Friday, October 2, 2015

Mutemath - Vitals (2015-2016)

9/30/15 10:42PM-10/2/15 11:45PM


1. Joy Rides
2. Light Up
3. Monument
4. Stratosphere
5. All I See
6. Vitals
7. Composed
8. Used To
9. Best of Intentions
10. Bulletproof
11. Safe If We Don't Look Down
12. Remain

Release Date pushed back to November 13th per the message you get by signing up to the Fanclub on their official website.

Why/ I'm sure there's good reason. However, this of course pushes it past my Halloween Deadline thus it won't be in my end of year 2014-2015 countdown, etc.

So be it, although it reminds me a little of Ne Obliviscaris last year with Citadel. And it more or less got let behind for this year, although that has more to do with it, than it coming in the very beginning of the new year.

It still comes down to how good it is, etc. But certainly when I put out my anticipation and countdowns for 2015-2016, Vitals will be on mine and more or less nobody else's, assuming it's pretty good if not great, etc.

8/18/15 12:30PM

The 1st single is out today titled "Monument" (streaming per facebook, or below on YouTube. It has that 70's vibe to it like on Odd Soul that I really love.

The Track List posted per Paul Meany on Twitter today 8/18

Also as far as venues being small for the tour, I guess the band may have requested it, which I guess I can understand, maybe since they may want to play to a more intimate setting, which they haven't in many years. But the Minneapolis show is sold out still, and a standing room only show at The Entry, isn't the most desirable thing, even as much as I love them live.

But never say never, I may find some way to try and go, regardless.

8/5/15 1:38PM
October 16th release date per this link

Very intrigued about this album and glad there is a release date finally. However, I'm still miffed and mystified by the fact the tour date in Minneapolis is at The Entry and hasn't been moved for this *Grammy Nominated* band, lol.

5/22/15 10:16PM
On the surface, this seemed a little too cryptic to follow. But I'll admit, I didn't put the 2 and 2 together with their revealing images this past week to actually SPELL IT OUT(now I have, and by cropping the image below).

I still say some more specific, credible detail about this should be included. A release date, or even just by saying "Our new album is called Vitals" or something.

But whatever, I'm going with this and the spelling-out seems to be clear enough. I'm not sure if rateyourmusic would love that, although with titles, they typically don't care (it's more of the artwork, release date, etc being added later).

When all that good stuff like release date, track list, likely the real album cover art (I doubt it'll be the pic there), I'll be bumping this entry of course.

Facebook link


Blogger Tricks Blogger Tricks

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Roger Waters - The Wall 2015 [Documentary/Live Performance]

What i just wrote on Facebook:
I saw Roger Waters "The Wall" documentary/live performance last night in the theater. Pretty surreal at times, and astounding visually at points. I also really liked the personal scenes of Roger driving in parts of Europe, visiting memorials for his dad and other fallen War veterans.
However, my feeling on the album itself remains the same.1/3 of it I love, 1/3 I enjoy for the concept I suppose, and 1/3 is just way too over the top, melodramatic and overtly dark and psychological, and political , that I can't fathom enjoying to a large degree.
I only can imagine if he or another band had the money, time and people involved with such a spectacle, for an album I do feel more fondly about, even say The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway . I would probably be able to fully appreciate the accomplishment that Roger and crew pulled off.
I also really liked most of the Q&A between Roger and Nick Mason (Official) afterwards, sans for the large number of questions asking or alluding to stuff with David Gilmour obviously.

I also should add, I stumbled across a live RPWL collection of Pink Floyd tunes the other day online and it reminded me why I love so much of that Pre-Dark Side Floyd stuff. A 19-minute version of "Fat Old Sun" alone gave me multiple goosebump moments.

The Faceless - The Spiraling Void

Not bad, especially the outro; although I still feel strongly, they should include keys again, which from memory, have not been all that present since their debut album Akeldama, which honestly, is the last and really only album I really love from them.

But I will have to check out their next record on the strength of this album. Their old/original? singer I guess is back.

Monday, September 28, 2015

Kimbra's Wish [Animated Video per Snow White]

Rather surreal to see and even just hear. It must have slipped my mind, or I missed it and never saw much talk about this cover she recorded last December. I guess it's from the Snow White Disney film/soundtrack.

Anyway, this dude Adam C Sager, who did the directing and sync-work must have spent quite a lot of time in the editing room.

Saturday, September 26, 2015

The Dear Hunter - The Wayfarer Volume 1 (Video)

I received this with my preorder the other day as I explained in this video. Pretty sweet book/magazine, etc.

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Dream Theater - A Change of Seasons (original demo)

Dream Theater's EP A Change of Seasons recently turned 20,

I probably won't go in-depth as I should per time. But while I do love the 23 minute piece they released in 1995 and it was the 1st official release they put out after my actually becoming a fan (I knew "Pull Me Under" going back to hearing it on the radio in 1992-1994), in May of 1995.

But I was sent via cassette tape trading from a dude from South Dakota I met at a Rush show I think, a copy on tape with some others, a circulated bootleg(s), that included this original demo version of ACOS.

edit: it was on the "Antiquities" bootleg per the description in YouTube.

And I grew to love this version more? why? I think largely, Labrie really goes all out with the falsettos especially. But also the arrangement and the use of samples as well.

Sure the production is just in demo form, etc. But I can look past that.

It also includes Kevin Moore of course, although they played it live in 1993, but I think at that point, that version resembled the EP version more so, and didn't include the "Please Don't Go!" section from memory.

Anyway, I think for all the fans who can't say enough praise for the final, EP version with Derek Sherinian, they at least should BE AWARE of this version, to know what it was like.

That all being said, I sure as hell would go for:

1) The EP finally being released on VINYL

2) A Boxed Set mastering of THIS VERSION in some format soon. I dunno if the DT guys would want to put it out at this point though. But every band does them. I could see it coming out on Vinyl and a DELUXE cd version that includes both this demo version and the 1993 live-version as well which I do think came out on 1 of the official bootlegs, along with a remastering of the final EP version.  Maybe it won't be happening on this, its 20th anniversary, but perhaps 25th in 2020?

The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra - Earth Lift (2014-2015)

9/23/15 12:41AM


September 29th  is the release date (next Tuesday).

I haven't checked out the new tracks yet as I'm currently at a show watching another good local MN band in Treading North, in fact.

But this certainly one I'm looking forward to in the next few days, as I imagine they will have copies for sale at TGCO's show with Brice Plays Drums this Friday September 25th at Harriet Brewing.

Also noteworthy is their cover of Zeppelin's "When the Levee Breaks" which I really enjoyed live.

edit: "Fish of a Feather" is awesome.

Earth Lift cover art

1. Forward Motion (Part 2) 01:47
2. You Do That 02:05
3. Fish of a Feather 05:57
4. When the Levee Breaks
5. Earth Lift
6. Swara Kakali
7. Picker Waddle
8. The Demented Waltz
9. Poison
10. Minion (Part 2)
11. Honky Bumblebee

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Vektor - Terminal Redux (2015-2016)

9/22/15 10:28PM

I'm pretty excited to hear new music from these guys again. Vektor, a band I've only grown to enjoy more with time. Stylistically, they make progressive/technical Metal that includes as much Thrash as band I've ever gotten into. But I suppose part of what makes them appeal to me so much is they have these incredibly fast sections.

I enjoy their debut album Black Future a lot, but I'll admit their 2nd record Outer Isolation from 2011, I got more attached to.

They used to based in Arizona, but they have migrated to Philadelphia in recent years and plan to do touring soon, which I think they have done here and there since moving. But they are going on tour in Europe for the 1st time per This Post, which sounds like a pretty big deal.

Hopefully they'll find their way to the Upper Midwest at some point soon as well, but in the mean time, Terminal Redux is certainly a record to look forward to.

Per the post below, it's expected in early 2016.

Facebook link

The final phases of our master plan are now complete....
The sonic wavelengths of guitars, bass, drums, and vocals have now been committed to the astral plane....
Once the mothership has examined our data, once central command has documented our progress, it will not be long yet.....
Until the 0111001001101001011001100110011001110011 of TERMINAL REDUX reach the fragile ear bones of your human skull!!

Thursday, September 17, 2015

That Drummer Guy: Native Construct Interview at PPUSA

Good interview from That Drummer Guy at ProgPowerUSA. It sounds like they really impressed a lot of people there last weekend. Probably as much as a reason I want to see their show with Between the Buried and Me at The Skyway Theatre on the Monday before Thanksgiving, November 23rd.

The Pneumatic Transit - Concerto for Double Moon (2014-2015) (ex-EAPZ guitarist)

9/17/15 2:04PM

I know this is an old entry and maybe the original entry I posted about this, etc. But it does give some context of how long this project/album has been in the works.

They have added a new Facebook Page here

The below article adds an update.

Release date is finally on October 13th

And a trailer:

I will definitely be adding a lot more in this blog, possibly as a new entry. But per the trailer and what I already know about this record, it has some amazing playing and wonderful compositions on it.

12/20/13 6:29PM
This sounds intriguing from seeing this video and write up here:

Former Exotic Animal Petting Zoo guitarist Jeff Zampillo has been at work on a new project called The Pneumatic Transit — and we’re pretty sure it’s going to blow your mind.

The band have been in the studio tracking material for their debut release, Concerto for Double Moon. While there aren’t too many details revealed yet, we caught wind that Zampillo has tapped a couple members from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra to lend their talents to the project.

Concerto for Double Moon is tentatively slated for a spring release. Here’s the latest studio video from the group. We’ll keep you posted as we go.

This is a new project from ex-Exotic Animal Petting Zoo guitarist Jeff Zampillo. Muscially, it seems to be including if not featuring or strongly emphasizing string and classical elements, which maybe has as much if not the primary reason I am curious about this.

EAPZ, unfortunately, I have never fully loved, mainly due to the screaming vocals. But the rest of their music, has some amazing moments including a lot of the guitar work. And I guess (per Wikipedia) Jeff Zampillo was not with EAPZ debut record, but on 2012's sophomore LP Tree of Tongues.

I have no idea why he left, or when exactly, but I guess if it was to focus on making orchestral music, this music may turn out all the better.

This Concerto for Double Moon is a double debut LP expected sometime in 2014 apparently. When more information is available, I'll try and pass it along in here.

edit: it just occurred to me, an orchestral debut double LP? it may not resemble it much if in any way, but this debut album does share those specific qualities with The River Empires. If somehow it's even half as good as TRE debut record, I'll be listening to it as much as I can.

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

The Dear Hunter - Act IV: Rebirth in Reprise (2014-2015)

9/16/15 6:16AM

Here's how it did its first week on the Billboard Charts. Pretty impressive, even just for a week or however long it lasts.

From Facebook

When I started writing the story for the Dear Hunter in the winter of 2004, it never occurred to me that it would reach ears beyond my family and friends. It would be easy to dismiss my career thus far as "lucky", I know it's more than that; this is all thanks to the open minds and hearts in the world who have given me and this music a chance. You all are just as responsible for this music as I am- and should be as proud of its success. I promise to you all, if you keep giving me this opportunity- the chance to be myself, to respect the audience as much as the art, and to shy far from compromise- I will never take it for granted, and will always show you all the greatest respect I can through this music. Thank you all, from all corners of my soul. 

- Casey

9/8/15 10:17PM

New video for "Waves." Well shot, and a lot of metaphors.The whole process of our main character I presume, and waves of emotion about finding love and then losing it. Having kodak pictures of his experience with this woman, etc.

Also a couple of more things:

Act IV's RATEYOURMUSIC.COM Page is just a small fraction or indicator of how well it is being received, only 5 days after its release. But for what it is worth right now, it is being rated rather well (or high) with 47 Ratings and the avg rating currently is at 3.91.'s 2015 Albums Chart hasn't been updated in a little while, but when it does, I am curious where this album may show up.

Just looking at the current Top 100, the following albums have a comparable number of ratings and all of them have a lower average rating currently:

#7 Ryan Adams - Live at Carnegie Hall 60 ratings 3.90 avg
#28 Joe Bonamassa - Muddy Wolf at Red Rocks 41 ratings, avg 3.91
#35 Blue Pills - Blue Pills Live 42 ratings, 3.86 avg
#44 Archivist - Archivist 80 ratings, 3.62 avg
#58 Devo - Hardcore Devo Live! 40 ratings, 3.83 avg
#61 Magic Pie - King for a Day 86 ratings, 3.54 avg
#63 Ty Segall - Live in San Francisco 64 ratings, 3.74
#92 Guardians of Time - Rage and Fire 69 ratings, 3.58 avg

As for a review and my take. I gave it 4-stars out of the gate. I may change that at some point, especially since I've only listened to the whole thing twice (other times, I have been interrupted and never went back to it).

But I should have a video review hopefully soon (just guessing, but it could be next Monday or Tuesday per I'm on PTO).

Also fitting how Monday is the day after their concert in Minneapolis at The Triple Rock.

The RYM 2015 Album Chart just was updated and it opens up ranked #35 with 48 ratings and an avg of 3.86. We'll see how much that may change in the next few weeks/months. If enough ratings start to happen and it stays in the top 100 or even top 50, more of the rym population may find it and rate it that would not have otherwise.

8/10/15 7:54PM

Another new track "Wait"

7/9/15 2:17PM
"Waves" is streaming

nice tune, and very much sounds like it segues to and from other tracks ("Old Haunt" and "At the End of the Earth") and one that I have not heard from memory. I know it's been played live the last few tours, and there are some live videos that I don't even recall watching; but it seems many on the forums know this song like the back of their hand from live performance, lol.

6/26/15 1:35PM

Very cool video produced/edited by Casey for the new single. I think once I've heard this record, a lot of the things in this video will make more sense, maybe just within the whole story of the "Act" records.

Great track though.

6/16/15 8:45PM

Preorders and Sept/Oct tour dates, including Sunday September 13th at The Triple Rock in Minneapolis.

Aug 19 Circolo Magnolia w/ Manchester Orchestra Milan, Italy
Aug 20 B72 Vienna, Austria
Aug 21 Strom w/ Manchester Orchestra Munich, Germany
Aug 22 Pukkelpop Hasselt, Belgium
Aug 23 Gebaude 9 w/ Manchester Orchestra Cologne, Germany
Aug 24 Magnet w/ Manchester Orchestra Berlin, Germany
Aug 25 Molotow w/ Manchester Orchestra Hamburg, Germany
Aug 27 Concorde w/ Manchester Orchestra Brighton, United Kingdom
Aug 28 Bodega Social Nottingham, United Kingdom
Aug 29 Think Tank? Newcastle, United Kingdom
Aug 30 King Tuts Glasgow, United Kingdom
Sep 01 Clwb Ifor Bach Cardiff, United Kingdom
Sep 02 Joiners Southampton, Uk
Sep 03 The Rainbow Cellar Birmingham, United Kingdom
Sep 04 Hoxton Square Bar & Kitchen London, United Kingdom
Sep 05 Bruis Maastricht, Netherlands
Sep 11 Musica Akron, OH
Sep 12 Riot Fest Chicago, IL
Sep 13 Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
Sep 15 The Loving Touch Ferndale, MI
Sep 16 The Ready Room St Louis, MO
Sep 18 Granada Theatre Lawrence, KS
Sep 19 Marquis Theatre Denver, CO
Sep 22 The Crocodile Seattle, WA
Sep 23 Doug Fir Lounge Portland, OR
Sep 25 The Boardwalk Orangevale, CA
Sep 26 Slim's San Francisco, CA
Sep 27 Strummer's Fresno, CA
Sep 29 The Roxy Theater West Hollywood, CA
Oct 01 The Observatory Santa Ana, CA
Oct 02 The Irenic San Diego, CA
Oct 03 Crescent Ballroom Phoenix, AZ
Oct 06 The Parish Austin, TX
Oct 07 Gas Monkey Bar N' Grill Dallas, TX
Oct 09 EXIT/IN Nashville, TN
Oct 10 The Loft Atlanta, GA
Oct 11 Thompson House Newport, KY
Oct 13 Rock and Roll Hotel Washington, DC
Oct 15 Union Transfer Philadelphia, PA
Oct 16 The Stone Pony Asbury Park, NJ
Oct 17 The Royale Boston, MA
Oct 21 Irving Plaza New York, NY

6/15/15 8:35PM-6/16/15 5:56AM
Just heard "Night on the Town" which is being released tomorrow (or tonight at Midnight?).

Digging it, and it does seem to fit the "Reprise" element to the title of the album, probably more than I realize after only 1 time hearing it. A 9-minute track mind you.

I'm of course very jazzed about this record, although I tend to lean towards not wearing out songs long before the release. It may not be easy in this case though.

Anyway, I'll definitely edit/update this entry in X number of hours when "A Night on the Town" is officially released.

"A Night on the Town" CDUniverse link (for those of us who don't use iTunes)

iTunes Preorder shows September 4th rel date

also  track 11 is "King of Swords (Reversed)"

edit, some comments have been mentioning the following tracks:
Bitter Suite (kind of obvious)
Untitled 1
Mustard Gas
In Cauda Venenum

6/13/15 10:46AM

Here's a teaser from the Acts tour videos Casey made in early May. I saw these already and anyone who did, but it was nice for this fan (I recall from the Fans forum) put them together like this which now is a quasi-Album trailer.

6/11/15 6:05PM

As odd as this is, it actually seems pretty likely to be accurate as I know Casey mentioned to a few fans at shows last month that Act IV would likely be released in Mid-August. But, I must say I wish whoever posted this stuff, cited a conversation or something more directly from Casey.

edit: holy crap that Bitter Suite title, lol

Or more preferably, just reading about from Casey specifically.

But, whatever, in the grand scheme of things, it shouldn't matter as it's just info. And seeing some of it on a site like cduniverse before an official press release is not unusual or anything.

Where did I see it? The Fans Forum. link


The Dear Hunter is set to release his new album, Act IV: Rebirth In Reprise on August 21 through Equal Vision!

The first single of the album is called Night On The Town, a 9 minute track that's set to be released on the 16th. You can check out the tracklist below

1 Rebirth 2:51
2 Old Haunt 4:36
3 Waves 4:12
4 At the End of the Earth 5:16
5 Remembered 3:50
6 A Night On the Town 9:00
7 Is There Anybody Here? 6:42
8 Squeaky Wheel 4:35
9 Bitter Suite IV And V: The Congregation And The Sermon In The Silt 5:40
10 Bitter Suite VI: Abandon 5:32
11 King of Swords (Reversed) 5:07
12 If All Goes Well 4:41
13 Line 3:37
14 Wait 3:20
15 Ouroboros 5:25

3/03/15 4:29PM


I'm excited for this of course, but I also can't help but see this a bit unexpectedly as I recall 2 or 3 or more interview/chats in the last year or so, Casey mentioned how there will be an Act IV (and eventually V and VI), but the record he was working on now (or next after the Symphony a year or 2 ago), was not going to be it.

But, I also recall a question or 2 about Act IV and him being rather vague about it, not denying nor really confirming it. I suppose as an artist, it's best to be more ambiguous about your future plans namely.

At any case, I certainly look forward to this. Sometime in the next few months it seems. And the live album below, which is cool. I haven't listened to much of it yet, or looked at the details on the YouTube streams, but part of me hopes (but does not expect) something from it is from the show in Minneapolis at The Varsity Theater of course.

And the upcoming "Acts" tour, would be sweet to see, but no date in Minnesota of course. I'll be curious to check out the setlists when those shows happen anyway, just out of curiosity.

More details of course about Rebirth in Reprise in due time (wouldn't surprise me rather soon, as the last interview I caught from Casey, he mentioned wanting to release this record in May if possible).

edit: here's the interview/chat Podcast I'm remembering

Letter From Casey Below

Having spent the better part of the last 6 months indoors, I’ve developed a bit of a necessary wall in regards to contact and communications, but Ill do my best in this message to convey surreal internal musings with realistic external translation.

Within the past decade spent behind The Dear Hunter moniker, it would be foolish to say I haven’t swayed with the times, and that I hadn’t rubbed elbows with thoughts of giving into the tide. There has been an always open door behind me, suggesting me to do any number of things to appeal to wider and more quantifiable audiences. However, in times when this door seemed widest of all, I always felt the need to turn and push further away.

It’s a pretty old clichĂ© - the story of a band gaining notoriety on something unique, or at the very least, something honestly themselves - trimming just enough off of who they are to fit the mold, then living out a life of diminishing creative return.

When I started The Dear Hunter, there were never any aspirations associated with fame, or sales… only aspirations associated with creative output, and a cohesive body of honest and progressive work, that at the very least could account as some sort of chronology of my creative life.

Along with that wish to constantly grow as a songwriter, came the desire to improve as a performer. This, at first, felt incredibly foreign to me - as someone who spent almost all of his time locked away creating (a very introverted behavior), the idea of such a social display was frightening. Anyone who witnessed the early shows for The Dear Hunter, can vouch for that palpable discomfort. Over time, I began to discover the live performance as an opportunity to create something new, and fleeting, each night - with an entirely different palette of instruments, both musical and human. Though the fear of the stage, and nervousness associated with outgoing interactions never left, a new feeling eclipsed them both - and with this grew the desire to improve. It was always a journey of some strange faith.

This is what I spend my time doing. My life is lovingly devoted to improving myself in all areas. Mental, emotional, physical, creative, metaphysical… I have always tried to take the same approach with The Dear Hunter, no matter how hard the adversity, whether personal or financial, I have only strived to make better art.

From this desire to grow, and through incredible fortune, I was given the opportunity to design a tour that I had never thought possible. A night devoted to performing with The Dear Hunter and a string quartet.

Luckily, Equal Vision Records was kind enough to furnish us with a system capable of multi tracking the entire tour - something we had never done before. While moments of hilarity exist (and they are wonderful), we’ve lovingly combed through these recordings to bring 10 tracks of this tour to the ears of any and all who might be interested. I hope that you feel, listening to the music, the love and excitement we felt performing.

I wanted to surprise our fans with this release, as it is my gift to you all, for supporting me over the years, and never giving up on me.  Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for your continued faith in The Dear Hunter.

I want to humbly ask you all to share this letter.  Word of mouth has always been the lifeblood of this music, and the suggestions of good friends always outweigh a well placed banner ad.

I leave you all now, scurrying back into my cave with my nose to the grindstone, preparing the next record for The Dear Hunter… It is coming along swimmingly, and I can’t wait to share it with you all.  Please keep your eyes peeled for Act IV: Rebirth in Reprise, coming later this year.

Entire Live Album Stream


01. Bring You Down
02. Procession
03. Shame
04. Girl
05. Home
06. The Thief
07. Mustard Gas
08. Progress
09. Where The Road Parts
10. Things That Hide Away

The Dear Hunter 2015 Tour Dates:
04/20  Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court *
04/23  DeKalb, IL @ The House CafĂ© *
04/24  Pittsburgh, PA @ Cattivo *
05/05  Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair #
05/06  Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair ^
05/07  New York, NY @ Gramercy Theater #
05/08  New York, NY @ Gramercy Theater ^
05/12  Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
05/13  Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel &
05/15  Chicago, IL @ Bottom Lounge &
05/19  Denver, CO @ Marquis Theatre &
05/22  Pomona, CA @ The Glass House#
05/23  Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour ^
05/24  San Francisco, CA @ The Independent &

* = Casey Creszenzo solo
# = Act II, w/ Northern Faces
^ = Act III, w/ Northern Faces
& = songs from Act II and Act III, w/ Northern Faces

Monday, September 14, 2015

The Dear Hunter Live 9/13/15 at The Triple Rock Social Club

 photo DSC01431_zpsyrawrpfn.jpg

 photo DSC01436_zpsbdjewjth.jpg

 photo DSC01439_zpsdlj06rpl.jpg

 photo DSC01442_zpsklwu4qqg.jpg

 photo DSC01444_zpsljht3f7i.jpg
I saw them last night for what I count was the 8th time in as many years, at the Triple Rock.

I believe this is the setlist, or quite close to it, with the order possibly a little different.

The Thief
Mustard Gas
The Old Haunt
Smiling Swine
The Line
A Night on the Town
Misplaced Devotion
Things That Hide Away
Where the Road Parts

The Church and the Dime
Life and Death

Pretty epic show.

I arrived around 8:45PM; the 2 openers Gates and CHON: Gates had already finished, and CHON about to start, so unfortunately I wasn't able to see Gates per I had Rosh Hoshannah dinner last night. CHON though were pretty amazing, rather technical, mathy at points. A lot of use syncopation and interplay between their guitarists and drummer. I would compare them to being maybe a bit more of a math-rock version of Scale the Summit or Animals as Leaders.

But of course The Dear Hunter then went on and put on another highly energetic, very *live* show. The set-list more or less speaks for itself. We got "The Line" which I guess some other shows got "Bitter Suite IV and V: The Congregation and the Sermon and the Slit"

A lot of the Act IV tunes sounded great live. I will say, the mix at The Triple is normally pretty good, compared to other venues. Last night it was hit and miss, as at point it was clear the guitars were a lot higher than things like the vocals or keyboards, as at points I only really could hear them. But that was probably only in isolated moments.

The Crowd was rather large, in fact maybe the largest crowd I've ever been to at a The Dear Hunter show. The Entry show a couple of years ago probably had 200-250 people, I'd guess last night was around 300 or more. I think many came for CHON though, which happens sometimes depending on the openers. Regardless though, it was quite a lot of people to see them, even compared to past years, namely when they've headlined.

Baby steps I guess in terms of a following. Casey mentioned it multiple times how grateful they were to see that many people there for them, and even surprised initially how crowded it was.

Friday, September 11, 2015

All Things Must Pass: Tower Records Documentary (10/16/15)

LA Times Link of Movies coming out Sept-Nov 2015

Lot of other pictures I want to anticipate on that list, including the Kate Winslet/Danny Boyle/Aaron Sorkin movie "Steve Jobs"

But the main one I saw is the listing for the Tower Records documentary Colin Hanks spent many years making, showing a October 16th release date.

Now whether it manages to come to Minnesota is a different story. I should check my upcomings email from Landmark and the Film Club and see if it has been mentioned. If not, I also wonder if it might be at The Twin Cities Film Festival which happens around that time as well.

Cynic - Rest in Peace? (again)

9/11/15 6:01AM

Sean Reinert in response

From Cynic's Facebook

Instead of playing into the "tit for tat" game of trying to defend any accusations of unscrupulous behavior on my part, with regards to the split of Cynic (Paul and I: Two people, Not three) would be childish. But he's caught in a lie below saying he can't post and I took over the page which is obviously not true. I'll leave it at that. I can't physically stop Paul from playing CYNIC's music with other musicians, but it won't be CYNIC, merely Paul playing CYNIC songs with hired guns, which as stated he's wanted for a while. This isn't the way I wanted things to work out. 


9/10/15 10:07PM

Well apparently the earlier announcement was a 1-way thing as
Paul Masvidal posted on FB

Dear fans and friends, this is all news to me. I just landed from Japan and my inbox was exploding. Sean didn't confer with myself or Malone about Cynic's official breakup or the tour being cancelled. I'm honestly somewhat relieved it's finally over since it's been quite challenging over the years but I'm also trying to figure out how to possibly salvage this tour (with a new drummer) since the damage he's causing by pulling out at this last minute is inconceivable for me at the moment. Please share this message with friends or fans as Sean has taken me off our FB page so I can't access it at the moment. Love to you all. I apologize for the drama...but sometimes life gets messy.
P.S. Cynic will continue one way or another.

I guess Cynic continuing as they are is different enough from the Focus-sound, I'm sure it will matter, but these situations are better resolved privately, typically. Hopefully Paul and Sean will be calm the flames soon.

9/10/15 2:38PM
I guess I can't be totally surprised and not incredibly down about this as their record from 2014 Kindly Bent to Free Us was not incredibly memorable, even compared to their previous EP Carbon Based Anatomy.

I personally love FOCUS, and the stuff they did since their comeback was not quite at the FOCUS level.

Still, it's sad to see them go. I can at least be happy I got to see them live (twice? I think, although not with Sean Malone unfortunately).

Weird/downer about them now breaking up and with uneXpect as well recently. I hope this pattern ends soon.

Facebook Link

It is with a heavy heart that I post today's CYNIC news. CYNIC is no longer an active band. Due to artistic and personal differences, the second chapter in the ‘BOOK OF CYNIC’ has come to an end.
I will say the last shows we played in JAPAN have left me with a positive charge, even though they were the last live performances with Paul, Sean Malone & I on the same stage. My longstanding creative partnership with Paul, which started when we were very young kids in south Florida, has simply endured so much friction that there is no way, from my perspective, that CYNIC can be salvaged, repaired or kept afloat by any means.

I profusely apologize to the fans who were not only expecting us in China & Taiwan (that was not our fault), but to the fans who were planning to see us in Europe next month. These things happen, unfortunately, to bands. There can be differing levels of conflicts and/or differences in opinions, musical directions, or perspectives. Sometimes these things are insurmountable, and no amount of time or effort can resolve them. This is the case with CYNIC.

This page will stay up, and of course there are our respective personal pages and websites that will continue to let everyone know what we’re doing individually.
I wish all of you love & peace.


Monday, September 7, 2015

Savatage + Trans Siberian Orchestra interview

I found this interview interesting. It's from a few weeks ago I think the day before Savatage and Trans Siberian Orchestra did a joint show/reunion thing at the Wacken festival in Germany.

I'm not sure if there is any footage from that show on YouTube, but if not, it sounds potentially incredible.

Jon Oliva, Paul O'Neill and Al Pitrelli are interviewed.

I'd love for a Savatage reunion someday, although the odds are next to zero I imagine.