Friday, September 20, 2019

Artists/Bands Who DEFINE 2000-2009 to ME

Here's a semi-accurate list of artists/bands I think of DEFINE the music of 2000-2009 TO ME.

While some have 1 memorable or great album, or maybe 2-3, others have a nice body of work that stand the test of time.

Or some have 1 exceptional record and some other albums I think are okay or still enjoy.

It's a good list, and I think at this point, includes a lot more favorites over 2010-2019.


Aereogramme
Agalloch/Sculptured
Anathallo
The Antlers
Apes and Androids/Call Florence Pow
The Apex Theory/Mt.Helium
The Apples in Stereo
The Appleseed Cast
Archive
As Tall as Lions
Avenged Sevenfold
Battles
Bend Sinister
Between the Buried and Me
Blackfield
Bloc Party
Broken Social Science
Burst
California Guitar Trio
The Chap
Clann Zu
Cloud Cult
Coheed and Cambria
The Dear Hunter
The Decemberists
Doves
Dream Theater
dredg
The Ebb and Flow
Enchant
Fair to Midland
Fates Warning/John Arch
Fields.
The Flower Kings
God is an Astronaut
Godspeed You Black Emperor
Greg Herriges
Hiromi
Imogen Heap/Frou Four
House of Fools
Kaddisfly
Kacica
Karnivool
Kiss Kiss
Klimt 1918
Kunek/Other Lives
Local Natives/Cavil at Rest
Margot and the Nuclear So and So's
Marillion
The Mars Volta
Mason Proper
Mastodon
maudlin of the Well
Men Women and Children
Menomena/Ramona Falls
Pat Metheny
Mew
Minus the Bear
Murder by Death
Muse
Mutemath
Mutyumu
Neverending White Lights
The New Pornographers
Oceansize
Opus Dai
OSI
Opeth
Ours
Pain of Salvation
Amanda Palmer/The Dresden Dolls
People for Audio
Porcupine Tree
Protest the Hero
Pure Reason Revolution
The Receiving End of Sirens
Josh Rouse
Russian Circles
Shaman/Andre Matos
Sigur Ros
SikTh
Silverchair/The Dissociatives
Spock's Beard
St.Vincent
Stateless
Sufjan Stevens
System of a Down
Textures
Three
Time of Orchids
Tokyo Jihen
Transatlantic
Umphrey's McGee
UneXpect
Under the Influence of Giants
Wolf Parade
Wolfmother
Woven
The Velvet Teen
Zero Hour
Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Artists/Bands who DEFINED 2010-2019 for ME

Here's a semi-accurate list of artists that at this point, when I think of 2010-2019 music, albums +touring, I think of for MY TASTE.

I'm sure I'm missing some names, and would prefer to write even twitter-length blurbs for some, which unlikely but with some time off, maybe I will (right now, I am dealing with no WATER HEATER/NO HOT WATER in my townhouse, so one could guess my priorities).

But we'll see.

I should do an express 2000-20009 list and I am certain already that while I love the names I think for 2010-2019, the 2000-2009 list is rather extensive with a large number of all-time favorites.

Granted, in 2029, the 2010-2019 list THEN may dwarf this current 2010-2019 list, but at this point, I can't deny 2000-2009 I still have more overall love for.

22
Anathema
Arch/Matheos
Josh Benash/Vuvuzela
Bend Sinister
Bent Knee
Brice Plays Drums
Brooke Waggoner
Capital Cities
Cloud Cult
Crippled Black Phoenix
Daft Punk
The Dear Hunter
Dirt Poor Robins
Dream the Electric Sleep
Everything Everything
The Family Crest
Fjokra
Rachel Flowers
Foals
The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra
Gatherer
Gotye
Hotel of the Laughing Tree
iamthemorning
Marketa Irglova
Kimbra
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard
Major Parkinson
Mayer Hawthorne
The Mercury Tree
Miracles of Modern Science
Janelle Monae
Mutemath
Ne Oliviscaris
Nordic Giants
nosound
Amanda Palmer
The Reign of Kindo/Kindo
The River Empires/The Gloomcatcher/Falling Up
Small Leaks Sink Ships
Esperanza Spalding
Team Me
Timbre
Typhoon
Vektor
Vennart
Warpaint
Steven Wilson

Thursday, September 19, 2019

2019-2020 Albums Anticipation LIST (no blurbs, as of 9/19/19)

Just a preliminary list that I'm sure will look quite different even in a month.

The regular names of an album could but still has yet to come out, often with artists/bands that like to take their time. 

I am particularly excited for the King's X, Ours, Pain of Salvation and Pure Reason Revolution albums namely.

11/1/19-12/31/19

November
1: Long Distance Calling - STUMMFILM – Live From Hamburg
1: Josh Rouse - The Christmas Songs of Josh Rouse
8: The Flower Kings - Waiting for Miracles
22: The Who - WHO
Dirt Poor Robins - The Complete Raven Locks (on CD) EARLY NOVEMBER


2020
Anathema
Cloud Cult
Doves
The Family Crest - The War Act II (or Part II?)
Green Carnation
King’s X (double album, Winter/Spring)
Ours - Spectacular Sight III
Pain of Salvation
The Polyphonic Spree - Salvage Enterprise
Protest the Hero
Psychotic Waltz
Pure Reason Revolution
Steven Wilson


3 - Live at Bearsville Theater, Woodstock, NY
The Dear Hunter
dredg
Dirt Poor Robins - Dead Horse, Alaska, (BLACK)
Enchant
Fish - Weltschmertz
Kimbra
Mayer Hawthorne
NewVillager
Negroni's Trio
Neverending White Lights
No-Man
Pepe Deluxe
The Red Paintings - Anthems for Unwanted Wars
Sculptured - The Liminal Phase
The Tea Party

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Rock Hall WISHLIST

This is not a Prediction for the upcoming Nominations, and I made this list like 2 weeks ago but could have and should spent more time with it.

But maybe for another entry.

If I had my druthers, these artists would get in the Hall this year or in the next year or 2.

An Edit or 2nd/different entry maybe I'll include more/more details..or maybe when the actual nominations come in the next month or less.

Jethro Tull
The Monkees
George Michael
INXS
Duran Duran
Phil Collins
King Crimson
Iron Maiden
Renaissance
Megadeth

Friday, September 6, 2019

Marillion - Neverland LYRIC/Message

This song, the lyrics and the MESSAGE I take from it has always struck me as sort of profound and relate-able in some ways.

Probably the passage most is this part:



I want to be someone
I want to be someone
I want to be someone
Who someone would want to be
Someone would want to be

Be "Someone" being FAMOUS, RECOGNIZED, or even RESPECTED.

I honestly think it's a bit of Catch-22, because I seem to yearn for a lot of that, but at the same time, don't want to change or feel like it's "not all it's cracked up to be"..and would rather be obscure, underground or an underdog.

I just think some of the effort and connected-ness I find, I would see more back-end notice, but I rarely have.

Occasionally, from a site or link, and from the selected people who have said kind words to me, which if I tried to tally up, might be well over 100, maybe more like 200 or more.

But people on YouTube or Twitter..Instagram...podcasts see 100's of thousands, millions even.

And are most of them really warranting that much credit and influence?..or attention. They at times seem like they want only the attention.

And Patreon..love many of them, but I don't earn money to give them all even $3 per month.

I dunno, maybe not being someone is for my best, but I just can't avoid feeling like I desire more recognition and may always fail to get it (despite a million hits..a large chunk of which is just referrals per google or unrelated/spammy sites).




It was 15 years ago today...

Sgt Pepper..err

I began my job at what is still my current employer.

technically it is 15 years ago tomorrow, but my Hire date was on 9/6/04.

Where the hell was everyone else on September 6th, 2004?

While in some ways it seems like it has flown by, in a lot of other ways, my life was dramatically different.

15 years...15 fucking years, lol.

I was 28, was still living in my 1st apartment. Things were worse/more difficult, but in a lot of ways things were more innocent, despite the aftermath of things like 9/11 and the Iraqi war, gas prices going up.

My taste in music was definitely changing/expanding.

Medically I wasn't dealing with any of the issues I have been.

And of course I was single, and really not had more than 1 relationship. That was during a long period of doubting myself. I looked much younger than 28. I have pics that I need to scan in that I look about 19 from then, lol.

Here's 1 with Lucy Jordache of Marillion mgmt from around then (June 2005)



It does beg the question in 15 years, will the same series of changes happen? quite possibly more. I'll be 58, lol. Assuming I make it to 2034.

I've been thinking about spilling my guts about the passage of time and other things in here as opposed to 1 or 2 other online spots, which may be reserved for another time soon.

But among the MILESTONES I have reached in the past few years

-10 years in this blog (December 2016)
-1,000,000 Hits in this Blog (March 2019)
-15 Years of employment at the same company (9/6/19)

it does rank up there. I would never have expected it, but I have stayed at my present company given the success of the company and my ability to do different but still related work. I've somehow managed to learn well and adapt to changes. And frankly, get promoted, probably more than I would have expected.

I mean I work in Healthcare and do Project Management of a kind, which is work that is interesting and challenging at times, often in a good way.

Would I prefer to be a Journalist in music or entertainment or sports? certainly. But I'm a REALIST and would like to pay my bills, so writing in a blog and maybe someday a BOOK is the next best thing.

That work may be found more Full-time when I retire, which given the projections, won't be any time close to 58, but maybe more like 78, lol. Not 2034, but 2054? lol.

Then again, I have to be able to live that long, which is no guarantee (although I have good genes for it, for what that's worth).

Friday, August 30, 2019

Tool, Taylor Swift, Lana Del Rey, Billie Eilish, Rihanna, Kendrick Lamar, Radiohead...

I honestly do not care about, to the point I get inundated by comments, posts, suggestions and message board replies on Social Media, that at least in a window of time, seem to never end.

I know people like these artists, but they aren't for me (or as much as they once were).

I guess part of the idea of almost BEING EXPECTED TO LIKE OR EVEN TALK ABOUT THEM gets tedious and I have to put on my IGNORE CAP regularly.

Image result for Ignore Cap

Hipster-itis among other issues 
besides (Tool, Taylor Swift, Lana Del Rey, Billie Eilish, Rihanna, Kendrick Lamar, Radiohead)
Deafheaven
CHVRCHES
Kamasi Washington
Greta Van Fleet
Beyonce
Ariana Grande
Tame Impala
5 Seconds to Summer
21 Pilots
Imagine Dragons
Bruno Mars
Drake
Chance the Rapper
Childish Gambino
Arcade Fire
The Flaming Lips
Lizzo
Swans

Among prog circles (this list probably needs a rather extensive EDIT):
Haken
Big Big Train
Periphery
Vola
Astronoid
Soen
Animals as Leaders


Don't hate, but just don't care
TesseracT
Redemption
The Ocean
Seventh Wonder
The Pineapple Thief (way too much like Radiohead with Thom Yorke-like vocals)
Ghost

It's been awhile since I really got into any of their work, and I may or may not spend much if any time with their new album.
Riverside
Leprous
Devin Townsend
Between the Buried and Me
Opeth
The Decemberists
Mastodon

Tuesday, August 27, 2019

NewVillager SUITE? ( "Fall 2019" )

Whahhh?

could the new album be titled "Suite," coming Fall 2019?

Monday, August 19, 2019

Bent Knee - You Know What They Mean (2018-2019)





edit: 2nd single/video above "Hold Me In."
This album comes out on October 11th (which is looking like a a big day and month for new music)

Here's the Applemusic Link which appears to be the only thing currently listed (hardly my site of choice, but I'm going with it).

edit: All the Digital Streaming Links

Also,
Spotify has the new single "Hold Me In" LISTED, but still not playable for me at 1:02AM CST

The single from a few months ago I also embedded below.

I love Bent Knee, who are band without a poor record. Their last 3 are all excellent. Looking at this one to be in the mix come fall and November for the end of the AOTY race.
 

No photo description available.
1 Lansing 1:22
2 Bone Rage 4:13
3 Give Us the Gold 3:51
4 Hold Me In 4:50
5 Egg Replacer 3:10
6 Cradle of Rocks 3:59
7 Lovell 1:26
8 Lovemenot 5:09
9 Bird Song 2:55
10 Catch Light 4:38
11 Garbage Shark 5:38
12 Golden Hour 5:50
13 It Happens 5:05

Thursday, August 15, 2019

Tuxedo at The Cedar Cultural Center 8/14/19

Great show at The Cedar Cultural Center from Mayer Hawthorne's synthy-funk duo Tuxedo with Jake One.

The 2nd time my wife and I have seen Tuxedo, and this definitely, overall was a BETTER show than the one a couple of years ago at The Fine Line.

Mayer played bass on some of the tunes, including their cover of Chic's "Good Times."

He did not however play it on the groovey opening track The Tuxedo Way, as it sounded like it was sequenced in.

Why? no idea. And actually "The Tuxedo Way" definitely has a GOOD TIMES-like bassline, so combining or transitioning them would have made some sense to me.

But the highlights besides the 1st song were "On a Good One," which is another banger from Tuxedo III, the new Tuxedo album.

You and Me, So Good, The Right Time, 2nd Time Around

and the 2 Mayer tunes that are kind of staples, Designer Drug and Henny and Gingerale

Great show, great energy, and good SIZE crowd.

The crowd itself? MIXED as my wife and I stood near some tall and very TALKATIVE guys..frat-boys-like. I tolerated it, mocking them a bit by using my hand showing chatter.

Some people like to go to concerts, drink beer, and let not only their friends, but others there who paid good money to see and HEAR the music, HEAR THEIR CONVERSATIONS as well.

Also what does it say when you have a 30 minute wait to buy a bottle of water? LACK OF VOLUNTEERS? I guess.. I used to love, and still like The Cedar, and realize only so many volunteers are available, but I have seen 50 or more concerts there, and not once have I ever had to wait that extensively to buy a bottle of water.

I was thirsty after the show since I wasn't willing to wait that long and miss Tuxedo, so I didn't even bother. I bought merch instead.

But, overall, still a great show, and I'm not sure how we could have done it differently. Parked nearby for cheap, later (8:20-ish, doors were at 7). The DJ went on past his time (8:48..should have been done at 8:30. And he may have been the same DJ that opened at The Fine Line in 2017, which I think the same happened...the guy needs to learn when his time is up and to get off the stage, but apparently it doesn't matter to anyone).

Maybe the only tune they didn't do, which I don't they played in 2017 either, is my favorite off Tuxedo II, Back in Town, but I'd have to check the set list. Otherwise, the set list, energy, performances, etc were very good and rival-ed many of Mayer's incredible solo shows.

Christian Wunderlich was great. The new keyboardist was good, although I think we missed the rhythm section a fair amount at times.

Set List
The Tuxedo Way
Number One
Shy (with snippet of So Ruff, So Tuff by Zapp)
You and Me
2nd Time Around
Vibrations
So Good (with snippet of Feels Good by Tony Toni Toné)
The Right Time
On a Good One
Good Times (Chic cover)
Toast 2 Us (with snippet of Big Poppa… more )
Get U Home
July (with snippet of Corsican Rose by Mayer Hawthorne)
Designer Drug (Mayer Hawthorne song)
This Beat Is Mine (Vicky D cover)
If U Want It
OMW
Rotational
Fux With the Tux
Do It

Encore:
Watch the Dance
Henny and Gingerale (Mayer Hawthorne song)

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

The Bird and the Bee @ The Turf Club 8/11/19

The wife is a pretty big fan of The Bird and the Bee.

The Bird and the Bee recently released a 2nd "Interpreting the Masters" album, which is in-effect, is a Covers album, but they are interpretations, not direct covers.

And it was for Van Halen (they did one for Hall and Oates previously), the David Lee Roth period specifically.

I actually kind of like the synthy, jazzy at-times versions of these Roth-era Van Halen tunes.

And my wife is NOT a Van Halen fan (unlike her love of Hall and Oates).

Anyway, we saw them live at The Turf Club on Sunday night. The 2nd time we've seen The Bird and the Bee since 2015.

And like 2015, it was just Inara George with her backing band, i.e. NO Greg Kurstin (nore Dave Grohl, like in LA).

As I found out per twitter from Inara, Greg does not like to tour, like ever, even though he's HALF of the band.

But the wife and I knew that going-in.

And Greg Kurstin in recent years has become a hot producer for the likes of Adele, Beck, The Foo Fighters among many other HUGE names (including Kimbra actually). So touring for his own band isn't exactly where his primary priorities.

But it was a fun show. Probably better than the 2015 show at The Cedar. We at least had seating, compared to the back problem standing the whole show I had back in 2015 I recall.

They/Inara and her band did a combination of the Van Halen and Hall and Oates tunes, and then many Bird and the Bee tracks. And she closed with the Bee Gees "How Deep is Your Love?"

The track list is NOT in order and I may have missed 1 or 2 tracks besides the B-side I didn't catch.

The trombone(s) may have been my favorite part of her band actually, which I didn't catch the name of the guy playing both that and guitar.

Also oddly enough, I ran into a few local prog fans in Marc, Creighton and Ian. Although I would hardly call The Bird and the Bee prog, their music is quirky enough at times, I can follow the appeal, which begs the questions why my wife is so into them. 1 comparison on rateyoumusic is to the Cardigans which she is a fan of anyway. Maybe the Hall and Oates thing brought her in no matter?


Set List
Again and Again
Recreational Love
F*cking Boyfriend
Will You Dance With Me?
Love Letter to Japan
The Polite Dance
Runaway
Panama (Van Halen)
Running with the Devil (Van Halen)
Ain't Talking About Love (Van Halen)
I Can't Go for That (Hall and Oates)
Sara Smile (Hall and Oates)
Ray Gun
La La La
[B-side]?
I'm a Broken Heart
How Deep is Your Love (Bee Gees)

Sunday, August 11, 2019

Kindo @ Skyway Theatre (Studio B) 8/9/19

Kindo/The Reign of Kindo played their 1st headlining show in Minnesota on Friday night at 1 of the smaller venues inside The Skyway Theatre in downtown Minneapolis.

I could be wrong, but the tour they are on is their 1st headlining tour of North America, at least outside the Northeast.

How many people were there? I would guess maybe 100-150, but I'm not certain. There are Kindo fans in Minnesota as I know from the 2 most recent shows they played here (April of 2019, and August of 2017). I also have found some of their cds at Half Price Books and even Cheapo perhaps.

So I must mention the openers, which were all good, enjoyable and music I would go for hearing more of. Maybe most in particular, Rocco of the Snow, the 1st band. Rocco DellaNeve is the keyboardist from Kindo, but he has some fantastic music of his own.
Image may contain: 1 person
I enjoyed Rocco so much, I ended up buying his record Prime Mover (not a Rush or Ghost reference).

I took from Rocco's music to be very catchy, dreamy and electronic rock. Almost like a cross between The Apples in Stereo and Timmy Sean.

Very well written, melodic and moody. It almost fits in with the "Indietronica" stuff I've written about, and I talked to him after the show and he kind of likes that term for his stuff. I am really digging it, so much, I can definitely see myself writing something more about Rocco of the Snow soon in here.

Adrian Bellue (not to be confused with Adrian Belew of King Crimson, Zappa, Talking Heads) does this really cool multi-sustained electrified acoustic guitar. It's all just him. Lots of tones and effects. Similar to say Michael Hedges or Tim Reynolds. He was crazy good. And he is planning on playing Minneapolis again this Fall (October? I thought he said).

I actually messaged him a few months ago when he was named for this tour, about the Adrian Belew thing, and he told me he may try and do a Bellue plays Belew sometime.

Sirintip is what I would describe as a Female Singer/Songwriter, but maybe with a bit of a Jazz and Soul element? But her show on Friday was JUST HER. Ala Imogen Heap, or Kimbra at The Cedar a few years ago, or even St.Vincent many years back at The Walker.

It was her and an assortment of keyboards and microphone effects.

Very moody, atmospheric and electronic.

She reminded me of those above and even say Jessie Ware at points.

The highlight for me was a song she dedicated to a friend who had died recently. Very melancholic.

Her music might do well with film or television, as it has a cinematic quality I enjoyed. Although I wonder what it would be like with a full band, which she said this is the 1st tour she's done without one.

And as far as Kindo, it was another fantastically energetic show with many highlights.

I Hate Music maybe being my favorite as I can't ever get sick of that song. The funky/catchy bass rhythm from Jeff Jarvis, while repetitive, totally works with a sick groove. Maybe even better live than on the studio version.

Waiting on the Wind (not to be confused with Walking on the Wind from Spock's Beard), which is 1 of the Patreon tunes that has not been released, was another great part.

Impossible World, Flowers by the Moon, Something in the Way that You Are and and Just Wait were tunes I don't think I had heard them do be before.

Hold Out and The Moments in Between and of course Hero were others that always sound even greater live. Smell of a Rose, Return to Me and Human Convention also never fail to work well live. Kind of live staples from Happy However After.

Gerald Castillo who plays percussion (Djembe? and some others) really adds a lot to their live sound. He actually had this great drum-off with Kindo's drummer Kendall Lantz, during the encore during Just Wait. It was a really great way to end the show.

Also great to chat with members of Kindo, including Joey finally. I told him about my love the tune "Poor and Hungry Kings" ; how it's now become 1 of my 5 favorite tunes and how much I wish more fans (not on the Patreon) could hear it. But I didn't ask him about when the next album was coming, etc.

He did tell me they are planning on doing 1 of those in-studio videos for Human Convention which should be great to see.

But they have 15? or more songs that didn't get released on Happy However After, and there's more coming. And as great as HHA is (and it is, as I put it #2 on my list of favorite albums 2018), I think many of the strongest tunes from the last few years, from Patreon, have yet to be released. Besides Poor and Hungry Kings, stuff like Ladybug and Citizen of Nowhere namely. And that tune they did on Friday, Waiting on the Wind.

So depending on schedules, maybe their next record will come in 2020 or 2021?

I also talked about The Dear Hunter with them, and how Nick Crescenzo on a recent podcast mentioned being a huge fan. I think it's not IF but just WHEN they finally tour with TDH. Because I would estimate like 50% of the TDH fans are Kindo fans.

Also cool to see some local fans, 1 being Tom from the band Earthrise. He was animated the whole show, getting the fans into it in the front.

the other being Matt O'Leary who I found has a great YouTube Channel where he talks about prog and indie rock among other genres. He has even done collaborations with Notes Reviews in fact.

I was able to chat with him and his wife Nina about a number of topics, mostly music of course as they are both huge/passionate music fans (and musicians themselves, which I guess was the original intent of their channel).

We talked among other things, about Kindo and what we could do to try and help them sort of breakthrough because we know they could have a larger audience if given the amount of exposure. My friend Nate mentioned to me how with Kindo, their music is almost too diverse for the masses, as catchy and melodic as it can be. Like Keane goes Jazz-Rock.

But I still wonder, given the right tour or a hit single or something, they could find a larger audience. I suppose my fanboy bias is included in wanting that so much; but I have seen this happen many other times; King's X, Three, dredg, etc, etc....The Dear Hunter and Dream Theater have kind of been exceptions to an extent. Baby-steps at their own gradual pace?


Set List
Let Me Be
Hold Out
Impossible World
Human Convention
Waiting on the Wind
Bullets in the Air
Romancing a Stranger
Return to Me
Something in the Way That You Are
Flowers by the Moon
The Hero, the Saint, the Tyrant, and the Terrorist
Smell of a Rose
The Moments in Between

Encore:
Feeling in the Night
I Hate Music
Just Wait

Thursday, August 8, 2019

Dan Moxon - Where You Gonna Sleep Tonight [1B] (2019)

Dan Moxon released this new single back on June 21st, which is for an upcoming solo album, expected out in the Fall per https://www.danmoxonmusic.com/

Good tune, even though a ballad. I dig the sax.

I can follow why Dan is doing a solo thing for various reasons. For one, maybe some of the tunes he writes don't totally work with Bend Sinister.

Also to tour, it's probably more cost effective.

Anyway, I'm surprised I hadn't noticed this until now, but better late than never of course. Looking forward to the full-length which when details come, I'll have to post about it of course.

Funny music video, which I could be wrong, but Dan may have lost a little weight?

4-Star Albums [486]

I'm not going to post images or write any specific blurbs.

This is just an estimate of all the albums  (not many SINGLES though aside from a few epic exceptions) that I have rated at 4-stars on my rateyourmusic page. A few compilations, but some removed.

486 total.

I know NOW, some of these albums I probably would not rate at 4, whereas there may be some 4.5's or 3.5's that I would now re-rate at 4-stars.

But between this list at 486, the 120+ 4.5 star releases and the 62 or so 5-star albums,  I rate about 668 albums at 4-stars or better. Which honestly any record I consider 4-stars or better is worth paying money for and revisiting, with the hope it holds up.

Now that I've shared this epic list, do I dare tackle the 3.5's? I may do something similar to this one, but inevitably, it'll take a good amount more time.

But, this actually didn't take too long, so even if it's 2-3 times as long, that won't seem as bad/time-consuming as it would I expect.

Again not RANKED, just in chronological order by Year. I can without question say some of these albums I prefer over others (with 486, that certainly should be the case).

The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds (1966)
The Beatles - Revolver (1966)
Pink Floyd - The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (1967)
Van Morrison - Astral Weeks (1968)
Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin (1969)
King Crimson - In the Court of the Crimson King (1969)
Frank Zappa - Hot Rats (1969)
Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin II (1969)
Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young - Déjà vu (1970)
The Who - Live at Leeds [25th Anniversary Edition] (1970)
King Crimson - In the Wake of Poseidon (1970)
Soft Machine - Third (1970)
Genesis - Trespass [Definitive Edition Remaster] (1970)
Yes - The Yes Album (1971)
Pink Floyd - Relics (1971)
The Mahavishnu Orchestra With John McLaughlin - The Inner Mounting Flame (1971)
Pink Floyd - Meddle (1971)
Led Zeppelin [IV]
Deep Purple - Machine Head (1972)
Black Sabbath - Children of the Grave (1972)
Black Sabbath - Vol 4 (1972)
Wishbone Ash - Argus (1972)
Deep Purple - Made in Japan (1972)
Led Zeppelin - Houses of the Holy (1973)
Genesis - Live (1973)
Queen - Queen (1973)
Bruce Springsteen - The Wild, the Innocent and the E Street Shuffle (1973)
Renaissance - Ashes Are Burning (1973)
Herbie Hancock - Head Hunters (1973)
Mahavishnu Orchestra - Between Nothingness and Eternity (1973)
Queen - Queen II (1974)
Renaissance - Turn of the Cards (1974)
Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young - So Far (1974)
Todd Rundgren's Utopia - Todd Rundgren's Utopia (1974)
Genesis - The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway (1974)
Return to Forever featuring Chick Corea - No Mystery (1975)
Rush - Fly by Night (1975)
Bruce Springsteen - Born to Run (1975)
Jethro Tull - Minstrel in the Gallery (1975)
Rush - Caress of Steel (1975)
Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here (1975)
Steve Hackett - Voyage of the Acolyte (1975)
Chris Squire - Fish Out of Water (1975)
Styx - Equinox (1975)
The Billy Cobham / George Duke Band - "Live" - On Tour in Europe (1976)
Genesis - A Trick of the Tail (1976)
Pat Metheny - Bright Size Life (1976)
Rainbow - Rising (1976)
Jon Anderson - Olias of Sunhillow (1976)
Rush - All the World's a Stage (1976)
Al Di Meola - Land of the Midnight Sun (1976)
Kansas - Leftoverture (1976)
Genesis - Wind & Wuthering (1976)
Annie Haslam - Annie in Wonderland (1977)
Jethro Tull - Songs From the Wood (1977)
Al Di Meola - Elegant Gypsy (1977)
Styx - The Grand Illusion (1977)
Grateful Dead - Terrapin Station (1977)
Renaissance - Novella (1977)
Alec R. Costandinos and The Syncophonic Orchestra - Romeo and Juliet (1978)
Al Di Meola - Casino (1978)
Renaissance - A Song for All Seasons (1978)
Bruce Springsteen - Darkness on the Edge of Town (1978)
Styx - Pieces of Eight (1978)
Kansas - Two for the Show (1978)
Led Zeppelin - In Through the Out Door (1979)
Various Artists - Music From the Soundtrack of the Film Quadrophenia (1979)
Genesis - Duke (1980)
Black Sabbath - Heaven and Hell (1980)
Al Di Meola - Splendido Hotel (1980)
Hawkwind - Levitation (1980)
Rush - Exit...Stage Left (1981)
The Police - Ghost in the Machine (1981)
Pat Metheny Group - Offramp (1982)
Van Halen - Diver Down (1982)
Marillion - Script for a Jester's Tear (1983)
Peter Gabriel - Plays Live (1983)
"Weird Al" Yankovic - In 3-D (1984)
Marillion - Fugazi (1984)
Rush - Grace Under Pressure (1984)
Steely Dan - A Decade of Steely Dan (1985)
The Dukes of Stratosphear - 25 O'Clock (1985)
Tears for Fears - Songs From the Big Chair (1985)
Fates Warning - The Spectre Within (1985)
Rush - Power Windows (1985)
Van Halen - 5150 (1986)
Fates Warning - Awaken the Guardian (1986)
Beastie Boys - Licensed to Ill (1986)
Giraffe - The Power of Suggestion (1987)
Rush - Hold Your Fire (1987)
Marillion - B'Sides Themselves (1988)
Queensrÿche - Operation: Mindcrime (1988)
N.W.A - Straight Outta Compton (1988)
Marillion - The Thieving Magpie (1988)
The Beach Boys - Smile (1989)
Rush - A Show of Hands (1989)
XTC - Oranges and Lemons (1989)
Dream Theater - When Dream and Day Unite (1989)
Marillion - Seasons End (1989)
Queensrÿche - Empire (1990)
Public Enemy - Fear of a Black Planet (1990)
Galactic Cowboys - Galactic Cowboys (1991)
Jimi Hendrix - Stages (1991)
Shadow Gallery - Shadow Gallery (1991)
The Spent Poets - The Spent Poets (1992)
Peter Ostroushko and Dean Magraw - Duo (1992)
Faith No More - Angel Dust (1992)
Extreme - III Sides to Every Story (1992)
Faith No More - Easy (1992)
Jim Matheos - First Impressions (1993)
Savatage - Edge of Thorns (1993)
The Tea Party - Splendor Solis (1993)
Cynic - Focus (1993)
Angra - Angels Cry (1993)
Ours - Sour (1994)
Cirque du Soleil - Alegría (1994)
Stanley Clarke, Al Di Meola and Jean-Luc Ponty - The Rite of Strings (1995)
Kevin Gilbert - Kashmir (1995)
Manfred Hübler and Siegfried Schwab - Vampyros Lesbos: Sexadelic Dance Party (1995)
Spock's Beard - The Light (1995)
Echolyn - As the World (1995)
The Tea Party - The Edges of Twilight (1995)
Pink Floyd - Pulse (1995)
Santana - Dance of the Rainbow Serpent (1995)
Various Artists - Supper's Ready (1995)
Various Artists - Tales From Yesterday (1995)
Dream Theater - A Change of Seasons (1995)
Savatage - Dead Winter Dead (1995)
Savatage - Japan Live '94 (1995)
Saigon Kick - Devil in the Details (1995)
Victor - Victor (1996)
Marillion - Made Again (1996)
I Mother Earth - Scenery and Fish (1996)
Superior - Behind (1996)
DJ Shadow - Endtroducing..... (1996)
Marillion - This Strange Engine (1997)
Pain of Salvation - Entropia (1997)
Savatage - The Wake of Magellan (1997)
Yes - Keys to Ascension 2 (1997)
Royal Hunt - Paradox (1997)
Porcupine Tree - Coma Divine: Recorded Live in Rome (1997)
Pat Metheny Group - Imaginary Day (1997)
Enchant - Break (1998)
Poncho Sanchez - Afro-Cuban Fantasy (1998)
Liquid Tension Experiment - Liquid Tension Experiment (1998)
Jeff Buckley - Sketches for My Sweetheart the Drunk (1998)
Pain of Salvation - One Hour by the Concrete Lake (1998)
Superior - Younique (1998)
Marillion - Radiation 2013 (1998)
Shadow Gallery - Tyranny (1998)
Fates Warning - Still Life (1998)
Rush - Different Stages / Live (1998)
Dream Theater - Christmas CD 1999: Cleaning Out the Closet (1999)
maudlin of the Well - My Fruit Psychobells... A Seed Combustible (1999)
Francesca Gagnon - Au Dela Des Couleurs (1999)
Spock's Beard - Day for Night (1999)
dredg - Leitmotif (1999)
Sigur Rós - Ágætis byrjun (1999)
Liquid Tension Experiment - Liquid Tension Experiment 2 (1999)
Self - Breakfast With Girls (1999)
Marillion - marillion.com (1999)
Opeth - Still Life (1999)
Doves - Lost Souls (2000)
Jeff Buckley - Mystery White Boy (2000)
King's X - Please Come Home...Mr. Bulbous (2000)
Spock's Beard - V (2000)
Self - Gizmodgery (2000)
Enchant - Juggling 9 or Dropping 10 (2000)
Godspeed You Black Emperor! - Lift Yr. Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven! (2000)
Anathallo - Luminous Luminescence in the Atlas Position (2001)
Nexus - Metanoia (2001)
Opeth - Blackwater Park (2001)
Marillion - Anoraknophobia (2001)
Jeff Buckley - Live à L'Olympia (2001)
Muse - Origin of Symmetry (2001)
Dream Theater - Live Scenes From New York (2001)
The Tea Party - The Interzone Mantras (2001)
Green Carnation - Light of Day, Day of Darkness (2001)
Lehto and Wright - The Further Adventures of Darling Cory (2002)
Pat Metheny Group - Speaking of Now (2002)
Archive - You All Look the Same to Me (2002)
Bend Sinister - The Warped Pane (2002)
Shaman - Ritual (2002)
Murder by Death - Like the Exorcist, But More Breakdancing (2002)
Spock's Beard - Snow (2002)
Peter Gabriel - Up (2002)
Porcupine Tree - In absentia (2002)
Broken Social Scene - You Forgot It in People (2002)
Sigur Rós - ( ) (2002)
Opeth - Deliverance (2002)
The Mars Volta - De-Loused in the Comatorium (2003)
SikTh - The Trees Are Dead and Dried Out Wait for Something Wild (2003)
Muse - Absolution (2003)
Oceansize - Effloresce (2003)
Murder by Death - Who Will Survive, and What Will Be Left of Them? (2003)
Kaddisfly - Did You Know People Can Fly? (2003)
Transatlantic - Live in Europe (2003)
Immortal Technique - Revolutionary Vol. 2 (2003)
Akphaezya - Anthology II: Links From the Dead Trinity (2004)
The Apex Theory - Inthatskyissomethingwatching (2004)
Blackfield - Blackfield (2004)
The Decemberists - The Tain (2004)
Archive - Noise (2004)
The Dissociatives - The Dissociatives (2004)
Clann Zú - Black Coats and Bandages (2004)
Umphrey's McGee - Anchor Drops (2004)
Meshuggah - I (2004)
Pain of Salvation - Be (2004)
Brian Wilson - Smile (2004)
Crotchduster - Big Fat Box of Shit (2004)
Fates Warning - FWX (2004)
Oceansize - Music for Nurses (2004)
Superior - Ultra - Live (2004)
3 - Wake Pig (2004)
Archive - Noise (2004)
Kaddisfly - Buy Our Intention; We'll Buy You a Unicorn (2005)
God Is an Astronaut - All Is Violent, All Is Bright (2005)
Karnivool - Themata (2005)
Josh Rouse - Nashville (2005)
The Decemberists - Picaresque (2005)
Porcupine Tree - Deadwing (2005)
Margot and the Nuclear So and So's - The Dust of Retreat (2005)
Pain of Salvation - Be Live (2005)
System of a Down - Mezmerize (2005)
Gospel - The Moon Is a Dead World (2005)
Shadow Gallery - Room V (2005)
Sufjan Stevens - Illinois (2005)
The Ebb and Flow - Time to Echolocate (2005)
Neverending White Lights - Act I: Goodbye Friends of the Heavenly Bodies (2005)
The New Pornographers - Twin Cinema (2005)
Gojira - From Mars to Sirius (2005)
Slowlands - Never Was There a Town (2006)
東京事変 [Tokyo Jihen] - 大人 (Adult) (2006)
Anathallo - Floating World (2006)
Mason Proper - There Is a Moth in Your Chest (2006)
Russian Circles - Enter (2006)
SikTh - Death of a Dead Day (2006)
Unexpect - In a Flesh Aquarium (2006)
Kunek - Flight of the Flynns (2006)
The Decemberists - The Crane Wife (2006)
Annuals - Be He Me (2006)
Martyr - Feeding the Abscess (2006)
The Faceless - Akeldama (2006)
100Ft Snowman - 100Ft Snowman (2007)
Averse - Scolopendrian Perception Haze (2007)
Cavil at Rest - Orion Way (2007)
The Ebb and Flow - Attack and Decay (2007)
The Apex Theory - Lightpost (2007)
Menomena - Friend and Foe (2007)
Kiss Kiss - Reality vs. the Optimist (2007)
The Apples in Stereo - New Magnetic Wonder (2007)
The Pax Cecilia - Blessed Are the Bonds (2007)
Cloud Cult - The Meaning of 8 (2007)
Ne Obliviscaris - The Aurora Veil (2007)
Thurisaz - Circadian Rhythm (2007)
In Vain - The Latter Rain (2007)
People for Audio - The New Ancients (2007)
Various Artists - Once: Music From the Motion Picture (2007)
Janelle Monáe - Metropolis: The Chase Suite (Special Edition) (2007)
Biffy Clyro - Puzzle (2007)
St. Vincent - Marry Me (2007)
Three - The End Is Begun (2007)
The Receiving End of Sirens - The Earth Sings Mi Fa Mi (2007)
The Reign of Kindo - The Reign of Kindo EP (2007)
Minus the Bear - Planet of Ice (2007)
Bend Sinister - Bend Sinister (2007)
Jared Micah and Hats - T.C.H.T.O.B. (2007)
Woven - Aftermath EP (2007)
Time of Orchids - Namesake Caution (2007)
Porcupine Tree - Nil Recurring (2007)
Neverending White Lights - Act II: The Blood and the Life Eternal (2007)
Distrails - Virginia Creeper (2008)
Isyou - Emotional Friend (2008)
Media Addicts - Elsewhere (2008)
Sculptured - Embodiment (2008)
Agalloch - The White EP (2008)
The Gutter Twins - Saturnalia (2008)
Foals - Antidotes (2008)
Cloud Cult - Feel Good Ghosts (Tea-Partying Through Tornadoes) (2008)
Arsis - We Are the Nightmare (2008)
Demians - Building an Empire (2008)
Wolf Parade - At Mount Zoomer (2008)
Pure Reason Revolution - Live at NEARfest 2007 (2008)
Late of the Pier - Fantasy Black Channel (2008)
Exotic Animal Petting Zoo - I Have Made My Bed in Darkness (2008)
Adebisi Shank - This Is the Album of a Band Called Adebisi Shank (2008)
Amanda Palmer - Who Killed Amanda Palmer (2008)
The Age of Rockets - Hannah (2008)
Woven - Designer Codes (2008)
East of the Wall - Farmer's Almanac (2008)
Margot and the Nuclear So and So's - Animal! (2008)
Margot and the Nuclear So and So's - Not Animal (2008)
Marillion - Happiness Is the Road Volume 1: Essence (2008)
NOMIA - Nomia EP (2008)
Warpaint - Exquisite Corpse (2008)
100Ft Snowman - Juggling Knives (2009)
Revere - As the Radars Sleep (2009)
Sound and Shape - The Love Electric (2009)
The Kris Norris Projekt - Icons of the Illogical (2009)
Bruce Peninsula - A Mountain Is a Mouth (2009)
Shelter Red - Strike a Mortal Terror (2009)
Malajube - Labyrinthes (2009)
Sholi - Sholi (2009)
Greg Herriges - Telluric Currents (2009)
Grammatics - Grammatics (2009)
Archive - Controlling Crowds (2009)
maudlin of the Well - Part the Second (2009)
Water and Bodies - Water and Bodies EP (2009)
My Latest Novel - Deaths and Entrances (2009)
Kiss Kiss - The Meek Shall Inherit What's Left (2009)
Cale Parks - To Swift Mars (2009)
Sigmund Droid - Maximum Grind (2009)
Mutemath - Armistice (2009)
Toria - Toria (2009)
Porcupine Tree - The Incident (2009)
Diablo Swing Orchestra - Sing Along Songs for the Damned and Delirious (2009)
Karen O and The Kids - Where the Wild Things Are (2009)
Brooke Waggoner - Go Easy Little Doves (2009)
The House Harkonnen - Vol.6 (2009)
Russian Circles - Geneva (2009)
Painted In Exile - Revitalized (2009)
Biffy Clyro - Only Revolutions (2009)
Distrails - Dry Flies (2009)
Graph - EP 2 (2009)
22 - Flux (2010)
Averse - The Endesque Chants (2010)
What's Left of Her - Perceptions (2010)
Emanuel and The Fear - Listen (2010)
Judgement Day - Peacocks / Pink Monsters (2010)
The Apples in Stereo - Travellers in Space and Time (2010)
Timbre - Little Flowers (2010)
The Most Serene Republic - Fantasick Impossibliss (2010)
The Dear Hunter - The Branches EP (2010)
Journal - Unlorja (2010)
Punch Brothers - Antifogmatic (2010)
Menomena - Mines (2010)
Orphan Bloom - Orphan Bloom (2010)
The Reign of Kindo - This Is What Happens (2010)
Adebisi Shank - This Is the Second Album of a Band Called Adebisi Shank (2010)
Annuals - Count the Rings (2010)
Everything Everything - Man Alive (2010)
The Book of Right On - All These Songs About Music (2010)
Timmy Sean - Songs From and Inspired By Noisewater (2010)
Crippled Black Phoenix - I, Vigilante (2010)
Oceansize - Self Preserved While the Bodies Float Up (2010)
Revere - Hey! Selim (2010)
Negroni's Trio - Just Three (2010)
Pure Reason Revolution - Hammer and Anvil (2010)
Agalloch - Marrow of the Spirit (2010)
Dirt Poor Robins - The Last Days of Leviathan (2010)
The Crooked Fiddle Band - Overgrown Tales (2011)
Nicole Atkins - Mondo Amore (2011)
Arafel - For Battles Once Fought (2011)
Water and Bodies - Light Year (2011)
Mother Falcon - Alhambra (2011)
Al Di Meola - Pursuit of Radical Rhapsody (2011)
Between the Buried and Me - The Parallax: Hypersleep Dialogues (2011)
Brice Plays Drums - I Laugh at Your Greener Pastures (2011)
White Denim - D (2011)
Unexpect - Fables of the Sleepless Empire (2011)
Battle Circus - Battle Circus (2011)
*Shels - Plains of the Purple Buffalo (2011)
Tangled Thoughts of Leaving - Deaden the Fields (2011)
Meniscus - War of Currents (2011)
The Baltic Sea - Period Piece (2011)
For the Imperium - For the Imperium (2011)
Dream Theater - A Dramatic Turn of Events (2011)
Erick Serna and The Killing Floor - The Grip (2011)
Team Me - To the Treetops (2011)
The Beach Boys - The Smile Sessions (2011)
Jimmy Gnecco - The Heart: X Edition (2011)
Miracles of Modern Science - Dog Year (2011)
Kaddisfly - Demos and Rarities (2011)
House of Fools - Versus the Beast (2011)
dredg - Chuckles and Mr. Squeezy (2011)
Bruce Peninsula - Open Flames (2011)
Vektor - Outer Isolation (2011)
Forest Park - Forest Park (2012)
Umbrella Tree - To the Memory of a Once Great Man (2012)
The River Empires - Five Circles (2012)
Bend Sinister - On My Mind (2012)
The Mars Volta - Noctourniquet (2012)
Mercies - The Ballet (2012)
Anathema - Weather Systems (2012)
Bruce Peninsula - Of Songs (2012)
Ramona Falls - Prophet (2012)
Ne Obliviscaris - Portal of I (2012)
Bend Sinister - Small Fame (2012)
Mike Linden - Bubble and Squeak (2012)
British Theatre - Dyed in the Wool Ghost (2012)
Media Addicts - Autonomy (2012)
Amanda Palmer and The Grand Theft Orchestra - Theatre Is Evil (2012)
Guante and Big Cats - You Better Weaponize (2012)
Water and Bodies - American Dream (2012)
Hotel of the Laughing Tree - Mammoth Skin Pt. 1 (2012)
Local Natives - Hummingbird (2013)
Subterranean Masquerade - Home (2013)
Foals - Holy Fire (2013)
Miracles of Modern Science - Meems (2013)
Steven Wilson - The Raven That Refused to Sing (And Other Stories) (2013)
Cloud Cult - Love (2013)
Brooke Waggoner - Originator (2013)
In Vain - Ænigma (2013)
The Dear Hunter - The Migrations Annex (2013)
Debashish Bhattacharya and friends - Beyond the Ragasphere (2013)
Ours - Ballet the Boxer 1 (2013)
Daft Punk - Random Access Memories (2013)
Orphaned Land - All Is One (2013)
Mayer Hawthorne - Where Does This Door Go (2013)
The Royal Veil - King of the Ocean (2013)
Typhoon - White Lighter (2013)
The Age of Rockets - Adults (2013)
Dirt Poor Robins - The Raven Locks Act 1 (2013)
Genders - Get Lost (2013)
Jellyfish - Radio Jellyfish (2013)
Major Parkinson - Twilight Cinema (2014)
The Family Crest - Beneath the Brine (2014)
Bend Sinister - Animals (2014)
Grimus - Emergence (2014)
Foals - Live at Royal Albert Hall (2014)
Hotel of the Laughing Tree - Mammoth Skin Pt. 2 (2014)
Archive - Axiom (2014)
Brice Plays Drums - ProgTagonist (2014)
Anathema - Distant Satellites (2014)
Big Wreck - Ghosts (2014)
NOMIA - Iron and Rust (2014)
Imogen Heap - Sparks (2014)
Kimbra - The Golden Echo (2014)
Team Me - Blind as Night (2014)
The Mercury Tree - Countenance (2014)
The Tea Party - The Ocean at the End (2014)
iamthemorning - Belighted (2014)
Dirt Poor Robins - The Raven Locks Act 2 (2014)
Clone - Clone (2014)
椎名林檎 [Sheena Ringo] - 日出処 (Hi Izuru Tokoro) (2014)
Bent Knee - Shiny Eyed Babies (2014)
Nordic Giants - Build Seas, Dismantle Suns (2014)
Gatherer - Heavy Hail (2015)
Subterranean Masquerade - The Great Bazaar (2015)
Hotel of the Laughing Tree - New World Sundown (2015)
Warpaint - No Way Out / I'll Start Believing (2015)
Timbre - Sun and Moon (2015)
Mew - + - (2015)
Everything Everything - Get to Heaven (2015)
The Velvet Teen - All Is Illusory (2015)
The Dear Hunter - Act IV: Rebirth in Reprise (2015)
The Pneumatic Transit - Concerto for Double Moon (2015)
Falling Up - Falling Up (2015)
Mutemath - Vitals (2015)
Brooke Waggoner - Sweven (2016)
Textures - Phenotype (2016)
Long Distance Calling - Trips (2016)
Ideology - Ideology (2016)
The Woods Brothers - The Woods Brothers (2016)
The Dear Hunter - Act V: Hymns With the Devil in Confessional (2016)
Local Natives - Sunlit Youth (2016)
Disillusion - Alea (2016)
Meniscus - Refractions (2016)
Anakdota - Overloading (2016)
Pain of Salvation - In the Passing Light of Day (2017)
Persefone - Aathma (2017)
22 - You Are Creating: Limb 1 (2017)
Bent Knee - Land Animal (2017)
Everything Everything - A Fever Dream (2017)
Steven Wilson - To the Bone (2017)
Subterranean Masquerade - Vagabond (2017)
Bend Sinister - The Other Way (2017)
Small Leaks Sink Ships - Golden Calf (2017)
Galactic Cowboys - Long Way Back to the Moon (2017)
The Gloomcatcher - Blade in the Belfry (2017)
Kindo - Happy However After (2018)
Long Distance Calling - Boundless (2018)
Grimus - Unmanageable Species (2018)
Kimbra - Primal Heart (2018)
Vennart - Donkey Kong (2018)
Capital Cities - Solarize (2018)
Vennart - To Cure a Blizzard Upon a Plastic Sea (2018)
Kimbra - Songs From Primal Heart: Reimagined (2018)
Small Leaks Sink Ships - Polaroid People (2018)
Ours - New Age Heroine II (2018)
22 - You Are Creating: Limb2 (2018)
A Dying Planet - Facing the Incurable (2018)
Dirt Poor Robins - Dead Horse, Alaska (RED) (2019)
Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost Part 1 (2019)
Owel - Paris (2019)
Local Natives - Violet Street (2019)

Saturday, August 3, 2019

REACT TO: That Drummer Guy's Top 350 Albums

So at https://www.thatdrummerguy.com/, That Drummer Guy did what is an updated version of his favorite albums of all-time. I say that in that he has posted at least once or more an all-time list. At least on Mike Portnoy's forum many years back.

And his list has changed since then, I think as much as the albums he chose, than bands. Although I think the list he made on mp.com may have only been 100 rather than this list below of 350.

But he used the same rules I think: 1 album per artist, no live albums or compilations, or ep's.

Now mind you, Josh's taste is incredibly deep with Hard Rock and especially Metal. And with those, it often seems a plethora of styles of Metal largely from the last 20-25 years.

I.e. Metal of the 21st Century.

But to summarize this massive list of Josh's, saying it's all Metal isn't true. There's a lot of Prog and Prog Metal in there, especially recent Prog.

Some names like Mew, Kaddisfly, Oceansize and Bend Sinister I don't know if I would have expected to be included (whereas some others not included such as Angra, Led Zeppelin, Queen, Yes, Genesis, Pink Floyd, Transatlantic, Liquid Tension Experiment, The Gathering, Vektor, Black Sabbath, Avenged Sevenfold, Necrophagist, Orphaned Land, Unexpect, Savatage).

I imagine it was not easy reducing a list of artists down, inevitably, even with 350 artists, there will be many not included.

But also interesting how Josh picked stuff like Ocean Machine, We're Here Because We're Here, Kezia, and Gretchen Goes to Nebraska; all of which I would pick as MY favorites actually. Whereas in the list he chose in the past, he had others. Terria I recall was his favorite album of all-time for many years, from Devin Townsend who I believe still is his favorite artist of all-time.

But stuff like Machine Fish from Galactic Cowboys, and Autotheism from The Faceless are not typical favorites from fans, but I know Josh often will prefer many less common favorites. To that I can relate to him (Relayer being my favorite Yes album for example).

Seeing and thinking about his list, it might be another fun project, exercise to list 1 favorite album from 350 or 500 artists. I guess I kind of tried to do that with some of my React-To lists from 89.3's 893 Countdowns, but this would be more in-depth and might be a little easier given only 1 is allowed.

Ranking? Josh did it here, but I just can't see myself being able to. An Alphabetical Order makes more sense for me.

350-326
350.) My Chemical Romance- Welcome To The Black Parade (2006)
349.) Metallica- Ride The Lightning (1984)
348.) Rishloo- Eidolon (2007)
347.) Mew- No More Stories... (2009)
346.) Sons of Aeon- Sons of Aeon (2013)
345.) Vital Remains- Dechristianize (2003)
344.) Peeping Tom- Peeping Tom (2006)
343.) Burning Inside- Apparation (2001)
342.) Wilton and Akerstache- Storm Corrosion
341.) Dave Brockie Experience- Diarrhea of a Madman
340.) Widowmaker- Blood And Bullets (1992)
339.) Karnivool- Sound Awake (2009)
338.) Vertigo Steps- Surface/Light (2012)
337.) 1349- Demonoir (2010)
336.) Shai Hulud- Misanthropy Pure (2008)
335.) Burst- Lazarus Bird (2008)
334.) Pelican- City of Echoes (2007)
333.) Twelve Foot Ninja- Silent Machine (2012)
332.) Acid Bath- When The Kite String Pops (1994)
331.) Thrice- The Artist In The Ambulance (2003)
330.) Mr. Bungle- Mr. Bungle (1991)
329.) Levi/Werstler- Avalanche of Worms (2010)
328.) Kaddisfly- Set Sail to Prairie (2006)
327.) Portal- Vexovoid
326.) Goo Goo Dolls- Dizzy Up The Girl

325-301
325.) Exhorder- Slaughter in The Vatican (1990)
324.) Solstafir- Köld (2009)
323.) Egypt Central- Egypt Central (2008)
322.) The Exies- A Modern Way Of Living The Truth (2007)
321.) Cephalic Carnage- Anomalies (2005)
320.) Fear My Thoughts- The Great Collapse (2004)
319.) Izah- Sistre (2015)
318.) Judgement Day- Peacocks/Pink Monsters
317.) The 11th Hour- Burden of Grief (2009)
316.) The Kris Norris Projekt- Icons of the Illogical (2009)
315.) Primal Rock Rebellion- Awoken Broken
314.) Wolves In The Throne Room- Celestial Lineage (2011)
313.) OSI- Free (2006)
312.) Gridlink- Longhena (2014)
311.) Goes Cube- Another Day Has Passed (2009)
310.) Hella- Hold Your Horse Is (2002)
309.) Red Fang- Whales and Leeches (2013)
308.) Miss May I- At Heart (2012)
307.) Spiral Architect- A Sceptic's Universe (2000)
306.) Hate Eternal- Upon Desolate Sands (2018)
305.) Earshot- Two (2004)
304.) From Autumn To Ashes- Abandon Your Friends (2005)
303.) Mercenary- The Hours That Remain (2006)
302.) D.R.I.- Danger Zone (1989)
301.) Mercyful Fate- Melissa (1983)

300-276
300.) The Man Eating Tree- In The Absence of Light (2015)
299.) Badlands- Badlands (1989)
298.) Slayer- God Hates Us All (2001)
297.) Queens of the Stone Age- Songs For The Deaf (2002)
296.) The Human Abstract- Nocturne (2006)
295.) Ghost Bath- Starmourner (2017)
294.) Cryptopsy- Once Was Not (2005)
293.) Gorefest- Rise To Ruin (2007)
292.) A.F.I.- Sing The Sorrow (2003)
291.) TesseracT- One (2011)
290.) Winterfylleth- The Dark Hereafter (2016)
289.) Mnemic- The Audio Injected Soul (2004)
288.) King Parrot- Bite Your Head Off (2012)
287.) Dekadent- Veritas (2015)
286.) Type O Negative- Life Is Killing Me
285.) Subterranean Masquerade- The Great Bazaar (2015)
284.) Mutemath- Mutemath (2006)
283.) Megadeth- Rust In Peace (1990)
282.) Spock's Beard- Snow (2002)
281.) Warbringer- Woe To The Vanquished (2017)
280.) Star One- Victims Of The Modern Age (2010)
279.) Rosk- Miasma (2017)
278.) The Mars Volta- Deloused In The Comatorium (2003)
277.) Dynazty- Titanic Mass (2016)
276.) Vallenfyre- Splinters

275-251
275.) Soulfly- Prophecy (2004)
274.) Against The Wall- The Truth (2009)
273.) Horrendous- The Chills (2012)
272.) Arctic Sleep- Arbors (2012)
271.) Pig Destroyer- Phantom Limb (2007)
270.) Vaura- Selenelion (2012)
269.) Nailed To Obscurity- Black Frost (2019)
268.) Alter Bridge- AB III (2010)
267.) Saor- Roots (2015)
266.) Bison- Dark Ages (2010)
265.) Minus The Bear- OMNI (2010)
264.) Suicidal Tendencies- Lights...Camera...Revolution (1990)
263.) Oceansize- Self Preserved While The Bodies Float Up (2010)
262.) From A Second Story Window- Conversations (2008)
261.) Probot- Probot (2004)
260.) Kyuss- Blues For The Red Sun (1992)
259.) Grave Digger- Healed By Metal (2017)
258.) Sonata Arctica- Reckoning Night (2004)
257.) Falloch- Where Distant Spirits Remain (2011)
256.) 96 Bitter Beings- Camp Pain (2018)
255.) Bad Religion- New Maps Of Hell (2007)
254.) Meshuggah- Destroy, Erase, Improve (1995)
253.) The Haunted- rEVOLVEr (2004)
252.) GWAR- Lust In Space (2009)
251.) Harakiri For The Sky- III: Trauma (2016)

250-226
250.) Insect Warfare- At War With Grindcore (2005)
249.) Polkadot Cadaver- Purgatory Dance Party (2007)
248.) Sabaton- Primo Victoria (2005)
247.) We Sell The Dead- Heaven Doesn't Want You And Hell Is Full (2018)
246.) The Dear Hunter- The Color Spectrum (2011)
245.) Wearing Scars- A Thousand Words (2015)
244.) The Sword- Warp Riders (2010)
243.) Wintersun- Wintersun (2004)
242.) Trivium- Ascendancy (2005)
241.) Overkill- Ironbound (2010)
240.) Hurt- Vol. 1 (2006)
239.) Zimmer's Hole- While You Were Shouting At The Devil... (2008)
238.) Machine Head- Burn My Eyes (1994)
237.) Cold- Year Of The Spider (2003)
236.) Abigail Williams- Becoming (2012)
235.) Destrage- Are You Kidding Me? No. (2014)
234.) Power Trip- Nightmare Logic (2017)
233.) Corrosion of Conformity- No Cross, No Crown (2018)
232.) Tribulation-  Down Below (2018)
231.) Johnny B. Morbid- Fall of The Cicada (2015)
230.) Hail of Bullets- III: The Rommel Chronicles (2013)
229.) Kayo Dot- Hubardo
228.) Celtic Frost- Monotheist (2006)
227.) Exhumed- Gore Metal (1998)
226.) Queensryche- Operation: Mindcrime

225-201
225.) Obsidian Kingdom- A Year With No Summer (2016)
224.) My Dying Bride- Feel The Misery (2015)
223.) Horse The Band- A Natural Death (2007)
222.) Threat Signal- Under Reprisal (2005)
221.) Shadows Fall- The Art Of Balance (2002)
220.) Akercocke- Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone (2006)
219.) Weezer- The Blue Album (1994)
218.) Lamb Of God- As The Palaces Burn (2003)
217.) Terror Syndrome- Terror Syndrome (2008)
216.) Mono- Hymn To The Immortal WInd (2009)
215.) Sevendust- Seasons (2003)
214.) Iron Thrones- The Wretched Sun (2010)
213.) World Under Blood- Tactical (2011)
212.) The Ocean- Pelagial (2013)
211.) Muse- Absolution (2003)
210.) Sentenced- The Funeral Album (2005)
209.) Napalm Death- Utilitarian (2012)
208.) Obituary- Obituary (2017)
207.) Bolt Thrower- For Victory (1994)
206.) Sonic Syndicate- Confessions (2016)
205.) Selpultura- Chaos A.D. (1993)
204.) Yob- Our Raw Heart (2018)
203.) Armored Saint- Symbol Of Salvation (1991)
202.) Intronaut- The Direction of Last Things (2015)
201.) Falconer- Black Moon Rising

200-176
200.) 30 Seconds to Mars- A Beautiful Lie (2005)
199.) Moron Police- Defenders of The Small Yard (2014)
198.) Pyramaze- Immortal (2008)
197.) Suspiria- Attitude (2009)
196.) Pantera- The Great Southern Trendkill (1996)
195.) Kalmah- Seventh Swamphany (2013)
194.) Dying Fetus- Wrong One To Fuck With (2017)
193.) Ramallah- Kill A Celebrity (2005)
192.) Iron Maiden- Dance Of Death (2003)
191.) Hypocrisy- The Arrival (2004)
190.) Eluveitie- Spirit (2006)
189.) Junius- The Martyrdom Of A Catastophist (2009)
188.) Protest The Hero- Kezia (2005)
187.) Cattle Decapitation- The Anthropocene Extinction (2015)
186.) ICS Vortex- Storm Seeker (2011)
185.) Candiria- While They Were Sleeping (2016)
184.) maudlin of the Well- Leaving Your Body Map
183.) Converge- Jane Doe (2001)
182.) Exodus- Tempo Of The Damned (2004)
181.) Judas Priest- Angel of Retribution (2005)
180.) Last Chance To Reason- Level 2 (2011)
179.) Destroyer 666- Wildfire (2016)
178.) The Black Dahlia Murder- Everblack (2013)
177.) In Vain- Ænigma (2013)
176.) Bend Sinister- Animals (2014)

175-151
175.) This Will Not End Well- GOFUCKYOURSELF (2009)
174.) Hope Drone- Cloak Of Ash (2015)
173.) Goatwhore- Constricting Age Of The Merciless (2014)
172.) So Hideous- Laurestine (2015)
171.) Aborted- Terrorvision (2018)
170.) Cage- Hell Destroyer (2007)
169.) Behemoth- The Satanist (2014)
168.) Leprous- Bilateral (2011)
167.) Fallujah- The Flesh Prevails (2014)
166.) Kataklysm- Serenity In Fire (2004)
165.) Municipal Waste- The Art Of Partying (2007)
164.) Into Eternity- The Scattering Of Ashes (2006)
163.) Tokyo Motor Fist- Tokyo Motor Fist (2017)
162.) The Mantle- The Mantle (2017)
161.) Unearth- The Oncoming Storm (2004)
160.) Insomnium- Across The Dark (2009)
159.) Pagan's Mind- Heavenly Ecstasy (2011)
158.) Circus Maximus- Nine (2012)
157.) Frank Zappa- Sheik Yerbouti (1979)
156.) The Mute Gods- Tardigrades Will Inherit The Earth (2017)
155.) S.O.D.- Speak English Or Die (1985)
154.) Inter Arma- The Cavern (2014)
153.) Alice In Chains- Dirt (1992)
152.) Helmet- Meantime (1992)
151.) Gojira- Magma (2016)

150-126
150.) Evans Blue- This Pursuit Begins When This Portrayal Of Life Ends (2007)
149.) Wolfheart- Constellation Of The Black Light (2018)
148.) In Mourning- The Weight Of Oceans (2012)
147.) Cauldron- In Ruin (2016)
146.) Periphery- PII: This Time It's Personal (2012)
145.) Prong- Ruining Lives (2014)
144.) Arcturus- Arcturian (2015)
143.) Sybreed- Slave Design (2004)
142.) At The Gates- Slaughter Of The Soul (1995)
141.) God Forbid- Gone Forever (2004)
140.) Bloody Hammers- The Summoning (2019)
139.) Freak Kitchen- Organic (2005)
138.) Anaal Nathrakh- The Whole Of The Law (2016)
137.) 3- The End Is Begun (2007)
136.) Orange Sky- Dat Iz Voodoo (2008)
135.) Kamelot- Karma (2001)
134.) Journal- Chrysalis Ordalias (2018)
133.) Obscura- Akroasis (2016)
132.) Anthrax- We've Come For You All (2003)
131.) King Crimson- In The Court Of The Crimson King (1969)
130.) Oceans Of Slumber- The Banished Heart (2018)
129.) Fear Factory- Archetype (2004)
128.) Carcass- Heartwork (1994)
127.) Pain- Coming Home (2016)
126.) Distorted Harmony- Chain Reaction (2014)

125-101
125.) Lantlôs- Melting Sun (2014)
124.) Primordial- Redemption At The Puritan's Hands (2011)
123.) Deafheaven- Roads To Judah (2011)
122.) Shining- Blackjazz (2010)
121.) CKY- Infiltrate.Destroy.Rebuild (2002)
120.) The Faceless- Autotheism (2012)
119.) Revocation- The Outer Ones (2018)
118.) Sum 41- Chuck (2004)
117.) Atheist- Unquestionable Presence (1991)
116.) Scar Symmetry- Pitch Black Progress (2006)
115.) Kyng- Trampled Sun (2011)
114.) Stolen Babies- Naught (2012)
113.) Amorphis- Skyforger (2009)
112.) Demians- Building An Empire (2008)
111.) While Heaven Wept- Fear Of Infinity (2011)
110.) Alcest- Les Voyages De L'Âme (2012)
109.) Textures- Drawing Circles (2006)
108.) Cannibal Corpse- Kill (2006)
107.) Dog Fashion Disco- Adultery (2006)
106.) Dark Tranquillity- Character (2006)
105.) Head With Wings- From Worry To Shame (2018)
104.) Darkest Hour- Undoing Ruin (2005)
103.) Scale The Summit- The Collective (2011)
102.) Emperor- Prometheus-The Discipline Of Fire and Demise (2001)
101.) Necromancing The Stone- Jewel Of The Vile (2016)

100-76
100.) Galactic Cowboys- Machine Fish (1996)
99.) Godspeed You! Black Emperor- Raise Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven (2000)
98.) Dark Funeral- Where Shadows Forever Reign (2016)
97.) James LaBrie- Static Impulse (2010)
96.) Story Of The Year- Page Avenue (2003)
95.) Daylight Dies- Dismantling Devotion (2006)
94.) Candlemass- Candlemass (2005)
93.) Lords of Black- II (2016)
92.) Toothgrinder- Phantom Amour (2017)
91.) Riverside- Love, Fear, And The Time Machine (2015)
90.) Testament- The Gathering (1999)
89.) For The Imperium- For The Imperium- (2012)
88.) Being- Anthropocene (2012)
87.) Mutiny Within- Mutiny Within (2010)
86.) 6:33- Deadly Scenes (2015)
85.) Magic Dance- New Eyes (2018)
84.) Ancient VVisdom- A Godlike Inferno (2011)
83.) Novembers Doom- Aphotic (2011)
82.) King Diamond- Abigail (1987)
81.) Sanctuary- Refuge Denied (1987)
80.) Fates Warning- Theories Of Flight (2016)
79.) In Flames- Clayman (2000)
78.) Paradise Lost- Tragic Idol (2012)
77.) Boris- Pink (2005)
76.) Redemption- This Mortal Coil (2011)

75-51
75.) Skull Fist- Chasing The Dream (2014)
74.) With The Dead- Love From With The Dead (2017)
73.) Native Construct- Quiet World (2015)
72.) Thulcandra- Ascension Lost (2015)
71.) Clutch-  Earth Rocker (2013)
70.) Symphony X- Paradise Lost (2007)
69.) Cloudkicker- Beacons (2010)
68.) Raunchy- Death Pop Romance (2006)
67.) Black Crown Initiate- The Wreckage of Stars (2014)
66.) Ayreon- The Source (2017)
65.) Ghost- Opus Eponymous (2010)
64.) Blind Guardian- Imaginations From The Other Side (1995)
63.) Torche- Meanderthal (2008)
62.) Bloodbath- Nightmares Made Flesh (2004)
61.) Panopticon- Roads To The North (2014)
60.) Faith No More- Angel Dust (1992)
59.) Body Count-  Bloodlust (2017)
58.) Amon Amarth- With Oden On Our Side (2006)
57.) HIM-  Razorblade Romance (2000)
56.) Fleshgod Apocalypse- Veleno (2019)
55.) Rivers of Nihil- Where Owls Know My Name (2018)
54.) Loch Vostok- From These Waters (2015)
53.) Demons And Wizards- Touched By The Crimson King (2005)
52.) Iced Earth- Burnt Offerings (1995)
51.) Vattnet Viskar- Settler (2015)

50-26
50.) Dillinger Escape Plan- Ire Works (2007)
49.) Gruesome- Savage Land (2015)
48.) Haken- Affinity (2015)
47.) mc chris- mc chris is dead (2008)
46.) Within Temptation- Hydra (2014)
45.) Borknagar- Winter Thrice (2016)
44.) Rush- 2112 (1976)
43.) Ne Obliviscaris- Citadel (2014)
42.) Shaded Enmity- Forsaken and Forgotten (2013)
41.) Cynic- Traced In Air (2008)
40.) Pallbearer- Heartless (2017)
39.) Omnium Gatherum- The Burning Cold (2018)
38.) Swallow The Sun- Songs From The North (2015)
37.) Baroness- Purple (2015)
36.) Zeal and Ardor- Stranger Fruit (2018)
35.) Fair To Midland- Fables From A Mayfly: What I Tell You Three Times Is True
34.) Ihsahn- After (2010)
33.) The Contortionist- Language (2014)
32.) Katatonia- Last Fair Deal Gone Down (2001)
31.) Enslaved- RIITIIR (2012)
30.) Agalloch- The Mantle (2002)
29.) Toehider- Good (2017)
28.) Killswitch Engage- The End Of Heartache (2003)
27.) Mastodon- Emperor Of Sand (2017)
26.) Nevermore- Dead Heart In The Dead World (2000)

25-1
25.) Witherfall- A Prelude To Sorrow (2018)
24.) Steven Wilson- To The Bone (2017)
23.) "Strapping Young Lad"- Alien (2005)
22.) Soilwork- Stabbing The Drama (2005)
21.)  SikTh- Death Of A Dead Day (2006)
20.)  Evergrey- Recreation Day (2004)
19.) Opeth- Blackwater Park (2001)
18.) Astronoid- Air (2016)
17.) Between The Buried And Me- Colors (2007)
16.) Porcupine Tree- In Absentia (2002)
15.) Death (Official)- Leprosy (1988)
14.) Avantasia- Ghostlights (2016)
13.) Witherscape- The Northern Sanctuary (2016)
12.) Triptykon (Official)- Melana Chasmata (2014)
11.) Long Distance Calling- Avoid The Light (2009)
10.) King's X- Gretchen Goes To Nebraska (1989)
9.) Edge of Sanity- Crimson (1996)
8.) Anathema- We're Here Because We're Here (2010)
7.) Pain of Salvation- In The Passing Light Of Day (2017)
6.) dredg- Catch Without Arms (2005)
5.) Dream Theater- Images And Words (1992)
4.) Nightingale ( Approved by Swanö )- Retribution (2014)
3.) Woods Of Ypres- Woods V; Grey Skies and Electric Light (2012)
2.) Green Carnation- Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness (2001)
1.) Devin Townsend- Biomech: Ocean Machine (1997)