Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Random Artist Feature: Pink Floyd (Parts 1-3)

8/23/16 7:25PM
The 3rd and final part. At the point I pickup The Division Bell, I'll have to show it of course (it's spendy though, usually $35 or $40 unfortunately).





-Animals Live in Berlin 1-29-77
-The Final Cut
-About Face (David Gilmour)
-Radio Kaos (Roger Waters)
-Learning to Fly 12"
-A Momentary Lapse of Reason

discussed but not shown:
David Gilmour
The Pros and Cons of Hitchhiking
Amused to Death
Delicate Sounds of Thunder
The Division Bell
Pulse
On an Island
The Endless River

8/6/16 11:51AM

Part 2, kind of rushed as I did it the other morning before work.


The Dark Side of the Moon
Wish You Were Here (Blue, Hollan pressing)
Animals
The Wall

7/6/16 6:47AM



Part 1.

18 minutes sucks, but, there were a bunch to show., and this was a 2nd attempt/draft, etc

Projected Sounds
Piper at the Gates of Dawn
Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Italian)
A Nice Pair
Relics
Zabriske Point
Atom Heart Mother
Meddle
Obscured by Clouds
Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Random Artist Feature: Queen (incl Part 2)

8/23/16 7:16PM

Part 2

Sort of spotty given I do own these, but am only luke warm about most of them sans for The Flash Gordon Soundtrack



-A Day at the Races
-News of the World
-The Game
-Flash Gordon

not shown but discussed:
-Jazz


7/12/16 4:31PM


I said "Bohemian Rhapsody" being the best or favorite Queen album, of course I meant A Night at the Opera.

Otherwise, 1st 4 albums, I also forgot to show my copy of Queen II, but oh well.

Queen
Queen II
Sheer Heart Attack
A Night at the Opera

Small Vinyl Update Video (The Monkees + Hawkwind + Yes item)



The Monkees - Good Times! (Barnes and Noble) + 7"
Hawkwind - Levitation (Blue)
Yes - Wall Pick

as I said in the video, a more in-depth review of Good Times! should come soon.

Also I forgot to mention, but given how history goes, I'll probably see 4 or 5 used copies of Levitation in the next year, lol.

SikTh at The Varsity Theater 8-22-16



 My review of finally seeing SikTh live on Monday August 22, 2016 at the Varsity Theater in Minneapolis, MN

Shown:
The Trees Are Dead & Dried Out Wait for Something Wild
Death of a Dead Day
Opacities

Setlist
Part of the Friction
Philistine Philosophies
Hold My Finger
Scent of the Obscene
Flogging the Horses
When Will the Forest Speak...?
Wait for Something Wild
Pussyfoot
Skies of Millennium Night
Sanguine Seas of Bigotry
Bland Street Bloom

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Artist Review: Renaissance



Renaissance, like Crimson, I just decided to make 1 longer video.

I swear I own a copy of Azure D'Or on Vinyl, but maybe I misplaced it.

Artist Review: King Crimson



28 minutes, which per recent videos I've made for these, and trying to cover more or less their entire catalog, I suppose 28 minutes isn't so long.

College Progressive Rock (Video)



A bit hyperbolic, but hardly to the degree I have gone into in this blog at times. Some names and demographic/media, etc I should have mentioned (pitchfork, the current, etc), but so be it.

This almost could be a good video to feature on my channel, sans for how long it is.

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Random Artist Feature: Yes

8/14/16 2:30AM

24 minute video which again, longer than I'd prefer, but would almost rather do 1 longer than 2 shorter I suppose. Lot of ground to cover, etc.



6/28/16 6:24PM




Yes
Time and a Word
The Yes Album
Fragile
Close to the Edge
Tales from Topographic Oceans
Relayer

Friday, August 12, 2016

Marillion - F*** Everyone And Run (2015-2016)

8/12/16 11:32AM

trailer

 

7/7/16-7/8/16



edit: excerpt
"New Kings" is available to download for the Pledgemusic supporters.

I'm listening right now..liking it, although it's definitely a methodical, multi-part composition. Kind of reminds me of Ocean Cloud in some ways.

I'm sure I'll love it, especially with more listenings.

edit: loving the middle Rothery section..M-E-L-A-N-C-H-O-L-Y.

6/30/16 10:35PM


Tracklist:

1. El Dorado (i) Long-Shadowed Sun
2. El Dorado (ii) The Gold
3. El Dorado (iii) Demolished Lives
4. El Dorado (iv) F E A R
5. El Dorado (v) The Grandchildren of Apes
6. Living in F E A R
7. The Leavers (i) Wake Up in Music
8. The Leavers (ii) The Remainers
9. The Leavers (iii) Vapour Trails in the Sky
10. The Leavers (iv) The Jumble of Days
11.  The Leavers (v) One Tonight
12.  White Paper
13.  The New Kings (i) Fuck Everyone and Run
14.  The New Kings (ii) Russia’s Locked Doors
15.  The New Kings (iii) A Scary Sky
16.  The New Kings (iv) Why Is Nothing Ever True?

17.  The Leavers (vi) Tomorrow’s New Country

I know this was shared a couple of days ago, but I never got around to bumping it.

Of course Lucy Jordache's comments are glowing about this record, and I am maybe slightly more optimistic about it. 3 *suites*

El Dorado (5)
The Leavers (6)
The New Kings (4)

15 of the 17 tracks. I might wonder if they could resemble the "Marbles" suite, save for the fact those suites or tracks were more like segue pieces, movements, etc.

4/7/16 7:15AM



Facebook Link

Our new album will be released on September 9th 2016. Final date for pre-orders is 17th June. Thanks to everyone who has pre-ordered so far. We are very excited about this album and can't wait to share it with you.

F***
Everyone
And
Run

I'm assuming the title is actually "Fear" despite some of the cryptic way that pic shows. And the "F***" Fuck?..likely. Some fans though joked it could be Fish, and Fish could be on this album which both would be a pleasant surprise and funny at the same time. But, wishful thinking/dreaming, lol.

edit: The title is actually "F*** Everyone And Run" per Twitter (they replied to My Reposting. Good to clear that up!)


September 9th, 2 weeks and 1 day before my wedding, lol. And there likely will be a "Marillion" table at my wedding.

At any case, I'm pretty stoked to hear this of course. September 9th, like my wedding, can't come soon enough in a lot of ways.

Preorder

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Steven Wilson: Question and Answer (Early August 2016)

http://stevenwilsonhq.com/sw/for-those-that-missed-it-steven-wilson-facebook-live-qa-session/

I actually haven't finished the entire thing, but a lot of it. And and I'm up against the clock. But I'll try and include a few points:

-New album..will include more electronic elements, but still be Rock. Also feature the female vocalist Ninet Tayeb? from HCE and 4 1/2 (+ at many live shows)

-he doesn't hate Auto-Tune, just how it's used, lol.

-he doesn't foresee a SW cruise, but also he might be up for a 1-off festival of all his projects and bands.

-there may be another Storm Corrosion album, but maybe not. Him and Mikael may work together again but may never share what they do, while hanging out, drinking wine and making some kind of music.

-He would like to look into doing music for movies, perhaps after the current record he's making right now.....Deadwing movie? (a question I would love to pose to him, although his answer probably wouldn't be all that different than what he says in this video).

edit: the whole thing is here on YouTube as well.

Random Artist Feature: Rush

8/10/16 6:25AM

Part 3. I should make a part 4 and finally wrap this one up soon, but I can't be sure if that will be next week or more so, down the road as I don't have any of those albums on vinyl. I may just wait until I do, although Snakes and Arrows I wouldn't plan on it.



Power Windows
Hold Your Fire
Force Ten 12"
A Show of Hands
Presto
Vapor Trails (Remix)

7/19/16 8:02PM

Permanent Waves
Moving Pictures
Exit...Stage Left
Signals
New World Man/Vital Signs (live) 7"
The Spirit of Radio "7
New World Man/Vital Signs (live) 12"
Grace Under Pressure
Distant Early Warning/Between the Wheels 12"

16 mins unfortunately, and Part 3 came out longer. Unsure if I want to remake that 1. 
There is a lot to talk about Rush though and the fact I have a bunch of additional pieces besides just the standard studio albums.

6/28/16 4:49PM


Again, Part 1 of this new retro prog favorites, etc.


Random Artist Feature: Genesis

8/10/16 6:21AM

Parts 2 and 3. A phone call derailed part 2, but it also forced it to not be as long, etc. I also am borrowing slightly from Ministry of Music's "Album Review" title.

As I mention and label them, these are now called "Artist Review" as it sort of works better. I also include some comments about other channels and upcoming Artist Reviews.

I unfortunately forgot to mention something about Daryl Stuermer. O well.




A Trick of the Tail
Wind and Wuthering
Seconds Out
Spot the Pigeon
And Then There Were Three...
Duke (2)
Live at the Theater Royal 5-4-1980
Genesis



Live at the Royal Theater 5-4-1980
Revelatory Genesis 78-80
Abacab

not shown, but discussed
Genesis
Invisible Touch
We Can't Dance
Calling All Stations + Kevin Gilbert


6/28/16 4:23PM



So this is the start of a few bigger name collection/vinyl/anecdotes series on YouTube.

There's a deeper commentary about what I'm trying with these right now, etc, but I'll just say for now, I am hoping by making videos about more well known artists, these videos (and thus other videos I've made/will make by lesser known artists) will be seen.

Why in a series? obviously, the discographies are so long, the videos would end up 30 or more mins.

Why not all at once? I'm just sampling here..and it's kind of a cool, more *random* way to do this.


Sunday, August 7, 2016

Vinyl Update 8-7-16 ft Dream Theater

I kind of wanted to show the new Dream Theater vinyl I found for under $20 yesterday. The anecdote about the wedding is odd, as the idea of finding a cheap Pink Floyd vinyl unless it's at a garage sale or something is kind of preposterous.



XTC - Dear God/Extrovert/Earn Enough for Us/Grass 12"
Dream Theater - Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence
Dream Theater - Train of Thought
Dream Theater - Octavarium
Dream the Electric Sleep - Beneath the Dark Wide Sky

Friday, August 5, 2016

8/4/15: Bubblemath w/ Faun Fables+Paul Fonfara @ TripleRock

So I saw Bubblemath, or at least 4/5 of the band perform last night at The Triple Rock.

The Triple Rock, probably still my favorite venue for Rock shows in Minnesota, however last evening, for some reason the main stage and whole standing or "pit" area was curtained off, I guess per the projected size of the crowd for a somewhat short-notice/little promoted show.

But the crowd size was easily 50 or more people, which I guess my sense is the main stage and standing area could have been fine to use.

I dunno.

But Bubblemath, who I think it has been around 13 years since I'd seen, last time from memory was at The Cabooze in 2003. But their last show was in 2005 at The Triple Rock as well, but not a show I attended.

Their singer Jonathan Smith was not there, and so they played an hour I'd guess, of all-new, all-instrumental music. Music that will not in fact be on their follow-up album I guess, but perhaps on Album #3?

What was it like? verrry busy, technical, epic, and in synchonization. Very jazzy. But like their other music, it definitely was democratic in that no member seems to take over the spotlight more than any other. And many times they play in chorus together with a rhythm or a riff.

I guess if the early Bubblemath sounds at times like Gentle Giant meets Devo, this is more along the lines of Brand X or even like the most recent The Mercury Tree stuff.

Busy, intricate, methodical, etc..but it seemed every piece has moments to enjoy and get into, even if they at times took some time to get to.

Faun Fables: I enjoyed to a point. 1 of the guys from Sleepytime Gorilla Museum's recent project that is very Acoustic and almost Renaissance-festival kind of stylings. Folk in nature, etc. Some diverse instrumentation and blending lead female vocals with male vocals at times. And they had some of the odd percussion at points like SGM.

Paul Fonfara as well, not bad. The pieces with the samples and layers of instrumentation worked best. The singer/songwriter work, I guess my feeling is I can take or leave.

But overall, great to see Bubblemath. Their new album very well may finally come out in the coming year or less (by the end of 2016 maybe). And it may be digitally released, at least just initially.

I do know there are a lot of the prog fans who are clamoring for it, so hopefully that Chinese Democracy/Smile like wait will finally end somewhat soon.
'
oh: and 1 of the coolest things about last night was how it did feel in some ways like a REUNION of some kind, seeing many people I hadn't in many years. From Maureen and Marshall from Run at the Dog, to obviously the Bubblemath guys and many of their friends-fans, etc

Now only if we could get Bubblemath to play a show with The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra, Lehto and Wright and/or Brice Plays Drums among other local Minnesota prog groups, that would be quite an event as well.

The Dear Hunter - Act V: Hymns with the Devil in Confessional (2015-2016)

8/5/16 9:46AM

Another new track "Revival"..like the saxophone.

thumbs up.

 

6/22/16 10:01AM
http://hymnswiththedevil.com/

Release Date per iTunes link below is September 9th, 2016.
Although as 2 entries says, the link above will likely have more details come at 1PM Central. 

Cover Art for Act V, Hymns with the Devil in Confessional.jpg
1 Regress 1:22   
2 The Moon / Awake 6:09        
3 Cascade 5:11        
4 The Most Cursed of Hands / Who Am I 6:42        
5 The Revival 5:00        
6 Melpomene 4:14        
7 Mr. Usher (On His Way to Town) 4:59        
8 The Haves Have Naught 4:12        
9 Light 4:02        
10 Gloria 5:16        
11 The Flame (Is Gone) 5:40        
12 The Fire (Remains) 5:26        
13 The March 4:12        
14 Blood 4:33        
15 A Beginning 6:19

iTunes Preorder

"Gloria" streaming on Spotify

Tour Dates also are coming with Eisley and Gavin Castleton which Minneapolis is already confirmed on September 16th at The Fine Line (I should go, but I may not per another show out of town with the fiancee and Monkees/Nesmith/50th Anniversary related in LA).


Note from Casey per the above link


In January of 2015, I shared an image with my friends on Instagram of a book of sheet music. This music, prepared with the help of Brian Adam McCune (who also added additional orchestration) was being tracked at Fantasy Studios in  Berkeley, CA with the amazing Awesöme Orchestra, lead by David Möschler (conductor).

The image, at the time, had the title blurred out. I’ve never been a fan of talking something up before it’s finished… before I even know if I want people to hear it. There is such a large trend with artists to discuss their future creation at length - to promise the best work of their career; a return to form; etc… It seems, more often than not, that these promises rarely deliver, and serve more as morale boosters for the artists themselves.

I would be lying if I didn’t admit that I enjoy the opposite. While I am not an elusive, or mysterious person - I do enjoy the mystery, and elusion… and since it seems a rare occurrence that the matter makes good on the mystery - I steep in that realm for as long as I can.

I’ve fielded many questions. I’ve told many lies. Every inquiry met with dismissal… Every ‘What are you guys doing next?’ met with a ‘Really? Act IV just came out… less than a year ago! Don’t I deserve some time off?’… Some of my acidity may have been rooted in some authentic anxiety… in all reality, it had only been 8 months…

So, with that image (in link), I would like to announce Act V. These two albums, Act IV and V, were written and recorded much in the same time frame- though each album retains its own unique identity, tone, and experience.

Act V, however, will be the final ‘rock’ record in the Act series. This may read as though I am abandoning the project, one record early - but the truth is simply that in knowing what Act VI means to the series, and what its story has to say - presenting it in the same form as Acts I-V would be short selling the creative opportunity it presents.

It isn’t always easy to find the balance between personal creative fulfillment, and the fulfillment of our fans/friends - especially when you’ve spent more than a decade of your life pursuing one path… and though my personal path has been, at times, far more tangential than the paths I see so many artists walking - I still find myself pushing for new, and exciting ideas… It is that same gut instinct that has lead me through the Acts, the Color Spectrum, Migrant, and Amour & Attrition… and as always, I need to trust that instinct.

In the foreseeable future, this means to recognize the box that The Dear Hunter has lived in, and blow the box up. This doesn’t mean more than it says. This band is not ending… I am not quitting… This is nothing more than vocalizing the desire for fresh air after what I believe has been the busiest, and most obsessive, two years of my life.

So - to commemorate this moment in both my, and the band’s creative history, we are setting out this September on what I am calling ‘The Final Act Tour’… Does it sound grim? Possibly… Is it? No. This is a celebration of everything that has brought me to this point… a celebration for every person who ever toiled over the meaning of a verse; the placement of an illustration; the name of a song; the point of view the lyrics maintain… This tour is for all of you, and we couldn’t be more excited to see you.

In addition to the tour, we will also be having ‘Story Time with Casey’, and while that sounds like the setup for a late night cartoon, it’s really an opportunity to get together, meet face to face, and discuss the larger world that exists in the records - be it the story or the music.

In summation - I need to stress something to you all…The single greatest responsibility I have is my commitment to creativity.  The task of remaining true and authentic is not something I take lightly, and I may have imploded long ago, if not for the incredible and endless support I receive daily from fans, friends, and family… I am humbled, and grateful to have you all in my life - and I am incredibly excited for the remainder of this year.


Act V: Hymns with the Devil in Confessional will be released this September on Cave & Canary Goods / Equal Vision Records.

Act V was written at the same time as Act IV and this Act V is the final "Rock" act per say. I wonder if Act VI will end up being a symphony?

Edit: Also GOOD LORD, there's like a dozen different preorder packages, including a $90 and $100 one that includes among a number of other things, the ACT I: THE LAKE SOUTH, THE RIVER NORTH GRAPHIC NOVEL. Also playing cards, coffee, a flask, mug and other stuff. I can't see how I won't be able to preorder, although I was hoping to wait. The issue could be with the Colored Vinyl being limited in quantities right now.

Tour Dates:
Jul 16 PromoWest Fest Columbus, OH
Sep 09 DOUG FIR LOUNGE Portland, OR
Sep 10 NEUMOS Seattle, WA
Sep 13 The Complex Salt Lake City, UT
Sep 14 Summit Music Hall Denver, CO
Sep 16 Fine Line Music Hall Minneapolis, MN
Sep 20 The Ready Room St Louis, MO
Sep 21 Metro Chicago, IL
Sep 23 The Loving Touch Ferndale, MI
Sep 24 Beachland Ballroom Cleveland, OH
Sep 25 The Waiting Room Buffalo, NY
Sep 27 The Met Pawtucket, RI
Sep 29 Paradise Rock Club Boston, MA
Sep 30 Union Transfer Philadelphia, PA
Oct 01 Webster Hall New York, NY
Oct 05 Rock & Roll Hotel Washington, DC
Oct 07 Cat's Cradle Carrboro, NC
Oct 08 Exit In Nashville, TN
Oct 09 Terminal West @ King Plow Arts Center Atlanta, GA
Oct 12 The Social Orlando, FL
Oct 14 White Oak Music Hall Houston, TX
Oct 15 The Mohawk Austin, TX
Oct 16 Gas Monkey Bar N Grill Dallas, TX
Oct 20 Crescent Ballroom Phoenix, AZ
Oct 21 The Irenic San Diego, CA
Oct 22 The Glass House Pomona, CA
Oct 25 El Rey Theatre Los Angeles, CA
Oct 28 The Fillmore San Francisco, CA