to be more of a mixture of Embodiment and Apollo Ends. Some ex-members of Agalloch are involved, which doesn't surprise me too much, but still adds intrigue.

I hope they use samples again and piano, but regardless, it's been what seems like forever since 2008's Embodiment.

Man, I cannot wait to hear something from them again.


The band will gradually begin recording over the next few months, with a release date tentatively set for early 2017.

“At The Margins Of Light”
“Living Deliberately”
“State Of Exception”
“The Ordeal Of Undecidability”
“Only Shame Can Save Us”

Monday, September 12, 2016

50 Years Ago Today: Hey Hey We're the MONKEES!



Like Star Trek last Thursday September 8th, Today is the 50th Anniversary of the Premiere Episode of The Monkees Television series.

I honestly didn't realize Star Trek and The Monkees premiered the exact same year and even within 1-week.

More talk about the 50th Anniversary of the Premiere/Pilot should be happening, but is it? it doesn't seem so much, despite the excellent new album. And not like Star Trek even last week.

Today is MONKEES DAY. Social Media should be flooded with it. I guess I'll be curious to see if it eventually starts trending within the next couple days at least.


Favorite Albums of All Time: Video Summary



Just a bit of commentary about the extensive Mother of All Albums list for me.

I may do more on this in video form, maybe when I break down the numbers of the list, etc.

Vinyl +1 CD Update: ft Fates Warning, Mars Volta, Local Natives



Another vinyl update and the 1 CD from The Woods Brothers to show. Unfortunately, there are at least a couple of other cds to show that I misplaced, but they'll have to be shown in a future video.

The Local Natives Vinyl is a bit much given the package it came with plus the extra 10" 45.

The Mars Volta - Televators / Eriatarka picture disc
Rush - Presto (1st Pressing)
XTC - White Music
Local Natives - Sunlit Youth + Past Lives /Villainy/Fountain of Youth/Lyndon
The Woods Brothers - The Woods Brothers (CD)
Fates Warning - Theories of Flight

Saturday, September 10, 2016

Watchtower - Concepts of Math: Book One [Mini Album] (2015-2016)

Watchtower, as odd as it seems, I've never been obsessed with, despite loving a lot of the other early progressive metal bands pre-Dream Theater, etc.

But I did take a little dive into their music I want to say 6 or 7 years ago and enjoyed some of it. It is more technical metal with naturally 80's  Hair Metal vocals, which to some, almost sounds like Dream Theater.

But they're closer to saw Death or even Cynic I suppose.

That being said, I'm certainly looking forward to hearing this, their 1st release in over 2? decades. It's a Mini-Album or in-effect, an EP. A little like the SikTh release from late in 2015, Opacities.

WATCHTOWER - 'Concepts Of Math: Book One' (Album MCD)

Preorder

Facebook


Legendary progressive metal group Watchtower will make their triumphant return with the release of a brand new mini-album, "Concepts of Math: Book One". Scheduled for worldwide release on October 7, the album will feature their 2010 digital single, "The Size of Matter", along with three additional tracks the band surprised fans by releasing digitally late last year. WATCHTOWER will also introduce a new lengthy nine minute track, "Mathmetica Calculis", to round out the release. A complete tracklisting is as follows:
1. M-Theory Overture (3:38)
2. Arguments Against Design (4:12)
3. Technology Inaction (6:20)
4. The Size Of Matter (4:51)
5. Mathematica Calculis (9:54)
"Concepts of Math: Book One" is now available for pre-order on digipack cd and limited-edition vinyl. Vinyl variants will include standard black (limited to 300 copies worldwide) and a super exclusive blue variant (limited to 100 copies), which will only be available through Prosthetic's U.S. webshop. Get your copy now from
store.prostheticrecords.com/b/watchtower
http://basick.supplies/…/watchtower-concepts-of-math-book-o…
WATCHTOWER was formed in 1982 in Austin, TX and has been hailed as the first jazz inspired progressive metal band. They have released two full length albums to date: “Energetic Disassembly” in 1985 and 1989’s “Control and Resistance”, which is often hailed as the benchmark for progressive metal and has influenced a countless number of heavy, technical bands including Dream Theater's drummer Mike Portnoy who proclaimed, "Before there was Dream Theater, there was Watchtower...In the 80's, Watchtower's "Energetic Disassembly" and "Control & Resistance" albums were hugely influential on me…I've been waiting almost 3 decades to see what they would follow these albums up with…and now the wait is finally over!!"

Genders - Never Belonged to You [1B] (2016)

from Bandcamp



Sounds nice. Dreamy and yet riffy. Kind of a ballad though, but regardless, it's good to hear something new from these guys. I know they had some stuff written as far back as the Fall of 2014 when I saw them, in talking to Katherine Paul. But maybe that stuff, beyond this new track, either got shelved, or will come out whenever their next record comes out. 2017 perhaps?

My (MOTHER OF ALL) Albums List (REACT TO: 89.3 Essential Albums List PART 2)

You know what, FUCK IT. I've tried to work on this fucking thing, not long after I finished Ministry of Music's Album Review List and frankly, I haven't had the time to fully spend on all the intricate rankings. Putting 1 album I love, or really like, over another, and then you have 4  or 12 albums down and album that I might enjoy slightly more.

I.e. this is requiring too much time for me. Not only per my currently wall-hitting of 2 weeks from today I have a wedding I'm spending over $10,000 of my own hard-earned dollars that I've saved for over 2 years. Working as many hours of Overtime, etc..and not necessarily spending money on trips and even some local concerts (I still try and see some, I can't deprive myself of those entirely).

This is a follow-up to My React To 89.3 The Current "893 Essential Albums List" voted on by the listeners/members of that station.

So, well what I have here is a ranking of sorts for the 5-stars, 4.5-stars, and 4-stars for the most part.
I have some stuff like Live Albums separated, and avoided most compilations of previously released material unless it's new versions or arrangements, etc.

The 3.5 stars though, there's too gawd damn many of them to require my time to even read and revisit some. I know I rated them at that number, at least the time, for good reason.

I will confess, I did remove some records, in that part of the list just per I have very little to no memory about the album or even in a couple of cases, the artist/band.

But no blurbs, as I mentioned previously. Not going to do that now, but I'm sure many of these albums that I have not written about, will have content and comments about them at some point. Possibly just on YouTube, I dunno.

How many? I counted 1291 originally, but I removed some, so that number obviously isn't quite there. Although, I did add some 2016 albums, so that number may not be too far off.

I guess just to estimate without spending the time counting, my guess would be there's about 1200-1250 albums here. I guess when I feel like it, I may actually spend the time editing-in an actual count. Also ADDING-IN of course as the new Marillion album hasn't been released yet and I can already say it'll be higher than a lot of these albums on this list. The new Warpaint possibly too among some other upcoming albums..and for that matter, albums I may just re-rate by revisiting or just discover that are older (I just picked up 1 of the early XTC albums on vinyl last night that I've never heard before for example).

Missing? I'm sure there are some records, like Zappa or Bowie or a number of other classics especially that I have yet to rate on rym, and thus, didn't show up on this list. Okay, I'll confess, I just shoehorned Pet Sounds in there. I put it at 4-stars, probably higher than some that are higher, and maybe some albums that are lower actually would make sense to be above it.

I bolded some titles among the 3.5-stars just to sort of say those albums do stand out and probably deserve to be higher or at least maybe more attention than some of the others among that list.

Doubles? I have deleted most if not all of them. The problem is having multiple copies or in different formats, copying+pasting your star-rankings lists in your collection on rym, inevitably, there will be more than 1 version/copy/issue/format of a release in there. And even some I rated slightly different at different times. Plus reissues/remastered are listed in different years, etc.

If I go back and scan this list when I have time, I will hopefully remove any albums listed twice on here.

edit: I decided to just count and the numbers are not quite as close as I guessed.

56 5-star studio releases
121 4.5-star studio releases
395 4-star studio releases
29 4-star live releases
449 3.5-star studio releases
23 3.5-star live releases

1025 Studio Releases
51 Live Releases

1074 Total.

If I find the time, possibly after the wedding 2-weeks from tonight, I will try and break-down this list in terms of Artist numbers, etc which as much as it was taxing and tedious, did make analyzing the 893 Essential Albums list from The Current more interesting (and enjoyable to criticize).

edit: a video commentary/summary on YouTube is now posted below.

5-stars (56) (1-56)

MarillionBrave.jpg
1. Marillion - Brave (1994)

KG Shaming.jpg 
2. Kevin Gilbert - The Shaming of the True (2000)

Blood Moon (album).jpg
3.  Apes and Androids - Blood Moon (2008)

JethroTullThickAsABrick.jpg
4. Jethro Tull - Thick as a Brick (1972)

Foxtrot72.jpg
5. Genesis - Foxtrot (1972)

Rush Hemispheres.jpg
6. Rush - Hemispheres (1978)

POS-PerfectElement.jpg
7. Pain of Salvation - The Perfect Element I (2000)

A pleasant shade of gray.jpg
8. Fates Warning - A Pleasant Shade of Gray (1997)

Relayer front cover.jpg
9.  Yes - Relayer (1974)

Dredgelcielo.jpg
10.  dredg - El Cielo (2002)

 Picture of factories with tall chimneys pouring out black smoke.
11. Pink Floyd - Animals (1977)

Queen A Night At The Opera.png
12.  Queen - A Night at the Opera (1975)

13.  Marillion - Clutching at Straws (1987)

14. Dream Theater - Awake (1994)

15. Ours - Distorted Lullabies (2001)

16. Soundscape - Discovery (1997)

17. Toy Matinee - Toy Matinee (1990)

18. Kaddisfly - Set Sail the Prairie (2007)

19. The Dear Hunter - Act II: The Meaning of, and All Things Regarding Ms. Leading (2007)

20. Coheed and Cambria - Good Apollo I'm Burning Star IV: Volume One: From Fear Through the Eyes of Madness (2005) GAIBSF:IV:FFTTEOM

21. King's X - Gretchen Goes to Nebraska (1989)

22. Transatlantic - Bridge Across Forever (2001)

23. The River Empires - The River Empires (Epilogue) (2010)

24. The Beatles - Abbey Road (1969)

25. Marillion - Marbles (2004)

26. Jethro Tull - A Passion Play (1973)

27. The Receiving End of Sirens - Between the Heart and the Synapse (2005)

28. Jellyfish - Spilt Milk (1993)

29. Pepe Deluxé - Queen of the Wave (2012)

30. Genesis - Selling England by the Pound (1973)

31. The Beatles - Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (1967)

32. Ours - Mercy (Dancing for the Death of an Imaginary Enemy) (2008)

33. Dream Theater - Images and Words (1992)

34. Angra - Holy Land (1996)

35. Kevin Gilbert - Thud (1994)

36. Marillion - Misplaced Childhood (1985)

37. Pain of Salvation - Remedy Lane (2002)

38. Yes - Drama (1980)

39. maudlin of the Well - Bath/Leaving Your Body Map (2001)

40. John Arch - A Twist of Fate (2003)

41. Menomena - I Am the Fun Blame Monster (2003)

42. Bend Sinister - Stories of Brothers, Tales of Lovers (2008)

43. Rush - A Farewell to Kings (1977)

44. Jerry Goodman and Jan Hammer - Like Children (1974)

45. Hotel of the Laughing Tree - Terror and Everything After (2011)

46. Between the Buried and Me - Colors (2007)

47. Galactic Cowboys - Space in Your Face (1993)

48. Marillion - Afraid of Sunlight (1995)

49. Jack Lancaster and Robin Lumley - Marscape (1976)

50. Return to Forever - Romantic Warrior (1976)

51. Call Florence Pow - The Strange Situation [EP] (2002)

52. Small Leaks Sink Ships - Face Yourself, and Remove Your Sandals (2015)

53. Kevin Gilbert - Nuts/Bolts (2009)

54. Soundscape - Grave New World (2009)

55. The Stiletto Formal - ¡Fiesta, Fiesta, Fiesta, Fiesta! (2008)

56. Call Florence Pow - These Are the Plans (2000)


4.5-stars (121? 57-178?)

Fates Warning - Disconnected (2000)
Dream Theater - Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (2002)
Imogen Heap - Speak for Yourself (2005)
Bend Sinister - Through the Broken City (2005)
King's X - Faith Hope Love (1990)
Cloud Cult - Light Chasers (2010)
The Dear Hunter - Act I: The Lake South, the River North (2006)
Fates Warning - No Exit (1988)
Oceansize - Everyone Into Position (2005)
Fair to Midland - Fables From a Mayfly: What I Tell You Three Times Is True (2007)
dredg - The Pariah, the Parrot, the Delusion (2009)
Anathema - We're Here Because We're Here (2010)
Jeff Buckley - Grace [Legacy Edition] (1994)
Pat Metheny - First Circle (1984)
Burst - Lazarus Bird (2008)
Brice Plays Drums - Man the Animal Cannon (2012)
The Beatles - Magical Mystery Tour (1967)
The Antlers - Hospice (2009)
Between the Buried and Me - Alaska (2005)
Cynic - Focus (1993)
The Dear Hunter - Act III: Life and Death (2009)
Yes - Fragile (1971)
dredg - Catch Without Arms (2005)
Foals - Total Life Forever (2010)
Green Carnation - Light of Day, Day of Darkness (2001)
Genesis - Nursery Cryme (1971)
Pure Reason Revolution - The Dark Third (2006)
King's X - King's X (1992)
East of the Wall - The Apologist (2011)
Dream Theater - Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes From a Memory (1999)
Led Zeppelin - Physical Graffiti (1975)
Emerson, Lake and Palmer - Tarkus (1971)
Faith No More - The Real Thing (1989)
Oceansize - Frames (2007)
Rush - Permanent Waves (1980)
Genesis - Trespass (1970)
Renaissance - Scheherazade and Other Stories (1975)
Jellyfish - Bellybutton (1990)
The Velvet Teen - Elysium (2004)
Fates Warning - The Spectre Within (1985)
Jimi Hendrix - Electric Ladyland (1968)
Pink Floyd - Atom Heart Mother (1971)
Zero Hour - The Towers of Avarice (2001)
Kaddisfly - Horses Galloping on Sailboats (2015)
Rush - Signals (1982)
Fjokra - Thoughtsteps [EP] (2014)
3 - The Ghost You Gave to Me (2011)
Porcupine Tree - Lightbulb Sun (2000)
Kimbra - Vows (2011)
Rush - 2112 (1976)
Fair to Midland - Inter.Funda.Stifle (2004)
Mew - Frengers (2003)
Fates Warning - Perfect Symmetry (1989)
Orphaned Land - Mabool: The Story of the Three Sons of Seven (2004)
Protest the Hero - Kezia (2006)
The Reign of Kindo - Rhythm, Chord and Melody (2008)
King Crimson - In the Court of the Crimson King (1969)
Janelle Monáe - The ArchAndroid (2010)
Arch / Matheos - Sympathetic Resonance (2011)
King's X - Manic Moonlight (2001)
Lehto and Wright - Children's Songs (2010)
Savatage - Handful of Rain (1994)
The Who - Quadrophenia (1973)\
OSI - Office of Strategic Influence (2003)
Mahavishnu Orchestra - The Lost Trident Sessions (1999)
Subterranean Masquerade - Suspended Animation Dreams (2005)
Enchant - A Blueprint of the World (1993)
King's X - Out of the Silent Planet (1988)
Rush - Grace Under Pressure (1984)
Cloud Cult - The Seeker (2016)
Renaissance - Ashes Are Burning (1973)
House of Fools - Live and Learn (2007)
Mew - And the Glass Handed Kites...(2005)
Transatlantic - SMPTe (2000)
Fates Warning - Parallels (1991)
Queen - Sheer Heart Attack (1974)
Opeth - Ghost Reveries (2005)
Pink Floyd - Obscured by Clouds (1972)
Queensrÿche - Promised Land (1994)
The Beatles - Rubber Soul (1965)
Jimi Hendrix - Are You Experienced? (1967)
Rush - Presto (1989)
The Police - Synchronicity (1983)
Ours - Precious (2002)
Umphrey's McGee - Mantis (2009)
Klimt 1918 - Dopoguerra (2005)
Time of Orchids - Sarcast While (2005)
Long Distance Calling - Avoid the Light (2009)
Spock's Beard - Beware of Darkness (1996)
U2 - The Unforgettable Fire (1984)
The Dear Hunter - The Color Spectrum: The Complete Collection (2011)
Local Natives - Gorilla Manor (2009)
Sufjan Stevens - The Age of Adz (2010)
Clann Zú - Rua (2002)
Vuvuzela - The Hollow Choir (2012)
U2 - The Joshua Tree (1987)
Jazzkamikaze - Supersonic Revolutions (2010)
夢中夢 [Mutyumu] - イリヤ -Il y a- (2008)
Pure Reason Revolution - Amor Vincit Omnia (2009)
Al Di Meola - Elegant Gypsy (1977)
Vennart - The Demon Joke (2015)
Giraffe - The View From Here (1988)
Warpaint - Exquisite Corpse (2008)
The Reign of Kindo - Play With Fire (2013)
note. - my city of ghosts, stars and hours (2009)
Rush - Moving Pictures (1981)
Kacica - Mosaic (2008)
Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin III (1970)
Mew - No More Stories / Are Told Today / I'm Sorry / They Washed Away // No More Stories / The World Is Grey / I'm Tired / Let's Wash Away (2009)
King's X - XV (2008)
Ramona Falls - Intuit (2009)
Mercies - Three Thousand Days (2011)
Bend Sinister - Small Fame (2012)
Foals - What Went Down (2015)
Kacica - Kacica (2006)
Gatherer - So Be It (2012)
The Red Paintings - The Revolution Is Never Coming (2013)
Warpaint - The Fool (2010)
Blind Faith - Blind Faith [Legacy Edition] (1969)
Eroica - Hisen the Architect (2008)


4-stars (395? 179-573?)

The Beatles - Magical Mystery Tour (1967)
The Beatles - Revolver (1966)
Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin (1969)
Van Morrison - Astral Weeks (1968)
Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin II (1969)
Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young - Déjà vu (1970)
King Crimson - In the Wake of Poseidon (1970)
Rush - Caress of Steel (1975)
Soft Machine - Third (1970)
Led Zeppelin - Houses of the Holy (1973)
Renaissance - Turn of the Cards (1974)
Genesis - The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway (1974)
Queen - Queen II (1974)
Jethro Tull - Minstrel in the Gallery (1975)
Yes - The Yes Album (1971)
Return to Forever featuring Chick Corea - No Mystery (1975)
The Mahavishnu Orchestra With John McLaughlin - The Inner Mounting Flame (1971)
Pink Floyd - Meddle (1971)
Chris Squire - Fish out of Water (1975)
Renaissance - A Song for All Seasons (1978)
Jon Anderson - Olias of Sunhillow (1976)
Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here (1975)
Mahavishnu Orchestra - Between Nothingness and Eternity (1973)
Wishbone Ash - Argus (1972)
Genesis - Duke (1980)
Led Zeppelin - In Through the Out Door (1979)
Hawkwind - Levitation (1980)
Kansas - Leftoverture (1976)
Pain of Salvation - Entropia (1997)
Giraffe - The Power of Suggestion (1987)
Fates Warning - The Spectre Within (1985)
Enchant - Juggling 9 or Dropping 10 (2000)
Al Di Meola - Elegant Gypsy (1977)
Superior - Younique (1998)
Dream Theater - When Dream and Day Unite (1989)
Shadow Gallery - Shadow Gallery (1991)
Spock's Beard - The Light (1995)
Renaissance - Novella (1977)
Jethro Tull - Songs From the Wood (1977)
Styx - The Grand Illusion (1977)
Rush - Grace Under Pressure (1984)
Marillion - Script for a Jester's Tear (1983)
sElf - Gizmodgery (2000)
Grateful Dead - Terrapin Station (1977)
Rush - Hold Your Fire (1987)
Al Di Meola - Casino (1978)
Marillion - Seasons End (1989)
Marillion - B'Sides Themselves (1988)
Al Di Meola - Land of the Midnight Sun (1976)
Extreme - III Sides to Every Story (1992)
Tears for Fears - Songs From the Big Chair (1985)
Bruce Springsteen - Born to Run (1975)
Pat Metheny - Bright Size Life (1976)
Rush - Fly by Night (1975)
Spock's Beard - Day for Night (1999)
Black Sabbath - Children of the Grave (1972)
Alec R. Costandinos and The Syncophonic Orchestra - Romeo and Juliet (1978)
U2 - The Unforgettable Fire (1984)
The Mars Volta - Frances the Mute (2005)
dredg - Leitmotif (1999)
Rush - Power Windows (1985)
Dream Theater - A Change of Seasons (1995)
The Tea Party - The Edges of Twilight (1995)
Queensrÿche - Empire (1990)
Archive - You All Look the Same to Me (2002)
The Police - Ghost in the Machine (1981)
XTC - Oranges and Lemons (1989)
Kansas - Two for the Show (1978)
Galactic Cowboys - Galactic Cowboys (1991)
Steve Hackett - Voyage of the Acolyte (1975)
Al Di Meola - Splendido Hotel (1980)
Superior - Behind (1996)
Faith No More - Angel Dust (1992)
Echolyn - As the World (1995)
marillion - marillion.com [1999]
The Mars Volta - De-Loused in the Comatorium (2003)
The Tea Party - Splendor Solis (1993)
Spock's Beard - V (2000)
The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds (1966)
Porcupine Tree - In Absentia (2002)
Jeff Buckley - Sketches for My Sweetheart the Drunk (1998)
Saigon Kick - Devil in the Details (1995)
Blackfield - Blackfield (2004)
Enchant - Break (1998)
Deep Purple - Machine Head (1972)
The Family Crest - Beneath the Brine (2014)
Bruce Springsteen - Darkness on the Edge of Town (1978)
Fates Warning - Awaken the Guardian (1986)
Liquid Tension Experiment - Liquid Tension Experiment (1998)
Annie Haslam - Annie in Wonderland (1977)
U2 - The Joshua Tree (1987)
Angra - Angels Cry (1993)
Savatage - The Wake of Magellan (1997)
Liquid Tension Experiment - Liquid Tension Experiment 2 (1999)
Oceansize - Effloresce (2003)
Porcupine Tree - Deadwing (2005)
Queensrÿche - Operation: Mindcrime (1988)
Herbie Hancock - Head Hunters (1973)
3 - Wake Pig (2004)
I Mother Earth - Scenery and Fish (1996)
Fates Warning - Theories of Flight (2016)
The Decemberists - The Crane Wife (2006)
Pain of Salvation - One Hour by the Concrete Lake (1998)
Oceansize - Music for Nurses (2004)
Murder by Death - Who Will Survive, and What Will Be Left of Them? (2003)
King's X - Please Come Home...Mr. Bulbous (2000)
Time of Orchids - Namesake Caution (2007)
Minus the Bear - Planet of Ice (2007)
Opeth - Deliverance (2002)
Shaman - Ritual (2002)
Kiss Kiss - Reality vs. the Optimist (2007)
Karnivool - Themata (2005)
Umphrey's McGee - Anchor Drops (2004)
Russian Circles - Enter (2006)
Sigur Rós - ( ) (2002)
In Vain - The Latter Rain (2007)
Godspeed You Black Emperor! - Lift Yr. Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven! (2000)
Muse - Absolution (2003)
Savatage - Edge of Thorns (1993)
Pat Metheny - Imaginary Day (1997)
Clann Zú - Black Coats and Bandages (2004)
The Faceless - Akeldama (2006)
Anathallo - Luminous Luminescence in the Atlas Position (2001)
The Dissociatives - The Dissociatives (2004)
Sculptured - Embodiment (2008)
Mutemath - Mutemath (2006)
Three - The End Is Begun (2007)
Foals - Antidotes (2008)
Anathallo - Floating World (2006)
Neverending White Lights - Act II: The Blood and the Life Eternal (2007)
SikTh - Death of a Dead Day (2006)
System of a Down - Mezmerize (2005)
Mutemath - Odd Soul (2011)
Archive - Controlling Crowds (2009)
Anathema - Weather Systems (2012)
The Beach Boys - The Smile Sessions (2011)
Margot and the Nuclear So and So's - Animal!/Not Animal (2008)
Marillion - This Strange Engine (1997)
Muse - Origin of Symmetry (2001)
Menomena - Friend and Foe (2007)
Agalloch - The White EP (2008)
Cloud Cult - Feel Good Ghosts (Tea-Partying Through Tornadoes) (2008)
Royal Hunt - Paradox (1997)
Pat Metheny Group - Speaking of Now (2002)
Margot and the Nuclear So and So's - The Dust of Retreat (2005)
Neverending White Lights - Act I: Goodbye Friends of the Heavenly Bodies (2005)
Murder by Death - Like the Exorcist, But More Breakdancing (2002)
Gospel - The Moon Is a Dead World (2005)
The Decemberists - The Tain (2004)
Kaddisfly - Buy Our Intention; We'll Buy You a Unicorn (2005)
The Dear Hunter - The Color Spectrum (2011)
Marillion - Fugazi (1984)
東京事変 [Tokyo Jihen] - 大人 (Adult) (2006)
Cloud Cult - The Meaning of 8 (2007)
Shadow Gallery - Tyranny (1998)
SikTh - The Trees Are Dead and Dried Out Wait for Something Wild (2003)
Opeth - Still Life (1999)
The Decemberists - Picaresque (2005)
Crotchduster - Big Fat Box of Shit (2004)
The Receiving End of Sirens - The Earth Sings Mi Fa Mi (2007)
Distrails - Virginia Creeper (2008)
Brooke Waggoner - Go Easy Little Doves (2009)
Fates Warning - FWX (2004)
Wolf Parade - At Mount Zoomer (2008)
Gojira - From Mars to Sirius (2005)
Bruce Peninsula - A Mountain Is a Mouth (2009)
Cavil at Rest - Orion Way (2007)
The Apples in Stereo - New Magnetic Wonder (2007)
Kiss Kiss - The Meek Shall Inherit What's Left (2009)
Unexpect - In a Flesh Aquarium (2006)
The New Pornographers - Twin Cinema (2005)
Martyr - Feeding the Abscess (2006)
Bend Sinister - Bend Sinister (2007)
Peter Gabriel - Up (2002)
Ne Obliviscaris - The Aurora Veil (2007)
Annuals - Be He Me (2006)
Biffy Clyro - Puzzle (2007)
Grammatics - Grammatics (2009)
Everything Everything - Get to Heaven (2015)
Broken Social Scene - You Forgot It in People (2002)
Doves - Lost Souls (2000)
People for Audio - The New Ancients (2007)
The Reign of Kindo - This Is What Happens (2010)
Media Addicts - Elsewhere (2008)
Anathallo - Anathallogy (2006)
Janelle Monáe - Metropolis: The Chase Suite (Special Edition) (2007)
Greg Herriges - Telluric Currents (2009)
Thurisaz - Circadian Rhythm (2007)
Kunek - Flight of the Flynns (2006)
Marillion - Happiness Is the Road (2008)
Anathema - Distant Satellites (2014)
Everything Everything - Man Alive (2010)
Kimbra - The Golden Echo (2014)
22 - Flux (2010)
Pain of Salvation - Be (2004)
The Reign of Kindo - The Reign of Kindo EP (2007)
Marillion - Anoraknophobia (2001)
Battle Circus - Battle Circus (2011)
Timbre - Sun and Moon (2015)
Brian Wilson - Smile (2004)
Shadow Gallery - Room V (2005)
Painted In Exile - Revitalized (2009)
Mutemath - Armistice (2009)
Sufjan Stevens - Illinois (2005)
Emanuel and The Fear - Listen (2010)
Ours - Ballet the Boxer 1 (2013)
Amanda Palmer - Who Killed Amanda Palmer (2008)
God Is an Astronaut - All Is Violent, All Is Bright (2005)
Bend Sinister - Small Fame (2012)
St. Vincent - Marry Me (2007)
Timbre - Little Flowers (2010)
Meshuggah - I (2004)
Savatage - Dead Winter Dead (1995)
House of Fools - Versus the Beast (2011)
Vektor - Outer Isolation (2011)
100Ft Snowman - 100Ft Snowman (2007)
My Latest Novel - Deaths and Entrances (2009)
Woven - Aftermath EP (2007)
Genesis - A Trick of the Tail (1976)
Steven Wilson - The Raven That Refused to Sing (And Other Stories) (2013)
Timmy Sean - Songs From and Inspired By Noisewater (2010)
Timbre - Little Flowers (2010)
East of the Wall - Farmer's Almanac (2008)
Jimmy Gnecco - The Heart: X Edition (2011)
Spock's Beard - Snow (2002)
Media Addicts - Autonomy (2012)
Adebisi Shank - This Is the Album of a Band Called Adebisi Shank (2008)
Debashish Bhattacharya - Beyond the Ragasphere (2013)
In Vain - Ænigma (2013)
The Ebb and Flow - Time to Echolocate (2005)
Crippled Black Phoenix - I, Vigilante (2010)
NOMIA - Nomia EP (2008)J
Journal - Unlorja (2010)
Bruce Peninsula - Open Flames (2011)
Kaddisfly - Did You Know People Can Fly? (2003)
Woven - Designer Codes (2008)
For the Imperium - For the Imperium (2011)
Forest Park - Forest Park (2012)
Judgement Day - Peacocks / Pink Monsters (2010)
Opeth - Blackwater Park (2001)
Porcupine Tree - The Incident (2009)
Foals - Holy Fire (2013)
The Mars Volta - Noctourniquet (2012)
Ramona Falls - Prophet (2012)
Distrails - Dry Flies (2009)
Miracles of Modern Science - Dog Year (2011)
Team Me - Blind as Night (2014)
Local Natives - Hummingbird (2013)
Josh Rouse - Nashville (2005)
Arafel - For Battles Once Fought (2011)
Typhoon - White Lighter (2013)
Major Parkinson - Twilight Cinema (2014)
Ne Obliviscaris - Portal of I (2012)
Clone - Clone (2014)
The Dear Hunter - The Migrations Annex (2013)
The Age of Rockets - Hannah (2008)
Textures - Phenotype (2016)
Tangled Thoughts of Leaving - Deaden the Fields (2011)
Pure Reason Revolution - Hammer and Anvil (2010)
Various Artists - Once: Music From the Motion Picture (2007)
maudlin of the Well - Part the Second (2009)
Weird Al" Yankovic - In 3-D (1984)
The House Harkonnen - Vol.6 (2009)
Imogen Heap - Sparks (2014)
The Apples in Stereo - Travellers in Space and Time (2010)
Menomena - Mines (2010)
Van Halen - Diver Down (1982)
The Dukes of Stratosphear - 25 O'Clock (1985)
Mike Linden - Bubble and Squeak (2012)
Black Sabbath - Heaven and Hell (1980)
Shelter Red - Strike a Mortal Terror (2009)
The Apex Theory - Lightpost (2007)
sElf - Breakfast With Girls (1999)
The Book of Right On - All These Songs About Music (2010)
Sound and Shape - The Love Electric (2009)
Genesis - Wind and Wuthering (1976)
Malajube - Labyrinthes (2009)
Miracles of Modern Science - Meems (2013)
Mew - + - (2015)
Mother Falcon - Alhambra (2011)
Nexus - Metanoia (2001)
Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin [IV] (1971)
Queen - Queen (1973)
Agalloch - Marrow of the Spirit (2010)
Diablo Swing Orchestra - Sing Along Songs for the Damned and Delirious (2009)
Grimus - Emergence (2014)
Kaddisfly - Demos and Rarities (2011)
Brice Plays Drums - ProgTagonist (2014)
Between the Buried and Me - The Parallax: Hypersleep Dialogues (2011)
Oceansize - Self Preserved While the Bodies Float Up (2010)
Unexpect - Fables of the Sleepless Empire (2011)
Amanda Palmer and The Grand Theft Orchestra - Theatre Is Evil (2012)
Sigmund Droid - Maximum Grind (2009)
*Shels - Plains of the Purple Buffalo (2011)
Black Sabbath - Vol 4 (1972)
Dream Theater - A Dramatic Turn of Events (2011)
Mason Proper - There Is a Moth in Your Chest (2006)
Van Halen - 5150 (1986)
Mayer Hawthorne - Where Does This Door Go (2013)
Orphan Bloom - Orphan Bloom (2010)
Water and Bodies - Light Year (2011)
Brice Plays Drums - I Laugh at Your Greener Pastures (2011)
What's Left of Her - Perceptions (2010)
Demians - Building an Empire (2008)
Biffy Clyro - Only Revolutions (2009)
Sholi - Sholi (2009)
Nicole Atkins - Mondo Amore (2011)
Revere - Hey! Selim (2010)
Bruce Springsteen - The Wild, the Innocent and the E Street Shuffle (1973)
dredg - Chuckles and Mr. Squeezy (2011)
Rainbow - Rising (1976)
Pink Floyd - Relics (1971)
100Ft Snowman - Juggling Knives (2009)
The Kris Norris Projekt - Icons of the Illogical (2009)
Water and Bodies - Water and Bodies EP (2009)
Toria - Toria (2009)
Karen O and the Kids - Where the Wild Things Are (2009)
Averse - The Endesque Chants (2010)
The Most Serene Republic - Fantasick Impossibliss (2010)
Punch Brothers - Antifogmatic (2010)
Adebisi Shank - This Is the Second Album of a Band Called Adebisi Shank (2010)
Negroni's Trio - Just Three (2010)
The Crooked Fiddle Band - Overgrown Tales (2011)
Al Di Meola - Pursuit of Radical Rhapsody (2011)
White Denim - D (2011)
Meniscus - War of Currents (2011)
The Baltic Sea - Period Piece (2011)
Erick Serna and The Killing Floor - The Grip (2011)
Umbrella Tree - To the Memory of a Once Great Man (2012)
Bend Sinister - On My Mind (2012)
Mercies - The Ballet (2012)
Bruce Peninsula - Of Songs (2012)
British Theatre - Dyed in the Wool Ghost (2012)
Guante and Big Cats - You Better Weaponize (2012)
Water and Bodies - American Dream (2012)
Hotel of the Laughing Tree - Mammoth Skin Pt. 1 (2012)
Subterranean Masquerade - Home (2013)
Brooke Waggoner - Originator (2013)
Daft Punk - Random Access Memories (2013)
Orphaned Land - All Is One (2013)
The Royal Veil - King of the Ocean (2013)
The Age of Rockets - Adults (2013)
Genders - Get Lost (2013)
Bend Sinister - Animals (2014)
Hotel of the Laughing Tree - Mammoth Skin Pt. 2 (2014)
Big Wreck - Ghosts (2014)
NOMIA - Iron and Rust (2014)
The Mercury Tree - Countenance (2014)
The Tea Party - The Ocean at the End (2014)
iamthemorning - Belighted (2014)
Nordic Giants - Build Seas, Dismantle Suns (2014)
Kevin Gilbert - Toy Matinee Acoustic (2014)
Gatherer - Heavy Hail (2015)
Subterranean Masquerade - The Great Bazaar (2015)
Hotel of the Laughing Tree - New World Sundown (2015)
The Dear Hunter - Act IV: Rebirth in Reprise (2015)
The Dear Hunter - Act V: Hymns with the Devil in Confessional (2016)
The Pneumatic Transit - Concerto for Double Moon (2015)
Falling Up - Falling Up (2015)
Mutemath - Vitals (2015)
Brooke Waggoner - Sweven (2016)
Beastie Boys - Licensed to Ill (1986)
N.W.A - Straight Outta Compton (1988)
The Beach Boys - Smile (1989)
Public Enemy - Fear of a Black Planet (1990)
Peter Ostroushko and Dean Magraw - Duo (1992)
Jim Matheos - First Impressions (1993)
Cirque du Soleil - Alegría (1994)
Stanley Clarke, Al Di Meola and Jean-Luc Ponty - The Rite of Strings (1995)
Kevin Gilbert - Kashmir (1995)
Manfred Hübler and Siegfried Schwab - Vampyros Lesbos: Sexadelic Dance Party (1995)
Santana - Dance of the Rainbow Serpent (1995)
Victor - Victor (1996)
DJ Shadow - Endtroducing..... (1996)
Yes - Keys to Ascension 2 (1997)
Poncho Sanchez - Afro-Cuban Fantasy (1998)
Dream Theater - Christmas CD 1999: Cleaning out the Closet (1999)
maudlin of the Well - My Fruit Psychobells... A Seed Combustible (1999)
Francesca Gagnon - Au Dela Des Couleurs (1999)
The Tea Party - The Interzone Mantras (2001)
Lehto and Wright - The Further Adventures of Darling Cory (2002)
Bend Sinister - The Warped Pane (2002)
Immortal Technique - Revolutionary Vol. 2 (2003)
Akphaezya - Anthology II: Links From the Dead Trinity (2004)
The Apex Theory - Inthatskyissomethingwatching (2004)
Archive - Noise (2004)
Slowlands - Never Was There a Town (2006)
The Ebb and Flow - Attack and Decay (2007)
The Pax Cecilia - Blessed Are the Bonds (2007)
Jared Micah and Hats - T.C.H.T.O.B. (2007)
The Gutter Twins - Saturnalia (2008)
Arsis - We Are the Nightmare (2008)


Live Albums (29) (1-29)
Jellyfish - Radio Jellyfish (2013)
Foals - Live at Royal Albert Hall (2014)
Dean Magraw's Red Planet - Space Dust (2009)
Pure Reason Revolution - Live at NEARfest 2007 (2008)
dredg - Live at the Fillmore (2006)
Pain of Salvation - 12:5 (2004)
Transatlantic - Live in Europe (2003)
Marillion - Anorak in the UK Live (2CD Version) (2002)
Jeff Buckley - Live à L'Olympia (2001)
Dream Theater - Live Scenes From New York (2001)
Jeff Buckley - Mystery White Boy (2000)
Fates Warning - Still Life (1998)
Rush - Different Stages / Live (1998)
Porcupine Tree - Coma Divine: Recorded Live in Rome (1997)
Marillion - Made Again (1996)
Savatage - Japan Live '94 (1995)
Pink Floyd - Pulse (1995)
Jellyfish - Live 93: Socrates, Pathos and Plato (1993)
Jimi Hendrix - Stages (1991)
Rush - A Show of Hands (1989)
Marillion - The Thieving Magpie (1988)
Marillion - Golden Tears (1986)
Peter Gabriel - Plays Live (1983)
Rush - Exit...Stage Left (1981)
The Billy Cobham / George Duke Band - "Live" - On Tour in Europe (1976)
Rush - All the World's a Stage (1976)
Genesis - Live (1973)
Deep Purple - Made in Japan (1972)
The Who - Live at Leeds [25th Anniversary Edition] (1970)

3.5-stars (448? 574-1023?)

Miles Davis - Kind of Blue (1959)
The Beatles - Help! (1965)
The Doors - The Doors (1967)
Pink Floyd - The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (1967)
Cream - Disraeli Gears (1967)
The Monkees - Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn and Jones Ltd. (1967)
Jimi Hendrix - Axis: Bold as Love (1967)
The Monkees - The Birds, the Bees and The Monkees (1968)
Cream - Wheels of Fire (1968)
The Beatles - The Beatles [White Album] (1968)
The Monkees - Head (1968)
The Who - Tommy (1969)
Van Morrison - Moondance (1970)
King Crimson - In the Wake of Poseidon (1970)
The Beatles - Let It Be (1970)
Black Sabbath - Paranoid (1970)
Derek and The Dominos - Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs (1970)
Gentle Giant - Gentle Giant (1970)
Emerson, Lake and Palmer - Emerson, Lake and Palmer (1970)
Jethro Tull - Aqualung (1971)
Pink Floyd - Relics (1971)
The Who - Who's Next (1971)
Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin [IV] (1971)
King Crimson - Islands (1971)
David Bowie - Hunky Dory (1971)
Deep Purple - Machine Head (1972)
Emerson, Lake and Palmer - Trilogy (1972)
Yes - Close to the Edge (1972)
Black Sabbath - Children of the Grave (1972)
Wishbone Ash - Argus (1972)
Gentle Giant - Octopus (1972)
Carmen - Fandangos in Space (1973)
Mahavishnu Orchestra - Birds of Fire (1973)
Bruce Springsteen - Greetings From Asbury Park, N.J. (1973)
King Crimson - Larks' Tongues in Aspic (1973)
Pink Floyd - The Dark Side of the Moon (1973)
Mike Oldfield - Tubular Bells (1973)
Styx - Styx II (1973)
Stevie Wonder - Innervisions (1973)
Elton John - Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (1973)
Yes - Tales From Topographic Oceans (1973)
Black Sabbath - Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (1973)
Emerson, Lake and Palmer - Brain Salad Surgery (1973)
Joni Mitchell - Court and Spark (1974)
Kansas - Kansas (1974)
Rush - Rush (1974)
Electromagnets - Electromagnets (1975)
Jack Lancaster / Robin Lumley - Peter and the Wolf (1975)
The New Tony Williams Lifetime - Believe It (1975)
Styx - Equinox (1975)
Styx - Crystal Ball (1976)
Genesis - Wind and Wuthering (1976)
Peter Gabriel - Peter Gabriel (1977)
Jethro Tull - Songs From the Wood (1977)
Weather Report - Heavy Weather (1977)
Yes - Going for the One (1977)
Genesis - Seconds Out (1977)
Bruford - Feels Good to Me (1978)
Van Halen - Van Halen (1978)
Pat Metheny Group - Pat Metheny Group (1978)
Genesis - ...And Then There Were Three... (1978)
U.K. - U.K. (1978)
Jethro Tull - Heavy Horses (1978)
Peter Gabriel - Peter Gabriel (1978)
The Police - Outlandos d'Amour (1978)
Queen - Jazz (1978)
Renaissance - Azure d'Or (1979)
U.K. - Danger Money (1979)
Van Halen - Van Halen II (1979)
Bruford - One of a Kind (1979)
The Police - Reggatta de Blanc (1979)
Pink Floyd - The Wall (1979)
Peter Gabriel - Peter Gabriel [3] (1980)
The Police - Zenyattà Mondatta (1980)
Bruce Springsteen - The River (1980)
Weather Report - Night Passage (1980)
Van Halen - Fair Warning (1981)
Pat Metheny Group - Offramp (1982)
Duran Duran - Rio (1982)
Peter Gabriel - Peter Gabriel (1982)
Michael Jackson - Thriller (1982)
Queensrÿche - Queensrÿche (1983)
Duran Duran - Seven and the Ragged Tiger (1983)
Van Halen - 1984 (1984)
Duran Duran - Arena (1984)
Various Artists - Back to the Future (1985)
Eric Johnson - Tones (1986)
Marillion - Brief Encounter (1986)
The Dukes of Stratosphear - Psonic Psunspot (1987)
Pink Floyd - A Momentary Lapse of Reason (1987)
Jane's Addiction - Jane's Addiction (1987)
Crimson Glory - Transcendence (1988)
Santana - Viva Santana! (1988)
Van Halen - OU812 (1988)
Jane's Addiction - Nothing's Shocking (1988)
Dream Theater - When Dream and Day Unite (1989)
Eric Johnson - Ah Via Musicom (1990)
Ozric Tentacles - Strangeitude (1991)
Queen - Innuendo (1991)
Saigon Kick - Saigon Kick (1991)
Van Halen - For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge (1991)
Marillion - Holidays in Eden (1991)
Pearl Jam - Ten (1991)
Rush - Roll the Bones (1991)
Savatage - Streets: A Rock Opera (1991)
U2 - Achtung Baby (1991)
Angra - Reaching Horizons (1992)
Psychotic Waltz - Into the Everflow (1992)
Beastie Boys - Check Your Head (1992)
Saigon Kick - The Lizard (1992)
Peter Gabriel - Us (1992)
I Mother Earth - Dig (1993)
Rush - Counterparts (1993)
Pain of Salvation - Hereafter (1994)
Tiles - Tiles (1994)
King's X - Dogman (1994)
Pink Floyd - The Division Bell (1994)
Atomic Opera - For Madmen Only (1994)
Fates Warning - Inside Out (1994)
Dean Magraw - Broken Silence (1994)
Metropolis - Behind Mysterious Walls (1995)
White Willow - Ignis Fatuus (1995)
Van Halen - Balance (1995)
Porcupine Tree - The Sky Moves Sideways (1995)
Faith No More - King for a Day... Fool for a Lifetime (1995)
Shadow Gallery - Carved in Stone (1995)
sElf - Subliminal Plastic Motives (1995)
Anekdoten - Nucleus (1995)
Steve Hackett - Watcher of the Skies (1996)
Super 8 - Super 8 (1996)
King's X - Ear Candy (1996)
Orphaned Land - El Norra Alila (1996)
Various Artists - Working Man (1996)
Jason Falkner - Presents Author Unknown (1996)
Porcupine Tree - Signify (1996)
Galactic Cowboys - Feel the Rage (1996)
Conditioned Response - Pavlov's Dogs (1997)
Enchant - Time Lost (1997)
Eternity X - The Edge (1997)
The Flower Kings - Stardust We Are (1997)
The Quiet Room - Introspect (1997)
Mew - A Triumph for Man (1997)
Magellan - Test of Wills (1997)
Ocean Machine - Biomech (1997)
Incubus - S.C.I.E.N.C.E. (1997)
Dream Theater - Falling Into Infinity (1997)
Big Wreck - In Loving Memory Of... (1997)
Chroma Key - Dead Air for Radios (1998)
Marillion - Radiation (1998)
Soundscape - Man and Machine (1998)
Ty Tabor - Moonflower Lane (1998)
VAST - Visual Audio Sensory Theater (1998)
Without Warning - Step Beyond (1998)
Steve Hackett - The Tokyo Tapes (1998)
Spock's Beard - The Kindness of Strangers (1998)
Imogen Heap - I Megaphone (1998)
Angra - Fireworks (1998)
Platypus - When Pus Comes to Shove (1998)
Mansun - Six (1998)
Pushmonkey - Pushmonkey (1998)
Galactic Cowboys - At the End of the Day (1998)
King's X - Tape Head (1998)
Conditioned Response - In Flagranté Delecto (1999)
Little Hans - Wunderkind (1999)
Jim Matheos - Away With Words (1999)
Unexpect - Utopia (1999)
Xen - 84.000 Dharma Doors (1999)
Tiles - Presents of Mind (1999)
Porcupine Tree - Stupid Dream (1999)
Owsley - Owsley (1999)
Fish - Raingods With Zippos (1999)
Yes - The Ladder (1999)
Muse - Showbiz (1999)
3 - Paint by Number (1999)
The Flower Kings - Space Revolver (2000)
Klimt 1918 - Secession Makes Post-Modern Music (2000)
Lehto and Wright - Ye Mariners All (2000)
Looking-Glass-Self - Equinox (2000)
Steve Stevens - Flamenco.A.Go.Go (2000)
White Willow - Sacrament (2000)
Spiral Architect - A Sceptic's Universe (2000)
Spock's Beard - Don't Try This at Home (2000)
Galactic Cowboys - Let It Go (2000)
The New Pornographers - Mass Romantic (2000)
U2 - All That You Can't Leave Behind (2000)
I Can't Believe It's Not Rock - I Can't Believe It's Not Rock! (2000)
Time of Orchids - Melonwhisper (2001)
Savatage - Poets and Madmen (2001)
The Decemberists - 5 Songs (2001)
System of a Down - Toxicity (2001)
Evergrey - In Search of Truth (2001)
Aereogramme - A Story in White (2001)
The Appleseed Cast - Low Level Owl: Volume II (2001)
Devin Townsend - Terria (2001)
maudlin of the Well - Secret Song (2001)
Anathallo- Sparrows (2002)
Kevin Gilbert - The Kaviar Sessions (2002)
The Velvet Teen - Out of the Fierce Parade (2002)
The Decemberists - Castaways and Cutouts (2002)
David Bowie - Heathen (2002)
Muse - Hullabaloo Soundtrack (2002)
Enchant - Blink of an Eye (2002)
Agalloch - The Mantle (2002)
Proto-Kaw - Early Recordings From Kansas 1971-1973 (2002)
Silverchair - Diorama (2002)
Joey Eppard - Been to the Future (2002)
Burst - Prey on Life (2003)
Lehto and Wright - A Game of Chess (2003)
Janelle Monáe - The Audition (2003)
I Mother Earth - The Quicksilver Meat Dream (2003)
Opeth - Damnation (2003)
The New Pornographers - Electric Version (2003)
Homesick for Space - Unison (2003)
Klimt 1918 - Undressed Momento (2003)
Biffy Clyro - The Vertigo of Bliss (2003)
Woven - 8 Bit Monk (2003)
South - Loosen Your Hold [7''] (2003)
Avenged Sevenfold - Waking the Fallen (2003)
Pepe Deluxé - Beatitude (2003)
The Decemberists - Her Majesty The Decemberists (2003)
South - With the Tides (2003)
The Dresden Dolls - The Dresden Dolls (2003)
Do Make Say Think - Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn (2003)
3 - Summercamp Nightmare (2003)
Between the Buried and Me - The Silent Circus (2003)
Kaddisfly - Did You Know People Can Fly? (2003)
Dream Theater - Train of Thought (2003)
The Dear Hunter - Dear Ms. Leading (2004)
Oedipus - Humbility (2004)
Disillusion - Back to Times of Splendor (2004)
Mastodon - Leviathan (2004)
Mutemath - Reset EP (2004)
Aviatic - Arrival (2005)
MarchFourth Marching Band - MarchFourth Marching Band (2005)
Strap the Button - What Kind of Rat Bastard Psychotic Would Play That Song Right Now at This Moment? (2005)
Dark Tranquillity - Character (2005)
Pat Metheny Group - The Way Up (2005)
Bloc Party - Silent Alarm (2005)
Cloud Cult - Advice From the Happy Hippopotamus (2005)
Novembers Doom - The Pale Haunt Departure (2005)
Shaman - Reason (2005)
Presto Ballet - Peace Among the Ruins (2005)
Avenged Sevenfold - City of Evil (2005)
The Chap - Ham (2005)
Wolf Parade - Wolf Parade (2005)
Clor - Clor (2005)
Abandoned Pools - Armed to the Teeth (2005)
Wolf Parade - Apologies to the Queen Mary (2005)
Burst - Origo (2005)
Broken Social Scene - Broken Social Scene (2005)
Pure Reason Revolution - Cautionary Tales for the Brave (2005)
Dikta - Hunting for Happiness (2005)
Paulson - All at Once (2005)
Lehto and Wright - The Thrashing Machine and Other Stories (2005)
The Jealous Girlfriends - The Jealous Girlfriends (2006)
Long Distance Calling - DMNSTRTN (2006)
Far-Less - Everyone Is Out To Get Us (2006)
Malajube - Trompe-l'œil (2006)
Men Women and Children - Men Women and Children (2006)
The Appleseed Cast - Peregrine (2006)
Opus Däi - Tierra Tragame (2006)
Menomena - Under an Hour: Music for Modern Dance (2006)
Scott Matthews - Passing Stranger (2006)
Textures - Drawing Circles (2006)
The Dresden Dolls - Yes, Virginia... (2006)
Gotye - Like Drawing Blood (2006)
Archive - Lights (2006)
Midlake - The Trials of Van Occupanther (2006)
Muse - Black Holes and Revelations (2006)
Under the Influence of Giants - Under the Influence of Giants (2006)
The Human Abstract - Nocturne (2006)
This Day and Age - The Bell and the Hammer (2006)
In Reverent Fear - Stomacher (2006)
The Classical Jazz Quartet - Plays Bach (2006)
Jeremy Messersmith - The Alcatraz Kid (2006)
Aereogramme - My Heart Has a Wish That You Would Not Go (2006)
夢中夢 [Mutyumu] - Mutyumu (2006)
Fair to Midland - The Drawn and Quartered EP (2006)
Chase Pagan - Oh, Musica! (2007)
The Pillbugs - Monclovia (2007)
Sound and Shape - Where Machines End Their Lives (2007)
Pain of Salvation - Scarsick (2007)
Bloc Party - A Weekend in the City (2007)
The End - Elementary (2007)
Kacica - My Eyes, They're Called the Earth (2007)
Radical Face - Ghost (2007)
Hiromi's Sonicbloom - Time Control (2007)
Silverchair - Young Modern (2007)
Crippled Black Phoenix - A Love of Shared Disasters (2007)
Fields. - Everything Last Winter (2007)
Marillion - Somewhere Else (2007)
God Is an Astronaut - Far From Refuge (2007)
Dark Tranquillity - Fiction (2007)
Between Two Skies - A Thousand Conscious Moments (2007)
The Bad Plus - Prog (2007)
Dead Letter Circus - Dead Letter Circus (2007)
Battles - Mirrored (2007)
Janelle Monáe - Metropolis, Suite I: The Chase (2007)
Pepe Deluxé - Spare Time Machine (2007)
The Polyphonic Spree - The Fragile Army (2007)
Stateless - Stateless (2007)
Editors - An End Has a Start (2007)
Strata - Strata Presents the End of the World (2007)
Alcest - Souvenirs d'un autre monde (2007)
The New Pornographers - Challengers (2007)
Andre Matos - Time to Be Free (2007)
Centaur Rodeo - Tongues of Flame (2007)
InMe - Daydream Anonymous (2007)
Porcupine Tree - Nil Recurring (2007)
Born of Osiris - The New Reign (2007)
The Most Serene Republic - Population (2007)
Alter Bridge - Blackbird (2007)
Far-Less - A Toast To Bad Taste (2007)
The Antlers - In the Attic of the Universe (2007)
Sigur Rós - Hvarf / Heim (2007)
OneRepublic - Dreaming Out Loud (2007)
The Arusha Accord - Nightmares of the Ocean (2008)
Big Fresh - Big Fresh Forever (2008)
Jeremy Messersmith - The Silver City (2008)
Tangled Thoughts of Leaving - Tiny Fragments (2008)
Timbre - Winter Comes to Wake You (2008)
Umbrella Tree - The Church and the Hospital (2008)
Hills Like White Elephants - Himalaya (2008)
Black Mountain - In the Future (2008)
Protest the Hero - Fortress (2008)
Brain Drill - Apocalyptic Feasting (2008)
Eluveitie - Slania (2008)
The Monolith Deathcult - Trivmvirate (2008)
The Big Sleep - Sleep Forever (2008)
Gloria Morti - Eryx (2008)
Foals - Antidotes (2008)
Panic at the Disco - Pretty. Odd. (2008)
The Chap - Mega Breakfast (2008)
dEUS - Vantage Point (2008)
Textures - Silhouettes (2008)
Russian Circles - Station (2008)
Opeth - Watershed (2008)
Damiera - Quiet Mouth, Loud Hands (2008)
The Flying Tourbillon Orchestra - Escapements (2008)
Paper Route - Are We All Forgotten (2008)
Brendan Canning - Something for All of Us... (2008)
Late of the Pier - Fantasy Black Channel (2008)
The Atomic Bomb Audition - Light Will Remain (2008)
The Stills - Oceans Will Rise (2008)
Bloc Party - Intimacy (2008)
22 - ESP - Extended Sensory Play (2008)
A Silent Film - The City That Sleeps (2008)
Mason Proper - Olly Oxen Free (2008)
Annuals - Such Fun (2008)
Gojira - The Way of All Flesh (2008)
Maupa - Run Run Sleep (2008)
Skeletons - Money (2008)
God Is an Astronaut - God Is an Astronaut (2008)
She Said Destroy - This City Speaks in Tongues (2008)
Anathallo - Canopy Glow (2008)
Steven Wilson - Insurgentes (2008)
The Rockwells [USA] - Place and Time (2008)
Cyclamen - Dreamers (2009)
Hotel of the Laughing Tree - Old Dominion (2009)
Local Natives - Local Natives (2009)
This City Sunrise - This City Sunrise Sings in Unison (2009)
Sólstafir - Köld (2009)
BrainFreeze - Focus (2009)
Emanuel and the Fear - Emanuel and the Fear (2009)
Obscura - Cosmogenesis (2009)
Yeah Yeah Yeahs - It's Blitz! (2009)
Mastodon - Crack the Skye (2009)
Falling Up - Fangs (2009)
Other Lives - Other Lives (2009)
Doves - Kingdom of Rust (2009)
We Are the City - In A Quiet World (2009)
The Boy Will Drown - Fetish (2009)
Scott Matthews - Elsewhere (2009)
Phideaux - Number Seven (2009)
The Minor Canon - Emptiness Is Form (2009)
Riverside - Anno Domini High Definition (2009)
Grimus - Panikon (2009)
Dream Theater - Black Clouds and Silver Linings (2009)
Mew - No More Stories EP (2009)
The Most Serene Republic - ...And the Ever Expanding Universe (2009)
Cale Parks - To Swift Mars (2009)
AM - Future Sons and Daughters (2009)
As Tall as Lions - You Can't Take It With You (2009)
Lights on the Highway - Amanita Muscaria (2009)
Imogen Heap - Ellipse (2009)
Dominique Leone - Abstract Expression (2009)
Microfilm - The Bay of Future Passed (2009)
Marillion - Less Is More (2009)
Total Babe - Heatwave (2009)
Murder by Death - Finch (2009)
The Arusha Accord - The Echo Verses (2009)
Nosound - A Sense of Loss (2009)
Brute Heart - Brass Beads (2009)
Do Make Say Think - Other Truths (2009)
Oceansize - Home and Minor (2009)
The Swell Season - Strict Joy (2009)
Wolfmother - Cosmic Egg (2009)
The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra - Lookin' For a Little Strange (2009)
Vektor - Black Future (2009)
Russian Circles - Geneva (2009)
Enditol - Enditol (2010)
Happy Body Slow Brain - Dreams Of Water (2010)
House of Fools - Fresh Hot Shit (2010)
Oranjuly - Oranjuly (2010)
In Vain - Mantra (2010)
Laura Veirs - July Flame (2010)
Pat Metheny - Orchestrion (2010)
Orphaned Land - The Never Ending Way of ORwarriOR (2010)
Ihsahn - After (2010)
Shaolin Death Squad - Five Deadly Venoms (2010)
Apparatjik - We Are Here (2010)
Field Music - Field Music (Measure) (2010)
Water and Bodies - The Rain City Sessions Part 2 (2010)
Eluveitie - Everything Remains as It Never Was (2010)
Tangled Thoughts of Leaving - Contextually Inept (2010)
Alcest - Écailles de lune (2010)
Annuals - Sweet Sister (2010)
The Gloomcatcher - Slow Chorale (2010)
Kaki King - Junior (2010)
Alpha Rev - New Morning (2010)
Jeremy Messersmith - The Reluctant Graveyard (2010)
Dead Letter Circus - This Is the Warning (2010)
Renaissance - The Mystic and the Muse (2010)
Bend Sinister - Spring Romance (2010)
Skeleton Staff - Solipsism (2010)
Jimmy Gnecco - The Heart (2010)
Gloria Morti - Anthems of Annihilation (2010)
Buke and Gass - Riposte (2010)
Cyclamen - Senjyu (2010)
Henry and the Nightcrawlers - 100 Blows (2010)
Early Ghost - We Crossed the Waves (2010)
The River Empires - Demos​/​Unfinished​/​B​-​Sides (2010)
Trent Romens - Aware (2011)
The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra - All Out of Peaches (2011)
Jolly - The Audio Guide to Happiness (Part 1) (2011)
Typhoon - A New Kind of House (2011)
Born of Osiris - The Discovery (2011)
Younger Brother - Vaccine (2011)
Thurisaz - The Cimmerian Years (2011)
White Denim - D (2011)
Falling Up - Your Sparkling Death Cometh (2011)
東京事変 [Tokyo Jihen] - 大発見 (Daihakken) (2011)
Fair to Midland - Arrows and Anchors (2011)
Decapitated - Carnival Is Forever (2011)
The Gloomcatcher - Starla Over the Fences (2011)
Nosound - The Northern Religion of Things (2011)
Canon Blue - Rumspringa (2011)
NewVillager - New Villager (2011)
Revocation - Chaos of Forms (2011)
Gotye - Making Mirrors (2011)
Leprous - Bilateral (2011)
Glen Campbell - Ghost on the Canvas (2011)
Anathema - Falling Deeper (2011)
Pain of Salvation - Road Salt Two (2011)
Radical Face - The Family Tree: The Roots (2011)
Markéta Irglová - Anar (2011)
Team Me - To the Treetops (2011)
Neverending White Lights - Act III: Love Will Ruin (Part 1) (2011)
Cynic - Carbon-Based Anatomy (2011)
O'Brother - Garden Window (2011)
Hands of Despair - Hereafter (2011)
Skeleton Staff - Psychomorphism (2011)
The Barnum Meserve - Broken Window (2012)
Negroni's Trio - On the Way (2012)
The Royal Veil - The Royal Veil (2012)
Northern Abbey - Northern Abbey (2012)
Lehto and Wright - November (2012)
Oedipus - Vicious Little Smile (2012)
Crippled Black Phoenix - (Mankind) The Crafty Ape (2012)
Memoryhouse - The Slideshow Effect (2012)
Flying Colors - Flying Colors (2012)
Diablo Swing Orchestra - Voodoo Mon Amour (2012)
Sucré - A Minor Bird (2012)
Oddland - The Treachery of Senses (2012)
Moonloop - Deeply From the Earth (2012)
Rush - Clockwork Angels (2012)
Andre Matos - The Turn of the Lights (2012)
Bloc Party - Four (2012)
Archive - With Us Until You're Dead (2012)
Minus the Bear - Infinity Overhead (2012)
The Gathering - Disclosure (2012)
Marillion - Sounds That Can't Be Made (2012)
Menomena - Moms (2012)
Between the Buried and Me - The Parallax II: Future Sequence (2012)
Debashish Bhattacharya - 'Madeira' (2012)
Godspeed You! Black Emperor - 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! (2012)
Crippled Black Phoenix - No Sadness or Farewell (2012)
Everything Everything - Arc (2013)
Falling Up - Hours (2013)
K Será - Collisions and Near Misses (2013)
For the Imperium - Hail the Monsters (2013)
Spock's Beard - Brief Nocturnes and Dreamless Sleep (2013)
Cloud Cult - Love (2013)
Persefone - Spiritual Migration (2013)
The Dear Hunter - Migrant (2013)
Pretty and Nice - Golden Rules for Golden People (2013)
Mother Falcon - You Knew (2013)
Leprous - Coal (2013)
Renaissance - Grandine il vento (2013)
Capital Cities - In a Tidal Wave of Mystery (2013)
Cynthesis - ReEvolution (2013)
Evarusnik - In a Poker Slash Refrain (2013)
Mercies - Barely Speak // Vultures (2013)
Northern Abbey - The Sounds of Glowing (2013)
Bed of Stars - I Fell in Love in the City (2013)
Fish - A Feast of Consequences (2013)
RisingSide - Arrow: The Onus Key (2013)
Toria - Octave (2014)
Dream the Electric Sleep - Heretics (2014)
Put Down the Muffin - Charged Particles (2014)
Sir Video - Light Years (2014)
Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty (2014)
sElf - Super Fake Nice (2014)
Josh Benash - Stasis (2014)
The Contortionist - Language (2014)
Nicholas Krgovich - On Sunset (2014)
The Dang Ol' Tri'ole - Rise and Shine (2014)
Pain of Salvation - Falling Home (2014)
Archive - Restriction (2015)
Punch Brothers - The Phosphorescent Blues (2015)
Steven Wilson - Hand. Cannot. Erase. (2015)
Madam Officer - Madam Officer (2015)
Mercies - Blue Against Green (2015)
Signal-to-Noise - I Won't Let the World Become a Prison (2015)
Thurisaz - The Pulse of Mourning (2015)
The Barnum Meserve - The Barnum Meserve (2015)
Nordic Giants - A Séance of Dark Delusions (2015)
Native Construct - Quiet World (2015)
Words for Penga - Prose (2015)
Faith No More - Sol Invictus (2015)
God Is an Astronaut - Helios | Erebus (2015)
Miracles of Modern Science - Mean Dreams (2015)
Mother Falcon - Good Luck Have Fun (2015)
iamthemorning - From the House of Arts (2015)
SikTh - Opacities (2015)
David Bowie - ★ [Blackstar] (2016)
Steven Wilson - 4 ½ (2016)
Hands of Despair - Bereft (2016)
Rare Futures - This Is Your Brain on Love (2016)
British Theatre - Mastery (2016)
The Monkees - Good Times! (2016)
Local Natives - Sunlit Youth
RisingSide - Telling of the Tower
The Dear Hunter - The Branches EP (2010)
椎名林檎 [Sheena Ringo] - 日出処 (Hi Izuru Tokoro) (2014)
Archive - Axiom (2014)
The Velvet Teen - All Is Illusory (2015)
Averse - Scolopendrian Perception Haze (2007)
Exotic Animal Petting Zoo - I Have Made My Bed in Darkness (2008)
Graph - EP 2 (2009)
Emanuel and The Fear - The Janus Mirror (2012)

Live Albums (23) (29-51)

Led Zeppelin - Celebration Day (2012)
Greg Herriges and Troy Berg - Live at the Capri (2010)
Pain of Salvation - The Second Death of Pain of Salvation (2009)
Muse - HAARP (2008)
Opeth - The Roundhouse Tapes (2007)
Lehto and Wright - Live at the Focal Point (2007)
Matisyahu - Live at Stubb's (2005)
Pain of Salvation - Be Live (2005)
Dredg - Live Performance at the Henry Fonda Theatre (2005)
Superior - Ultra - Live (2004)
Enchant - Live at Last (2004)
Weather Report - Live and Unreleased (2002)
Pär Lindh Project - Live in Iceland (2002)
Dream Theater - Once in a Live Time (1998)
Angra - Holy Live (1997)
The Police - Live! (1995)
Dream Theater - Live at the Marquee (1993)
Faith No More - Live at the Brixton Academy (1991)
Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band - Live/1975-85 (1986)
The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Live at Winterland (1987)
Marillion - Real to Reel (1984)
Al Di Meola, John McLaughlin and Paco de Lucía - Friday Night in San Francisco (1981)
Yes - Yesshows (1980)


Friday, September 9, 2016

Mike Portnoy's Shattered Fortress @ PPUSA 2017

Go to 8:40.

Happy for MP and PPUSA. Although I thought it was planned that the whole 12-Step Suite will be played at Cruise to the Edge for Portnoy's 50th Birthday Bash, etc.

I guess the roster of musicians and what kind of set list they'll play beyond the 12-Step Suite I'd be curious about.

But not much chance I'll be going, even despite my wedding long gone, etc. It's more of a $ thing and there's a number of other trips with the soon to be wife, that I'd foresee being more in my cards.

But for those who do go, this should be cool to witness, just as Cruise to the Edge, and the stuff this weekend. At least some friends have streamed some of the stuff on FB, so I kind of feel like I'm there in a way.

Also kind of ironic all those years talking about ProgPower USA on Mike'a forum, and now he's finally going to be playing there. He I guess is attending the festival, mainly for Fates Warning with John Arch going on as I type this out.

I do wonder if any of the Dream Theater guys will consider showing up. Jordan I wonder about as I thought I recall Portnoy mentioning being in some good relations/communication with Jordan.

ProgPower USA XVIII Roster Presentation from ProgPower USA on Vimeo.

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

The Dear Hunter ACTS Podcast Series

9/7/16 11:52AM
http://supercreative.tv/the-dear-hunter-2/ 
Act II discussion is there. Haven't listened yet, but hopefully later today or tomorrow.
9/1/16 11:33AM
http://supercreative.tv/the-dear-hunter-1/

Just passing this along as it's a great new Podcast Series for fans of The Dear Hunter especially. It is Casey Crescenzo and Artist Alex Dandino talking about The Acts albums and the Graphic Novels. Presumably there will be 1 done for each of the Acts, leading up to the release of Act V and I imagine Act VI eventually.

A lot of details and anecdotes shared that even among the many interviews and discussions I've taken with Casey, I don't recall him sharing much if at all about. 

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Persefone - Aathma (2016-2017)

New Persefone album coming on February 24, 2017. Campaign, etc.

Sounds sweet. Spiritual Migration was surprisingly really good, so I have pretty high hopes for this one as well.



Facebook

Almost four years have passed since Persefone unleashed to their highly acclaimed album “Spiritual Migration”. An impressive album that took both the press and the listeners by storm (1,2 million clicks on Youtube!). When the calendar shows February 24, 2017 it´s finally time to experience the evolution of Persefone with their new album “Aathma”!
The album will contain 10 new songs and it´s mixed and mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street. The artwork is once again created by Travis Smith.
“Aathma” will for sure set the standard for progressive metal in 2017!

Persefone´s own words about “Aathma”:
"It’s only once in every three, four years that we can express ourselves with freedom as musicians, by making music under the name of Persefone. Each album is a picture of our lives and the way we're experiencing this journey. It’s the first time we feel there’s someone out there, waiting for the album and we are doing our best to make honest music that shows the spirit and essence of the band. It’s not about releasing albums. It’s all about the music."
“Aathma” will be released on CD, 12” double vinyl, a limited digipak edition and of course as digital download.
Persefone is releasing a crowd-funding campaign in conjunction with these news, in order to finance the album, and keep people informed and on-track towards the big date in 2017. The crowd-funding campaign can be viewed here:
http://www.verkami.com/locale/en/projects/15684
-

TOUR NEWS:
Intromental, Vicisolum and Metalized present:
PERSEFONE European tour 2017:
Persefone is the new rising star on the European progressive melodeath scene. Having released 4 critically acclaimed albums, and about to deliver the 5th album of extreme technical skills and fantastic songwriting, this band has climbed from being an unknown band from Andorra to claiming headliner status in Europe.
Persefone has previously toured the continent, as support for Obituary and Leprous, until they - in 2015 - co-headlined alongside Loch Vostok. The 2015 tour proved to the band, that it was high time, to do their own headliner tour, and with the new album in the luggage, they are more ready than ever, to shred the stages to a pulp.

As support, Persefone is bringing along the most interesting band to emerge from Greece for many years: The progressive sensation Poem. The band has released 2 albums, and 2016's "Skein Syndrome" is a tour de force in how to combine Tool, Pain Of Salvation and Opeth to perfection.
Poem toured all over Europe in the spring of 2016, as support for mighty Amorphis, with loads of new followers.

The 2017 Aathma tour schedule is as follows:
07/4: ES - Barcelona, Razzmatazz www.salarazzmatazz.com
08/4: ES - Madrid, Changó www.changoclub.es
09/4: ES - Murcia, Garaje www.garajebeatclub.es
11/4: IT - Milano, Barrio's Cafe www.barrioscafe.it
12/4: DE - München, Backstage www.backstage.eu
13/4: TBA
14/4: FR - Paris, La Boule Noire www.laboule-noire.fr
15/4: FR - Nantes, La Ferrailleur www.leferrailleur.fr
16/4: UK - London, Underworld Camden www.theunderworldcamden.co.uk
17/4: DE - Essen, Turock www.turock.de
18/4: NL - Hoofddorp, Podium Duycker www.duycker.nl
19/4: NL - Nijmegen, Merleyn www.doornroosje.nl
20/4: DE - Hamburg, Markthalle www.markthalle-hamburg.de
21/4: DK - Copenhagen, Forbrændingen www.forbraendingen.dk
22/4: SE - Stockholm, Göta Källare www.gotakallare.com
Persefone line-up:
Marc Martins: Vocals
Carlos Lozano: Guitars
Miguel Espinosa: Keyboards
Tony Mestre: Bass
Sergi Verdeguer: Drums
Filipe Baldaia: Guitars

Track (from Spiritual Migration - 2013 ): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=33iPIizR6tI
Video (from Spiritual Migration - 2013): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6_sRDFideY

Persefone online: www.persefone.com
www.facebook.com/persefoneband
-
Poem video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sb5Rj6b4rTg
Poem online:
www.poemband.com
www.facebook.com/poemofficial