Saturday, March 28, 2015

The Barnum Meserve - The Barnum Meserve (2014-2015).. + LP's #2 and #3

3/28/15 8:13AM

Whole album stream:



Still unclear about cds, direct-to-the-band purchase (bandcamp?, etc).  The Soundcloud page has a link to the iTunes download page.

3/25/15 6:55PM

Digital Preorders

amazon.co.uk
itunes

2/21/15 10:57PM

Tracklist below for the S/T debut coming on April 6th (iTunes/Amazon digital, and physical format from their online store)

Facebook Pic




1 War Games 3:35
2 Open Up Your Eyes 5:21
3 Colours 3:15
4 Don't Be Afraid 4:19
5 Last Forever 4:38
6 Half Mast 4:13
7 Underneath the Grey 4:02
8 Without Numbers 3:22
9 After the Fire 4:20
10 Losing Sleep 4:25
11 Dust 4:52
12 Take Shelter 4:51
13 Tides 5:56


1/24/15 11:37PM



Not a ton of details to share yet, but per these 2 articles below, there's a few things included.

Release date is April 6th. It is Self-Titled, and Self-Released. It includes a lot of their trademark strings, vocal harmonies among other things. Also the same release date of the Nordic Giants debut record and Josh Rouse.

Their 2nd LP has already been recorded and is in the mixing stage, and is looking to come out in 2016, may or may not be released on a label.

Their 3rd LP they are already working on, and if timing works well, may come in 2017, LOL.

http://ventsmagazine.com/interview-the-barnum-meserve/

http://www.rocknreelreviews.com/banrum-meserve-6th-april/


After two years in the making, The Barnum Meserve now unleash their self-titled debut album, and it’s an outright scorcher. The record contains thirteen tracks that are epic, dark and cinematic, but above all, utterly compelling. The atmospheric piano openings and string sections of ‘War Games’ leads things off, before the current single ‘Colours’ (http://youtu.be/rFbN_mzIyaw) perfectly showcases the three piece’s unbridled emotion laced with a contagious and dramatic refrain. The forthcoming single ‘Underneath The Grey’ further demonstrates the band’s guile and deft ability to truly ignite anyone within earshot, and the video is also something special that magnificently portrays the track’s haunting beauty. With shows and festival appearances planned for this year, along with a new album already in works, there is no stopping The Barnum Meserve’s ascent.


I'm pretty intrigued not only by this upcoming record, but the stuff they also have planned over the next couple of years. Will they play live in North America? I dunno, but 1-step-at-a-time of course.

I will of course bump this when more of those details come.




https://twitter.com/barnummeserve
https://www.facebook.com/TheBarnumMeserve
Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Friday, March 27, 2015

For the Imperium - Titans Fall [EP] (2014-2015)



1. Titans Fall
2. Break the Silence
3. My Time Has Come
4. Holy Ground
5. Scripter
6. The Day She Died

Release Date is coming. They have new members that says, which I had no idea. I loved their S/T debut record, but their 2nd LP Hail the Monsters I never got too attached to. The teaser almost sounds more frantic/schizo than normal for these guys, but I guess we'll see.

Timbre - Sun & Moon (2014-2015)

3/27/15 5:30AM

It was sent as a download the Indiegogo backers yesterday, so I received my download and gave it a go of course.  The track list breaks down below:

As far as a take: this is an EPIC record, not only, but of course a lot just due to the length.

My early highlights would definitely include "Night Girl: Nycteris Sees the Sun," "Singing and Singing," "Chicago Pier," "Song of the Sun," and "Your Hands Hold Home."on Sun. On Moon, "As the Night" for sure. "St.Cecilia" I do like, although I may have to revisit that live version below, as it definitely is an extensive.

The Moon stuff I can tell will have to grow some, which I'm unclear especially about the extensive all-Choral piece "Sunset (O Lux Beata Trinitas."

I'm going to have to spend quite a bit of time with this, and lord knows Timbre and all the people she had help her with this, did. But as far as addictive-ness, I'm wondering about the Moon portion as much as Sun. Sun definitely includes a lot of Timbre's traditional style of music along with some new things. Moon is more classical/chamber/baroque/orchestral and operatic which the Opera or Opera-music can be gray in feeling for me at times.

I dunno, there's definitely a ton to take-in and an extensive amount of brilliant music on this album, which I was thinking it almost could be looked at like some other double records I like, such as Marillion's Happiness is the Road or something, as 2 companion but still SEPARATE records really.

Is it going to be a favorite 2014-2015 record for me? it certainly could be rather high on the countdown list, but the jury is out still for me early on, as it is a lot to compare and measure up. I mean it is the blood, sweat and tears for Timbre for the better part of 5 years, so go figure it's such a Magnum Opus. Perhaps my ability to love extensively long works of music has become more picky, conservative or at least more challenging recently?

I dunno. I do know I love a lot of this, and it includes some amazing stuff. "Night Girl: Nycteris Sees the Sun" alone is about as proggy as anything I've ever heard from Timbre, which is worth the price of admission alone for this album.



Sun
1. Sunrise 3:38
2. Song of the Sun 5:23
3. Your Hands Hold Home 8:18
4. The Persistence of First Love 2:55
5. Singing and Singing 7:21
6. Of Waving Woods and Waters Wild 2:32
7. I Am in the Garden 7:40
8. Chicago Pier 6:27
9. Morning Birds 2:00
10. Night Girl: Nycteris Sees the Sun 5:50

52:04

 photo Timbre - Sun amp Moon - Timbre Moon Panel-1800px-by-1800px_zpse4stxz0d.jpg
Moon
11. Sunset (O Lux Beata Trinitas) 10:57
12. Of Cloudless Climes and Starry Skies 4:17
13. St Cecilia: An Ode to Music 13:25
14. As the Night 8:17
15. Sanctus 4:34
16. Day Boy: Photogen Sees the Moon 16:39

58:09

Total Time:
110:13
or
1 Hour, 50 minutes 13 seconds

3/17/15 4:56PM

Tracklist is posted there. and the listing on her bandcamp.

The below tracklist is 16 tracks, so I'm wondering if both "Sun" and "Moon" both include 8 tracks each?

I guess we'll find out soon enough.


http://timbre.bandcamp.com/




1. Sunrise
2. Song of the Sun 05:23
3. Your Hands Hold Home
4. The Persistence of First Love
5. Singing and Singing
6. Of Waving Woods and Waters Wild
7. I Am in the Garden
8. Chicago Pier
9. Morning Birds
10. Night Girl: Nycteris Sees the Sun
11. Sunset (O Lux Beata Trinitas)
12. Of Cloudless Climes and Starry Skies
13. St Cecilia: An Ode to Music
14. As the Night
15. Sanctus
16. Day Boy: Photogen Sees the Moon

Sun & Moon is the exploration of an idea: no art exists on its own. Art always influences art. This album explores the deep intrinsic relationship between popular music and classical music. “Sun” features music written and performed by my band, while “Moon” features classical music I have written for solo harp, harp & oboe, orchestra, and choir. 

Playing with the ideas of reflection, shadow, light, and darkness, the two halves of Sun & Moon reflect one another, mirroring the relationship between these two art forms. Many of the musical themes pass back and forth between the two sides. A four-note motif begins “Sunrise” and ends “Sunset”, representing the space between light and dark, where everything blends together. This motif can be heard throughout both sides of the album, constantly blurring the thin separation between them. 
With Sun & Moon I strive to paint vividly with the light, the joy, the passion of modern commercial music, and the darkness, depth, and richness of classical music, and show that together they can communicate beauty in greater depths than either can alone. My hope is that through experiencing these two languages of art, listeners will have a new, deep, and visceral experience of beauty, for beauty is more than an idea, but is a reality that is meant to be deeply known and experienced. 
-Timbre 


“Your eyes, they are so black. Darkness can’t see, of course. I will be your eyes, and teach you to see.” - The Romance of Photogen and Nycteris, George MacDonald
credits
releases 07 April 2015

3/10/15 8:23PM

New song "Song of the Sun"..pretty great, love the vocal harmonies.

http://www.utne.com/arts/song-premiere-timbre-song-of-the-sun.aspx

Some info about the record: Sun is the chamber/folk material, and Moon has the classical work.


2/23/15 7:15PM

BIG ANNOUNCEMENT!!! SUN & MOON will be released world wide April 7th!!!!





4/5/14 8:30PM

not new, but this is amazing. The instrumental section around 3:40 is breathtaking. Can't wait to hear this record.




6/20/13 8:47AM
Today is my birthday, and wow, what a cool way to wake up and find out Timbre somehow raised nearly $5,000 in the last 24 hours to reach her goal!

$10,005

I suspect the last few pledges may have been rather large, and to push her over the hump being just $5 past the $10K

Regardless, this is awesome to see and look forward to. Now I almost expect a masterpiece, which I'm sure Timbre is capable of, but with the needed amount of cash, this record can be made purely as she sees fit, and thus, that much greater.


6/8/13 11:39AM
http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/help-timbre-record-a-double-disc-album-that-will-unite-two-worlds-of-music/x/2421326

Keep at it Timbre! $5800 left to go in the next 12 days. You Can Do It!.



Just to remind people who don't know Timbre, it's songs like this show how brilliant her music is.




5/7/13 5:55AM

the write-up below is from the Indiegogo Campaign. $10K in about a month-and-a-half. I think she can do it, but $10K is not nothing.

It sounds and I'm sure will be amazing. Double album at that. And it'll be coming in 2014 of course.

"St.Cecilia" sounds like it would be worth having this album for alone.





"Sun and Moon"

Art does not exist alone... art creates art.

This is the idea behind my newest project, "Sun and Moon". This double disc record explores the deep connection between classical music and modern songwriting. One disc, "Sun" will feature songs written with my band, songs about friendship, love, grief, nature, even a song based on a children's fairy tale (more on that later!). The other disc, "Moon", will feature a variety of classical music that I've written, from a harp and oboe duet, to a piece for full orchestra, choir, harp, and solo soprano (me!).

Both discs will feature many of the same musicians. Themes and ideas will pass back and forth between them, playing with ideas of dark and light, day and night. My desire is to show that classical music and "popular music" are deeply connected, as they have always been. Classical music and popular music each have their depth, their energies, their forms of communication, and together they can speak to us in even deeper and more beautiful ways.

I grew up in a completely classical world, listening to only classical and choral music until I was in my teens. I have sung classically from as early as I could stand up and make sounds, and have played harp classically for 20 years. I have been composing for a few years as well, and have had my pieces performed in cathedrals all over the world, including Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris and St Peter's Basilica in Rome. I have also performed vocally with composer Eric Whitacre in Carnegie Hall for the premiere of his choral cycle, "The City and The Sea."

 Over the past 7 years, I have slowly found my way into a new world of popular music, writing songs  with my band and playing with a ridiculously diverse collection of bands, from people like mewithoutYou, the Chariot, Brooke Waggoner, to bluegrass legend Ricky Skaggs and Jack White of the White Stripes. I have found a deep undercurrent of passion and art that connects these worlds, and I want to help my listeners plunge into the depth of those waters with me. 

I believe this album will introduce many listeners to classical music in a new way, in a way that can be attached to and felt. I also believe this album will take listeners into different depths of spiritual and emotional experience, as the different kinds of sounds take them to new places. I believe in this record, and I know I will be more proud of it than anything I have done yet! 

I also believe that the way we think about making music is changing. Music is not a commodity to be made and sold and consumed. Music is a form of deep expression, something that moves between souls, back and forth. I am so passionate about the idea of partnering with listeners. I am making this for you, to communicate with you, to share with you... and I cannot make it without you.

WHAT WE NEED:

Our ideal budget for this album $20,000. That seems like such a big number, but recording an orchestra and choir(100 +people) is not something an independent artist often undertakes. We have set our minimum goal at $10,000, but to be able to go beyond just tracking and actually master, print, and promote this album, we need $20,000. We have already invested around $5,000 into it so far, and had to stop due to lack of funding. We will be starting back up in June if this fundraiser is successful!

Money will go towards:

-Tracking in Nashville and in Cincinatti

-Paying musicians (orchestra, choir, guest musicians)

-Travel

-Engineering and mixing fees

-Mastering

-Printing (super expensive for a double disc)

-Artwork

-Promotion 

The CRAZY thing with this whole project is that fact that I even have the opportunity to write for an orchestra and for a world-renowned a capella choir. I have a beautiful relationship with my alma-mater, Trevecca University, and their music department is working on this project with me. So few composers get the chance to even hear their music performed. This is a ridiculously rare opportunity and I am SO grateful! It should cost $50,000 or more to record 2 different orchestral pieces and two a capella choral pieces, in freaking CATHEDRAL. The fact that we are able to do this for only $20,000 is a little crazy. 

WHAT WE WANT TO GIVE YOU:

All perks include early download of album! 

In keeping with this idea that art creates art, we have partnered with friends from all over the U.S. to create unique pieces of art inspired by "Sun and Moon", which you can claim with a donation to our project! There will also be crochet art made by our cellist, Patrick Rush. We will be using crochet lace doily designs as apart of the album artwork, and those doilies are among the rewards!

Here are the art pieces we have available:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151581735649165.1073741825.16237174164&type=1&l=3363e0a8c6

We also have lots of other goodies, including early downloads of the album, cover songs, house shows, even a piece of my harp. hahaha. but for real.

Just to be clear, we still have at least a year of work to do on this album, including a symphony premiere in november, which will be recorded for the album. All art rewards will be sent out once the fundraiser is over, but all music rewards will be dependent on the album release date. (approx July 2014)

If we don't reach our goal, we will keep working to put this album out ourselves! It might just take a while longer...

 More About The Album: 

"Sun and Moon" will explore many ideas of dark and light, of the mysteries of the unknown and the joy of exploring those places. 

Two snapshots of the album:

"Nycteris Sees the Sun" will be a song on the "Sun" album, and is inspired by a story written by George McDonald, "Day Boy and Night Girl- the Romance of Photogen and Nycteris" (http://www.ccel.org/ccel/macdonald/daynight/files/daynight.html) Photogen has lived entirely in light, and Nycteris has lived entirely in darkness, not knowing the other half of reality even exists. They meet, and must learn to see and love what they fear in the other. Nycteris, the girl, decides that the sun is more real than the moon, that she must KNOW this light, even if it destroys her.  My interpretation of her story expresses her decision to move from the dark of the cave that she knows into the pain and the glory of light. The music moves from a quiet, dark, contemplative sound then suddenly bursts into the frenzy of her joy and pain. Its one of my favourite songs I've ever written!! 

"St Cecilia: an Ode to Music" will be on the "Moon" album, and is written for full orchestra, choir, harp, and soprano solo. It was premiered in april 2012 and was the most incredible night of my life thus far. It explores the language of music, and again draws parallels between two worlds, this time between the natural and the spiritual. Here are my liner notes about the piece from that night:

 "St Cecilia" encompasses a series of concepts that are incredibly important to me as a composer and as an individual. It speaks of the transcendent nature, the spiritual language of music that reaches beyond what can be seen with our eyes or felt with our hands.

 “St Cecilia” also touches on a concept that has enraptured me: the unspeakable Name of God. In ancient Israel, "YHWH" represented the name of God that was beyond speaking, unknowable. Ephesians 3:19 says that we can "know this love that surpasses knowledge". That idea has always resonated with me, that we can know what is unknowable. We cannot fully quantify God, but we can know Him. We cannot fully define God, but we can experience Him. I think this is the unknowable knowing.

 I believe that if God exists, He is the ultimate form of all that is good. He is Love, He is Light, He is Joy. What I centered on for this piece is the idea that He is Beauty. All that is beautiful is a broken form of Him. And so, when we make something beautiful, we are pointing to and experiencing Him.

 These ideas came together for me in this... When we make music, music that is truly beautiful, we are speaking His Name. In song, we can speak the Unspeakable Name of God. We can participate in the mystery of His beauty, and actually hear Him sing back to us.

 St Cecilia is the patron saint of musicians. Christian legend says that as she was martyred, she sang praises to God. She died singing, and heard angels singing with her. I was struck with this, the closeness of the two worlds, joined by song. The piece begins with a plea for her to pray for us, with the hope that we too would experience God and touch heaven through music as she did.

 Other Ways You Can Help

Please use the share tools to pass this around to your friends! Together, we can make something completely new!


3/15/13 11:00PM

1 of the new songs "Chicago Pier," which sounds outstanding.


Timbre - Chicago Pier - Whalehead Sessions from Love Greatly on Vimeo.

11/9/12 2:09PM




http://www.facebook.com/TimbreHarp/posts/10151242278454165

I am excited to announce that WE GO INTO THE STUDIO TOMORROW!!!! We're driving to Cincinatti tonight and in the morning, Mason will start putting down our sweet beats!! Haha ;) Thus begins our new album "Sun and Moon" !!!!!!! #timbresunandmoon

 Pretty excited to hear this. 2010's Little Flowers is breathtaking at times, and having seen her twice this past year in my home state, including just over a month ago where she played 1 of the new pieces, my optimism about this record couldn't be higher.

The only thing is, she mentioned to myself and my friend John who was there as well, she has enough music for a double album, but she also didn't really know for sure when it would be coming out. Perhaps due to the fact she may want to release a double album, it may take all of next year to finish, thus perhaps a 2014 release.

But regardless, it's great news she is finally going into the studio to record it.
She is rather active on social media, so I imagine updates will be happening and bumps of this entry in the coming week/months when more info is certain. 

Very cool that both her and Brooke Waggoner have albums coming soon, for my and others female orchestral-oriented pop/rock/etc music fix. 

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Mayer Hawthorne opening for Hall and Oates, Irivine, CA 8/30/15



I don't live near Irvine, CA of course, but with Mayer and Hall and Oates on 1 bill together, the Fiancee would freak out to see this show.

For the 2 of us, it may end up around $1200-$1500, including a trip finally to Amoeba I suppose, but that price range isn't completely unthinkable considering some different factors from now until August 30th.

Of course Mayer was once on "Live From Daryl's House" and has even covered "You Make My Dreams"

We'll see, but it would hardly be shocking if we make this *that* trip post-Grad School for her.

This is almost like Marillion + Rush or Ours + dredg for her, so it is *that* much of an EVENT, and likely just a 1-off as Hall and Oates don't do a ton of touring extensively now (more festivals and such).

Also if it is the same venue, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater, I think it is, Outdoors, etc..it is the place I saw Dream Theater on Gigantour,

edit: July 24th, 2005, so 10 years and a little over a month..I was out there for a Family Reunion actually, and it was pure luck/coincidence I was able to attend that festival.

http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/dream-theater/2005/verizon-wireless-amphitheater-irvine-ca-43d6d3db.html



2014-2015 Anticipated Music: November-Summer: LIST..minimal Blurbing

2/23/15 9:02PM

I honestly have spent more than enough time adding/editing this list and really very little time actually writing about these records, and over so much time, I have just come to the conclusion time is again not on my side to completely, save for some future edits. And the real write-ups will have to come in the midseason countdown, likely in April.

But at least for now and future edits (because I don't see why there shouldn't be), this is just an updated schedule/calendar and artworks, with potentially more info about these records and more records like cover art, and titles, etc.

tl;dr the blurbs are taking too long, ah fuck it.

Already released:


Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

I like a lot of this record. The production is better than Portal of I, and the songwriting is shorter, more concise as a whole. I guess I can best say that there are a handful of moments I enjoy on this album,


Pink Floyd - The Endless River

A woman has powder make-up applied to her face as she is surrounded by ukiyoe imagery, an airplane and a guitar.
Ringo Sheena - Hi Izuru Tokoro

This may be a collection of older tunes or something, but I really love a lot of this. Probably at least 2/3 of it are on par if not better than most of her solo work that I've heard (which isn't a ton mind you, as I never spent as much time with it as Tokyo Jihen, but with TJ no more, it makes more sense, it's just not as easily available I suppose).

Excellent record or collection.


Thomas Giles - Modern Noise

Between the Buried and Me frontman/vocalist/keyboardist; I like this more than his last solo record, as it seems to have a little more depth to it. Although it still needs more time to fully gauge.

Zozzled cover art
Hardcore Crayons - Zozzled
I hear Rush and Battles and Primus obviously. 'More Sugar" and "Kid is Goat" are among the standouts.


Demians - Mercury

Nicholas Chapel 3rd LP, but 1st since 2010's Mute. A lot of this sounds like alternative rock, which I'm may be what Nick's interest may be in songwriting. I'm not sure how much I will get into this though, as the really progrock element of the Demians debut LP Building an Empire I'm noticing a lot of. And "Chapel" the atmospheric prog metal Silent Ceremony demo that I loved so much, may just remain just that it seems, but who knows. A revisiting may be required soon.

New World cover art
Dave Kerzner - New World

This is honestly, a fair amount more enjoyable than I expected. It is obviously prog rock and has an assortment of guests that are known appear. From Keith Emerson to Steve Hackett to Simon Phillips, to Colin Edwin of Porcupine Tree, to some of Dave's old Kevin Gilbert bandmates Nick D'Virgilio and Russ Parish. .I do naturally appreciate 'My Old Friend" for it's nod to Kevin Gilbert in more than one way.

There's a VERY big Pink Floyd element on this album, even beyond Dave's David Gilmour-vocal resemblance.

I think the biggest track for me is the 7th track "Ocean of Stars"..incredibly surreal and moody. Dreamy as hell. The guitar solo is gorgeous.

The guitar work Fernando Perdomo does on"Nothing" sounds incredibly like Steve Howe at times, I almost thought it was a Yes song.



January 1st-October 27th

Songs Of The Week cover art
Timmy Sean - Songs of the Week
A new "older" tune from Timmy's archives will be released every week per his bandcamp page . Whether they be from his "Celebrities" band, Sir Video, Luzer or "The Mahoney Brothers"? among some others, he has a lot of goodies to share.

January 12th


Archive - Restriction
This record has great flow, and some great moments, that while not all that new for Archive, still works on many levels.

January 13th


Subterranean Masquerade - The Great Bazaar 

Review(s) pending, but this is a tremendous comeback album, that ti seems the 10-year wait was all worthwhile.

Image of Cryptodira/East of the Wall Split 7"
East of the Wall [Split EP]

January 20th



The Decemberists - What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World

Spotty at best.

January 27th


Punch Brothers -  The Phosphorescent Blues

Deceptively Good.

February 1st

New World Sundown cover art
Hotel of the Laughing Tree - New World Sundown 
Consistently good record.

February 13th


Susanne Sundfør - Ten Love Songs


February 17th

Caravan of Thieves - Kiss Kiss

February 21st


Small Leaks, Sink Ships - Face Yourself and Remove Your Sandals
https://twitter.com/smallleaks

February 27th/March 2nd-3rd



Steven Wilson - Hand.Cannot.Erase

March 3rd

Tuxedo

Tuxedo - Tuxedo

March 13th/15th

Aerial Love EP + Instant Grat

Daniel Johns - Aerial Love
As much of a departure the title track seems to be, I like it and this EP which hopefully will just be a sample of what is to come later this season from the ex-Silverchair frontman.

March 30th/31st

Carrie & Lowell cover art

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie and Lowell


Mercies - Blue Against Green



Godspeed You! Black Emperor  'Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress'



ThurisazThe Pulse of Mourning

April 6th-7th


Timbre - Sun and Moon
https://twitter.com/TimbreCierpke



The Barnum Meserve - The Barnum Meserve

The Embers of Time, Josh Rouse

Josh Rouse - The Embers of Time

Umphrey's McGee - The London Session

April 13th



Gavin Harrison - Cheating the Polygraph

April 20th


Nordic Giants - A Séance of Dark Delusions

April 27th



Mew - + -


April



Tangled Thoughts of Leaving - Yield to Despair

May 19th

Faith No More - Sol Invictus

May 25th

Mike Vennart - The Demon Joke
https://twitter.com/Vennart

June 8th

Muse - Drones
https://twitter.com/muse

June 21

God is an Astronaut - Helios | Erebus

June 30th

The Velvet Teen - All Is Illusory
https://twitter.com/thevelvetteen

June?
Kaddisfly - Horses Galloping on Sailboats (HGOS MMXV)
https://twitter.com/Kaddisfly

July 7th



Between the Buried and Me - Coma Ecliptic
https://twitter.com/btbamofficial

Spring

The Dear Hunter - Act IV: Rebirth in Reprise
https://twitter.com/CaseyCrescenzo


Album Finished with Titles

22- You Are Creating
https://twitter.com/22NEWENERGY

Klimt 1918- Die Sentimentale Jugend
https://twitter.com/Klimt1918music

Neverending White Lights- Act IV
https://twitter.com/iamNeverending

The Pneumatic Transit- Concerto Moon


Album done/in the works but no info:

The Bird and the Bee - TBA

Happy Body Slow Brain - TBA
Album Teaser 1

Hands of Despair - TBA

Mutemath - TBA
https://twitter.com/MUTEMATH

*shels - Samwise the Demon
https://twitter.com/shelsmusic

Unclear/To Be Announced

AM and Shawn Lee

Anakdota

Anderson / Ponty Band

The Apples in Stereo

Arch / Matheos

Between Two Skies

Bubblemath

Casey Crescenzo + Jessy Ribordy project

Cloud Cult
https://twitter.com/CloudCult
Recording "Every Thing"

Diablo Swing Orchestra

The Dissociatives - [EP]

Dream Theater

Erstwhile - Matt and Brett of Fair to Midland's new band.

Falling Up
YouTube Channel

Fjokra-  TBA
https://twitter.com/Fjokra

Beyond the Mellowsound Sessions [EP], there likely will be something new as Fjokra has been posting clips and photos about it recently.

Gatherer

Genders

Gojira

Gotye
https://twitter.com/gotye

House of Fools
https://twitter.com/houseoffools1

Jazzkamikaze
https://twitter.com/jazzkamikaze

Journal

Lehto and Wright
https://twitter.com/LehtoWright

Majestyy
https://twitter.com/Majestyy_

Paul Mac
https://twitter.com/thepaulmac

Todd Menton

Meshuggah

Miracles of Modern Science
https://twitter.com/wearemoms

Moonloop
https://twitter.com/moonloopband

Motopony

NewVillager - A Book and new music in the Fall
https://twitter.com/NewVillager

Oddland
Opus Dai - Insectum Vol. 1

Ours
https://twitter.com/JimmyGneccoNews

Ramona Falls
https://twitter.com/ramonafalls

Sculptured

Stateless - TBA [EP]
https://twitter.com/StatelessOnline

Vektor
https://twitter.com/VektorMetal

Misc.

January 19, 2015

 
Kevin Gilbert - Thud Deluxe Edition (Vinyl + CD)

Kimbra - As You Are (String-driven Rearrangement ft. Van Dyke Parks)

Pretty bloody breathtaking.

Damn, too bad her upcoming tour isn't coming to Minneapolis. Would be lovely to witness live.

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Kaddisfly - Horses Galloping on Sailboats (MMXV)

3/24/15 10:15PM

June 2015?

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10153303013260039&set=vb.7849795038&type=2&theater

itisnowtime 

.--- ..- -. . / ..--- ----- .---- .....

"it is now time...to open the doors"




2/19/15 9:26:AM

just a sample/clip/teaser

https://www.facebook.com/Kaddisfly/posts/10153213254755039

"The Architect"



1/5/15 7:16PM

https://www.facebook.com/Kaddisfly/photos/a.10150672788040039.450235.7849795038/10153102055405039/?type=1&theater

Obviously not certain, but appears to be likely a TRACKLIST?.

1, The Architect
2. The Companion
3, The Middleman
4, The Traveler

5. The Watchmaker
6. The Painter
7. The Butcher
8. The Raconteur

9. The Guru
10. The Sage
11. The Author
12. The Apparition




They have been posting little teasing quotes it appears a few times over the last 4 or 5 months on FB,
But now this after on New Years Day

"This will be the year. Have a safe and happy one. Cheers."


7/10/14 12:07PM
https://www.facebook.com/Kaddisfly/posts/10152652346040039

it's being MIXED.

2/22/14 12:09AM

from Facebook. A tracklist/possible track names/influences, etc? (I know it's not much, but at least it's something, lol)




12/31/13 7:02PM

Not 2013 (MMXIII) but 2014 it appears with the MMXIV, it's coming...

And I would't be surprised to see some of these tunes here http://kaddisfly.bandcamp.com/  included, perhaps in different arrangements.

COLOR ME STOKED.

https://www.facebook.com/Kaddisfly/posts/10152215047705039

our seeds are planted. we're building and nurturing. things are progressing and we're excited to show you. it has been a bit. thanks for sticking it through with us. LOVE

to MMXIV, cheers



4/2/13 9:36PM

So excited. This year hopefully will include more of these leading up to the details and release.

"vos estis finis," "you were finished" in Esperanto?


vos estis finis from KADDISFLY on Vimeo.


there are few things in this world that are entirely undeniable. commonly, these things are encompassed in a feeling. less commonly are these feelings felt shared and communicated between people. even less common is to have the chance to create something that celebrates and communicates this feeling, and to share it with with those who have been a part of it, as well as those willing to lend a curious ear. to share this level of joy and intimacy between people is a lacking trait in a modern and momentary world.
we are honored and endlessly excited to create and develop "HORSES GALLOPING ON SAILBOATS" in 2013.
VOS ESTIS FINIS

1/31/13 11:55AM

"The Dark and Stormy Tour"
New (Old) Documentary the guys posted. About 6 minutes, from 2005 (through 2008?). I haven't watched it yet though.



also the HGOS (Horses Galloping on Sailboats) part is shown on some places. The one thing to add to this, the album likely won't be released until late in the year given the guys are living in different places now. I wouldn't expect to see it until late Summer August/September at the earliest. Which will mean no matter what else is released prior to it as far as Album Index rankings, the Kaddisfly card very easily will find a way to change the results come early December. Even if the sucker is released the 3rd week of November, I won't be surprised to see a different top 10 or even top 5 only a few weeks after it's released.

1/25/13 9:39AM
Come to this blog/twitter/facebook or just  Watch this Space

http://www.facebook.com/Kaddisfly/posts/10151462633685039





we can travel forever this way from MMXIII on Vimeo.

[IMG]

only guess work right now (and no I of course haven't heard the song in the video "We Can Travel Forever This Way" but this is likely 1 of 2 things.

1) This is in effect, Horses Galloping on Sailboats, just named a little more cryptically.

2) This is a reunion/new work/album, but still under the Kaddisfly name.

the MMXIII = 2013?

The one thing I hope though is they talk about the status and it includes Kelsey Kuther who was in, but is not now currently in Water & Bodies.

I know people like Dan Fury and some others I know from the forums have more or less any and all details about this information, but then again, they may not be privy to share it with me just yet. It may not matter because this stuff is far too far already for the band not to post some kind of detailed announcement.

Mike Vennart - The Demon Joke (2014-2015)

3/24/15 4:59PM

"So. That’s why the album is called ‘The Demon Joke.'"

edit: a lot of details about the album and the title, and the background of the recording of the record, for those who pledged.

Album Art link






3/14/15 4:01PM

Not a ton of news, but per Mike's Twitter, the "Target" (or Goal?) was met within 5 hours I guess, lol.

edit: 5 HOURS, not days,

Also a new official Facebook Page was set up.

https://www.facebook.com/vennartvennart

3/6/15 4:48PM

http://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/11279

Just pledged and received immediate download of the track "Infatuate"
pretty nice.

Looks like the CD comes on May 25th and Vinyl June 15th.

Title? "Divert Crisis" or something else? S/T?.kinda doubt it.

Also unclear about the actual "Goal" percentage as they typically show on Pledgemusic Campaigns. Maybe there is none? it just says 80 days left.

1/11/14 9:24AM

Full length debut record coming soon. If you follow his his twitter page he's been talking about it for awhile. It looks like this record will be released on Vinyl too.

http://mikevennart.tumblr.com/

Divert Crisis

Having spent nearly 5 years keeping myself occupied - and having a little too much fun - playing guitar for the beautiful Biffy Clyro, I’ve spent an awful lot of time working out exactly what kind of music I want to make. I’m happy to report that my first ‘solo’ record is on the way. 
Those inverted commas are important - an old friend has been of invaluable help in pushing these songs up the hill. Countless sketches were made in posh hotel rooms in every corner of the globe, and some were then given focus and cohesion in the form of vocal melodies written by my former Oceansize cohort, Steve Durose. We’re kind of like a weird-rock Elton and Bernie. 
The record also features keyboards from none other than Gambler, former Oceansize guy and my partner in British Theatre. Drums were beat with exceptional vigour by Dean ‘Denzel’ Pearson. His playing is so good it’s actually kind of hilarious.
Upon the release of this full length album, I’ll be taking these songs - with these very men - on tour.
Expect announcements of shows as and when we’re allowed to reveal them.
It’s been a long journey, dreaming up even the impetus for much of this material. I’m glad i arrived at a point where i’m once again making music that i want to hear.
The record itself? It is a beautiful, noisy, fuzzy, epic, heavy, stupid, annoying, confrontational journey. It is fucking ace. 
I can’t wait to get it out there.

MJV


x

2/7/14 10:29AM
New song/single from ex-Oceansize frontman Mike Vennart. I have no idea if this is his focus now, more than British Theatre, or if this will be like Josh Benash from Vuvuzela, where Mike will still be active doing British Theatre music and work on his own solo music. Granted, we haven't heard much if anything from British Theatre for over a year, which is puzzling and might suggest this solo work of his will be more of his focus, along with playing guitar with Biffy Clyro live in Europe.

The song itself is okay. Not blowing me away, but it's not bad, and may grow a bit.

edit: I'm digging this song a little more now. It reminds me a little of the music from Self Preserved..

Godspeed You! Black Emperor - 'Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress' (2014-2015)

3/24/15 11:55AM

Guardian has the official Soundcloud Embed

I haven't been able to listen yet as my morning has been consumed by working without headphones.

But, just based on some of the comments on various sites, my guess is what I suspected before. More droney Godspeed, and less layered climaxing Godspeed.

But can't be sure yet.

[hyperbole/tangent/soapbox]If I am right, I think an entry and maybe even a Video could be in order for what I guess I could describe "Trendrock music from artists I have liked, but recent work is overhyped and not close to the music I fell in love with them."

a mouthful I suppose, but  that's the jist of it. Basically, all the bands I like who the hipsters like who have done prog of a kind in the past, new stuff whether prog or not, just frankly, is not very good or memorable.

But a lot of Trendrock fans are going to succumb to the hype, even just telling everyone else about it. Even albums like the new Kendrick Lamar is being shoved down so many people's throats, much like Kanye West new albums are, it becomes highly nauseating to me, at least for awhile. [/hyperbole/tangent/soapbox]

2/24/15 4:22PM

Not a bad title, but it looks/reads, with the single-quote marks and 4-word length, a bit like their last record's title "'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!, which down the road, may cause many to mix them up.

I love how they mention "inviting" local Record stores to submit links for Preorders and Minnesota is nowhere to be found on the list, kind of like how Minnesota seems to be nowhere to be found on any tour agendas of theris either, lol.

This 1st piece shared "Peasantry or 'Light! Inside of Light!", which was originally called "Behemoth" I guess, I'm luke warm about at best. Godspeed doing more drone? I hope it's limited. Their last record 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!, while a pleasant surprise to have anything new from them, was uneven.

Based on that, I am not expecting anything as good as the Skinny Fists record here. But I'll certainly check this out.

The fact they are putting out a new record is not surprising, even though I recall a couple of years ago, seeing many people not expecting a new album/new material so soon.  But the fact as that write-up below says, they've been incorporating new music in those Minnesota-less Live shows since 2010, really suggests they were bound to record some of it and put it out. Well, here it is (their last record of course was all old material).

March 31st is the street date. March and April keep getting more filled up with new music.


http://cstrecords.com/cst111/



1. Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’
2. Lambs’ Breath
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled

We've invited independent music retailers to submit links for pre-orders and we encourage you to support them. You should also benefit from much lower shipping costs by doing so (outside Canada, and especially for the 180 gram gatefold vinyl). This list of indie retail links will be updated throughout the week of Feb 23-27. 

UNITED STATES: 
• SCDISTRIBUTION: CD/LP 
• EXPERIMEDIA (Kent, OH): LP / CD 
• ORIGAMI VINYL (Los Angeles, CA): LP 
• AMOEBA MUSIC (Los Angeles, CA): CD / LP 
• TONEVENDOR (St. Augustine, FL): CD / LP 
• NEWBURY COMICS: LP 
• GRIMEY'S (Nashville, TN): In-store preorder 
• LANDLOCKED MUSIC (Bloomington, IN): In-store preorder 
• LOVE GARDEN SOUNDS (Lawrence, KS): In-store preorder 
• ZIA RECORDS (Phoenix/Tucson, AZ): CD / LP 
• LUNA MUSIC (Indianapolis, IN): LP 
• DEAD TANK (Jacksonville, FL): LP 

UNITED KINGDOM: 
• NORMAN RECORDS: CD / LP 
• RESIDENT: CD / LP 
• PICCADILLY RECORDS: CD / LP 
• ROUGH TRADE: CD / LP 
• BOOMKAT: CD / LP 

GERMANY: 
• FLIGHT 13: CD / LP 
• GREEN HELL: CD / LP 
• FINEST VINYL: LP 
• GLITTERHOUSE: CD 
• DENOVALI: CD / LP 

CANADA: 
• TINY RECORD SHOP (Toronto, ON): CD / LP 
• ENCORE RECORDS (Kitchener, ON): CD / LP 
• DR. DISC (Hamilton, ON): In-store preorder 
• COMPACT MUSIC (Ottawa, ON): In-store preorder 
• BLACKBYRD MYOOZIK (Edmonton, AB): In-store preorder 
• FRÉQUENCES LE DISQUAIRE (Ste-Hyacynthe, QC): CD / LP 
• GOOD MUSIC (Toronto, ON): In-store preorder 


DESCRIPTION
Godspeed You! Black Emperor (GYBE) returns with its first single LP-length release since the group's earliest days in 1997-99. 'Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress' clocks in at a succinct 40:23 and is arguably the most focused and best-sounding recording of the band's career. Working with sound engineer Greg Norman (Electrical Audio) at studios in North Carolina and Montreal, GYBE slowly and steadily put the new album together through late 2013 and 2014, emerging with a mighty slab of superlative sonics, shot through with all the band's inimitable signposts and touchstones: huge unison riffage, savage noise/drone, oscillating overtones, guitar vs. string counterpoint, inexorable crescendos and scorched-earth transitions. 

Following Godspeed's return from a long hiatus at the end of 2010 to begin playing live shows again, and with the hugely acclaimed 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! release in 2012 marking their first new release in a decade, the group continued to perform regularly on their own headlining tours (and as headliners at many leading festivals), often including a new multi-movement piece in concert over the past couple of years. Known to fans and through live show recordings by the sobriquet "Behemoth", GYBE has gradually distilled this new work down to a fastidious and uncompromising essence in the studio, with the swing-time swagger of the opening unison riff in "Peasantry or 'Light! Inside of Light!'" giving way to increasing microtonal divergences and an exhilarating immersion in the harmonic power of massed amplified instruments, before collapsing into some of the most visceral and unalloyed noise/drone the band has yet committed to tape on "Lambs' Breath" and "’Asunder, Sweet'”. The album closes with "Piss Crowns Are Trebled", a classic 14-minute piece of vintage Godspeed, where ascending and descending guitar and violin melodies intertwine over gut-rattling distorted bass in 3/4 time, segueing into a pummeling four-on-the-floor series of sparkling, soaring crescendos 

'Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress' finds Godspeed in top form; a sterling celebration of the band's awesome dialectic, where composition, emotion and 'note-choice' is inextricable from an exacting focus on tone, timbre, resonance and the sheer materiality of sound. The album is available on 180 gram vinyl in a gatefold jacket with printed inner sleeve and insert poster, on CD in a 100% recycled custom paperboard jacket, and on all manner of formats in our fractured digital marketplace. 

Thanks for listening. 

Release date: 31 March 2015 
Running time: 40:23 


PACKAGING NOTES
CD comes in a custom gatefold jacket printed on thick 24pt. paperboard with a printed CD dust sleeve. LP is pressed on 180 gram virgin vinyl at Optimal (Germany) and comes in a heavyweight gatefold jacket with full-colour printed dust sleeve, pull-out art poster and download code for 320 kbps MP3 copy of the album. 

TRACKLIST
1. Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!’ 
2. Lambs’ Breath 
3. Asunder, Sweet
4. Piss Crowns Are Trebled 

CREDITS
PERSONNEL 
Thierry Amar: Bass and contrebasse 
David Bryant: Electric guitar, portasound, organs and drones 
Aidan Girt: Drums 
Timothy Herzog: Drums and drones 
Efrim Manuel Menuck: Electric guitar 
Michael Moya: Electric guitar 
Mauro Pezzente: Electric bass 
Sophie Trudeau: Violins and drones 
Karl Lemieux: 16mm film projections 

Recorded by Greg Norman at Fidelitorium, Hotel 2 Tango and The Pines. 
Mixed by Greg Norman and GYBE at Mixart and Hotel 2 Tango. 
Masted by Harris Newman at Greymarket.

Monday, March 23, 2015

Muse - Drones (2014-2015)

3/23/15 2:40PM

"Dead Inside" stream below.

despite the clipping cymbals in spots (which may be a product of a YouTube stream anyway, I like this more than Psycho already. Nothing mindblowing, but it's okay, catchy enough, etc.



3/11/15 2:16PM - 3/12/15 2:35PM

"Psycho"...not awful, but meh..maybe it'll work within the rest of the record.



http://muse.mu/

Preorder and "Psycho" tomorrow, and "Dead Inside" the opening track coming on March 23rd.



1. Dead Inside
2. [Drill Sergeant]
3. Psycho
4. Mercy
5. Reapers
6. The Handler
7. [JFK]
8. Defector
9. Revolt
10. Aftermath
11. The Globalist
12. Drones

From Matt: “To me, 'Drones' are metaphorical psychopaths which enable psychopathic behaviour with no recourse.  The world is run by Drones utilizing Drones to turn us all into Drones.  This album explores the journey of a human, from their abandonment and loss of hope, to their indoctrination by the system to be a human drone, to their eventual defection from their oppressors." 
  
The first single from Drones, “Dead Inside,” will debut the week of 23 March. Preorder for the new album will be available tomorrow at 7:30pm GMT, along with the new song “Psycho.” 


1/27/15 7:19PM

ultimate-guitar.com story


An orchestra? "Drones"..well at least it's a title that is current.

ACDC producer Robert "Mutt" Lange is producing. Release date? TBA of course at this point.

Matt Bellamy noodling
brief clip, LOL

Unlike some people, I actually liked a fair amount of their last record The 2nd Law, so I am certainly looking forward to this. But we'll see, and the expectation of time for it is probably not incredibly soon, but then again, Muse are a band who doesn't share a lot about their new albums and then announce they will come out in a few weeks.