Friday, January 19, 2018

Between the Buried and Me - Automata I (2017-2018)

1/19/18

"Condemned to the Gallows"

like it. It has a bit of an Alaska-feel to it.

Also this album is Part 1 of 2 (per the "I") in the title. Granted, I enjoyed Parallax I quite a lot. Nuff said.



1/18/18
Image may contain: night and indoor
1. Condemned to the Gallows (6:35)
2. House Organ (3:41)
3. Yellow Eyes (8:45)
4. Millions (4:43)
5. Gold Distance (1:02)
6. Blot (10:27)




Short Clip

We’re excited to announce our two-part album Automata! Part I will be released on March 9th viaSumerian Records and we’ll be touring this March with The Dear Hunter & Leprous.

VIP on sale now (limited to 1000 total):http://www.showstubs.com/btbam
Pre-orders and tickets on sale this Friday


March 9th, 2018.

Will try and edit the track list and such on Friday or soon after.

I honestly though just will repeat what I've said about the last couple of albums.

Will listen, but I can't honestly say I'm expecting to love this. Another concept album? which I guess could make it something I could enjoy more. I just would love to have them write more concise songs, and also don't lose the growling.

Also odd as this says it's on Sumerian Records. I thought they were on Metal Blade? maybe their contract was only for 2 albums?
Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Thursday, January 18, 2018

2017-2018 Calendar/Projected Anticipated [AS OF WINTER 2018]

1/17/18-1/18/18

January
18: Cloud Cult - The Great Alone (OST, Instrumental)

March
9: Between the Buried and Me - Automata I
16: The Decemberists - I'll Be Your Girl

Confirmed/Likely to be Released
Genders

*speculation/hope*
Grimus

1/8/18

April

20: Kimbra - Primal Heart

12/20/17
December
Esperanza Spalding - Exposure (+Undeveloped)

Confirmed Title
Josh Rouse - Love in the Modern Age



10/15/17 12:51PM
I post an entry like this every year or maybe 2-4 times a year, etc.

So I'm not sure if I'll bump this, or just post a few more of these over the next 3-6 mos.

The intention is to EDIT it and bump it; not *STICKIE* it per I don't desire to have 1 entry stuck at the top.

At any case, as the news, announcements, and speculation for new albums come up, this list will have more titles.

If any of the names get bumped up to be released before Halloween, obviously it'll be removed/posted likely separately. But given it's October 15th, the odds of that are not too high.

November

17: Galactic Cowboys - Long Way Back to the Moon

December
1: The Dear Hunter - All is as All Should Be [EP]
1: The Faceless - In Becoming a Ghost
1: Nicholas Krygovich - In an Open Field
1: U2 - Songs of Experience
8: Diablo Swing Orchestra - Pacifisticuffs
8: The Gloomcatcher - Blade in the Belfry [EP]
16: Greg Herriges / StellaRoma - Revel and Ritual
Esperanza Spalding - Exposure (+Undeveloped)

January and later:

January
12: Typhoon - Offerings
12: Umphrey's McGee - it's not us 
18: Cloud Cult - The Great Alone (OST, instrumental)
26: In Vain - Currents
26: Orphaned Land - Unsung Prophets and Dead Messiahs

February
2: Field Music - Open Here
2: Long Distance Calling - Boundless
23: Gleb Kolyadin - Gleb Kolyadin

March
9: Between the Buried and Me - Automata I
16: The Decemberists - I'll Be Your Girl

April
20: Kimbra - Primal Heart


Confirmed Titles:
Antemasque - Saddle on the Atom Bomb
Chic - It's About Time
Chromeo - Head Over Heals
Joey Eppard - Word to the Wise
Fish - Weltschmerz
Ours - Spectacular Sight
Josh Rouse - Love in the Modern Age
Sculptured - The Liminal Phase
Tears for Fears - The Tipping Point

Confirmed/Likely to be Released (but no Title or Release Date Yet)

Bend Sinister
Between the Buried and Me
Flying Colors
Foals
For the Imperium
Genders
Gotye
Imogen Heap
Lehto and Wright
Live
Monae, Janelle
Native Construct
Neverending White Lights
The Reign of Kindo
The Sea Within - TBA (Spring 2018)
Shelter Red
Soundscape
Spock's Beard
Tiny Giant
Vennart

------------------------------

*speculation/hope*

Bruce Peninsula
Chroma Key
Disillusion
dredg
East of the Wall
Extreme
The Family Crest
Fjokra
Grimus
Jazzkamikaze
Journal
Karnivool
Spencer Ludwig
Pepe Deluxe
Red Paintings, The
Jessy Ribordy new band/project
Sigur Rós
System of a Down


I'll believe it when I hold it in my hand

Guns N Roses
Tool

Pepe Deluxe - A Night and a Day (Live)



love this. Still anticipating weekly the next album and would love to see them live someday of course. At this point, I'd even settle for a live album or DVD/Stream etc of a full show.

complete Queen of the Wave would be so bloody epic.

Kimbra - Human [1B/Video] (2018)



Liking it. More energetic I suppose than the non-album track released a couple of weeks ago "Hi Def Distance Romance."

The video is odd, but not too out there. It does capture sort of the wording and images that come from the tital "Primal Heart" which I noticed in the lyrics and of course is the title of her upcoming album.

The email I just read and was pointed to this, there's a lot more. Kimbra (not unlike myself, or say Amanda Palmer) is a woman of many words. So, the emails aren't often short.

Anyway..digging it, although I am starting to think more and more this album could be polarizing, even more than The Golden Echo is/was. And may be best received down the road, or at least long after the initial impressions this Winter and Spring.

But there's more to come..quite a bit more, and regardless of how I feel, I love Kimbra's music so much, I am definitely happy for that.

Also the lyrics "Being Human" I can't avoid thinking of the cool late 2000's BBC Scifi Show, 1 which I highly doubt Kimbra knows,  but so be it (imagine a sync to clips?, lol)

Bend Sinister - Walk the Other Way [Official Video]



Interesting video, as the clips and messages visually fit the lyrics in many ways. The whole consequences of actions, and how doing or saying things differently or *other ways* could avoid bad experiences or even karma, lol.

I also have often pictured either the band, or Dan Moxon, or just some guy just yelling out as a result of frustration, "how many times do I have to say?????!!!!!!!!!!!" etc.

Typhoon at The Turf Club St.Paul, MN 1/17/18

Short review:

Typhoon played their 1st headlining show in Minnesota for the 1st time since 2013.

This may not be the 100% EXACT set list per I didn't know (or even could hear clearly) every song of the night, but I got this from the show in Utah on January 10th per setlist.fm.

I know they played "Remember" 1 of 3 favorites off Offerings. And I know they played Rorschach as well as I would guess 3-6 other songs from Offerings.

And I recall they played "Artificial Light" from White Lighter.

Common Sentiments
Hunger and Thirst
Rorschach
Summer Home
Darker
The Lake
Prosthetic Love
Possible Deaths
Remember
CPR / Claws Pt.2
Wake
Empiricist
Young Fathers

Encore:
The Honest Truth
Artificial Light

Anyway, to give some other basic details. The band had 7 or 8 members on stage, which for most bands would be quite a lot. But honestly, per my 1st/last experience seeing them at The Cedar Cultural Center with i'm almost certain at least 15 maybe more like 20 members both on stage and on the floor, Typhoon was a bit stripped down.

But still, great show, 2 drummers, a violinist, keyboards, 2 guitars, multiple singers besides Kyle Morton, etc.

And I follow why per cost. It can't be easy touring with that many people, etc.

The openers were pretty good. Sunbathe actually is Maggie from Genders new band, and were nice, sort of dream/shoegaze pop. She told me a new Genders album is coming soon too.
And Mimicking Birds actually I may check out now, as they had some of these cool guitar tones and moods. The crowd next to me for both openers and even for a bit of Typhoon, kept talking, which didn't help.

But overall fun show. And I definitely have more content about Typhoon soon per inspiration and of course that Chamber Folk/Rock/Pop entry sometime in the near future, which I have been working on here and there over the last few weeks.

Oh and also I did learn that A New Kind of House, the EP from 2011 from Typhoon actually features members of The Family Crest. A friend of mine who loves TFC and for that matter, the new TFC fans per The Dear Hunter tour, would have even more reason to check out Typhoon.

And of course vinyl coming on Video (both the new album and some cds and 7" I got at the show last night)

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

The Decemberists - I'll Be Your Girl (2017-2018)

New album coming on March 16th from The Decemberists. Like Between the Buried and Me, I honestly don't have a ton of expectations for this, but I will still check it out, The 1st single "Severed," tomorrow at work. Some comments are saying it's electronic. A bit like Josh Rouse's new music, and a big departure, which could be a good thing.

That thing Offa Rex that Colin Meloy did last year had intrigue, but ultimately didn't do a ton for me other than the 1st single.

And the tour dates below include St.Paul April 6th, but unless I love this thing, I can't be all that aggressive to see them again. I mean I might, but it seems the concert calendar keeps filling up and budgets, especially with needing to look for a new place to live, have to factor in with a lot of these (and I'm seeing Michael Nesmith next week in Hollywood, lol).


Image may contain: 2 people
1. Once In My Life
2. Cutting Stone
3. Severed
4. Starwatcher
5. Tripping Along
6. Your Ghost
7. Everything Is Awful
8. Sucker’s Prayer
9. We All Die Young
10. Rusalka, Rusalka / The Wild Rushes
11. I’ll Be Your Girl



The Decemberists — 2018 Tour Dates

03/22 Fox Theater @ Pomona, CA
03/23 Arlington Theatre @ Santa Barbara, CA
03/24 Innings Festival @ Tempe, AZ
04/06 Palace Theatre @ St. Paul, MN
04/08 Riverside Theater @ Milwaukee, WI
04/10 Chicago Theatre @ Chicago, IL
04/13-14 Ryman Auditorium @ Nashville, TN
04/15 Coca-Cola Roxy Theatre @ Atlanta, GA
04/16 North Charleston Performing Arts Center @ Charleston, SC
04/18 Charlotte Metro Credit Union Amphitheatre @ Charlotte, NC
04/19 Durham Performing Arts Center @ Durham, NC
04/20 The National @ Richmond, VA
04/21 The Anthem @ Washington, DC
04/23 Smith Opera House @ Geneva, NY
04/24 Agora Theatre @ Cleveland, OH
04/25 Peabody Opera House @ St. Louis, MO
05/22 Red Rocks Amphitheatre @ Morrison, CO +
05/23 Uptown Theater @ Kansas City, MO
05/25 Hill Auditorium @ Ann Arbor, MI
05/26 Artpark @ Lewiston, NY
05/27 Boston Calling Festival @ Boston, MA
05/28 MTELUS @ Montreal, QC
05/30 Sony Centre for the Performing Arts @ Toronto, ON
05/31 Benedum Center @ Pittsburgh, PA
06/02 Murat Theatre at Old National Centre @ Indianapolis, IN
06/05 Iroquois Amphitheater @ Louisville, KY
06/07 Mann Center for the Performing Arts @ Philadelphia, PA ^
06/08 College Street Music Hall @ New Haven, CT ^
06/09 The Green at Shelburne Museum @ Shelburne, VT ^
06/10 State Theatre @ Portland, ME ^
06/13 BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival at Prospect Park Bandshell @ Brooklyn, NY ^
06/15 MASS MoCA @ North Adams, MA
06/21 Paramount Theatre @ Seattle, WA ^
06/22-23 – Edgefield @ Troutdale, OR ^
08/04-05 Travelers’ Rest @ Missoula, MT

^ with M. Ward
+ with Whitney

Cloud Cult - The Great Alone [OST] (2017-2018)

Being officially released tomorrow, Thursday January 18th.

I definitely will be buying this, per my loyalty and love of Cloud Cult's music. It;s all instrumental, which honestly, may be really cool to hear.

I do recall Craig Minowa was interviewed by 1 or more people like a year or more ago talking about wanting to make all-instrumental music or albums, so maybe this is the 1st thing he and CC have done.

I suspect I'll want to check out the film after hearing this too (much like the new Nordic Giants, a film sadly I still have yet to see, and am unsure how to right now unfortunately).

Per Cloud Cult's Website

http://www.thegreatalone.com/




1.Great Alone Intro 3:40
2 Meditative Trail 3:30
3 Just Want To Be Like Dad 2:09
4 The First Win 2:24
5 Lance 3:01
6 Don't Tell Me I Can't 3:12
7 Cancer 3:03
8 Great Alone Close 02:53

The Dear Hunter + BTBAM + Leprous March/April NA Tour

This is a tour I can't be too surprised to see as there's been BTBAM fans among TDH fan base and TDH fans among the BTBAM fan base for a long time. Leprous? I guess is kind of an added bonus.

March 3rd, at First Avenue. I sent in my Lifetime Member email asap after I saw this announcement. I know those were at 1 time limited to HEADLINE shows, but the Coheed show last year I was lucky enough to be able to use it, so no harm in trying.

There is of course a VIP ticket for $75 which includes:

-General Admission Ticket
-Exclusive BTBAM/TDH Split 7 inch Vinyl
-Digital Download of Split 7 inch
-Tour Poster Signed by BTBAM and TDH
-Early Entry for Merch
-BTBAM - Automata I CD
-TDH - Act V: Hymns with the Devil in Confessional CD

which would be all well and good. The 7" split especially I'm curious about.

The 1 thing though I would think would be listed is RESERVED SEATING, which I see often upstairs at First Avenue shows, but not for this?

And of course while I enjoyed the Coheed/TDH show last May, I can't forget of course the almost PREDICTABLE chatter from Coheed fans behind me upstairs while TDH were playing. Hardly the 1st time, and I'm sure hardly the last. Makes me tempted to make a foldable sign in FLOURESCENT INK that says something more specific, but similar to this.

Related image

expect an edit, per I'm looking for but can't find the exact image.



 

Mar 02 House of Blues
Chicago, IL

Mar 03 First Ave
Minneapolis, MN


Mar 05 Ogden Theatre
Denver, CO

Mar 06 The Complex
Salt Lake City, UT

Mar 08 Showbox
Seattle, WA

Mar 09 Wonder Ballroom
Portland, OR

Mar 10 The Regency Ballroom
San Francisco, CA

Mar 11 House Of Blues
Anaheim, CA

Mar 13 Belasco Theater
Los Angeles, CA

Mar 15 House of Blues
Las Vegas, NV

Mar 16 Marquee
Phoenix, AZ

Mar 17 Sunshine Theater
Albuquerque, NM

Mar 19 Come and Take It Live
Austin, TX

Mar 20 Canton Hall
Dallas, TX

Mar 21 Warehouse Ballroom
Houston, TX

Mar 23 The Beacham Theater
Orlando, FL

Mar 24 Revolution
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Mar 27 Cannery Ballroom
Nashville, TN

Mar 28 Orange Peel
Asheville, NC

Mar 30 Mr. Smalls
Millvale, PA

Mar 31 Electric Factory
Philadelphia, PA

Apr 02 Upstate Concert Hall
Albany, NY

Apr 03 Royale
Boston, MA

Apr 04 Playstation Theater
New York, NY

Apr 05 Fillmore
Silver Spring, MD

Apr 06 Agora Theatre
Cleveland, OH

Apr 07
Emerald Theatre
Mt. Clemens, MI

Thursday, January 11, 2018

worldwidemediareviews.blogspot.com

https://worldwidemediareviews.blogspot.com/

This is just a quick shout-out to this new blog that was launched at the beginning of the year, and I suppose not only current but readers of this blog in the early days (2006-2007).

This is a new blog started by Rob, the founder of this blog, allmediareviews.blogspot.com .

Not going to try and explain tons of details, but after I forgot how long, probably about 6 months or maybe a year?, Rob got too busy and didn't have time to contribute in here and stopped blogging. And I went solo in-effect. 

Rob and his wife had family to worry about, etc.

Anyway, it seems Rob's now back blogging about Rock music. Prog namely, Rush, Dream Theater and a lot of other good stuff. His newest is a review of the Sons of Apollo debut album there.

But, I just wanted to let people know. Rob's style and even taste are not exactly identical to mine, which per there is content from him way back then, his new blog will probably share many things in common with this blog beyond the "mediareviews" part of the name.

Oh and it's not just about music, although this was also not at 1 time, but I've explained why that is in here before. I do think I may start to try and do more Videos and Podcasts about non-music stuff soon, per even the Logan's Run review I did on video the other day.

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

VINYL: Extreme + Rush. and Logan's Run



Extreme - III Sides to Every Story Rush - Closer to the Heart/Madrigal Logan's Run (DVD)

I decided to make a video for these 3 things, as I acquired the 2 vinyl records recently.

Logan's Run, I watched and decided to include. It's a movie I've wanted to see for many years, but never got around to it. I forgot to, but meant to bring 1 more point about it with the plot. How or why does the computer tell Logan to Run, sort of under cover? to try and find the runner's who went to Sanctuary? I should google it maybe and it could be explained. I assume the computer didn't want him to actually "Run" and want to leave the city permanently.

I should look for the tv series and maybe that along with the origin of the city is explained more in detail.

And also if it does ever get remade, if he is still around, Michael York would be fitting to be cast as the Old Man, assuming they include that character in the remake. Although if they are more faithful to the Novel, who knows (I would have to read it or at least more about the novel anyway(.

Monday, January 8, 2018

Kimbra - Primal Heart (2017-2018)

1/8/18

Album pushed back to April 20th per the email list.

Lot of other details I skimmed, which talked about a lot of things leading up to the release including more music of course.

1 track included in the email is, a non-album song titled "Hi Def Distance Romance" which I'll be checking out tomorrow morning.

11/10/17 11:13PM

Release date is January 19, 2018

Preorder

Kimbra
1. The Good War
2. Top of the World
3. Everybody Knows
4. Like They Do On the TV
5. Recovery
6. Human
7. Lightyears
8. Black Sky
9. Past Love
10. Right Direction
11. Version of Me
12. Real Life

New single/video for "Top of the World"


9/19/17 6:53AM

Image may contain: 1 person, closeup

http://www.kimbramusic.com/

Sign up for the Mail List and you get more details. It is coming out in early 2018.

There's an exclusive, unlisted YouTube video to check out as well.

When more of the details come, including a new single and tour dates (Europe initially), I'll have to bump and edit this entry.

Sunday, January 7, 2018

November 2017 Videos: CDs, Vinyl, Collectibles

So I decided to upload and share these videos from November 2017 that I made in the Storage space (and of course not edited. I know YouTube does have an editing function that maybe I'll have to try and play around with soon).

I guess these and some of the others are kind of obvious why making videos isn't too easy for me (the space/situation and of course TIME among other reasons).

And my head does get cutoff frequently, but so be it, maybe I'm and even others don't mind or are used to it.

The 2nd video the LIGHTS GO OFF (turns black) per the hallway lights at the Storage space are on a timer and I think it's like 15 or 20 minutes, which I need to remind myself whenever I may be making videos there in the future.

Had that not happened, there likely would have only been 3 videos.

The 4th video is up so close, dunno why I didn't realize that, but again, so be it.

Also in reviewing these, I have a few more items still to show, namely Extreme and a Rush 7" I think from Black Friday Record Store Day. Maybe soon, perhaps when some of the other Vinyl I'm expecting come in (Subterranean Masquerade, Typhoon among others).



CDs
Team Me - To the Treetops
Mew - Visuals
Faith No More - Angel Dust [Deluxe]
Bend Sinister - The Other Way [EP]
Snarky Puppy - Culcha Vulcha
L.E.O. - Alpacas Orgling

VINYL
Nektar - A Tab in the Ocean
sElf - Porno, Mint & Crime
sElf - Ornament & Crime
Mutemath - Play Dead



VINYL
Oceansize - Effloresce
Major Parkinson - Blackbox




VINYL:
Major Parkinson - Blackbox
Team Me - Blind as Night
Pat Metheny Group - Pat Metheny Group
The Dukes of Stratosphear - 25 O'Clock [EP]
East of the Wall - Farmer's Almanac
Scott Matthews - Elusive [7"]
Galactic Cowboys - Long Way Back to the Moon



Joey Secchiaroli (of The Reign of Kindo) - Answers to Questions You Never Asked (Book/Booklet)
The Crimson Cube (King Crimson Rubiks Cube)

Friday, January 5, 2018

VINYL: Burst and King Crimson



Burst - Lazarus Bird Burst - Lazarus Bird (Test Pressing) King Crimson - Red

I just noticed Burst is doing a REUNION show in 2018 at Be Prog!
here

of course I can't make that, but damn, they are playing the full Lazarus Bird. Shit.

AMR Podcast #8: Typhoon - Offerings and Chamber/Baroque Rock



Instead of making the entry 1st and then making a podcast, I decided to do the opposite previewing what may be in the Chamber/Baroque Rock/Pop/Folk entry.

Also initially sparked-by Offerings, just giving initial thoughts on this great new album from Typhoon.

I do think there is almost a yearning to do something soon about progtessive college rock in the 2000's and nostalgia. Maybe a Top 10 Albums or something, initially. Maybe make a podcast or video about that specifically.

I of course didn't mention every name, namely Sufjan Stevens who may be the most successful/popular/influential artist making Chamber Rock, but so be it. He'll be included in the actual entry.

I also failed to mentioned The River Empires as well..but there's many others of course.