Friday, August 22, 2014

The Mercury Tree - Countenance (2014)

8/22/14 6:30PM

Bandcamp

The Family Style EP from earlier this year is awesome. Very excited to hear this soon. September 3rd? the day after Labor Day I believe.

Countenance cover art

1. Pitchless Tone
2. Vestigial
3. Otoliths
4. Mazz Jathy
5. To Serve Man
6. The Ellsberg Cycle
7. False Meaning
8. Artifracture
9. Jazz Hands of Doom
10. Rappel

Why wouldn't there be a dragon in space?
credits
releases 03 September 2014

Ben Spees - guitar, keyboard, vocals 
Connor Reilly - drums 
Oliver Campbell - bass (1, 2, 6, 8, 10), vocals 
Aaron Clark - fretless bass (3, 4, 5, 7, 9), vocals 

Recorded 2013-2014 at College of Wizardry & Bongo Fury, Portland, Oregon. 
Mixed by Ben Spees. 
Mastered by Stephan Hawkes. 

Lead vocals on "The Ellsberg Cycle" by Aaron Clark.

Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

The Tea Party - The Ocean at the End (2014)

8/22/14 6:06AM

Interview with Jeff Martin.





8/18/14 8:31PM

Per Wikipedia and Amazon.ca Preorder

Release Date: September 8th (in Canada at least) 8:37 title track?

New website as well, with a question the band want fans to submit: Pictures and Memories.

http://www.teaparty.com/



1 The L.O.C 4:14
2 The Black Sea 3:59
3 Cypher 3:58
4 The Maker 4:11
5 Black Roses 5:29
6 Brazil 4:44
7 The 11th Hour 4:59
8 Submission 3:54
9 The Cass Corridor 2:41
10 Water's On Fire 4:45
11 The Ocean At the End 8:37
12 Into the Unknown 5:02


6/28/14 7:11PM

Water's On Fire  The Tea Party

1st single "Water's on Fire" sounds pretty good.

iTunes

https://www.hmvdigital.ca/releases/3577591



This story says the album is expected to be released "this fall."

3/29/14 11:52 AM

I am a fan of these guys, even owning nearly their whole catalog on cd. The Edges of Twilight I think still stands out as my favorite, although I enjoy more or less everything they've done. I always liken them to like if Jim Morrison sang with a band who reminded me of a lot of Led Zeppelin, specifically Led Zeppelin III. But that is mostly their early records.

The story below has me optimistic about it, although I was also about the Crash Karma album Burrows and Edwin from I Mother Earth did.; and I can't say I loved that record too much.

But it sounds like they put a fair amount of thought into this record, so we'll see. It says it's expected in the Fall, the 1st single in June, so I'll be sure to update this when more information is provided about it.


http://www.theprovince.com/touch/story.html?id=9674993


Five years ago, members of The Tea Party could hardly stand being in the same room together let alone spend a month in a recording studio. But wonders never cease, and this week Jeff Martin, Jeff Burrows and Stuart Chatwood put the finishing touches on their first studio album in a decade, collectively swallowing six years and a mountain of pride.
The word from the band’s camp is that The Ocean at the End could be the nearest The Tea Party has come to perfection in its 23-year history.
“It’s the best of everything for The Tea Party,” raved Martin, the band’s lead singer and guitarist, this week.
The usually reserved Chatwood, keyboardist and bass player, declared: “On our tombstones it’ll say These Guys Played Music.”
Due out in the fall, The Ocean at the End will mark the first studio release for the trio since 2004’s Seven Circles. It’ll also be the first album, other than a limited edition, live collection made in Australia last year, since the band reformed in 2011 following a six-year split.
“It was either going to be a disaster,” Martin said, “or one of the best things we could do. I’m counting on it being the latter.”
The first single, as yet undecided, will be out by June, said Martin, and the album “in a perfect world” by early fall.
There will be 10 tracks, plus two bonus songs, including the eight-minute opus that gives the album its title. The Ocean at the End is the album’s final track, written by Martin and Burrows, and featuring guest soloist Ian Anderson of Jethro Tull on flute. The band may also include a cover of Daniel Lanois’s The Maker, which it has woven into the middle section of Save Me at its concerts.
Chatwood, however, said the title song will impress even the most diehard fan: “It’s like a harder Pink Floyd.”
Much of the album, in fact, is a throwback to The Tea Party’s earlier albums, Splendor Solis and The Edges of Twilight, when their adventurous use of instrumentation was often compared with Led Zeppelin.
“It was my idea to bring in the flute and the mellotron,” Chatwood said. “Jeff Martin said he wanted to do a blues thing for the final song, and Jeff Burrows brought in this really melodic idea ... ”
He added that 60 per cent of the new material was conceived in the band’s home city of Windsor, during writing sessions last fall.
In that sense, The Tea Party has returned to its roots as most of the music on the first three albums was produced during jam sessions in a downtown Windsor rehearsal studio.
After toiling in local bands, Martin, Burrows and Chatwood, all within a year of one another in age, teamed up to record their first independent, self-titled record in 1991. Now in their early 40s, they were 21 and 22 at the time.
Chatwood recalled those early days fondly when describing the new music, and added the years have only burnished that Tea Party sound to a brilliant shine.
“We’ve all grown as musicians,” he said. “As you get older, you’re open to new ideas. When you’re young, you sometimes think you might not be doing this for the rest of your life. But that’s kind of set in stone for us, now.”
Martin believes there’s something for every period of Tea Party fans: “I think the album in its entirety has something for everyone as far The Tea Party is concerned. It has all the different musical elements we’ve embraced over the years.”
While Martin has often been accused of being the source of friction in The Tea Party, something he doesn’t deny, his complete acceptance of where the band is at now and where it’s heading, appears to have closed the circle.
“I’ve always been proud of the way we’ve been able to raise the bar for ourselves. I realize the expectations are high for this new record, but I think, and I believe Jeff and Stuart would agree, that we’ll meet all the expectations.”
He, too, referred back to their beginnings.
“In some ways, the feeling is even better than when we started out. There have been a lot of lessons learned when we were apart and the mutual respect for each other is even greater than what it was in the past.”
During the six-year hiatus, members of The Tea Party found a variety of projects to keep them busy. Martin wrote and recorded a pair of solo albums, moved to Australia, and tours Down Under with Sarah McLeod. Burrows helped form pop-rockers Crash Karma and hosted a radio show in Windsor. Chatwood has composed film and video soundtracks in his home studio in Vancouver, while also producing music for the likes of New York entrepreneur Tim Sommer.
“We’re all bringing a lot more experience doing different things to the table this time,” Chatwood said.
The heavy rock influences remain, but they sound better in the new context.
“It’s not retro-rock, it’s respectful rock,” Chatwood said. “We don’t wear our influences on our sleeve. We just let them come out naturally.”

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Team Me - Blind as Night (2014)

8/21/14 8:18PM

Title track official video



8/14/14 6:02AM

New *double single* "Blind as Night/That All Time High" although the below are radio edits. I think on Spotify the full versions are available.

Also this album will be dropping in January to the rest of the World beyond the August/September dates posted below.


7/31/14 11:00PM
The initial single "F is For Faker" earlier this year got me pretty curious about this their next album. I got pretty addicted to this Norwegian orchestral pop/rock band's 2011 debut LP To the Treetops. The energy and choruses were impossible to get out of my head at times. And they sort of filled the void currently. without any new music from Mew, who as much as they can sound like, it didn't seem to matter for me that much.

The interview linked below they talk a little about how this album differs from Treetops, which I am not sure will matter. It is kind of a crapshoot with a follow up record, but I like to at least have optimism and hope from any band who I get into.

Facebook



Tracklist:
1. Riding My Bicycle (from Feddersensgate 5A to Mõllervegen 31)
2. Kick & Curse
3. Man-Eating Machine
4. F is for Faker
5. Le Sound
6. Did We Lose Something Here
7. Are You Still in Love
8. Steven
9. The All Time High
10. Blind As Night

(link showing the Asian? version with bonus tracks)
11. June
12. December Ice

August 27th (Asia)
September 1st (Norway)

The Interview linked has some stuff about this record and the band. Some of the members like Black Metal, which actually doesn't surprise me too much given where they come from and their music's different styles.

You have a new album in the pipeline? What can we expect?
We said right after we finished our first album, To The Treetops!, that we weren’t gonna do the same album twice. And I think we’ve kept our promise to ourselves. It’s quite different from our first one. Both the songwriting and the sound of the new record Blind As Night is a bit different. It’s more of a band feeling to this one. A bit darker and heavier, but with the Team Me signature sounds and choirs on top. The thing with not repeating yourself though, is that you never know where you end up. So, hopefully people who liked To The Treetops! will stay with us on our new journey.




Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Flying Colors - Second Nature (2014)

8/20/14 6:15AM

Mask Machine video. Not bad. Not as bad at least as some of the comments on some of the forums have given it. Does it sound like Muse? in spots, but so did parts of their debut album. Is it too long? not really just from hearing it initially.



also I never got around to sharing this.The 3 shows in the US Bend Sinister is support. I' love to go, but the Chicago is on Yom Kippur anyway. O well, I do hope naturally a lot of new people catch on to Bend Sinister anyway as it is cool Flying Colors (Portnoy) is having them share the bill on those 3 dates in the US at least.


OCTOBER 2014 TOUR
10/02 LOS ANGELES, CA JAMES ARMSTRONG THEATER  
10/03 CHICAGO, IL ARACDA THEATER 
10/04 PHILADELPHIA, PA KESWICK THEATER  
10/07 BARCELONA, SPAIN RAZZMATAZZ 2
10/08 MILAN, ITALY MILAN LIVE CLUB
10/09 TILBURG, NETHERLANDS 013  
10/11 FRANKFURT, GERMANY BATSCHKAPP
10/12 PRATTELN, SWITZERLAND Z7
10/13 LONDON, UK ISLINGTON ASSEMBLY HALL
10/14 PARIS, FRANCE ALHAMBRA

Special Guests for the US shows will be BEND SINISTER 
Special Guests for Europe/UK will be JOHN WESLEY
7/28/14 10:50PM

Preorder

Trailer:




Second Nature, the sophomore statement from Flying Colors is released via Mascot Label Group / Music Theories Recordings on September 29, 2014 in Europe and September 30, 2014 in the rest of the world.

Sporting stunning artwork from the legendary designer Hugh Syme (Rush, Iron Maiden, Dream Theater) and bookended by two tracks of truly epic stature – Open Up Your Eyes and the multiple-part Cosmic Symphony – the album is every bit as breathtaking as the debut.

Second Nature will be released on CD and 2LP (180 gram vinyl). The vinyl has a downloadcard, good for one MP3 download of the album.
Both the CD and 2LP can be ordered with a specially designed t-shirt that's only available from MLG Merch.

As always we will include a free poster with each order.

But wait, that's not all! Each pre-order will include a free bonus DVD with behind the scenes footage, interviews and more, and we will send you MP3s of 2 bonus songs that are not available on the album**.

**The bonus tracks are being prepared by the band. As soon as we receive them, we will send everybody who pre-ordered the album a link to get these bonus MP3s.

Tracklisting:
1. Open Up Your Eyes
2. Mask Machine
3. Bombs Away
4. The Fury Of My Love
5. A Place In Your World
6. Lost Without You
7. One Lost Forever
8. Peaceful Harbor
9. Cosmic Symphony
I. Still Life Of The World
II. Searching For The Air
III. Pound For Pound 

Please note that this is a pre-order item. If you order this item together with an item that is already available, we will hold your order and ship all items around September 22. We recommend that you place a separate order if you wish to receive the released items sooner.

7/26/14 11:56AM
There is no PRESS RELEASE that I can find at the moment, but the linked website with this information is there, so I'm going with it.

Below is information already published on this Finnish? website/webstore showing the title, artwork, release date (September 26th, 2014) and track list for the sophomore LP from the  prog rock "super group" of a sort  featuring Mike Portnoy, Neal Morse, Steve Morse, Casey McPherson and Dave LaRue, whose Self Titled debut LP made somewhat of a big splash in 2012, at least among progressive rock fans.

Personally? I thought I was going to fall head over heals for that record back in 2012, and while I did enjoy it for the most part, I kind of enjoyed it enough, but also remained curious where this group could go in the future.

I love progressive rock when combined with well produced pop music, and I actually grew to like Casey McPherson as a singer in Alpha Rev after hearing this.

But the jury is out a bit with this band, I think they have the potential to make some amazing songs, so I certainly hold optimism for this. But do I expect this to fight for my favorite record this year? given their debut LP didn't really, I would be pleasantly surprised if it did. But, then again, those are the kind of surprises and albums I often appreciate even more with time (and even their older work after that experience).

One note: the title being "Second Nature" the Rush song comes to mind of course, but also the name of the band that would become Transatlantic, except would have featured Jim Matheos on guitar instead of Roine Stolt, back in 1999/2000. Matheos it turned out wanted-to but was too busy with Fates Warning (I recall reading many years ago) to be able to work on the music for that band/album so had to depart the project (and replaced by Stolt). And at least some of that experience found motivation for Jim to collaborate with Mike Portnoy again with OSI a few years later.

Finnish Webstore Link

This is just a *ROUGH TRANSLATION FROM FINNISH TO ENGLISH*

Virtuoso prog / pop / rock band with (former) members of Deep Purple, Dream Theater, The Winery Dogs, Avenged Sevenfold, Dixie Dregs, Spock's Beard, Alpha Rev & the Trans-Atlantic 

Release date: 09.26.2014. Product will be shipped the release date. 

You can book with this product and pick it up from the nearest Record Shop X.. This is done by moving the product to shopping cart, and then checkout the order takeout trade. 
tracks 

Flying Colors: Second Nature

1 Open Up Your Eyes
2 Mask Machine
3 Bombs Away
4 The Fury Of My Love
5 A Place In Your World
6 Lost Without You
7 One Lost Forever
8 Peaceful Harbor
9 Cosmic Symphony
I. Still Life Of The World
II. Searching For The Air
III. Pound For Pound

Enchant - The Great Divide (2014) + A Blueprint of the World Vinyl

8/20/14 5:53AM

2nd Teaser/Trailer. Honestly, when I checked this out last night after I got home from work, I was really kind of underwhelmed. It sounds quite prog rock-like, like modern prog rock like in a Spock's or maybe worse stuff like Haken or Beardfish kind of way.

However a 2nd listening sort of has me warming up to it. I suppose to hope/expect a ton of new elements to their sound, even if it has been 10 long years, is unlikely. But I suppose this is till only 2.5 mins worth.



7/24/14 12:08PM



Finally after 11 years, one of my favorite bands from the 90's and early 2000's returns. Maybe I'll edit in more later as to why that is (or try and write up a brief history about them my experience, my take on each record briefly, etc).

Also the news below about the A Blueprint of the World vinyl (incl colored Blue) I can't see myself passing up on as it's one of my favorite records.

September 29th/30th. Touring? doubt beyond some festival shows, but it would be cool to see them support this album with one.

Also given the Blueprint Vinyl, I wonder if this new record will also find its way onto vinyl soon.

I also can't forget about how Insideout Music band Ice Age had an album of the exact same title like 13 years ago, but I'm sure Enchant new album title had nothing to do with that, lol.

Sound-wise for this new record? I wonder if the band may mix things up/modernize them a bit since we last heard new music from them in 2003.



1. Circles
2. Within an Inch
3. The Great Divide
4. All Mixed Up
5. Transparent Man
6. Life in a Shadow
7. Deserve to Feel
8. Here and Now
9. Prognosticator


ENCHANT – Announce release of new studio album “The Great Divide”; Launch online teaser!

ENCHANT, the Bay Area’s long-running Prog Rock institution founded in 1989, have completed working on their much anticipated comeback release after ten years of silence.

Entitled “The Great Divide”, ENCHANT’s 8th studio album will be released on September 29th, 2014 in Europe and on September 30th, 2014 in North America via the band’s longtime label partner InsideOutMusic.

ENCHANT’s main songwriter and guitarist Douglas A. Ott had the following to say about the upcoming release:

"Well it's finally here folks! There was a time when I was unsure of ENCHANT’s future but fear not! 
We've made another album after 10 years and we are very excited and proud of this endeavor! 
Our new album is called The Great Divide and we can't wait for you to hear it! 9 brand new ENCHANT tracks, including 1 instrumental. Classic ENCHANT but with a bunch of new twists and turns! Long time in the making but it is surely worth the wait! Coming out late September, so be sure to check it out!"

A first online teaser for the “The Great Divide” can be viewed here: http://youtu.be/_vwh95n2X0s

In related ENCHANT news, InsideOutMusic is happy to announce the first ever LP release of the band’s classic debut album “A Blueprint Of The World” from 1993. As for September 1st, 2014 this epic record will be available on 180gr. black vinyl in the gatefold double LP format including the original 10 songs and one bonus track in a total playing time of 74 minutes as well as the full album on a bonus CD. Check pre-order details of the strictly limited (100x copies) edition on transparent blue vinyl here: www.insideoutshop.de

Keep your eyes and ears open for further details on “The Great Divide” coming soon…

ENCHANT Discography:
A Blueprint Of The World – CD 1993
Wounded – CD 1996
Time Lost – CD 1997
Break – CD 1998
Juggling 9 Or Dropping 10 – CD 2000
Blink Of An Eye – CD 2002
Tug Of War – CD 2003
Live At Last – 2CD/2DVD 2004
The Great Divide – CD 2014

ENCHANT Line-Up 2014:
Ted Leonard - Lead vocals (Spock’s Beard / Thought Chamber)
Douglas A. Ott - Guitars and backing vocals
Ed Platt - Bass guitar and bass pedals
Bill Jenkins - Keyboards (Sound Of Contact / Thought Chamber)
Sean Flanegan – Drums (Cynthesis)

ENCHANT online:
www.enchantband.com
www.facebook.com/enchantband
www.twitter.com/enchantband

INSIDEOUTMUSIC online:
www.insideoutmusic.com
www.youtube.com/InsideOutMusicTV
www.facebook.com/InsideOutMusic
www.twitter.com/insideouteu

Visit the new InsideOut Shop:
www.insideoutshop.de







Monday, August 18, 2014

Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel (2014-2015)

I'm excited for this record certainly, and the 1st with their new drummer? if I recall. And they have a pozible.com crowd funding campaign still going on to help fund a tour which if I recall, already met their goal with at least a few weeks left.

One sort of semantics note for myself, this record will not be included in my 2013-2014 Season-ending Countdown per the release date being after Halloween. So, in-effect, this is the 1st official record for 2014-2015 to anticipate that has a title and release date (Team Me sort of qualifies as well, but given their album comes out in a few weeks in Japan and Norway, they likely won't).

But as far as the title, artwork, etc..doesn't seem surprising, or repulsive; yet  nothing it doesn't seem shocking or that different compared to Portal of I.

My biggest wish for this record is for the PRODUCTION and MIXING to not be so compressed and HOT. PoI I enjoy how clean at times it was sounded,, but it also at times seemed very loud and the amounts of layers sometimes hurt being able to hear the actual performances clearly, and how they come across.

Not so *hot* guys, and this record may eclipse your great debut LP by a lot.

From Facebook




We are extremely excited to announce that our new album 'CITADEL' is set for release on November 7/11th (US) through Season of Mist!

'Citadel' is everything we ever envisioned this band could one day become.

And we can't wait to share it with you all very soon.

Artwork by Xen

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Miracles of Modern Science - Swipe (feat. Kristin Slipp)

nice video, cool tune! Love these guys! And never heard of Kristin Slipp (from a band called Cuddle Magic? I guess), but she sounds nice on this track.

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Imogen Heap - Sparks (2014)

8/12/14 12:28PM
Full Album Stream

Like Kimbra, the mecca of all exclusive album streams and music opinions, npr.org has the 1st full stream of it. But then again, the campaign backers and deluxe version preorders I imagine have had it for a few weeks.

My take: I am enjoying a lot of it. The world/ethnic influence works pretty well and is a nice progressive/change from Ellipse and even the Speak For Yourself. But there's a lot of classic Heap stuff on here as well with electronics, conversational lyrics, vocal layering and a lot more.

I suppose my favorites initially: Lifeline, The Listening Chair, Neglected Space, The Beast, Entanglement, and Telemiscommunications.

A good chance I will get more into this than Ellipse, but I suppose part of that is my expectation level for that album this were pretty different.

7/17/14 1:26PM

New song/video "Cycle Song"
Nice but short. Sounds more like an interlude. Rather ethnic sounding which is not surprising given how this album was made.



6/30/14 4:33PM

Here's a story confirming the release date is August 19th. I likely will get the standard vinyl

Amazon Preorder (Vinyl)
Amazon.com Preorder (CD)


Grammy and Ivor Novello award winning recording artist Imogen Heap will release her highly anticipated 4th solo album “Sparks” on August 19th, 2014 through RCA Records. The physical album is currently available for pre-order on Amazon here. 

Sparks has been on a well travelled journey, one which Heap began at 6am 14 March 2011, with a live stream from her home studio in a small village on the outskirts of London, gathering 'sound seeds' from fans and weaving them together to form the first song (Lifeline). Fast forward, 4 continents later, a dozen related projects and 14 tracks, the album cover artwork was then completed by those who pre-ordered the limited edition, super deluxe box set by sending in their footprints! The stunning piece of artwork and packaging, designed and developed over the past three years by Imogen and her creative team with CSV (the company behind Radiohead’s special packaging) it is the very first time that Imogen has released such a super deluxe package. An interactive album cover featuring the footprints of fans worldwide also just premiered on The Creators Project, a partnership between Intel and VICE. 

Says Heap, “The album began with someone sending in the sound of striking a match for what became Lifeline in March 2011. I then dived into the most immense, intense creative 2 and a half years of my life that took me all over the planet, collaborating on so many projects with so many people and often totally spontaneously. The album is then in some ways for me grounded with fans’ footprints bringing the finishing touch for the album art, as so many of them came along for the ride.” 

“Sparks” will be available in four formats – a standard edition, a double-disc edition with instrumental versions of all tracks, 12 inch vinyl and the super deluxe; super deluxe packaging will contain 12 individual data discs, 14 HD music videos, plus videos documenting the making of each song and the entire album, a double 10” vinyl album, a special deck of playing cards which unlock exclusive web content and a 120 page coffee-table-style book telling the story of “Sparks” along with the special ticket of blended items that allows access to sound-checks on the next tour. 

While working on “Sparks,” Heap turned songs into projects and projects into songs, to bring her out of her studio and 'let life in' rather than postponing things until her album was done. This fresh approach found Imogen collaborating with everyone from her fans to unsuspecting passers-by, gardeners to filmmakers, scientists to newspaper journalists and brings us her most diverse and daring body of work to date. From the River Thames (You Know Where To Find Me) to 5000 feet up in the Himalayas (Climb to Sakteng, Cycle Song), from her local community garden (Neglected Space) to 6 weeks in the Chinese metropolis of Hangzhou (Xizi She Knows), Heap was soaking it up, writing, developing, recording and producing. Sounds of a dishwasher door to a Bhutanese dranyen, the voice of a crumbling wall to 700 fans’ becoming a spoken word chorus. One of Heap's projects include her brilliant Mi.Mu Gloves, developed over this album period with an incredible team of scientists, engineers, and artists (Me The Machine) and dabbled in generative and reactive music with music app developers RJDJ (Run-Time) connected to a jogging app. From the deeply personal love songs Propeller Seeds and Entanglement to the crowd sourced response to the Sendai earthquake (Lifeline), her trademark honesty runs through the album. 

One of the songs will only be finished once she’s dead! The Listening Chair whizzes us through her first 35 years in 5 minutes and will be added to every 7 years with another minute of a cappella song! 

Heap's last album Ellipse earned her a Grammy and Ivor Novello award. This summer marks the release of Sparks, her fifth (including Frou Frou's album Details) and most ambitious album to date. Sparks' songs have taken Imogen all over the world from her North East London home studio to the Himalayas via China. This year Imogen is the guest artist-curator for the iconic London Roundhouse venue’s new music festival Reverb. The eagerly awaited Sparks world tour will begin at Reverb with an extra special show in August 2014, however the rest of the tour is slightly delayed to May 2015 as Imogen will be a mum come November! 

To follow more news from Heap herself, her much loved vBlogs are back. You can watch them here (YouTube.com/imogenheap) or sign up to her mailing list (http://imogenheap.fanbridge.com) to never miss a beat from the Heap 

Full tracklisting for “Sparks” standard edition: 



01. You Know Where to Find Me
02. Entanglement
03. The Listening Chair
04. Cycle Song
05. Telemiscommunications
06. Lifeline
07. Neglected Space
08. Minds Without Fear
09. Me The Machine
10. Run-Time
11. Climb To Sakteng
12. The Beast
13. Xizi She Knows
14. Propeller Seeds

www.imogenheap.com


4/22/14 5:21PM
 "The Machine" video




3/1/14 12:00PM

This (below) is supposedly 1-of the tracklists, per the Deluxe Boxed Set, which I will admit to not ordering. And unfortunately, I read was pushed back a bit, until April or May. But the release date was set to March 3rd a while ago. I have not seen many official sites mentioning, just the standard version. Promos, reviews, etc. Why I wonder if the March 3rd street date is still accurate. But if it is, I'll be looking to check this record out on Monday or at least in the next week or two.

edit:  per Wikipedia
Sparks is the forthcoming fourth studio album by English recording artist Imogen Heap. The album will be released, via RCA on 3 March 2014, in two editions: standard and deluxe box set. The standard edition will consist of 14 tracks and will include all of Heap's 2011–2013 singles. On 21 February 2014, a video was posted on her official site stating that the release date has been changed to April.

1 You Know Where to Find Me
2 Entanglement
3 The Listening Chair
4 Cycle Song
5 Telemiscommunication
6 Lifeline
7 Neglected Space
8 Minds Without Fear
9 Me the Machine
10 Run-Time
11 Climb to Sakteng
12 The Beast
13 Xizi She Knows
14 Propeller Seeds

Even the standard ARTWORK I'm not finding at this time. The Deluxe Boxed Set shows some artwork.







I do like the way the Deluxe Boxed Set includes

Here's a re-cap of what's included:

• Sparks album on CD

A special ticket that grants you access to a sound check on Imogen's 2014 world tour

• 10 inch Sparks double gatefold vinyl album

• 12 DVD data discs with lossless versions of each Heapsong inc HD music videos + making-of videos of each song, packaged in beautiful case bound books with 16 page colour booklet

• Making of the album DVD featuring all box set material

• 120 page photo book telling the story of 'Sparks'

• Deck of 52 playing cards that unlock exclusive web content

• Specially blended paper made from objects Immi use to make the album

http://www.imogenheap.com/deluxeboxset/
9/20/13 11:45AM




From the Mailing List:

We are delighted to announce that Imogen's brand new album 'Sparks' will be released on 3rd March 2014. We are giving mailing list members the chance to pre-order the strictly limited edition deluxe boxset for delivery a week earlier, on 24th February 2014.

What's more, if you pre-order before 30th September 2013 you can upload your footprints and they will become part of the 'Sparks' album cover across all formats. The first 100 people to order also get to visit Immi's house!




A message from Immi:

Hello there. Hope all's well with you.

I've been little miss hermit heap in my studio the Hideaway these past months with a real push to get the audio for the album finished in time for my sanity to stay intact!

It's turned out to be a monster of an album and even though I finished it two weeks ago, it still hasn't dawned on me. A bit like your last day at school!

For all the other bits, like making of documentaries, photos, music videos, commentaries etc, I realised pretty early on (about 2 years ago) that it won't fit onto your average CD, so I've been cooking up a Deluxe box set!

I've made a little video for you to explain a bit more about what's in it. You can watch it here :)

I may have a glass of champagne when I get mine as It pretty much represents my musical life since March 2011 with all the projects I've been involved in, connecting to a song.

WOO HOO!

Really hope you love the music and this rather sexy deluxe box set to accompany it!

xxx immi xxx

Visit the deluxe website to pre-order your boxset now and upload your footprints which will become part of the album cover!




All these wonderful details aside, this DELUXE BOXED SET is well, rather DELUXE being 10 discs, a DVD-Doc, and Vinyl. The price on the site shows a cool $299.99. So, yeah, I'd love a copy, but I also would love to use the $260+ extra to use on a plane ticket to Arizona or my savings account. There's only a limited number of the Boxed Sets anyway, so who knows if they are already sold out.

But at least we do know the actual Title being SPARKS (not Spark), and the release date being March 3rd of 2014.




9/3/13 8:53PM



just a follow up to  this Entry "Imogen Heap: 2012 Recap

This is just information she's posted at scattered points throughout the last 3 years. But taking this info to be somewhat if not rather accurate. this upcoming LP will be coming out in November. The title "Spark" is a *POSSIBLE* title as that twitter post linked on Wikipedia does not really sound certain at all (and it was from just a few months ago, in July).

But assuming the November release happens and that track list is close if not fully accurate (and the order for that matter), more of the details shouldn't be far away.

Wikipedia Page

Spark is the tentative title[1] of the upcoming fourth studio album by English recording artist Imogen Heap. The album will be released on Megaphonic Records in November 2013 in two packages: standard edition and deluxe album box set. The standard edition will consist of 14 tracks and will include all of Heap's singles released between 2011 and 2013.

Background[edit source | editbeta]

Spark is a concept album. Each song that is related to a certain project has been released every three months. On 14 March 2011, Heap started work on a new record as fans sent in nearly 900 "sound seeds", or samples of everyday sounds such as a "dishwasher door", a "bicycle" or a "burning match". Heap says the concept for this album will be to record one track over a two-week period every three months. Each song and video will be released immediately.
The first song, initially entitled "#heapsong1" and later retitled "Lifeline", premiered worldwide on 28 March 2011 via Ustream[2] along with a live remix by Tim Exile. "Lifeline" was released on 30 March 2011 as a digital download from Imogen's website and via iTunes, Amazon and other digital retailers. Released alongside this was a 12-page 3DiCD package (a 3D virtual CD) including crowd sourced (and paid for) images, the instrumental version of the song, the "seeds and solos only" version and "heap speaks seeds and solos" - an-18-minute commentary by Heap on how the sounds and solos were used in "Lifeline". The song is a tribute to the victims of the2011 Tōhoku earthquake and tsunami. The second song, "Propeller Seeds", was recorded using 3D audio effects and headphones are recommended for listeners to get the full effect. The third song, "Neglected Space", incorporates concepts, people and sounds from a lab organized by the Clear Village Charitable Trust to restore a walled garden in Bedfords Park.[3] The fourth song, "Minds Without Fear", was the first song to be featured on the 2011 Indian show, The Dewarists.
The fifth song, "Xizi She Knows", was recorded during Heap's six-week trip at Hangzhou, China.[4] The sixth song, "Me, the Machine", was recorded using the musical gloves. The seventh song, "You Know Where to Find Me", was recorded in London and is thematically about the River Thames.[5] The eighth song, "Telemiscommunications", is a collaboration with Canadian house producer deadmau5which is included in his sixth album Album Title Goes Here.

Track listing[edit source | editbeta]

All songs written and composed by Imogen Heap. 
No.TitleLength
1."Lifeline"  4:47
2."Propeller Seeds"  3:52
3."Neglected Space"  5:20
4."Minds Without Fear" (with Vishal-Shekhar)3:41
5."Xizi She Knows"  4:41
6."You Know Where to Find Me"  4:56
7."Telemiscommunications(with deadmau5)4:07
8."The Listening Chair"  
9."Me, the Machine"  
10."Entanglement"  
11."Run-Time"  
12."Climb to Sakteng"  
13."Cycle Song"  
14."TBA (new song)" 

Monday, August 11, 2014

Kimbra - The Golden Echo (2014)

8/11/14 1:01PM
Full Album Stream


npr again *rolls eyes*, although at least in this case they aren't being given an exclusive stream to a Metal album.

As far as the record, I am enjoying it a lot, although I would be surprised if I consider it as good as Vows ultimately, but time will only tell of course. "Carolina" may be my favorite track. "Teen Heat" "As You Are" and "Madhouse" also all have stood out in some ways, although I think every track on this album is worth listening to at this point.

I haven't heard those 3 bonus tracks of course, 1 of them includes Jonas from Mew.

7/26/14 1:06PM

cool lyric video for "Love In High Places" (previously posted below).



opener for the Fall US Tour is "Empress Of" although apparently not in Minneapolis according to that link edited in below.

7/21/14 5:12PM-7/22/14 1:40PM

Brief US Tour this Fall including October 30th @ The Fine Line in Minneapolis. I wonder if she'll get an opener (The Dear Hunter?..wishful thinking of course)

http://www.kimbramusic.com/tour

10/20 San Francisco, CA - The Independent*
10/23 Los Angeles, CA - The Roxy*
10/24 Santa Ana, CA - The Observatory*
10/25-10/26 Las Vegas, NV - Life Is Beautiful Festival
10/27 Salt Lake City, UT - In The Venue*
10/28 Denver, CO - Sherman Street Event Center*
10/30 Minneapolis, MN - Fine Line Music Café
11/01 Chicago, IL - Lincoln Hall
11/06 New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom*
11/07 Philadelphia, PA - World Café Live - Downstairs*
11/08 Washington, DC - U Street Music Hall*
11/09 Allston, MA - Brighton Music Hall*
Edit: opener listed here:
* w/ Empress Of

"Miracle" dancey/disco-ish.



6/13/14 10:30PM

Jonas from Mew (along with Ben and Omar) are on Bonus tracks. Longstreth and Flying Lotus won't be on any version of the album at this point (but will come out).

article

UPDATE: Warner Bros. have issued a correction saying that while Kimbra worked with Flying Lotus and Dave Longstreth during the making of The Golden Echo, those songs will not appear on the album. They will eventually be released however. Also, "bonus tracks on the deluxe edition include appearances from Ben Weinman of the Dillinger Escape Plan, The Mars Volta's Omar Rodríguez-López, and Jonas Bjerre of Danish band Mew."

6/10/14 10:58PM

Released August 19th

2 new tracks "Nobody But You" and "Love In High Places."









Deluxe Edition (iTunes)  Tracklist (see the Preorder link in the YouTube videos)

The Golden Echo

1 Teen Heat
2 90s Music 3:36
3 Carolina
4 Goldmine
5 Miracle
6 Rescue Him
7 Madhouse
8 Everlovin' Ya (feat. Bilal)
9 As You Are
10 Love In High Places 5:15
11 Nobody But You 5:22
12 Waltz Me To the Grave
13 Slum Love (Bonus Track)
14 Sugar Lies (Bonus Track)
15 The Magic Hour (Bonus Track)

Daniel Johns/Can Dyke Parks? Omar Rodriguez-Lopez? Ben Weinman? more details I'm sure will include them, but Bilal appears to be the only name "featured" which honestly, might be a good thing with so much emphasis on whose-who of guest in the track titles on so many recent albums.

edit: ...
"with a list of collaborators including Flying Lotus, Dave Longstreth, John Legend, and Matt Bellamy."

6/3/14 4:15PM

Video for "90's Music"..dig the pop/culture (pop music) references. Playful video that at times resembles something Michel Gondry might do, which fittingly, the 1990's is when he was making music videos if I recall, lol.

Nice chameleon looks from Kimbra as well.

\


  5/19/14 5:25PM

cover art: see above

Billboard Link
"from the singer's second studio album, "The Golden Echo," due out in August on Warner Bros. Records." 


for the official release of the "90's Music" single, Kimbra's album title and release month were also included in the press release. What format and of course all the details of the track list and artwork probably aren't too far away.

Also kind of obvious now why her tour with Janelle Monae down under was titled the "Golden Electric Tour." Which it probably is worth adding how Janelle had to pull out of a show and the dates until May 26th due to some kind of health issue. I haven't seen any details, but Kimbra posted a get well wish to Janelle the other day after she had to bow out of a show the other night.

5/4/14 2:13PM



The first single is titled "90's Music" and I'm just guessing, but I think it was played on Triple J yesterday or early this morning and someone may have ripped it and it was shared on the Tumblr Link below.

Odd tune to say the least, but take this 1st track with a grain of salt given the assortment of guests showing up on this record.

Someone also claims on twitter, the album title and more details will be announced per Triple J in the next week or 2. The fact Kimbra has been teasing with cryptic comments on fb/twitter about it.



The beetle wings are rustling with whispers of what's to come!!!



http://empireofkimbra.tumblr.com/post/84701084271/kimbra-90s-music

image

Check Out/Stream a 90's music MIX Kimbra made


Also here's a live version of 1 of the new tracks "Madhouse."

Sunday, August 10, 2014

Revolution Harmony: Steven Wilson + Tom Morello with some Rappers

People are dogging this, but actually this isn't bad. The basic melody and music composed is decent. And the rapping, honestly works well with it. Not that the rapping is the most outspoken, badass, poignant thing out there, but it doesn't necessarily have to be.

The proceeds to the money for the downloads for this go to http://hoperuns.org

which just per their frontpage on their site says:

Hope Runs is a non-profit organization that uses running to empower AIDS orphans in Kenya with the tools of personal health, social entrepreneurship, and education. Read about us in the press, watch our videos, and explore the rest of our site!



Out 28 July 2014. All proceeds go to HopeRuns.org
(c) 2014 Revolution Harmony
BUY NOW on iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/album/hello-...
http://RevolutionHarmony.org | https://Twitter.com/RHism


In memory of the great Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela (1918-2013)

Featuring:
Tom Morello - guitar solos
Eric Wainaina - vocals, lyrics
Madchild - vocals, lyrics
Steven Wilson - vocals, lyrics by Messiaen
Kool Keith - vocals, lyrics
White Noize - vocals, lyrics
Stefan Loh - guitar
Ray Holroyd - music (composing/arranging/programming)

Produced by Ray Holroyd at Revolution Harmony in Vancouver, Canada
Recorded by everyone at various studios in Canada, USA, Kenya & UK
Mixed by Rohan Onraet at The Tower of Power in London, UK
Mastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound in New York, USA
Art & Design by Maria Picassó in Barcelona, Spain

HELLO

Power to the people, our voice is lethal
We can come together now, everybody's equal
I can see their plans, it is see-through
Lying and deceitful, nowadays I'm trying to be peaceful
I have let love into my heart, music helped that
When it comes to lyrics, I'm a fire-breathing hellcat
Planets have aligned, feel the good vibrations
Now we feel alive, it's a new sensation
Now I'm feeling fine, never lose my patience
Harmony, revolution, a true live nation
Once I was a sinning beast, music gives me inner peace
John Lennon, all you need, Paul McCartney, let it be
Never be afraid of the word Love, hands hold the white dove
Future for the kids that I dream of
Used to feel trapped, was surrounded by evil
My music set me free, one love, one people

Everywhere you go, seems apropos
To show a little love and let the people know
As the world turns, far as you're concerned
There's never been a wall that love can't burn
Hello! Hello! Hello!

Unify the culture, love drawn from the synergy
Universal language spoken in the form of a symphony
Music is a source of divinity
Thoughts are orchestrated, audible
They're transporting me lyrically
From your data chip to your desktop
Straight to your MP3, making your head nod, let's rock
My heart's driven by harmony
Every bar I breathe is synchronistically
A part of my body's armoury
We impact the world with everything we do and say
I ain't in this for vanity, I'ma prove my claim
There's redemption in my songs like the voice of Marley
Be the change I wanna see like the choice of Gandhi
Alpha rhythms connected up to my joints to charge me
Celebrate the revolution, come and join the party

Play bird songs to those who dwell in cities
Paint colours for those who see none

Life struggling to our destiny
It'll be a venture for my people to believe
The colour no boundaries
Skin beautiful as Richard Lampen
With his queen around a tree
No starving the rich might sacrifice
So the Nubian kids can eat
Their houses and ceilings
Like colour schemes on parakeets
Don't get souped up and do a jinx
Give up your Yankee game box seats
Selfish gentlemen trying to live elite