Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Nordic Giants: Post Rock w/chamber + [female] vox + samples + electronics

Dismantle Suns cover art


1. Little Bird 05:36
2. Mechanical Minds 04:47
3. Strangest Tides (Feat. Heymun) 05:08
4. Dark Clouds Mean War 06:01

Build Seas cover art

1. Violent Lights (Feat. Alex Hedley) 04:12
2. Drumfire 03:53
3. Neotenie 04:52
4. Between Two Worlds (Feat. Freyja) 07:41

What the hell KScope? yet ANOTHER band, like iamthemorning, that appear to be right up my alley on their label.

Holy shit this is some atmospheric, incredibly dreamy stuff! And this (British but at also East Indian-based?) band, it appears are taking the Pure Reason Revolution/Revere approach of releasing a bunch of singles and EP's before their 1st full-length, which it sounds like they are working on? or maybe close to finished and I imagine may get released this Season.

Some stuff here about it on their website

Some of this stuff reminds me of maybe 2 bands, 1 being the late/great Post/Dreamy Rock band from Portland, Oregon Forest Park, but maybe even more, Canadian chillwave/dream/post rock band who I last heard about in 2012, Memoryhouse.

edit: They also remind me a fair amount of the band *Shels, mainly the percussion, vocals, and use of grand sounding trumpet almost as a texture. And when they use electronics, they can sound a bit like God is an Astronaut (or Toria).

That seems vague. I suppose I hear elements of many other "post" bands (Sigur Ros?, *Shels? God is an Astronaut), including KScope band Nosound I suppose. But regardless, I am rather intrigued by this group in just hearing some of their music on the latest KScope Podcast and now online.

Love the samples (although the ones that include yelling are hit and miss sometimes).

Damn this stuff is dynamic and also very sublime.






Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Kimbra - Miracle [McCarren Park Session]



Oh man, the version is gorgeous like the version she did a few years ago of "Wandering Limbs."

And, well, given it's a video and how she's dressed, the music isn't the only gorgeous thing in this video :p

She really ought to record a live all-acoustic record.

Monday, November 24, 2014

Fjokra - Mellowsound Sessions #1 "Salty"

Only just checked it out at a low volume once, but it doesn't sound rather hypnotic, like a lot of other parts of Fjokra's music. Kindo f a trippy video with a girl with blue--ish painted skin and what seems like a small Squid or Octopus moving around in her hand.

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Dream the Electric Sleep - Heretics (2013-2014)

Heretics cover art

1. Heretics 04:50
2. Elizabeth 08:22
3. Utopic 06:38
4. To Love Is To Leave 08:01
5. The Name You Fear 06:09
6. It Must Taste Good 08:31
7. I Know What You Are 06:42
8. Fist To Face 04:15
9. Lost Our Faith 02:05
10. How Long We Wait 09:28
11. Ashes Fall 08:07

I'm again not going to go into great detail as this is another case of a record/band I slept on this past Season, but knew about, and didn't finally give the attention it probably deserved until now. And I still need to give it more time, of course, but I will only add the vague amounts of observations about it in this initial posting. Maybe an edit coming later?..I know how I habitually do that.

But this band from Lexington, KY and their new album Heretics is definitely a nice blend of modern progressive rock, some retro or classic rock, and post rock.

I did read a fair amount about them among progressive rock forums and rateyourmusic.com this past season, which is how I even knew and became curious about them. I recall 1 or 2 reviews saying there was a lot of good moments on this album, but it was a bit lengthly. Which I wouldn't disagree with, but I don't find it drags as much as I suspected it would.

The singer, sounds like a few different singers I enjoy, but like the singer from Grimus, he sounds probably most like Jonah from The Velvet Teen and maybe even more, Evan Konrad of Bed of Stars and whose sung with Neverending White Lights.

Favorites: probably the track "Elizabeth" stands out the most. Rather epic and a climax that really works well.

But I'll confess, it'll end up the hopefully soon to come Season Ending Countdown, but definitely higher than I would have put it a week ago. I feel bad though, like with iamthemorning's album, I slept on it all season, and thus I didn't get to experience it during this/its season of release, but so be it.. As I said aboiut Belighted, definitely better late than never.

Also given they are from Kentucky, I wonder if they ever do any touring, even in the Mid/Upper Midwest? because seeing them live might be a little more realistic than seeing iamthemorning sadly.


Friday, November 21, 2014

iamthemorning - Belighted (2013-2014)

Belighted cover art

1. Intermission IX 01:20
2. The Howler 03:57
3. To Human Misery 04:18
4. Intermission X 00:53
5. Romance 03:01
6. The Simple Story 03:30
7. Intermission XI 01:21
8. 5/4 03:50
9. Crowded Corridors 08:44
10. Gerda 04:52
11. Os Lunatum 04:31
12. Intermission XII 02:36
13. K. O. S. 06:06
14. Reprise Of Light/No Light 05:16
15. Intermission XIII 00:58

I'd like to write an extensively detailed review about this band and album, but I can't promise that. But I do want to post something, however short or not this is.

I recall hearing about iamthemorning at least a year ago or more, but don't even recall if I checked any of their music out. But this past Season, this album received a fair amount of buzz among progressive rock fans. That and I recall it was per the KScope Podcast and them announcing the signing to KScope sometime in the last year, which brought their name to me.

I eventually checked a little of this album out, and kind of forgot about them. But then I think it was around the time I checked out Marketa Irglova's new LP Muna, I also finally gave this whole record a go. And I remember liking it, but also thinking people were overhyping it a bit. And given the receny, thinking Muna was similar but better. However, now I'm not so sure.

But in going through the end of Season records, I gave it another shot the other day and I must say, I am a fair amount more into it and the band.

What are they like? they use very tasteful string and other chamber or classical arrangements along with very clean, delicate female vocals. Which on paper is nice, but I suppose it is how they are written/composed which stand out. The dynamics, crescendos, twists and turns at points. They even use samples on the 2nd track "The Howler" which is from an episode of  Alfred Hitchcock Presents titled "Human Interest Story"(by Googling "Howard Wilcox" an "TV Episode" reveals it).

This album and band combine very lush arranged songs that segue very well with the interludes or "Intermissions."

I feel bad I slept on this album and band this year, but better late than never. It's hardly the 1st nor last time this kind of late/pre-end-of-Season post changes with review/revisiting of an album I was not as high on earlier in the Season.

iamthemorning I guess are just a duo of Gleb Kolyadin & Marjana Semkina. From St.Petersburg, which sadly is quite a ways away, to hope for a tour of the US. But who knows, maybe they could open for KScope labelmates Steven Wilson or Anathema at some point in North America. But until then, enjoying this record and their previous work will have to do.

Favorite tracks: 5/4, Gerda, K.O.S. Os Lunatum, The Howler





http://iamthemorning.com/
Facebook
Twitter

Thomas Giles - Modern Noise (2014-2015)

11/21/14 2:31AM

digging this 2nd track"Siphon the Bad Blood." + Interview


11/11/14 6:06PM



Being released on November 20th, Modern Noise is the upcoming solo LP from Between the Buried and Me's lead singer/keyboardist. I'm digging this, and I'm probably more optimistic about this album than his last solo record from 2011 Pulse.

http://www.metalblade.com/thomasgiles/

http://www.indiemerch.com/metalbladerecords/item/28910

Modern Noise

01. Wise and Silent
02. Mutilated World
03. Siphon the Bad Blood
04. I Appear Disappear
05. Blueberry Queen
06. We Wander Lonely
07. M3
08. lkcvjvhljbvj≥˜∆˚nnnjmkjijm
09. Noise Upon
10. Wander Drug
11. The Devil Net
12. Modern Noise

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Steven Wilson - Hand. Cannot. Erase (2014-2015)



Steven's Facebook

I’m happy to announce that my new album “Hand. Cannot. Erase.” is now finished and will be released on Kscope in February. More news and previews soon, including information on how to pre-order a very special deluxe edition. 

In the meantime the first tour dates in the UK and Europe are confirmed, see below. We are currently developing a show that I hope will raise the bar both musically and visually from previous tours, with a set list based around the new album, as well as casting the net further back into my songwriting past for a few surprises.

Hand. Cannot. Erase. almost sounds sort of like Meshuggah's Destroy. Erase. Improve ? lol.
I wonder what he refers to "as well as casting the net further into my songwriting past for a few surprises."..PT and Blackfield? If a tour does come the States, it seems like it'll be at the earliest, late Spring.

But as far as the album details, some bumps shall happen of course when all those details are shared,

Related Post 

not sure what the deal is with this site right now, but it probably will be a site for info on it:
http://handcannoterase.com/

Tour Dates:

Thu 12th Mar - UK, Cambridge, Corn Exchange
Fri 13th Mar - UK, Cardiff, St David’s Hall
Sat 14th Mar - UK, Manchester, Bridgewater Hall
Mon 16th Mar - UK, Edinburgh, Queens Hall
Tue 17th Mar - UK, London, Troxy
Wed 18th Mar - UK, Wolverhampton, Civic Hall

Fri 20th Mar - Germany, Cologne, E-Werk
Sat 21st Mar - Luxembourg, Rockhall
Sun 22nd Mar - Germany, Stuttgart, Theatrehaus
Tue 24th Mar - The Netherlands, Utrecht, TivoliVredeburg
Wed 25th Mar - France, Paris, Olympia
Thu 26th Mar - Belgium, Antwerp, Trix Club
Sat 28th Mar - Germany, Neu Isenburgy (Frankfurt), Hugenottenhalle
Sun 29th Mar - Switzerland, Pratteln, Konzerfabruk z7
Mon 30th Mar - Italy, Milan, Teatro Dal Verme
Tue 31st Mar - Italy, Rome, Teatro Sistina
Thu 2nd Apr - Germany, Munich, Kongresshalle
Sat 4th Apr - Austria, Vienna, Ottakringer Brauerei
Sun 5th Apr - Czech Republic, Prague, Hybernia Theatre
Tue 7th Apr - Poland, Krakow, ICE Congress Hall
Wed 8th Apr - Poland, Lodz, Klub Wytwornia
Thu 9th Apr - Germany, Berlin, Columbiahalle
Fri 10th Apr - Germany, Hamburg, CCH2
Sun 12th Apr - Denmark, Aarhus, Train
Mon 13th Apr - Denmark, Copenhagen, Amager Bio
Tue 14th Apr - Sweden, Malmo, Palladium
Thu 16th Apr - Sweden, Gothenburg, Konserthuset
Fri 17th Apr - Sweden, Stockholm, Debaser Medis
Sun 19th Apr - Finland, Helsinki, The Circus
Tue 21st Apr - Norway, Oslo, Sentrum Scene
Thu 23rd Apr - The Netherlands, Zwolle



Dave Kerzner - My Old Friend (Thud Reunion)

Dave Kerzner, who played with Kevin Gilbert on THUD and was a touring/live member with that era/band has been buzzing in the progressive rock world a lot this year with his solo record (and he many guests, one being Steve Hackett I recall).

But today, which would have been Kevin's 48th Birthday, Dave was very cool to share a recording him along with some of the other THUD band members made I guess in honor of Kevin. Nick D'Virgilio + Russ Parrish are on this.

Rather dreamy sounding. I probably need to be more conscious of this upcoming solo album of his, which it sounds like should be released rather soon, and will include a version of this track.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/4784414683/permalink/10152896734279684/

Happy Birthday My Old Friend Kevin Gilbert!
In honor of the late Kevin Gilbert's would-be-48th birthday I am streaming a song from my solo album that features a mini "Thud Reunion" with Nick D'Virgilio, Russ Parrish and myself. This is the second song I've written about him. The first was SOC's "Not Coming Down". I'll just be streaming this for 24 hours, today November 20th, for Kevin.
https://soundcloud.com/davekerznerband/my-old-friend
A lot more information about the song, the players and the lyrics in the Sound Cloud description.



https://soundcloud.com/davekerznerband/my-old-friend

20 years ago I played in a band called "Thud", which was the late Kevin Gilbert's solo project after "Toy Matinee" split up. Today would have been Kevin Gilbert's 48th birthday if he was still alive. In many ways, his spirit is still alive through his music and his influence. Working with him had a profound impact on me as a musician and lyricist.

In 1998 I wrote a song about him called "Not Coming Down" that later got revised and recorded for the Sound of Contact "Dimensionaut" album. Now, many years later I've written another song dedicated to him for my first-ever solo album "New World". What made this even more special for me is, for the first time in 20 years two other former members of "Thud", Nick D'Virgilio and Russ Parrish, play drums and guitar along with myself on vocals and keys, Fernando Perdomo on bass and special guest Maryem Tollar on "exotic vocals from another land". So, it was like a mini-Thud-reunion for us and it was very fitting given the subject matter of the song. It was also very nostalgic! While I work with NDV a lot, I had not seen or talked to Russ in probably 18 years? So, it really was great to catch up with him and he was thrilled that I asked him to play on it. Maybe we'll do it again sometime!

I wasn't planning on posting any more full songs until my album is out (which is very, very soon) but, since it's Kevin's birthday, I thought it might be nice to stream a pre-mastered version of the song "My Old Friend" just for today, November 20th, in honor of Kevin on his would-be-birthday.

If you aren't familiar with Kevin's music, he was a brilliantly clever lyricist and virtuoso musician. I strongly recommend you check out the latest Kevin Gilbert and Giraffe releases coming from Kevin's estate. www.kevingilbert.com and look him up on YouTube. The "Thud Live At The Troubadour" DVD gives you an idea of what some of these same combinations of musicians sounded like back then.

Happy Birthday Kevin wherever you are!

My Old Friend
(Music and Lyrics by Dave Kerzner)

Hello, my old friend 
From the other side of the end 
You’ve come to visit me again 
Poetic license to pretend
Hello, to the shape unknown 
Waiting dauntless on my own 
Bare and fragile flesh and bone 
I am eager to be shown

Give me reason, give me art 
Unearthly wisdom you impart 
Crossing over, shaking hands 
With someone who understands

Hello, my old friend 
From the other side of the end 
We both took that drive 
To an unexpected curve 
With hollow people 
Who’ve got a lot of nerve 
Restrained what we deserve 
In a cloud you observe

Give me reason, give me art 
Unearthly wisdom you impart 
Crossing over, shaking hands 
With someone who understands
Give me courage, give me grace 
Spin the dogma that I face 
I am tuning to the signs 
Etching truth in cosmic lines

©2014, Dave Kerzner ASCAP, RecPlay Inc. All Rights Reserved.
So long my old friend One day we shall meet again

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Mayer Hawthorne: Playboy.com Video Interview



Good interview asking Mayer about his favorite records; Steely Dan included! Favorite Artist: I knew about his Barry White influence, but he adds a little more here., His shows, his favorite record stores. The store in the Bay Area, Groove Merchant I can't say I know, and when he mentions Amoeba, while I guess the Hollywood store is the largest, I have yet to go there, and know Amoeba for their Bay Area stores.


Kimbra: The Song that Changed Her Life (from The Mars Volta)



"Cicatriz E.S.P."..not a bad choice/explanation from her. I also like the fact she mentions later getting into bands like Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd and Genesis.

Now if only a lot more of her fanbase would seek out The Volta and some others, I probably wouldn't feel like I'm weird for suggesting Kimbra is for people who love progressive rock.

This podcast of a kind, I'd be curious on who else has appeared, namely in music.

Faith No More: News, new album?; 11/19/14 SINGLE "MOTHERFUCKER" (ALBUM COMING APRIL 2015)

11/19/14 5:01PM



Studio Version of "Motherfucker"streaming per Soundcloud HERE

of course no Embed Code as most well-known artists who-give an exclusive stream to certain websites from their Soundcloud stream are.

Rather catchy; the opening vocals almost doesn't sound like Patton.

in a slightly related note, I saw a newly pressed/issued copy of Angel Dust the other day at Cheapo. $44.99, I passed on it for now, but I may have to do some hunting as it's really the only FNM Vinyl I really want.


9/2/14 12:17PM

RS link/interview

well it's finally happening. April 2015.

"Motherfucker" the single being released on Black Friday Record Store Day as a 7-inch with a b-side.




I'll say it again, this is cool they are (obviously better than no album at all), but if Jim Martin were involved, this would be an even bigger deal.

They have a tour planned around the time:

Though no dates have been booked, the band is planning a full U.S. tour around the album's release. Since their return to the stage in 2009, they've only played five American cities.


A Minnesota date? I would imagine they'd be at XCel or Target Center and tickets would be at least $70 or $80. I'd still have to think about trying to go as I've always wanted to see them.

6/20/12 10:40AM


A new album from them would be welcome and everything, but, I still hold on to the fact it would be even greater if JIM MARTIN were involved.

But beggars can't be choosers I suppose. A new Jellyfish album, tour, or anything would probably mean even more to me, so at least FNM are at where they are compared to the long yet mostly impossible dream of a Jellyfish reunion (or for that matter, Peter Gabriel with Genesis, etc).

fnm.com

Who would have thought, but here we are, 11 years dead and now back...posting news again!! Along with revitalizing the band, we've been working on FNM.COM, and while it is still a work in progress, we also hope it can begin to serve as a main information point regarding tourdates, announcements, confirmations, tshirts...and all things Faith No More. As for now, and thanks to the good folks who created the original fnm.com, this will be functioning as a band run site.

WIth this spirit, we're trying to keep our operation small, the theme of this site as simple as possible. There will be no marketing teams, record labels, PR firms involved in gathering your personal info; hopefully just real info passed along from us to you.

There are lots of things coming up—especially new show announcements—so please try to check in every now and then for the latest. In the meantime, we'll leave you with our official statement:



Faith No More has always stood out as some sort of unique beast; part dog, part cat—its music almost as schizophrenic as the personalities of its members. When it all worked, it worked really well, even if the chemistry was always volatile. Throughout our 17years of existence, the mental and physical energy required to sustain this creature was considerable and relentless. Though amicable enough, when we finally split, we all followed paths seemingly destined to opposite ends of the universe.

Yet during the entire 10 years that have passed since our decision to break up we've experienced constant rumors and requests from fans and promoters alike. Nevertheless, for whatever reason, none of us kept in regular touch, much less to discuss any possibilities of getting together.

What's changed is that this year, for the first time, we've all decided to sit down together and talk about it. And what we've discovered is that time has afforded us enough distance to look back on our years together through a clearer lens and made us realize that through all the hard work, the music still sounds good, and we are beginning to appreciate the fact that we might have actually done something right.

Meanwhile we find ourselves at a moment in time with zero label obligations, still young and strong enough to deliver a kickass set, with enthusiasm to not only revisit our past but possibly add something to the present. And so with this we've decided to hold our collective breaths and jump off this cliff....
BACK, GOD FORBID, INTO THE MONKEY CAGE!!!

We can only hope that the experience of playing together again will yield results erratic and unpredictable enough to live up to the legacy of FNM.
Who know where this will end or what it will bring up...only the future knows. But we are about to find out!


FAITH NO MORE are:
Mike Bordin, Roddy Bottum, Bill Gould, Jon Hudson and Mike Patton

Kevin Gilbert Shaming Live Tribute - "Imagemaker," "Water Under the Bridge" + "Suit Fugue"



Very cool sync-ed video montage, at a recent complete The Shaming of the True Tribute show in Germany I recall a few weeks ago.

I also just noticed the user who uploaded it, also uploaded "Water Under the Bridge" which if I had to pick 2 songs from 'Shaming, those are probably my 2 favorites, although I love the record so much that's not totally fair I suppose.

Also a note, how Monday the 17th of November would have been Jeff Buckley's 48th Birthday, and of course tomorrow, the 20th would have been Kevin's 48th as well.



edit: Here's the FB Page:
https://www.facebook.com/shaminglive



edit 2: Suite Fugue

Jaco: A Documentary Film



I'm failing to find an Embed Code for the actual Video unfortunately, but so be it. It says the project for this to come out will be Record Store Day 2015 in April.

Just preordered/pledged.

Also the BBC Audio Documentary should be linked below on Similar Entries, and for those who haven't listened to it, it's well worth checking out when time allows.

http//www.pledgemusic.com/projects/jacothefilm


Hola everyone, thanks for checking out our project. Jaco has always been a hero of mine and one of the reasons I play bass to this day. This film has been a project of love and passion for me. This amazing film has been four years in the making, and we need your help to get this film across the finish line!

Our film tells the story of Jaco Pastorius, a self-taught, larger than life musician who made an undeniable impact on music, and reinvented the electric bass; giving the instrument a powerful dynamic voice that had both edge and beauty.

We have assembled an offering of exclusives with PledgeMusic that reflect the documentary and draw upon some of Jaco’s friends and admirers. Pledge and become part of the journey of making this film a reality.

- Rob

Produced by Metallica’s Robert Trujillo in association with Passion Pictures, the film includes some incredible insights from an array of artists (Flea, Joni Mitchell, Sting, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Geddy Lee, Bootsy Collins, Carlos Santana) as well as Jaco’s family, and friends. It unveils the story of his music, his life, his demise, and ultimately the fragility of great artistic genius.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Team Me - F is for Faker [Official Video]

kind of non-descript video for a great tune. Goofy and there are some metaphors that are sync-ed up okay I suppose. I really do dig th Blind as Night and this song probably still being my favorite.

Saturday, November 15, 2014

New Mew songs (Live)

I often don't treat live versions of new songs, that especially I haven't heard before, all that important when evaluating new music. But, this is Mew, and I and others a bit famished for new music from them, so to hear even live versions of some of the music presumably that will be on their soon-to-be-released next LP (early 2015 in all likelihood), is worth something.

At the same time, I'm luke warm about hearing these; perhaps in 6 months after the record has come out and knowing many of these songs better, I'll laugh about that. But for now, this is just a glimpse of what Mew fans like myself have to look forward to soon.

I will say, the 1st video for the song "Water Slides" sounds pretty nice.

Also, I noticed how "Coffee Break" is included in the setlists for the recent shows they played in Finland and Norway. "Coffee Break" being the closing track from Mew's debut record A Triumph of Man, an album I own along with their follow-up Half the World is Watching Me, remastered in fact, but have only listened to a few times both (and should know much better than I do, given my love for Mew).

"Water Slides"
"Russle"
"Satellite"
"Grizzly" (or it may be known as "Cross the River On Your Own")
"Witness"

"Changes (Outro/Medley)" (NOT NEW I DON'T BELIEVE)
"Coffee Break" (NOT NEW)