Friday, May 17, 2019

Update on May 2019

The 893 Essential Songs Reaction will happen, I am just not certain how soon.

I have the voters terrible, repetitive list of 893 songs and the Stats on it (over 50% were repeats, lol).

So I am now REPLACING THEIR NAMES with MY NAMES and having to list many songs for them.

It'll happen, but just with the multiples, it's 175 names, so it is understandable why it would take some time. But I needed to know THEIR LIST to know mine, how many multiples, etc.

buying a house and dealing with all the financial and other responsibilities with a loan and other expenses is becoming kind of a nightmare.

I do believe I know how much I need to borrow from the 401K though which is good. But I should have been warned, like a Colonoscopy and a Wedding, by far the worst or LONGEST PART is leading-up to it.

On June 1st and June 15th I may be able to breathe a bit.

DS9 Doc review and maybe something on the Ending of Big Bang Theory could come if time killing is available.

And the PGA this weekend which just feels weird in May.  Brooks Koepka is the best player in the world, but I'm still rooting for Rickie Fowler.

If the storms come, I don't know why I'll not be inside, but I just hope we don't loose power (or if we do, hopefully not for long).

Not my favorite band entries also in hopes to make...at least Memorial Day isn't far away.
Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Saturday, May 4, 2019

2018-2019 Midseason Albums List

Pretty good 1st half of the year, although it does seem like in 2017 and some other years, none of the albums are clear-cut #1 or #1 and #2 really.

I.e. there aren't any 5 or even 4.5-star albums at this point for me. But I'll say those top 6 albums are all solid records, which in past years, sometimes the midseason list can come across as sparse in some ways.

I would hardly be surprised if among those 6 or even the top 10, if the large percentage of them stay at least in the top 20, if not top 10.

Foals, Local Natives and Ours especially are kind of historical staples and have always shown up pretty high in my list, which I suppose is kind of predictable, but shouldn't be discounted as they are all albums I enjoy and likely always will.

I guess the next 6 months will show what else will find its way in there. Some heavy hitters are coming (dredg, assuming their album is released this year. It would not be surprising if it came in 2020, and King's X is very likely given they started recording last month).

Plus the unexpected unknowns/unaware/unannounced albums (from past anticipations..say like Imogen Heap or Gotye or a lot of others found in this entry back in December

I will say, if that Dirt Poor Robins album comes out, it will be a very big deal for me, so I would not be surprised to fanboy it a bit and it'll crack the top 10 come November. But it may not fully come out then, but only some Singles or an EP per it's not like Neil and Kate live off and are spend all their time with DPR (sadly, it doesn't pay their bills I don't believe).

edit: Also a YouTube Video?..time permitting of course, but I would/will try and make 1.


Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost- Part 1.jpg
1. Foals - Everything Saved Will Not Be Lost Part 1

Love pretty much all of this. "Syrups" maybe being my favorite. The last 3 minutes, the build/energy is really great.

Exits, White Onions, In Degrees, Sunday Morning, ...more or less every tune I enjoy. From high energy to funky and almost dance-able sections.

And Part 2 should be not ignored, which potentially I may see as 1 record (maudlin of the Well, 22 and others).

New Age Heroine II
2. Ours - New Age Heroine II

A huge deal to have another Ours album come out (and likely the 1st of a bunch within the next year or 2).

"Fly" is among the best tunes they've made.

"Get-You-On-Your-Feet-So-You-Can-Fly...."

"Pain Aside" is quite catchy and another favorite.

Kill Me, You Are the Light, My Love, the title track are all enjoyable and growers. Even some of the other ballads I enjoy more now. But then again, Ours I'm a pretty massive fanboy so that factors in.

44911950_2521768011196854_9031462856435957760_n.jpg
3. Owel - Paris

Kind coming out of nowhere to win me over.  "Get Out Stay Out" is probably the 1st go-to tune. Quite epic with the strings and other things.

The Mew fanboy in me finds this band and album really moving.

And like I posted in the entry about it, even though I hear besides Mew, a bunch of other bands, the songwriting works really well, it doesn't matter.

Their singer almost sounds like Jessy Ribordy in certain moments.

No Parachutes, Roma White, I Saw Red, Being Human is Weird, Jumble Gem, Goodnight, Weather Report among the others I keep going back to and liking more.

You Are Creating: Limb2
4. 22 - You Are Creating Limb 2

More great new tunes from 22.

"Call me Trimtab" and "Chroma Key" among the best tunes on the You Are Creating full LP.

TCLD SOR HQ.jpg
5. The Claypool/Lennon Delirium - South of Reality

Been won over by this band's new album. Very Retro Funk/Psych/Beatles-sy.

I might be even more attached to it, minus the Claypool-humor, which is evident in small doses, but hardly unnoticed.

The 1st 4 or 5 tunes though all seem to work in different ways.

Cover8.jpg
6. Local Natives - Violet Street
The production at points is different, especially on some of the snare sound. But I'll admit, these guys did it again! Catchy, funky at times, and experimental.

They manage to try new things and get them to work.

There's even some heavy, thick synths on here, that I might not enjoy, but somehow they pull them off.

"When Am I Gonna Lose You" is poppy as hell, and yet really layered and well composed. Maybe their catchiest tune since "World News."

"Cafe Amarillo" 'Shy" "Megaton Mile" 'Someday Now" and "Gulf Shores" are all enjoyable. Gulf Shores if I recall is the 1 with those synths that shouldn't but somehow are pulled off.

Taylor Rice's vocals at times are odd, and almost gang/multi-tracked without a single tracked vocal line, which kind of threw me off on this album. But I have warmed-up to them quickly and even some of the sonic elements.

I will certainly be going back to this album, and potentially it'll leap over some of these others.

These guys are almost like Mutemath or King's X. The moment I start to get down on them, their album wins me over. And I've been a fan since 2007, so I shouldn't be surprised I guess. they've always been great songwriters and all of their albums are good.

I guess Hipsters...you know, but sometime my bands are among the hipsters and vice-versa.

Another winning album from Local Natives!


Voice In The Silence
7. Mutemath - Voice in the Silence [EP]

Some older tunes from the S/T and Armistice period mostly newly? recorded by Paul Meany, which for no other reason, adds appeal.

NP-Complete
8. East of the Wall - NP Complete

"Clapping on the Ones and Threes" "Somn 6" and "Non Functional Harmony" are among my favorites, although I'll admit, after loving the initial singles, I haven't managed to go back to this one enough yet.


Jon Anderson - 1000 Hands cover.jpg
9. Jon Anderson - 1000 Hands

Surprising how much I'm enjoying this. "Ramalama" "WDMCF" and "Come Up" probably are the biggest winners here, although I find the flow of this album really works better than I expected.

Probably the best music Jon's made since "Open" even if technically much of this was written and recorded before that.

Motorpsycho - 'The Crucible' (EP, 2019)
10. Motorpsycho - The Crucible

Maybe the 1st album I am fully on board with this band. The title track is a prog epic that for the most part works quite well. And with only 3 tunes, it seems to not overstay its welcome.

The 2nd piece "Lux Aeterna" is another banger.

Blending grindy stoner rock with horns and strings? it seems to work here.

The Crimson/Soft Machine element really works well at times.

a0148634231_16.jpg
11. The Mercury Tree - Spidermilk

Composed entirely with Microtonal tuning. This is bizarre how it seems the majority of the music is almost overtly in minor keys, yet it still works on a melodic level.

I don't think I've heard and enjoyed something like this since getting into Time of Orchids or possibly Deerhoof, many years ago.

Really ambitious, and while I don't know how addicted it'll get, I really enjoy a lot of it on more than 1 level.

"Arc of an Ilk" "Disremembered" "I am a Husk" are among my favorites.

cover.jpg
12. Snarky Puppy - Immigrance
Enjoyable, including some Dream Theater and Pat Metheny-like moments among other things (some catchy jazzy funk). Although I'd be lying to say I've listened to it enough to put it higher.

They ultimately may be more of a great live band, with the studio albums only being Luke warm.

Distance Over Time
13. Dream Theater - Distance Over Time

I'm finding this more enjoyable than their last 2 albums. "Fall Into the Light" and "Barstool Warrior" are both fun tunes.

"Untethered Angel" 'Room 137" also work

"S2N" is rather unusual for Dream Theater, but on some levels I like how different it is.

Decent album, and one I can see going back to some here and there. It's not massively long and the meandering instrumental sections are more in-check.

a2983033949_10.jpg
14. Equipose - Demiurgus

Interesting progressive tech death, with some cool mostly acoustic and jazzy sections in-between the insanity.

Is this in the caliber of Spawn of Possession? I doubt it, but it may have a little more appeal than say most if not all of the Obscura records.

Fishing For Fishies
15. King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard - Fishing for Fishes

Slightly improved vocals, but not all that different than some of their others.
Cyboogie is a fun closer but not unlike many of their tunes, it gets a bit too repetitive after 4 or 5 minutes.

This is their 14th album I count, since 2012, and 8th since 2015, so the quantity over quality argument can still be raised with this and them, but like some of their others (Polygonwanaland), it may grow some.

Then again Polygon is their most overtly Prog, so go figure.

Birth of the Marvellous
16. Sermon - Birth of the Marvellous
Leprous meets Green Carnation (and Hands of Despair)? I enjoy much of this, although it's kind of samey at points.

"The Descend" and "The Drift" are my 2 favorites.

Steve Hackett - At The Edge Of Light.jpg
17. Steve Hackett - At the Edge of Light

Not short, but still enjoyable for the most part. Maybe the best parts of this is some of the Middle Eastern material (or using Sitar and some other instruments).

"Under the Eye of the Sun" and the 11+minute piece "Those Golden Wings" are my early favorites.

I wonder if he'll play some of this album at the show in October beyond the much beloved Genesis work (the full Selling England!).

Cover
18. Muse - Simulation Theory

Some nice love-letters to the 80's (The Dark Side and Thought Contagion), although the production is almost a deal-breaker at times.

Scholars
19. Buke and Gase - Scholars

Mind Cinema - Sleep Clinic.jpg
20. Mind Cinema - Sleep Clinic

Indietronica with some moments, but the electronic drums kind of killed it for me.

Dogtown HQ
21. Facing New York - Dogtown

Fair comeback.

Cover
22. Amanda Palmer - There Will Be No Intermission

"Drowning in the Sound" is the 1 I enjoy. Sadly, I will just say most of the rest of this record lost me, Even the little instrumental interludes are just kind of meh for me.

52608855_1528794877253659_2416323062854057984_o.jpg
23. Queensryche - The Verdict

No expectations. "Light-years" is decent enough.

Dan Mangan.jpg
24. Dan Mangan - More or Less
Not his best.

Mean to still hear:

Day Trip To Narnia
Cats in Space - Day Trip to Narnia

Still need to hear.


banco.jpg
Banco del Mutuo Soccorso - Transiberiana

The most recent single "L'imprevisto" is quite enjoyable. The Keith Emerson-like section in the middle is well composed and reason to want to hear the rest of this.

Radical Face.jpg
Radical Face - Therapy [EP]

Haven't checked it out, although I guess this is Ben Cooper's most simplistic/stripped-down record which if that is the case, I may not even bother sadly. I guess I will see if I find the time and report back.

I worry I may get a similar reaction that I did to the Amanda Palmer record unfortunately.

The Secret
Alan Parsons - The Secret

I have not, but still plan to listen to this.

The new/single VIDEO for "I Get There From Here" and its connection to the 2/12-years delayed John Francis Daley film 5-25-77 adds a bit to this.

5/1/19-10/31/19 Anticipation

ArchMatheos-WinterEthereal.jpg
Arch / Matheos - Winter Ethereal

Album of the Year? the 1st 2 singles "Straight and Narrow" and "Wanderlust" are bangers and among the best songs I've heard this year.

Friday May 10th. 

Masvidal Mythical small.jpg
Masvidal - Mythical

Yes, Paul Masvidal of Cynic's new project. This is the 1st of 3 albums coming out.

Untitled
Moron Police - A Boat on the Sea
This is coming in June. the 1st single is really fun. Next one is coming next Friday May 10th and I guess is a little heavier.


The Pneumatic Transit - Chordae Tendineae
Coming on June 14th. I heard it and enjoy a lot of it, albeit a little different from the debut album. Still, they continue to be among the best jazz-rock artists currently making music.


Terraformer
Thank You Scientist - Terraformer 
Coming on June 14th.

Despite my issues with their vocalist sounding like Claudio Sanchez, their music and even the material I heard from this album live has me interested. This is another 2019 double album which may help or hurt this for me.

cover.jpg
Ulver - Drone Activity
Coming on May 11th I guess. I don't need Drone music, but their last album was really good and had charm.

Foals - ENSWBL_PT2.jpg
Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost Part 2 
This is coming in September. Wikipedia already has many (8) of the confirmed tracks.

It's supposed to be heavier, probably more in the vein of What Went Down, but it was written when Part 1 was I guess.

Lumping the 2 albums together may happen as far as this blog/my aoty list. It depends.
Regardless, I'm fucking stoked for this after loving Part 1 so much. Foals more or less can do no wrong for me right now.

Titles
Dirt Poor Robins - Dead Horse
Fish - Weltschmertz
Ours - Spectacular Sight 3
Sculptured - The Liminal Phase


Some of the Artists/Bands awaiting more info: (also see this Anticipation Entry also referenced above)
Bent Knee
Disillusion
dredg
Enchant
Flying Colors
Fjokra
iamthemorning
King's X
Neverending White Lights
Pepe Deluxe
Soundscape
The Tea Party

Friday, May 3, 2019

OT: House (Part 2)

Offer made on a Town House on the West Side of St.Paul last night.

Offer accepted!

I'm not sure how detailed and specific I should get, but I imagine I will at some point, but I likely have to post or edit this entry about like 87 things to go over both what has happened leading up to this, and going forward.

Maybe the best news about this for this blog is, once moved and settled in to a point, I can finally move the fuck on with things.

Beyond the Midseason List (coming soon) and the React to 89.3 893 21st Century songs, I hopefully will finally try and discipline myself to try working on the book I want to attempt to write.

I also likely will have a Desktop PC setup at home to actually Work from Home (maybe once-per week per my co's policy, and then on evenings or weekends perhaps).

And YouTube (and possibly podcasts) could come at a larger clip. Some equipment may be desired with that, but when? maybe the holidays, I dunno.

But June 14th is the closing date, odds are July 1st we'll be residing there full time. However, my mother-in-law and the dog and how often we may be back at my wife's aunt's duplex after we move? I would guess somewhat often.

But those things remain to be seen.

also chances this town house could be equity and a transition to a home finally. Maybe we will be able to buy one when the market will be a Buyers market instead of the crap we've endured in a Seller's market when we started looking back in December/January.

Thursday, May 2, 2019

Coming in May 2019...

Midseason Albums List which shows up to 27 LPs and EPs to varying amounts of experience listening to. Still that list along with the more interesting anticipation list hopefully will be arriving in the next couple of weeks if not by this weekend (half the work is making the list and copying the images, and I've already done almost 100% of both).

893. The Current 893 Songs List REACT TO. The artist list may need some more work, but selecting songs, and then the ole' tracking 89.3's list and MULTIPLE SONGS FROM ARTISTS which if I can manage the time to do will increase the number of songs from artists on MY list.

Thinking of doing hopefully relatively short entries about "Why is [Insert band] not my favorite band? entries. Like Rush being an obvious 1. I might do 5 or might do 50. It probably will be bands that I love a lot of their music and over a good amount of time. And then ultimately, I could do entries about my favorite band Marillion and favorite musician Kevin Gilbert.

and more that I probably have thought of, but haven't done.

edit: DS9 Doc review/hyperbole 1 that comes to mind.

of course time allowing. House hunting could impact it and videos made.

My wife and I are putting an offer on another (town) house soon. Our 4th..maybe this will be the 1.

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Foals @ First Avenue 4/30/19

I saw Foals for the 3rd or 4th time last night, headlining at First Ave's Mainroom.

Set List below of course.

This concert will be remembered by me for a few different things. Probably first and foremost from my commute down to First Ave. I'm driving West on I-94 and it's raining out. Not heavily, but consistently coming down like it did all of yesterday.

I get to around the area of Huron Blvd and suddenly a somewhat sizable Yellow SPIDER drops off the Ceiling right in front of me on the driver's side.

I was beyond startled, but I immediately slowed down and blew at it as I had no interest in touching it with my bare hands.

The Spider I may have killed or it may have wandered off. I saw it in the little hole on the inside of the Driver's side door near the door handle and power window control.

I hope it's gone, but the experience and idea of what was avoided thankfully never left my mind the whole night, feeling like I dodged a bullet in some ways.

The show though it self was another epic, energetic fiesta of a kind that only Foals does so well. Yannis back when I saw them last at First Ave (2013), at least once walked throughout the mainroom's floor and upstairs to the 2nd level where I sat.

Well he didn't quite do that, but multiple crowd surfing moments of ecstasy, and the climax was him climbing to the 2nd level bars in front of the left side of the stage and basically doing a TRUST FALL into the crowd.

Very much in the vein of Paul Meany from Mutemath or even Darroh from Fair to Midland, almost going for the daredevil antics to great success.

The set list was great as they did a lot of the Everything Saved Will Not Be Lost Part 1 music. Syrups probably being my favorite, although I kind of feel as incredible as the ending of that track is, I could see at least live having them extending the build more and more live to go on for at least a couple more minutes. Even if Yannis just sings "Na Na Na" or "La La La" without any lyrics.

Spanish Sahara is always a showstopper, Black Gold as well of course. The What Went Down tunes I had yet to see were as if not more heavy live. Yannis pulled off some immense screams on them.

And then anything from Antidotes I'm thrilled with. Two Steps Twice is their classic show closer (when Yannis did the Trust Fall). The energy, groove, intensity, etc never fails to grab me.

While I don't know if I think this show was better than the 1 in 2013, they very much seem to  taking the baton from Mutemath to be a consistent great live band who are almost a can't miss.

Now we can just anticipate Everything Saved Will Not Be Lost Part 2 coming in September and hopefully no more spiders creeping me out in my car while I'm driving to Foals concerts.

also the 2 openers, Omni and Preoccupations has some moments. Preooccupations used to be known as Viet Kong, sound familiar and I mean to check out now. Their sound, especially the style their singer has stood out in some ways. The last song or 2 they did I was getting into as it was kind of epic. The synths almost reminded me of Wolf Parade and even some of the Cale Parks Indietronica stuff I've been vibing on lately.

On the Luna
Mountain at My Gates
Snake Oil
Olympic Airways
My Number
Black Gold
Spanish Sahara
Syrups
Providence
Sunday
Red Socks Pugie
Exits
In Degrees
White Onions
Inhaler

Encore:
What Went Down
Two Steps, Twice

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Arch / Matheos - Winter Ethereal (2018-2019)

2nd single "Wanderlust"



haven't heard yet, will listen after work, etc. Bugs me a lot of other sites got promos, but whatevs, May 10th is only a 1-week from Friday (and an Album Stream probably will show up soon, although I also preordered).


Yep.

At work = can't listen yet.

Dark/Gloomy cover art. Almost reminds me of like an Agalloch album cover. And the title "Winter Ethereal" sounds rather Agalloch, Opeth or Scandinavian Metal esque.

Anyway, very excited for May 10th, or even just later tonight to hear "Straight and Narrow" the 1st single (available on multiple formats: facebook, youtube, itunes, bandcamp, etc).

Love me some John Arch!

edit: Yeah "Straight and Narrow" is outstanding. Album of the Year?..maybe

Preorder
Bandcamp 

Press Release on FB 

Arch / Matheos reveals details for new album, 'Winter Ethereal'; launches video for first single, "Straight and Narrow"

Winter Ethereal will be released May 10th on Metal Blade Records. A video for the song "Straight and Narrow" is available now for streaming. Watch the video and pre-order the album in various bundle packages at http://www.metalblade.com/archmatheos

In progressive metal circles, the names of guitarist Jim Matheos and vocalist John Arch are spoken with due reverence. With the former having been a driving force in Fates Warning for thirty-five years, and the latter the original front-man of that band, they also have a single seminal work under the Arch / Matheos banner, 2011's Sympathetic Resonance. In 2019, they have reunited to follow that record up with Winter Ethereal, a more stylistically varied and perhaps deeper collection that explores a lot of sonic territory over the course of nine immersive tracks. "This stems from both of us trying to step out of our comfort zones a bit, sometimes voluntarily, sometimes being pushed," states Matheos. "Having worked together so many times, it would be easy to fall into the same way of doing things, and I think we were both interested in exploring some new areas." Arch concurs and adds: "Each song is notably different from the next, and nothing sounds repetitive. It is not a concept album, but somehow after a full listen from start to finish, there does seem to be continuity between the songs that I can't describe. At over an hour long, I think the fans will agree that it is a full listening experience."

Winter Ethereal will be available in the following formats:
-digipak-CD
-black / white marbled swirl (US exclusive - limited to 700 copies)
-clear w/ blue smoke (US exclusive - limited to 300 copies)
-180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)
-blue / red marbled vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 300 copies)
-ice blue marbled vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 200 copies)
-white vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 100 copies)
-white / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive - limited to 400 copies)
* exclusive bundles with shirts, plus digital options are also available!

Winter Ethereal track-listing


1. Vermilion Moons
2. Wanderlust
3. Solitary Man
4. Wrath of the Universe
5. Tethered
6. Straight and Narrow
7. Pitch Black Prism
8. Never in Your Hands
9. Kindred Spirits



Friday, April 26, 2019

Jon Anderson @ The Fitzgerald Theater 4/20/19

Much against the wishes against my better half, I attended this concert last Saturday night.

This was the 5th time I've seen Jon Anderson in Minnesota outside of a Yes concert (3rd solo/solo band, once with Jean-Luc Ponty and once with ARW), and in some ways it might have been the best.

I say that largely due to the band he has is really excellent. They very much jazz-ed and jungled/tropical-ed up many of the classic Yes tunes and some of his solo stuff including some of the Olias of Sunhillow work which were highlights especially.

Along with some of the material from the new album 1000 Hands. Among them, the 1000 Hands piece that went into Starship Trooper and then back to Solid Space.

I was really digging that piece, which I will confess to have the album on my hd, but have yet to listen to it yet, but mean to soon of course.

1000 Hands may be the best music he's done since "Open" which I asked my super-Yes fan John about if Jon's ever thought about playing live, but he didn't know but would like to ask Jon about.

But as far as the band, he had this great female electric violinist, more than 1 percussionist, and a couple of guys who played multiple instruments including Trombone, Flute and keys.

edit: here's what is listed in an article as his touring band:

Michael Franklin (keyboards), Tim Franklin (bass), Matt Brown (drums), Tommy Carlton (guitar), Jocelyn Hsu (Violin), Antonio Esposito (keyboards) and Chris Charles (saxophone, flute?).

Set 1
Ocean Song? (excerpt)
Owner of a Lonely Heart (Yes song)
Yours Is No Disgrace (Yes song)
Ramalama
State of Independence (Jon and Vangelis cover)
I've Seen All Good People (Your Move / All Good People)
Makes Me Happy
America (Simon and Garfunkel cover)
WDMCF

Set 2
Flight of the Moorglade
Sweet Dreams (Yes song)
To the Runner
Long Distance Runaround (Yes song)
First Born Leaders
1000 Hands (Come Up)
Starship Trooper / Solid Space (Yes song)

Encore:
Roundabout (Yes song)


Kindo @ The Amsterdam Bar w/ Thank You Scientist and ItPoW 4/25/19

I saw Kindo again last night, for the 2nd time in less than 2 years, at the same venue they played at in 2017, The Amsterdam Bar in downtown St.Paul.

The set list below I believe is correct as I found it on setlist.fm for other shows this tour.

Great show, great performance, yadayadayada of course. "Till We Make Our Ascent" was the biggest highlight for me as I still consider that my favorite track from them. I literally got goosebumps through much of it.

The band's lineup was a little different than from 2017, which I think largely was due to time. Steven Padin was not there, but new drummer Kendall Lantz . Also 2nd percussionist Geraldo Castillo also was not there either, but a really talented guy whose name I didn't catch either.

Kindo did announce they will be doing a Headline Tour this Summer which includes a show on Friday August 9 at The Skyway Theatre in Minneapolis.

I can't see missing that of course.

Kindo of course has their Patreon which I am a part of, receiving 1 new song nearly every month. They've released 15+ new songs that were not included on Happy However After, *however* in speaking with Jeff Jarvis and Kendall at the Merch booth, their next official album isn't likely to be coming out all that soon. I wonder if a lot of that has to do with the touring and also among those 15 tunes and what I would assume, is many not released songs, they aren't ready to release a group of them together yet.

I.e. I'm not expecting their next record for probably 2 years. But as a Patreon, I can't be unhappy about that given how many new songs I already have been able to hear of course.

And I did see Joey and sort of talked to him during Thank You Scientist's set, which was loud of course. He asked me if I could chat after the show, and I told him yes.

But unfortunately, I had to leave at 11PM. TYS was still playing, and a combination of:
-My back and maybe unexpectedly, MY RIGHT ANKLE were bothering me.
-My wife needed to go into work at 6AM (getting up at 5AM likely), so I really needed to get home and to bed. As it turns out, she didn't get up/go into work at that time.

I didn't get to chat with Joey more for that reason, but hopefully next time.

Kindo
Obsolete (abbreviated)
The Hero, the Saint, the Tyrant, and the Terrorist
Human Convention
Till We Make Our Ascent
Feeling in the Night
Symptom of a Stumbling
Return to Me
Nightingale
The Moments in Between

Estradasphere and RX Bandits? This was the 2nd time for me seeing Thank You Scientist. The below set list was taken from another show this tour on setlist.fm. I don't know their catalog well enough to know how accurate it may or may not be.

I can say, I enjoyed their performance more than the show I saw them open for Protest the Hero. They have some great moments in their music, and while I still can't avoid hearing their singer channeling Claudio Sanchez, at 1 point last night I almost thought he sounded like Chris Ruff from Kaddisfly (Buy Our Intention-era).

They even included some ethnic instruments and instrumental sections which were cool and fun.

They are kind of technical and staccato-happy, almost

Their drummer, honestly should form a band with the bassist from White Denim in that he looked like he was about 19, but he was rather good.

And I guess they are going to go on tour with Bent Knee later this year. which I can totally follow and if it hits MN I likely will go.

Their "new" or new album-songs I may have enjoyed more than anything else they did, and their new album coming on June 14th is a Double LP, and I probably will try and check it out (time permitting of course., and disciplining myself. Instead of at-work, I'll try and add to the flash drive in the car).

But I can't say I still have been won-over enough by TYS that I enjoy them enough to consider myself a fan yet. I went through a similar situation with The Contortionist, Leprous, Riverside and even RX Bandits even. But with all of those bands, I never got hugely into them, but they did release 1 album I went back to at least (and made my end of year album list).


Thank You Scientist
Wrinkle
FXMLDR (listed as 'Half Knuck' on the setlist)
Blood on the Radio
Son of a Serpent (listed as 'Serpent' on the setlist)
Absentee
Lo Mein (unofficial name from setlist)
The Amateur Arsonist's Handbook
Poop Magician (unofficial name from setlist)
Chromology (listed as 'Buc-ee's' on the setlist)
Shitballs (unofficial name from setlist)
Mr. Invisible
Terraformer

Encore:
Feed the Horses

This is not the exact set list as it was taken from another show on setlist.fm, and they did play a cover of Let's Go Crazy from Prince, and likely 1 or more of those other songs was not included.

As for them, I enjoyed moments in their music, probably some of the more proggy, technical parts. The Bass Guitar, not unlike other shows, was WAY TOO HIGH in the mix for me. At points it seemed like more or less all I was hearing.

Their singer both also sounded like he was doing his version of Claudio Sanchez, and also was too low in the mix I could barely hear him (on their 1st song).

But overall, their energy and busy moments I enjoyed.

In the Presence of Wolves
The One Who Fell to Earth
M.U.A. (Manipulation Under Anesthesia)
Let's Go Crazy (Prince Cover)
White Noise
Thalassas II: What Dwells Below (The Portal)
Man of the Times

Also it was neat to see some friends: Rob from Brice Play Drums/The Dang Ole Triole,
Nate and Heidi, 2 other local progrock fans.

I didn't see YouTuber Matt O'Leary nor Min Lee, but maybe next time.

Thursday, April 25, 2019

Carleton Exit 69 A Capella- The Dear Hunter WAVES



Very cool A Capella version of WAVES from The Dear Hunter from a local Minnesota A Capella group at Carleton College in Northfield, MN.

No idea how big of fans of The Dear Hunter they are, but this is pretty cool, especially if you're a The Dear Hunter fan like myself.

I noticed they did some other tunes per their Facebook like Talking Heads (Take Me to the River) and Sufjan Stevens via Woody Guthrie? (No Man's Land)


Video: 893 Essential Songs, Foals, Dug Pinnick

I'm off today and had to drop a few items off at the storage space, so it was convenient to make a quick video.

The midseason may be including a video (likely without many physical items).

The React to Songs list, a video? I don't know how long (winded) going over it would be. Perhaps an abridged/summary video could work. Again, of course time permitting.



Update:

Kindo concert in St. Paul, MN
Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost Part
Dug Pinnick - Dug Pinnick's Tribute to Jimi
89.3 The Current's 893 Essential Songs since 2000 comments

Fish with Phil Collins and Paul Carrack - Kayleigh (1988)



Pretty sweet performance which includes Phil Collins on drums and one Paul Carrack on keys.

Massive crowd at Wembley, although Marillion Fish at that time were pretty big there.

Plus being the Nelson Mandela 70th Birthday performance, it makes sense.

Cale Parks and Aloha?...Rekindling TO SWIFT MARS and Indietronica Magic

So in working on the Favorite Songs and Artists of the 21st Century list, which has ballooned to over 500 now (may not ultimately be that many though), I find many names of the past and even reviews and comments from music I was into for awhile.

And I have talked about Cale Parks and the EP To Swift Mars that Brian Jacobs worked on/produced and played on that came out in 2009.

Cale Parks who is best known for his work with the band Aloha, who are a band I knew from Radio K and some sites in the mid-late 2000's. A band I never was able to get into, but maybe I never heard the right songs?

Anyway, I LOVE this EP. There's this beauty and romantic element that I have a huge soft spot with electronic (Indietronica) when composed well. It's sad, melancholic, cinematic and captures that atmosphere and longing both to go back in time (nostalgia), into the future, or into another dimension.

Much like Blood Moon and a lot of other music that I feel so almost inspired-by to imagine being somewhere else, like being younger and back in time, or in a parallel dimension.

Sometimes I can't put my finger on it, the elements or magic that certain moments these songs have in them. And this EP from Cale Parks nearly every track includes at least 1 or more of them.

Maybe it's the dreamy synths that Brian actually plays on, and I suspect he chose the patches.

It's odd how Electronic Rock/Indietronica often does that, but then at times it doesn't so much, even when the elements of the style are present. I think the synth patches used and the arrangement makes a big difference. Also the DRUMS.

I was listening to a band named Mind Cinema earlier today and those electronic drums... just don't work. They kind of ruin it.

But I now kind of yearn to hear more from Cale Parks, who I think does most the vocals on To Swift Mars, but I'm unsure if he does on his other releases. Unfortunately, I don't think Brian Jacobs worked on any of his other music, but that may not mean I wouldn't like it.

And Aloha, the jury is still out, but from reading comments on rateyourmusic, I am wondering if some of their tunes will work for me. Some comments talk about prog and also about Menomena.

Also maybe 2 goals

1) make a list or lists of as many songs that capture that mood/inspiration
2) try and elaborate on a creative level when or soon after hearing them

then again, it goes back to that whole looking for that brilliance/magic. Looking for that obscure band/album that has it, whether it be new, or from the past (80's Scifi music last year), and not finding it. It's almost like great in the-idea-of finding it. Finding gold/that rush when finding it, but I've come to assume it was happening more in the 2000's than in the last decade.

And almost like it's better not to hunt for it, or expect it to show up, and instead I'll just believe I'll stumble upon it at some point.

In the mean time, I am going to have to pick up a hard copy of To Swift Mars soon,



To Swift Mars EP stream on YouTube


Kimbra - Home (Apes and Androids?)

Wikipedia

11. "Home" Johnson, Ciancia, Brian Jacobs, David Tobias 3:04

discogs.com

11 Home
Engineer – Michael Harris (10)
Producer – Keefus Green
Written-By – Brian Jacobs, David Tobias, Keith Ciancia*, Kimbra Johnson
3:04

Not a lot new to say about this song it self which I'll be honest, is okay, but not 1 I ever was attached to necessarily on the 2012 re-release of Vows. Although beyond this information about Brian Jacobs and David Tobias of Apes and Androids co-writing this tune, Greg Kurstin of The Bird and the Bee also worked on a lot of the tunes that the (inferior) 2012 re-release included. Although I have always loved the tune "Sally Can I See You" which Kurstin worked on.

Monday, April 22, 2019

The Current 893 Essential Songs of the 21st Century My 10 Song-Voting Submission

Voting Link

My Voting Page 

Deadline is tonight at midnight for this thing. There's my list, none of which will be ever played on their air.

Of course those are in no way the definitive 10 songs of the 21st Century for me, but certainly 10 songs I really love and appreciate.

And my epic list of 270+ or maybe taking 89.3's voter's results with how many artists have more than 1, I may do that with certain artists and post anywhere from 500-1000 songs since the 21st Century.

At this point, and time permitting, I would guess there will be some 300 or more artists though.

Saturday, April 20, 2019

Mew's "Comforting Sounds" on X-Factor 2015



This is from X-Factor, the Reality/Music (Vocal) Performing competition show. I don't believe this was on the AMERICAN version of it, but maybe in Denmark?

Regardless, it's quite a good cover.