Friday, March 6, 2015

Mike Vennart - New Debut record in 2015/Pledgemusic (+Operate single)

3/6/15 4:48PM

http://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/11279

Just pledged and received immediate download of the track "Infatuate"
pretty nice.

Looks like the CD comes on May 25th and Vinyl June 15th.

Title? "Divert Crisis" or something else? S/T?.kinda doubt it.

Also unclear about the actual "Goal" percentage as they typically show on Pledgemusic Campaigns. Maybe there is none? it just says 80 days left.

1/11/14 9:24AM

Full length debut record coming soon. If you follow his twitter page he's been talking about it for awhile. It looks like this record will be released on Vinyl too.

http://mikevennart.tumblr.com/

Divert Crisis

Having spent nearly 5 years keeping myself occupied - and having a little too much fun - playing guitar for the beautiful Biffy Clyro, I’ve spent an awful lot of time working out exactly what kind of music I want to make. I’m happy to report that my first ‘solo’ record is on the way. 
Those inverted commas are important - an old friend has been of invaluable help in pushing these songs up the hill. Countless sketches were made in posh hotel rooms in every corner of the globe, and some were then given focus and cohesion in the form of vocal melodies written by my former Oceansize cohort, Steve Durose. We’re kind of like a weird-rock Elton and Bernie. 
The record also features keyboards from none other than Gambler, former Oceansize guy and my partner in British Theatre. Drums were beat with exceptional vigour by Dean ‘Denzel’ Pearson. His playing is so good it’s actually kind of hilarious.
Upon the release of this full length album, I’ll be taking these songs - with these very men - on tour.
Expect announcements of shows as and when we’re allowed to reveal them.
It’s been a long journey, dreaming up even the impetus for much of this material. I’m glad i arrived at a point where i’m once again making music that i want to hear.
The record itself? It is a beautiful, noisy, fuzzy, epic, heavy, stupid, annoying, confrontational journey. It is fucking ace. 
I can’t wait to get it out there.

MJV


x

2/7/14 10:29AM
New song/single from ex-Oceansize frontman Mike Vennart. I have no idea if this is his focus now, more than British Theatre, or if this will be like Josh Benash from Vuvuzela, where Mike will still be active doing British Theatre music and work on his own solo music. Granted, we haven't heard much if anything from British Theatre for over a year, which is puzzling and might suggest this solo work of his will be more of his focus, along with playing guitar with Biffy Clyro live in Europe.

The song itself is okay. Not blowing me away, but it's not bad, and may grow a bit.

edit: I'm digging this song a little more now. It reminds me a little of the music from Self Preserved..

Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Thursday, March 5, 2015

Kansas - Miracles out of Nowhere [New Documentary DVD] (2015)

http://www.miraclesoutofnowhere.com/

Preorder



About the film:
In 1973, six guys in a local band from America's heartland began a journey that surpassed even their own wildest expectations, by achieving worldwide superstardom... watch the story unfold as the incredible story of the band KANSAS is told for the first time in the DVD Miracles Out of Nowhere. 


This actually looks pretty good. Some of the interviews: Brian May and Garth Brooks?

I'd go for seeing this in a theater, but odds don't seem likely with the DVD release it won't.

I doubt there will be a ton about the original or what was called "Proto-Kaw" period, but maybe in the bonus footage?

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

The Dear Hunter - Act IV: Rebirth in Reprise (2014-2015) + TDH Live [Free Stream]

3/03/15 4:29PM

link

I'm excited for this of course, but I also can't help but see this a bit unexpectedly as I recall 2 or 3 or more interview/chats in the last year or so, Casey mentioned how there will be an Act IV (and eventually V and VI), but the record he was working on now (or next after the Symphony a year or 2 ago), was not going to be it.

But, I also recall a question or 2 about Act IV and him being rather vague about it, not denying nor really confirming it. I suppose as an artist, it's best to be more ambiguous about your future plans namely.

At any case, I certainly look forward to this. Sometime in the next few months it seems. And the live album below, which is cool. I haven't listened to much of it yet, or looked at the details on the YouTube streams, but part of me hopes (but does not expect) something from it is from the show in Minneapolis at The Varsity Theater of course.

And the upcoming "Acts" tour, would be sweet to see, but no date in Minnesota of course. I'll be curious to check out the setlists when those shows happen anyway, just out of curiosity.

More details of course about Rebirth in Reprise in due time (wouldn't surprise me rather soon, as the last interview I caught from Casey, he mentioned wanting to release this record in May if possible).

edit: here's the interview/chat Podcast I'm remembering


Letter From Casey Below


Having spent the better part of the last 6 months indoors, I’ve developed a bit of a necessary wall in regards to contact and communications, but Ill do my best in this message to convey surreal internal musings with realistic external translation.

Within the past decade spent behind The Dear Hunter moniker, it would be foolish to say I haven’t swayed with the times, and that I hadn’t rubbed elbows with thoughts of giving into the tide. There has been an always open door behind me, suggesting me to do any number of things to appeal to wider and more quantifiable audiences. However, in times when this door seemed widest of all, I always felt the need to turn and push further away.

It’s a pretty old cliché - the story of a band gaining notoriety on something unique, or at the very least, something honestly themselves - trimming just enough off of who they are to fit the mold, then living out a life of diminishing creative return.

When I started The Dear Hunter, there were never any aspirations associated with fame, or sales… only aspirations associated with creative output, and a cohesive body of honest and progressive work, that at the very least could account as some sort of chronology of my creative life.

Along with that wish to constantly grow as a songwriter, came the desire to improve as a performer. This, at first, felt incredibly foreign to me - as someone who spent almost all of his time locked away creating (a very introverted behavior), the idea of such a social display was frightening. Anyone who witnessed the early shows for The Dear Hunter, can vouch for that palpable discomfort. Over time, I began to discover the live performance as an opportunity to create something new, and fleeting, each night - with an entirely different palette of instruments, both musical and human. Though the fear of the stage, and nervousness associated with outgoing interactions never left, a new feeling eclipsed them both - and with this grew the desire to improve. It was always a journey of some strange faith.

This is what I spend my time doing. My life is lovingly devoted to improving myself in all areas. Mental, emotional, physical, creative, metaphysical… I have always tried to take the same approach with The Dear Hunter, no matter how hard the adversity, whether personal or financial, I have only strived to make better art.

From this desire to grow, and through incredible fortune, I was given the opportunity to design a tour that I had never thought possible. A night devoted to performing with The Dear Hunter and a string quartet.

Luckily, Equal Vision Records was kind enough to furnish us with a system capable of multi tracking the entire tour - something we had never done before. While moments of hilarity exist (and they are wonderful), we’ve lovingly combed through these recordings to bring 10 tracks of this tour to the ears of any and all who might be interested. I hope that you feel, listening to the music, the love and excitement we felt performing.

I wanted to surprise our fans with this release, as it is my gift to you all, for supporting me over the years, and never giving up on me.  Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for your continued faith in The Dear Hunter.

I want to humbly ask you all to share this letter.  Word of mouth has always been the lifeblood of this music, and the suggestions of good friends always outweigh a well placed banner ad.

I leave you all now, scurrying back into my cave with my nose to the grindstone, preparing the next record for The Dear Hunter… It is coming along swimmingly, and I can’t wait to share it with you all.  Please keep your eyes peeled for Act IV: Rebirth in Reprise, coming later this year.



Entire Live Album Stream

PREORDER























01. Bring You Down
02. Procession
03. Shame
04. Girl
05. Home
06. The Thief
07. Mustard Gas
08. Progress
09. Where The Road Parts
10. Things That Hide Away



The Dear Hunter 2015 Tour Dates:
04/20  Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court *
04/23  DeKalb, IL @ The House Café *
04/24  Pittsburgh, PA @ Cattivo *
05/05  Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair #
05/06  Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair ^
05/07  New York, NY @ Gramercy Theater #
05/08  New York, NY @ Gramercy Theater ^
05/12  Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
05/13  Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel &
05/15  Chicago, IL @ Bottom Lounge &
05/19  Denver, CO @ Marquis Theatre &
05/22  Pomona, CA @ The Glass House#
05/23  Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour ^
05/24  San Francisco, CA @ The Independent &

* = Casey Creszenzo solo
# = Act II, w/ Northern Faces
^ = Act III, w/ Northern Faces
& = songs from Act II and Act III, w/ Northern Faces

Sunday, March 1, 2015

Faith No More - Sol Invictus (2014-2015)

3/1/15 5:25PM

"Superhero" ..Pretty nice, even though it does resemble a lot of their 90's stuff.




Also the cover art there and posted below.




Odd, almost biblical kind of title. Also the name of a neo-classical band. Anyway, good to finally get some more details on this record. More deets, more bumps of course.



possible artwork (maybe not the cover?)



edit: tracklist below rs dot com



1. Sol Invictus
2. Superhero
3. Sunny Side Up
4. Separation Anxiety
5. Cone of Shame
6. Rise of the Fall
7. Black Friday
8. Motherfucker
9. Matador
10. From the Dead

SAN FRANCISCO, Feb. 10, 2015Sol Invictus, Faith No More’s highly anticipated follow-up to Album of the Year, arrives on May 19 via Reclamation Recordings/Ipecac Recordings.
“What I can say is that I think through our experience as musicians over the years, I think what we’re doing reflects where we’ve gone since we made our last record as Faith No More. I think this kicks things up a notch,” explained Bill Gould in a recent Rolling Stone interview. “And I think there’s parts that are very powerful and there’s parts that have a lot of “space.” Everything we do, with our chemistry, the way we play; it’s always going to sound like us. It’s just what we do, that makes us feel good. “
Sol Invictus was produced by Gould and recorded in the band’s Oakland, Calif. studio. 

metalsucks link w/ press release

Per that story, a special 7-inch single for "Superhero" comes out on March 17th (later released digitally on March 31st)

1422051816734-0o7eloqpjowq-76dab0c0636f8dfa69b8a268655733ad

"Super Hero" live:



1st single "Motherfucker" released last November:


Tour dates, of course NO MINNEAPOLIS at this point.

April 15 – Vancouver, BC @ PNE Forum
April 16 – Seattle, WA @ Paramount Theater
April 17 – Portland, OR @ Keller Auditorium
April 19 – San Francisco, CA @ Warfield
April 20 – San Francisco, CA @ Warfield
April 23 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern
April 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern
April 25 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory
May 7 – Chicago, IL @ Concord Music Hall
May 8 – Detroit, MI @ The Fillmore Detroit
May 9 – Toronto, ON @ Sony Centre for the Performing Arts
May 11 – Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre
May 13 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
May 14 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
May 15 – Philadelphia, PA @ Electric Factory

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Steven Wilson - Hand. Cannot. Erase (2014-2015)

2/26/15 6:15AM

#1 (for now) on rateyourmusic.com's 2015 rankings

I'm sure all the Viet Cong, Father John Misty, Panda Bear and Sleater-Kinney fanboys/fangirls will go ahead and downrate it now.
https://rateyourmusic.com/charts/top/album/2015


Podcast got pulled below, but the 1st 2 tracks are now streaming here:




2/11/15 9:37AM

1st 2 tracks "First Regret/3 Years Older" are streaming about 2 minutes in

2/4/15 2:10PM

New video for the 4th track "Perfect Life," another ballad. This album definitely seems a bit different and more conceptual, but it may not matter.



2/3/15 6:01AM

Sunday June 7th, 2015 Varsity Theater.

Well, not exactly Dejavu as by some miracle, despite the back-2-back Chicago shows and a show in Madison, Steven's band has been confirmed to play at The Varsity Theater on Sunday June 7th, 2015.

A SEATED SHOW I guess, which reminds me of The Dear Hunter concert with the string section from 2013.

I don't know of a conflict at this point, so I plan to purchase a ticket on Friday. Beyond the link below, tickets are available at Into the Void records in St.Paul, The Electric Fetus and Down in the Valley in Golden Valley.

https://www.ticketfly.com/purchase/event/777153

No Marco Minneman and Guthrie Govan I guess per prior commitments for The Aristocrats tour in Europe, but so be it. Perhaps the promoters and the Agency Group? people have finally started to figure out this town has a Porcupine Tree/Steven Wilson fanbase and is worth booking after the 8 year gap, between sold out 2005 PT show and Steven's last show here at The Fine Line in 2013.

Certainly an EVENT concert.

89.3, Citypages, Radio K, Star Tribune, Pioneer Press and even vita-mn I might be rather surprised to see anything extensive about it. Vita-mn maybe. Of course the 1st single/title track would be easily accepted in Radio K and 89.3's playlist, but it's way too unlikely that would ever happen because of the prog tag among other reasons.

Will this bring back my appreciation for The Varsity?..meh, I would love it to, but I doubt it. I will still likely do the Mesa Pizza thing though.


1/1515 3:19AM

The tour dates started coming out like 2 weeks ago, and of course the back-2-back Chicago shows were all-too-familiar with no show in Minneapolis. Of course on FB/Twitter and Steven's site it says more dates will be announced, but it seems pretty clear they chose to do a 2nd show in Chicago instead of coming back to Minnesota.

De-ja-vu.

I also noticed someone say that both Marco and Guthrie will not be on this tour, which I suppose for what it's worth, I would rather see them, but I'd trade no Marco & Guthrie and a show in Minnesota regardless.

On the other hand. I just noticed how Marillion are planning to come back to the US in 2016. Minnesota? unlikely, but I would anticipate traveling for them.

sw.jpg



1/1/15 1:36PM

http://handcannoterase.com

wow, I need to spend some time, but my gawd, there's a boatload of into, images, and diary entries from this woman who found a tragic fate that this record is supposed to be about.

Teaser:


some stuff about it also included in the latest KScope Podcasr.

12/20/14 4:32PM

1st single/title track. The outro is quite nice.

edit:pulled;
despite my lack of interest in ever purchasing anything there, it is for sale here on iTunes .



edit: lyric video



SW site Preorder (Deluxe)

Burningshed Store with I count 5 different versions

Newbury Comics Preorder

12/04/14 5:01PM

More info about the concept/artwork/packaging, etc.


12/01/14 5:45PM

Cover art, tracklist and release dates. March 3rd in the US/Canada. I'm a little thrown off by another album cover that doesn't include the artist name nor the title even. But whatevz.

http://stevenwilsonhq.com/sw/hand-cannot-erase-artwork-and-tracklist-revealed/



We can now reveal the front cover artwork and track listing for the forthcoming Steven Wilson album 'Hand. Cannot. Erase.' due for release via Kscope on the following dates: February 27th - Germany, March 2nd - UK & Rest of World, March 3rd - US and Canada.




1. First Regret (2.01)
2. 3 Years Older (10.18)
3. Hand Cannot Erase (4.13)
4. Perfect Life (4.43)
5. Routine (8.58)
6. Home Invasion (6.24)
7. Regret #9 (5.00)
8. Transience (2.43)
9. Ancestral (13.30)
10. Happy Returns (6.00)
11. Ascendant Here On…(1.54)

11/20/14 5:39PM



Steven's Facebook

I’m happy to announce that my new album “Hand. Cannot. Erase.” is now finished and will be released on Kscope in February. More news and previews soon, including information on how to pre-order a very special deluxe edition. 

In the meantime the first tour dates in the UK and Europe are confirmed, see below. We are currently developing a show that I hope will raise the bar both musically and visually from previous tours, with a set list based around the new album, as well as casting the net further back into my songwriting past for a few surprises.

Hand. Cannot. Erase. almost sounds sort of like Meshuggah's Destroy. Erase. Improve ? lol.
I wonder what he refers to "as well as casting the net further into my songwriting past for a few surprises."..PT and Blackfield? If a tour does come the States, it seems like it'll be at the earliest, late Spring.

But as far as the album details, some bumps shall happen of course when all those details are shared,

Related Post 

not sure what the deal is with this site right now, but it probably will be a site for info on it:
http://handcannoterase.com/

Tour Dates:

Thu 12th Mar - UK, Cambridge, Corn Exchange
Fri 13th Mar - UK, Cardiff, St David’s Hall
Sat 14th Mar - UK, Manchester, Bridgewater Hall
Mon 16th Mar - UK, Edinburgh, Queens Hall
Tue 17th Mar - UK, London, Troxy
Wed 18th Mar - UK, Wolverhampton, Civic Hall

Fri 20th Mar - Germany, Cologne, E-Werk
Sat 21st Mar - Luxembourg, Rockhall
Sun 22nd Mar - Germany, Stuttgart, Theatrehaus
Tue 24th Mar - The Netherlands, Utrecht, TivoliVredeburg
Wed 25th Mar - France, Paris, Olympia
Thu 26th Mar - Belgium, Antwerp, Trix Club
Sat 28th Mar - Germany, Neu Isenburgy (Frankfurt), Hugenottenhalle
Sun 29th Mar - Switzerland, Pratteln, Konzerfabruk z7
Mon 30th Mar - Italy, Milan, Teatro Dal Verme
Tue 31st Mar - Italy, Rome, Teatro Sistina
Thu 2nd Apr - Germany, Munich, Kongresshalle
Sat 4th Apr - Austria, Vienna, Ottakringer Brauerei
Sun 5th Apr - Czech Republic, Prague, Hybernia Theatre
Tue 7th Apr - Poland, Krakow, ICE Congress Hall
Wed 8th Apr - Poland, Lodz, Klub Wytwornia
Thu 9th Apr - Germany, Berlin, Columbiahalle
Fri 10th Apr - Germany, Hamburg, CCH2
Sun 12th Apr - Denmark, Aarhus, Train
Mon 13th Apr - Denmark, Copenhagen, Amager Bio
Tue 14th Apr - Sweden, Malmo, Palladium
Thu 16th Apr - Sweden, Gothenburg, Konserthuset
Fri 17th Apr - Sweden, Stockholm, Debaser Medis
Sun 19th Apr - Finland, Helsinki, The Circus
Tue 21st Apr - Norway, Oslo, Sentrum Scene
Thu 23rd Apr - The Netherlands, Zwolle



Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Godspeed You! Black Emperor - 'Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress' (2014-2015)

2/24/15 4:22PM

Not a bad title, but it looks/reads, with the single-quote marks and 4-word length, a bit like their last record's title "'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!, which down the road, may cause many to mix them up.

I love how they mention "inviting" local Record stores to submit links for Preorders and Minnesota is nowhere to be found on the list, kind of like how Minnesota seems to be nowhere to be found on any tour agendas of theris either, lol.

This 1st piece shared "Peasantry or 'Light! Inside of Light!", which was originally called "Behemoth" I guess, I'm luke warm about at best. Godspeed doing more drone? I hope it's limited. Their last record 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!, while a pleasant surprise to have anything new from them, was uneven.

Based on that, I am not expecting anything as good as the Skinny Fists record here. But I'll certainly check this out.

The fact they are putting out a new record is not surprising, even though I recall a couple of years ago, seeing many people not expecting a new album/new material so soon.  But the fact as that write-up below says, they've been incorporating new music in those Minnesota-less Live shows since 2010, really suggests they were bound to record some of it and put it out. Well, here it is (their last record of course was all old material).

March 31st is the street date. March and April keep getting more filled up with new music.


http://cstrecords.com/cst111/



1. Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’
2. Lambs’ Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled

We've invited independent music retailers to submit links for pre-orders and we encourage you to support them. You should also benefit from much lower shipping costs by doing so (outside Canada, and especially for the 180 gram gatefold vinyl). This list of indie retail links will be updated throughout the week of Feb 23-27. 

UNITED STATES: 
• SCDISTRIBUTION: CD/LP 
• EXPERIMEDIA (Kent, OH): LP / CD 
• ORIGAMI VINYL (Los Angeles, CA): LP 
• AMOEBA MUSIC (Los Angeles, CA): CD / LP 
• TONEVENDOR (St. Augustine, FL): CD / LP 
• NEWBURY COMICS: LP 
• GRIMEY'S (Nashville, TN): In-store preorder 
• LANDLOCKED MUSIC (Bloomington, IN): In-store preorder 
• LOVE GARDEN SOUNDS (Lawrence, KS): In-store preorder 
• ZIA RECORDS (Phoenix/Tucson, AZ): CD / LP 
• LUNA MUSIC (Indianapolis, IN): LP 
• DEAD TANK (Jacksonville, FL): LP 

UNITED KINGDOM: 
• NORMAN RECORDS: CD / LP 
• RESIDENT: CD / LP 
• PICCADILLY RECORDS: CD / LP 
• ROUGH TRADE: CD / LP 
• BOOMKAT: CD / LP 

GERMANY: 
• FLIGHT 13: CD / LP 
• GREEN HELL: CD / LP 
• FINEST VINYL: LP 
• GLITTERHOUSE: CD 
• DENOVALI: CD / LP 

CANADA: 
• TINY RECORD SHOP (Toronto, ON): CD / LP 
• ENCORE RECORDS (Kitchener, ON): CD / LP 
• DR. DISC (Hamilton, ON): In-store preorder 
• COMPACT MUSIC (Ottawa, ON): In-store preorder 
• BLACKBYRD MYOOZIK (Edmonton, AB): In-store preorder 
• FRÉQUENCES LE DISQUAIRE (Ste-Hyacynthe, QC): CD / LP 
• GOOD MUSIC (Toronto, ON): In-store preorder 


DESCRIPTION
Godspeed You! Black Emperor (GYBE) returns with its first single LP-length release since the group's earliest days in 1997-99. 'Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress' clocks in at a succinct 40:23 and is arguably the most focused and best-sounding recording of the band's career. Working with sound engineer Greg Norman (Electrical Audio) at studios in North Carolina and Montreal, GYBE slowly and steadily put the new album together through late 2013 and 2014, emerging with a mighty slab of superlative sonics, shot through with all the band's inimitable signposts and touchstones: huge unison riffage, savage noise/drone, oscillating overtones, guitar vs. string counterpoint, inexorable crescendos and scorched-earth transitions. 

Following Godspeed's return from a long hiatus at the end of 2010 to begin playing live shows again, and with the hugely acclaimed 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! release in 2012 marking their first new release in a decade, the group continued to perform regularly on their own headlining tours (and as headliners at many leading festivals), often including a new multi-movement piece in concert over the past couple of years. Known to fans and through live show recordings by the sobriquet "Behemoth", GYBE has gradually distilled this new work down to a fastidious and uncompromising essence in the studio, with the swing-time swagger of the opening unison riff in "Peasantry or 'Light! Inside of Light!'" giving way to increasing microtonal divergences and an exhilarating immersion in the harmonic power of massed amplified instruments, before collapsing into some of the most visceral and unalloyed noise/drone the band has yet committed to tape on "Lambs' Breath" and "’Asunder, Sweet'”. The album closes with "Piss Crowns Are Trebled", a classic 14-minute piece of vintage Godspeed, where ascending and descending guitar and violin melodies intertwine over gut-rattling distorted bass in 3/4 time, segueing into a pummeling four-on-the-floor series of sparkling, soaring crescendos 

'Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress' finds Godspeed in top form; a sterling celebration of the band's awesome dialectic, where composition, emotion and 'note-choice' is inextricable from an exacting focus on tone, timbre, resonance and the sheer materiality of sound. The album is available on 180 gram vinyl in a gatefold jacket with printed inner sleeve and insert poster, on CD in a 100% recycled custom paperboard jacket, and on all manner of formats in our fractured digital marketplace. 

Thanks for listening. 

Release date: 31 March 2015 
Running time: 40:23 


PACKAGING NOTES
CD comes in a custom gatefold jacket printed on thick 24pt. paperboard with a printed CD dust sleeve. LP is pressed on 180 gram virgin vinyl at Optimal (Germany) and comes in a heavyweight gatefold jacket with full-colour printed dust sleeve, pull-out art poster and download code for 320 kbps MP3 copy of the album. 

TRACKLIST
1. Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’ 
2. Lambs’ Breath 
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled 

CREDITS
PERSONNEL 
Thierry Amar: Bass and contrebasse 
David Bryant: Electric guitar, portasound, organs and drones 
Aidan Girt: Drums 
Timothy Herzog: Drums and drones 
Efrim Manuel Menuck: Electric guitar 
Michael Moya: Electric guitar 
Mauro Pezzente: Electric bass 
Sophie Trudeau: Violins and drones 
Karl Lemieux: 16mm film projections 

Recorded by Greg Norman at Fidelitorium, Hotel 2 Tango and The Pines. 
Mixed by Greg Norman and GYBE at Mixart and Hotel 2 Tango. 
Masted by Harris Newman at Greymarket.

Monday, February 23, 2015

2014-2015 Anticipated Music: November-Spring: LIST..minimal Blurbing

2/23/15 9:02PM

I honestly have spent more than enough time adding/editing this list and really very little time actually writing about these records, and over so much time, I have just come to the conclusion time is again not on my side to completely, save for some future edits. And the real write-ups will have to come in the midseason countdown, likely in April.

But at least for now and future edits (because I don't see why there shouldn't be), this is just an updated schedule/calendar and artworks, with potentially more info about these records and more records like cover art, and titles, etc.

tl;dr the blurbs are taking too long, ah fuck it.

Already released:


Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

I like a lot of this record. The production is better than Portal of I, and the songwriting is shorter, more concise as a whole. I guess I can best say that there are a handful of moments I enjoy on this album,


Pink Floyd - The Endless River

A woman has powder make-up applied to her face as she is surrounded by ukiyoe imagery, an airplane and a guitar.
Ringo Sheena - Hi Izuru Tokoro

This may be a collection of older tunes or something, but I really love a lot of this. Probably at least 2/3 of it are on par if not better than most of her solo work that I've heard (which isn't a ton mind you, as I never spent as much time with it as Tokyo Jihen, but with TJ no more, it makes more sense, it's just not as easily available I suppose).

Excellent record or collection.


Thomas Giles - Modern Noise

Between the Buried and Me frontman/vocalist/keyboardist; I like this more than his last solo record, as it seems to have a little more depth to it. Although it still needs more time to fully gauge.

Zozzled cover art
Hardcore Crayons - Zozzled
I hear Rush and Battles and Primus obviously. 'More Sugar" and "Kid is Goat" are among the standouts.


Demians - Mercury

Nicholas Chapel 3rd LP, but 1st since 2010's Mute. A lot of this sounds like alternative rock, which I'm may be what Nick's interest may be in songwriting. I'm not sure how much I will get into this though, as the really progrock element of the Demians debut LP Building an Empire I'm noticing a lot of. And "Chapel" the atmospheric prog metal Silent Ceremony demo that I loved so much, may just remain just that it seems, but who knows. A revisiting may be required soon.

New World cover art
Dave Kerzner - New World

This is honestly, a fair amount more enjoyable than I expected. It is obviously prog rock and has an assortment of guests that are known appear. From Keith Emerson to Steve Hackett to Simon Phillips, to Colin Edwin of Porcupine Tree, to some of Dave's old Kevin Gilbert bandmates Nick D'Virgilio and Russ Parish. .I do naturally appreciate 'My Old Friend" for it's nod to Kevin Gilbert in more than one way.

There's a VERY big Pink Floyd element on this album, even beyond Dave's David Gilmour-vocal resemblance.

I think the biggest track for me is the 7th track "Ocean of Stars"..incredibly surreal and moody. Dreamy as hell. The guitar solo is gorgeous.

The guitar work Fernando Perdomo does on"Nothing" sounds incredibly like Steve Howe at times, I almost thought it was a Yes song.



January 1st-October 27th

Songs Of The Week cover art
Timmy Sean - Songs of the Week
A new "older" tune from Timmy's archives will be released every week per his bandcamp page . Whether they be from his "Celebrities" band, Sir Video, Luzer or "The Mahoney Brothers"? among some others, he has a lot of goodies to share.

January 12th


Archive - Restriction
This record has great flow, and some great moments, that while not all that new for Archive, still works on many levels.

January 13th


Subterranean Masquerade - The Great Bazaar 

Review(s) pending, but this is a tremendous comeback album, that ti seems the 10-year wait was all worthwhile.

Image of Cryptodira/East of the Wall Split 7"
East of the Wall [Split EP]

January 20th



The Decemberists - What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World

Spotty at best.

January 27th


Punch Brothers -  The Phosphorescent Blues

Deceptively Good.

February 1st

New World Sundown cover art
Hotel of the Laughing Tree - New World Sundown 
Consistently good record.

February 13th


Susanne Sundfør - Ten Love Songs


February 17th

Caravan of Thieves - Kiss Kiss

February 21st


Small Leaks, Sink Ships - Face Yourself and Remove Your Sandals
https://twitter.com/smallleaks

February 27th/March 2nd-3rd



Steven Wilson - Hand.Cannot.Erase

March 3rd

Tuxedo

Tuxedo - Tuxedo

March 13th/15th

Aerial Love EP + Instant Grat

Daniel Johns - Aerial Love
As much of a departure the title track seems to be, I like it and this EP which hopefully will just be a sample of what is to come later this season from the ex-Silverchair frontman.

March 30th/31st

Carrie & Lowell cover art

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie and Lowell


Mercies - Blue Against Green



Godspeed You! Black Emperor  'Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress'

April 6th-7th



Nordic Giants - A Séance of Dark Delusions


Timbre - Sun and Moon
https://twitter.com/TimbreCierpke


The Barnum Meserve - The Barnum Meserve

The Embers of Time, Josh Rouse

Josh Rouse - The Embers of Time

Umphrey's McGee - The London Session

April 27th



Mew - + -


April



Gavin Harrison - Cheating the Polygraph



Tangled Thoughts of Leaving - Yield to Despair

May 19th

Faith No More - Sol Invictus

Spring

Mike Vennart - TBA
https://twitter.com/Vennart

The Dear Hunter - Act IV: Rebirth in Reprise
https://twitter.com/CaseyCrescenzo


Album Finished with Titles

22- You Are Creating
https://twitter.com/22NEWENERGY

Kaddisfly - Horses Galloping on Sailboats (HGOS MMXV)
https://twitter.com/Kaddisfly

Klimt 1918- Die Sentimentale Jugend
https://twitter.com/Klimt1918music

Neverending White Lights- Act IV
https://twitter.com/iamNeverending

The Pneumatic Transit- Concerto Moon


Album done/in the works but no info:
Between the Buried and Me
https://twitter.com/btbamofficial

The Bird and the Bee - TBA

Happy Body Slow Brain - TBA
Album Teaser 1

Hands of Despair - TBA

Muse - Drones
https://twitter.com/muse

Mutemath - TBA
https://twitter.com/MUTEMATH

*shels - Samwise the Demon
https://twitter.com/shelsmusic

Unclear/To Be Announced

AM and Shawn Lee

Anakdota

Anderson / Ponty Band

The Apples in Stereo

Arch / Matheos

Between Two Skies

Bubblemath

Casey Crescenzo + Jessy Ribordy project

Cloud Cult
https://twitter.com/CloudCult
Recording "Every Thing"

Diablo Swing Orchestra

The Dissociatives - [EP]

Dream Theater

Erstwhile - Matt and Brett of Fair to Midland's new band.

Falling Up
YouTube Channel

Fjokra-  TBA
https://twitter.com/Fjokra

Beyond the Mellowsound Sessions [EP], there likely will be something new as Fjokra has been posting clips and photos about it recently.

Gatherer

Genders

Gojira

Gotye
https://twitter.com/gotye

House of Fools
https://twitter.com/houseoffools1

Jazzkamikaze
https://twitter.com/jazzkamikaze

Journal

Lehto and Wright
https://twitter.com/LehtoWright

Majestyy
https://twitter.com/Majestyy_

Paul Mac
https://twitter.com/thepaulmac

Todd Menton

Meshuggah

Miracles of Modern Science
https://twitter.com/wearemoms

Moonloop
https://twitter.com/moonloopband

Motopony

NewVillager - A Book and new music in the Fall
https://twitter.com/NewVillager

Oddland
Opus Dai - Insectum Vol. 1

Ours
https://twitter.com/JimmyGneccoNews

Ramona Falls
https://twitter.com/ramonafalls

Sculptured

Stateless - TBA [EP]
https://twitter.com/StatelessOnline

The Velvet Teen
https://twitter.com/thevelvetteen

Vektor
https://twitter.com/VektorMetal

Misc.

January 19, 2015

 
Kevin Gilbert - Thud Deluxe Edition (Vinyl + CD)

Tuxedo - Tuxedo (2014-2015)

2/23/15 8:13PM
Whole thing is up on NPR's site to stream. Good record. "The Right Time" and "Watch the Dance" are probably my favorites thus far.

http://www.npr.org/2015/02/22/387517135/first-listen-tuxedo-tuxedo

12/02/14 7:06PM

As posted previously, this is the debut record from the collaboration between Mayer Hawthorne and Jake One.

Release date March 3rd

Preorder includes download of "Do It."
http://www.stonesthrow.com/store/album/tuxedo/tuxedo

Tuxedo

1. Lost Lover
2. R U Ready
3. Watch the Dance
4. So Good
5. Two Wrongs
6. Tuxedo Groove
7. I Got U
8. The Right Time
9. Roll Along
10. Get U Home
11. Do It
12. Number One


Timbre - Sun & Moon (2014-2015)

2/23/15 7:15PM

BIG ANNOUNCEMENT!!! SUN & MOON will be released world wide April 7th!!!!






4/5/14 8:30PM

not new, but this is amazing. The instrumental section around 3:40 is breathtaking. Can't wait to hear this record.




6/20/13 8:47AM
Today is my birthday, and wow, what a cool way to wake up and find out Timbre somehow raised nearly $5,000 in the last 24 hours to reach her goal!

$10,005

I suspect the last few pledges may have been rather large, and to push her over the hump being just $5 past the $10K

Regardless, this is awesome to see and look forward to. Now I almost expect a masterpiece, which I'm sure Timbre is capable of, but with the needed amount of cash, this record can be made purely as she sees fit, and thus, that much greater.


6/8/13 11:39AM
http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/help-timbre-record-a-double-disc-album-that-will-unite-two-worlds-of-music/x/2421326

Keep at it Timbre! $5800 left to go in the next 12 days. You Can Do It!.



Just to remind people who don't know Timbre, it's songs like this show how brilliant her music is.




5/7/13 5:55AM

the write-up below is from the Indiegogo Campaign. $10K in about a month-and-a-half. I think she can do it, but $10K is not nothing.

It sounds and I'm sure will be amazing. Double album at that. And it'll be coming in 2014 of course.

"St.Cecilia" sounds like it would be worth having this album for alone.





"Sun and Moon"

Art does not exist alone... art creates art.

This is the idea behind my newest project, "Sun and Moon". This double disc record explores the deep connection between classical music and modern songwriting. One disc, "Sun" will feature songs written with my band, songs about friendship, love, grief, nature, even a song based on a children's fairy tale (more on that later!). The other disc, "Moon", will feature a variety of classical music that I've written, from a harp and oboe duet, to a piece for full orchestra, choir, harp, and solo soprano (me!).

Both discs will feature many of the same musicians. Themes and ideas will pass back and forth between them, playing with ideas of dark and light, day and night. My desire is to show that classical music and "popular music" are deeply connected, as they have always been. Classical music and popular music each have their depth, their energies, their forms of communication, and together they can speak to us in even deeper and more beautiful ways.

I grew up in a completely classical world, listening to only classical and choral music until I was in my teens. I have sung classically from as early as I could stand up and make sounds, and have played harp classically for 20 years. I have been composing for a few years as well, and have had my pieces performed in cathedrals all over the world, including Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris and St Peter's Basilica in Rome. I have also performed vocally with composer Eric Whitacre in Carnegie Hall for the premiere of his choral cycle, "The City and The Sea."

 Over the past 7 years, I have slowly found my way into a new world of popular music, writing songs  with my band and playing with a ridiculously diverse collection of bands, from people like mewithoutYou, the Chariot, Brooke Waggoner, to bluegrass legend Ricky Skaggs and Jack White of the White Stripes. I have found a deep undercurrent of passion and art that connects these worlds, and I want to help my listeners plunge into the depth of those waters with me. 

I believe this album will introduce many listeners to classical music in a new way, in a way that can be attached to and felt. I also believe this album will take listeners into different depths of spiritual and emotional experience, as the different kinds of sounds take them to new places. I believe in this record, and I know I will be more proud of it than anything I have done yet! 

I also believe that the way we think about making music is changing. Music is not a commodity to be made and sold and consumed. Music is a form of deep expression, something that moves between souls, back and forth. I am so passionate about the idea of partnering with listeners. I am making this for you, to communicate with you, to share with you... and I cannot make it without you.

WHAT WE NEED:

Our ideal budget for this album $20,000. That seems like such a big number, but recording an orchestra and choir(100 +people) is not something an independent artist often undertakes. We have set our minimum goal at $10,000, but to be able to go beyond just tracking and actually master, print, and promote this album, we need $20,000. We have already invested around $5,000 into it so far, and had to stop due to lack of funding. We will be starting back up in June if this fundraiser is successful!

Money will go towards:

-Tracking in Nashville and in Cincinatti

-Paying musicians (orchestra, choir, guest musicians)

-Travel

-Engineering and mixing fees

-Mastering

-Printing (super expensive for a double disc)

-Artwork

-Promotion 

The CRAZY thing with this whole project is that fact that I even have the opportunity to write for an orchestra and for a world-renowned a capella choir. I have a beautiful relationship with my alma-mater, Trevecca University, and their music department is working on this project with me. So few composers get the chance to even hear their music performed. This is a ridiculously rare opportunity and I am SO grateful! It should cost $50,000 or more to record 2 different orchestral pieces and two a capella choral pieces, in freaking CATHEDRAL. The fact that we are able to do this for only $20,000 is a little crazy. 

WHAT WE WANT TO GIVE YOU:

All perks include early download of album! 

In keeping with this idea that art creates art, we have partnered with friends from all over the U.S. to create unique pieces of art inspired by "Sun and Moon", which you can claim with a donation to our project! There will also be crochet art made by our cellist, Patrick Rush. We will be using crochet lace doily designs as apart of the album artwork, and those doilies are among the rewards!

Here are the art pieces we have available:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151581735649165.1073741825.16237174164&type=1&l=3363e0a8c6

We also have lots of other goodies, including early downloads of the album, cover songs, house shows, even a piece of my harp. hahaha. but for real.

Just to be clear, we still have at least a year of work to do on this album, including a symphony premiere in november, which will be recorded for the album. All art rewards will be sent out once the fundraiser is over, but all music rewards will be dependent on the album release date. (approx July 2014)

If we don't reach our goal, we will keep working to put this album out ourselves! It might just take a while longer...

 More About The Album: 

"Sun and Moon" will explore many ideas of dark and light, of the mysteries of the unknown and the joy of exploring those places. 

Two snapshots of the album:

"Nycteris Sees the Sun" will be a song on the "Sun" album, and is inspired by a story written by George McDonald, "Day Boy and Night Girl- the Romance of Photogen and Nycteris" (http://www.ccel.org/ccel/macdonald/daynight/files/daynight.html) Photogen has lived entirely in light, and Nycteris has lived entirely in darkness, not knowing the other half of reality even exists. They meet, and must learn to see and love what they fear in the other. Nycteris, the girl, decides that the sun is more real than the moon, that she must KNOW this light, even if it destroys her.  My interpretation of her story expresses her decision to move from the dark of the cave that she knows into the pain and the glory of light. The music moves from a quiet, dark, contemplative sound then suddenly bursts into the frenzy of her joy and pain. Its one of my favourite songs I've ever written!! 

"St Cecilia: an Ode to Music" will be on the "Moon" album, and is written for full orchestra, choir, harp, and soprano solo. It was premiered in april 2012 and was the most incredible night of my life thus far. It explores the language of music, and again draws parallels between two worlds, this time between the natural and the spiritual. Here are my liner notes about the piece from that night:

 "St Cecilia" encompasses a series of concepts that are incredibly important to me as a composer and as an individual. It speaks of the transcendent nature, the spiritual language of music that reaches beyond what can be seen with our eyes or felt with our hands.

 “St Cecilia” also touches on a concept that has enraptured me: the unspeakable Name of God. In ancient Israel, "YHWH" represented the name of God that was beyond speaking, unknowable. Ephesians 3:19 says that we can "know this love that surpasses knowledge". That idea has always resonated with me, that we can know what is unknowable. We cannot fully quantify God, but we can know Him. We cannot fully define God, but we can experience Him. I think this is the unknowable knowing.

 I believe that if God exists, He is the ultimate form of all that is good. He is Love, He is Light, He is Joy. What I centered on for this piece is the idea that He is Beauty. All that is beautiful is a broken form of Him. And so, when we make something beautiful, we are pointing to and experiencing Him.

 These ideas came together for me in this... When we make music, music that is truly beautiful, we are speaking His Name. In song, we can speak the Unspeakable Name of God. We can participate in the mystery of His beauty, and actually hear Him sing back to us.

 St Cecilia is the patron saint of musicians. Christian legend says that as she was martyred, she sang praises to God. She died singing, and heard angels singing with her. I was struck with this, the closeness of the two worlds, joined by song. The piece begins with a plea for her to pray for us, with the hope that we too would experience God and touch heaven through music as she did.

 Other Ways You Can Help

Please use the share tools to pass this around to your friends! Together, we can make something completely new!


3/15/13 11:00PM

1 of the new songs "Chicago Pier," which sounds outstanding.


Timbre - Chicago Pier - Whalehead Sessions from Love Greatly on Vimeo.

11/9/12 2:09PM




http://www.facebook.com/TimbreHarp/posts/10151242278454165

I am excited to announce that WE GO INTO THE STUDIO TOMORROW!!!! We're driving to Cincinatti tonight and in the morning, Mason will start putting down our sweet beats!! Haha ;) Thus begins our new album "Sun and Moon" !!!!!!! #timbresunandmoon

 Pretty excited to hear this. 2010's Little Flowers is breathtaking at times, and having seen her twice this past year in my home state, including just over a month ago where she played 1 of the new pieces, my optimism about this record couldn't be higher.

The only thing is, she mentioned to myself and my friend John who was there as well, she has enough music for a double album, but she also didn't really know for sure when it would be coming out. Perhaps due to the fact she may want to release a double album, it may take all of next year to finish, thus perhaps a 2014 release.

But regardless, it's great news she is finally going into the studio to record it.
She is rather active on social media, so I imagine updates will be happening and bumps of this entry in the coming week/months when more info is certain. 

Very cool that both her and Brooke Waggoner have albums coming soon, for my and others female orchestral-oriented pop/rock/etc music fix. 

Saturday, February 21, 2015

Mercies - Blue Against Green (2014-2015)

2/21/15 11:45PM

Well the band/Random Records record label were nice enough to send me an advanced copy of this new album, which is being released on March 31st, 2015.

I received it this past week and of course I spent a fair amount of time taking it in.

At this point, I can say a few things about it.

-I enjoy every track
-The sound/style is very much a continuation from Three Thousand Days, their debut record from 2011; in the dreamy, somewhat stripped down, pop that features a ton of incredible vocal lines and vocal harmonies from Josh Rheault.
-The production is crystal clear and clean.
-It's very much a record that is acoustic in many ways.

Those points aside, the highlights are for me at this point:
"Every Echo" "Open Ocean" "Zalea" 'We Tried" 'Something to Lose" and "Atwater." At least 3 or 4 of these tracks have those wonderful, dreamy vocal phrases that I'm a sucker for. Although I guess I can say they come and go on almost every track.

I recall the comparison to The Dear Hunter comes up of course since Josh (and Sammy Dent as well) were touring members. But for whatever reason, I think of at least somewhat of the style/sound TDH did with the Yellow EP, this album and a lot of Mercies sound shares in common.

That almost retro approach to pop/power-pop with acoustic tinges and like I've said a bazillion times, just infectiously dreamy harmonies. I think part of it is Josh Rheault's kind of distinct style of vocals (he seems to sing many of the harmonies too when they are layered/multi-tracked), and some of that is purely just how well the vocal lines that were written. They just work, if you enjoy that kind of pop.

I recall saying this about Three Thousand Days, and the same holds true with this record, in that they are *that* good, so much so, the masses/trend-pop audience could totally go for them. But others as well,  that to expect it or even care a ton about if it happens is silly. But Mercies continue to be a case of a very talented and underground secret in the world of pop/rock music, that they potentially could finder a much wider audience.

Now myself, who finds often a disconnect when that happens, kind of would prefer it to not happen so much. But the obvious advantage is to see a band who deserve more success than they seem to receive, actually receive it, and continue to make music (and do more touring).

But if that doesn't happen and they continue to make records as good as this, I really don't have reason to be down about it.

Josh recently helped out Kimbra on tour, and given that, I wonder if she knows about Mercies and if so, if she's heard any of their music and what her take on this record could be. Maybe Mercies could tour with her at some point?

I should make some kind of video of course about this record in the coming days/weeks and also more details I suppose in the near future (mid-season countdown likely). But for now, I can just add that if you enjoyed their past work (also The Ballet EP from 2012), this shouldn't disappoint. Is it vastly different? no, but I don't think it has to be because the elements of Mercies sound people have enjoyed or enjoy, should also enjoy on Blue Against Green.

The below link/embed has the 1st track (single) "Zalea" for streaming, which is a track after you listen to it 2 or 3 times, may grow on you on how good it is.

http://www.baeblemusic.com/musicblog/2-18-2015/premiere-mercies-zalea.html







1 Every Echo            3:52
2 Open Ocean            3:38
3 Zalea                    3:58
4 Only at Night          3:42
5 Atwater                    3:05
6 Something to Lose  4:36
7 White Fir            3:04
8 Deeper Sleeper       2:59
9 We Tried            4:09
10 No Blue            3:28
11 Buffalo            3:28



12/29/14 3:59PM



Being released "Early 2015" on Random Records.

The 1st single is titled "Zalea"

http://merciesmusic.com/

2011's LP Three Thousand Days was an awesome debut record, and it sounds like they have not lost the vocal harmonies that made that record so good. Josh Rheault and company (ex TREOS and The Dear Hunter members) I'm very excited to finally get to hear from again. I wonder if the time Josh spent with Kimbra on the road in November influenced any part of this album (although he told me it was mostly done by then, but who knows?).

The Barnum Meserve - The Barnum Meserve (2014-2015).. + LP's #2 and #3

2/21/15 10:57PM

Tracklist below for the S/T debut coming on April 6th (iTunes/Amazon digital, and physical format from their online store)

Facebook Pic




1. War Games
2. Open Your Eyes
3. Colours
4. Don't Be Afraid
5. Last Forever
6. Half Mast
7. Underneath the Grey
8. Without Numbers
9. After the Fire
10. Losing Sleep
11. Dust
12. Take Shelter
13. Tides


1/24/15 11:37PM



Not a ton of details to share yet, but per these 2 articles below, there's a few things included.

Release date is April 6th. It is Self-Titled, and Self-Released. It includes a lot of their trademark strings, vocal harmonies among other things. Also the same release date of the Nordic Giants debut record and Josh Rouse.

Their 2nd LP has already been recorded and is in the mixing stage, and is looking to come out in 2016, may or may not be released on a label.

Their 3rd LP they are already working on, and if timing works well, may come in 2017, LOL.

http://ventsmagazine.com/interview-the-barnum-meserve/

http://www.rocknreelreviews.com/banrum-meserve-6th-april/


After two years in the making, The Barnum Meserve now unleash their self-titled debut album, and it’s an outright scorcher. The record contains thirteen tracks that are epic, dark and cinematic, but above all, utterly compelling. The atmospheric piano openings and string sections of ‘War Games’ leads things off, before the current single ‘Colours’ (http://youtu.be/rFbN_mzIyaw) perfectly showcases the three piece’s unbridled emotion laced with a contagious and dramatic refrain. The forthcoming single ‘Underneath The Grey’ further demonstrates the band’s guile and deft ability to truly ignite anyone within earshot, and the video is also something special that magnificently portrays the track’s haunting beauty. With shows and festival appearances planned for this year, along with a new album already in works, there is no stopping The Barnum Meserve’s ascent.


I'm pretty intrigued not only by this upcoming record, but the stuff they also have planned over the next couple of years. Will they play live in North America? I dunno, but 1-step-at-a-time of course.

I will of course bump this when more of those details come.




https://twitter.com/barnummeserve
https://www.facebook.com/TheBarnumMeserve

Small Leaks Sink Ships - Face Yourself and Remove Your Sandals (2014-2015)

2/21/15 5:43PM

They finally put it up for sale on their bandcamp today! And the EMBED is just below this of course. It's coming out on CD and digital formats; although don't be surprised if a Vinyl pressing happens at some point.

edit: Twitter post mentions an upcoming Kickstarter for the Vinyl

But, it's been 1 month to the day since I posted this and honestly, this record has become my clear favorite record this season, and I gave in as I keep enjoying it so damn much, I put it up to 5-stars.

A review/Video Review should be coming soon (not only for this, but a few others in fact). But for now, I can say this very much reminds me of one of those records that comes out of nowhere to become an all-time favorite of mine. I am rather in awe and still addicted to it, and very happy it is finally being released.

My failure I suppose is not spending more time with their other releases which I plan to rather soon.




1/21/15 5:40AM
This is just an initial post about this record, I stumbled upon the other day and checked out and was pretty floored by actually. A top album of the Season contender? I might not want to go that far at this point; but I did really enjoy this record, which to be honest, I cannot find much if any concrete info about the release date, etc.., I only found just the obvious blogs and other sites with vague info that has the artwork and /tracklist.

The only specific thing is the single "Yellow Bird" below which is embedded per their bandcamp page, and the trailer for this record posted on YouTube (and Vimeo) back in October.

In the interest of time of course, I will just say, I heard about this band maybe even around the time of their debut LP in 2007, or maybe a year or 2 after. I recall they were from Arizona, and I think where I saw their name was one of the annual Alternative Press "100 Bands You Need to Know" issues. Come to think of it, I think it was either 2009 or 2010.

Anyway, I recall not thinking they were bad, but not exactly a band I heard tons of potential with.

But with this new record of theirs, some 4 or 5 years after my initial impressions, I think I may have been won over a lot more. I love the use of piano throughout this whole record.

Is it kind of low-fi? I suppose, but that adds to its charm in a lot of ways. Is it prog? yeah, I guess, and Post Rock, math rock, psych, dreamy among many other sections. I hear bands like Murder By Death and early Menomena among others. Great atmosphere and nice use of strings at points.

Either in here or in hopefully the upcoming Season preview (or midseason review, which should come in April) I'll include more. But right now, I can already say this is 1 of the 5 best records I've heard thus far in 2014-2015.

edit: I really should update this anyway, just at the point when the details of a release date and things is finally given, I imagine on their bandcamp page, etc...as I can definitely see myself purchasing a hardcopy of this record if/when one becomes available.


http://www.smallleaks.com/
Facebook
https://twitter.com/smallleaks
















01 Power Outage
02 Midnight Jin
03 Yellow Bird
04 Orchis
05 Snowball Fight Attack Formation
06 We All Die
07 Building Blocks
08 The Devil Is In The Desert
09 Iceberg
10 The Mind Is Its Own Place