Sunday, September 16, 2018

Black Belt Eagle Scout - Mother of My Children (2017-2018)

Black Belt Eagle Scout is the solo project of Katherine Paul who I still probably think of most/best from her work with the short lived dreamy Post Rock band Forest Park.

But in the last 5 or so years, it's been as the drummer of the band Genders.

But this is her own, full-fledged solo project. This new album Mother of My Children  was released on Friday September 14th. I have only heard some of it, but am really enjoying what I have heard.

It does remind me somewhat of Forest Park, the dreamy element namely. I think a lot of that has to do with Katherine's soothing/dreamy voice at times.

I will try and add more soon, but my initial impressions are where have I been? and why didn't I know about this (I blame Facebook and it's lack of MYSPACE BLOG SUBSCRIPTION-like setup). Because I liked Black Belt Eagle Scout a few years ago, but I don't read Facebook nor even Twitter Feeds religiously. Why? because it's too much and there's too much crap to filter through.

Anyway, the point being, better late than never. I haven't even heard the Self-Titled debut record from 2014 yet, lol. Maybe I bought it on CD? and the CD is in storage somewhere?

But here's 1 of the videos made from this new album "Indians Never Die"

also Katherine is on tour right now supporting this new album. I don't see a Minnesota date unfortunately, but also hope she wasn't in town in the last year or 2, and I failed to know about it. O well, sometimes that happens, hopefully she'll be back again no matter.

Also there is or was to be a new Genders album at some point soon, but I went to their Facebook a few days ago and nothing yet. I know Maggie Morris has been busy with her band Sunbathe as well who I saw at The Turf Club open for Typhoon back in the Spring (she mentioned the upcoming Genders album, thought maybe this Summer).





1. Soft Stud 06:08
2. Indians Never Die 04:30
3. Keyboard 03:50
4. Mother of My Children 03:04
5. Yard 04:10
6. I Don't Have You In My Life 04:23
7. Just Lie Down 04:01
8. Sam, A Dream 04:33






Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Small Leaks Sink Ships - Polaroid People [EP] (2017-2018)

9/16/18

Broken Church Bells.

I swear this band can do no wrong for me. Like Fjokra or Bend Sinister in some ways. I love seemingly every single they release. This new track from Polaroid People is another catchy, quirky, atmospheric banger.

I just don't know how they will be able to reach a wider audience that their music easily could find. I guess maybe touring more would help, but I've come to not assume anything. I do think as they've become one of my favorite artists this decade and in recent years, they have climbed higher and higher on my Bucket List to see live. But when and where? it almost seems as likely as I'll  get to see Jessy Ribordy live someday,  But, Portland, Oregon isn't incredibly far from Minnesota. But I need to find the time and money and schedule to do so. Maybe by say 2021, if I haven't seen them on a tour, and they have local shows in Portland scheduled, I could look to plan a trip there to see them.

maybe....



7/31/18
https://smallleaks.bandcamp.com/album/polaroid-people

 September 26th. Digital only (for now).

Love-this-band!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.....

damn I was thinking, if their next album compares to their last 2, SLSS I probably would regard as a high-favorite. Like Bend Sinister or Menomena, or in some ways even more NOW per their new music is so good sounding to me.


1. Prism
2.Maurice's Monsters
3. Maurice's Bed Time Stories
4 Broken Church Bells



New EP coming from Small Leaks Sink Ships Polaroid People.

Release date and more details about it I'm sure are coming soon.

Some influences and it including 4 tracks are included here 

Golden Calf  I really do enjoy, while maybe not as much as Face Yourself and Remove Your Sandals, it still holds up and remains one of my favorites from last year.

1st track "Prism" = very much thumbs up. A little more electronic, but also the production really sounds good.

This band has to be one of if not my favorite band the last 3 or 4 years, and I honestly can't get enough from them right now.

Friday, September 14, 2018

Update (short)

need to post some content about the Vennart record that finally is out today and the extra EP.

I also have 2 or 3 RIYL/FFO entries in the works. No idea when they get published though.

I can say though, they are all related to the last one, which isn't surprising. But certainly will include many names not on the last one.

a TV Shows list as well, rym or rytv, etc..

and the end of the year stuff is coming up as there's only like 6 weeks left and in truth, Vennart's album was the last really big deal release scheduled so far. So it is starting to feel like the end of the year time already with it out.

Wednesday, September 12, 2018

Fish - A Parley with Angels [EP] (2017-2018)





new single "Man with a Stick":from Fish, from the upcoming EP A Parley with Angels which is being released on September 21st.

As far as the final Fish album Weltschmerz?, there are some details about it like here (and also here). But I don't see any official release info just skimming there. I imagine it'll be sometime in 2019.

Also Marillion via Fish and other sources are releasing a Deluxe version of Clutching at Straws, and a tour. Of course I won't be seeing the tour sadly, and likely never see the 1 (former) member of Marillion I have yet to see (Mick Pointer? doesn't mean as much to me, although I would see him if he played live in Minnesota of course).

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Vennart - Copeland [EP] (2017-2018)

So this is the Companion EP that I picked up as part of my Deluxe/Bundle preorder of To Cure A Blizzard Upon A Plastic Sea which both are being released 1-week from tomorrow on Friday September 14th.

I am happy that it is purely digital, making the physical version more rare at this point.

The 2nd track "Castlefordian Girls" is streaming. Haven't heard it yet of course, but will later.





1. Terrors
2. Castlefordian Girls 04:26
3. Mines
4. Ambi
5. I'm Janick Gers

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Now Playing/In the Cue: 8/25 ? - (Early?) Sept 2018

This is a long/long-winded random mess of stuff in my playlist, or hopefully coming to my playlist.

I have listened to some of these recently, some in the past, and many only parts of or not at all.

Some good shit in here, and some stuff I may not be revisiting for awhile..if again.

But also a lot of it is still "in the cue"

Per time, I'll try and follow-up with twitter-size comments on as many of these as I can (in here/bumped or maybe another new entry)

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard - Polygonwanaland
Gospel - Tango
Jellyfish - Watching the Rain
Late of the Pier - Blueberry, Best in the Class
I Mother Earth -  Blossom, The Devil's Engine, We Got the Love
Josh King - Into the Blue
Josh Rouse - Subtitulo
Josh Rouse - Nashville
Josh Rouse - 1972
Fountains of Wayne - Fountains of Wayne
Fountains of Wayne - Utopia Parkway
Fountains of Wayne - Welcome Interstate Managers
Dream Theater - Cleaning out the Closet
Crack the Sky - Crack the Sky
10cc - Sheet Music
10cc - The Original Soundtrack
The Bee Gees - Bee Gees 1st
Budgie - In for the Kill
Budgie - Never Turn Your Back on a Friend
Chicago - Chicago Transit Authority
Depeche Mode - Violator
A Dying Planet - Facing the Incurable
Mals Totem - - Mals Totem
The Grays - Ro Sham Bo
Tears For Fears - Everybody Loves a Happy Ending
Tears For Fears - Raoul
Tears For Fears - Elemental
XTC - Nonsuch
XTC - Oranges and Lemons
Bill Hubauer - We Came from Space
Chris Cornell - Euphoria Mourning

Muse - The Dark Side
Majestyy - Magnetisme Animal (soundcloud)
Pentangle - Basket of Light
Sufjan Stevens - The Age of Adz
Jeff Buckley - Mystery White Boy
Pentangle - Basket of Light
Wilco - Sky Blue Sky
Phideaux - Infernal
White Denim - Performance
King's X - Manic Moonlight
My Chemical Romance - Welcom to the Black Parade
Panic at the Disco - Pretty.Odd
The Grateful Dead - Anthem of the Sun
Motorpsycho and Stale Storl0kken - The Death Defying Unicorn
Sky Architect - Nomad
ABC - The Lexicon of Love Vol. 1 and 2
Barock Project - Detachment

Saturday, September 1, 2018

Late of the Pier and Gospel

Late of the Pier earlier today came up on a topic on rateyourmusic.com's Message Boards, and how their style/genre is referred to as "New Rave" or "Nu Rave" which is a tag I've honestly never heard of.

But I guess it's a label and style most often used to describe bands from the mid-late 2000's from the UK largely. The most successful of these bands is the band Klaxons.

I guess I never would have thought of Late of the Pier or any of the artists in this entry about "Indietronica" aka "21st Century Electronic Rock" with "Rave" House or Techno music really.

It's at least 2 degrees of separation in terms of emphasis. Rave music from my experience was purely dance music and had no "Rock" in it really. Although there is "Dance Rock" I suppose, but that also almost sounds like an Oxymoron.

But, I guess this entry isn't purely about this tag, but just thinking about Late of the Pier and another band Gospel, who while are not much alike other than I suppose the progressive tag might fit with both and both were active in the mid-late 2000's.

But both released excellent debut albums, which were the only albums they ever made. And then both recorded 1 final tune that is among if not the best tracks they ever did.

Late of the Pier debut album Fantasy Black Channel released in 2008. Than in 2010 they released a track titled "Blueberry" which was really addictive.

edit: now reviewing, they also released a song titled "Best in Class" which in trying to jog my memory and listening to it, I kind of do remember it as well. And it's maybe almost as good as "Blueberry."

Gospel, released their debut album The Moon is a Dead World in 2005. I didn't discover them maybe until 2010 though, which I don't remember if it was per their new single, or it was pure coincidence with some people on the forums talking about them, seeing them talking of a new album, etc on myspace.

But they released "Tango" in June of 2010 and I remember going apeshit for it. It was this amazing progressive rock epic with vintage synths and everything. Like Late of the Pier, it's almost like they took a lot of the best moments from The Moon is a Dead World and polished them and up-ed  their production and composition skills. I think it's like 9 or 10 minutes.

edit: no, 5:41, but it's totally "epic" like a song that is 9 or 10  minutes.

But then nothing. I forget, but they may have announced not that long after it was released, they broke up.

There's other artists like this..sort of they make a debut album, or maybe even 2 albums, then have a gap and record a single or ep that surpasses their previous work that is incredible. And it cries out to you as a fan, wanting more. But it never happens(ed).

Soundscape (it did)
Apes and Androids had the song "Endless Dream" which is a great tune, but I'd love to find it online (maybe on YouTube or Soundcloud somewhere? Vimeo maybe or even say Daily Motion or something like that. I know I have a poor rip of it on 1 of my old Hard Drives, but haven't listened to it maybe 2010 or 2011).
100Ft Snowman is another

I dunno, I think there are probably many cases of this, that maybe I'll continue to share and perhaps someone else will discover them. And who knows, maybe a reunion for some of these groups will happen again someday.

Late of the Pier sadly, lost their drummer, but I suppose it wouldn't eliminate a reunion. LA Priest music I do enjoy at least.








Friday, August 31, 2018

REACT TO: The PROG Report - Top 5 NON-PROG Artists (ft. Mike Portnoy)

So here's yet another REACT TO entry to a podcast/youtube video, this time it's from The Prog Report and includes host Roie Avin, Mike Portnoy and Kyle Fagala who moderates Mike Portnoy's Forum Facebook Group .

And this is definitely related (although not identical) to the lists, and I suppose my REACT TO to 2 other previous entries:

Notes Reviews Modern and Alternative Prog
Radical Research's GINNCORE

So in going through their picks, the large chunk of them I know well (Kevin Gilbert of course is the 1 I am happiest to hear about since he's my favorite).  And many I know for the most part how I stand about (The Flaming Lips and obviously Radiohead).

But the ones I don't know or know well, that I mean to now checkout:

The Grays - Ro Sham Bo
Chris Cornell - Euphoria Morning
My Chemical Romance - Welcome to the Black Parade
Bill Hubauer - We Came From Space
Once and Future Band - Once and Future Band
Dire Straits - Love Over Gold
Tears for Fears - Raoul and the Kings of Spain, Everybody Loves a Happy Ending (which I'm surprised Roie didn't mention how they have a new album coming out soon).

The Grays I'm sort of Guilty-of per my love of Jellyfish, and I 1st and foremost think of  the video Beavis and Butthead tore to shreds of them (they also had a Jellyfish video on their show, which I don't think they loved either, but did not hate-on as much). But I also recall checking samples of The Grays and Imperial Drag and being underwhelmed. Imperial Drag especially, on more than 1 occasion.

However, at least that 1st sampling was many years ago. In fact it may have been in 1 of those Red Dot Net listening stations at Cheapo in the early 2000's. So it's been awhile. I do enjoy some of Jason Falkner's solo work, although not to the point of addiction.

The lists make a lot of sense. Even Wilco of late I have started to wonder if I would like reading comments about them. My wife actually even likes some of their music. And at the Michael Nesmith show back in January, Circe Link actually mentioned them to myself and John while waiting in line. How Wilco in some ways are a descendant to Nez's solo stuff (that is, despite my wife and I'm  sure many fans, would call Mike's solo work "progressive country rock" which i guess maybe Wilco could be referred to as as well).

I could nitpick a bit though, probably not as much as I could. But for one, Roie's comments about Mutemath, while somewhat accurate, didn't really explain the story. Darren King was on and contributed to the writing as far as I recall, to ALL OF THEIR ALBUMS. And their latest album, Play Dead, while his and Roy Cardenas last, is NOT totally electronic the way Vitals was.

Also he didn't mention Odd Soul which again, wasn't so electronic. Saying their debut is their best I'm fine with. Also he probably never saw it, but Darren King in an interview in some magazine, around the time of Armistice I think it was, mentioned Dream Theater. Now it would help to find the article and quote, etc. But I remember that distinctly and felt they obviously have some prog in them at least Darren knowing DT and likely Portnoy.

Glad they played some from St.Vincent's debut album Marry Me. My feeling about her hasn't changed sadly, as I enjoy that debut record, but the records since she has lost me more and more (and also became a Hipster darling more and more, which doesn't help if that means anything). The noise kills her music for me. And she doesn't sound all that much like Annie Haslam singing for King Crimson anymore.

I like that Mike brought up I Mother Earth, and I don't recall if I actually have heard their new songs (since 2015). Rateyourmusic shows 3 new songs there anyway, which I definitely need to hear. But I will post below my own 5 picks (and some Honorable Mentions). And The Tea Party are an obvious one to include, but for some reason don't always get mentioned when seeing people talk about Big Wreck and in this case, I Mother Earth. Those were the Big 3 90's Canadian bands who while not overtly progressive rock, were progressive certainly.

Almost like the Texas 3 of King's X, Galactic Cowboys and Atomic Opera.

The Tea Party still need more love among progressive rock fans. Their last album The Ocean at the End, from 2014 is exceptional and yet it seems to have flown far too much under the radar other than among fans in Canada and in Australia where I think some of the band have residence.

from The Prog Report's Podcast Page




Mike Portnoy
Kevin Gilbert
The Grays - Ro Sham Bo
Chris Cornell - Euphoria Morning (1999 album)
The Flaming Lips - The Soft Bulletin, Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robot, At War with the Mystics ("Pompei am Gotterdammerung".."What is the Light....")
Biffy Clyro - Puzzle, Opposites

Kyle
David Bowie
St.Vincent
Radiohead
Muse - Absolution, Black Holes and Revelation, Origin of Symmetry
Wilco - Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, Sky Blue Sky.. "Art of Almost" track

Roie
Mutemath
Fair to Midland
Tears for Fears (Seeds of Love, Elemental, Raoul and the Kings of Spain, Everybody Loves a Happy Ending)
Big Wreck
Umphrey's McGee - Mantis, Similar Skin ("Bridgeless") It's Not Us ("Remind Me")


Mike Portnoy's Honorable Mentions/Mentions
Jellyfish (+ Imperial Drag, and Beck.."Watching the Rain" a b-side from Jellyfish)
Weezer - Blue, Pinkerton
Ben Folds Five/Ben Folds
Eleven
Oceansize
Big Elf - Cheat the Gallows
Endochine
I Mother Earth
Karmic Juggernaut . reminds Mike of Umphrey's McGee
Bill Hubauer - We Came From Space
Once and Future Band
The Lemon Twigs
Trigger Finger
Mr.Bungle

Roie's Honorable Mentions/Mentions
The Struts (not proggy)
The Dear Hunter
My Chemical Romance - Welcome to the Black Parade
Extreme - III Sides to Every Story
Silverchair - Young Modern
Frank Zappa
Soundgarden - Superunknown

Kyle's Honorable Mentions/Mentions
Dire Straits - Love Over Gold
The Who - Quadrophenia
Tool - Lateralus
Green Day - American Idiot ("Homecoming," "Jesus of Suburbia")
Alter Bridge - Fortress ("Cry of Achilles"
Avenged Sevenfold - The Stage
Matthew Sweet/Superdrag/The Posies (XTC-style)
The Polyphonic Spree
Sufjan Stevens
Them Crooked Vultures



--------------------------------------------------------

My Top 5 (if I were participating).

I am going to intentionally not pick anything that was picked because I could easily just go
Kevin Gilbert, Jellyfish, and some others that they named (Fair to Midland and The Dear Hunter if they actually would qualify).

But just to think of 5 names not brought up..and of course many honorable mentions

1. Jeff Buckley
2. Ours
3. Apes and Androids/Call Florence Pow
4. Pepe Deluxe
5. Cloud Cult

Fjokra
Foals
Kimbra
Janelle Monae
The Tea Party
Imogen Heap
Saigon Kick
Menomena/Ramona Falls
Neverending White Lights
Everything Everything
sElf
House of Fools
Small Leaks Sink Ships
Godspeed You Black Emperor
Sigur Ros
Wolf Parade - At Mt, Zoomer
The Velvet Teen - Elysium
The Spent Poets - The Spent Poets
The Dissociatives - The Dissociatives

Most if not all of these artists don't consider them self "Prog" or "progressive rock" even really for the most part, but every one of them is (or the albums I included) progressive or artsy in a lot of ways certainly.

I mean sure there are the long list of progressive college rock (or "modern heavy art rock") bands in those other 2 entries I included that were not mentioned on this podcast. But in just coming up with a list of bands I enjoy that while I consider them progressive, the strongest base of their sound and themselves and most of their fans do not label them as "prog." But I would argue they are progressive, and maybe more importantly, they can and have appealed to fans of Yes, Genesis, Pink Floyd and Dream Theater.

Now just thinking about this Podcast and depending on Roie's taste (which I am kind of skeptical about), he should now do an Experimental/Art Metal episode. Aka Metal bands/albums for prog metal fans, that are not traditional progressive metal.

Aka. an Extreme Metal episode. So no Dream Theater or Fates Warning or Rush or Queensryche (or Savatage actually). And no HAKEN of course, and no Symphony X really either.

I'm talking about stuff like Cynic, maudlin of the Well, unexpect, SikTh etc...There's a lot of it out there, and progressive rock/progressive metal fans do like it, but also many either don't know it (or know they would like it), or often DISMISS it like Kyle mentioned with Muse and Radiohead (or Wilco).

Sort of more Metal like Opeth, but not Opeth obviously, in a vague sense. Metal for the prog fans who enjoy Opeth, but who don't know other names that well.

I'm sure stuff like Meshuggah and Periphery would show up, which is fine, but like anything, there are artists in genres/subgenres you love, who often don't do a lot for you as an exception.

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Who Cares About the Rock Hall PODCAST

 Not a lot of time of course, but I also feel like just shouting-out and passing along this relatively new podcast almost strictly about the Rock Hall.

The podcasts are not short (90 mins+) but the topics and process they use warrant that length.

It has 2 comedians who are the hosts, and usually 1 guest who often also is a comedian. Sometimes music person or a few times, former members of the Rock Hall nomination committee.

I have only taken-in parts of 3 or 4 podcasts, and 1 full one (the one on Whitney Houston).

I like their discussion and analysis overall, but at the same time, I agree with my wife to a point in that they don't always have all the data/info before commenting (something I am guilty of myself).

But it does seem the 2 hosts have somewhat of a broad spectrum on music, and at least are more in the line of thinking of some fans like myself, that there are a ton of issues that could and should be changed/fixed/corrected with The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

I don't like their criticism of The Moody Blues though, but I have yet to hear the episode they focused on them. But the female host Kristen seems to not care about The Moodies influence and how early they were to a genre that found so many others soon after (prog and psych rock).

Anyway, I likely will follow-up about this soon, but in the mean time, if you want an in-depth discussion about the Rock Hall, this is a good place to look beyond the assortment of Blogs and of course Future Rock Legends.

Twitter

http://rockhallpod.libsyn.com/
iTunes

Thursday, August 23, 2018

A Dying Planet - Facing the Incurable (2017-2018)

8/23/18


Yeah, some good shit here,


some of it reminds me of Zero Hour or Cynthesis, but some a little of The Contortionist and Anathema. The melancholy moods at points.

Surprised and impressed. This and Mals Totem among my playlist, have been the most enjoyable of late.






1. Resist 14:06
2. Facing The Incurable 10:22
3. Human Obsolescence 07:43
4. Poison The Well 08:08
5. Missing 08:59
6. Separation Anxiety 03:23


6/30/18 12:10PM
Article



A DYING PLANET’s Facing The Incurable will see independent release through the band’s own CynNormal Lab Recordings on CD and digital platforms on August 17th; watch for preorders and additional audio and video samples from the album to be issued preceding its release date.



Teaser on FB

A new project from the Tipton brothers of Zero Hour and Cynthesis (and Abnormal Thought Patterns). Per the article posted above, this band/project does not include Troy Tipton on bass per an an unfortunate injury to his arm. But he was involved with the song writing and actually Vocals.

Also from the article, it mentions how singer Erik Rosvold of Cynthesis (ex-Zero Hour as well) and Bill Jenkins of Enchant as well.

The trailers and teaser clips sound good, and August 17th is not too far away,.


Sunday, August 19, 2018

Albums from the Past (August 2018?)

Sorry, I posted this last night as I was multi-tasking,

But I have been off and on checking older albums or bands/artists who I have meant to, but never did.

Actually I always have, but maybe I'll try and post a list like this every month or every week or 2 of what I am checking out.

Mind you, I have not checked any of these out YET, but they are Queued-Up so to speak and I hope to in the coming days/weeks. And many others from the artists here and others (10cc and Crack the Sky are others, who slipped my mind but now I'm remembering).

Bee Gees - Bee Gees 1st (1967)
Budgie - In for the Kill (1974)
Budgie - Never Turn Your Back on a Friend (1973)
Chicago - Chicago Transit Authority (1969)
Depeche Mode - Violator (1990)
Depeche Mode - Music for the Masses (1987)
Roxy Music - Roxy Music (1972)
Spandau Ballet - True (1983)
Talking Heads - Remain in Light (1980)

edit:
10cc - Sheet Music (1974)
10cc - The Original Soundtrack (1975)
ABC - The Lexicon of Love Vol 1 and 2 (1982)
Crack the Sky - Crack the Sky (1975)
INXS - Kick (1987)

also some newer records like the King Gizzard album Notes Reviews mentioned, and many on that list I didn't know.

Mals Totem - Mals Totem EP (2012)
A Dying Planet - Facing the Incurable (2018)






REACT TO: Notes Reviews YouTube Vids "Modern/Alternative Prog"+"Contemporary Prog"

So this is a bit related to the recent RADICAL RESEARCH Podcast about "GINNCORE."

So some of this is almost a rehash or a similar REACT TO entry, like that last one.

I guess 1st off to actually take these 2 videos separately, when the lines get blurry, and Notes Reviews kind of mentions that at the start of the "Contemporary Prog" Starter Pack video.

I guess Porcupine Tree and Steven Wilson I would always put into either or both categories (or my desired label, progressive college rock).

Pain of Salvation, really other than the Road Salt albums, has always been a Prog Metal band. It's just they don't resemble Dream Theater or many of the bands with the Prog Metal tag/style exactly. But I am kind of with Notes Reviews in that in recent years, even citing beyond the Road Salt albums and a lot of Be I suppose, for some reason their sound is heard now almost more "Hard Rock" than Metal. But perhaps when they came up in the 90's and 2000's, their sound, sounded heavy enough, they fit in more with Metal and Prog Metal than Hard Rock.

That kind of opens up the can of worms about Hard Rock vs Metal, etc..more blurry lines, etc. I mean Porcupine Tree at times were pretty heavy, they could be called Metal. And by contrast, Opeth's recent records don't really sound all that Metal either.

So the other point that I can kind of see how these 2 videos differ is the perception I and I think many others have about differing between what the progressive rock community looks for in sound, format, and such within Festivals/Cruises, the small record labels for what is "prog" and what isn't. Or HOW MUCH, etc.

1 way to illustrate this is just take The Mars Volta and compare them to Spock's Beard. They are both modern bands doing a form of progressive rock, but while The Mars Volta are more "out there" and experiment a lot, Spock's draw from the 70's bands more clearly. Also just on textures and influences, I guess it seems more clear that the influences The Mars Volta take are outside of progressive rock artists, whereas Spock's and the hordes of other bands, especially the last 20+ years haven't.

Now the "Contemporary Prog" list almost seems to carry a lot of the KScope style of "Post-Prog" as KScope has said, and I think a high percentage of the artists on that label and on that Starter Pack below draw strong influence from Porcupine Tree and Steven Wilson specifically (or Radiohead and Post Rock sound/artists too I suppose).

Other than maybe Phideaux and perhaps Anglagard, who are kind of an outlier in this "Contemporary" or "Modern" list as the album Notes Reviews chose is from 1992, and their history is actually a bit older than every other artist included on either list.



So that all being said, I do agree or at least like a lot of the picks, especially on the "Modern Alternative" Starter Pack.

I would probably pick a few different albums just with those artists
-The Dear Hunter, Act II at least as a recommendation,
-The Mars Volta...as much as I find it flawed, a prog fan who enjoys Frances would probably be good to hear Deloused AND Amputechture
-Coheed Good Apollo 1 is perfect and In Keeping Secrets makes sense. I might go with 1 or both of the Afterman records instead of The Color Before the Sun, even as much as the narrative parts bug me on those Afterman albums.
-Pain of Salvation I agree with Remedy Lane and TPE. Be? I might still suggest Entropia and/or In the Passing Light of Day actually.

-Thank You Scientist- not a bad band, other than how much their singer sounds exactly like Claudio Sanchez from Coheed. I would look towards the band THREE instead actually (Wakepig or any of their last 3 albums)

-Closure in Moscow unfortunately sounds way too much like a The Mars Volta copycat for me.
-Dream the Electric Sleep is a good suggestion, but I would 1st recommend their album Heretics over Beneath the Dark Wide Sky
-I haven't heard Sky Architect nor Barock Project but now want to
-King Gizzard as Notes Reviews mentions, they seem to be about releasing quantity maybe over quality. The 1 record among the 5 or whatever they released in 2017 I have yet to hear, but probably will check out now on his suggestion and as the rating on rym is maybe the highest among those 5 records.


"Modern Alternative Prog"



-Pain of Salvation: Remedy Lane (2002)
(The Perfect Element I (2000), Be (2004))

-Coheed and Cambria: Good Apollo 1: I'm Burning Star IV: From Fear Through the Eyes of Madness (2005)
(In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 (2003), The Color Before the Sun (2015))

-The Mars Volta: Frances the Mute (2005)
(Deloused in the Comatorium (2003), Octahedron (2009))

-The Dear Hunter: Act V: Hymns with the Devil in Confessional (2016)
(Act III: Life and Death (2009), The Color Spectrum (2011))

-Thank You Scientist: Stranger Heads Prevail (2016)
(Maps of Non-Existent Places (2012)

Honorable Mentions:
Sky Architect - Nomad (2017)
Barock Project - Detachment (2017)
Closure in Moscow - Pink Lemonade (2014)
Dream the Electric Sleep - Beneath the Dark Wide Sky (2016)
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard - Polygonwandaland (2017)


Among the "Contemporary Prog" starter pack:

-Steven Wilson/Porcupine Tree: I agree with The Raven as I find it my favorite and SW's best. Hand.Cannot.Erase is okay, although I find To the Bone probably slightly better, but that also has a lot to do with I like the poppier tracks Steven Wilson has done. But it's pretty close.
PT, I absolutely do not agree with Fear of a Blank Planet other than how popular that record is. But I find it way too much of a downer and the lyrics hurt the music (and I find the Nil Recurring EP actually better). I would suggest In Absentia or Deadwing as a 1st PT album instead. And Lightbulb Sun at some point. I guess Sky Moves Sideways is fine for the Spacier period, although I can't say I prefer it over some of the others like Voyage 34 or Up the Downstair or even Signify.

-Anathema, both of those albums are good suggestions for anyone who finds his channel especially. I enjoy Distant Satellites and The Optimist about as much as those other 2. WBWH is my favorite, but I find them all pretty close.

-Gazpacho have never done much for me to be honest. They are just bland rock really, although I get why they are on KScope, I keep waiting for them to cover and then make music highly like the song from Marillion.

-Riverside, ADHD is actually the 1 record I quite like from them. Although it's hardly an all-time favorite, but after hearing many albums from and since, it still seems to be the 1 and only album with balls and punch. The riffs are heavy and in your face. And the vocals don't sound too David Gilmour-wannabe-like and airy, like so many of their others. The 2 recommendations, honestly I follow as they are popular, but are unlikely 2 records I desire to check out soon again myself. I suppose 1 suggested album could be the last record with their late guitarist Pietr was on, Love Fear and the Time Machine as I kind of enjoyed that 1 more and I know their fans loved it. I think many new fans were made from it.

-Phideaux. That album is the 1 and only record from him I have spent a good chunk of time with, but the truth it, I recall it was last in 2007 when it came out. But it's a good pick, and honestly 1 I mean to revisit soon as he may be an artist I've slept on a bit too much.

The HM's:
-Motorpsycho are a band I have checked out a bit, but never found the praise many others give them. Notes Reviews comments have me curious about that record though, which is one I don't think I've even heard or read about much. So I may want to check it out.

-The Pineapple Thief have been praised for ages on the forums. I honestly find them WAY too Radiohead-like to ever get into them. They have 1 good song or rather 1 song I like "The World I Always Dreamed Of," the chord progression is nice. Otherwise, I might as well listen to Radiohead except I can't stand Thom Yorke's voice either.

-Ephrat I've never heard of. But I wishlisted that album on rym,

-iamthemorning is a good suggestion, and I know Lighthouse got them a bunch of awards (and I bought the vinyl) but I would still look to Belighted over it by a lot actually.

-Anglagard (An-glah-gahhrrrd) Hybris is often considered their best and I have listened to some of it, but it was years ago. The prog scene love them and that album immensely, and I can't really disagree given my limited experience with their whole catalog.

"Contemporary Prog"



- Porcupine Tree / Steven Wilson: Fear of a Blank Planet (2007) /  The Raven that Refused to Sing (2013)
 (Hand.Cannot.Erase (2015), The Sky Moves Sideways (1995))

-Anathema: Weather Systems (2012)
(We're Here Because We're Here (2010))

-Gazpacho: Night (2007), Tick Tock (2009)
(Demon, (2014), March of Ghosts (2012))

-Riverside: Anno Domini High Definition (2009)
(Second Life Syndrome (2005) , Rapid Eye Movement (2007))

-Phideaux: Doomsday Afternoon (2007)
(Snowtorch (2011), Ghost Story (2004))

Honorable Mentions:
-Motorpsycho - The Death Defying Unicorn (2012)
-The Pineapple Thief - Variations on a Dream (2004)
-Ephrat - No One's Words (2008)
-iamthemorning - Lighthouse (2016)
-Anglagard - Hybris (1992)


That all being said, I would look towards those names I mentioned below and in the REACT TO GINNCORE entry below. And then just consider how many artists Notes Reviews chose (10, 5 from each).

Here's MY STARTER PACK (Novel) for progressive college rock. Now mind you, these all are NOT MY FAVORITES necessarily, but more what albums I would suggest 1st (and 2nd+3rd) to someone who doesn't know these artists.

-dredg - The Pariah, the Parrot, the Delusion (2009) 
(El Cielo (2002), Catch Without Arms (2005))

-The Mars Volta - Frances the Mute (2005)
(Deloused in the Comatorium (2003), Amputechture (2006))

-The Dear Hunter - Act V: Hymns with the Devil in Confessional (2016)
(Act II: The Meaning of and All Things Regarding Ms.Leading (2007), The Color Spectrum (2011)

-Porcupine Tree/Steven Wilson - In Absentia (2002), The Raven that Refused to Sing (2013)
(Deadwing (2005) and Signify (1996), To the Bone (2017) and Hand.Cannot. Erase (2015))

-Oceansize - Frames (2007)
(Everyone Into Position (2005), Effloresce (2003))

-Three - Wakepig (2004)
(The End is Begun (2007), The Ghost You Gave to Me (2011)

-Anathema - Weather Systems (2012)
(We're Here Because We're Here (2010), Distant Satellites (2014)

-Mew - And the Glass Handed Kites... (2005)
(Frengers (2003), No More Stories...(2009))

-Kaddisfly - Set Sail the Prairie (2007)
(Horses Galloping on Sailboats (2015), Buy Our Intention, We'll Buy You a Unicorn (2005))

-The Reign of Kindo/Kindo - Rhythm, Chord and Melody (2008)
(Play with Fire (2013), Happy However After (2018))


Honorable Mentions:
Fair to Midland - Fables from a Mayfly: What I Tell You Three Times is True (2007)
Coheed and Cambria - Good Apollo 1 (2005)
Anathallo - Floating~World (2006)
Apes and Androids/Call Florence Pow - Blood Moon (2008)
Godspeed You Black Emperor - Lift Up Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven (2000)
Kiss Kiss - Reality vs. The Optimist (2007)
Muse - Absolution (2003)
Ours - Mercy (Dancing for the Death of an Imaginary Enemy) (2008)
Pure Reason Revolution - The Dark Third (2006)

Bend Sinister - Stories of Brothers, Tales of Lovers (2008)
Bent Knee - Shiny Eyed Babies (2014)
The Family Crest - The War: Act I (2018)
Foals - Total Life Forever (2010)
Kimbra - Vows (2011)
Major Parkinson - Twilight Cinema (2014)
Pepe Deluxe - Queen of the Wave (2012)
Janelle Monae - The ArchAndroid (2010)
The River Empires - Epilogue (2010)
Small Leaks Sink Ships - Face Yourself and Remove Your Sandals (2015)



From (Among) Radical Research's Picks
The Mars Volta
Coheed and Cambria
dredg
Three
Fair to Midland
Mew

2000's (Two Thousands)
Anathallo
Apes and Androids/Call Florence Pow
Godspeed You Black Emperor
Kaddisfly
Kiss Kiss
Muse
Oceansize
Ours
Porcupine Tree
Pure Reason Revolution

2010's (Twenty-Tens)
Anathema
Bend Sinister
Bent Knee
The Family Crest
Foals
Kimbra
Major Parkinson
Pepe Deluxe
Janelle Monae
The Reign of Kindo/Kindo
The River Empires
Small Leaks Sink Ships
Steven Wilson 

Friday, August 17, 2018

Arch / Matheos New Album Coming in 2019

Yes Yes Yes Yes....fuck to the Yes!!!!!!!!!!!

2019: Ours (2 albums) dredg, Pepe Deluxe and this and of course a ton more.

and THAT LIST OF GUESTS holy fuck!

all those Fates people again WITH ARCH..for that matter ZONDER WITH ARCH!!!

like Sympathetic Resonance, but also DIFFERENT!


No automatic alt text available.
From Facebook

Metal Blade Records
54 mins ·

Arch / Matheos re-signs with Metal Blade Records; begins work on new album

Photo credit: Mark Cubbedge

Metal Blade Records has proudly re-signed Arch/Matheos for a worldwide deal!

Arch/Matheos began as a reunion between founding Fates Warning members John Arch (vocals) and Jim Matheos (guitar), who hadn't collaborated since John Arch's solo EP, A Twist Of Fate (2003) - and hadn't fully collaborated for a whole album since Fates Warning's Awaken the Guardian (1986). In 2010, the duo began working on a record together and brought along three Fates Warning members to the fold. The five members would in turn release their debut album Sympathetic Resonance in 2011, under the name Arch/Matheos.

Since then, John Arch and Jim Matheos have kept busy with their other projects - but now the time has come for them to join forces once again, for a new Arch/Matheos release, due out 2019 via Metal Blade Records.

John Arch comments: "The desire and commitment from both of us is first and foremost, but the impetus to move forward with another A/M project fell in good part on how well 'Sympathetic Resonance' was received, and how the fans have continued to show their support through a variety of mediums, stating they would like a follow-up effort. The timing for Jim and I seems to be right and things are coming along nicely. We look forward to sharing the results with you soon!"

Jim Matheos adds: "It's great to be working with my old friend John Arch again. We push each other creatively in ways that brings out the best in both of us, I think. We've come up with what I hope is a worthy successor to 'Sympathetic Resonance', and a great lineup of musicians to help us bring it to fruition."

Already featuring special guests Thomas Lang, Bobby Jarzombek, Baard Kolstad, Mark Zonder, Matt Lynch, Steve Di Giorgio, Joey Vera, Sean Malone, Joe DiBiase, and Frank Aresti - with more to come! - this upcoming Arch/Matheos album is currently being tracked, with Jens Bogren (Fates Warning, Opeth, Devin Townsend, etc.) handling mixing duties in November. Stay tuned for more news coming soon!

To purchase Sympathetic Resonance, please visit: https://www.indiemerch.com/metalbladereco…/band/arch-matheos. To watch the video for the album track "Midnight Serenade" (directed by David Brodsky / www.davidsbrodsky.com), head over to: https://youtu.be/IwcL04CYews

Arch/Matheos online:
https://www.facebook.com/archmatheos/
https://twitter.com/archmatheos

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

OT: Wills

A Death occurred in my wife's family late last week. An Aunt of hers who among the many siblings of her mothers, she was probably closes (and her mother was as well).

It's not been simple or easy in some ways, etc.

1 of the things is what she may have left my wife. And her Aunt had 2 Wills, not just 1.

The 1st one has been looked at, etc. But the 2nd one not yet, so my wife is wondering what it may say still.

So while I am relatively young still, it got me thinking a bit today about a Will.

All my crap. Who does it go to, if anyone? And I guess it is something people update semi-regularly.

My record/music collection? it'll likely end up at a Thrift Store or in a landfill. It's so fucking niche, most vendors probably wouldn't take half of it.

And I also wonder if there is an online site for this stuff, just to catalog/list it, etc.

It's something I may try and look into at least in the coming years if not months even.

I honestly would not be surprised if my health may not be highly perfect given my family history and the crap I've dealt with just in the last 5 years especially with constant kidney stones and more recently reoccurring hemorrhoids (although it is genetic in some ways, it also is thought of being dietary in a lot of ways).

Wills..jeez. Not that like I have much other than the a small retirement sum currently I have built up being at the same company for almost 14 years.

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Ours - Spectacular Sight (2017-2018)

8/14/18

👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

It's good to be an Ours/Jimmy Gnecco fan. I just wonder/hope he is able to release these albums as he wishes and distribute them, while retaining the rights.

2019:
-2 Ours albums
-dredg
-Pepe Deluxe

a 7-9 track release of some kind (Spectacular Sight or something else) in the next few weeks,

2 albums in 2019

Songs written with/for Hannah Gernand.

A Post on the killtheband message board

So, news!

Jimmy is trying to figure out how to release the records and still keep the rights to the songs, so the two finished albums are going to be released sometime in 2019.

But, he also said that he was gonna release 7-9 songs for free in a couple of weeks. This being mainly sad piano songs that he didn't want dragging down the full Ours records.

Oh and he has also given a bunch of songs to Hannah Gernand and recorded them with her.

Jimmy explains:


5/14/18
So nothing is really been posted officially that I have seen (but I haven't looked everywhere). But on the Killtheband message someone shared this, which I am wondering if they got it at 1 of Jimmy's recent shows.

Also it was posted there as well, the 1st single in June and the album August.

Possible Track List to Spectacular Sight:

Intro
Bring It On
See The Light
Don’t Lose Yourself
Razor In My Heart
You Are The Answer
Across The Clouds
Media Age
Eternally
Pain Aside
Kids (ADD to the BPM)
Miles Away
Believe
Eyes
Your Man

The album was pushed back for various reasons that haven't really been explained except for the fact the guy who was to mix it, Jason Corsaro, passed away very sadly last Summer after a battle with Cancer. How much of this album he worked on? I dunno, and I'm pretty sure all the music was recorded before his passing. But I wonder if the influence/inspiration on parts of it could have changed after that.

Anyway, when more of the details come, of course I'll pass them along.

Oh and 'Made to Love" which I think has been played live a lot recently, I guess will be coming on the next album. I hope that is sooner than 5 years from now, although I still am for Jimmy the band taking their time. But as I posted below, some 40 songs were considered for this album. Recorded I guess which goes back to the fact they and Jimmy specifically have a ton of songs still unreleased. I question if/when many of the older ones will get released, but who knows.

Us fans would be happy just to have them put up online, at least if they have been recorded and properly mixed and mastered.

I should repost a list sometime soon. But in the mean time, June and August are likely 2 times to get excited as an Ours fan.

6/13/17 12:20PM

bumping this as this album is only a couple of weeks away.

And lucky enough for me, being a Black Card Holder, they were kind enough to send a sampler of 3 songs to download yesterday.

Slipping Away
Don't Lose Yourself
Across the Clouds

Love them all, "Across the Clouds" is mesmerizing and maybe my favorite among them.

We may not get a ton of information about this album until release day on the 27th per that sampler came from bandcamp and some artists have done the whole little-to-no-info with a Bandcamp release. Not even a preorder.

I'm cool with that, but still totally anxious to hear the rest of this. The reasoning behind the sampler was in the email the CD Release show on June 17th (in NJ) was supposed to have the album for sale, but I guess it won't be. But the sampler is not a band alternative.

edit: just got an Updated email.

the album is being pushed back for reasons beyond the band's control I guess. Some 40 songs were considered initially, 20 are still in the running.

So it won't be released on June 27th I guess.

This sampler certainly helps. Very excited still, it may just not come out for a few more months. No biggie.

And I do plan on buying it even for the fact as a Black Card holder, they are going to send it to me for free. I just want to give the band money regardless. Plus hardcopy, vinyl of course, etc.


 
1/25/17 7:18PM

http://www.jimmygnecco.com/jgnews/ours-record-release-party/

OURS record release party for their upcoming new record Spectacular Sight will be on Saturday, June 24th at Mexicali Live in Teaneck, NJ.  Click HERE for tickets.

OURS will perform and sign copies of their upcoming new record.  Special performances by Intrepid, Ronnie Shingelo and Hannah Gernand.  Doors 6pm.  All Ages.



11/12/16 11:18AM
Below is from the latest newsletter.

Ours new album III drops next Spring! A free download of a new song for those going to the show in NYC 1-week from tonight at the Bowery Ballroom. Hopefully that track will be streaming on their FB/Website and YouTube/Soundcloud, etc soon after.

Why the title III? Not Ballet the Boxer Part 2, etc..I can only guess it may sort of be like a 3rd Chapter (Chapter 3: Money, lol) sort of in the history of the band.

Or maybe the III symbolizes a number of things.

I also can't help but think of the band Three as well and what seems like a lot of parallels and similar fanbase in some ways.

At any case, as a huge fan of Ours, I can't wait to hear this album of course.

 photo Ours - III ad Spring 2017_zps2iqcrhch.png

FREE New OURS Song Download, from Ours Forthcoming Record III,
to everyone who attends the Bowery Ballroom show on 11.19.16!