Saturday, January 31, 2015

Hotel of the Laughing Tree - New World Sundown (2014-2015)

1/31/15 4:46PM

Up for sale/stream. One of my favorites of the season obviously. Review/Video hopefully coming in the next 2 weeks (got 1 more week before I'm on PTO).

1/11/15 11:23PM

new trailer. Having listened to this record a number of times now, I can safely say it's already among if not my favorite record in the new/current season. I don't skip any tracks, etc. A lot of wonderful moments throughout.

I guess I'll refrain from going more into detail for a little while, but at least by around the time of release, I'll try and post details, favorite tracks, etc and likely a video review on YouTube. But likely from now til then, I may rehash or add a bit more in an upcoming 2014-2015 preview I'm slowly but surely working on.

1/02/15 4:46PM

Release Date February 1st, 2015.

You can hear "Howlin' Lessons" now on the stream below or at the bandcamp link. I don't have the time of course at the moment to elaborate as Friday Night dinner is on my agenda, but I can say, I know how good this album already is. And it has a lot to compare to in some ways, at least to me as I adore Terror and Everything After, a top 5 Decade record and an all-time classic for me. And while I can't say how well this record will measure up to that amazing debut album, I can already say I love this record (and I haven't even heard the mastered version).

I also might add, the 2 Mammoth Skin EPs are pretty sweet as well, and I would go for them releasing them as hardcopies, even together.

But as far as details on this record..uh, they should be coming rather least by the release date, and I'll likely try and post a Review on YouTube soon as well.

New World Sundown cover art

1. Brussels
2. Crook in the Gold
3. Aging Archimedes
4. The Generals Girl
5. Pyramid Song (The 3rd and 27th)
6. Duo
7. Howlin' Lessons
8. Hurricane Music
9. Temple Arms
10. Stray
11. In a River in the Woods

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Caravan of Thieves

1/29/15 5:17AM

Not much time to go into detail, nor experience with them yet, but I noticed someone share this video from the Connecticut band, on Cloud Cult's Facebook page and really liked this. Sort of melodic, energetic, percussive acoustic folk/pop/jazz. Maybe a little like The Family Crest without as many chamber instruments, or Miracles of Modern Science.

Good stuff; I guess I'll have to elaborate in due time about them. Last album was in 2012, so assuming they are still active, a new record may not be too far away from Caravan of Thieves.


New 3rd LP coming is titled Kiss Kiss, a little ironically. CT ain't that far from where Josh Benash resides, the should play a show with either Josh, Vuvuzela, or if Kiss Kiss ever did another reunion, lol.

Regardless, I'm definitely checking their new record out. They also seem to like using the term "Freak" which either among jam band fans, or the Marillion refreence (...all the best Freaks are here), has me curious about Caravan of Thieves interest/use of it.

But hopefully their Pledgemusic campaign is a success and we'll get to hear their Kiss Kiss as well. Maybe they are big Roald Dahl fans like Josh?

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Fjokra - TBA (2014-2015)

1/28/15 12:47PM

New entry, I expect a long display of Bumps of this entry throughout the next 8+ months at least.

Including the stuff about that Miss You Already the upcoming Drew Barrymore movie which Fjokra is involved/appears.


FB #1

Last month I snuck back to the Irish countryside to begin work on my biggest collection of new material to date. Here's a taste of what I got up to. Stay tuned..

Monday, January 26, 2015

2014-2015 Preview Video

-Jake One is not from Minneapolis/Minnesota but Seattle, WA. The gf pointed this out, my bad.

Not the written preview which is coming soon, with a more extensive list (lol), even if this is 32 minutes long.

-Timbre is best known as a HARPIST and not a Cellist as I said. I guess in going through the names/titles etc I didn't realize I mistook her primary instrument.She may have some talents and play some Cello, I dunno, but I meant to say 'Harp" or "Harpist"

again..experiences to learn how to improve these things..I started a Task/Improvement list to discipline myself to work on for these, just to try and avoid stuff like this in the future (although no guarantees of course).

Friday, January 23, 2015

Porcupine Tree on HIATUS (or extended break? or whatever synonym you want to use)

1/23/15 6:11AM
Nearly 3 years later, seems to still be the case. The site (and blogs) he's referring to I don't believe is here/mine/this entry, etc. But more importantly, PT's return isn;t happening anytime soon, and if/when it does, it sounds like it'll be kind of a sideproject; although it seems other than his solo band, everything seems to be some kind of sideproject for Steven Wilson.

That all being said, it seems like it will happen at some point, but that still could be a long ways away.

9/12/12 12:14PM

here's another new, extensive Interview with Steven Wilson, although not a vast amount of news regarding The Tree, but he does mention perhaps getting together next year.

But there's more from where the original Used Bin Radio (and other interviews from earlier this year) came from.

Speaking of Gavin Harrison, we can now move on to Porcupine Tree! It’s now been almost three years since you guys released The Incident, so is there anything in the works right now?

No, not really. We haven’t split up and with no intentions of splitting up, but it seems like each one of us is working on different things at the moment; Richard (Barbieri) has just released an album with Steve Hogarth, Gavin is touring with 05Ric and Colin (Edwin) has also released a couple of records, so nothing is going to happen this year, maybe next year. I think it’s a matter of when we all feel it’s right and I think we are all very much in agreement that it’s time to reinvent the sound at this point. I felt with The Incident for the first time, even though it’s a good record, that we are starting to get stuck in a certain sound and for me the peak was really Fear of the Blank Planet and In Absentia. The Incident didn’t strike me as having anything new so it felt like it’s time for a change.

That’s exactly what I was going to ask next, because Porcupine Tree started off as a spacey, kinda old school prog band which ended with Signify then transitioned to a more song structured approach with Stupid Dream and Lightbulb Sun and the latest incarnation was he more Metal inclined sound of your last four albums, so can we consider the next album as the start of Porcupine Tree Mark IV?

I think it has to be, otherwise there’s no point carrying on. I think it needs to be reinvented, I don’t know how yet, but there’s no point of us making another record of that style and we all agree on that. So the time taking off to do other things is important. Not that I want to give an impression of my solo work being a side project, because it’s not, I think it’s the most important one, but Porcupine Tree is still very special for me, of course it’s been the most successful of all the things I’ve done, not by design but it just seemed to connect with the most people, but I never want to get in the situation of making records just to please the fan base, which a lot of bands do, in fact it’s what most bands do, making records just to please the fans, I think I’m more selfish than that. I think you’ve got to take the Scott Walker approach, when have to say something say it, whether it takes five years or ten years and I think our fans are the kind of fans that will still be there, like Kate Bush fans or Peter Gabriel fans they’ll still be there, or even Tool fans, I mean how many years have you been waiting for a tool album?


And when the Tool album does come out everyone will listen to it, so I hope that our fans will be there when we release on ourselves.

Yeah, they definitely will. So do you think the next Porcupine Tree album will take from the improv jazzy elements of Grace for Drowning?

I don’t think so, because there’s one band member who hates jazz, so I don’t think that element will be likely to appear on the record but I’m sure that when we do sit down to make the record you will probably hear the influence of the stuff each one of us has been doing, because that’s part of the plan, each one goes does his own thing pick up some new influences and come back and we put those together again. I am curious, I don’t know what kind of music we are going to make, but there will definitely be no metal aspect, I think the metal thing is done. Just that metal guitar sound is boring.

Good interview anyway, as always it's interesting to read Steven's take on the music industry especially.

Perfect! Final question, of course you know that there are millions of bands coming through in almost every genre, what would you recommend for startup bands to make it in music?

...[edited for space] To summarize: do it for yourself, do it because you love it and if, by accident, your music connects with an audience, great but there’s no career route in music anymore. Record companies aren’t signing artists anymore, unless it’s shit like American Idol, because it’s easier for labels that way; sign an artist, sell a million records, then dump the artist and sign another one.

July?..last noted time 4/25/12 5:57AM
New live CD/DVD
that's great and everything, however, bands on hiatus, put out dvds and live releases all-the-time.
I will say, I noticed someone on twitter ask Steven Wilson (or whoever runs his twitter) about PT and he said having to mention the band being on a break right now has been a bit tiresome (or something close to that, I'm just paraphrasing). Sort of like, he wish he hadn't, and maybe more so, wishes I and some other sites hadn't.

Edit: nor remembering, someone asked about the site that posted the April Fool's joke.

But regardless, based on where he's at and the work on his next solo record, which is coming early in 2013 I recall reading, PT is still not amongst the work he or the other members are doing right now, save for this live CD/DVD.

I still think the very earliest an all-new original-music album will come out (save for maybe a b-sides or something) will be in 2014.


Kscope have just announced on the twenty ninth edition of their post-progressive podcast that Porcupine Tree will be releasing ‘Octane Twisted’ a 2CD/DVD set on November 5th. The audio and video will be taken from the band’s show on 2nd May 2010 at the Riviera Theater, Chicago, which was one of the many shows on tour in which ‘The Incident’ was performed in it’s entirety. More details are coming soon!

For those unaware, on Used Bin Radio last week, they aired an interview with Steven Wilson, which hopefully will be stream/download/podcasted soon. But he basically said what also was said about
Porcupine Tree here, that they are on HIATUS. He also said PT WILL LIKELY COMEBACK at some point, when he feels they are ready to "reinvent" themselves. In the mean time, Steven Wilson is busy with his solo records and Storm Corrosion among other things that are not Porcupine Tree.

more to add/edit...

edit: some of the comments on the forums are claiming that link is from an April Fools joke. That may be true, but I know for a fact, hearing it from the horse's mouth himself live face-to-face, it is in fact true.

He didn't actually use the word "hiatus" I don't think, nor did he say Porcupine Tree are broken up, done, over, etc. But he more or less said his muse is making the music for his solo records, and making music THAT THE MEMBERS OF HIS CURRENT TOURING BAND CAN/WILL/ENJOY PLAYING.

Grace For Drowning has a lot of JAZZ influence to it, at least in parts, and he said how with Porcupine Tree, there is at least 1 member who isn't interested in incorporating JAZZ into their music. Whereas the band he has on tour and is currently writing music for (or with?), he can. And he stressed at more than 1 point, how he has been listening to older JAZZ and "experimental classical" music. The Used Bin guys asked about what he has been listening to, and he said Rock music isn't really where his interest is as in exploring/discovering.

But just to humor the folks who are convinced this story is a joke and the next Porcupine Tree album is right around the corner, I'd just like to bring up how likely that really is.

Right now Steven Wilson is writing music for his next solo album, some of which his band has even played live. But presumably, the music for it will be written the rest of 2012, and soon after recorded. Either towards the end of 2012, or more likely early 2013. Then the record will be released, and in all likelihood, another tour supporting that record will happen in 2013.

another earlier (late February I recall) source

What’s the timeline for the next solo album?
It’s not going to be until next year. I’m in no rush because there’s a lot of promotion still to be done for Grace for Drowning in terms of getting the record to people who haven’t discovered it. We’ll be touring it for the next six months at least. We’re also going to film a Blu-Ray DVD on the next tour to document the current repertoire and lineup. I’m writing with recording in mind for late summer or autumn, with a view to releasing the album in Spring 2013. So, it’s still a long way off. I’m a great believer that when you feel inspired, you should take advantage of the opportunity. I know some people think I’m an endless supply of music, but I’m not. I go through periods when I have nothing coming out and nothing to say. Right now, I feel inspired, so I’m striking while the iron is hot.

So, the very EARLIEST any music could even be written by Steven Wilson and/or the other members of PT would be in the Summer or Fall of 2013. And assuming that actually did happen, the album wouldn't actually get released until sometime in 2014, thus 5 years after the last PT album The Incident.

But based on the interview with Used Bin Radio, the odds of even that happening aren't likely. The biggest reason is, making music for PT right now isn't where Steven Wilson is at right now. Where his muse is, is making music for his solo albums, Storm Corrosion and other things like doing the 5.1 and remixes for bands like King Crimson and Jethro Tull.

And so it sounds like, the point PT can "reinvent" themselves, music will be made by them. But that very easily will be a number of years after his next solo album even.

He's kind of modeling himself and PT's career after King Crimson and Robert Fripp. King Crimson's career is filled with breaks, hiatuses and reinventing their sound.

OT 2nd week of February 2015

something or some thingS should be arriving in here if not before, per PTO.

Perhaps beforehand, depending on free time, but I do have that week planned off work. So, all that stuff I frequently mention/plan hopefully can see the light of day by then if not earlier.

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Rush - R40 (North American) Tour 2015 (includes St.Paul, 5/12)

I want to say I will be at the show on May 12th, but May is kind of a big month for the gf, so who knows. If I manage to, if my count is correct, it'll be my 8th show since 1st seeing them in 1994.

St.Paul link, on sale Jan 30th,2015

MAY 8, 2015         TULSA                            BOK CENTER                                
MAY 10, 2015 LINCOLN                    PINNACLE BANK ARENA        
MAY 12, 2015 ST. PAUL                    XCEL ENERGY CENTER                  
MAY 14, 2015 ST. LOUIS                   SCOTTRADE CENTER                  
MAY 16, 2015 AUSTIN                           360 AMPITHEATER                          
MAY 18, 2015 DALLAS                           AMERICAN AIRLINES CENTER      
MAY 20, 2015 HOUSTON                   THE TOYOTA CENTER                  
MAY 24, 2015 TAMPA                           AMALIE ARENA                          
JUNE 8, 2015 COLUMBUS                    NATIONWIDE ARENA        
JUNE 10, 2015 BUFFALO                    FIRST NIAGARA CENTER        
JUNE 12, 2015 CHICAGO                    UNITED CENTER                
JUNE 14, 2015 DETROIT                    PALACE OF AUBURN HILLS
JUNE 17, 2015 TORONTO (I)            AIR CANADA CENTRE        
JUNE 19, 2015 TORONTO (II)            AIR CANADA CENTRE        
JUNE 21, 2015 MONTREAL                    BELL CENTRE                
JUNE 23, 2015 BOSTON                    TD GARDEN                
JUNE 27, 2015 NEWARK                     PRUDENTIAL CENTER        
JUNE 29, 2015 NEW YORK                     MADISON SQUARE GARDEN        
JULY 9, 2015 KANSAS CITY                     SPRINT CENTER                
JULY 11, 2015 DENVER                     PEPSI CENTER                
JULY 13, 2015 SALT LAKE CITY             MAVERIK CENTER        
JULY 15, 2015 CALGARY                     SCOTIABANK SADD LEDOME
JULY 17, 2015 VANCOUVER             ROGERS ARENA                
JULY 19, 2015 SEATTLE                     KEY ARENA                
JULY 21, 2015 PORTLAND                     MODA CENTER                
JULY 23, 2015 SAN JOSE                     SAP CENTER AT SAN JOSE
JULY 25, 2015 LAS VEGAS                     MGM GRAND GARDEN ARENA
JULY 27, 2015 PHOENIX                    US AIRWAYS CENTER        
AUGUST 1, 2015 LOS ANGELES             THE FORUM                

Monday, January 19, 2015

Kevin Gilbert - Thud [VINYL + 3 CD 20th Anniversary DELUXE Edition] (2014-2015)

1/191/15 1:25PM


VINYL + 3 CD Order Link

3 CD Book Link

Just ordered my Vinyl+3CD package. I do also have something else in the ordering pipeline too :)

1/14/15 5:28PM

Monday. MLK and also the day the Mew record info is supposed to come out.

1/8/15 2:41PM



Once we receive the THUD books, we will activate the order page at to include the CD & LP Set.

THUD 2 LP (180 gram)
mastered specifically for vinyl from the original analog tapes
Side A:
1. When You Give Your Love To Me
2. Goodness Gracious
3. Joytown
4. Waiting
Side B:
1. Tea For One
2. Shadow Self
3. The Tears Of Audrey
Side C:
1. Shrug (Because Of Me And You)
2. All Fall Down
3. Song For A Dead Friend
Side D:
1. Kashmir (Studio Version)
2. Waiting (The Other Version)
3. Joytown (Acoustic)

1/07/15 2:10PM

Soon..although I suspect this may be soon for the CDs; hopefully something more on the Vinyl will be added soon.

On Facebook

We were informed that our shipment of THUD books should arrive within the next week. Once we receive the books, we will activate the order page.

THUD: 20th Anniversary Remastered 3-CD Book Edition

Disc 1
1. When You Give Your Love To Me
2. Goodness Gracious
3. Joytown
4. Waiting
5. Tea For One
6. Shadow Self
7. The Tears Of Audrey
8. Shrug (Because Of Me And You)
9. All Fall Down
10. Song For A Dead Friend

Disc 2
1. When You Give Your Love To Me (Demo)
2. Goodness Gracious (Demo)
3. Joytown (Acoustic)
4. Waiting (The Other Version)
5. Tea For One (Demo Mix #1)
6. Shadow Self (Mix #2)
7. The Tears Of Audrey (Demo-Straight)
8. Because Of You (Demo)
9. All Fall Down (Toto Version)
10. Song For A Dead Friend (Guitar Mix)
11. Until I Get Her Back (Studio Version)
12. Big Heart (Studio Version)

Disc 3
1. Kashmir (Studio Version)
2. Miss Broadway (Studio Version)
3. Goodness Gracious (Can-Am Version)
4. Joytown (Full Mix-Unedited)
5. Tea For One (Sax Mix)
6. Late For Dinner (Dark Mix)
7. Song For Michael (Demo)
8. Waking The Sun (Instrumental)
9. Tea For One (Demo-Instrumental)
10. The Tears Of Audrey (Demo-Instrumental)
11. Goodness Gracious (Bottrell Loop Mix)
12. Shadow Self (Bill's Board)

that 3rd disc I think has me the most curious.

12/09/14 2:05PM

Newly redesigned/revampied. THUD has been pushed back due a strike of some kind, until January. The other 2 released, Toy Matinee Acoustic and The Lamb Performance are up there now though.

Also a sweet alternate version of "Goodness Gracious." I like the different lyrics especially,

10/6/14 12:45PM

2nd preview. "Miss Broadway" included (not surprising).

9/29/14 12:40PM

Sucker is coming and "oh yes!" on Vinyl for the first time. "Big Heart" sounds rather power-pop-ish.

Damn I can't wait!. November cannot come soon enough. I'll probably order a couple copies of the vinyl in fact. The details that are passed along from now til then I'm sure will be updated in here of course.

The Estate of Kevin Gilbert is releasing Kevin’s solo album THUD in a limited, 3 CD, 34 track, 20th anniversary deluxe edition. It will go on sale in mid-November. The package will include 3 new studio tracks, 18 previously unreleased demos/alternate takes and will come in a beautiful 32 page hard bound book. This 3 CD set will be priced at $35.
Also, for the first time ever, THUD will be available as an audiophile 180 gram, 2 LP set. Remastered specifically for vinyl from the original analog tapes, this gatefold package will be limited to 500 units. THUD 2 LP & 3 CD set package will be priced at $70.
The LP set will not be sold separately.
Track listing, artwork, ordering details, and much more will be announced throughout the month of October.
Kevin Gilbert audio/video is available for purchase at

7/7/14 4:22PM


Yes please. 500 of them need to sell at $60 a pop. The 2011? Shaming Vinyl campaign didn't quite make it (and I'll admit, I didn't but definitely should have ordered 1), but I don't recall what the goal was for that, but for some reason I suspect it was a little more.

But $60? sheesh, hell fucking yeah!

to help the chances of this to sell 500.


-Mike Portnoy's Forum topic (replies also count) Topic (replies count)

-Lawnmower and Garden Supplies Email List (per Yahoo)

As some of you may already know, this fall, The Estate of Kevin Gilbert is releasing a limited, 34 track, 3 CD, 20th anniversary, deluxe edition, of Kevin’s solo album Thud. 

\ We are wondering if there is enough interest to have 500 of the sets include a 2 disc, 180 gram, audiophile vinyl version of the original CD. This will be mastered from the original analogue tapes. 

We hope to have the 3 CD set, which includes a 32 page, full color, hard bound book, sell for $30. The version including the vinyl will cost an extra $30, totaling $60. The CD set will be available separately for $30 but vinyl will ONLY be available as part of the entire $60 set. 

Please respond here under this post (or on Kevin Gilbert's Official FaceBook page) and let us know if you would buy the edition including vinyl. We will only press vinyl if we get enough positive responses. 

Best regards, Jon Rubin 
Executor for the Estate of Kevin Gilbert

6/2/14 12:20PM
From the New Official Facebook Page


I'm giddy about this, 3 new (unreleased) and 18 unreleased demos/alternate mixes.

I probably should include that it is still my and many others hope this and Shaming especially, find their way onto a VINYL release someday, but beggars..of course.

I'm seeing The Monkees tonight ironically, and if I have a chance to chat with Christian Nesmith, I may have to bring this up. Interesting TIMING.

Also speculation about what those 3 tracks may be. I wonder if 1 may be "Miss Broadway" and perhaps a handful of other versions of songs that in different forms, ended up on Shaming.

But, whatever they are, I'm sure most of the Kevin Gilbert geeks like myself will still be pretty crazy for this.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

New Jimmy Gnecco interview

25+ minutes and a few live clips. Not the most in-depth interview ever with Jimmy, but some good detailed info still. Stuff about Ballet the Boxer 1, 2 etc...and these shows he's doing out in Hollywood. If only I lived or could visit there now.

"Rock is Dead" is kind of a sad idea popping up more of late, which I suppose it sort of makes some sense, on a commercial level. But as a fan, having it still being out there on a underground level, it doesn't really matter much to me. Bu the romantic part of Rock music being visible when I was growing up and before, being gone in some ways, is sad, or a sad way to look at things in some ways.

I do like how he talked about Vinyl, but as far as having the older Ours records come out on Vinyl, I kind of wish he had included more about. I worry a little about the cost from the labels who own the rights, maybe being the biggest obstacle for putting those out, but who knows. I'd love them all on vinyl of course.

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Josh Rouse - The Embers of Time (2014-2015)

1/14/15 5:49PM
Release date April 7th, 2015 preorder link there.

The Embers of Time, Josh Rouse

1 Some Days I'm Golden All Night 3:20
2 Too Many Things On My Mind 2:50
3 New Young 3:30
4 You Walked Through the Door 3:23
5 Time 3:13
6 Pheasant Feather (feat. Jessie Baylin) 3:20
7 Coat for a Pillow 3:27
8 Jr Worried Blues 3:06
9 Ex-pat Blues 3:03
10 Crystal Falls 4:30

New song is okay. Some of the stuff online about it says it harkens back to the Nashville style, which if it is, I and my Josh Rouse fangirl gf, will be happy. The Happiness Waltz was good, and probably better than his previous record, but at the same time, I haven't longed to listen to it recently. But maybe The Embers of Time will be more so.

from Josh's site

Pre-order the New Album,
The Embers of Time, Now at iTunes
“It’s my surreal expat therapy record,” observes Josh Rouse about his new LP, The Embers Of Time out April 7 via Yep Roc Records.  The album takes inspiration from his self-admitted crisis of confidence and bouts with existential psychotherapy in his adopted home of Valencia, Spain. 

The 10-song collection of originals contains some of Rouse’s most beautiful arrangements and complex songwriting to date. First song and lead single “Some Days I’m Golden All Night” channels Glen Campbell-style Countrypolitan pop mastery through Self Portrait-era Dylan confessional lyrics.

Monday, January 12, 2015

Fjokra - The Mellowsound Sessions (2014-2015).+ "Miss You Already" + Full Length?

So, the 4th and I guess final track of The Mellowsound Sessions  Fjokra released today up on YouTube. I guess the whole thing will be available as a Free Download soon (likely on )

I love this whole thing, including the last/new track "GMF" which is a John Grant cover. But, I suppose I'll go with "Koi" being the standout on this thing.

Some stuff below is also worth keeping in mind as that movie Fjokra and his band are in, and the anticipation for a full-length in 2015 coming.


1. Salty
2. Koi
3. Oracle
4, GMF (John Grant Cover)

I also noticed this in the YouTube description which has me rather intrigued.

During the summer of 2014 Fjokra worked with director Catherine Hardwicke (Twilight, Thirteen, Red Riding Hood, Lords Of Dogtown) on her latest film Miss You Already starring Drew Barrymore, Toni Collette, Dominic Cooper and Paddy Considine. Fjokra and his band feature in a concert scene performing one of his own compositions and also plays the part of Dominic Cooper’s best friend throughout the film. Miss You Already is scheduled for international release in 2015.

With 5 track EP Thoughtsteps released June 2014, Fjokra is constantly writing and recording new material. The Mellowsound Sessions EP released online in December 2014 features a more ambient direction, and rumours of an album coming in 2015 are beginning to circulate.

Subterranean Masquerade - The Great Bazaar (2014-2015)

1/12/15 2:26PM

Whole album in my inbox this morning along with now up to STREAM and DOWNLOAD. Release date I thought was officially tomorrow. Anyway, fan-fucking-tastic record. Reviews pending (both written and Video), but my goal is this week sometime. I would say it's battling another record mentioned of late in this blog for the top spot already.

10/8/14 5:50PM

Preview of every track. This just has me more curious of course.

9/8/14 1:53PM

Album pushed back until December per the situation in Israel. While it does kind of suck for now, it makes sense. Another 3 months doesn't seem like much. It won't be on the Countdown, but whatever, it just means 2014-2015 will be all the better. with the way things are going, albums from many others will end up in the next season too (Kaddisfly?).

Facebook Post

Hello All
Due to the recent fighting in the South of Israel we have decided to push back the release of "THE GREAT BAZAAR" from September to December. Reason being is that we want people to approach our new music with nothing but enthusiasm for what it is.
Our new single "reliving the feeling" is now live at Metal Underground and pre-orders continue as before. We are down to the last few copies of the Bronze vinyl and the shirts so THANK YOU for the support!
Spread the word and get ready for THE GREAT BAZAAR

9/1/14 11:20AM

new song "Reliving the Feeling."

Terrific track. Love the piano.

7/1/14 12:12PM
The Preorder links says Release is "12-9" ..September 12th?

Photo: Subterranean Masquerade reveal the cover art of THE GREAT BAZAAR 

Subterranean Masquerade reveal the artwork for the upcoming album, titled "THE GREAT BAZAAR" and compile 7 new tracks that clocks over 40 minutes. "I think we covered almost every genre we enjoy playing", says the band song writer Tomer Pink, "it has progressive metal themes along with melodic folk, blasting death metal riffage wrapped with rich ensemble orchestration, a wide range of instruments including violins, brass section, flutes and clarinets, Arabic instruments such as Persian Tar, Turkish Saz and Oud, lots of Keys and synths and even a guest appearance by Kobi Farhi of Orphaned Land" 

"This album is so surprising you're gonna have to put on a seat belt before joining the ride." 

THE GREAT BAZAAR is being mixed by Dan Swano at Unisound Studios, artwork done by long time partner Travis Smith and it will be released as limited edition digibook CD with bonus tracks and Vinyl via Tomer's new label "Taklit Music". The album will soon be available for preorder, make sure you stay tuned to our Facebook page and website

Subterranean Masquerade are ready to take the show on the road in support of the album. Dates will follow as soon as they become available.

As published last week, Subterranean Masquerade announced Kjetil Nordhus ( Green Carnation, Tristania) as the band's new singer. Kjetil is joining Paul Kuhr of Novembers Doom who have been with the band since the first album. 

They both join an impressive lineup including drummer Matan Shmuely (Orphaned Land), Keyboardist Shai Yallin (Solstice Coil), guitarists Tomer Pink & Or Shalev and Bassist Golan Farhi. "This is the first time we function like a band and not just a project, everyone brings his own signature and influences and together we've created something I think is very special".

Album Tracklist to be announced soon. 

Get ready for THE GREAT BAZAAR

01 - Early Morning Mantra
02 - Reliving the Feeling
03 - Tour Diary
04 - Nigen
05 - Waiting
06 - Specter
07 - Father and Son


"Tour Diary" lyric video.

.rather orchestral, and the vocals naturally do sound like Green Carnation. The build up that starts around the 3 minute mark is pretty sweet.

6/25/14 11:00PM

review of the track "Tour Diary" (coming rather soon)

Artwork, info about the format, 7 songs/40 minutes, etc are all posted below per This Facebook Post

The way the new track reads, with the Kjetil Nordhus (of Green Carnation) sang vocal track "Tour Diary" has me intrigued to say the least. More info will of course be put in this entry when it's available (which it sounds like it should be rather soon).

I can't see myself not ordering the Vinyl.

Subterranean Masquerade reveal the cover art of THE GREAT BAZAAR 

Subterranean Masquerade reveal the artwork for the upcoming album, titled "THE GREAT BAZAAR" and compile 7 new tracks that clocks over 40 minutes. "I think we covered almost every genre we enjoy playing", says the band song writer Tomer Pink, "it has progressive metal themes along with melodic folk, blasting death metal riffage wrapped with rich ensemble orchestration, a wide range of instruments including violins, brass section, flutes and clarinets, Arabic instruments such as Persian Tar, Turkish Saz and Oud, lots of Keys and synths and even a guest appearance by Kobi Farhi of Orphaned Land"

"This album is so surprising you're gonna have to put on a seat belt before joining the ride."

THE GREAT BAZAAR is being mixed by Dan Swano at Unisound Studios, artwork done by long time partner Travis Smith and it will be released as limited edition digibook CD with bonus tracks and Vinyl via Tomer's new label "Taklit Music". The album will soon be available for preorder, make sure you stay tuned to our Facebook page and

Subterranean Masquerade are ready to take the show on the road in support of the album. Dates will follow as soon as they become available.

As published last week, Subterranean Masquerade announced Kjetil Nordhus ( Green CarnationTristania) as the band's new singer. Kjetil is joining Paul Kuhr of Novembers Doom who have been with the band since the first album.

They both join an impressive lineup including drummer Matan Shmuely (Orphaned Land), Keyboardist Shai Yallin (Solstice Coil), guitarists Tomer Pink & Or Shalev and Bassist Golan Farhi. "This is the first time we function like a band and not just a project, everyone brings his own signature and influences and together we've created something I think is very special".

Album Tracklist to be announced soon.

Get ready for THE GREAT BAZAAR

Thursday, January 8, 2015

Mountain Machine Collection (Nick Lambert of Northern Abbey/Falling Up)

This was released nearly 2 years ago I guess from Nick Lambert of Northern Abbey, and it's just 4 tracks from music I think is used in his project/application for games called "Mountain Machine."

It, like Northern Abbey, is really sublime, cinematic stuff. Kind of reminds me of some of the Nordic Giants stuff I've been so into of late.

Anyway, I'm not sure to what extent the music from this app/game etc will continue to be released, but if anymore like this comes, I certainly am interested to check it out.


Wednesday, January 7, 2015

East of the Wall - "River Man" (Nick Drake cover)

Wow, this is incredible. It's been a little while since thinking about East of the Wall, but it's great to hear something new from them again. I guess this is part of a Split 7" with a band called Cryptodira.

It will be for sale on January 13th on what appears to be Clear Blue Vinyl. Which this sounded so good, I'm not sure I can pass on this.

more info

Metal Evolution: The Lost Episode - EXTREME METAL

I obviously just found out about this being shared onto Youtube, so I haven't seen it.

How much will be covered in terms of Tech/Death and progressive Death? Avant etc..I'm kind of skeptical. Opeth? yeah..but BTBAM or even like uneXpect or SikTh???..

kinda thinking not much if any..BTBAM and maybe Protest the Hero will show up in the Metalcore.

Anyway, gotta head back to work, but this should be cool to finally check out. I know there was a campaign to get this made and released a few years ago, not long after the series ended. And it may have succeeded, but I lost track of it.

In other words, for those who did contribute, this is old news, but for everyone else, this is making up for that. Another?..I doubt it, but perhaps Sam Dunn will try and make another doc/series just online for another genre of Metal or even just music in general.

edit: Just watched it. Well, NONE of the Tech/Death and Metalcore stuff showed up, but I guess "Extreme Metal" is so broad a term, it's not entirely surprising. Granted, even Opeth only was given a brief scan of a photo, lol. And the Black Metal stuff, nothing about Agalloch either.

And nothing about Melodic Death Metal either. Enslaved gets love, but not Dark Tranquility, In Flames or Soilwork.

I think he should he should make an episode on Death Metal and at least include a percentage on Technical Death Metal.

Death and Celtic Frost and I suppose Gojira were the only real connection to prog in this, and it was very vague.

But whatever, it was nice to see another episode regardless.

For many metal fans, Extreme Metal is heavy metal. Death, Morbid Angel, Carcass, Entombed, Darkthrone, Dimmu Borgir, Opeth, guttural vocals, blast beats, lyrics about death and the occult …. we couldn’t tell the story of metal without it. And so Banger Films presents Extreme Metal, the latest chapter in Metal Evolution, the biggest-ever TV series on the history of heavy metal and hard rock. Hosted by Sam Dunn and based on Banger’s groundbreaking “Heavy Metal Family Tree”, Extreme Metal features new interviews with Death Metal, Grindcore and Black Metal’s most influential sonic architects and a global journey from Tampa to the UK, Norway and France's Hellfest to investigate the history, myths and intricacies of this most innovative and transgressive subgenre. How extreme is it? Too extreme for some TV networks! Which is why Banger Films turned to crowdfunding—it was support from the metal community around the world through an IndieGogo campaign which made Metal Evolution: Extreme Metal a reality. 

And it doesn’t stop here: Metal Evolution will soon continue online on Banger TV. What part of the Heavy Metal Family Tree will we explore next? Sign up/watch this space for all the news.

Music Collection Videos: Kevin Gilbert, Apes and Androids, Jeff Buckley (28mins)

Another video, which was the other one I was thinking of initially trying to show in these. This is primarily cds. Some other rare items as well. I just wish i realized how far away some of the items I showed were to the camera.

Also the Kevin Gilbert + Madonna collaboration (he did the "cues" or some of the engineering I suspect) I didn't show (and forgot to mention) is for the Dick Tracy Original Soundtrack. It wasn't shown, but perhaps in another video.

Tuesday, January 6, 2015

Vinyl Videos: My (current) Marillion Collection:

This is again a work-in-progress and in this case, VINYL and/or MUSIC COLLECTION videos.
This was a mulligan as I filmed one before it that was longer, but of course, I had no clue my HEAD WAS CUTOFF the whole time, lol.

*notes to self: always ZOOM OUT as far as possible*.

I can anticipate doing more of these soon given I at least was able to make this is just a few hours.

-Marbles (Double, 180g, Gatefold, Retail Tracklist)
-Afraid of Sunlight (180g)
-Brave (180g, Gatefold)
-Seasons End (1st pressing)
-The Thieving Magpie
-Clutching at Straws (180g)
-Misplaced Childhood (180g)
-Fugazi (2)
-Script for a Jester's Tear (2, 1 promo)

-Real to Reel

-Dry Land/Holloway Girl/The King of Sunset Town/Substitute (Picture Disc 12")
-Warm Wet Circles (Remix)/White Russian [Live]/Incommunicado[Live] (Picture Disc 12")
-Kayleigh [Alternate + Extended Mix]/Lady Nina[Extended Mix] (12")
-Garden Party/Charting the Single/Margaret (12")
-Lady Nina (12" no artwork)
-He Knows You Know/Charting the Single (12")
-Sugar Mice (7" Picture Disc)
-Kayleigh/Lady Nina (7")

-Fish Interview (Picture Disc 12")