Friday, March 24, 2017

3/24/2017: On+Off Topic: HOLIDAY for me

Today, March 24th, 2017 is sort of a significant day in terms of a number of things happening.

#1 it is both the 6-month Wedding and 6-year (unofficially) Anniversaries for me and my wife. The 6th month was the wedding 9/24/16. Something her and I labored over for literally 18 months or more. And the truth is, there's still a few things to take care of (Thank You notes, gift storage, Photo prints, etc). The 6-Year anniversary is unlikely the date 3/24/11, that we went on our 1st date. It's close, and we hung out outside of KFAI at least twice (1 being at Cheapo+Davanni's in Uptown on a Saturday or Sunday, the other being 1 week night at Memory Lanes and then KFAI to practice for her Board Cerification). But months later and in 2012, we stuck with 3/24/11, even though I think the official 1st date was on a Saturday or possibly Sunday (I'm pretty sure a Saturday) in March of 2011 which looking at the Calendar, was likely the 26th. It may have been the 19th. But we went to a movie at the late Block E theater in downtown. The movie: Take Me Home Tonight (Topher Grace). Then we had dinner at The late Cafeteria in Uptown.  Sad how both venues are *late* aka gone/done, etc.

#2 The 22 album You Are Creating: Limb 1 is released along with the Tuxedo II. Tuxedo I can check out, but 22? I preordered the Vinyl, and would hope it would include a download link, but no dice as of right now. Why I have next to no faith in Preorders, even though I pass them along. I do them namely if the artist is small/underground, etc and genuinely needs my help ($). But the idea to expect an early or even on-the-release-date download link if you preorder a physical copy (Vinyl or CD), is really not something I expect. But it still sucks. It has been almost 7 year since the 22 debut album, having to wait a few more hours/days won't kill me. But it still seems unfair and silly on principal. If I ever did it, I would make sure to send the preorders a link, a few days before the release.

#3 The premiere of Wilson, the Daniel Clowes movie based on the Graphic Novel and his adapted screenplay. I'm not sure when I will get to see it. Maybe this weekend, maybe next week. It likely will be soon. It was of course filmed in the Twin Cities including down the street in St.Paul from my wife's place. And I met Woody Harrelson and a couple of other cast from it back in 2015. And last year I met Clowes himself, although he was in town doing a q and a and signing for his new book, not so much for Wilson. But it was very cool to finally meet him.

Where are the reviews? no idea. Chris Stuckmann, What the Flick? Collider Videos, Richard Roeper, Michael Phillips?..can't find them at this point.

It is only showing at Lagoon and Willow Creek in the Northwest Metro suburbs right now. Quite sad. Let's hope it receives more distribution soon; per the known reviews I've seen including at Sundance, have been very positive.


Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Anathema - The Optimist (2016-2017)

Facebook Announcement

June 9th, 2017 release date.

Certainly looking forward to this as espeically their last 3 records ( Distant Satellites, Weather Systems, We're Here Because We're Here) are somewhat Modern Classics (progressive college rock I suppose, as opposed to their older/earlier gothic doom/death metal).

Hopefully the 1st single will arrive relatively soon as that snippet below I don't know if it *teases* me enough as it's so brief.

I do recall reading that there is a Jazz and chamber element coming as some of the content on Social Media mentioned them using in the recording. Upright Bass among other instrumentation. Quite curious about that.



1. 32.63N 117.14W 1:18
2 Leaving It Behind 4:27
3 Endless Ways 5:49
4 The Optimist 5:37
5 San Francisco 4:59
6 Springfield 5:49
7 Ghosts 4:17
8 Can't Let Go 5:00
9 Close Your Eyes 3:39
10 Wildfires 5:40
11 Back to the Start 11:41

 

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Fjokra - Sick Kids (Teaser, 1B coming soon)



The new single drops sometime in April. I think the release show is April 24th, just seeing posts on Social Media.

Very excited for this (and hopefully more in 2017).

Grimus - Fregate [1B] (2017)

New single from Grimus which I thought I read had a guest vocalist, but now I'm not sure.

The actors in this video look familiar, mainly the guy, Cristian Grosu Jr.

Not sure if this is a sampling of what's to come in 2017 or not, but it's nice to hear something new from




Maybe in another life I make more sense in another country
Like two frigates sailing over the water
In Wing beats in sync

22 - You Are Creating: Limb 1 (2016-2017)

3/22/17 6:26AM



2nd single "INSPEC" which was released a few weeks ago on Spotify, Tidal, etc..not available for me.

Dig it, especially from about the 2:30 on.

The whole record is finally out on Friday. Also I don't recall if it is mentioned below, but this is the 1st of a 2-album series hence the named "Limb 1."

There is also an INSPEC official video coming supposedly, so I'll try and remember to bump this topic when it's posted.


2/22/17 9:30AM

the official video is finally up today, the 22nd of on the 2nd day of the year, haha.

Awesome song and cool video. Need to hear the album asap!

 


2/17/17 10:32AM
"You Are Creating" the title track is on SPOTIFY there.

I don't use Spotify at this point, so I haven't heard it yet. Hopefully it'll show up on their YouTube page soon as well.



2/3/17 12:05PM
bandcamp preorder 

New release date March 24th.

12/2/16 10:13AM

Coming out on February 22nd. Fucking FINALLY!!!!

It's been almost 7 long years since Flux.


 

Tracklist:

1. INSPEC
2. STAYING EMBODIED
3. SUM OF PARTS
4. A MUTATION OF THRUSHES
5. ADAM KADMON BODY MASS INDEX
6. ECTYPES
7. YOU ARE CREATING
8. NODE1


Preorder Link



A video posted by 22 (@22newenergymusic) on






10/14/14 1:05PM

Well here's a more detailed explanation about why Per left, and what went down. Including 1 of the comments from the band on FB, it seems You Are Creating will get re-recorded, at least the vocals. And the version with Per may not be released, at least at this time.

That seems fine and makes some sense going forward for the band. But I guess 1 or 2 questions come up still as a result.

1) If/when will the version with Per come out

2) if the version that the band are now going to make/finish/modify etc with Sturla is not as good as the Flux stuff namely, will there be a pining for the Per version of this record.

But I suppose certainly as a fan, I want to hear this of course, and to compare Sturla to Per may not be ultimately fair. It's a wait and see of course.

But in the short term, the timing of this record's release seems a bit down the road (likely in 2015 it seems), which I guess kind of sucks, but for the long term sake of the band, is understandable.

But I do hope the band decide to release the version with Per at some point, I mean considering it was recorded, mixed and mastered presumably.

Facebook
◊ People ◊
It is time to make an official statement about the proprietor of the main vocal chords of 22. 
During the course of last year, it became apparent that Per Fox Trollvik did not have the time to prioritise singing with 22. He is an extremely talented man, and a very very close friend, and it has been a tough process, feeling him moving in another direction than the consensus of 22. 
So we had some profound talks, a couple of tears, some nagging, some laughs, some trueness, and we mutually decided that he would leave the band.
· And you won't believe what happened next !· (socialmediareferenceintended)
The juices started flowing again. And suddenly everything started moving. And it struck us, that it was much worse, feeling the creepy breath of stagnation and halt, than it was releasing this relationship, and let go of Per.
We have done so much, experienced so much, together with this man. We have played so many gigs, met so many people, slept in so many weird places, drunken so many weird drinks and sung so many weird notes together.
But what one has experienced must never stand in the way for what is to be experienced, 
and now the venture of taking the leap further, without Per, is 22's current move. And Per has a lot of stuff going on, and can finally focus on those things fully.
For those of you who have followed 22 since the early days, know that we've had the same syndrome with singers as Spinal Tap had with drummers -> they explode and disappear.
But fret not ! 
When one piece of the puzzle moves to it's rightful place, after the puzzler forcefully, and charged by expectation and nostalgy, trying to make it fit where it just did not, another puzzlepiece has just been waiting to get to that place, and perfectly interconnect with the rest of the puzzle pieces . Puzzled ? Me too.. I'm not sure if i said anything at all, or if the sentenced nulled itself out logically, which again would leave me with a clean opportunity to rephrase this uttering:
Within 2 weeks a new singer came along. He manifested out of thick BLUE air. And it just clicked.
It is so freaking exciting, and everything comes alive (including the hills.)
The MUSIC is once again the main focus, and we ARE creating.
There will be a new update ( aka MUSIC ) with regards to our new singer.
His name is Sturla Fagerli Larsen.
Thanks Per, you really shaped the band, and was 1/4 of a god danged thrilling epoch of the life of 22.
This next guy, he just picks up where you left, and adds his special ingredient... So now the three of us (original members) discover new sides of ourselves and each other, because we are co-creating with this new, intriguing and very talented person. We are learning to really know each other, and are playing day and night, to manifest what we are feeling is possible together.
We will be playing some live shows in november, just to get out there, and breathe and feel the new music and constellation with the audience. We are so tired of not being out playing live. Now we have the four pieces ((abort potential puzzle-rant. red.)) that are committed to doing so.
We had recorded a new album with Per, and will know spend Desember recording and creating with Sturla, and release the music ASAP. So, a lot of work. But work is play, so then no one becomes a dull boy.
22 transforms and adapts, so that we can continue on our weird ass journey, and play our music with all of you inclined to our harmonies and rhythms, (and those who don't know they are.. YET.)
We had to change, and that is what makes us present.
We faced a CHANGE-or-DIE moment as a band.
I'm glad we changed.
Love,
Magnus.
( attached is a picture of Per amidst synthesizers )

( Bye, Per. We love you. )




6/10/14 11:15PM
Story + Video of "Ectypes" the new song, which the article gives will presumably be on this upcoming record.

for the english reading folks, hopefully your browser's translator works okay.

Nice piece, even as stripped down and slow as it seems. Nice mood anyway.

Probably the other most significant thing mentioned in this article.

With the new album You Are Creating coming out in September, they want this time to reach out to more and expand your audience.



1/04/14 6:20PM
But for those who like them, but haven't been following them, they have posted regular videos on Facebook and twitter sometimes in the past year.

http://www.adressa.no/kultur/article8445833.ece

Per Google Chrome's Translation Function Norwegian to English

22 is one of the spearheads in trondheim rock, and after they released their debut album "Flux" in 2010, they spent two years touring Europe in Japan. In autumn 2011 the band wrote an exclusive tour diary for adressa.no, and a few months later they won Adresseavisens music scholarship of 25 000. Now they started to record new album in Øra Studio, and the plan is that Trondheim Calling concert will be the first opportunity to hear songs from nyplata "You Are Creating" live.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10151760423036504



1/4/14 6:18PM

Not a substantial amount of directly announced information by the band or anything, but with a Facebook Photo and this article, it seem You Are Creating could be the title of this 2nd LP from the Norwegian-based Indie-Prog-Pop band.

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

The Year 1989 Albums Calendar + Rankings

Ok so here's finally a list and historical calendar for albums for a year in the 1980's.

I used to look at 1989 as an amazing year, and there's some great records , but compared to some other years, meh. It's TOP heavy I suppose.

1. King's X - Gretchen Goes to Nebraska
2. Rush - Presto
3. Fates Warning - Perfect Symmetry
4. Faith No More - The Real Thing
5. Dream Theater - When Dream and Day Unite
6. Marillion - Seasons End
7. XTC - Oranges and Lemons
8. Tears for Fears - The Seeds of Love
 9. Rush - A Show of Hands
10. Savatage - Gutter Ballet
11. Billy  Joel - Storm Front
12. Queen - The Miracle
13. Voivod - Nothingface
14. Watchtower - Control and Resistance
15. Peter Gabriel - Passion
16. Anderson Bruford Wakeman and Howe - Anderson Bruford Wakeman and Howe
17. Lenny Kravitz - Let Love Rule
18. TNT - Intuition
19, Linda Rondsadt featuring Aaron Neville - Cry Like a Rainstorm, Howl Like the Wind
20. Thinking Plague - In this Life

Rush A Show of Hands.jpg
Rush - A Show of Hands
rel January 9, 1989

TNT Intuition.jpg
TNT - Intuition
rel February 21, 1989

Orangesandlemons.jpg
XTC - Oranges and Lemons
rel February 27, 1989

DT WDADU.jpg
Dream Theater - When Dream and Day Unite
rel March 6, 1989

On Land And In The Sea.jpg
Cardiacs - On Land and in the Sea
rel May 2, 1989

Queen The Miracle.png
Queen - The Miracle
rel May 22, 1989

24-7 Spyz Harder Than You.jpg
24-7 Spyz - Harder Than You
rel May 1989

Passion Cover Artwork.jpg
Peter Gabriel - Passion
rel June 5, 1989

AndersonBrufordWakemanHowe album.jpg
Anderson Bruford Wakeman and Howe - Anderson Bruford Wakeman and Howe
rel June 20, 1989

The Real Thing album cover.jpg
Faith No More - The Real Thing
rel June 20, 1989


King's X Gretchen Goes to Nebraska.jpg
King's X - Gretchen Goes to Nebraska
rel June 27, 1989


Letter from Home (cover).jpg
Pat Metheny - Letter from Home
rel June 29, 1989

BeastieBoysPaul'sBoutique.jpg
The Beastie Boys - Paul's Boutique
rel July 25, 1989

Perfect symmetry.jpg
Fates Warning - Perfect Symmetry
rel August 16, 1989

A young woman photographed in black and white wears an all-black, military-styled uniform accented by silver-plated accessories. A spotlight shines on her face. To her left reads the text "Janet Jackson's Rhythm Nation 1814".
Janet Jackson - Rhythm Nation 1814
rel September 19, 1989

Controlandresistance.jpg
Watchtower - Control and Resistance
rel August 1989

Seeds of LoveLP.jpg
Tears for Fears - Seeds of Love
rel September 12, 1989

Lenny Kravitz-Let Love Rule (album cover).jpg
Lenny Kravitz - Let Love Rule
rel September 19, 1989

MarillionSE.jpg
Marillion - Seasons End
rel September 25, 1989

Untitled
Thinking Plague - In this Life
rel September 1989

Album Cry Like A Rainstorm.jpg
Linda Rondstadt featuring Aaron Neville -  Cry Like a Rainstorm, Howl Like the Wind
rel October 3, 1989

Voivod - Nothingface.jpg
Voivod - Nothingface
rel October 13, 1989

BillyJoel StormFront.jpg
Billy Joel - Storm Front
rel October 17, 1989

Rush Presto.jpg
Rush - Presto
rel November 21, 1989

Gutterballlet.jpg
Savatage - Gutter Ballet
rel December 1, 1989

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

MASTER LIST/LINKS: RFA/[YEAR] Chronologies+Rankings

Okay, so this is sort of a 1-stop shop for all of the Retro Calendar and Albums of the Year in the Past entries, and I have put together some semi-accurate Rankings of many if not all the albums on said lists.

Of course the intention and belief is I'll add and bump this entry with each entry individual Year's list added into the blog, etc.

also of course: some of these lists may change, which is why these are only semi-accurate.

1965


1. The Beatles - Rubber Soul
2, The Beatles - Help!
3. The Who - My Generation
4. Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited
5. The Beach Boys - Summer Days (and Summer Nights!)
6. John Coltrane - Love Supreme
7. The Beach Boys - Party!
8. The Moody Blues - The Magnificent Moodies
9. The Beach Boys - The Beach Boys Today!
10. The Rolling Stones - Out of Our Heads

1966



1. The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds
2. The Beatles - Revolver
3. The Monkees - The Monkees
4. Frank Zappa - Freak Out
5. The Beatles - "Yesterday"... and Today
6. The Beach Boys - Good Vibrations
7. Simon and Garfunkel - The Sound of Silence
8. The Who - A Quick One While's He's Away

1967



1. The Beatles - Sergeant Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
2. The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Are You Experienced
3. The Beatles - Magical Mystery Tour
4. The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Axis: Bold as Love
5. Cream - Disreali Gears
6. The Monkees - Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn and Jones LTD
7. Pink Floyd - Piper at the Gates of Dawn
8. The Moody Blues - Days of Future Passed
9. The Doors - The Doors
10. The Monkees - Headquarters
11. Jefferson Airplane - Surrealistic Pillow
12. Procul Harum - Procol Harum
13. The Beach Boys - Smiley Smile
14. The Monkees - More of the Monkees
15. The Who - The Who Sell Out
16. The Rolling Stones - Between the Buttons

1968

Jimi Hendrix - Electric Ladyland.jpg
1. The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Electric Ladyland
2. Van Morrison - Astral Weeks
3. The Monkees - Head
4. The Beatles - The White Album
5. Cream - Wheels of Fire
6. The Moody Blues - In Search of the Last Chord
7. Simon and Garfunkel - Bookends
8. The Zombies - Odyssey and Oracle
9. The Monkees - The Bird the Bees and the Monkees
10. Pink Floyd - Saucerful of Secrets

1969

The cover of Abbey Road has no printed words. It is a photo of the Beatles, in side view, crossing the street in single file.

1. The Beatles - Abbey Road
2. King Crimson - In the Court of the Crimson King
3. Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin
4. Frank Zappa - Hot Rats
5. Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin II
6. The Who - Tommy
7. Miles Davis - In a Silent Way
8. Blind Faith - Blind Faith
9. Pink Floyd - More
10. Fairport Convention - Liege and Lief
11. Soft Machine - Volume Two
12. Chicago - The Chicago Transit Authority
13. Crosby Stills and Nash - Crosby Stills and Nash
14, Yes - Yes
15. Pink Floyd - Ummagumma

1970

AtomHeartMotherCover.jpeg

1. Pink Floyd - Atom Heart Mother
2. Genesis - Trespass
3. King Crimson - In the Wake of Poseidon
4. Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin III
5. Soft Machine - Third
6. Crosby Stills Nash and Young - Dejavu
7. Emerson Lake and Palmer - Emerson Lake and Palmer
8. Simon and Garfunkel - Bridge Over Troubled Water
9. Gentle Giant - Gentle Giant
10. George Harrison - All Things Must Pass
11. Michael Nesmith - Loose Salute
12. Derek and the Dominoes - Layla and Other Love Stories
13. Van Morrison - Moondance
14. Black Sabbath - Paranoid
15. The Beatles - Let it Be
16. Michael Nesmith - Magnetic South
17. Yes - Time and a Word
18. Deep Purple - In Rock
19. Miles Davis - Bitches Brew
20. The Who - Live at Leeds
21. Chicago - Chicago II

1971

Fragile.jpg

1. Yes - Fragile
2. Genesis - Nursery Cryme
3. Pink Floyd - Meddle
4. Emerson Lake and Palmer - Tarkus
5. The Who - Who's Next
6. Yes - The Yes Album
7. Mahavishnu Orchestra - The Inner Mounting Flame
8. Led Zeppelin - IV
9. Jethro Tull - Aqualung
10. Black Sabbath - Master of Reality
11. David Bowie - Hunky Dory
12. Marvin Gaye - What's Going On
13. The Allman Brothers - Live at Fillmore East

1972

Foxtrot72.jpg
1. Genesis - Foxtrot
2. Pink Floyd - Obscured by Clouds
3. Emerson Lake and Palmer - Trilogy
4. Yes - Close to the Edge 
5. Wishbone Ash - Argus
6. Renaissance - Prologue
7. Michael Nesmith and the 2nd Nation Band - Tantamount to Treason Volume One
8. Premiata Forneria Marconi - Per Un Amico
9. Gentle Giant - Octopus
10. Stevie Wonder - Talking Book
11. David Bowie - The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars
12. Deep Purple - Machine Head
13. Black Sabbath - Vol 4
14. Nick Drake - Pink Moon
15. The Rolling Stones - Exile on Main Street
16. Deep Purple - Made in Japan
17. Neil Young - Harvest
18. Styx - Styx
19. Return to Forever/Chick Corea - Return to Forever
20. Emerson Lake and Palmer - Pictures at an Exhibition

1973

JethroTullAPassionPlay.jpg

1. Jethro Tull - A Passion Play
2. Genesis - Selling England by the Pound
3. The Who - Quadrophenia
4. Renaissance - Ashes are Burning
5. Led Zeppelin - Houses of the Holy
6. King Crimson - Lark's Tongue in Aspic
7. Yes - Tales from Topographic Oceans
8. Pink Floyd - The Dark Side of the Moon
9. Herbie Hancock - Headhunters
10. Emerson Lake and Palmer - Brain Salad Surgery
11. Mahavishnu Orchestra - Birds of Fire
12. Stevie Wonder - Innervisions
13. Yes - Yessongs
14. Return to Forever - Hymns of the Seventh Galaxy
15/ Bruce Springsteen - The Wild, the Innocent and the E Street Shuffle
16. Queen - Queen
17. Billy Cobham - Spectrum
18. Genesis - Genesis Live
19. Carmen - Fandangos in Space
20. Styx - Styx II
21. Elton John - Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
22. Bruce Springsteen - Greetings from Asbury Park
23. Premiata Foerneria Marconi - Photo of Ghosts
24. Gentle Giant - In a Glass House

1974

Relayer front cover.jpg

1. Yes - Relayer
2. Jerry Goodman and Jan Hammer - Like Children
3. King Crimson - Red
4. Genesis - The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway
5. Queen - Sheer Heart Attack
6. King Crimson - Starless and Bible Black
7. Renaissance - Turn of the Cards
8. Todd Rundgren's Utopia - Todd Rundgren's Utopia
9. Kansas - Kansas
10. Queen - Queen II
11. Rush - Rush
12. Gryphon - Red Court to Gryphon Three
13. Supertramp - Crime of the Century
14. Tangerine Dream - Phaedra
15, Return to Forever - Where Have I Known You Before
16. Frank Zappa - Apostrophe (')
17. 10cc - Sheet Music
18. Electric Light Orchestra - Eldorado
19. Stevie Wonder - Fulfillingness' First Finale
20. Camel - Mirage
21. Gentle Giant - The Power and the Glory
22. Joni Mitchell - Court and Spark

1989
King's X Gretchen Goes to Nebraska.jpg

1. King's X - Gretchen Goes to Nebraska
2. Rush - Presto
3. Fates Warning - Perfect Symmetry
4. Faith No More - The Real Thing
5. Dream Theater - When Dream and Day Unite
6. Marillion - Seasons End
7. XTC - Oranges and Lemons
8. Tears for Fears - The Seeds of Love
 9. Rush - A Show of Hands
10. Savatage - Gutter Ballet
11. Billy  Joel - Storm Front
12. Queen - The Miracle
13. Voivod - Nothingface
14. Watchtower - Control and Resistance
15. Peter Gabriel - Passion
16. Anderson Bruford Wakeman and Howe - Anderson Bruford Wakeman and Howe
17. Lenny Kravitz - Let Love Rule
18. TNT - Intuition
19, Linda Rondsadt featuring Aaron Neville - Cry Like a Rainstorm, Howl Like the Wind
20. Thinking Plague - In this Life

1991

Parallels album.jpg
1. Fates Warning - Parallels
2. Shadow Gallery - Shadow Gallery
3. Galactic Cowboys - Galactic Cowboys
4. Marillion - Holidays in Eden
5. U2 - Achtung Baby
6. Queen - Innuendo
7. Saigon Kick - Saigon Kick
8. Savatage - Streets: A Rock Opera
9. Various Artists - Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey Soundtrack
10. Rush - Roll the Bones
11. Ozric Tentacles - Strangeitude
12. Crimson Glory - The Strange and the Beautiful
13. R.E.M. - Out of Time
14. Pearl Jam - Ten
15. Fish - Internal Exile
16. Mr. Bungle - Mr. Bungle
17. Van Halen - For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge
18. Voivod - Angel Rat

1994

MarillionBrave.jpg
1. Marillion - Brave
2. Dream Theater - Awake
3. Jeff Buckley - Grace
4. Savatage - Handful of Rain
5. Queensryche - Promised Land
6. King's X - Dogman
7. Pink Floyd - The Division Bell
8. Fates Warning - Inside Out
9. Atomic Opera - For Madmen Only
10. Tiles - Tiles
11, Boston - Walk On
12. Cirque Du Soleil - Alegria
13. Dean Magraw - Broken Silence
14, Live - Throwing Copper
15. Pushmonkey - Maize

2002

Dredgelcielo.jpg
1. dredg - El Cielo
2. Pain of Salvation - Remedy Lane
3. Call Florence Pow - The Strange Situation
4. Dream Theater - Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence
5. Archive - You All Look the Same to Me
6. Ours - Precious
7. Sigur Rós - ()
8. Shaman - Ritual
9. Broken Social Scene - You Forgot It in People
10. Clann Zú - Rua
11. Murder By Death - Like the Exorcist, but More Breakdancing
12. Porcupine Tree - In Abesntia
13. Three - Half Life
14. Pat Metheny - Speaking of Now
15. Opeth - Deliverance
16. Silverchair - Diorama
17. Weather Report - Live and Unreleased
18. Spock's Beard - Snow
19. Kevin Gilbert - The Kaviar Sessions
20. Peter Gabriel - Up
21. Anathallo - Sparrows
22. Superior - Ultima Ratio
23. David Bowie - Heathen
24. The Mars Volta - Tremulant [EP]
25. The Decemberists - Castaways and Cutouts
26. Do Make Say Think - And Yet And Yet
27. SikTh - How May I Help You?
28. Doves - The Last Broadcast
29. Enchant - Blink of an Eye
30. Agalloch - The Mantle
31. Godspeed You Black Emperor - Yanqui U.X.O.

2005

Bthats.jpg

1. The Receiving End of Sirens - Between the Heart and the Synapse
2. Coheed and Cambria - Good Apollo 1: I'm Burning Star IV: From Fear through the Eyes of Madness
3. dredg - Catch Without Arms
4. Oceansize - Everyone Into Position
5. The Mars Volta - Frances the Mute
6. Imogen Heap - Speak For Yourself
7. Mew - And the Glass Handed Kites
8. Subterranean Masquerade - Suspended Animation Dreams
9. Porcupine Tree - Deadwing
10. Opeth - Ghost Reveries
11. Bend Sinister - Through the Broken City
12. Between the Buried and Me - Alaska
13. Time of Orchids - Sarcast While
14. Klimt 1918 - Dopoguerra
15. Neverending White Lights - Act I: Goodbye Friends of the Heavenly Bodies
16. Gospel - The Moon is a Dead World
17. Karnivool - Themata
18. Kaddisfly - Buy Our Intention: We'll Buy You a Unicorn
19. The Decemberists - Picaresque
20. Margot and the Nuclear So and So's - Dust of Retreat
21. Josh Rouse - Nashville
22. The New Pornographers - Twin Cinema
23. Sufjan Stevens - Illinois
24. Bloc Party - Silent Alarm
25. Burst - Origo
26. Shadow Gallery - Room V
27. Gojira - From Mars to Sirius
28. God is an Astronaut - All is Violent, All is Bright
29. Avenged Sevenfold - City of Evil
30. The Ebb and Flow - Time to Echolocate
31. Pat Metheny - The Way Up
32. King's X - Ogre Tones
33. Shaman - Reason 

Vague News: The River Empires+Gloomcatcher+Unnamed Project

Image may contain: 1 person

https://twitter.com/JessyRibordy/status/810210940016685057

I've been trying to follow everything Jessy has been doing after the end of Falling Up a couple of years ago, and I noticed a game Bethel Woods, a new board game I think based on some of his recent writing, was released:




But the potentially BIG news, is that twitter question above confirming there are still *plans* for The River Empires, The Gloomcatcher and this unnamed new project to happen.

But, 7 years since Epilogue came out,..the time frames on all that stuff I suspect is still unclear.

This new project, may be the thing with the soonest arrival time given its new and thus likely something with current motivation.

Blah Blah Blah...it's all just hope right now I guess. I do know Jessy has been busy doing other things other than music (writing, and likely the development with this new game), so that just makes sense to remain patient as possible. A bit like Matt Mahaffey and sElf, after hearing that podcast this week, it is totally understandable why there hasn't been all that much sElf music the last decade, because he's paying his bills doing other things outside of the band I/the fans love.

But that post above does at least bring some light to The River Empires and The Gloomcatcher not being 1-album wonders, etc.

I suppose if I knew some people to play it with (unlikely my wife), I might want to look into Bethel Woods at least. I should try reading up on it I guess.

And as far as the Unnamed band, I still can't help but hope somehow Casey Crescenzo could be involved, but despite his moving to the state of Washington which is geographically closer to Jessy (whose in Portland, Oregon) than in SoCal of course, per Casey's schedule and few times I've heard him talk about Jessy and TRE in questions/interviews, I don't know if he's in regular contact with Jessy. But I'd love to find out he was and just being quiet about it (or not asked recently enough, etc).


edit:

Jessy just followed up in a post from a minutes ago, Noon 3/15/17 . Like I posted above, I suspect he's referring to the new unnamed project.

I'm waiting to announce until the first single and artwork are ready so that it's special. Keep holding tight. You're all the best!

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Matt Mahaffey aka sElf on Recording Studio Rockstars Podcast (90+ mins)



http://recordingstudiorockstars.com/rsr069-matt-mahaffey-the-band-self-composing-music-for-cartoons/

I've made it through a little over an hour of this 1h 48 minute podcast (I've been interrupted/busy at work of course) and while some topics may not be brought up, like a lot of his own music/songs and even detailed History with sElf. And Apes and Androids/Call Florence Pow; there's still a ton of good insight and information about Matt's history and where he is now. His career for scoring Animated movies and television, and producing work.

Even just his way of producing/recording drums and drum production/sound etc.

Drummers, in other words, would probably enjoy hearing this, along with people who want to produce and engineer recording.

My comparison to Kevin Gilbert and where Kevin might be if he were alive, kind of is even more supported by Matt's career. Although I sense Matt's not really as much of a control freak or even a perfectionist, to the same degree Kevin was.

But the man is prolific and has found a way to make a good living out of doing it, the same thing Kevin was doing back in the 90's. And also the same thing Jason Nesmith (1 of Mike's sons) does. Even Adam Schlesinger of Fountains of Wayne (and Stewart Copeland has done as well), have done.

I do hope Matt does have the opportunity to compose/score music for a Live Action movie/(s) given how he said he wants to if for no other reason, it would be less time-consuming and easier per his difficulty/time demands to do them for Animated shows and film.

Anyway, I'll hopefully be able to finish it in the next day or 2, and maybe some insight into what his plans are in the near future outside of Scoring..sElf music or producing perhaps. Would love for him to work with someone like Kimbra or Fjokra. Kimbra oddly enough, I noticed on twitter follows Brian Jacobs (Majestyy) which who knows how she found him (me/my blog? I doubt it, but who knows), but it's very cool to notice that. Maybe Majestyy will do a Kimbra remix? or even work with her someday. She does now live in NYC anyway (Brian and Apes and Androids being from Brooklyn too).

Also I may have to check out more of this podcast now. The host sounds an awful lot like Alex Dandino to me (of The Dear Hunter Graphic Novels and Podcasts with Casey).

Pop Music History Website (1958-2016, Billboard Top 5's)

https://pudding.cool/2017/03/music-history/index.html

I shared this the other day on Social Media and some forums, after seeing on the dreamtheaterforums.

It had myself and my wife kind of addicted for a couple of hours on Sunday afternoon, until it unfortunately crashed her 2012 Macbook Pro (she's not a PC person, and I am, but regardless, 2012 sadly, kind of says it all at this point in that she needs a new Mac laptop).

Pick any year and it goes through week-by-week, month-by-month, etc showing the top 5 songs, playing #1, which I believe is from Billboard.

It starts at 1958 and goes all the way up through the end of 2016 I guess.

Seeing the mid and even late 90's on, it was reminder, like many of the WatchMojo lists for music, of how gawd awful Popular Music, and specifically the stuff that charted/people bought, the last 20 years or so.

Many of the songs from 2000's that literally spent months at #1, I had never heard, or even heard-of the artist, lol.

Even stuff like Coldplay or whatever, didn't unseat some of them.

But the counter to that is looking at the charts in the 80's or a lot of the late 60's and 70's, it's neat to see certain songs take down others, or not be able to for the #1 song. Beatles vs Monkees, Michael Jackson vs Madonna.

And the Bee Gees, good lord, between their own hits beyond Stayin Alive, they had something like 12 #1's. And then the solo members/Gibbs brothers had a number of them in the late 70's early 80's. And I guess also some of the #1's that were from others were actually written by some of the Bee Gees.

Talk about dominating the Charts.

Why when Watchmojo Did a Top 10 Billboard #1's for each decade, it was baffling none of their songs were in there. 1 comment said because the list was for "Rock" which the Bee Gees weren't, but stupid semantic arguments didn't really reflect their domination of the charts at all.


Now, and I posted to this site's twitter account, they should try and setup another 1 of these for ALBUMS charted, which I think may not be highly better, but still worth comparing to for the last 2 decades, and of course the "Album Era" per 1967-1975 especially.

But this site is not exclusively for music, it's like a graphing statistical display analysis site for any number of topics, so Music may not be a priority necessarily. But if they do do an ALBUMS one eventually, I'll try and pass it along of course.

Bullet Height - No Atonement (2016-2017)

https://bulletheight.tmstor.es/


Berlin-based electronic-rock duo Bullet Height, featuring Jon Courtney (Pure Reason Revolution) and Sammi Doll (IAMX touring member), release their much-anticipated debut album ‘No Atonement’ for 19th May 2017.

10 tracks of dark, primal conviction, pulped with the avant-garde, fusing industrialised electronica, heavy guitars and heartbreakingly sweet melodies.


Preorder links there for CD and what looks like a Turquise/Teal Vinyl from Superball Music.

May 19th release.

The 1st single/video below "Hold Together."

The similarities to especially the last Pure Reason Revolution album Hammer and Anvil are certainly there, but I still am curious to hear what they do on this album, beyond the 1st single and I recall the other stuff they put out previously.

Industrial/Synthy rock with a lot of vocals with distortion.

I would think certainly the PRR fans will want to check this out among others.

Image may contain: 1 person, standing and text

1. Fight Song
2. Bastion
3. Hold Together
4. Wild Words
5. Intravenous
6. Cadence
7. No Atonement
8. Break Our Hearts Down
9. Fever
10. Up To The Neck


Monday, March 13, 2017

REACT TO: Sound Opinions One-and-Done Podcast (1 album only artists)

http://soundopinions.org/show/589

So Sound Opinions did a neat themed-show this past week about One-and-Done or 1-album and then the artist/band never made a full length album again.

I want/wanted to find the time to write about many of these, but alas, I'm in the middle of about 3 or 15 projects not involving Music/Entertainment (Taxes, a Car accident, etc), and not enough time to go into detail about so many of these. Many of them are all-time favorites, but this is not exactly a full ranking, other than maybe the 1st 4-5, or so.

But all of these albums I do enjoy and find quite to as I said, all-time favorites.

And a reunion album of any kind from any of them would be totally welcome and something I would certainly get excited about.

Maybe, but unlikely more later. But they'll show up in this blog of course in many other entries. Namely the Calendar Year Chronologies and Rankings I've been doing.


Blood Moon (album).jpg
Apes and Androids - Blood Moon (2008)

Toy Matinee.jpg
Toy Matinee - Toy Matinee

Fiesta Fiesta Fiesta Fiesta! album cover.jpg
The Stiletto Formal - !Fiesta Fiesta Fiesta Fiesta! (2008)

Jeff Buckley grace.jpg
Jeff Buckley - Grace (1994)


Crotchduster - Big Fat Box of Shit (2004)

The Moon Is a Dead World
Gospel - The Moon is a Dead World (2005)

Grammatics-grammatics-2009.jpg
Grammatics - Grammatics (2009)


TCHTOB
Jared Micah and Hats - T.C.H.T.O.B. (2007)

Album cover collage with an artistic blue mountain range in the background and a brown/grey rocky landscape containing a guitar, a drum, two keyboards, and lengths of electrical wire in the foreground.
Late of the Pier - Fantasy Black Channel (2008)

MenWomen&Children.jpg
Men Women and Children - Men Women and Children (2006)

Нажмите, чтобы увеличить
Sans Seraph - After the Rain (2006)

A Sceptic's Universe.jpeg
Spiral Architect - A Skeptic's Universe (2000)

Super 8
Super 8 - Super 8 (1996)

PNG
Under the Influence of Giants - Under the Influence of Giants (2006)


Xen - 84.000 Dharma Doors (1999)

Riteofstrings.jpg
Stanley Clarke, Al Di Meola, Jean Luc-Ponty - The Rite of Strings (1995)

Everything Last Winter
Fields - Everything Last Winter (2007)


Vuvuzela - The Hollow Choir (2012)


The River Empires - The River Empires (Epilogue) (2010)


Bubblemath - Such FIne Particles of the Universe (2001)

Dukes of Stratosphear PsonicPsunspot.jpg
The Dukes of Stratosphear - Psonic Psonspot (1987)

Dissociatives cover.jpg
The Dissociatives - The Dissociatives (2004)

BlindFaithBlindFaith.jpg
Blind Faith - Blind Faith (1969)



Under The Sun - Under the Sun (2000)

Tierra Tragame
Opus Dai - Tierra Tragame (2006)


Saturnalia The Gutter Twins.jpg
The Gutter Twins - Saturnalia (2008)

Arrival
Aviatic - Arrival (2005)


Dali's Dilemma - Manifesto for Futurism (1999)


The Book of Right On - All These Songs About Music (2010)

Fish Out of Water (Chris Squire album) cover art.jpg
Chris Squire - Fish out of Water (1975)


note. - my city of ghosts, stars and hours (2009)

Untitled
Eroica - Hisen the Architect (2008)

Untitled
Centaur Rodeo - Tongues of Flame (2007)


Sholi - Sholi (2009)

Untitled
Slowlands - Never Was There a Town (2006)

The Gloomcatcher - Slow Chorale (2010)

Clor
Clor - Clor (2005)


Forest Park - Forest Park (2012)

Untitled
Henry and the Nightcrawlers - 100 Blows (2010) 

Albums from Artists/Bands who are not broken up/on a long hiatus as far as what they've said in public, but with lack of Social Media presence, it seems possible a new album may not come out for awhile if ever.

Orphan Bloom0001
Orphan Bloom - Orphan Bloom (2010)




Journal - Unlorja (2010)

Clone | Clone
Clone - Clone (2014)

Untitled
NewVillager - New Villager (2011)


Between Two Skies - A Thousand Conscious Moments (2007)

Untitled
The Rockwells [USA] - Place and Time (2008)



Wide Awake
Canon - Wide Awake (2007)



Mike Linden - Bubble and Squeak (2012) 

Electromagnets
Electromagnets - Electromagnets (1975)
they don't qualify as they recorded a reunion album in 2005, but they most definitely would have before then. Eric Johnson's featured jazz-fusion band in the mid 70's. A very enjoyable record.

Bands with 1 album under said name, but then later changed their band to a different name. Not exactly qualifying. Although technically Call Florence Pow/Apes and Androids falls under this one as well.





Kunek - Flight of the Flynns (2006)
Now known as Other Lives.

Untitled
Cavil at Rest - Orion Way (2007)
Now known as Local Natives

No automatic alt text available.
What's Left of Her - Perceptions (2010)
Now known as Save Us from the Archon


Happy Body Slow Brain - Dreams Of Water (2010)

Became known as Rare Futures.