Sunday, April 19, 2015

Record Store Day 2015

Myself, my fiancee and my friend John went to 3 stores today after a slightly *late* breakfast around 9:30AM.

Barely Brothers
Agharta Records
Cheapo in St.Paul

Items:

-The Decemberists - Picaresque (10 yr Anniversary colored, which includes a download of a live show from 2005 in Portland, Oregon)
-Tomorrow - Tomorrow (Gatefold)
-Typhoon - Prosthetic Love 7"

-XTC - Skylarking
-XTC - The Big Express (Promo)
-Pink Floyd - Atom Heart Mother (German issue)


Breakfast at Colossal Cafe in the Como area (the St.Paul location, the open date is still pending).

I attempted to shoot a bunch of 2-7 minute on-site video, which if by some miracle, I will be able to edit-together (while editing out much of it at points). But we'll see. A lot of the videos had durations of time where you don't see anything or people's heads are cutoff, hence why the editing would be beneficial.

A video with the Fiancee and I showing our RSD items again? may or may not happen. If it does, I would look for it to be shorter than the 30 min from RSD 2014. We'll see, time is rarely on our side tho.

I may just instead, try and write something more extensive about the issues I have with RSD and I suppose why this year was much less stressful and may be a new/best approach for years to come.

Or at least why Black Friday RSD seems to be a little more my and the Fiancee's thing I guess.

Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Friday, April 17, 2015

10-Years Ago: The Receiving End of Sirens - Between the Heart and the Synapse PODCAST

http://voiceandversepodcast.com/2015/04/16/episode-030-the-receiving-end-of-sirens-10-year-retrospective/



This is a new episode of a podcast titled Voice and Verse, and in this episode, it has the host chatting with Brendan Brown and Nate Patterson of The Receiving End of Sirens for over an hour about TREOS landmark debut album Between the Heart and the Synapse, which next week marks the 10-year anniversary of its release.


An album, I don't know how much of my backstory I've ever shared in detail in this blog, although I know TREOS were 1 of the bands I mentioned in 1 of my 1st posts.

And of course, no time at the moment to do that, but if/;when hopefully I find that time, I would like to as this is an all-time favorite of mine. And it also introduced me to Casey Crescenzo who was doing and of course later went on to do full-time, his project The Dear Hunter.

But as far as the podcast, it does have Brendan and Nate talk about the history of TREOS, this album, the making/recording etc..tours with Panic at the Disco and a lot of other good info and nostalgia.

I guess the only thing I wish had happened, was the host asked them about TREOS now, any chance of a reunion album/ or more shows (they have done a few here and there over the years), or that live DVD that was supposed to happen that as far as I know, has not unfortunately.

That and I'll bring up, the fact as much as I adore this album, the cymbals do still clip,  but that is ,me. The question about things they'd change, I would love to ask any of them about that, but then again, it frequently seems to be me MY EARS and my issue, more than most others.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Native Construct - Quiet World (2014-2015)

I'm unclear how good this album is/will be as it's not released yet anyway, dropping next Tuesday April 21st I noticed.

But the video below with "Mute" definitely holds some optimism. Props to a friend of mine  named Jason on Facebook and Mike Portnoy's forum for recommending this song/band to me.

This is a 3-piece band as the info below shows, comprised of musicians who met at Berklee College of Music. Style-wise, it is progressive metal, that I suppose isn't exactly reinventing the wheel, but I do like the textures and symphonic elements. This doesn't sound like progressive metal trying to be Dream Theater really, but more just highly influenced by Between the Buried and Me and perhaps Mr.Bungle and some others (both are mentioned in the comments and some other places online).

I guess I hear this track "Mute" as sounding rather refined and the use of strings working quite well. In just checking out the 1 track on their Bandcamp Page from 2012 (embedded at the bottom), they clearly have an interest in using textures and strings? (even if they are just programmed). That along with composition could allow my feelings about this band stand out among so many "prog metal" bands who may be heavily influenced by BTBAM (or Dream Theater I suppose).

I guess if there's a band who I am most reminded of in that using that influence and doing cool thins with it, it'd probably be Painted in Exile, who, after that great EP in the late 2000's, have been rather quiet (1 new track recently), so perhaps Native Construct will bring that kind of thing in more quantity (at least they are signed to Metal Blade).

PiE and I suppose I am reminded a little of that newest The Contortionist album/style.

Perhaps Native Construct could do a tour with either Painted in Exile or more likely, The Contortionist?

I guess we'll see, but this album should be something cool to look forward to next week, post-Record Store Day even.

Purchase Link



1. Mute
2. The Spark of the Archon
3. Passage
4. Your Familiar Face
5. Come Hell or High Water
6. Chromatic Lights
7. Chromatic Aberration



https://www.facebook.com/NativeConstruct?fref=ts

https://twitter.com/NConstructBand

http://www.metalblade.com/nativeconstruct/



Robert Edens: Vocals
Myles Yang: Guitar
Max Harchik: Bass

Native Construct is the product of collaboration between several students that began in 2011 at the storied Berklee College of Music in Boston, Massachusetts. Fueled by a desire to breathe new life into the modern metal genre, Native Construct artfully blends a wide spectrum of compositional influences, ranging from classical all the way to prog metal and musical theatre. The result is a wonderfully unique sonic texture, made up of extended-range guitars, theatrical vocals, and a full complement of symphonic instrumentation. Guitarist and composer Myles Yang's passion for innovation, coupled with his extensive academic study of arranging and compositional techniques, makes Native Construct a truly distinctive up-and-coming metal act.

In 2014, the band's music caught the ear of Brian Slagel at Metal Blade Records, and led to a recording contract and a worldwide release of the band's debut album, Quiet World. The album promises to be a rich, vibrant, and aurally engaging musical experience. While following a musically programmatic approach to its storytelling, the album demonstrates a fascinating unification of numerous musical styles and provides an emotional journey through the vast and imaginative world Native Construct have envisioned.

Quiet World was largely self-produced and written between 2011 and 2013 in between the individual band members' studies at the Berklee College of Music. What began as jam sessions simply for fun eventually turned into a full-fledged musical endeavor. All tracking and programming was done at the band's home studios in Boston, MA, with the exception of vocals, which were recorded with Jamie King at The Basement Studios in Winston-Salem, NC. The album was mixed by Rich Mouser at The Mouse House Studio in Los Angeles, CA, and mastered by Jamie King.

A brief listen to Quiet World is enough to make it apparent that there is a concept, here. Though it's best to let the band explain the album in their own words: "Quiet World is about a guy who loves a girl. The guy is a bit of an odd and eccentric person - an outcast. He's also a mute, and a little unstable, as it turns out. The girl doesn't return his feelings, but he can't bring himself to let go. As his unrequited passion for her devolves into obsession and eventual resentment, his mind begins to slip further and further away. He convinces himself that he can't be loved because of his condition and abnormalities. So he decides to create for himself a new, fantastic world of which he has complete control - a world where there are no oddballs or outcasts. A world where everyone is surrounded by people who are just like themselves: a much quieter world.

"It's at this point that the first track of the album, "Mute," begins. And it turns out that many of the subjects of his new world are not as content living this way as he is. In the second track we see a new character, the Archon, rise up and unite his people in the clouds with the once distant people in the sea. He leads an opposition to "Sinister Silence," as the people come to call him. The rest of the album unfolds with events within the "Quiet World" and manifestations of the enduring struggle between the Archon and Sinister Silence. The lone exception is track number four, "Your Familiar Face," which steps out of this world for a moment to give a closer look at the events prior to the first track and the tragedy of Sinister Silence."

What is impressive about Native Construct is not necessarily an involved concept on a debut record, it's that they wrote, produced, and recorded the album while balancing school work and on a college student budget. It's the epitome of "self produced." And what Native Construct wants fans to know is that "the composition process for this album was intensely meticulous from top to bottom. Each note, each lyric, each twist and each turn were arrived at with the utmost care. As such, we were able to weave rich, often subtle layers of meaning into the music and text. We're very excited for you all to experience the result of our efforts!"

Monday, April 13, 2015

The Barnum Meserve - The Barnum Meserve (2014-2015).. + LP's #2 and #3

4/13/15 1:49PM

"Underneath the Grey" video.

jeez, the lyrics are hardly happy, but this is definitely not quite what I pictured with this track. Not sure if the girl is the guy's daughter or someone he knew and cared about.




4/09/15 6:00AM

Finally got to check out the whole record, and I do like a lot of it. "Take Shelter" is probably my favorite. I really like the dynamics on that track.

This album and their sound I guess has a lot of emotional vocals from Leon Wiley. He can really wail or scream.

Also it seems nearly every track features some kind of chamber instrumentation, with strings, horns, or I suppose just the use of piano as a texture/adding-to-the-atmosphere, that adds a lot.

I suppose 1 of the best things about this album and band is, they do not sound like any other band I like really. Why in 1 way, it's hard to describe them accurately.

also It's for Sale on AMAZON.COM here (digital)

The CDs should be be going on sale soon, I guess.

3/28/15 8:13AM

Whole album stream:


Still unclear about cds, direct-to-the-band purchase (bandcamp?, etc).  The Soundcloud page has a link to the iTunes download page.

3/25/15 6:55PM

Digital Preorders

amazon.co.uk
itunes

2/21/15 10:57PM

Tracklist below for the S/T debut coming on April 6th (iTunes/Amazon digital, and physical format from their online store)

Facebook Pic




1 War Games 3:35
2 Open Up Your Eyes 5:21
3 Colours 3:15
4 Don't Be Afraid 4:19
5 Last Forever 4:38
6 Half Mast 4:13
7 Underneath the Grey 4:02
8 Without Numbers 3:22
9 After the Fire 4:20
10 Losing Sleep 4:25
11 Dust 4:52
12 Take Shelter 4:51
13 Tides 5:56


1/24/15 11:37PM



Not a ton of details to share yet, but per these 2 articles below, there's a few things included.

Release date is April 6th. It is Self-Titled, and Self-Released. It includes a lot of their trademark strings, vocal harmonies among other things. Also the same release date of the Nordic Giants debut record and Josh Rouse.

Their 2nd LP has already been recorded and is in the mixing stage, and is looking to come out in 2016, may or may not be released on a label.

Their 3rd LP they are already working on, and if timing works well, may come in 2017, LOL.

http://ventsmagazine.com/interview-the-barnum-meserve/

http://www.rocknreelreviews.com/banrum-meserve-6th-april/


After two years in the making, The Barnum Meserve now unleash their self-titled debut album, and it’s an outright scorcher. The record contains thirteen tracks that are epic, dark and cinematic, but above all, utterly compelling. The atmospheric piano openings and string sections of ‘War Games’ leads things off, before the current single ‘Colours’ (http://youtu.be/rFbN_mzIyaw) perfectly showcases the three piece’s unbridled emotion laced with a contagious and dramatic refrain. The forthcoming single ‘Underneath The Grey’ further demonstrates the band’s guile and deft ability to truly ignite anyone within earshot, and the video is also something special that magnificently portrays the track’s haunting beauty. With shows and festival appearances planned for this year, along with a new album already in works, there is no stopping The Barnum Meserve’s ascent.


I'm pretty intrigued not only by this upcoming record, but the stuff they also have planned over the next couple of years. Will they play live in North America? I dunno, but 1-step-at-a-time of course.

I will of course bump this when more of those details come.




https://twitter.com/barnummeserve
https://www.facebook.com/TheBarnumMeserve

Friday, April 10, 2015

Mew - + - (2014-2015)

4/10/15 1:56PM

update:


4/9/15 5:44AM

A couple of other tracks shared (for now, at least, no guarantee they stay shared). The Night Believer I like (even for a Radio Edit), Witness...not as sure about. As someone who really loves most of this band's work, and really enjoyed No More Stories quite a lot, I'm starting to question how much I'm going to love this record. Granted, sometimes songs and bands can just get better with a little time.

But I guess I'm not super-duper-uberly jazzed for this record as much as I might think I would be having heard a decent amount of it. I'm hoping at least a couple of the songs will blow me away like "Apocalypso" or "Am I Wry? No" etc..




4/7/15 3:55PM

This was shared a few weeks ago, but here's the official video.

Less than 3 weeks from the release date..




3/10/15 12:23PM

Not bad, although it almost sounds like a segue track.

Link to Stream of "Water Slides"

anticipate a few edits/add-ins for alternative links/embeds since trend-music links are best avoided if possible.


2/2/15 4:50PM

Link to official video for "Satellites"

why it is *unlisted* and recommended to not be shared, because this site gets an *exclusive* premiere? I don't follow. People are going to share it anyway, but whatevah, I linked it to their site for now.

1/29/15 2:37PM

You can now listen to the full version of 'Satellites' the first song from + - on Spotify here: http://tinyurl.com/pnyvy8d

FB link


(Spotify)


1/21/15 5:23AM
itunes has the track times added below. The whole record clocks in at around 1 hour, including the 10+ minute piece "Rows"

1/19/15 9:18AM



Wednesday January 21st Preorder which is is online Here
Release date is April 27th

Odd title, and the "-" part may always throw me off (and it may be easier just to write "Plus Minus").

Edited Clip of the song "Satellites" sounds pretty sweet.

US Tour Dates?..given they are playing SXSW in Texas in Mid March, I gotta believe they will try and play some other shows in the States, but those have yet to be announced yet.

edit: below is supposedly the tracklist (per a post on absolutepunk)

edit 2:
Tracklist here:
http://mewsite.com/news/


We are pleased to announce our new album + - is released on April 27th, pre-order from Weds 21 Jan, and we will be touring Europe in May! Listen to ‘Satellites’ and see all dates on our new website: http://www.mewsite.com/

edit 3:  

Some more details, observations and information per

MewX.info (including Kimbra being involved)
Plus Minus will only include ten tracks, but they are above average in length. Those who saw the recent live shows already know that Satellites, My Complications and Cross The River On Your Own were all in the range of 6 to 7 minutes each when played live, and they will certainly not be any shorter on the album. The version of Satellites you heard today is – of course – a radio edit. Proper single release for the aforementioned song will take place on March 9th and extra songs are expected for the same release date (call them b-sides or whatever). Russell Lissack (of Bloc Party) and Kimbra are confirmed collaborators on Plus Minus. No information on possible music videos yet, but it is expected (or hoped for) that Martin de Thurah would return. Time will tell.

Tracks we’ve not heard so far are The Night Believer, Interview The Girls and Rows. Clinging To A Bad Dream is – as the lyrics revealed a while back – the song we’ve come to know as Changes or even Koor. This is one of the weirder tracks on the album and it changes radically a few times (prepare to hear Silas Graae and Bo Madsen go “nuts” here). If there’s a dark, so-called David Lynch track on the album, it is this one. Mew never had a problem spending weeks or even months on ONE track. Sold yet?

As was expected, Cross The River On Your Own will be the finale, and Johan Wohlert has already called it one of his favourite tracks on the album. Mew always know how to close a record and this is no exception.







01 Satellites 6:09
02 Witness 3:01
03 The Night Believer 4:12
04 Making Friends 4:52
05 Clinging to a Bad Dream 6:43
06 My Complications 6:03
07 Water Slides 5:04
08 Interview the Girls 4:04
09 Rows 10:42
10 Cross the River on Your Own 7:28

Frengers, 
We are very excited to announce that our new album '+ -' will be released on 27th April 2015
Go to our new website at www.mewsite.com to hear ‘Satellites’ - the first song from the new album.
+ - will be available to pre-order on Wednesday 21st January HERE.  
Formats available are: CD, Heavyweight Gatefold Double 12" Vinyl LP (including CD insert), and a Deluxe Hard-Back Double CD Book (featuring + - and live recordings from 2014).
We are also delighted to announce a European tour in May, with a special pre-sale starting at 9am on Wednesday 21st January HERE
These tickets are also available to buy in an optional bundle with the new album. 
EUROPE MAY 2015
17/05/15: O2 Academy, Glasgow, UK
19/05/15: HMV Ritz, Manchester, UK
20/05/15: Roundhouse, London, UK
22/05/15: La Fleche D’Or, Paris, France
23/05/15: Melkweg, Amsterdam, Netherlands
25/05/15: Lido, Berlin, Germany
This year will be a very exciting one for us all, we look forward to sharing the new album with you and seeing you at a live show very soon...
Mew

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Gatherer - Heavy Hail (2014-2015)

4/7/15 8:40PM

Dig the new track "Sensational Creations"!..even as different as it is, with a lot of CLEAN distortion (which sounds like a contradiction in terms, but it somehow makes sense with these guys and their sound/production). Although, "High Fives" embedded below was kind of different, with some new styles incorporated I recall (electronic).

So Be It, their debut record from 2012 was and still remains one of the best albums this decade.

Also another note, they have uploaded and made available digitally their 2 EPs when they were known as This City Sunrise HERE, which even as different and extreme/chaotic as they are, I still really enjoy. And I think more people would enjoy if they are just catching on to Gatherer.

https://www.facebook.com/GathererNZ/posts/10152865406949141

G’s!
We’re super pumped to finally share Sensational Creations, from our new record Heavy Hail.
It aint easy writing hardout riffs like this and it has been a monumental few years of thick and thin to knock the bastard off. We couldn’t be more stoked with the end result, thanks for listening!






Timbre - Sun & Moon (2014-2015)

4/7/15 11:25AM

It's finally released today, 4/7/15. The Digital release on various sites including of course Her Bandcamp which is Embedded Below and the money goes DIRECTLY TO TIMBRE.

Also the DOUBLE COMPACT DISC PER CDBABY.COM

I've been listening to this double album a bit more since my initial posting a couple of weeks ago, and can say I enjoy a lot of it and it should be pretty high in the upcoming midseason countdown list. I also hopefully can make a YouTube Video review about it soon with some hopefully somewhat brief comments.




3/27/15 5:30AM

It was sent as a download the Indiegogo backers yesterday, so I received my download and gave it a go of course.  The track list breaks down below:

As far as a take: this is an EPIC record, not only, but of course a lot just due to the length.

My early highlights would definitely include "Night Girl: Nycteris Sees the Sun," "Singing and Singing," "Chicago Pier," "Song of the Sun," and "Your Hands Hold Home."on Sun. On Moon, "As the Night" for sure. "St.Cecilia" I do like, although I may have to revisit that live version below, as it definitely is an extensive.

The Moon stuff I can tell will have to grow some, which I'm unclear especially about the extensive all-Choral piece "Sunset (O Lux Beata Trinitas."

I'm going to have to spend quite a bit of time with this, and lord knows Timbre and all the people she had help her with this, did. But as far as addictive-ness, I'm wondering about the Moon portion as much as Sun. Sun definitely includes a lot of Timbre's traditional style of music along with some new things. Moon is more classical/chamber/baroque/orchestral and operatic which the Opera or Opera-music can be gray in feeling for me at times.

I dunno, there's definitely a ton to take-in and an extensive amount of brilliant music on this album, which I was thinking it almost could be looked at like some other double records I like, such as Marillion's Happiness is the Road or something, as 2 companion but still SEPARATE records really.

Is it going to be a favorite 2014-2015 record for me? it certainly could be rather high on the countdown list, but the jury is out still for me early on, as it is a lot to compare and measure up. I mean it is the blood, sweat and tears for Timbre for the better part of 5 years, so go figure it's such a Magnum Opus. Perhaps my ability to love extensively long works of music has become more picky, conservative or at least more challenging recently?

I dunno. I do know I love a lot of this, and it includes some amazing stuff. "Night Girl: Nycteris Sees the Sun" alone is about as proggy as anything I've ever heard from Timbre, which is worth the price of admission alone for this album.



Sun
1. Sunrise 3:38
2. Song of the Sun 5:23
3. Your Hands Hold Home 8:18
4. The Persistence of First Love 2:55
5. Singing and Singing 7:21
6. Of Waving Woods and Waters Wild 2:32
7. I Am in the Garden 7:40
8. Chicago Pier 6:27
9. Morning Birds 2:00
10. Night Girl: Nycteris Sees the Sun 5:50

52:04

 photo Timbre - Sun amp Moon - Timbre Moon Panel-1800px-by-1800px_zpse4stxz0d.jpg
Moon
11. Sunset (O Lux Beata Trinitas) 10:57
12. Of Cloudless Climes and Starry Skies 4:17
13. St Cecilia: An Ode to Music 13:25
14. As the Night 8:17
15. Sanctus 4:34
16. Day Boy: Photogen Sees the Moon 16:39

58:09

Total Time:
110:13
or
1 Hour, 50 minutes 13 seconds

3/17/15 4:56PM

Tracklist is posted there. and the listing on her bandcamp.

The below tracklist is 16 tracks, so I'm wondering if both "Sun" and "Moon" both include 8 tracks each?

I guess we'll find out soon enough.


http://timbre.bandcamp.com/




1. Sunrise
2. Song of the Sun 05:23
3. Your Hands Hold Home
4. The Persistence of First Love
5. Singing and Singing
6. Of Waving Woods and Waters Wild
7. I Am in the Garden
8. Chicago Pier
9. Morning Birds
10. Night Girl: Nycteris Sees the Sun
11. Sunset (O Lux Beata Trinitas)
12. Of Cloudless Climes and Starry Skies
13. St Cecilia: An Ode to Music
14. As the Night
15. Sanctus
16. Day Boy: Photogen Sees the Moon

Sun & Moon is the exploration of an idea: no art exists on its own. Art always influences art. This album explores the deep intrinsic relationship between popular music and classical music. “Sun” features music written and performed by my band, while “Moon” features classical music I have written for solo harp, harp & oboe, orchestra, and choir. 

Playing with the ideas of reflection, shadow, light, and darkness, the two halves of Sun & Moon reflect one another, mirroring the relationship between these two art forms. Many of the musical themes pass back and forth between the two sides. A four-note motif begins “Sunrise” and ends “Sunset”, representing the space between light and dark, where everything blends together. This motif can be heard throughout both sides of the album, constantly blurring the thin separation between them. 
With Sun & Moon I strive to paint vividly with the light, the joy, the passion of modern commercial music, and the darkness, depth, and richness of classical music, and show that together they can communicate beauty in greater depths than either can alone. My hope is that through experiencing these two languages of art, listeners will have a new, deep, and visceral experience of beauty, for beauty is more than an idea, but is a reality that is meant to be deeply known and experienced. 
-Timbre 


“Your eyes, they are so black. Darkness can’t see, of course. I will be your eyes, and teach you to see.” - The Romance of Photogen and Nycteris, George MacDonald
credits
releases 07 April 2015

3/10/15 8:23PM

New song "Song of the Sun"..pretty great, love the vocal harmonies.

http://www.utne.com/arts/song-premiere-timbre-song-of-the-sun.aspx

Some info about the record: Sun is the chamber/folk material, and Moon has the classical work.


2/23/15 7:15PM

BIG ANNOUNCEMENT!!! SUN & MOON will be released world wide April 7th!!!!





4/5/14 8:30PM

not new, but this is amazing. The instrumental section around 3:40 is breathtaking. Can't wait to hear this record.




6/20/13 8:47AM
Today is my birthday, and wow, what a cool way to wake up and find out Timbre somehow raised nearly $5,000 in the last 24 hours to reach her goal!

$10,005

I suspect the last few pledges may have been rather large, and to push her over the hump being just $5 past the $10K

Regardless, this is awesome to see and look forward to. Now I almost expect a masterpiece, which I'm sure Timbre is capable of, but with the needed amount of cash, this record can be made purely as she sees fit, and thus, that much greater.


6/8/13 11:39AM
http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/help-timbre-record-a-double-disc-album-that-will-unite-two-worlds-of-music/x/2421326

Keep at it Timbre! $5800 left to go in the next 12 days. You Can Do It!.



Just to remind people who don't know Timbre, it's songs like this show how brilliant her music is.




5/7/13 5:55AM

the write-up below is from the Indiegogo Campaign. $10K in about a month-and-a-half. I think she can do it, but $10K is not nothing.

It sounds and I'm sure will be amazing. Double album at that. And it'll be coming in 2014 of course.

"St.Cecilia" sounds like it would be worth having this album for alone.





"Sun and Moon"

Art does not exist alone... art creates art.

This is the idea behind my newest project, "Sun and Moon". This double disc record explores the deep connection between classical music and modern songwriting. One disc, "Sun" will feature songs written with my band, songs about friendship, love, grief, nature, even a song based on a children's fairy tale (more on that later!). The other disc, "Moon", will feature a variety of classical music that I've written, from a harp and oboe duet, to a piece for full orchestra, choir, harp, and solo soprano (me!).

Both discs will feature many of the same musicians. Themes and ideas will pass back and forth between them, playing with ideas of dark and light, day and night. My desire is to show that classical music and "popular music" are deeply connected, as they have always been. Classical music and popular music each have their depth, their energies, their forms of communication, and together they can speak to us in even deeper and more beautiful ways.

I grew up in a completely classical world, listening to only classical and choral music until I was in my teens. I have sung classically from as early as I could stand up and make sounds, and have played harp classically for 20 years. I have been composing for a few years as well, and have had my pieces performed in cathedrals all over the world, including Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris and St Peter's Basilica in Rome. I have also performed vocally with composer Eric Whitacre in Carnegie Hall for the premiere of his choral cycle, "The City and The Sea."

 Over the past 7 years, I have slowly found my way into a new world of popular music, writing songs  with my band and playing with a ridiculously diverse collection of bands, from people like mewithoutYou, the Chariot, Brooke Waggoner, to bluegrass legend Ricky Skaggs and Jack White of the White Stripes. I have found a deep undercurrent of passion and art that connects these worlds, and I want to help my listeners plunge into the depth of those waters with me. 

I believe this album will introduce many listeners to classical music in a new way, in a way that can be attached to and felt. I also believe this album will take listeners into different depths of spiritual and emotional experience, as the different kinds of sounds take them to new places. I believe in this record, and I know I will be more proud of it than anything I have done yet! 

I also believe that the way we think about making music is changing. Music is not a commodity to be made and sold and consumed. Music is a form of deep expression, something that moves between souls, back and forth. I am so passionate about the idea of partnering with listeners. I am making this for you, to communicate with you, to share with you... and I cannot make it without you.

WHAT WE NEED:

Our ideal budget for this album $20,000. That seems like such a big number, but recording an orchestra and choir(100 +people) is not something an independent artist often undertakes. We have set our minimum goal at $10,000, but to be able to go beyond just tracking and actually master, print, and promote this album, we need $20,000. We have already invested around $5,000 into it so far, and had to stop due to lack of funding. We will be starting back up in June if this fundraiser is successful!

Money will go towards:

-Tracking in Nashville and in Cincinatti

-Paying musicians (orchestra, choir, guest musicians)

-Travel

-Engineering and mixing fees

-Mastering

-Printing (super expensive for a double disc)

-Artwork

-Promotion 

The CRAZY thing with this whole project is that fact that I even have the opportunity to write for an orchestra and for a world-renowned a capella choir. I have a beautiful relationship with my alma-mater, Trevecca University, and their music department is working on this project with me. So few composers get the chance to even hear their music performed. This is a ridiculously rare opportunity and I am SO grateful! It should cost $50,000 or more to record 2 different orchestral pieces and two a capella choral pieces, in freaking CATHEDRAL. The fact that we are able to do this for only $20,000 is a little crazy. 

WHAT WE WANT TO GIVE YOU:

All perks include early download of album! 

In keeping with this idea that art creates art, we have partnered with friends from all over the U.S. to create unique pieces of art inspired by "Sun and Moon", which you can claim with a donation to our project! There will also be crochet art made by our cellist, Patrick Rush. We will be using crochet lace doily designs as apart of the album artwork, and those doilies are among the rewards!

Here are the art pieces we have available:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151581735649165.1073741825.16237174164&type=1&l=3363e0a8c6

We also have lots of other goodies, including early downloads of the album, cover songs, house shows, even a piece of my harp. hahaha. but for real.

Just to be clear, we still have at least a year of work to do on this album, including a symphony premiere in november, which will be recorded for the album. All art rewards will be sent out once the fundraiser is over, but all music rewards will be dependent on the album release date. (approx July 2014)

If we don't reach our goal, we will keep working to put this album out ourselves! It might just take a while longer...

 More About The Album: 

"Sun and Moon" will explore many ideas of dark and light, of the mysteries of the unknown and the joy of exploring those places. 

Two snapshots of the album:

"Nycteris Sees the Sun" will be a song on the "Sun" album, and is inspired by a story written by George McDonald, "Day Boy and Night Girl- the Romance of Photogen and Nycteris" (http://www.ccel.org/ccel/macdonald/daynight/files/daynight.html) Photogen has lived entirely in light, and Nycteris has lived entirely in darkness, not knowing the other half of reality even exists. They meet, and must learn to see and love what they fear in the other. Nycteris, the girl, decides that the sun is more real than the moon, that she must KNOW this light, even if it destroys her.  My interpretation of her story expresses her decision to move from the dark of the cave that she knows into the pain and the glory of light. The music moves from a quiet, dark, contemplative sound then suddenly bursts into the frenzy of her joy and pain. Its one of my favourite songs I've ever written!! 

"St Cecilia: an Ode to Music" will be on the "Moon" album, and is written for full orchestra, choir, harp, and soprano solo. It was premiered in april 2012 and was the most incredible night of my life thus far. It explores the language of music, and again draws parallels between two worlds, this time between the natural and the spiritual. Here are my liner notes about the piece from that night:

 "St Cecilia" encompasses a series of concepts that are incredibly important to me as a composer and as an individual. It speaks of the transcendent nature, the spiritual language of music that reaches beyond what can be seen with our eyes or felt with our hands.

 “St Cecilia” also touches on a concept that has enraptured me: the unspeakable Name of God. In ancient Israel, "YHWH" represented the name of God that was beyond speaking, unknowable. Ephesians 3:19 says that we can "know this love that surpasses knowledge". That idea has always resonated with me, that we can know what is unknowable. We cannot fully quantify God, but we can know Him. We cannot fully define God, but we can experience Him. I think this is the unknowable knowing.

 I believe that if God exists, He is the ultimate form of all that is good. He is Love, He is Light, He is Joy. What I centered on for this piece is the idea that He is Beauty. All that is beautiful is a broken form of Him. And so, when we make something beautiful, we are pointing to and experiencing Him.

 These ideas came together for me in this... When we make music, music that is truly beautiful, we are speaking His Name. In song, we can speak the Unspeakable Name of God. We can participate in the mystery of His beauty, and actually hear Him sing back to us.

 St Cecilia is the patron saint of musicians. Christian legend says that as she was martyred, she sang praises to God. She died singing, and heard angels singing with her. I was struck with this, the closeness of the two worlds, joined by song. The piece begins with a plea for her to pray for us, with the hope that we too would experience God and touch heaven through music as she did.

 Other Ways You Can Help

Please use the share tools to pass this around to your friends! Together, we can make something completely new!


3/15/13 11:00PM

1 of the new songs "Chicago Pier," which sounds outstanding.


Timbre - Chicago Pier - Whalehead Sessions from Love Greatly on Vimeo.

11/9/12 2:09PM




http://www.facebook.com/TimbreHarp/posts/10151242278454165

I am excited to announce that WE GO INTO THE STUDIO TOMORROW!!!! We're driving to Cincinatti tonight and in the morning, Mason will start putting down our sweet beats!! Haha ;) Thus begins our new album "Sun and Moon" !!!!!!! #timbresunandmoon

 Pretty excited to hear this. 2010's Little Flowers is breathtaking at times, and having seen her twice this past year in my home state, including just over a month ago where she played 1 of the new pieces, my optimism about this record couldn't be higher.

The only thing is, she mentioned to myself and my friend John who was there as well, she has enough music for a double album, but she also didn't really know for sure when it would be coming out. Perhaps due to the fact she may want to release a double album, it may take all of next year to finish, thus perhaps a 2014 release.

But regardless, it's great news she is finally going into the studio to record it.
She is rather active on social media, so I imagine updates will be happening and bumps of this entry in the coming week/months when more info is certain. 

Very cool that both her and Brooke Waggoner have albums coming soon, for my and others female orchestral-oriented pop/rock/etc music fix. 

Friday, April 3, 2015

Cloud Cult - Unplug [Live Concert Film] (2015)




Cloud Cult "Unplug" Theatrical Premier in Minneapolis
In anticipation of the film's national release, there will be a screening of "Unplug" on April 30, 2015 at the Riverview Theater in Minneapolis. This debut screening will take place at 7pm, with national release on the following day, May 1. The screening will be followed by a Q&A and meet-and-greet with the full Cloud Cult band and film Director, Jeff D. Johnson. All ages $10



DVD Preorder:
http://cloudcult.com/cloud-cult-films

Tickets for Screening at The Riverview Theater on  Wednesday April 30th
http://unplug-minneapolis.brownpapertickets.com/

I probably will get this, although I may be more just up for seeing it at The Rive on the 30th. Especially since I wish I had been able to make the show at the Southern Theater last year.

Between the Buried and Me - Coma Ecliptic (2014-2015)

4/3/15 12:10PM
1st single "Memory Palace"..9 minutes and 56 seconds; not necessarily an excessive length, for these guys, but I guess I do agree overall with some of the comments about this

a) sounding like Dream Theater, maybe a little too much

b) simply, lacking those great moments, and seeming to have some of the prog/prog metal cliches.

Some of the talk about this album in interviews is it's supposed to be a lot different and weird(er) and also  being an Opera or something.

I guess as I've said, I don't have enormous expectations for these guys, and this 1st track/single doesn't really change that all that much.

But, it is only the 1st track at least.



3/17/15 12:06PM




Not a ton to say about this other than I will of course check this out, and it's too bad their upcoming tour isn't coming to Minneapolis (although even if it was, I wonder/worry it would be at Mill City Nights anyway).

Parallax II, from 2012 I liked a lot of, but I still think suffered from some of what The Great Misdirect did in lacking flow and a lot of unnecessary extended sections. But I also recall concluding that is who BTBAM are now and I don't really expect another Colors or Alaska really at this point. But if it happens, I'll be all the happier. I'm still a fan regardless.

More edits and bumps when the details are made public of course.

https://www.facebook.com/BTBAMofficial

"We are excited to announce the Coma Ecliptic tour named after our forthcoming new album! Our tour will feature Animals As Leaders and The Contortionist.  
VIP Packages are on-sale now at: showstubs.com/btbam 
Coma Ecliptic will be released via Metal Blade Records July 7th! 

More about our new album: 
"Once again, the band has returned with an ambitious concept album. This time, the story follows the wanderings of an unidentified man, stuck in a coma, as he journeys through his past lives. Each song is its own episode in a modern day, sort of The Twilight Zone-esque fashion. The unidentified man enters each world and is offered a choice: stay, or move on to the next in search of something better, something more "perfect." Vocalist / keyboardist Tommy Rogers spoke with Revolver Magazine for their upcoming issue, which will be on newsstands everywhere March 31st. Pick up the magazine for an exclusive first look at the album's recording process and concept. New music and pre-orders bundles will be launched on April 3rd, 2015." "




Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Other Lives - Rituals (2014-2015)

New record from Other Lives drops on May 4th. I might have been more up for info about this and such, but I kind of lost some of my interest for this band after concluding how much I prefer their music as Kunek (or the 1 great debut album Flight of the Flynns )

That being said, they have written some good tracks since changing their name, and given that, I still will be up for checking this new record of theirs out.

1st single "Reconfiguration" is below. Not bad, although not dramatically different than the Tamer Animals stuff.

There's more clips/samples and things of course from Rituals on Other Lives Facebook Page

Preorder



1 Fair Weather
2 Pattern
3 Reconfiguration
4 Easy Way Out
5 Beat Primal
6 New Fog
7 2 Pyramids
8 Need a Line
9 English Summer
10 Untitled
11 No Trouble
12 For the Last
13 It’s Not Magic
14 Ritual

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Janelle Monáe - Yoga [Single, + THE EEPHUS EP]

mtv.com story

Story about the EP

This is a single, that is to be on THE EEPHUS EP coming out on May 6th, which is I guess a compilation of songs from different artists from Wondaland Records and Epic (records).

I get the sense these are artists Janelle is a fan of and supports (and mentors(. 1 being Jidenna whose featured on this new Janelle track, and presumably, on the compilation as well.

As for the song, it's not bad, although the lyrics may a bit much ultimately. But it's still catchy, and would have fit well on The Electric Lady.




It seems that she may have been involved with some of the other songs on this upcoming EP, which I may have to check out (beyond "Yoga") from what she talks about in this video below.

Signal-to-Noise - I Won't Let the World Become a Prison (2014-2015)

Well sadly this will have to be another shoehorned posting of sorts as I am of course in limited time and a bit of a limited amount of listening of this album thus far.

But, this is a band/project from Michael Downing of the Chicago-based band Single Channel Stereo who I saw play a show with Bend Sinister back in 2013 in Chicago. ....fdsfdsfasdfds fast-fwd

He contacted me the other day about this project and album of his, and was nice enough to send me a download, etc. Very cool of him.

In the brief amount of time I've listened to this album (2 times listening at this point), I can say I enjoy a lot of it. Stylistically, I think it shares some in common with a few artists, but the main one I keep thinking of at this point early-on is the great Scottish chamber/folk pop band My Latest Novel (and I suppose include their new band/project Alphabetical Order Orchestra I guess).

I guess that comparison is primarily in the use of vocal harmonies and the tone of them, and the production. Michael doesn't have the slight Scottish accent or maybe the European references? or whatever.

I guess I wouldn't describe this music as exactly like MLN, and over time that comparison may not hold as much water as it does initially. But mind you, I actually like how it is like MLN and I just like a lot of the songs on here in general.

I hopefully will find the time to get to know this record a fair amount better soon (and don't be surprised to see it in the upcoming Midseason report/ranking/countdown).

 But just to pick a few favorite tracks: Biologic, Universal, Presque Vu, Something to Say

Released today 3/31/15

http://www.findyoursignal.com/


1 Firebox 02:27
2 Something to Say 04:14
3 Rivals 04:41
4 Avenall 03:20
5 Biologic 03:43
6 Night Owl 04:07
7 Vacant Lot 03:36
8 All We're Told 03:33
9 MCC 02:56
10 Universal 03:46
11 Presque Vu 04:19

per Facebook:


StNR is a creative outlet to spread a very simple message: that the truth of experience can be revealed to anyone willing to look inwards. I will never tell anyone what to believe. In fact, I would suggest doing away with all belief. Assumption breads delusion. An examination of the inner workings of the mind without judgement or preconception allows us to trade believing for knowing, to end all suffering and set our true self free from the bounds of physical reality.

This message is not my own. It is older than time itself. Everything you might find here seeks to reinvigorate the universal spirit dwelling within us all. Therefor StNR seeks not only to heal the world, but also to heal its creato. There is no beginning and no end to personal growth. In this way we are all in the middle, all equal, all capable of lifting ourselves ever upwards. The present moment will always give exactly what is needed to take the next step. Embrace the experience itself, not the impermanent objects within it, and YOUR truth will be revealed

Friday, March 27, 2015

For the Imperium - Titans Fall [EP] (2014-2015)



1. Titans Fall
2. Break the Silence
3. My Time Has Come
4. Holy Ground
5. Scripter
6. The Day She Died

Release Date is coming. They have new members that says, which I had no idea. I loved their S/T debut record, but their 2nd LP Hail the Monsters I never got too attached to. The teaser almost sounds more frantic/schizo than normal for these guys, but I guess we'll see.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Mayer Hawthorne opening for Hall and Oates, Irivine, CA 8/30/15



I don't live near Irvine, CA of course, but with Mayer and Hall and Oates on 1 bill together, the Fiancee would freak out to see this show.

For the 2 of us, it may end up around $1200-$1500, including a trip finally to Amoeba I suppose, but that price range isn't completely unthinkable considering some different factors from now until August 30th.

Of course Mayer was once on "Live From Daryl's House" and has even covered "You Make My Dreams"

We'll see, but it would hardly be shocking if we make this *that* trip post-Grad School for her.

This is almost like Marillion + Rush or Ours + dredg for her, so it is *that* much of an EVENT, and likely just a 1-off as Hall and Oates don't do a ton of touring extensively now (more festivals and such).

Also if it is the same venue, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater, I think it is, Outdoors, etc..it is the place I saw Dream Theater on Gigantour,

edit: July 24th, 2005, so 10 years and a little over a month..I was out there for a Family Reunion actually, and it was pure luck/coincidence I was able to attend that festival.

http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/dream-theater/2005/verizon-wireless-amphitheater-irvine-ca-43d6d3db.html



2014-2015 Anticipated Music: November-Summer: LIST..minimal Blurbing

2/23/15 9:02PM

I honestly have spent more than enough time adding/editing this list and really very little time actually writing about these records, and over so much time, I have just come to the conclusion time is again not on my side to completely, save for some future edits. And the real write-ups will have to come in the midseason countdown, likely in April.

But at least for now and future edits (because I don't see why there shouldn't be), this is just an updated schedule/calendar and artworks, with potentially more info about these records and more records like cover art, and titles, etc.

tl;dr the blurbs are taking too long, ah fuck it.

Already released:


Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

I like a lot of this record. The production is better than Portal of I, and the songwriting is shorter, more concise as a whole. I guess I can best say that there are a handful of moments I enjoy on this album,


Pink Floyd - The Endless River

A woman has powder make-up applied to her face as she is surrounded by ukiyoe imagery, an airplane and a guitar.
Ringo Sheena - Hi Izuru Tokoro

This may be a collection of older tunes or something, but I really love a lot of this. Probably at least 2/3 of it are on par if not better than most of her solo work that I've heard (which isn't a ton mind you, as I never spent as much time with it as Tokyo Jihen, but with TJ no more, it makes more sense, it's just not as easily available I suppose).

Excellent record or collection.


Thomas Giles - Modern Noise

Between the Buried and Me frontman/vocalist/keyboardist; I like this more than his last solo record, as it seems to have a little more depth to it. Although it still needs more time to fully gauge.

Zozzled cover art
Hardcore Crayons - Zozzled
I hear Rush and Battles and Primus obviously. 'More Sugar" and "Kid is Goat" are among the standouts.


Demians - Mercury

Nicholas Chapel 3rd LP, but 1st since 2010's Mute. A lot of this sounds like alternative rock, which I'm may be what Nick's interest may be in songwriting. I'm not sure how much I will get into this though, as the really progrock element of the Demians debut LP Building an Empire I'm noticing a lot of. And "Chapel" the atmospheric prog metal Silent Ceremony demo that I loved so much, may just remain just that it seems, but who knows. A revisiting may be required soon.

New World cover art
Dave Kerzner - New World

This is honestly, a fair amount more enjoyable than I expected. It is obviously prog rock and has an assortment of guests that are known appear. From Keith Emerson to Steve Hackett to Simon Phillips, to Colin Edwin of Porcupine Tree, to some of Dave's old Kevin Gilbert bandmates Nick D'Virgilio and Russ Parish. .I do naturally appreciate 'My Old Friend" for it's nod to Kevin Gilbert in more than one way.

There's a VERY big Pink Floyd element on this album, even beyond Dave's David Gilmour-vocal resemblance.

I think the biggest track for me is the 7th track "Ocean of Stars"..incredibly surreal and moody. Dreamy as hell. The guitar solo is gorgeous.

The guitar work Fernando Perdomo does on"Nothing" sounds incredibly like Steve Howe at times, I almost thought it was a Yes song.



January 1st-October 27th

Songs Of The Week cover art
Timmy Sean - Songs of the Week
A new "older" tune from Timmy's archives will be released every week per his bandcamp page . Whether they be from his "Celebrities" band, Sir Video, Luzer or "The Mahoney Brothers"? among some others, he has a lot of goodies to share.

January 12th


Archive - Restriction
This record has great flow, and some great moments, that while not all that new for Archive, still works on many levels.

January 13th


Subterranean Masquerade - The Great Bazaar 

Review(s) pending, but this is a tremendous comeback album, that ti seems the 10-year wait was all worthwhile.

Image of Cryptodira/East of the Wall Split 7"
East of the Wall [Split EP]

January 20th



The Decemberists - What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World

Spotty at best.

January 27th


Punch Brothers -  The Phosphorescent Blues

Deceptively Good.

February 1st

New World Sundown cover art
Hotel of the Laughing Tree - New World Sundown 
Consistently good record.

February 13th


Susanne Sundfør - Ten Love Songs


February 17th

Caravan of Thieves - Kiss Kiss

February 21st


Small Leaks, Sink Ships - Face Yourself and Remove Your Sandals
https://twitter.com/smallleaks

February 27th/March 2nd-3rd



Steven Wilson - Hand.Cannot.Erase

March 3rd

Tuxedo

Tuxedo - Tuxedo

March 13th/15th

Aerial Love EP + Instant Grat

Daniel Johns - Aerial Love
As much of a departure the title track seems to be, I like it and this EP which hopefully will just be a sample of what is to come later this season from the ex-Silverchair frontman.

March 30th/31st

Carrie & Lowell cover art

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie and Lowell


Mercies - Blue Against Green



Godspeed You! Black Emperor  'Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress'



ThurisazThe Pulse of Mourning

April 6th-7th


Timbre - Sun and Moon
https://twitter.com/TimbreCierpke



The Barnum Meserve - The Barnum Meserve

The Embers of Time, Josh Rouse

Josh Rouse - The Embers of Time

Umphrey's McGee - The London Session

April 13th



Gavin Harrison - Cheating the Polygraph

April 20th


Nordic Giants - A Séance of Dark Delusions

April 27th



Mew - + -


April



Tangled Thoughts of Leaving - Yield to Despair

May 19th

Faith No More - Sol Invictus

May 25th

Mike Vennart - The Demon Joke
https://twitter.com/Vennart

June 8th

Muse - Drones
https://twitter.com/muse

June 21

God is an Astronaut - Helios | Erebus

June 30th

The Velvet Teen - All Is Illusory
https://twitter.com/thevelvetteen

June?
Kaddisfly - Horses Galloping on Sailboats (HGOS MMXV)
https://twitter.com/Kaddisfly

July 7th



Between the Buried and Me - Coma Ecliptic
https://twitter.com/btbamofficial

Spring

The Dear Hunter - Act IV: Rebirth in Reprise
https://twitter.com/CaseyCrescenzo


Album Finished with Titles

22- You Are Creating
https://twitter.com/22NEWENERGY


Gatherer - Heavy Hail

Klimt 1918- Die Sentimentale Jugend
https://twitter.com/Klimt1918music

Neverending White Lights- Act IV
https://twitter.com/iamNeverending

The Pneumatic Transit- Concerto Moon


Album done/in the works but no info:

The Bird and the Bee - TBA

Happy Body Slow Brain - TBA
Album Teaser 1

Hands of Despair - TBA
Coming Late in 2015 <- br="" list="" of="" songs="" there="">

Mutemath - TBA
https://twitter.com/MUTEMATH

*shels - Samwise the Demon
https://twitter.com/shelsmusic

Unclear/To Be Announced

AM and Shawn Lee

Anakdota

Anderson / Ponty Band

The Apples in Stereo

Arch / Matheos

Between Two Skies

Bubblemath

Casey Crescenzo + Jessy Ribordy project

Cloud Cult
https://twitter.com/CloudCult
Recording "Every Thing"

Diablo Swing Orchestra

The Dissociatives - [EP]

Dream Theater

Erstwhile - Matt and Brett of Fair to Midland's new band.

Falling Up
YouTube Channel

Fjokra-  TBA
https://twitter.com/Fjokra

Beyond the Mellowsound Sessions [EP], there likely will be something new as Fjokra has been posting clips and photos about it recently.


Genders

Gojira

Gotye
https://twitter.com/gotye

House of Fools
https://twitter.com/houseoffools1

Jazzkamikaze
https://twitter.com/jazzkamikaze

Journal

Lehto and Wright
https://twitter.com/LehtoWright

Majestyy
https://twitter.com/Majestyy_

Paul Mac
https://twitter.com/thepaulmac

Todd Menton

Meshuggah

Miracles of Modern Science
https://twitter.com/wearemoms

Moonloop
https://twitter.com/moonloopband

Motopony

NewVillager - A Book and new music in the Fall
https://twitter.com/NewVillager

Oddland
Opus Dai - Insectum Vol. 1

Ours
https://twitter.com/JimmyGneccoNews

Ramona Falls
https://twitter.com/ramonafalls

Sculptured

Stateless - TBA [EP]
https://twitter.com/StatelessOnline

Vektor
https://twitter.com/VektorMetal

Misc.

January 19, 2015

 
Kevin Gilbert - Thud Deluxe Edition (Vinyl + CD)