Friday, March 18, 2016

Anderson / Stolt - Invention of Knowledge (2015-2016)

3/18/16 8:46PM
I saw some stuff about this, I forget when, maybe a couple of weeks ago? Or it may have been just over last weekend. Anyway, the thing about this is, I tend to notice like Neal Morse, most things Roine Stolt does, sound like him and The Flower Kings. So I guess my hopes and expectations for this would be for it to sound like TFK's with Jon singing.

Now with the emphasis and inpsiration even more from classic, 70's epic Yes stuff, and especially having Jon involved, it may not ultimately quite come out like The Flower Kings with Jon Anderson singing.

And it is impressive to have this come out, with Jon's track record of projects that are in-the-works but never seem to actually come out.

And just noticing the guests, I am curious what role Daniel Gildenlow will have? he may just sing some harmonies and play guitar on some of it, I dunno. And from creative standpoint, his role may be minimal at best. Since even the stuff he did with The Flower Kings I never fell head over heals with exactly.

But all that being said, I will certainly check this out and maybe at least hope to be pleasantly surprised by it. If they capture some of the Tales and Relayer/CTTE/Heart of the Sunrise vibe (or even "Mind Drive" for that matter) I cannot see myself not listening to it a fair amount.

1. Knowing 17:45
2. Everybody Heals 13:20
3. Invention Of Knowledge 23:10
4. Know 11:20

Anderson / Stolt, the brand new duo of legendary Yes vocalist & singer/songwriter Jon Anderson and progressive rock veteran Roine Stolt (The Flower Kings, Transatlantic), have announced the release of their collaborative album 'Invention Of Knowledge' for 24th June 2016 via InsideOut Music.

Jon Anderson had this to say: ".....Music is always the driving force in my life...working with such a wonderful musician as Roine Stolt made the creation of this album very unique,we are very excited with the release of 'Invention of Knowledge'."

Roine Stolt adds: "It is not aiming at being new Yes music; just new music, modern and classical, rock and ethno, tribal and orchestrated, grooving and floating. Hopefully in the true spirit of "progressive" - leaning forward, surprising and also comforting with familiar run-arounds. 

We've been "inventing" as we go along - Jon is an endless source of new ideas. We've been bouncing ideas back and forth for months and as a result there are probably dozens of versions of these songs. It's been a very interesting and rewarding time and the result is just insanely detailed."

InsideOut label-head Thomas Waber comments: "I have been talking to Jon for ages about making an album of 'Yes music' - as Jon calls it - and Roine seemed like the perfect guy for him to work with. I am really happy that it has finally happened and I am also thrilled with the material they have come up with. I think it will please a lot of fans!"

The idea came to life swiftly off the back of a performance from Roine's band Transatlantic, and Jon Anderson on the Progressive Nation At Sea Cruise in 2014, and was initially instigated by InsideOut Music label boss Thomas Waber. The duo set about crafting new music in the spirit of early epic works such as 'Tales From Topographic Oceans', 'Awaken' & 'Olias Of Sunhillow', but giving it a modern twist.

Written & recorded over the course of 1 and a half years, the tracks have been in a state of constant change as Roine and Jon swapped & refined ideas by sending tracks to each other via the internet. In March 2015, an ensemble was put together by Roine to realise the music live in the studio. Joining him there was Tom Brislin (who played on the Yes Symphonic tour) & Lalle Larsson on keys, Jonas Reingold & Michael Stolt on bass and Felix Lehrmann on drums. The sessions were also bolstered by appearances from Daniel Gildenlöw, Nad Sylvan, Anja Obermayer, Maria Rerych and Kristina Westas who all provided backing vocals.