Saturday, June 24, 2017

Hotel of the Laughing Tree - Hotel Junk Box (2016-2017)

Facebook

Release date as it says below is Friday June 30th.

A few months back, they shared the new song "Electric City Rivalry" which can be streamed/downloaded at https://www.hoteljunkbox.com/

And as the track list shows for Hotel Junk Box below, is part of this record.

I am biased as I love these guys and a great number of their songs. And namely, consider Terror and Everything After as an all-time classic (debut album). So naturally, my interest is rather high for any new music from them. 2015's New World Sundown I did like a good amount of as well of course.

I guess though my take on what this album may be is sort of a combination of music from different times. Kind of like Enchant's Time Lost or even Nuts and Bolts from Kevin Gilbert in some ways.

The 5 new songs, including "Electric City Rivalry," I see is where HOTLT is at now.

The b-sides and demos? sure, some gems may be found.

One song that I likely posted in the past about in here, but is probably worth mentioning again being "Son of the Iron Sheep" can be streamed and downloaded on their Bandcamp Page Here. I recall loving a ton and felt was as good as much of the Terror and Everything After work.  That track is not on this album, however, per the post below, "Boomerang" is.

I just recall between adding "Weather Maps for Nikolai" and "Son of the Iron Sheep" I was totally thinking these guys could do no wrong. And those were all during that period, which is why "Boomerang" may be the track I'm most looking forward to on this album,

But, we'll see how this goes. I'm certainly excited to get all these new tunes to hear from these guys, and as the end of that post says, they are working on their next record, which I wonder if the 5 new songs on Hotel Junk Box fit more in with this approach/style, and their next release will be something a little different? who knows. I'm also just happy they are still releasing and making music (per many other very talented bands not able or even wanting to, etc).

I'll also be sure to bump this next week or a little later with any more thoughts (or a video?). Unfortunately, I'm still amidst the process of moving my stuff into storage. My Social Media presence isn't 100%, etc. Hopefully come July though I will have more time.  But from now until as it turns out, July 3rd 6AM, I am supposed to be focusing on Boxing things up, purging, cleaning, etc.

Moving is a bitch of course.

Our new album, 'Hotel Junk Box', will arrive 6/30. The album features five new songs, as well as 14 rarities and b-sides from the Hotel vault. We wanted to compile a lil somethin' for all you cats who have been around since the beginning. The majority of these rarities have never been released. The five new jams were recorded over the past year or so, featuring AJ, Brandon, Dan A., Dan B., Jon, and Justin. Fevers and Electric City were written during the Old Dominion era, Boomerang was a Terror leftover, The Fool was a New World Sundown leftover, and The Escape Artist dates way back to '06. We 2017ified them and we're really proud with how they turned out. We hope you guys enjoy the tunes. In the meantime, we'll keep working on LP5. 

Image may contain: food

1. Fevers
2. Electric City Rivalry
3. Boomerang
4. The Fool
5. The Escape Artist
6. Duo (Demo)
7. Bad Canterbury (Live Workshop Demo)
8. Aging Archimedes (Acoustic Demo)
9. Make Waves (Demo)
10. The General's Girl (Acoustic Demo)
11. Lazarus (Demo)
12. Howlin' Lessons (Acoustic Demo)
13. Winterside (Live Demo)
14. Temple Arms (Acoustic Demo)
15. Omar the Tentmaker
16. The Guns of Soho (Instrumental)
17. Winchester Devil Grass (Demo)
18. Weathermaps for Nikolai (Live at Nice Garage)
19. Arts n Economics (Live at Nice Garage)

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Mike Portnoy: Unannounced Prog Metal "Supergroup" Coming Soon

Among the other projects Mike Portnoy has done/is doing since leaving Dream Theater in 2010:
(The Winery Dogs, The Neal Morse Band, Flying Colors, Metal Allegiance, Transatlantic, Shattered Fortress, PSMS, ex-Adrenaline Mob, ex-Avenged Sevenfold).

This new band/project adds to his resume. And as it reads below, it will be the 1st progressive metal style music he's done since leaving Dream Theater beyond Shattered Fortress really.

Besides Mike, Keyboardist Derek Sherinian who of course was a member of Dream Theater during the release of A Change of Seasons and Falling Into Infinity. And then went on to be part of Platypus and form hyis own band Planet X. Recently worked with Portnoy in PSMS.

The rest of the band?

This topic on the dreamtheaterforums goes over potentially some of it.
Bumblefoot
Members of Haken?
Eric Gillette?
And then a singer sounds like is part of this. Who?

Some mention of John Arch, although the fact he doesn't typically tour, might end that being the case. Jeff Scott Soto? Who has a prolific career including Journey and working with Derek at 1 point.

The John Arch thing would be a huge thing for me and this project, although he wouldn't be writing music with Jim Matheos presumably, which couldn't be ignored.

Thomas Giles/Rogers from Between the Buried and Me?

1 suggestion for the bassist, if it's not Billy Sheehan whose been working with Portnoy a fair amount lately, was Jason Newsted. Although he doesn't have a prog background really, but that may not matter (neither did Derek when he joined Dream Theater).

I guess when more information comes, I'll either bump this or post a new entry about this new prog metal band of Mike Portnoy's.

Facebook Link

Image may contain: text

I have a new band I'll be announcing in the summer. It is premature to give away too much information about that now but I can say that it also involves Derek Sherinian who I worked with in Dream Theater. It is the two of us with an all-star line-up. It is myself and Derek getting back together and picking up where we left off. It's music that is probably closest to Dream Theater out of everything that I have done over the last six years. I have purposefully stayed away from the prog-metal genre because I wanted to spread my wings. But I would say that doing these Shattered Fortress shows has kind of reignited a little interest in revisiting that world from me. Derek and I have formed this new band that will satisfy myself and quench the fans' thirst for something in that vein.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Timbre - Sing into the Dark [1B/Video]



Love it.

Ours - Spectacular Sight (2016-2017)

6/13/17 12:20PM

bumping this as this album is only a couple of weeks away.

And lucky enough for me, being a Black Card Holder, they were kind enough to send a sampler of 3 songs to download yesterday.

Slipping Away
Don't Lose Yourself
Across the Clouds

Love them all, "Across the Clouds" is mesmerizing and maybe my favorite among them.

We may not get a ton of information about this album until release day on the 27th per that sampler came from bandcamp and some artists have done the whole little-to-no-info with a Bandcamp release. Not even a preorder.

I'm cool with that, but still totally anxious to hear the rest of this. The reasoning behind the sampler was in the email the CD Release show on June 17th (in NJ) was supposed to have the album for sale, but I guess it won't be. But the sampler is not a band alternative.

edit: just got an Updated email.

the album is being pushed back for reasons beyond the band's control I guess. Some 40 songs were considered initially, 20 are still in the running.

So it won't be released on June 27th I guess.

This sampler certainly helps. Very excited still, it may just not come out for a few more months. No biggie.

And I do plan on buying it even for the fact as a Black Card holder, they are going to send it to me for free. I just want to give the band money regardless. Plus hardcopy, vinyl of course, etc.


 
1/25/17 7:18PM

http://www.jimmygnecco.com/jgnews/ours-record-release-party/

OURS record release party for their upcoming new record Spectacular Sight will be on Saturday, June 24th at Mexicali Live in Teaneck, NJ.  Click HERE for tickets.

OURS will perform and sign copies of their upcoming new record.  Special performances by Intrepid, Ronnie Shingelo and Hannah Gernand.  Doors 6pm.  All Ages.



11/12/16 11:18AM
Below is from the latest newsletter.

Ours new album III drops next Spring! A free download of a new song for those going to the show in NYC 1-week from tonight at the Bowery Ballroom. Hopefully that track will be streaming on their FB/Website and YouTube/Soundcloud, etc soon after.

Why the title III? Not Ballet the Boxer Part 2, etc..I can only guess it may sort of be like a 3rd Chapter (Chapter 3: Money, lol) sort of in the history of the band.

Or maybe the III symbolizes a number of things.

I also can't help but think of the band Three as well and what seems like a lot of parallels and similar fanbase in some ways.

At any case, as a huge fan of Ours, I can't wait to hear this album of course.

 photo Ours - III ad Spring 2017_zps2iqcrhch.png

FREE New OURS Song Download, from Ours Forthcoming Record III,
to everyone who attends the Bowery Ballroom show on 11.19.16!

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Subterranean Masquerade - Vagabond (2016-2017)

Image may contain: 2 people, people on stage and people playing musical instruments

Jeez another announcement, lol. Stoked for this one as I love their whole catalog including 2015's The Great Bazaar.

September 1st is the release date.

"Vagabond" by the way, I think of the Kiss Kiss song. Also cool they are signed for a 2-album deal and plan to tour extensively. Maybe North America finally? (Minnesota hopefully if so, like maybe if they open for a bigger/more well known band, etc..Opeth..Katatonia..etc)

Also worth noting is I guess this will be the 1st album without Paul Kuhr on vocals, but they have Kjetil Nordhus back (singer from Green Carnation), and Eliran Weitzman along with Tomer Pink to fill the growling need,

Facebook story

Israeli/Norwegian prog-rockers Subterranean Masquerade have signed with the Swedish label ViciSolum Productions (Persefone, Loch Vostok, a.o.) for a 2-album deal, starting off with the newly finished album "Vagabond", set for release on September 1st. The band features members of Orphaned Land and Green Carnation, and is one of the most exciting ethnic-influenced prog-artists to emerge from the underground layer these days. It's prog-rock, but it's also psychedelic 70'ies metal. It's "Jesus Christ Superstar" but it's also Israeli folklore and traditional heavy metal - all wrought through the grinder and delivered perfectly by a bunch of very talented musicians.

The album was mixed by Christer Andre Cederberg (Anathema, Tristania, etc.) and mastered by Tony Lindgren @ Fascination Street studio, which has secured the final crunchy approach in the sound, so all parameters are met for ultimate quality.

Tomer Pink (guitars) on the signing:
We all at Subterranean Masquerade are very excited to be a part of the Vicisolum family and together with them bring our music to the world. We can't wait for you to hear our new album and see you all at our shows.

The band is expected to tour extensively, in support of the album.

Line-up:
Kjetil Nordhus - Vocals
Weitzman Eliran - Growls
Tomer Pink - Guitars
Or Shalev - Guitars
Shai Yallin - Keys
Golan Farhi - Bass
Matan Or-El Shmuely - Drums
Ilan Arad - Brass אילן ארד

Subterranean Masquerade online:
www.submasq.net
www.facebook.com/submasq

Discography:
2004: Temporary Psychotic State (EP)
2005: Suspended Animation Dreams
2013: Home (EP)
2014: The Great Bazaar
2017: Vagabond

Everything Everything - A Fever Dream (2016-2017)

itunes listing

Release date August 18th.

2015's Get to Heaven I love and found to be my favorite of theirs. Definitely excited for this. the 1st single "Can't Do" which a clip of is up on their Twitter page (multiple times)

Image result for everything everything - a fever dream
1 Night of the Long Knives
2 Can't Do
3 Desire
4 Big Game
5 Good Shot, Good Soldier
6 Run the Numbers
7 Put Me Together
8 A Fever Dream
9 Ivory Tower
10 New Deep
11 White Whale
   

Saturday, June 10, 2017

Mikael Akerfeldt + Devin Townsend LEAD VOCALS Project?

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/news/general_music_news/opeths_akerfeldt_working_on_project_with_devin_townsend_every_band_member_must_be_a_lead_vocalist.html



Opeth's Akerfeldt Working on Project With Devin Townsend: Every Band Member Must Be a Lead Vocalist

"That's been missing in music now, I think - people comfortable with singing lead vocals."

Sounds intriguing. I wonder if Portnoy could be involved, although he's not really a lead singer in the traditional sense.

Steven Wilson, Daniel Gildenlow, Tommy Rogers, and others? who knows.

The Faceless - Black Star [1B] (2017)



meh, "The Spiraling Void" the single they released 2015 was really good and addictive.

This?..eh, not sure. On the surface it almost sounds like a different band. And the drums sound off.

Maybe this will grow on me.

Friday, June 9, 2017

Rare Futures - No Ordinary Love (Sade)



The wife whose a pretty big fan of Sade, and I'm not getting much of a thumbs up from her. But I think this is tight. Quite smooth, and this kind of tune fits them well.

In speaking with Gavin Castleton at The Dear Hunter show last month, he mentioned they were releasing a covers EP titled Future Castles? including Sade and some others my wife enjoys.

I'll have to share more of them when they show up.

Cloud Cult - You Never Were Alone + Pain of Salvation

So I'm seeing Cloud Cult play the full The Seeker album tonight at Northrop Auditorium in Minneapolis, with I guess the entire film sync-ed to their performance.

Pretty excited for that, including finally getting to hear/see "You Never Were Alone" live. It'll probably bring me to balling tears, but so be it. This song does every time I hear it as does a lot of the rest of The Seeker.

1 thing though I probably meant-to, but never was able to pinpoint, is a similarity in 1 thing. The little piano section about midway through "You Never Were Alone," is awfully similar to a piano part in Pain of Salvation's song "The Perfect Element."

A very sad, emotional piano part, that totally works incredibly well on both songs. And oddly enough, it was just earlier this year I heard a similarity in a Pain of Salvation song "The Taming of the Beast" with Cloud Cult's song "Sleepwalker."

The 2 bands I'm sure are totally unaware of each other, but odd how I hear these little similarities that are almost eerie.

More to add maybe at a later time about this song, but I can say, I had another dream last night where I was hanging out with Kevin Gilbert and I suggested he cover a Styx song ("Babe"? maybe) among a list I gave him some how of songs. And he was kind of laughing at me and asking me "are you serious?"..why this relates to this song, is kind of related to the whole The Seeker concept about time/space and reality. People who were gone before, and people who will come in the future.

Deepak Chopra. If ever get a chance to talk to Craig Minowa, I hope I remember to ask him about Deepak and Metaphysics.



Steven Wilson - To the Bone (2016-2017)

6/9/17 12:21PM
Haven't heard it, but here's another new song, more electronic I guess.
"Song of I" Stream 

Official Video Stream 

6/2/17 10:45 PM

"The Same Asylum as Before" Streaming Here

It's also streaming on YouTube.

Very good track. Reminds me of some of the more riffy yet catchy Porcupine Tree.



5/8/17 10:51PM-5/9/17 10:36AM

edit: official site's details including cover and some Tour dates (Europe so far)


Per the below link, the title is To the Bone and will be released on August 18th.

The image below I don't believe is a confirmed cover art, but who knows, maybe it'll end up being the cover or in the artwork for the album.

The video below is for "Pariah" and as noted, features Ninet Tayeb whose been working with Steven now for a few years (and was on Hand.Cannot.Erase if I recall).

There's also a little clip linked below from Facebook that show the track list.


5/9/17 10:30AM
Also among other details about this album (progressive pop in the vein of Peter Gabriel's So as noted in the link below), Andy Partridge of XTC (who recently wrote a great tune "You Bring the Summer" for The Monkees last album), co-wrote 2 songs I guess on this album. Which the description of "progressive pop" seems fitting in a lot of ways.

"progressive Pop" when done well, is actually one of my favorites kinds of music; and Steven has good history in that style with many songs from Porcupine Tree, Blackfield and his Solo records at times.

Also the title. It's odd how there's a lyric I recall in the new Pain of Salvation album that uses that? and also years ago, Oceansize used that phrase on Everyone into Position I recall. Common phrase, I know, but those 2 come to mind.

prog-sphere sitory




1. To the Bone
2. Nowhere Now
3. Pariah
4. The Same Asylum As Before
5. Refuge
6. Permanating
7. Blank Tapes
8. People Who Eat Darkness
9. Song of I
10. Detonation
11. Song of Unborn


Short clip




This is the track ‘Pariah’, a duet with the wonderful Ninet Tayeb.

Clip of the title track.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

The Contortionist - Clairvoyant (2016-2017)

I noticed some stuff about this one the other day. The new album from The Contortionist, Clairvoyant, which comes out on September 15th.

I enjoyed Language a fair amount, surprisingly, back in 2014. The whole "ebb and flow, ebb and flow..." I will always think of it for.

I haven't checked out the 1st single "Reimagined" yet, but I've seen mixed comments about it (different, but still good).

Preorder:http://www.2lin.cc/clairvoyant



1 Monochrome (Passive)
2 Godspeed
3 Reimagined
4 Clairvoyant
5 The Center
6 Absolve
7 Relapse
8 Return to Earth
9 Monochrome (Pensive)


Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Mutemath - Play Dead (2016-2017)

New Mutemath album Play Dead.

1st single "Hit Parade" below. I'll be honest, I noticed this pop-up in my YouTube feed and didn't recognize the title, but thought it was an old song.

It is sort of, in that Paul posted on twitter the band had been tweaking it here and there live I guess for awhile.

How this new album will compare/be received? I dunno as I know a lot of fans who didn't like the more electronic-driven Vitals from 2015. Personally, I still enjoyed that record a lot, so I'm not concerned.

https://twitter.com/MUTEMATH/status/871940295268720640

'Hit Parade' - The new single off MUTEMATH's forthcoming record 'Play Dead' - Out Now:

Saturday, June 3, 2017

Red Planet with Bill Carrothers - Red Planet with Bill Carrothers (2016-2017)

So this new album was released on April 14, 2017. I just noticed Dean Magraw post about it today on Facebook.

I likely would have known about it a little while ago per just seeing him at Black Dog Cafe in Lowertown St.Paul on the 1st Tuesday of each month, but for many reasons, really since my wedding back in September, I haven't been able to go. Maybe 2 or 3 times from memory, and I think the last was in March.

Anyway, so I immediately ordered a CD copy per the bandcamp link below which also included a Digital Download of course. And I gave it a go today.

Fantastic in a lot of places.

Jazzy, Jazz-Fusion? Jazz-Rock even at points., "Living Space" is awesome. "La Luna" "Ann R Chi Suite" among others caught my attention. "Unseen Rain" is another. slower, but still highly mesmerizing.

I adore the debut album from Red Planet Space Dust from 2009. Live record, but one of the best live records I've ever heard.

This album is mostly studio recordings. Which it is the 3-piece Red Planet of Dean Magraw (Guitars) Chris Bates (Upright Bass), Jay Epstein (drums). But of course per the title, it is a collaboration with jazz pianist Bill Carrothers, whose a name I know, but can't claim to cite anything specific. But I recall he's well respected in the Jazz world, etc.

But I can definitely see going back to this record a fair amount as I enjoyed a lot of it already. And it kind of fills my Dean Magraw-void of late, as some of the stuff reminds me of the interpretations of Coltrane, Mingus, etc I see him, Davu Seru and others perform once a month at the Dog.

Although the lineup is different, the Dean Magraw vibe is very present of course, including some sweet acoustic guitar layering. And the other Red Planet guys stand out, almost in new ways. Some brush work from Jay Epstein at times, but still some incredibly busy playing as I love from him.

And certainly Carrothers adds a lot to this. So much so, I would be very curious to see him live with Red Planet, timing allowed of course (which may not be in my cards, or even to see Dean this coming Tuesday).




1. Ann R Chi Suite 09:19
2. Big Nick 05:24
3. Come Dance With Me 03:28
4. Unseen Rain 06:24
5. Living Space 08:33
6. Music Is a Weapon of Hope and Healing 05:18
7. La Luna 08:08
8. Freedom For the Broken 02:11
9. Reflections 06:53
10. Think of One 04:35





https://deanmagraw.com/red-planet-bill-carrothers/


Small Leaks Sink Ships - Golden Calf (2016-2017)


article of "Cross Chatter" the b-side on the new Small Leaks Sink Ships 7" single "Antipode."

The band on the song

"“The song ‘Cross Chatter’ seems to wrestle with the idea that no matter which side you stand on, both social and political, humanity would rather point the finger at one another instead of taking responsibility for one’s own actions. The track reiterates the fact that, ‘it’s all the same.'”


We’re pleased to bring you the premiere of Small Leaks Sink Ships’ new song “Cross Chatter” (listen below). The track is taken from the band’s forthcoming album Golden Calf, which is scheduled to be released at the end of summer 2017 on Lefse Records.

"Dancing Devil" and this song are both awesome, and with my love for their last record Face Yourself and Remove Your Sandals, I'm pretty excited about Golden Calf.

"End of the Summer" Suggests September of course, so maybe by the 3rd or 4th week of September or early October, it comes out within my Calendar Year for albums ending of Halloween.

Friday, June 2, 2017

Bucket List of Artists I've yet to see Live

This was a list I made in 2013.

The Reign of Kindo
Imogen Heap
Hotel of the Laughing Tree
Fish
Andre Matos
Jan Hammer
Eric Johnson
The River Empires
Pepe Deluxe
Vuvuzela
Faith No More
Godspeed You Black Emperor
Arch Matheos/John Arch
Zak Stevens
Gatherer
Archive
Agalloch
Sigur Ros

I can't think of any off the top of my head to add other than Fjokra and Small Leaks Sink Ships for sure. Some others? bands like Bent Knee, iamthemorning, Textures, Spawn of Possession, Major Parkinson, Bruce Peninsula, Neverending White Lights, 22.

And I can remove thankfully Agalloch (2015), Godpseed You Black Emperor and SikTh (2016), and hopefully in a couple of months The Reign of Kindo.

Vuvuzela/Kiss Kiss (but maybe not Josh Benash), Fish, Andre Matos and The River Empires (but not necessarily Jessy Ribordy and possibly other projects of his) all seem pretty unlikely per they seem somewhat retired.

Which leaves among some of those, people like Imogen Heap and maybe John Arch/Arch Matheos being the longest wait.

I suppose I am missing some others like U2 or even Paul McCartney. But that has a lot to do with cost and crowd-size, although I felt the same about Springsteen many years ago, and then was lucky enough to get tickets from my Aunt who ended up with extra tickets that were better than the original ones she got.

The Reign of Kindo - Dreams (Fleetwood Mac, Acoustic)



Wonderful new cover of this Fleetwood Mac classic.

Per their Patreon it can be downloaded of course.

They also of course shared a new song the other day "Return to Me" which is quite good. Love the way it gradually builds.

6 new songs and other stuff have been included in their Patreon. And it's interesting it says they are bringing in almost $3200 per song, which is actually pretty incredible if you think about it.


EDIT: I'm finally going to get to see THE REIGN OF KINDO LIVE ON AUGUST 27TH, 2017 AT THE AMSTERDAM BAR AND HALL OPENING FOR JASON RICHARDSON

Image may contain: text

Thursday, June 1, 2017

The Beatles - Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Giles Martin Remixes)

50 Years Ago today, June 1st 1967, Sgt Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band was released by The Beatles.

A landmark record that opened up the flood gates for modern music, rock and roll, and THE ALBUM FORMAT in general.

And now The Beatles have released a Deluxe/Anniversary REMIX version in a huge Boxed Set, etc.

And 1 I may have to pickup soon. But in the mean time, I am finding means to check it out online. And as I the other day posted on Facebook

The Beatles Sgt Pepper's Giles Martin remix is pretty surreal to hear. It sounds like if the album were recorded last week as opposed to 50 years ago.
I can't help but wonder what other records, namely from a similar period, would sound like with similar treatment.

And I'm listening to these again today, back-to-back, track-by-track with the 2009 Remaster/Reissue that I can conclude is in Mono, like many older recordings.

But even beyond the fact the 2017 Giles Martin (George's Son of course) remixes are in Stereo, there is A LOT MORE to them. They sound much more FULL and LAYERED.

Many sections are heavily BOOSTED to the point on the 2009 version you could barely hear them.

And this mind you is listening WITH HEADPHONES ON. Which frankly, can make a very big difference.

I guess I sort of feel like this is Sgt Pepper's reborn, recaptured, touched up, etc and clarity sounds incredible. Almost like they were playing these songs right in front of me live at times.

I suppose some songs differ in the changes than others. "When I'm 64" I suppose just sounds a little boosted. There aren't huge amounts of tracks brought up or anything.

But like "Being for the Benefit of Mr.Kite" and "Within You Without You," 2 of my favorites on Sgt Pepper's really sounds fresh and modern in the up-ing of the levels and clarity.

I can't imagine what many other records from this period of time (late 60's, maybe up through the mid 70's) might sound like with this level of mix improvement.

Now I suppose many prefer the original mixing and even just in Mono, for nostalgia and just wanting it to exist from the time it was made. Myself? I dunno now. This may not hold up over time and I'll just feel the album is still best as it always was, in the original mix. But regardless, this is something cool to check out in the short term for this album and hopefully others (just Abbey Road alone makes me awfully curious).




Offa Rex - The Queen of Hearts (2016-2017) [The Decemberists + Olivia Chaney]

6/1/17 12:25AM

Saw this new video of "Blackleg Miner" on the Drowned in Sound message board.  Will give it a go later. I must say, this project/album has me a fair amount more intrigued than I would ever have expected.

This album could be a sleeper for the end of the year.


 

5/11/17 9:56AM

edit:

http://www.nonesuch.com/artists/offa-rex

Album is titled "The Queen of Hearts" and is being released on July 7th.

Preorder

offa-rex-1494249992
1  The Queen of Hearts  3:56
2  Blackleg Miner  2:22
3  The Gardener  4:59
4  The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face  3:31
5  Flash Company  4:15
6  Old Churchyard  4:07
7  Constant Billy (Oddington) / I’ll Go Enlist (Sherborne)  1:56
8  Willie o’ Winsbury  7:30
9 Bonny May  6:32
10  Sheepcrook and Black Dog   4:35
11  To Make You Stay  5:02

http://www.avclub.com/article/decemberists-unveil-new-folk-side-project-offa-rex-254844

in the vein of a 60's and 70's British Psych/Folk Revival, which doesn't sound like they are branching out incredibly, sans for using Olivia's vocals I suppose. The "Queen of Hearts" interpretation is nice though.

The Harpsichord on it does add something. I guess given my lack of love for their last couple of albums, this could be a welcome diversion.


SikTh - The Future in Whose Eyes? (2016-2017)

6/1/17 10:50AM

Album Stream. 

Will give it a go later and/or tomorrow at work.

Release date is of course tomorrow, June 2nd.


5/15/17 12:05PM

new song "Golden Cufflinks"

*will check out later tonight*

3/31/17 10:14AM
New album coming on June 2nd The Future in Whose Eyes? 

and 2nd song/single along with the usual preorder links, etc.

Stoked of course. Will have to check out the new track "Vivid" later tonight. A reposting of "No Wishbones" is also at the bottom, from like a month ago.

Still can't find a Track List yet though.

Also am curious to hear their new 2nd singer for a full album, etc.

Preorder Link 1
2nd Preorder Link

The kings have returned!
SikTh reveal The Future In Whose Eyes? new studio album details and pre-orders - http://www.sikth.band/

Sikth are back! The Watford mathcore sextet that stumbled upon a sound unexplored, who devised their own Morse code of metal – one that mushroomed into labyrinthine detours and tangents, that ultimately lead to the birth of the djent metal, the band’s whose legacy gave the inspiration for bands like Protest The Hero, TesseracT, Animals As Leaders and Periphery after their hiatus in 2007, are back, with what will be, one of the finest albums of 2017 - The Future In Whose Eyes?

Due to be released on 2nd June on Millennium Night, the newly created label imprint from Snapper Music, home of Peaceville Records and Kscope.

Dan Weller, SikTh’s guitarist and producer proudly states "Ever since SikTh was formed way back at the turn of the century we've tried to self improve as musicians and as song writers. We take our music very seriously. This record feels like the one we've always wanted to make. We spent over a year writing it and pushed ourselves extremely hard - sometimes too hard. Opacities was the rebirth of SikTh but 'The Future...' is our statement - I want this album to define us. I don't care how over ambitious it sounds - we want this record to be heard by every metal fan on the planet."

Pre-order for 2nd June release on Millenium Night - http://www.sikth.band/


No automatic alt text available.



Tuesday, May 30, 2017

REACT TO 89.3's top 893 Artists (+ My still Incomplete List)

So I have been sitting on this for a few days, after finally finishing copy+paste+edit the format of 89.3's 893 Essential Artist List; and also continuing to add to My Own Personal List.

So the crossover came to I count 114, which I bolded with the list below.

And I count 684 Total Artists at this point.

Among some changes in how my list was compiled and what artists crossed-over:

-I included many what I call "Fringe" artists. Artists that I like 1 album from or at least a decent number of songs. Some even largely per nostalgia
-I can assume I am missing many artists on my list still, especially in genres outside of Rock and Pop Music. For example, I never added or bolded any of the Classical Composers, which I should have I suppose.
-Many artists show up more than once in a band as a solo artist, Or in multiple bands, etc. Or even in the case of Crosby, Stills, Nash and/or Young, twice, since they did release some music with and some without Neil Young.

That being said,
114 out of 893 is 12.8%
114 out of 684 is 16.7%

so my 20% guess in the previous entry was a bit high, and only supports my feeling about MY TASTE and I suppose largely per the listener-base of 89.3 (or at least who decided to vote, which I thought I heard Brian Oake say last Thursday some 3000 voters participated. If memory serves me correct, the number for the 893 Albums in 2016 was a lot higher than that. Like maybe 11 or 12 thousand, but I'd have to look it up).

I haven't seen it, but I would go for seeing the list of votes and what artists didn't make it, etc. I am awfully curious for example if many others voted for Dream Theater. If it is shared somewhere online, I'll try and edit/link it here.

Anyway, so while I am happy to see some of my favorites make it, like the 5 of the big 6 Prog bands (no Emerson Lake and Palmer pathetically), and 2 of them I voted for I guess being Rush and Genesis. There's still a ton of "Essential" to their listeners, artists that I don't care for or even hate hearing. I.e. 12%? 1 out of every 8 artists' songs among the group they played I actually find "Essential." Which of course means 7 out of every 8 I don't. Thus, I should only be tuning in once every 8 songs, lol.

But I was thinking about this and seeing the songs they played for each artist, and I guess I would go for selecting 1 song from each of MY LIST. Or at least a large percentage of them.

I'm not sure when I will do this, and likely in another brand spanking new entry. But hopefully sooner than later. Maybe even with YouTube embeds or at least links (it would probably be a massive length entry with 684 or whatever, YouTube Video embeds of course).


Here's a list of many, although not all 114 of them.

Crossover:
Black Sabbath
Broken Social Scene
Buckley, Jeff
Clapton, Eric
Cloud Cult
Crosby Stills Nash and Young
Daft Punk
Decemberists, The
Dire Straits
Doors, The
Drake, Nick
Duran Duran
Electric Light Orchestra
Faith No More
Gabriel, Peter
Gaye, Marvin
Genesis
Godspeed You! Black Emperor
Gogol Bordello
Hall and Oates
Hawkwind
Heap, Imogen
Iron Maiden
Jane's Addiction
Jethro Tull
Joel, Billy
John, Elton
Kansas
King Crimson
Messersmith, Jeremy
Metallica
Michael, George
Mingus, Charles
Monae, Janelle
Monkees, The
Moody Blues, The
Murder by Death
Muse
New Pornographers, The
Parker, Charlie
Police, The
Reinhardt, Django
Rush
Rouse, Josh
Rundgren, Todd
Simon, Paul
Simone, Nina
St.Vincent
Steely Dan
Stevens, Sufjan
Sting
System of a Down
Van Halen
Wilson, Brian
XTC
Yeah Yeah Yeah's
Young, Neil
Zappa, Frank

MY ESSENTIAL ARTIST LIST

My Ballot
1a. Marillion
1b. Kevin Gilbert (Solo, Toy Matinee, Giraffe, NRG, Kaviar)
3. Fates Warning/Arch John/Arch/Matheos
4. Rush
5. dredg
6. Genesis
7. Ours
8. The Dear Hunter
9. Dream Theater
10 King's X

16 above + 668 below = 684

*Shels
100ft Snowman
10cc
22
24-7 Spyz
A-ha
AM
Abandoned Pools
Adebisi Shank
Aereogramme
Afro Celt Sound System
Agalloch
Age of Rockets, The
Agent Fresco
Akphaezya
Alcest
Allman Brothers, The
Alpha Rev
Alter Bridge
Anakdota
Anathallo
Anathema
Anderson Jon
Anekdoten
Anglagard
Angra
Animals as Leaders
Animosity
Annuals
Antlers, The
Apes and Androids
Apex Theory, The
Apples in Stereo, The
Appleseed Cast, The
Arafel
Arc Angels
Archive
Arsis
As Tall as Lions
Aston Shuffle, The
Atkins, Nicole
Atomic Opera
Avenged Sevenfold
Averse
Aviatic
Baltic Sea, The
Banco del Mutuo Soccorso
Barnum Meserve, The
Battle Circus
Battles
Beach Boys, The
Beardfish
Beastie Boys, The
Beatles, The
Bed of Stars
Behemoth
Bend Sinister
Bent Knee
Besnard Lakes, The
Best Friends Forever
Between the Buried and Me
Bewitched, The
Bhattacharya, Debashish
Biffy Clyro
Big Fresh
Big Sleep, The
Big Wreck
BigElf
Black Mountain
Black Sabbath
Blackfield
Black Ribbon
Bleu
Blind Faith
Blind Guardian
Bloc Party
Boiled in Lead
Born of Osiris
Boston
Bouchelle, Lisa
Bowie, David
Brand X
Bravo, Scott
Brice Plays Drums
British Theatre
Broken Social Scene
Brubeck, Dave
Bruce Peninsula
Bruford
Brute Heart
Bubblemath
Buckley, Jeff
Burman, Sandip
Burst
California Guitar Trio
Call Florence Pow
Camel
Canon
Canon Blue
Capital Cities
Captain Beyond
Caravan
Cardiacs
Carmen
Casket Salesman, The
Cavil at Rest
Centaur Rodeo
Chap, The
Chic
Chroma Key
Chromeo
Clann Zu
Clapton, Eric
Clarke Stanley
Classical Jazz Quartet
Cloud Cult
Cobham, Billy
Coheed and Cambria
Collective Unconscious
Conditioned Response
Costello, Elvis
Cream
Crimson Glory
Crippled Black Phoenix
Crooked Fiddle Band, The
Crosy, Still and Nash
Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young
Crotchduster
Cyclamen
Cynic
D'Rivera Paquito
D.F.A.
Daft Punk
Dalton, Jenny
Dark Tranquillity
Davis, Miles
Dead Letter Circus
Death
Decapitated
Decemberists, The
Deep Purple
Deerhoof
Demians
Di Meola, Al
Diablo Swing Orchestra
Dikta
Dio
Dire Straits
Disillusion
Dissociatives, The
Distrails
Dixie Dregs, The
Djam Karet
Do Make Say Think
Dog Fashion Disco
Doors, The
Doves
Drake, Nick
Dream the Electric Sleep
Dufour, Antoine
Dukes of Stratosphear, The
Duran Duran
East of the Wall
Ebb and Flow, The
Ebu Gogo
Echolyn
Editors
Eight-Head
Electric Light Orchestra
Electromagnets
Eluveitie
Emanuel and the Fear
Emerson Lake and Palmer
Empires (MN)
Enchant
End, The
Eroica
Eternity X
Evergrey
Everything Everything
Exotic Animal Petting Zoo
Extreme
FM
Faceless, The
Fair to Midland
Fairport Convention
Faith No More
Falling Up
Family, The
Family Crest, The
Far-Less
Fields
Fish
Fitzgerald
Five Fifteen
Fjokra
Fleck and the Flecktones, Bela
Fleetwood Mac
Flower Kings, The
Flowers, Rachel
Fluid Ounces
Flying Tourbillon Orchestra
Foals
For the Imperium
Forest Park
¡Forward, Russia!
Freak Kitchen
Gabriel, Peter
Gagnon, Francesca
Galactic Cowboy Orchestra
Galactic Cowboys
Gatherer
Gathering, The
Gaye, Marvin
Genders
Genghis Tron
Gentle Giant
Giant
Glen Hansard
Gloomcatcher, The
Gnecco, Jimmy
Goblin
God is an Astronaut
Godspeed You Black Emperor
Gogol Bordello
Gojira
Gong
Gospel
Gotye
Gracepoint
Grammatics
Graph
Grateful Dead, The
Great Confinement, The
Green Carnation
Grimus
Gryphon
Guante
Gutter Twins, The
Gypsy
H.P. Lovecraft
Hackett, Steve
Haken
Hall and Oates
Hammer, Jan
Hammers of Misfortune
Hancock, Herbie
Hands
Hands of Despair
Happy Body Slow Brain
Happy the Man
Harrison, George
Haslam, Annie
Hawkwind
Heap, Imogen
Hedges, Michael
Helloween
Hendrix Experience, The Jimi
Henry and the Nightcrawlers
Herriges, Greg
Hills Like White Elephants
Himmelman, Peter
Homesick for Space
Hope of the States
Hotel of the Laughing Tree
House Harkonnen
House of Fools
Howe Steve
Huey Lewis and the News
Human Radio
I Mother Earth
iamthemorning
Iced Earth
Iced Ink
Ideology
Ihsahn
Il balletto di bronzo
Immortal Technique
In Vain
Incubus
INXS
Irglova, Marketa
Iron Maiden
Izz
Jackson, Michael
Jane's Addiction
Janus
Jared Micah and Hats
Jazzkamikaze
Jelly Jam, The
Jellyfish
Jethro Tull
Job for a Cowboy
Joel, Billy
John, Elton
Johnson, Eric
Jolly
Josh Benash
Josh Benash
Journal
Journey
Judgement Day
K Sera
Kacica
Kaddisfly
Kamelot
Kansas
Karen O
Karnivool
Khan, Irshad
Khan, Nusrat Fateh Ali
Kimbra
King Crimson
Kiss Kiss
Klimt 1918
Kopecky
Kraan
Kunek
Kuti, Fela
Lagrene, Bireli
Late of the Pier
Le Orme
Led Zeppelin
Lehto and Wright
Lemur Voice
Lennon, John
Leprous
Linden, Mike
Liquid Tension Experiment
Little Hans
Little Tin Box
Live
Local Natives
Long Distance Calling
Magellan
Magraw, Dean
Mahavishnu Orchestra
Major Parkinson
Malajube
Malice Mizer
Mansun
March Fourth Marching Band
Margot and the Nuclear So and So's
Marketa Irglova
Mars Volta, The
Martyr
Mason Proper
Mastermind
Mastodon
Mathews, Scott
Matisyahu
Matos, Andre
Mayer Hawthorne
McCartney, Paul
McGill's Handfarm, Scott
Media Addicts
Mehdi
Men Women and Children
Meniscus
Menomena
Mercies
Mercury Tree, The
Messersmith, Jeremy
Metheny, Pat
Metropolis
Mew
Michael, George
Microfilm
Midlake
Mingus, Charles
Minus the Bear
Miracles of Modern Science
Miriodor
Mitchell, Joni
Moby Grape
Monae, Janelle
Monk, Thelonius
Monkees, The
Moody Blues, The
Moonloop
Morrison, Van
Morse, Steve
Most Serene Republic, The
Mother Falcon
Mothers of Invention, The
Mr. Bungle
Murder By Death
Muse
Mutemath
Mutyumu
My Latest Novel
N.W.A.
Native Construct
Ne Obliviscaris
Necrophagist
Negroni's Trio
Nektar
Nesmith, Michael
Neverending White Lights
New Pornographers, The
NewVillager
Nexus
NighFlight Orchestra, The
Nile
No-Man
NOMIA 
Nordic Giants
Northern Abbey
Nosound
note.
O.H.M.
OSI
Obscura
Ocean Machine
Oceansize
Oddland
Oedipus
of1000Faces
Oho
Olivia Tremor Control
Oldfield, Mike
Operahouse
Opeth
Opus Dai
Orion Experinece, The
Orphan Bloom
Orphaned Land
Osbourne, Ozzy
Other County Ensemble
Other Lives
Owsley
Ozric Tentacles
Pain of Salvation
Painted in Exile
Palmer, Amanda/Dresden Dolls, The
Panic at the Disco
Paper Route
Par Lindh Project
Parker, Charlie
Parsons Project, The Alan
Paulson
Pax Cecilia, The
Pentangle
People for Audio
Pepe Deluxe
Persefone
Phideaux
Phillips, Anthony
Pink Floyd
Planet X
Plant, Robert
Platypus
Police, The
Polyphonic Spree, The
Porcupine Tree
Power of Omens
Premiata Forneria Marconi
Prescence of Soul
Presto Ballet
Prince
Procol Harum
Protest the Hero
Proto-Kaw
Psychotic Waltz
Public Enemy
Punch Brothers
Pure Reason Revolution
Pushmonkey
Put Down the Muffin
Queen
Queensryche
Quiet Room, The
Quicksilver Messenger Service
R.E.M.
RX Bandits
Radical Face/Clone
Ramona Falls
Rare Futures
Receiving End of Sirens, The
Red Paintings, The
Refused
Reign of Kindo, The/This Day and Age
Reinhardt, Django
Renaissance
Return of Simple
Return to Forever
Revere
Reynolds, Tim
RisingSide
Rite of Strings, The
River Empire, The
Riverside
Riverside
Rockwells, The
Rolling Stones, The
Romens, The
Rouse, Josh
Roxette
Royal Hunt
Royal Veil, The
Rundgren, Todd
Russian Circless
Saadiq, Raphael
Sacred Ground (Beef)
Saigon Kick
Sanchez, Poncho
Sans Seraph
Santana
Savatage
Save us from the Archon
Scale the Summit
School of Seven Bells
Scorpions, The
Sculptured
Sean, Timmy
sElf
Serna, Erick
Serotone
Shadow Gallery
Shaman
Shankar, Ravi
Shaolin Death Squad
Sharma, Shivkumar 
She Said Destroy
Shelter Red
Shiina Ringo
Sholi
Sigmund Droid
Sigur Ros
SikTh
Silverchair
Simon and Garfunkel
Simon, Paul
Simple Minds
Sinkadus
Sir Video
Skeleton Staff, The
Skeletons
Skid Rown
Sleepytime Gorilla Museum
Slowlands
Small Leaks Sink Ships
Soft Machine
Soilwork
Solstafir
Sonata Arctica
Sound and Shape
Soundscape
South
Spalding, Esperanza
Sparks
Spawn of Possession
Spingsteen, Bruce
Spiral Architect
Spock's Beard
Squire, Chris
St.Vincent
Stackridge
Starcastle
Stateless
Steely Dan
Stevens, Steve
Stevens, Sufjan
Stiletto Formal, The
Stills, The
Sting
Strange Maps
Strap the Button
Strata
Stratovarius
String Cheese Incident
Styx
Subterranean Masquerade
Sucre
Super 8
Superior
Superpilots, The
Supertramp
Survivor
Sussman Lawrence
Sweet
Swell Season, The
System of a Down
TNT
Talking Heads
Tangerine Dream
Tangled Thoughts of Leaving
Tea Party, The
Team Me
Tears for Fears
Textures
Thinking Plague
This City Sunrise
Three
Thurisaz
Tiles
Timbre
Time of Orchids
Tokyo Jihen
Toria
Total Babe
Transatlantic
Trans Siberian Orchestra
Tu Fawning
Tuxedo
Typhoon
U.K.
U2
Ulver
Umbrella Tree
Umphrey's McGee
Under the Influence of Giants
Under the Sun
UneXpect
Uriah Heep
Utopia
VAST
Valinor's Tree
Van Halen
Vanden Plas
Van Der Graaf Generator
Vasen
Vedera
Veirs, Laura
Vektor
Velvet Teen, The
Vennart
Victor
Vuvuzela
Waggoner, Brooke
Walking Sleep
Warpaint
Watchtower
Water and Bodies
We Are the City
Weather Report
Weathervane
Ween
Wham!
What's Left of Her
Whisper in the Noise, A
White Denim
White Willow
Who, The
Wildhearts, The
Williams Lifetime, Tony
Williams, Tony
Wilson, Steven
Winery Dogs, The
Wishbone Ash
Without Warning
Wolf Parade
Wolfmother
Wonder, Stevie
Woods Brothers, The
Wooten, Victor
Words for Penga
Woven
X-Japan
Xen
XTC
Yankovic, Weird Al
Yasmineh, Courtney
Yeah Yeah Yeah's
Yes
Yo-Yo Ma
Zappa, Frank
Zero Hour



89.3's Countdown Link (links from 1 through 893)


1. The Beatles - I Want to Hold Your Hand and Hey Jude
2. Prince - When You Were Mine and Purple Rain
3. Bob Dylan - Like a Rolling Stone and Rainy Day Woman 12 and 35
4. David Bowie - Suffragette City and Let's Dance
5. Led Zeppelin - Over the Hills and Far Away and Ramble On
6. Rolling Stones - Get Off of My Cloud
7. Nirvana - Smells Like Teen Spirit
8. Radiohead - Creep
9. Johnny Cash - Ring Of Fire
10. Pink Floyd - Arnold Layne11.
11. The Clash - London Calling
12. Michael Jackson - Rock With You
13. U2 - I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
14. R.E.M. - It's the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
15. Jimi Hendrix - Fire
16. The Replacements - I Will Dare
17. Bruce Springsteen - Born To Run
18. Neil Young - Heart of Gold
19. Aretha Franklin - Respect
20. Queen - Bohemian Rhapsody
21. Elvis Presley - Jailhouse Rock
22. Chuck Berry - Johnny B. Goode
23. Miles Davis - Blue In Green
24. Pearl Jam - Even Flow
25. Stevie Wonder - Sir Duke
26. Beastie Boys - Sabotage
27. Bob Marley - No Woman, No Cry
28. Talking Heads - Psycho Killer
29. Wilco - Casino Queen
30. The Smiths - How Soon is Now?
31. Beck - Devil's Haircut
32. Joni Mitchell - Chelsea Morning
33. The Cure - Friday I'm In Love
34. Fleetwood Mac - The Chain
35. Pixies - Where Is My Mind
36. Velvet Underground - I'm Waiting For The Man
37. Elvis Costello - (What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding
38. The Who - The Seeker
39. Beach Boys - Wouldn't It Be Nice
40. Ramones - Blitzkrieg Bop
41. James Brown - I Got You (I Feel Good)
42. Grateful Dead - Sugar Magnolia
43. Madonna - Vogue
44. Billie Holiday -Strange Fruit
45. Tom Waits - Big in Japan
46. Frank Sinatra - Fly Me To The Moon
47. White Stripes - Seven Nation Army
48. Simon and Garfunkel - Mrs. Robinson
49. Nina Simone - I Put a Spell On You
50. Van Morrison - Brown Eyed Girl
51. Bjork - Army of Me
52. Leonard Cohen - Suzanne
53. Bon Iver - Skinny Love
54. Kanye West - Flashing Lights (feat. Dwele)
55. Arcade Fire - Keep The Car Running
56. Ella Fitzgerald - Something's Gotta Give
57. Elton John - Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
58. Janis Joplin - Me and Bobby McGee
59. Doors - People Are Strange
60. Beyonce - Hold Up
61. Jack White - I'm Shakin'
62. Black Sabbath - Paranoid
63. Patti Smith - Gloria
64. Willie Nelson - Whiskey River
65. Public Enemy - Fight the Power
66. Paul Simon - Graceland
67. Carole King - I Feel The Earth Move
68. A Tribe Called Quest - I Left My Wallet in El Segundo
69. Spoon - I Turn My Camera On
70. Otis Redding - I've Been Loving You (Too Long)
71. Kendrick Lamar - These Walls
72. Eric Clapton - Cocaine
73. Marvin Gaye -What's Going On
74. Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers - Even The Losers
75. Foo Fighters - Monkey Wrench
76. Buddy Holly - Peggy Sue
77. Green Day - Welcome to Paradise
78. Hank Williams - Hey, Good Lookin'
79. John Coltrane - Giant Steps
80. Depeche Mode - Enjoy the Silence
81. John Lennon - Imagine
82. Weezer - Buddy Holly
83. Robert Johnson - Sweet Home Chicago
84. Kinks - You Really Got Me
85. Metallica - For Whom The Bell Tolls
86. Lou Reed - Walk On The Wild Side
87. New Order - Bizarre Love Triangle
88. Red Hot Chili Peppers - Under the Bridge
89. Patsy Cline - Walkin' After Midnight
90. Sam Cooke - A Change is Going to Come
91. Elliott Smith - Somebody That I Used To Know
92. Rush - Tom Sawyer
93. Nine Inch Nails - Down In It
94. The Police - Roxanne
95. Louis Armstrong - Blueberry Hill
96. Blondie - Heart of Glass
97. The Black Keys - Lonely Boy
98. Adele - Right As Rain
99. Oasis - Wonderwall
100. Husker Du - Don't Want to Know if You Are Lonely
101. The Band - The Weight
102. Joy Division - Love Will Tear Us Apart
103. The National - Don't Swallow The Cap
104.  Ryan Adams - New York, New York
105. Modest Mouse - Float On
106. Smashing Pumpkins - Today
107. Billy Joel - Only the Good Die Young
108. Muddy Waters - Mannish Boy
109 Iggy Pop The Stooges - The Passenger
110. Atmosphere - Shhh
111. Tori Amos - Cornflake Girl
112. LCD Soundsystem - Dance Yrself Clean
113. The Decemberists - The Crane Wife 3
114. The Hold Steady - Stuck Between Stations
115. Brandi Carlile - The Story
116. Tool - Stinkfist
117. Neko Case - John Saw That Number
118. Avett Brothers - Kick Drum Heart
119. Ray Charles - I've Got a Woman
120. Kate Bush - Running Up That Hill
121. Daft Punk - One More Time
122. The Sex Pistols - God Save the Queen
123. Strokes - Last Nite
124. Pavement - Cut Your Hair
125. Shins - New Slang
126. Steely Dan - Peg
127. Rage Against The Machine - Killing In The Name
128. Dolly Parton - Jolene
129. Stevie Ray Vaughan - Pride and Joy
130. B.B. King -The Thrill Is Gone
131. Trampled by Turtles - Wait So Long
132. Ani DiFranco - 32 Flavors
133. Sonic Youth - Dirty Boots
134. The Eagles - Hotel California
135. Death Cab For Cutie - I Will Follow You into the Dark
136. Brian Eno - Needle in The Camel's Eye
137. Sufjan Stevens - Chicago
138. Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Red Right Hand
139. They Might Be Giants - Birdhouse In Your Soul
140. Amy Winehouse - Rehab
141. Outkast - Hey Ya!
142. Coldplay - Viva La Vida
143. Peter Gabriel - In Your Eyes
144. Cloud Cult - Everybody Here Is A Cloud
145. Lucinda Williams - Are You Alright?
146. Etta James - At Last
147. Gorillaz - Clint Eastwood
148. PJ Harvey - Down by the Water
149. ABBA - Dancing Queen
150. Father John Misty - Hollywood Forever Cemetery Sings
151. Mumford and Sons - Little Lion Man
152. Florence + the Machine - Dog Days Are Over
153. Bob Mould - See A Little Light
154. 2Pac - California Love
155. E.L.O. - When I Was a Boy
156. Earth, Wind and Fire - September
157. Chance The Rapper - All We Got (feat. Kanye)
158. Nick Drake - Pink Moon
159. George Clinton/Parliament - Chocolate City
160. Indigo Girls - Closer to Fine
161. Lauryn Hill - Doo-Wop (That Thing)
162. The Allman Brothers - Melissa
163. Woody Guthrie - This Land Is Your Land
164. Big Star - In the Street
165. Bonnie Raitt - I Ain't Blue
166. Tame Impala - Solitude is Bliss
167. Paul McCartney - Band On the Run
168.  Kraftwerk - Radioactivity
169. Dave Matthews Band - Crash Into Me
170.  Ben Folds - Brick
171.  John Prine - Sam Stone
172.  RUN-DMC - It's Tricky
173. The Bee Gees - In My Own Time
174. The Jayhawks - Blue
175. Belle and Sebastian - The Stars of Track and Field
176. Jason Isbell - 24 Frames
177. Queens of the Stone Age - Go With the Flow
178. Alabama Shakes -Hang Loose
179.  Duke Ellington - Take the 'A' Train
180. Wu-Tang Clan - Protect Ya Neck
181. Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young - Woodstock
182. Sleater-Kinney - Start Together
183. Van Halen - Jamie's Cryin'
184. My Morning Jacket - One Big Holiday
185. The New Pornographers - All the Old Showstoppers
186.  Regina Spektor - Bleeding Heart
187. AC/DC - Back in Black
188. XTC - Making Plans for Nigel
189. Devo - Whip It
190. Cake - The Distance
191. The Flaming Lips -Do You Realize?
192. alt-J - Tessellate
193. Uncle Tupelo - Whiskey Bottle
194. Vampire Weekend - Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa
195. James Taylor - Fire and Rain
196. Frank Zappa - Peaches En Regalia
197. Aimee Mann - Humpty Dumpty
198. Guided By Voices - Hold On Hope
199. Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah
200. Conor Oberst - You Are Your Mother's Child
201. Duran Duran  - Girls on Film
202. N.W.A - Express Yourself
203. Liz Phair - Polyester Bride
204. Creedence Clearwater Revival - Fortunate Son
205. Guns N' Roses - Welcome to the Jungle
206. Sting - Shadows in the Rain
207. Fiona Apple - Better Version of Me
208. Dessa - Dixon's Girl
209. Jam - Town Called Malice
210. Fleet Foxes - White Winter Hymnal
211. The Pretenders - Stop Your Sobbin'
212. Journey - Don't Stop Believin'
213. Whitney Houston - I Will Always Love You
214. Morrissey - Suedehead
215. Al Green - Tired of Being Alone
216. Frank Ocean - Thinkin Bout You
217. Arctic Monkeys - Do I Wanna Know?
218. My Bloody Valentine - When You Sleep
219. Dawes - All Your Favorite Bands
220. George Harrison - My Sweet Lord
221. Sigur Ros - Gobbledigook
222. Neutral Milk Hotel - The King of Carrot Flowers Pt. One
223. Tegan and Sara - Walking With a Ghost
224. Fugazi - Waiting Room
225. Lucius - Turn it Around
226. Alice In Chains - Man in the Box
227. Jenny Lewis - She's Not Me
228. Loretta Lynn - Coal Miner's Daughter
229. Courtney Barnett - Three Packs a Day
230. Thelonious Monk - Round Midnight
231. Santana - Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen
232. Eminem - The Real Slim Shady
233. Lana Del Rey - Love
234. Ween - Voodoo Lady
235. Sly and The Family Stone - Everyday People
236. Soundgarden - Black Hole Sun
237. The Killers - Mr. Brightside
238. Aerosmith - Dream On
239. Hippo Campus - Way It Goes
240. The Cars - Just What I Needed
241. Roxy Music - Love is the Drug
242. Portishead - Glory Box
243. Muse - Uprising
244. Diana Ross and the Supremes - Someday We'll Be Together
245. Cat Stevens - Wild World
246. Joan Jett - Bad Reputation
247. Andrew Bird - Tenuousness
248. Dr. Dre - Still D.R.E.
249. Howlin' Wolf - Smoke Stack Lightning
250. Phish - Heavy Things
251. Dead Kennedys - California Uber Alles
252. David Byrne - Dance on Vaseline
253. Jackson Browne - Running On Empty
254. Low - Plastic Cup
255. Alanis Morissette - You Oughta Know
256. Violent Femmes - Blister in the Sun
257. Polica - Lay Your Cards Out
258. Notorious B.I.G. - Hypnotize
259. Ludwig Van Beethoven - Fur Elise
260. Drive-By Truckers - Carl Perkins Cadillac
261. Doomtree - Little Mercy
262. Janet Jackson - Rhythm Nation
263. Yes - Owner of a Lonely Heart
264. Television - See No Evil
265. Gram Parsons - Love Hurts
266. Janelle Monae  - Tightrope
267. Magnetic Fields - The Book of Love
268. B-52s - Rock Lobster
269. Joan Baez - Diamonds and Rust
270. Minutemen - Political Song for Michael Jackson to Sing
271. Frank Turner - Recovery
272. Richard Thompson - 1952 Vincent Black Lightning
273. Heart - Barracuda
274. Emmylou Harris - Wrecking Ball
275. Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings - I Learned the Hard Way
276. Roy Orbison - Oh Pretty Woman
277. Jane's Addiction - Jane Says
278. Iron and Wine - Walking Far From Home
279. Johann Sebastian Bach - Orchestral Suite No. 2 Badinerie
280. Lady Gaga - Born This Way
281. Merle Haggard - The Bottle Let Me Down
282. Slayer - Raining Blood
283. Jay Z - Izzo (H.O.V.A.)
284. Brian Wilson - Love and Mercy
285. Missy Elliott - The Rain (Supa Dupa Fly)
286. Iron Maiden - Run to the Hills
287. Pogues - A Pair of Brown Eyes
288. King Crimson - 21st Century Schizoid Man
289. Jeremy Messersmith - Miracles
290. Hall and Oates - Maneater
291. Animal Collective - My Girls
292. First Aid Kit - Waitress Song
293. John Denver - Rocky Mountain High
294. Moody Blues - Nights in White Satin
295. Warren Zevon  - Werewolves of London
296. Bad Religion - 21st Century (Digital Boy)
297. Cage The Elephant - Trouble
298. Tina Turner - What's Love Got to Do With It?
299. X - 0 Johnny Hit and Run Paulene
300. Funkadelic - Hit It and Quit It
301. Yo La Tengo - Mr. Tough
302. Lizzo - Good As Hell
303. Lumineers - Ho Hey
304. Genesis - The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway
305. Steve Earle - Lungs
306. Blur - Girls and Boys
307. Townes Van Zandt - If I Needed You
308. Moby - Natural Blues
309. Aphex Twin - Girl/Boy
310. Massive Attack - Teardrop
311. Suburbs - Love is the Law
312. INXS - Don't Change
313. Annie Lennox - Walking On Broken Glass
314. Charlie Parker - Parker's Mood
315. Pete Seeger - Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season)
316. Temptations - Ain't Too Proud to Beg
317. Dire Straits - Money for Nothing
318. Waylon Jennings - Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way?
319. Glass Animals - Gooey
320. Roots - The Next Movement
321. St. Vincent - Cruel
322. Smokey Robinson - The Tracks of My Tears323. Tragically Hip - New Orleans is Sinking
324. Mavis Staples - High Note
325. Grandmaster Flash and The Furious Five - The Message
326. Stevie Nicks - Stop Draggin' My Heart Around
327. Mason Jennings - Fighter Girl
328. Head and the Heart - All We Ever Knew
329. Bill Withers - Ain't No Sunshine
330. Paul Westerberg - Dyslexic Heart
331. Garbage - Special
332. Feist - 1234
333. Barbra Streisand - Happy Days Are Here Again
334. Counting Crows - Mr. Jones
335. Dwight Yoakam - Streets of Bakersfield
336. Soul Asylum - Somebody to Shove
337. Neil Diamond - Sweet Caroline
338. The Monkees - Last Train to Clarksville
339. Nick Lowe - (What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace Love and Understanding
340. T. Rex - Life's a Gas
341. Cocteau Twins - Heaven or Las Vegas
342. Lyle Lovett - If I Had A Boat
343. Babes in Toyland - He's My Thing
344. Motorhead - Ace of Spades
345. Soul Coughing - Super Bon Bon
346. John Lee Hooker - One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer
347. Ray LaMontagne - Trouble
348. Curtis Mayfield - Superfly
349. Of Monsters And Men - Little Talks
350. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Turkish Rondo
351. Bessie Smith - Nobody Loves You When You're Down and Out
352. Dave Brubeck - Take Five
353. Social Distortion - Ball and Chain
354. Band of Horses - Is There a Ghost
355. Psychedelic Furs - Heaven
356. Nas - Where Are They Now?
357. Fela Anikulapo Kuti - Zombie
358. The Stone Roses - I Wanna Be Adored
359. The Faces - Ooh La La
360. Gary Numan - Cars
361. De La Soul - Me, Myself, and I
362. Lorde - Royals
363. Erykah Badu - Drama
364. Little Richard - Good Golly, Miss Molly
365. Echo and The Bunnymen - The Killing Moon
366. Garth Brooks - If Tomorrow Never Comes
367. Chicago - 25 or 6 to 4
368. Tears for Fears - Head Over Heels
369. Beach House - Zebra
370. Gillian Welch - The Way It Will Be
371. Linda Ronstadt - You're No Good
372. Sturgill Simpson - Brace for Impact (Live a Little)
373. MF Doom - Rhymes Like Dimes
374. George Michael - Freedom
375. Rancid - Time Bomb
376. Everly Brothers - All I Have To Do Is Dream
377. Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Maps
378. Semisonic - Closing Time
379. D'Angelo - Sugah Daddy
380. Cheap Trick - Surrender
381. Todd Rundgren - I Saw the Light
382. Rilo Kiley - Portions for Foxes
383. Gary Clark Jr. - Ain't Messin' 'Round
384. Sade - Smooth Operator
385. Lead Belly - Where Did You Sleep Last Night
386. Cream - I Feel Free
387. Jack Johnson - Flake
388. Sister Rosetta Tharpe - Down By The Riverside
390. Faith No More - Epic
391. George Gershwin - Kickin' The Clouds Away
392. Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats - I Need Never Get Old
393. Old 97's - Good with God (feat. Brandi Carlile)
394. Supertramp - Take The Long Way Home
395. Billy Bragg - A New England
396. Silversun Pickups - Lazy Eye
397. Run The Jewels - Legend Has It
398. Weird Al Yankovic - Eat It
399. CHVRCHES - Clearest Blue
400. Eurythmics - Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)
401. Black Flag - Rise Above
402. TV On The Radio - Wolf Like Me
403. Morphine - Buena
404. Metric - Help, I'm Alive
405. Kings of Leon - Sex on Fire
406. Charles Bradley - Ain't It a Sin
407. Eddie Vedder - Hard Sun
408. Bikini Kill - False Start
409. Cyndi Lauper - Girls Just Want to Have Fun
410. Sublime - Santeria
411. Blink-182 - All The Small Things
412. Cowboy Junkies - Sweet Jane
413. Melvins - It's Shoved
414. Chic - Good Times
415. Charles Mingus - Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
416. Boston - More Than a Feeling
417. Harry Nilsson - One
418. Booker T. and the M.G.'s - Green Onions
419. Sugar - If I Can't Change Your Mind
420. Siouxsie and The Banshees - Kiss Them For Me
421. Deep Purple - Highway Star
422. Jackson 5 - I Want You Back
423. Bruno Mars - Locked Out of Heaven
424. Dixie Chicks - Not Ready to Make Nice
425. Pet Shop Boys - West End Girls
426. Phantogram - You Don't Get Me High Anymore
427. Haley Bonar - Kismet Kill
428. Barenaked Ladies - One Week
429. John Hiatt - Have a Little Faith in Me
430. Grimes - Flesh Without Blood
431. Joanna Newsom - 81
432. John Mellencamp - Hurts So Good
433. Norah Jones - Don't Know Why
434. Taylor Swift - Shake It Off
435. Fats Domino - Ain't That a Shame
436. OK GO - A Million Ways
437. Patty Griffin - Heavenly Day
438. Wire - Three Girl Rhumba
439. Bo Diddley - I'm a Man
440. No Doubt - Just A Girl
441. Pulp - Common People
442. Caroline Smith - Magazine
443. Sarah McLachlan - Ice Cream
444. Byrds - Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season)
445. Robyn Hitchcock - Balloon Man
446. Dinosaur Jr. - Feel The Pain
447. The Jesus and Mary Chain - Just Like Honey
448. Isaac Hayes - Walk On By
449. XX - Say Something Loving
450. Lynyrd Skynyrd - Sweet Home Alabama
451. Trip Shakespeare - Toolmaster
452. Jethro Tull - Aqualung
453. Weakerthans - Plea from a Cat Named Virtue
454. Buddy Guy - Money
455. Crowded House - Don't Dream It's Over
456. Gogol Bordello - Pala Tute
457. Nat King Cole - (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
458. NOFX - Leave It Alone
459. Specials - A Message to You, Rudy
460. Alison Krauss - Down To The River To Pray
461. Son Volt - Drown
462. Brother Ali - Own Light (What Hearts Are For)
463. 10,000 Maniacs - These Are the Days
464. The Zombies - Time Of The Season
465. Paul Weller - Changingman
466. Jonathan Richman and The Modern Lovers - Roadrunner
467. English Beat - Mirror In The Bathroom
468. Kiss - Rock And Roll All Night
469. Joe Strummer - Redemption Song
470. Chemical Brothers - Block Rockin' Beats
471. Built To Spill - Center Of The Universe
472. Can - She Brings The Rain
473. The Damned - New Rose
474. Hozier - Take Me To Church
475. Stereolab - Ping Pong
476. Shakey Graves - Dearly Depaarted
477. Django Reinhardt - Nuages
478. Flogging Molly - Drunken Lullabies
479. Incubus - Drive
480. Bauhaus - She's in Parties
481. Carter Family - Can The Circle Be Unbroken (Bye and Bye)
482. Drake - Find Your Love
483. Gordon Lightfoot - Sundown
484. Little Feat - Willin' (Live)
485. Sia - Breathe Me
486. Styx - Lady
487. Tracy Chapman - Fast Car
488. The Kills - Doing It To Death
489. Rufus Wainwright - Cigarettes and Chocolate Milk
490. Snoop Dogg - Murder Was The Case
491. Rod Stewart - Maggie May
492. Dan Wilson - Free Life
493. Bad Brains - I Against I
494. Billy Idol - Dancing With Myself
495. Joe Jackson - Steppin' Out
496. Laurie Anderson - Big Science
497. The Sugarhill Gang - Rapper's Delight
498. The Go-Go's - We Got the Beat
499. Robert Plant - Rainbow
500. BORNS - American Money
501. Matthew Sweet - Sick of Myself
502. Oingo Boingo - Weird Science
503. Stars - The Night Starts Here
504. Gang of Four - Damaged Goods
505. Interpol - Obstacle 1
506. Dean Martin - You're Nobody 'till Somebody Loves You
507. Jerry Garcia - Sugaree
508. Ozzy Osbourne - Party with The Animals
509. Carly Simon - I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
510. The Staves - Mexico
511. Captain Beefheart - Diddy Wah Diddy
512. Fountains Of Wayne - Radiation Vibe
513. Charlie Parr - Remember Me If I Forget
514. Godspeed You! Black Emperor - Their Helicopters Sing
515. The Waterboys - The Whole of the Moon
516. Jimmy Eat World - Lucky Denver Mint
517. Bill Monroe - Uncle Pen
518. Los Lobos - Kiko and the Lavender Moon
519. The Tallest Man On Earth - 1904
520. The Dandy Warhols - We Used To Be Friends
521. Ingrid Michaelson - The Way I Am
522. GWAR - Sick of You
523. John Mayer - No Such Thing
524. Misfits - 20 Eyes
525. Bon Jovi - Livin' On a Prayer
526. Explosions in the Sky - Trembling Hands
527. Guster - Amsterdam
528. John Williams - Princess Leia's Theme
529. Mac Demarco - My Old Man
530. Philip Glass - Floe
531. Talk Talk - Talk Talk
532. George Jones - He Stopped Loving Her Today
533. Punch Brothers - Movement and Location
534. Feelies - Crazy Rhythms
535. Air - Sexy Boy
536. Cat Power - The Greatest
537. Animals - We Gotta Get Out of This Place
538. MC5 - Back in the USA
539. The Postal Service - Such Great Heights
540. Cold War Kids - Love is Mystical
541. Eels - Prizefighter
542. The Mamas and the Papas - I Saw Her Again
543. Squeeze - Black Coffee in Bed
544. Joan Armatrading - Into the Blues
545. The Afghan Whigs - Gentlemen
546. Dr. John - Revolution
547. Love - A House Is Not a Motel
548. Luna - Tiger Lily
549. Bryan Ferry - Slave to Love
550. Pat Benatar - Hit Me With Your Best Shot
551. Fugees - No Woman No Cry
552. The Yardbirds - Heart Full of Soul
553. Jefferson Airplane - Somebody to Love
554. Laura Marling - Gurdjieff's Daughter
555. Broken Social Scene - Halfway Home
556. Elbow - Mirrorball
557. Blind Melon - No Rain
558. The Fall - Couldn't Get Ahead
559. Bob Seger - Old Time Rock and Roll
560. Grizzly Bear - Two Weeks
561. Barry White - I'm Gonna Love You Just A Little More Baby
562. Alice Cooper - School's Out for Summer
563. Of Montreal - Wraith Pinned to the Mist (And Other Games)
564. Count Basie - Jumpin at the Woodside
565. Sharon Van Etten - One Day
566. Frightened Rabbit - Get Out
567. Justin Timberlake - Suit and Tie (Feat. Jay-Z)
568. Benny Goodman - Stompin' at the Savoy
569. The Offspring - Come Out and Play
570. Dead Can Dance - The Ubiquitous Mr. Lovegrove
571. Lenny Kravitz - Let Love Rule
572. Greg Brown - Arkansas
573. Amanda Palmer - The Killing Type
574. Childish Gambino - Redbone
575. P.O.S - Lanes
576. Alicia Keys - Fallin
577. Jimmy Buffett - Margaritaville
578. Bill Evans Trio - Blue in Green
579. Bing Crosby - I'll Be Seeing You
580. Def Leppard - Pour Some Sugar On Me
581. Lucero - The Devil and Maggie Chascarillo
582. Okkervil River - Plus Ones
583. Marilyn Manson - Tainted Love
584. The Cult - She Sells Sanctuary
585. Willie Dixon - Walking the Blues
586. Glen Hansard - Winning Streak
587. Josh Ritter - Where the Night Goes
588. System of a Down - Chop Suey!
589. Herbie Hancock - Cantaloupe Island
590. Toots and the Maytals - Pressure Drop
591. The Time - Jungle Love
592. Hole - Violet
593. Boys II Men - I'll Make Love to You
594. Thin Lizzy - The Boys Are Back in Town
595. Graham Parker - Local Girls
596. Ben Harper - Ground On Down
597. Superchunk - Driveway to Driveway
598. Boards of Canada - Reach for the Dead
599. Gaslight Anthem - The '59 Sound
600. Avalanches - Frontier Psychiatrist
601. Fishbone - Party at Ground Zero
602. Sinead O' Connor - Nothing Compares 2 U
603. Sloan - Everything You've Done Wrong
604. Thom Yorke - A Brain in a Bottle
605. Traffic - Dear Mr. Fantasy
606. Camper Van Beethoven - Take The Skinheads Bowling
607. Primus - Jerry Was A Racecar Driver
608. Lee "Scratch" Perry - Lee Perry Upsetting Dub
609. Walk The Moon - Tightrope
610. Sunny Day Real Estate - In Circles
611. Dead Milkmen - Punk Rock Girl
612. J Dilla - Song played: "Love (feat. Pharoahe Monch)"
613. Meters - Cissy Strut
614. Brian Jonestown Massacre - Going To Hell
615. Motion City Soundtrack - Lose Control
616. Pink - Get the Party Started
617. Chris Isaak - Wicked Game
618. Dan Auerbach - Shine On Me
619. Britney Spears - Toxic
620. Against Me! - Black Me Out
621. Dashboard Confessional - Screaming Infidelities
622. Odetta - Cotton Fields
623. James - Say Something
624. Leo Kottke - Vaseline Machine Gun
625. Quincy Jones - Just Once
626. Glen Campbell - Wichita Lineman
627. Operation Ivy - Sound System
628. Suzanne Vega - Tom's Diner (DNA mix)
629. The Residents - Smelly Tongues
630. Tweedy - Summer Noon
631. The Wombats - Moving To New York
632. The The - This Is The Day
633. Passion Pit - The Reeling
634. Rickie Lee Jones - Satellites
635. Temples - Strange or Be Forgotten
636. Yeasayer - Ambling Alp
637. War On Drugs - Thinking Of A Place Part 1
638. Titus Andronicus - A More Perfect Union
639. Frank Black - Los Angeles
640. Minor Threat - Screaming At A Wall
641. Houndmouth - Say It
642. Portugal. The Man - Feel It Still
643. Leon Bridges - Better Man
644. DJ Shadow - Building Steam with a Grain of Salt
645. New York Dolls - Personality Crisis
646. Buzzcocks - Ever Fallen in Love (With Someone You Shouldn't've)
647. G Love and the Special Sauce - Cold Beverage
648. Public Image Limited - Public Image
649. The Flying Burrito Brothers - Older Guys
650. Digable Planets - Where I'm From
651. Carpenters - Superstar
652. Sparklehorse - Heart Of Darkness
653. Phoenix - J-Boy
654. Jimmy Cliff - You Can Get It If You Really Want
655. Slowdive - Sugar For The Pill
657. Madness - One Step Beyond
659. Kurt Vile - Pretty Pimpin
660. Broken Bells - The High Road
661. Stiff Little Fingers - Alternative Ulster
662. L7 - Pretend We're Dead
663. Midnight Oil - The Dead Heart
664. Descendents - Good Good Things
665. Sneaker Pimps - Spin Spin Sugar
666. Thievery Corporation - Depth Of My Soul
667. Deftones - Digital Bath
668. Dead Man Winter - Am I Breaking Down
669. Japandroids - The House That Heaven Built
670. The Church - Under The Milky Way
671. Michael Franti and Spearhead - Yell Fire
672. Shawn Colvin - Let It Slide
673. Joe Cocker - Feeling Alright
674. Mos Def - Ghetto Rock
675. Damon Albarn - Everyday Robots
676. Jawbreaker - Fireman
677. Future Islands - Seasons (Waiting On You)
678. Mazzy Star - Fade Into You
679. Steve Miller Band - The Joker
680. Jeff Beck - Freeway Jam
681. M. Ward - Confession
682. The Travelling Wilburys - Handle With Care
683. Thundercat - Show You The Way feat. Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins
684. Lifter Puller - To Live And Die In LBI
685. Damien Rice - 9 Crimes
686. James Blake - Limit To Your Love
687. Lissie -Hero
688. Robyn - Call Your Girlfriend
689. Sylvan Esso - Die Young
690. Har Mar Superstar - Restless Leg
691. Kate and Anna McGarrigle - Heart Like A Wheel
692. Peter, Paul and Mary - If I Had A Hammer (The Hammer Song)
693. Hoodoo Gurus - I Want You Back
694. Mick Jagger - God Gave Me Everything
695. Sheryl Crow - If It Makes You Happy
696. Catfish and the Bottlemen - 7
697. Chet Baker - My Funny Valentine
698. Ry Cooder - Kool-Aid
699. Big Mama Thornton - Hound Dog
700. David Bazan - Please Baby Please
701. America - Sister Golden Hair
702. Everything But The Girl - Missing
703. Edith Piaf - La Vie En Rose
704. Joseph - SOS (Overboard)
705. Sisters Of Mercy - This Corrosion
706. Chaka Khan - I Feel For You feat. Grandmaster Melle Mel
707. My Chemical Romance - Helena (So Long And Goodnight)
708. fIREHOSE - Brave Captain
709. Jain - Makeba
710. fun.- We Are Young feat. Janelle Monae
711. Ike Reilly - Born On Fire
712. Lake Street Dive - Bad Self Portraits
713. David Gray - Babylon
714. Bad Bad Hats - Shame
715. Taj Mahal - Fishin' Blues
716. Nanci Griffith - Speed Of The Sound Of Loneliness
717. Murder By Death - Strange Eyes
718. JD McPherson - North Side Gal
719. Flying Lotus - Never Catch Me feat. Kendrick Lamar
720. Eartha Kitt - C'est Si Bon (It's So Good)
721. TLC - Waterfalls
722. Jake Bugg - Two Fingers
723. Calexico - Two Silver Trees
724. Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes - 40 Day Dream
725. Donna Summer - I Feel Love
726. M.I.A. - Paper Planes
727. Peter Tosh - Don't Look Back
728. Syd Barrett - Octopus
729. Rick James - Super Freak
730. Thomas Dolby - She Blinded Me With Science
731. Koerner, Ray and; Glover - Ramblin' Blues
732. Teenage Fanclub - Sparky's Dream
733. The Smithereens - A Girl Like You
734. Fitz and the Tantrums - MoneyGrabber
735. The Breeders - Cannonball
736. The Cramps - Human Fly
737. Margo Price - Hurtin' (On The Bottle)
738. Hot Chip - Boy From School
739. Iron Butterfly - In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida
740. KRS One - MCs Act Like They Don't Know
741. Refused - New Noise
742. Buffalo Springfield - Mr. Soul
743. Stone Temple Pilots - Plush
744. Alex Chilton - Free Again
745. Fatboy Slim - The Rockafeller Skank
746. Donovan - Hurdy Gurdy Man
747. Gil Scott-Heron - The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
748. Franz Ferdinand - Take Me Out
749. Galaxie 500 - Flowers
750. Joe Henry - Civilians
751. Supergrass - Alright
752. Ride - Vapour Trail
753. Mike Doughty - Looking at the World from the Bottom of a Well
754. Badfinger - Baby Blue
755. Beirut - Elephant Gun
756. M83 - Reunion
757. Judas Priest - Breaking the Law
758. Roger Waters - Smell the Roses
759. Ministry - Everyday is Halloween
760. Caetano Veloso - Tropicalia
761. Big Audio Dynamite - Rush
762. Sparks - Beat the Clock
763. The Cranberries - Dreams
764. Sarah Vaughan - The Nearness of You
765. Black Crowes - Twice as Hard
766. Guess Who - American Woman
767. Jack Garratt - Worry
768. Spiritualized - Soul on Fire
769. Benjamin Booker - Witness
770. Buena Vista Social Club - Chan Chan
771. Flight Of The Conchords - The Most Beautiful Girl (In the Room)
772. The Isley Brothers - That Lady
773. Ornette Coleman - Lonely Woman
774. Nada Surf - Popular
775. Mary J Blige - Be Happy
776. Rodriguez - I Wonder
777. Les Paul - Guitar Boogie
778. Mark Lanegan - The Gravedigger's Song
779. Stranglers - Always the Sun
780. tUnE-yArDs - Bizness
781. Charlie Christian - Seven Come Eleven
782. Erasure - A Little Respect
783. Blue Oyster Cult - (Don't Fear) The Reaper
784. Grandaddy - Way We Won't
785. John Legend - Darkness and Light
786. Steve Reich - Music for 18 Musicians V. Section 3b
787. Car Seat Headrest - Drunk Drivers
788. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - Beat the Devil's Tattoo
789. The Go-Betweens - Cattle and Cane
790. Kimya Dawson - Tire Swing
791. Michael Kiwanuka - Home Again
792. Ty Segall - Break a Guitar
793. Cracker - Low
794. Bad Plus - Smells Like Teen Spirit
795. DeVotchKa - Queen of the Surface Streets
796. Gear Daddies - Color of Her Eyes
797. Raconteurs - Steady As She Goes
798. Keith Richards - Take It So Hard
799. Brand New - Sowing Season (Yeah)
800. Rusted Root - Send Me On My Way
801. Huey Lewis And The News - The Power of Love
802. Toad the Wet Sprocket - Fall Down
803. Crosby Stills and Nash - Wooden Ships
804. 1975 - Love Me
805. ZZ Top - Tush
806. Laura Nyro - Stoned Soul Picnic
807. Eyedea and Abilities - Now
808. Dirtbombs - Ever Lovin Man
809. Japan - Ghosts
810. Housemartins - Happy Hour
811. Buffalo Tom - Taillights Fade
812. Imogen Heap - Hide And Seek
813. Goldfrapp - Ooh La La
815. Jim Croce - Time In A Bottle
816. Phil Collins - In the Air Tonight
817. Shovels and Rope - The Devil Is All Around
818. Professor Longhair - Tipitina
819. Nickel Creek - When In Rome
820. Dillinger Four - Fuzzy Pink Hand Cuffs
821. Black Angels - Young Men Dead
822. Frankie Valli - Can't Take My Eyes Off You
823. Mighty Mighty Bosstones - The Impression That I Get
824. Lord Huron - Fool For Love
825. Tony Bennett - Fly Me To The Moon
826. Civil Wars - Dust to Dust
827. Desmond Dekker - Israelites
828. Go! Team - Ladyflash
829. Cole Porter - Night and Day
830. Kansas - Dust in the Wind
831. Scott Joplin - Maple Leaf Rag
832. Chastity Brown - Wake Up
833. Mississippi John Hurt - John Henry
834. Jaques Brel - Ne me quitte pas
835. Ravi Shankar - Rupak Tal
836. Kid Cudi - Soundtrack 2 My Life
837. Old Crow Medicine Show - Wagon Wheel
838. Lloyd Cole and the Commotions - Perfect Skin
839. Communist Daughter - Not The Kid
840. Son House - My Black Mama (Part 1)
841. Kaiser Chiefs - I Predict A Riot
842. Destroyer - Painter in Your Pocket
843. Valerie June - Shakedown
844. Live - Lightning Crashes
845. Citizen Cope - Son's Gonna Rise
846. REO Speedwagon - Keep On Loving You
847. Third Eye Blind - How's It Going to Be
848. John Fahey - Dance of the Inhabitants of the Palace of King Philip XIV of Spain
849. Burt Bacharach - What The World Needs Now Is Love
850. Mother Love Bone - Stardog Champion
851. Bonnie "Prince" Billy - I Came To Hear The Music
852. Judy Garland - Dear. Mr. Gable, You Made Me Love You
853. Skinny Puppy - Worlock
854. Josh Rouse - Dressed Up Like Nebraska
855. Bela Fleck - What'cha Gonna Do
856. Ali Farka Toure - All Aoudy
857. Anderson .Paak - Room in Here feat. The Game and Sonyae Elise
858. Cactus Blossoms - Spotlight Kisses
859. War - Low Rider
860. Hawkwind - Silver Machine
861. Dusty Springfield - Son Of A Preacher Man
862. Joao Gilberto - Chega De Saudade
863. Ted Leo and The Pharmacists - Me and Mia
864. Justin Townes Earle - Look the Other Way
865. The Walkmen - The Rat
866. Kris Kristofferson - Me and Bobby McGee
867. Pere Ubu - Final Solution
868. Wilson Pickett - Mustang Sally
869. J Roddy Walston and The Business - Heavy Bells
870. Jose Gonzalez - Down the Line
871. Buckwheat Zydeco - My Feet Can't Fail Me Now
872. Human League - Don't You Want Me
873. Delta Spirit - Trashcan
874. John Mayall - Crawling Up a Hill
875. Fiery Furnaces - Restorative Beer
876. Fratellis - Chelsea Dagger
877. Gomez - See the World
878. Ice Cube - It Was a Good Day
879. Deer Tick - The Dream's In the Ditch
880. Pete Townshend - Let My Love Open the Door
881. Henry Rollins Band - Disconnect
882. Donny Hathaway - The Ghetto, Pt. 1
883. Kamasi Washington - Final Thought
884. Best Coast - Boyfriend
885. Gnarls Barkley - Crazy
886. Jimmy Reed - Baby What You Want Me to Do
887. Sugarcubes - Hit
888. Sonny Knight and The Lakers - Juicy Lucy
889. Soft Boys - I Wanna Destroy You
890. Lin-Manuel Miranda - It's Quiet Uptown
891. Wanda Jackson - Rock Your Baby
892. Serge Gainsbourg - Bonnie and Clyde
893. Jerry Lee Lewis - Whole Lot of Shakin' Going On