Saturday, March 17, 2018

Video + Podcast: DISCLAND + Marvel's RUNAWAYS

Sculptured - The Spear of the Lily Is Aureoled [CD] Pink Floyd - Obscured By Clouds Pink Floyd - More Sega Genesis Games: MLBPA Tony LaRussa Baseball Lakers vs Celtics

Brian K Vaughan: Y: The Last Man Marvel's RUNAWAYS Kevin (Probably) Saves the World Fjokra - Evening Lights Bend Sinister - We've Heard it all Before

Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Bend Sinister - Foolish Games (2017-2018)

lyric video for "Heard it All Before". Fun tune!

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling
Popmatters Article

Their upcoming full-length album, Foolish Games, is set to be released in May 2018.

 The 1st single "Heard it All Before" is there to stream (haven't listened yet of course).

More details coming, of course my Fanboy-bias is in full-force here.

But the honest to gawd truth is, I enjoy every single release they've had, to varying degrees. But the full-lengths especially are all between 3.5-5 stars. Animals was great in 2014 and Small Fame I have almost come to prefer even more.

2017's EP Walk the Other Way also I thoroughly enjoy.

Also we'll see what this one it like with their new drummer. 

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

2017-2018 Calendar/Projected Anticipated [AS OF WINTER 2018]

9: Jeremy Messersmith - Late Stage Capitalism
Bend Sinister - Foolish Games

13: Kindo - Happy However After

25: Spock's Beard - Noise Floor


21: Inferi - Revenant
27: Janelle Monae - Dirty Computer

10/15/17 12:51PM
I post an entry like this every year or maybe 2-4 times a year, etc.

So I'm not sure if I'll bump this, or just post a few more of these over the next 3-6 mos.

The intention is to EDIT it and bump it; not *STICKIE* it per I don't desire to have 1 entry stuck at the top.

At any case, as the news, announcements, and speculation for new albums come up, this list will have more titles.

If any of the names get bumped up to be released before Halloween, obviously it'll be removed/posted likely separately. But given it's October 15th, the odds of that are not too high.


17: Galactic Cowboys - Long Way Back to the Moon
30: Harakiri - Alchemy Choir

1: The Dear Hunter - All is as All Should Be [EP]
1: The Faceless - In Becoming a Ghost
1: Nicholas Krygovich - In an Open Field
1: U2 - Songs of Experience
8: Diablo Swing Orchestra - Pacifisticuffs
8: The Gloomcatcher - Blade in the Belfry [EP]
16: Greg Herriges / StellaRoma - Revel and Ritual
Esperanza Spalding - Exposure (+Undeveloped)

January and later:

12: Typhoon - Offerings
12: Umphrey's McGee - it's not us 
18: Cloud Cult - The Great Alone (OST, instrumental)
26: In Vain - Currents
26: Orphaned Land - Unsung Prophets and Dead Messiahs

2: Field Music - Open Here
2: Long Distance Calling - Boundless
23: Gleb Kolyadin - Gleb Kolyadin
23: Grimus - Unmanageable Species

9: Between the Buried and Me - Automata I
9: Jeremy Messersmith - Late Stage Capitalism
15: Fjokra - Evening Lights [1B]
16: The Decemberists - I'll Be Your Girl

6: The Family Crest - The War: Act I
13: Kindo - Happy However After
20: Kimbra - Primal Heart
21: Inferi - Revenant
27: God is an Astronaut - Epitaph
27: Janelle Monae - Dirty Computer

April 2018-April 2019
Dirt Poor Robins - TBA 1 song per month
Josh King - Into the Blue (singer from House of Fools) 

25: Spock's Beard - Noise Floor
Bend Sinister - Foolish Games

Confirmed Titles:
Antemasque - Saddle on the Atom Bomb
Between the Buried and Me - Automata II
Chic - It's About Time
Chromeo - Head Over Heals
Joey Eppard - Word to the Wise
Fish - Weltschmerz
Ours - Spectacular Sight
Josh Rouse - Love in the Modern Age
Sculptured - The Liminal Phase
Tears for Fears - The Tipping Point

Confirmed/Likely to be Released (but no Title or Release Date Yet)

Flying Colors
For the Imperium
Imogen Heap
Lehto and Wright
Native Construct
Neverending White Lights
The Sea Within - TBA (Spring 2018)
Shelter Red
Tiny Giant



Bruce Peninsula
Chroma Key
East of the Wall
Spencer Ludwig
Pepe Deluxe
Red Paintings, The
Jessy Ribordy new band/project
Sigur Rós
System of a Down

I'll believe it when I hold it in my hand

Guns N Roses

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Fjokra - Evening Lights [1B] (2018)

Yeah, this awesome. But it's Fjokra, go figure. The guy and his band are brilliant.

I may wear this thing out, but then again right now, can't be sure how much at work.

Here's an interview with Fjokra 

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

The Dear Hunter + BTBAM w/ Leprous @ First Avenue in MPLS 3/3/18

The set lists are all below. I can 1st add since it's March 6th, this is a delayed review of course (new yet screwed up, and soon to be exchanged Laptop being a big reason).

Leprous: they were fun, energetic. Their drummer has mad chops. I like the atmosphere and they had this wonderful cellist on tour with them. Their music though, I can't say I feel any more strongly about overall than I did before really. I suppose they do add presence, but when it comes down to it, I question if their style of prog metal will be something I will ever get obsessed with.

But I thought they set up the evening well and hardly lacked interest. And oddly, I don't recall a ton of chatting upstairs where I sat during their show. But to counter, maybe per time limits, their singer didn't have a ton of stage presence.

The Dear Hunter: Of course I guess this was kind of a slight-double bill, so they got a bit of a longer set than the Coheed show in 2017. The sound:..well I suppose was BETTER than the terribly low mix at the Coheed show. But maybe it's just my hearing, I still found their levels to be too low. Especially Casey's vocals. Maybe that was intentional? or last year with Coheed as well? I dunno.

I thought their performance was fanboy-biased, quite good still. Liked the little guitar solo during "Mustard Gas."

"This Old Haunt" I don't recall if they played on the last tour, nor the "Bitter Suite IV and V." I enjoyed "The Moon/Awake" of course as a closer.

The new EP tracks? I'm not sure if I could even recognize half the time, but it might just be my familiarity or like I mentioned, the mix/sound. Or maybe it's what I get for sitting/watching upstairs?..dunno.

But, I'm counting in my head, and I think this was my 10th or 11th show seeing them, going back to 2007 with Say Anything, Saves the Day and Meg and Dia at First Avenue.

Of course being a Lifetime Member, that numbers seems pretty understandable, and now 11 years later. And oddly, with BTBAM headlining First Avenue finally, maybe First Avenue is starting to come around on Prog? with Coheed, BTBAM and maybe TDH will find themselves headlining there too in the coming years.

As I told many there, the likes of dredg, Porcupine Tree and Fair to Midland got ignored but The Dear Hunter may have endured long enough not to find the same fate with First Avenue.

Between the Buried and Me, especially considering the set list was almost entirely from Parallax-Present. The new album? haven't heard it beyond the 1st song/video, but I hopefully will soon.

I'm not sure, but I guess the newer music, or even include The Great Misdirect, I can accept live easier. Now I'd still prefer the Colors/Alaska/Silent Circus tracks of course, but I get that they want to play the new stuff. Focus on it, etc. And the jury is still out on both Automata I and of course II later this year.

I did really enjoy mixing with the fans both at Pizza Luce beforehand..even saying a few words to Dan Briggs of BTBAM with a group of fans, and then meeting up with some huge fans of The Dear Hunter.

And then waiting in line, between sets, and afterwards. I can definitely say the BTBAM fans are usually really cool and down to earth (even the ones who moshed, lol). Which I'm not sure was as much the case for many of the Coheed fans last year (although I met some cool people there as well mind you).

Anyway..that's  more than enough detail for now. I do think this show and being among TDH fans, I really want to write and publish a RIYL/FFO entry for them soon (so anyone who cares, maybe look for it in the near future).

also cool to meet some people who came just for Leprous, although it wasn't their 1st show here, it was nice to meet some hardcore, underground prog metal fans in MN.
The Dear Hunter

The Old Haunt
Blame Paradise
The March
The Most Cursed of Hands
The Tank
The Bitter Suite IV and V: The Congregation and The Sermon in the Silt
Mustard Gas
The Revival
Witness Me
The Moon / Awake

Between the Buried and Me
Condemned to the Gallows
The Coma Machine
Dim Ignition
Astral Body
Lay Your Ghosts to Rest
Obfuscation (second half only)

Silent Flight Parliament
Goodbye to Everything Reprise

Play Video
The Flood
From the Flame
The Price

Short Update

-BTBAM/TDH/Leprous review? hopefully soon
-New Laptop?..not totally working out, per I struggle to type and thus BLOG with the cursor moving constantly, screwing up my text.

With the 1/2-foot of snow, my trip to the store I picked it up has been delayed. Hopefully by Saturday if not earlier.

-Been watching Bryan K Vaughan's Runaways adaptation on Hulu (thanks to a friend of the wife's again). Liking it, but the dialogue isn't as pop-culture filled or sarcastic as Y: The Last Man. Granted, BKV I don't think writes any of the screenplay or dialogue. I think he's just an Exec producer and Consultant. Also the fact I've never read them, and assumed they were more Superhero-y and Scifi-Drama like rather than the more character heavy YLM or even on Lost and Ex Machina. But the best news is YLM should be coming to FX from Eric Green (American Gods) sometime. But more info is needed about it.

-New Job duties has ended all listening at work to music, podcasts, video rips and even talk radio. Production Production Production and needing to focus, etc...hopefully it won't last forever.

YouTube/Podcasts and others..coming although with needing to do taxes, budget and finding a place to move to, who knows yet how much time I will be allowed in the coming weeks/months. Sucks even at my folks I can't per no internet or even tv until April 15th per they are in AZ and they shut their Comcrap bill off until then. I need a Hotspot I guess.

Kindo - Happy However After (2017-2018) (The Reign of Kindo now just KINDO)

 3/6/18 11:50AM

Per the Patreon postings, this new album officially comes out on April 13th, but also will be available on their upcoming East Coast Mini-Tour with Little Tybee.

Digital and CD initially

180 gram 45 RPM Vinyl coming, will be in a few months (not surprising).

Track Listing should be announced soon.

No automatic alt text available.

1/26/18 10:57PM
So, this is kind of big news, The Reign of Kindo are now going to be called KINDO. 

I have mixed feelings about this.

-With a shorter, simpler name, it's easier to tell people and for new/unfamiliar fans to remember their name
-It still is distinct and it does retain part of their original name. Plus many fans like myself just refer to them as "Kindo" anyway.

-They've been around for over 10 years, and they have slowly but steadily built up a decent Cult following. And for those who are fans, or even were fans in the past, will likely always think of them as The Reign of Kindo or TRoK. And this change may take a bit to get used to.

-I was trying to think of examples of bands who changed their name, even partially, that ended up finding more success and even just making music at the same quality as when they used their previous name. Especially this far into their career, and I struggled. The closest thing I came up with this afternoon was "The Dixie Dregs" which between that name, "The Dregs" and "Steve Morse" and.or Steve Morse Band." But I kind of see those more like Pat Metheny vs Pat Metheny Group or Neal Morse vs Neal Morse Band, etc.

But with those thoughts aside, this upcoming album Happy However After there are a lot of other factors for my personal feeling.

I still ADORE this band and also the fact I've heard like a dozen or more of the new songs, many which may not even be included. And some that may but in different arrangements. But among the dozen or whatever it is, songs I've been loving per their Patreon, I naturally have very big hopes for this album.

In fact I would say there's a good chance, by default, it would already be in my top 5 albums of 2017-2018 just per knowing at least a percentage of it already in 1 form/arrangement. And had they released an album last year, it very well could have been my Album of the Year.

More details of course coming about this album, hopefully rather soon.

The 1st single "Return to Me" though is below to check out already, a track I've been enjoying for awhile already per the Patreon.

Image may contain: shoes article with stream

Buffalo- and NYC-based prog/pop-rock outfit The Reign of Kindo are back with a new album and a slightly altered moniker, as the band is now known as just Kindo and will release their new record, Happy However After. Today, we premiere the album's lead single, "Return To Me." 

Return to Me also can be found here

Thursday, March 1, 2018

God is an Astronaut - Epitaph (2017-2018)

Release date is April 27th. 1st song/video.

kind of droney 1st track though.


1. Epitaph
2. Mortal Coil
3. Winter Dusk/Awakening
4. Seance Room
5. Komorebi
6. Medea
7. Oisín

Mew - Frengers [15th Anniversary Deluxe]

CD Preorder

Coming on May 11th. As much as I have multiple copies of this album, I can see wanting this, at least eventually. The 7 extra tracks I'm pretty sure I've heard via the Evil Office back in the day, but have yet to revisit in 10 years or more.

They're also playing the album live, but in Europe I recall. Would love to witness that one of course.

Image may contain: 1 person

No automatic alt text available.

Danish import of the 15th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of Frengers.

Mew's iconic album "Frengers" is considered one of the 00's most important Danish rock albums. It will be re-released on CD/double vinyl on the 11th of May with 7th additional tracks to celebrate 15 years since its original release.

Released: 11th May 2018


    Am I Wry? No
    Snow Brigade
    Behind The Drapes
    Her Voice Is Beyond Her Years
    Eight Flew Over, One Was Destroyed
    She Came Home For Christmas
    She Spider
    Comforting Sounds
    King Christian
    That Time On The Ledge
    City Voices
    I Should’ve Been A Tsin-Tsi For You
    Like Paper Cuts

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Spock's Beard - Noise Floor (2017-2018)

Coming out on May 25th, NDV is back on drums. More melodic.

Will check out of course.


Image may contain: night and outdoor

Spock’s Beard announce 13th studio album ‘Noise Floor’ 

Legendary US progressive rockers Spock’s Beard have announced the release of their 13th studio album ‘Noise Floor’ for 25th May 2018. As announced previously, for this album Ted Leonard, Alan Morse, Dave Meros & Ryo Okumoto are joined in the studio once again by drummer & original member Nick D’Virgilio, who records his first album with the band since 2010’s ‘X’.

Spock's Beard are a band who are in a continual state of evolution, as is always the case with genuinely creative musicians. And their new album, 'Noise Floor', fits perfectly into this process.
“We are always about evolution, not revolution. But what we have done this time is make the songs more melodic,” believes vocalist/guitarist Ted Leonard. “We still love our crazy prog, but now appreciate how important it is to grab people's attention early on.”

As with all Spock's Beard songs, most of the new album was written by the individual members, and then brought to the rest of the band as high quality demos. “We all do this type of thing in our home studios,” adds Leonard. “So, by the time they reach the stage where the entire band get to judge them, they are really developed, and therefore everyone can make a reasoned judgement.”
Much of what you will listen to here is very much the product of fresh inspiration from the Californian band.

One key change on this album sees the return of drummer Nick D'Virgilio, who originally left in 2011. There are also two violinists, a cello player, a viola player and an English horn featured on the album, thereby giving the sound a slightly more evocative and persuasive twist.

The album was once again engineered by long-time collaborator Rich Mouser and will be released as a 2CD digipak (featuring an EP of material from the same sessions), gatefold 2LP + 2CD & as digital download.
The track-listing is as follows:
Disc 1 – Noise Floor
1. To Breathe Another Day
2. What’s Become of Me
3. Somebody’s Home
4. Have We All Gone Crazy
5. So This Is Life
6. One So Wise
7. Box of Spiders
8. Beginnings

Disc 2 – Cutting Room Floor
1. Days We’ll Remember
2. Bulletproof
3. Vault
4. Armageddon Nervous

Look out for more information in the coming weeks!

Friday, February 23, 2018

Tax the Heat - Change Your Position (2017-2018)

So That Drummer Guy mentioned this UK band to me earlier today, per an interview he did with 1 of the members which is below.

I've of course never heard of them; and I checked out 1 of their most popular tracks from their last/debut album from 2016, and it's really quite good. Full of energy, riffy blues rock that reminds me of the likes of Wolfmother or White Denim as he compared them to.

Anyway, so this new album Change Your Position comes out on March 9th and I will definitely look to checking it out just hear that track below and the album preview.

Preorder link

Release date March 9, 2018

Image may contain: 4 people
1. Money in the Bank
2. Change Your Position
3. Playing With Fire
4. All That Medicine
5. On The Run
6. The Last Time
7. Taking The Hit
8. My Headspace
9. We Are Consumers
10. Cut Your Chains
11. Wearing A Disguise
12. The Symphony Has Begun

Inferi - Revenant (2017-2018)

The song below is awesome. It's odd, this American Metal band are listed as Melodic Death Metal, but unless I wasn't paying close enough attention, but I was getting more of a tech/death vibe.

So be it, I'm excited for this album, after turning my head a few times the other hearing that 1st single/last track "Behold the Bearer if Light."

1. Within the Dead Horizon
2. Condemned Assailant
3. A Beckoning Thrall
4. Through the Depths
5. Enraged and Drowning Sullen
6. Thy Menacing Gaze
7. Malevolent Sanction
8. Smolder in the Ash
9. Behold the Bearer of Light
releases April 21, 2018

Grimus - Unmanageable Species (2017-2018)

edit 2:
Physical CD
No automatic alt text available. 



1 Heart To Break 3:31
2 You End I 3:19
3 Dysfunctional 4:11
4 Albatross 4:29
5 Piblokto 4:32
6 Carelessly 3:15
7 Sunrise 3:22
8 TV and Booze 3:19
9 Illusions Have No Flaws 4:45

edit: 2nd video/single "Piblokto"

 I'm adding this here, but it's a bit hard to be fully confident without some research or more details, especially considering it seems this is being initially released at a Concert

Image may contain: 5 people, people smiling, text

But from the info I found and the article linked below, the concert and album is coming on Friday, February 23rd. I wonder if they will put it up on Bandcamp or 1 of the streaming sites (like the single below is) with more clear details.

Grimus of course are from Romania and their music is vaguely similar to Ours and some other bands I enjoy. I really enjoy all their albums, namely their last one from 2014 Emergence.

The 1st single "Carlessly" is below.

Article (in Romanian,but translated per Google)

The winter of 2018 brought a new material signed by Grimus, "Unmanageable Species". Recorded and mixed in Germany in August 2017, the disc will be released on February 23 through a concert to be held at Fratelli Studios in Bucharest. All nine tracks are in English, produced by Jan Kerscher.

Cover of the album

Track List?

Heart To Break
You End I
TV And Booze
Illusions Have No Flaws

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Janelle Monae - Dirty Computer (2017-2018)

 Details and 2 new songs/video

“Dirty Computer” - an emotion picture by Janelle Monáe arrives on 4.27.18

14 tracks per itunes

edit: Now having heard and watched both, I can follow this post she made on Twitter

These 2 songs/videos are more "out there" and controversial than many if not all of her other songs/videos. "Django Jane" being explicit verbally and basically being a Rap.
Although it is in a lot of ways taking the idea behind "Q.U.E.E.N."  "Categorize me I DEFY EVERY LABEL" etc.

The "Make Me Feel" song is not bad, and the video, I guess is explicitly provocative and sexual, which also seems like a departure to a point for Janelle. But I can see finding that fine.

I guess I like both tracks, but especially Django Jane, I hope fits a concept to this new album (although I like a lot of the pop-culture references, Decepticons?, and I would rather listen to Janelle rap over 99% of other rap or hip-hop artists...blechkendrickblechlamarblech).

No automatic alt text available.

No release date, but interesting to see Tessa Thompson in the trailer.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Josh King - Into the Blue (2017-2018) [RIYL: House of Fools]

As passionate fan of Josh's with House of Fools I am naturally curious to check this debut album out from him.

Yeah, it's being done per Kickstarter, which per the Goal and time, it seems quite likely to be a success.

I guess a lot of my interest is the fact we haven't seen a new House of Fools album since 2012, so I'm wondering if some of the best songwriting ideas could come on this.

Granted, I do know House of Fools are still active and are working on a new album, but maybe with a lot of song ideas, not all of those tunes will end up as HoF tracks. And maybe most importantly, this thing is already recorded, mixed, mastered and will definitely be coming out soon.

The next House of Fools album? who knows right now.

Also the projected time frame is APRIL 2018 per the pledge section.



Greensboro, North Carolina native Josh King needs your help to release his full-length album! As the longtime front man of the nationally touring rock band House of Fools, King has been running the musical gambit for 15 years and recently decided to record and release a solo effort. With the album already fully tracked, mixed, and mastered, King is turning to you, his friends and fans, to help with the final details. A variety of pre-order packages are available here at Kickstarter and the exclusive 
content will be updated frequently!