Friday, April 29, 2016

British Theatre - Mastery (2015-2016)

4/29/16 6:34AM
ALBUM STREAM

Of course I received an email with a download link per my Preorder (so if you did, you also can just do that).

Hopefully later today at work I'll be able to check this out. Big hopes!

1/27/16 6:17AM


"Mastery" drops on April 29th

Article which includes stream of "Newman"
 (and also comes with the preorder).

This sounds darker and almost industrial. From that article and Mike Vennart's blog (linked/copied and pasted below), it sounds like the stuff on this album may differ in some ways from the 2 EPs from a few years ago, which very well could be all for the better.

Mike Vennart's Blog Post
Applaud the mastery
January 2016
Hello and happy new year

I’m proud to announce the imminent arrival of the British Theatre record.
Gambler and myself started this band (i don’t like to use the word ‘project’) in the immediate aftermath of the breakup of the old band. We didn’t really know what we wanted to do, we were just happy that we were free to do it.

We released a couple of EPs in 2012, which, in hindsight, are clear exercises in self-discovery. You can kind of hear the conflict. In ‘Defeat Skeletons’ and ‘As The Leaves Are To The Limbs’ you can hear i’m longing to be in a band again. In the rest of the repertoire, you can hear that Gambler has other ideas. Consequently, it didn’t really work. But it was necessary.

The same happy obstacles that prevented any work on the ‘The Demon Joke’ were also in effect here, but tenfold. This was an album that i didn’t know what to do with.

After the two-year Biffy Clyro ‘Opposites’ tour, we reconvened, and looked at the material we wrote prior to the tour. Most of it didn’t measure up. We pretty much started all over again. We booked the Arctangent Festival to give us an enforced deadline.

This was a record that made me scared. I found it intimidating, out of my comfort zone and uneasy.
….all of which is why I love this record so much.

It’ll be available to pre-order on Pledge Music this week.

MV x


1/26/16 2:15PM
Stoked. More later probably, and I have to wait to put my order in at a non-public location (I'm at lunch right now).

But this record I could certainly foresee being awesome. Maybe as good if not better than The Demon Joke.

Download comes with a preorder.

Pledgemusic / PREORDER





Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Thursday, April 28, 2016

The Monkees - Good Times! (2015-2016)

4/28/16 10:56AM
1st single "She Makes Me Laugh," the Rivers Cuomo penned track "She Makes Me Laugh" sound rather retro, especially the guitar. Early Monkees per my fiancee's observation.

Thumbs up.


 

4/20/16 10:00AM

monkees.com update info 

Good Times! Has New Release Date Of May 27, Following The Launch Of An Extensive 50th Anniversary Tour With Micky Dolenz And Peter Tork On May 18

Track Listing (with songwriters noted)
1. "Good Times" (Harry Nilsson)
2. "You Bring The Summer" (Andy Partridge)
3. "She Makes Me Laugh" (Rivers Cuomo)
4. "Our Own World" (Adam Schlesinger)
5. "Gotta Give It Time" (Jeff Barry/Joey Levine)
6. "Me & Magdalena" (Ben Gibbard)
7. "Whatever's Right" (Tommy Boyce/Bobby Hart)
8. "Love To Love" (Neil Diamond)
9. "Little Girl" (Peter Tork)
10. "Birth Of An Accidental Hipster" (Noel Gallagher/Paul Weller)
11. "I Wasn't Born To Follow" (Carole King/Gerry Goffin)
12. "I Know What I Know" (Michael Nesmith)
13. "I Was There (And I'm Told I Had A Good Time)" (Micky Dolenz/Adam Schlesinger)

Tour Dates (of course NO Minnesota, but likely not many with Nesmith anyway)

THE MONKEES Tour Dates

May
18 Fort Myers, FL
19 Melbourne, FL
20 Tampa, FL
21 Atlanta, GA
24 Charlotte, NC
26 Washington, DC
27 Boston, MA
28 Philadelphia, PA
29 Red Bank, NJ

June
1 New York, NY
3 Toronto, ON
4 Windsor, ON
5 Cleveland, OH
7 Fort Wayne, IN
8 Grand Rapids, MI
10 Louisville, KY
11 Hammond, IN
12 Indianapolis, IN
14 Dayton, OH
16 Salt Lake City, UT
28 Dallas, TX
30 Tulsa, OK

July
1 Mayetta, KS
14 Ottawa, ON
16 Hampton Beach, NH
22 Hot Springs, AR
24 Augusta, GA

August
6 Reno, NV
Grand Sierra Resort

September
4 Vancouver, BC
14 Tucson, AZ
15 Phoenix, AZ
16 Los Angeles, CA
17 Las Vegas, NV
20 San Francisco, CA
21 Modesto, CA
23 Lincoln City, OR
24 Lincoln City, OR
25 Seattle, WA
29 Austin, TX

October
1 Biloxi, MS
3 Branson, MO
21 Anaheim, CA
22 Paso Robles, CA
29 Shippensburg, PA


2/6/16 10:31AM
The Fiancee just mentioned that some of the track list has been posted on http://monkees.com/

GOOD TIMES!
Partial Track Listing (with songwriters noted)
Final Version To Be Announced Soon

“Good Times!” (Harry Nilsson)
“You Bring The Summer” (Andy Partridge)
“Terrifying” (Zach Rogue)
“Me & Magdalena” (Ben Gibbard)
“She Makes Me Laugh” (Rivers Cuomo)
“Love To Love” (Neil Diamond)
“I Know What I Know” (Michael Nesmith)


2/5/16 1:38PM

Well it's now *official* since the Amazon link "leaked" it early. And Rollingstone.com Micky interview gets the official cred, lol of course.

The Cover Art is now up too. And the title includes the "!"

And Noel Gallagher of Oasis is also included among the songwriters.

It's not for this specific entry, as this is about this album and The Monkees, but chalk another unfair and huge failure to Social Media and not giving credit to where credit should be due; per I posted this article yesterday, February 4th at 2:16PM.

I passed it along on both Twitter HERE 24 HOURS AGOand on Facebook HERE 23 HOURS AGO, tagging The Monkees and the list of others involved, and yet I didn't receive 1 LIKE, RETWEET nor even a referral that I can tell.

I know the Amazon link was not MY info directly, but the fact is, it read pretty credible, giving a release date and an entire write-up, on a site as huge as Amazon.

But at this point, next to no credit, lol.

Why Social Media sometimes is fucking lame, and unless you're some huge mainstream news site, you can never truly get "1st-to-the-punch" even if you actually deserve some of it.

I very easily could write a longer diatribe about this very thing, as I have in the past. And it's a broken record, I know (see Warpaint, Local Natives, Kimbra). But I guess not now.

What will unfold as far as the interest in this album, very well could be as if not more interesting than the music itself. It's an experiment I suppose, that may really work, or may just end up being luke warm at best.

I guess we'll see. Track list and other details will show up I'm sure relatively soon.


 photo The Monkees - Good Times cover_zpswvmznpeo.jpg

that article confirms it along with The Monkees Facebook page

The album is the Monkees' first collection of original material since 1997's JustUs, and it will feature new songs by Noel Gallagher, Rivers Cuomo, Ben Gibbard and many more. Adam Schlesinger of Fountains of Wayne serves as producer on the new LP. 

Noel Gallagher of Oasis is also included per that article. Nice FACT CHECK RS.

JustUs was released in 1996, not 1997.


The album has a hard release date of June 10th, though right now Schlesinger is busy creating music for the CW show Crazy Ex-Girlfriend and formal recording sessions have yet to begin. "We've been talking a lot back and forth and sharing music via Dropbox," says Dolenz. "It's coming together fast, which isn't a bad thing since it forces you to make decisions. My job is just to come in and sing lead vocals. It's no different than the old days when we had to get everything done in three-hour sessions because that was the limit of the musician's union."
Right now, he's focused on wrapping his head around the new songs. "We all agree that the lyrics in the Rivers Cuomo song needed to be aged up a little but," Dolenz says. "It sounds like it's about a little girl and I'm 70 years old, so Rivers is re-writing the lyrics." Noel Gallagher is still crafting lyrics for his contribution, though Dolenz says that Ben Gibbard's song "Me & Magdalena" and Zach Rogue's tune "Terrifying" are both in and ready to go. "They're all keeping with our sensibility," says Dolenz. "I just keep calling it that jangly guitar pop sound, though I used to call it 'progressive bubblegum.'"

Tour Dates, that don't include Nesmith of course. No Minnesota date either.

May 18 - Fort Myers, FL @ Barbara B. Mann Performing Arts Hall
May 19 - Melbourne, FL @ King Center for the Performing Arts
May 20 - Tampa, FL @ Ruth Eckerd Hall
May 21 - Atlanta, GA @ Frederick Brown Jr. Amphitheater
May 24 - Charlotte, NC @ Blumenthal PAC - Belk Theater
May 26 - Washington, DC @ Warner Theatre
May 27 - Boston, MA @ The Wilbur Theatre
May 28 - Philadelphia, PA @ Keswick Theatre
May 29 - Red Bank, NJ @ Count Basie Theatre
June 1 - New York, NY @ The Town Hall
June 3 - Toronto, ON @ Casino Rama
June 4 - Windsor, ON @ The Colosseum at Caesars Windsor
June 5 - Cleveland, OH @ Hard Rock Live Northfield Park
June 7 - Fort Wayne, IN @ Foellinger Theatre
June 10 - Louisville, KY @ Louisville Palace Theatre
June 12 - Indianapolis, IN @ Murat Theatre at Old National Centre
June 14 - Dayton, OH @ Rose Music Center at The Heights
June 28 - Dallas, TX @ AT&T PAC – Winspear Opera House
June 30 - Tulsa, OK @ Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
July 1 - Mayetta, KS @ Prairie Band Casino & Resort
July 16 - Hampton Beach, NH @ Hampton Beach Casino Ballroom
July 22 - Hot Springs, AR @ Oaklawn Racing and Gaming
September 15 - Phoenix, AZ @ Mesa Arts Center
September 16 - Los Angeles, CA @ Pantages Theatre
September 17 - Las Vegas, NV @ Primm Valley Casino Resorts
September 20 - San Francisco, CA @ The Warfield
September 21 - Modesto, CA @ Gallo Center For The Arts
September 23 & 24 - Lincoln City, OR @ Chinook Winds Casino Resort
September 25 - Seattle, WA @ The Moore Theatre
October 1 - Biloxi, MS @ Hard Rock Live
October 22 - Paso Robles, CA @ Vina Robles Amphitheatre
October 29 - Shippensburg, PA @ H. Ric Luhrs PAC


----------------------2/4/16 2:16PM---------------------
Amazon link

That link shows a June 10, 2016 release date.

My fiancee and I were brainstorming about this album after learning about Andy Partridge writing songs for The Monkees last week. I just thought names like: Roger Joseph Manning Jr (Jellyfish), Graham Gouldman (10cc), Glenn Tilbrook (Squeeze), AC Newman and/or Dan Bejar or Neko Case even (The New Pornographers), Robert Schneider (The Apples in Stereo).

And I threw out Ben Folds of course and Rivers Cuomo.

Well it turns out Rivers Cuomo was correct, lol.

Ben Gibbard? I'm not a fan of Death Cab for Cutie nor The Postal Service (mainly from his voice), but I don't want to judge a book by its cover.

And the dude from Rogue Wave: I liked 1 or 2 of their songs about 10 years ago, but then blew them off. But again, not wanting to judge. The last Local Natives album was good, and it was produced by that dude from The National, a band I never cared for.

Adam Schlesinger of Fountains of Wayne is producing, which the fiancee more or less predicted.

And the previously mentioned Andy Partridge.

And it's good to see Nesmith and Tork involved in the writing, along with the Jones, Diamond and Nilsson showing up.

Do I personally expect a lot? not necessarily, but the list of names involved certainly adds some curiosity.


Monkees? Good Times? Well, dyno-mite! 

The Monkees are ready to have some fun this year as the iconic band celebrates its 50th anniversary with a tour and the group s first new album in 20 years, appropriately titled GOOD TIMES. 
Much like The Monkees early albums, GOOD TIMES features tracks written specifically for the band by some of the music world s most gifted songwriters, including Rivers Cuomo (Weezer), Ben Gibbard (Death Cab for Cutie), Andy Partridge (XTC), and Zach Rogue (Rogue Wave). The album also includes songwriting contributions by Nesmith ( I Know What I Know ) and Tork as well as producer Schlesinger.

To help bring the anniversary full circle, The Monkees completed songs for GOOD TIMES that were originally recorded & written for group during the 60s, including Love To Love by Neil Diamond, which features a vintage vocal by Jones. Harry Nilsson wrote the title track Good Times, which he recorded at a session with Nesmith in January 1968. The production was never completed, so the band returned to the original session tape (featuring Nilsson s guide vocal) and have created a duet with his close friend Dolenz. Good Times will mark the first time Dolenz and Nilsson have sung together since Dolenz May 1973 single Daybreak. Other vintage 1960 s tracks included on GOOD TIMES feature L.A. s famed Wrecking Crew of session musicians.

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

SikTh coming to the US including MPLS (8/22/16!)! (w/Periphery)


Holy mother!..

FINALLY I will get to see SikTh live!

Also should be sweet to see CHON again. Periphery, of course have their fan base, and I have seen them before, from memory with Fair to Midland a few years back. I'll definitely be there to see them as well.

Monday Night August 22nd @ The Varsity!



8/4 Raleigh, NC
8/5 Atlanta, GA
8/6 Memphis, TN
8/7 Dallas, TX
8/8 San Antonio, TX
8/9 Houston, TX
8/11 Phoenix, AZ
8/12 San Diego, CA
8/13 Los Angeles, CA
8/14 San Francisco, CA
8/16 Portland, OR
8/17 Seattle, WA
8/19 Salt Lake City, UT
8/20 Denver, CO
8/22 Minneapolis, MN (Varsity Theater)
8/24 Milwaukee, WI
8/25 Grand Rapids, MI
8/26 Detroit, MI
8/27 Pittsburgh, PA
8/28 Philadelphia, PA
8/30 Boston, MA
8/31 New York, NY
9/01 Baltimore, MD


Saturday, April 23, 2016

Fates Warning - Theories of Flight (2015-2016)

Preorder

2 LP+CD

July 1st Release Date (Insideout).

Stoked. Although interesting to notice the track list. I recall a recent interview with Joey Vera talking about how this new album could have 1 or 2 extensive epics (like 15 mins?) but it appears there's 2 10 minute pieces. Maybe they decided to re-arrange them or something.

Regardless, Fates Warning are an all-time favorite band of mine, and I am highly anticipating this one, like the Pain of Salvation and Marillion albums among other long time favorite bands of mine releasing new albums soon.

b-mouth story with quotes from the band


 photo Fates Warning - Theories of Flight cover_zpsl1lbxxyb.jpg
CD 1 – Main Album:
1. From The Rooftops (06:52)
2. Seven Stars (05:33)
3. SOS (04:34)
4. The Light And Shade Of Things (10:14)
5. White Flag (05:20)
6. Like Stars Our Eyes Have Seen (05:13)
7. The Ghosts Of Home (10:31)
8. Theories of Flight (04:00)

CD2 – Acoustic Bonus Disc:
1. Firefly (03:15, previously unreleased)
2. Seven Stars (04:25, previously unreleased)
3. Another Perfect Day (03:25, previously unreleased)
4. Pray Your Gods (03:45, Toad The Wet Sprocket cover version)
5. Adela (02:25, Joaquin Rodrigo cover version)
6. Rain (04:03, Uriah Heep cover version)

Friday, April 22, 2016

Pain of Salvation - In the Passing Light of Day (2015-2016)

4/22/16 9:47AM

Not a ton of details save for the cover and whatever Daniel is referring to in June. But per a lot of updates and that short window of time, the details should come soon. What is Daniel talking about? the obvious guess is a new video or maybe new website. Perhaps interactive, or something. Maybe some novelty item associated with this new album of theirs?

a tour? I guess we'll learn soon enough.

Good to get some good news amongst all the Prince stuff the past 24 hours. I certainly am interested in this new album, even if my passion for PoS hasn't been really high for almost 10 years.

I probably should/and will make a Random Artist Feature about them soon, perhaps sooner per this news.


Facebook

There is some interesting news coming up in the next few days. I'm not the one to shower our fans with news about every little thing we do, since I don't... well, since I simply don't enjoy that social direction. So, in the last months we have simply worked on the new album, which is turning out absolutely awesome! The album title (which I know you have been waiting for and speculated about) is:
In the Passing Light of Day
However, we have also prepared another little surprise release for you all, scheduled for June. I can't wait to see how this will be received, but I have a feeling it will be very appreciated. 😀
Anyway, that about that for now, keep your eyes and ears open and you'll get more intel on the surprise release and the new album in the next coming days.
Wet kisses!
/Daniel

Thursday, April 21, 2016

I met Prince tonight...[REST IN PEACE PRINCE 4/21/16]

4/21/16 1:58PM
CNN Link 

Rest in Peace Prince.

Not much time to write up an extensive memorial/thoughts/homages etc. But the intiail below recollection tells a lot. I'll never forget those 2 minutes or whatever I exchanges words with him that afternoon at Cheapo back in 2009.

Very sudden and his music and legacy will live on. 
Beyond CNN and the globe though, it is all over the media here in Minnesota.  
Another icon gone in 2016, and especially from my childhood. With Michael Jackson and even Whitney Houston to a point, it leaves only Madonna left of the pop icons of my childhood. Aside from some I found later of course like Sting and Peter Gabriel, Phil Collins, etc.

I never did get to see him live unfortunately, but this brush with him from 7 years ago is still rather significant.

2/23/10 10:09PM

He's debuting a new song "Cause and Effect" on 89.3 on Friday Morning

likely around 8AM. Thankfully, that's not the day I am going to Aspen (I don't believe).

Of course 89.3 is mentioning it like they won the lottery or something. I mean sure, it's cool of him. But as I posted there, it was pretty fucking cool of 93X to DEBUT "Musical Chairs" last October from Fair to Midland.

The ass-kissing of testimonials for that station has probably contributed to my health issues over the last couple of weeks. All I wanted to do is hear a Local Natives song live, a band I ORIGINALLY REQUESTED on that station going BACK to NOVEMBER (when their debut album "Gorilla Manor" was released originally) and frankly, could be given some due for knowing about them far ahead of so many others including pukefork and 89.3

But I swear to god, people are acting like their lives depend on 89.3, and their redundant and mostly tripe-filled playlist. Jeezus. And ya know, had they at least given me an interview back before they launched or heck, even some due for Local Natives or something else, I wouldn't loathe them as much. There are a few cool people there, but their listenorship are a bunch of lemmings. I'm sorry, but they are. Radio K does the same thing, and a lot better. And they're college kids. Radio K actually will play Death Metal or Post Rock. And Radio K actually answers their fucking studio-phone line, lol. Not answering the studio-line, among other things, is what 89.3 shares with KQRS.

No, I'd consider pledging to 89.3:

if they gave me my own weekly radio show.

I'll repeat. 89.3, GIVE ME MY OWN WEEKLY SPECIALTY RADIO SHOW WHERE I CAN PLAY PROG EPICS, FULL-ALBUM PLAYBACKS, TECHNICAL DEATH METAL, AND THE LITERALLY HUNDREDS OF ARTISTS YOUR STATION IGNORES, and then I may give you some money back.

I might even *think* about it if I was able to

a) attend 1 of the "meetings" and voice my interest in their playlist changing.

b) actually noticing it happening.

Sorry, but I may (consider) pledging to Radio K soon, but 89.3 ain't getting a penny of my $ as long as it's set up how it is, along with my past lack of receiving a deserving interview to dj there.

11/17/09 11:37PM


brush with stardom of a sort. As I posted on some of the forums. My schedule this afternoon/evening

4:30pm leave work
5:00pm go to the Hennepin Library
5:30pm: Dinner at Davannis
5:45pm: I hit Cheapo up quickly, with the intention of leaving by 6:15pm for the Edina Theater for "Untitled."
5:50pm: see Prince looking at the "Recent Arrivals" bin, which includes 2 or 3 of his cds, at least 1 was marked "$5.95 SKUF"

I saw him and and 1st didn't believe it was him. He had some girl with him browsing. So I figured, why not go up and ask him 1 quick question. The 1st thing that came to mind was Jellybean Johnson.

background: I saw Jellybean Johnson I wanna say September 2004 sit-in for a 1-hour jam with Paul Peterson of "The Family" as well, with Victor Wooten unmatchable live band. Jelly threw it down on GUITAR.

I knew he had played with Prince, okay, but I had no idea when I asked Prince, that he played DRUMS and not the guitar I saw him on with Victor. Looking back on that, I feel kind of stupid, but I explained to Prince that I knew JBJ from his guitar performance with Victor.

The rest of the time I spent at Cheapo, I was trying to cram-in my memory, many of the titles I had looked for at the St.Paul Cheapo within the last couple of weeks, with no luck (I just remembered now, Hammock was 1 in fact). But Prince ended up heading over to the Classic Rock section soon after that, and I was going back and forth in the Modern Rock and Metal sections which are near the Classic Rock section. But to say I was distracted would be accurate.

So, that was it. It probably would have been dumb to ask him, but if I had my druthers I'd have wanted to ask him about any or all of the following.

a) Apes and Androids
b) Kevin Gilbert..the Chris Cornell attempt didn't do much though, and CC was actually a bit more relevant given the Jeff Buckley relationship, King's X/Doug Pinnick and timing of his career and Kevin's/age etc. I also happened to be wearing a KG t-shirt today.
c) Dean Magraw..this might have been a more obvious 1. Dean actually is probably pretty close in age to Prince, thus came up around the same time. They both have a love and influence for Jimi Hendrix. And chances are, Prince knows Dean. With Dean's recent cancer, it would have been all the more fitting. But who knows.
d) Jeff Buckley..mainly the fact Jeff's birthday was today. It's too bad Cheapo didn't have some JB on the intercom. They had the Rolling Stones though, which it might have been interesting to ask Prince, what his opinion on was.

but no, I really didn't want to bug him, as his personality is kind of *touchy* I guess I might say, just from things I've read and heard. Maybe he's more laid back, mellow, and has more of a sense of humor than I realize. But most things with him seem serious. Who knows about tonight. But he said "thanks" when I told him I'd leave him alone after that question. He sounded serious enough, so it was probably wise of me to not appear anymore starstruck or fanboy-ish than i did. But I can't deny, trying to browse with him there after that was weird. Like, I almost felt as if I shouldn't be browsing near him or something, lol.

I was just thinking..damn, a guy like him, whose worth millions of dollars. I dunno, at least 10's if not 100's of millions if he never overspent, invested well, etc. he could bail Cheapo out. Seriously, it's pretty sad. I don't think he cares enough though. He'd feel it's like pity $ or something. Cheapo should struggle and survive on their own.

But it does sort of break my heart, knowing that. I dunno, maybe if it ever becomes bad enough, which I sure hope it won't, he and maybe others like Jimmy Jam/Terry Lewis, they would prevent it from dying. But maybe they also see the whole cd sales as a dying industry, too much so, that it's not worth it, as a business decision it's almost a certain, big loss. But vinyl?

That was the other thing that surprised me. I figure Prince would be looking for VINYL, so he should have been downstairs. maybe he had been, or was going to go down there. Or maybe he was at Cheapo only for his friends. Who knows, questions that'll I'll never know, but are kind of fun to think about I suppose.

John, you missed out. Hopefully another time.

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Record Store Day 2016 Video #2 (12 mins, edited footage, conversations)



This was way more work and TIME of course than it should have been. But at least I found a way to finally put it together. The trial and error with Adobe Premiere Elements continues of course.

Sunday, April 17, 2016

Record Store Day 2016 (Video #1, 19mins)



Per the description on YouTube:

Joyce and I tell about our experience on Record Store Day on April 16, 2016.

A video showing footage, conversations should follow (10-12 mins approx).

-The Monkees - 50th Anniversary Boxed Set
-The Monkees Picture Disc
-The Monkees - The Monkees Scoop 33 1/3 [EP]
-Michael Nesmith - And the Hits Just Keep on Comin'
-Madonna - Like A Virgin & Other Big Hits! [EP]
-Michael Nesmith - Mama Rocker/Lazy Lady 
-The Monkees - Good Clean Fun/Mommy and Daddy
-Michael Nesmith - Rio (7" Promo)
-Michael McDonald - I Keep Forgettin'/Losin' End (12")
-Alannah Myles - Alannah Myles
-Club Nouvaeu - Lean On Me (12" Remix)

-Mew- And the Glass Handed Kites
-Foals - Rain b/w Daffodils (Mark Ronson cover)
-Battles - Mirrored
-Sigur Ros - Ágætis byrjun

This video came out, overall pretty well. A lot of stuff about The Monkees stuff of course. We didn't tell every angle to our story of course, namely the change in plans before hand about going to multiple stores simultaneously, etc. And how we went to Whole Foods on Snelling for brunch. Along with more about Joyce's dog Coco's health concerns.

And as I mentioned, I shot a bunch of short clips during the day that I will try and edit-together if the Premierie Elements software doesn't require 8 hours to create/make/save, etc.

I still though mean to pickup a copy of Peregrine from The Appleseed Cast and that Hello Kitty Picture Hello World disc for Joyce. I saw them both on ebay, although the auctions may be over now, but there were multiple copies of both.

And it wouldn't shock me to see them at other stores down the road (like the Sigur Ros album was from a past RSD I recall).

Saturday, April 16, 2016

Ours and Mew on "Transformers Roll Out" Soundtrack

4/16/16 6:15AM
Amazon Link for "Stronger"

Good tune, and heavy. The guitars and Jimmy's screams remind me of a song like "Live Again."

4/1/6 6:48AM
The Mew track "Count to Ten" is here. Not bad, although not incredibly different than a lot of the +- stuff.



The Ours song is called "Stronger" and from the sample on Amazon here I'm pretty optimistic about it.

Release date is in 2 weeks, Friday April 15th.

Full Track List on Amazon.com

Thursday, April 14, 2016

"Rush" episode of the ABC sitcom THE GOLDBERGS

ABC's website stream



No time, but of course maybe later, more to add. I'll just say my fiancee kind of loathed seeing this episode last night, but I couldn't help but crack up regardless.


Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Josh Benash - The Body Light [EP] (2015-2016)

4/13/16 2:00PM

Only a few weeks away now.



4/8/16 6:30AM


Vinyl Preorder which includes some Vuvuzela tracks!

3/10/16



The Body Light is an upcoming new EP from Josh Benash, which he was kind of enough to send me to check out early, before the May 3rd, 2016 release date.

Josh's last record, Stasis, from 2014 I liked a good amount, along with his 1st solo record The Dismal; The Beautiful from 2012 I also enjoyed a number of songs from.

Quirky, experimental, humorous, extreme and bombastic. And genre-bending/blending are many of the elements of his previous work.

I'm just sampling some of this tonight, and will try and add more perhaps tomorrow. Some of this sounds rather soundtrack-like, which Josh actually has also done some soundtrack work actually (an independent horror film titled Bleeding Hearts for example, and a number of others are listed on his imdb page here), so that doesn't surprise me.

Also, among the many artists I've been trying to feature on YouTube, I likely will try and make a video about Kiss Kiss and Vuvuzela as well as his solo music hopefully soon. Perhaps around the time of the release date of this new EP on May 3rd, on Motor Oat Records.

I imagine it'll be posted for stream and download, likely on his bandcamp page and on soundcloud, so I'll have to bump and include those links when they show up as well.

edit: So I've checked this out a couple of times now and this among his best work, although not a huge departure as it has the quirky, waltzy, circus-like tones and sarcastic lyrics and vocal personality. There's some nice female vocals that contrast well with Josh's voice (on the last 2 tracks,"Swim in the Blood" for one, I wonder if the title is a reference to Elizabeth Bathory? and "Extinction on Our Lungs.").

A lot of use of vocal distortion on this EP, which Josh Benash's music certainly has used, but maybe more prominently here. The title track I'm thinking of namely.

The final song "Extintion on Our Lungs" is sublime at times. The both melancholy yet beautiful ending which many of his records seem to have.





1. a moon by my side 4:01
2. the body light 2:46
3. prelude to pitchforks 3:00
4. swim in the blood 2;14
5. extinction on our lungs 3:56

Monday, April 11, 2016

REACT TO: Watchmojo.com Top 10 Rock Keyboardists



My comment there

it's a pretty good list, but the biggest issues  i have are

-Ray Manzarek, while I like him and The Doors, I don't agree with being #2. Wakeman, Banks and Lord easily are more known as keyboardists and have much larger bodies of work.

-Jazz-ROCK stalwarts CHICK COREA, JOSEPH ZAWINUL, JAN HAMMER and GEORGE DUKE namely, belong in the mix as they were all virtuosos and largely influential. And this is hardly the only list that fails to include them more or less per their being considered JAZZ. But Jazz-Rock or Jazz-Fusion is still close enough stylistically, I personally think it belongs in the same mix.

Fusion never gets any love, even in a Prog-heavy list. But then again, the people making this list (and voting I suppose) probably are totally unfamiliar with Jazz-Fusion beyond a few Miles Davis tunes.

Perhaps I'll edit-in or post my own personal Top 10 soon (which undoubtedly will include many of those fusion guys).

Thursday, April 7, 2016

Marillion - F*** Everyone And Run (2015-2016)

4/7/16 7:15AM



Facebook Link

Our new album will be released on September 9th 2016. Final date for pre-orders is 17th June. Thanks to everyone who has pre-ordered so far. We are very excited about this album and can't wait to share it with you.

F***
Everyone
And
Run

I'm assuming the title is actually "Fear" despite some of the cryptic way that pic shows. And the "F***" Fuck?..likely. Some fans though joked it could be Fish, and Fish could be on this album which both would be a pleasant surprise and funny at the same time. But, wishful thinking/dreaming, lol.

edit: The title is actually "F*** Everyone And Run" per Twitter (they replied to My Reposting. Good to clear that up!)


September 9th, 2 weeks and 1 day before my wedding, lol. And there likely will be a "Marillion" table at my wedding.

At any case, I'm pretty stoked to hear this of course. September 9th, like my wedding, can't come soon enough in a lot of ways.

Preorder

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Everything Everything at First Avenue 4/5/16

To the Blade
Kemosabe
Regret
Fortune 500
The Wheel (Is Turning Now)
Cough Cough
Spring / Sun / Winter / Dread
No Reptiles
Distant Past

This set list I don't believe is 100% accurate (nor is even the order of the songs), per I should have but for some reason can't recall hearing "To the Blade" even though most of the sets they've opened with it. It's been my favorite track from Get to Heaven, and I was watching intently from the start. Maybe I just spaced out or something, lol.

At any case, their show was terrific last night opening for The Joy Formidable. I got the sense the crowd really did take to them and their energy. And their energy is often what appeals to me maybe most about their music, both studio and now seeing them live.

I would love to see them play a much longer set though, and to see some of the Man Alive stuff especially. They maybe played for 35 minutes as my phone's clock said 8:38 when they finished.

As for The Joy Formidable, I watched about 5 or 6 songs and then the Fiancee rang me and I went home. I will say, I see the appeal, especially live. They are a female-led (female singer at least) psych/blues rock band who also have a lot of energy and atmosphere to their music. I probably would have watched the whole show save for my schedule this week and having just been out late on Sunday for Mutemath.

But if you get a chance, definitely try and see Everything Everything live. They played to the crowd and had stage presence (which often isn't the case, namely when a band whose never toured in a certain city or country before. Although at least they are not exactly new now, having 3 albums, it's just that I think this is their 1st US tour).

The guys also came out to chat for a bit, Very cordial, welcoming guys in the band.

Monday, April 4, 2016

Mutemath @ First Avenue 4/3/16

Awesome Show!

Set list:
Stratosphere
Chaos
Prytania
Clipping
Light Up
All I See
Noticed
Vitals
Joy Rides
Composed
Used To
Blood Pressure
Control
You Are Mine
Safe If We Don't Look Down
Armistice
Best of Intentions
Bulletproof
Spotlight

*encore*

Remain
Monument
Reset
Typical

These guys never fail to keep my attention. This being the 7th time I've seen them live, and since February of 2006 at The Ascot Room.

Paul Meany even mentioned to the crowd about the show that was in May of 2006 at The Fine Line that from memory, had Under the Influence of Giants open (who are a band I and my fiancee really miss). I guess people were asked to come per myspace then and their Self-Titled album had just come out, which I remember that album coming out early 2006.

But I'm not sure how much in detail I can say that differs from especially the last 2 First Avenue headlining shows. And actually all previous 6 times I saw them live. They just continue to have this infectious energy and atmosphere (Take Control of the *Atmosphere*) that is so consistent.

Darren King always stands out. I could probably just watch him play drums all night and I'd be satisfied. He even went down in front of the crowd with 4 electronic hand-drums, having members of the crowd in front each hold them up simultaneously to jam on.

Paul Meany did his usual playing to the crowd, crowd surfing on a big lit-up black mattress, playing a keytar and dancing/jumping around. Also at 1 point he handed a piece in his keyboard setup to the crowd to jam on (not the keytar, but what seemed more like a mobile theremin)

The set list included a lot of the new record Vitals, which I think the songs overall did work, possibly better live than on the album. For one, "Monument" was MAGICAL. That actually may have been my favorite part of the whole night. The mystical moments about midway through and emotion seemed so genuine and pure from Paul and the whole band on it. I really think I grew a new appreciation for that tune and definitely hope they play it live in the future.

Plus the 2 instrumentals I love so much "Bulletproof" and the title track were included.

I guess my only disappointment was not hearing "Cavalries" and maybe 1 or 2 other Odd Soul tracks, but I didn't find it hurt the set list (especially how much of the S/T and even Reset stuff they included)

I suppose what may have differed with this show compared to some others was the use of visuals and lights. Very spacey and fitting for electronic-driven music at times.

Mutemath continue to amaze and keep people engaged live. They really are one of the best live bands in the last 15 or 20 years. And the 7 shows I've now seen from them are 7 of the best concerts I've ever seen. I can't wait to see them again.

Also a note about Paper Route who opened. I think they impressed more than I expected, although it seems clear their drummer is the standout member of the band. And they did do "Are We All Forgotten" from the EP and 1st album which I still enjoy. The last song they played, which may have been newer, I found also worked well.