Wednesday, March 30, 2016

The Mercury Tree - Permutations (2015-2016)

3/30/16 10:16PM

Released today 3/30/16. I haven't heard it yet, but hopefully will by tomorrow at work. "Sympathizer" video below.

Permutations cover art
1 Symptoms 6:59
2 Exhume the Worst 4:56
3 Permutations 10:42
4 Either/Ore 4:08
5 Placeholder 4:32
6 Unintelligible 5:06
7 Sympathesizer 4:42
8 Seek and Release 5:46
9 Prometheist 9:00
10 Deep Five 10:32

2/6/16 9:55AM

Album Release Show Saturday April 2nd, 2016

More details I'm sure will be coming soon. And the release date I imagine will be around that time, if not just the day before on April Fools.

Permutations sounds pretty The Mercury Tree-like anyway.

REACT TO: Sound Opinions + Velocities in Music 1991 (+Retro Favorites)

Sound Opinions Podcast Show 538 about 1991

Velocities in Music Podcast Link

So I started this entry with the intent of just reacting to these 2 podcasts analysis and praise of Grunge and the new music coming out/buzzing in 1991. Which of course it now being 2016, it has been 25 years, for what that is worth.

I guess I can say a few things about grunge and that period of time.

I was never all that into it, save for a few songs and albums I suppose, especially at-that-time when it was happening. In 1991 I was amidst the process of getting into Classic Rock. Led Zeppelin, Boston, Derek and the Dominoes/Eric Clapton Journey, Jimi Hendrix and a lot of others. Crosby, Stills Nash and Young, Steve Miller Band. And of course after Zeppelin, Rush (and Pink Floyd, although I became much more into them a couple of years later).

And while I did love that stuff I was being introduced to, all those bands were older. I couldn't help but worry or yearn for there to be a band who was new, modern, etc that I was into; even close to my age.

But the modern music I was hearing was grunge and the "college" (or "alternative," alternative to what?) rock. I basically felt it wasn't doing that much for me, especially compared to the Classic Rock I heard on KQRS for example.

It really was not until discovering Dream Theater 4 years later (although I heard "Pull Me Under" just the next year or 2 I recall), that I finally found a new, younger, modern band who I latched on to. And I guess I always saw Dream Theater as the band to combat all the grunge and alternative (college) rock bands being shoved down mine and everyone else's ears.

But I guess the guys in Velocities in Music made a good point about what Grunge and the music from 1991 and that period did to influence so many bands later. Some good, some not so good. But I suppose what I call and love in being the "college prog" stuff of the 2000's and 2010's likely owe something to the grunge bands to an extent (although they also owe a lot more to the classic rock and progressive rock bands of the 70's especially, still).

So what I decided to do in-reaction to these podcasts and thinking about 1991, is to revisit the Retro Favorite Albums from 1991 just to look at the albums I consider the best or at least good from 1991 below. And I'll admit, I did include some of the grunge and alternative (college) rock bands in that some of their music I do like, especially more now, than back then.

As far the Retro Favorite Albums, I would like to do more of these again, eventually trying to post an entry from every Calendar year. But not doing them in chronological order. And while I didn't exactly do what I meant, I can foresee including albums in there, but maybe based on reputation or just knowing-of but not knowing a ton about it. A blurb may just include the simple," it's an album I don't know but know belongs here" (which also may suggest changing the name from Retro Favorite Albums, to something like "Favorites and Recognizable/Respectable/Vaguely Aquainted Albums from [insert year]")

And lastly, I will reiterate (not in this entry necessarily, but in general) that bands like Galactic Cowboys and especially King's X were a LOT BETTER in my mind than the assortment of bands that got all the fame, credit, etc. Of course King's X predated ALL OF THEM, including that band Mudhoney who years ago I got in some silly debate about who was the 1st grunge band, etc. While King's X may have not been the 1st grunge band, invented grunge per say, nor actually were/are an actual *grunge* band who had the *grunge* sound overall. The fact is they were around before all of them technically since their formation dates back to the early 1980's if memory serves. And maybe more importantly, they were cited multiple times from the likes of Alice in Chains and Soundgarden especially as being a big influence. Pearl Jam? I'm not sure, but likely as well. Maybe the biggest thing in their influence was their use of the Drop-D tuning. And of course they never really found even a fraction of the audience those bands did, despite their even playing at Woodstock in 1994 and live on MTV in front of hundreds of thousands of people.

And with Galactic Cowboys, they should have been signed to Geffen records, likely instead of Nirvana, except for 1 big issue being Geffen liked the name "Nirvana" more and felt it was more marketable. And as I've also posted-as-a-paraphrase previously Cobain was quoted as saying "I don't know why they chose us instead of that band Galactic Cowboys, after all, they can actually sing."

edit: Galactic Cowboys were actually signed to Geffen, but NOT PROMOTED like Nirvana. The context of that citation, is either abridged from where I read/heard about it, or the account of that showcase was not fully accurate. But the lack of visibility and interest in them historically with those 1st 2 albums, speaks for itself. And they were at the same showcase or whatever it was, as Nirvana was.

And of course with both of these podcasts, they failed to mention Galactic Cowboys and King's X, which tells me even with history, they are still being ignored, lol. Maybe that won't always be the case.

I will say I was glad that Jane's Addiction was mentioned, as I am a fan, but at the same time I don't consider them Grunge nor even part of that scene really. They were as much an art rock band, than even "alternative" and "college rock." Three Days = prog more or less. At the same time The Smashing Pumpkins, I would associate with that scene, but per a user on YouTube, I guess Corgan never considered them Grunge really either. But they came around at the same exact time and shared some similarities. Although maybe a lot of differences (and Billy Corgan's love of Rush?).

Sting - The Soul Cages
rel January 22, 1991

I know this album more for reputation, than the actual music. "All This Time" I guess is 1 hit off it, and I know.

But given this is Sting, it's a Concept album, and still relatively early in his solo career, it's an album I would go with among the better records of 1991.

Queen Innuendo.png
Queen - Innuendo
rel February 4, 1991

"I'm Going Slightly Mad" "Delilah" and "The Show Must Go On" I probably think of this album for the most. It is of course the final Queen album before Freddie Mercury's death, and in many people's minds, the last real Queen album.

I don't know it incredibly well, but I do own it on vinyl and based on reputation and my memory, it definitely belongs as a relevant album from 1991.

Saigon Kick - Saigon Kick
rel February 12, 1991

Saigon Kick's debut album, which I own and enjoy. I haven't listened to it in a long time though. And while it's not my favorite Saigon Kick record, I remember enjoying it like more or less all of their albums.

I guess they were doing sort of a melodic and even slightly progressive version of Hair Metal. A little like Extreme I suppose. The vocal harmonies were always a standout part of their sound, and this album includes a lot of them.

"What to Say" maybe my favorite or most memorable track on this, but another case of the whole album is worth listening to per the consistency track-2-track.

R.E.M. - Out of Time.jpg
R.E.M. - Out of Time
rel March 12, 1991

"Losing My Religion" and "Shiny Happy People" are the hits, and I'll fully admit, they are both good tunes. LMR is maybe their most well known song, and it probably led this album to being R.E.M.'s most popular (at least one of them).

And I know this album is 1 of many of the staple college rock albums, among some of the other R.E.M. albums that preceded it.

And I'm not a huge R.E.M. fan, but unlike Nirvana, Radiohead, Oasis and many other hipster darling bands, I actually like some of R.E.M.'s music and think it holds up. Are there better bands? sure, but if looking back on 1991 and talking about the music from that year, I have less issue with this album being included than some of the other grunge and college rock stuff (My Bloody Valentine for example).

 photo The Tea Party - The Tea Party album cover_zpsjrbg73ta.jpg
The Tea Party - The Tea Party
rel June 1, 1991

The S/T debut album from The Tea Party. I know I downloaded it and especially when I went on a big TTP binge in the early-mid 2000's, I did check this out. But my memory is spotty. How much it differs from the follow up Splendor Solis and the heavy Led Zeppelin influence/style. With the Jim Morrison type of vocals.

Edit: okay, well some of the songs on it I imagine were re-recorded for Splendor Solis as "Midsummer Day" and "Save Me" for example were on this and that follow up.

So in a way this is a bit like what Fair to Midland and Mew did, as a demo or a self-released, lower fidelity album that the material was strong enough to re-record.

Still, I'd take this over most any of the grunge and college rock from 1991 as well.

Bogus Journey Soundtrack.PNG
Various Artists - Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey Soundtrack
rel June 9, 1991

This soundtrack features 2 stellar tracks, 1 being "Junior's Gone Wild" from King's X and the other "The Perfect Crime" by Faith No More.

Both of those songs were written during eras of those bands (1990-1991) I really love, and they are up there with some of their best songs from that period.

The rest of this soundtrack I guess I enjoy from a nostalgia and humor standpoint. There's at least 1 sound clip from the movie during the Megadeth tune "Go to Hell" that had me laughing so hard I was in tears. I generally find Mustaine's vocals incredibly cheesy and humorous anyway.  It was either that and/or the Vai track "The Reaper Rap."

Bela Fleck and the Flecktones - Flight of the Cosmic Hippo
rel June 11, 1991

As much as Bela Fleck and the Flecktones are known for being a live band, this is I know by some, their most liked studio record.

It features a few covers, including the Star Spangled Banner and "Michelle" by The Beatles, in the Bluegrass-fusion that is the Flecktones.

And the 7-minute "Jekyll and Hyde (And Ted and Alice)."

I suppose it was a launching pad record for their distinct style of instrumental banjo-led jazz-fusion.

Van Halen - For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge.jpg
Van Halen - For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge
rel June 18, 1991

I think this was the 1st Van Hagar record I ever heard. And of course many know it best for the hit "Right Now" which I do like, and might regard as the best track on this album.

"In n Out" i always think of when I need to take a quick shower, lol.

"Poundcake," "Top of the World" "Man on a Mission"  also are quite memorable, even if the sound on it overall is kind of samey. I ultimately would put it below some of the other Van Hagar records, but I do enjoy Van Hagar nearly as much as the Roth stuff (which I know many do not), so I still enjoy this album.

Marillion - Holidays in Eden
rel June 24, 1991

For quite awhile, early in the time I became a fan of Marillion, I saw this album at the bottom of their catalog. But over time I came to appreciate it more.

The progressive stuff especially are among my favorite Marillion songs in their whole catalog. "This Town/The Rakes Progress/100 Nights" especially I came to adore.

When you list all the qualities that you despise 
And you realise 
You're describing yourself 

And breaking someone up inside 
Is your only source of pride

"She spent your money, she spent your money!"

It's such a wonderful, narrative suite. I love the outro when the "This Town" chorus is echoed in such a dreamy way.

The other track I totally love on this album is "The Party" Great dynamics and emotion on that one. Hogarth's vocal lines are some of his best.

The rest of Holidays in Eden I came to accept. Songs like "Dry Land" "Splintering Heart" and even the almost blatant attempt at radio with "No One Can" and "Cover My Eyes (Tears in Heaven)." Not their best or catchiest, but they work on this album.

Even the cover of Rare Bird's "Sympathy" I've always loved, which was included on the Six of One, Half a Dozen of a Another compilation I picked up when I 1st got into them, and also on the remastered/double cd from 1998.

The only track I suppose I'm a bit thrown off by is the title track ironically. Why? I'm not sure. Rothery's guitar and the vocal melody is a bit odd.

Not necessarily a favorite record from 1991 but certainly a lot better than any of the college rock stuff and grunge from that year, and likely a record I'd include in my top 10 if not top 5 at least. But they are my favorite band bias included.

Crimson Glory-Strange and Beautiful.jpg
Crimson Glory - The Strange and the Beautiful
rel June 24, 1991

I got into Crimson Glory around the same time I got into Fates Warning and Queensryche. And I really enjoyed their 2nd album Transcendence. This album? I remember finding a bit more odd and crazy. Now that was 20 years ago approximately, and I didn't go back to it much. But I could imagine liking it more now.

I wonder if some of it may remind me a little of Watchtower even, as it may be more technical than the other CG albums. Although I may also be thinking of the album after it Astronomica which I also checked out at some point, and maybe found even more unusual for CG's sound.

And it was I think the last record Midnight sang on with CG.

Mr.Bungle - Mr.Bungle
rel August 13, 1991

The Mr.Bungle debut album. I know it mostly for the song "Egg."


Galactic Cowboys debut album cover.jpg
Galactic Cowboys - Galactic Cowboys
rel August 20, 1991

The Galactic Cowboys debut album, an album I love, and probably consider their 2nd best just behind the classic follow-up Space in Your Face.

"I'm Not Amused" "Sea of Tranquility" "My School" "Kaptain Krude" (King Crimson nod?) "Someone for Everyone" "Speak to Me"..there really ain't a bad track on this album. And the energy. riffs, emotion, dynamics, vocal harmonies are all there.

I mean it certainly is a bit more raw sounding than their follow-up, but the songwriting is wonderful. They still had the Beatles-meets-Metallica thing on this and made it work, as weird as that sounds.

Definitely among my favorite albums from 1991, and it's light years more interesting than Nevermind, which had Geffen records decided to go with them instead of Nirvana, a lot more people likely would have found that out. And who knows, the whole Grunge thing might not have happened, or at least not how it did.

Pearl Jam - Ten
rel August 27, 1991

This is the only Pearl Jam record I really like. Although I suppose I can claim to enjoy some of the follow-up Vs. And as much as I don't care for much grunge, this is 1 of the only exceptions.

"Jeremy" and "Black" I would include as favorites. The other 2 radio songs played everywhere around the time, or really in 1992 and 1993 "Alive" and "Even Flow" are acceptable and I don't hate.

The rest of this album I enjoy, but can't really claim to remember highly.

Rush roll the bones.jpg
Rush - Roll the Bones
rel September 3, 1991

Not as good as any of the 80's albums, but still an album I enjoy a lot of.

"Heresy" and "The Big Wheel" I find to be the 2 underrated gems off it. I love the marching drums on Heresy, and the sarcastic lyrics and impassioned vocal lines.

"Bravado" is popular, but I think has aged very well and I consider it 1 of their best ballads. It is quite a sad track, a little like "The Pass" in some ways.

"Dreamline" is a live staple, and I remember really enjoying initially, but have grown a little tired of having heard it so much live. But I still consider a good song.

The title track sort of falls in line with Dreamline as well, but I think I may enjoy it less. But the rap I am not repulsed by really.

"Ghost of a Chance" is a song I still enjoy, and will always remember hearing before I knew who Rush were, in 1991. I distinctly remember KQRS playing that song the Summer of 1991 and/or the Fall into 1992 maybe. And that was right when I got into Rush and I was transfixed by them. Even after knowing who Rush were and their classic rock tracks, I didn't realize that was a Rush tune.

And the guitar solo is sublime on it.

"Where's My Thing" is a good instrumental, but not a favorite exactly. I suppose I enjoy it as much if not more than some of their others.

And then songs like "You Bet Your Life" "Neurotica" and "Face Up" are I would kind of call filler. While Presto really has no tracks of that ilk, I always skip those 3 songs as they don't seem to ever do anything for me.

Still, RTB's is quite a good album, and being such a huge Rush fan, one that I still consider of their standards. And I more or less consider it better than most of the albums that followed it.

Guns N' Roses - Use Your Illusion I
rel September 17, 1991

The McCartney cover of "Live and Let Die" and "November Rain" of course are the tunes that this album got known for, and truth be, those are the only tracks I know as well. But I do know this album for its reputation of course.

Guns N' Roses - Use Your Illusion II
rel September 17, 1991

This one, which as the release date shows, came out the same day as Use Your Illusion I, I really only recall the Dylan cover of "Knockin' on Heaven's Door." The lead single "You Could Mine" that was even used in the Terminator II that summer, honestly, I have next to no recollection of after sampling it on YouTube.

The Twin Cities radio stations didn't play it from memory.

Savatage - Streets: A Rock Opera
rel October 4, 1991

This is probably the earliest Savatage album I was able to appreciate on some level. There's more to that, that I may elaborate about in another entry or on a YouTube video.

But I guess given Jon Oliva was their lead singer still, and I recall this was the final album with him as the lead singer until Poets and Madmen in 2001, I kind of don't rate or consider this 1 quite as high as I've always preferred/enjoyed the Zak Stevens albums a lot more, largely due to the fact I prefer Zak's voice.

That being said, this seems like it was the 1st of a few Concept albums the band would make in the 90's. And I found it was progressive, maybe more so than some of the 80's more NWOBHM/Power Metal/80's Old School Metal.

With that also in mind, I haven't listened to it a long time, but I just recall a few years back when I did, I grew to appreciate it and the themes and the story.

Plus it includes the 1st of a few different versions of the melancholy ballad "Believe." That and among the Criss Oliva featured songs, "Ghost in the Ruins."

Fish - Internal Exile
rel October 26, 1991

This is Fish's 2nd solo album, and one I will admit to owning on cd, but have next to no memory of it at this point. That being said, I am such a big fan of his and Marillion, even by default, I would assume I enjoy it over so much of the shoegaze and grunge that the media loves to champion from this year.

Parallels album.jpg
Fates Warning - Parallels
rel October 29, 1991

While this is hardly my favorite Fates Warning album, it's still a Fates Warning album I love and have enjoyed more or less since becoming a fan in the mid 90's. Track wise, I put "The Eleventh Hour" as probably my favorite. I love the chanting chorus and dynamics in that tune.

The singles "Eye to Eye" and "Point of View" I think of as staple/classic tracks from the band, and 2 of their most accessible songs ever. Lyrically included.

"Life in Still Water" as well. Great tune, melodic, riffy, dynamic and doesn't overstay its welcome.

"Leave the Past Behind" and "Don't Follow Me" also work well and I find to be 2 of the most underrated from Parallels.

"The Road Goes on Forever" is a cool, dreamy ballad that closes this record quite well.

And while it may be my least favorite track on the record and in some ways the most poppy, I still enjoy "We Only Say Goodbye."

Terry Brown even produced this album which is 1 of many things in his discography I appreciate.

And looking back on 1991, I don't know if there are too many all-time favorites or classics, I likely would put this near if not at the top still as it's 1 of the better records from 1 of my all-time favorite bands. It along with Shadow Gallery and Marillion likely.

Angel Rat Voivod.jpg
Voivod - Angel Rat
rel November 12, 1991

This is one of maybe 2 or 3 Voivod albums I own. And while I do have them, and have enjoyed them to a point. I guess I never have been able to love their music beyond a couple of tracks here and there. Including their cover of Pink Floyd's "Astronomy Domine."

But that being said, I rated it at 3-stars back in 2007 on rym, but now? I can't be sure having not revisited it in so long.

A square montage of square photographs arranged in a 4 by 4 grid. The photographs are mostly blue and red in tint, but some are monochrome. They are candid in nature and mostly show four men in various locations, including in an empty street, a crowded festival, under a bridge, in a car, and standing on sand. One photograph is a close-up of a man's hand wearing two rings bearing the characters "U" and "2".
U2 - Achtung Baby
rel November 19, 1991

This record was probably the most talked about U2 album, among people I know, when it came out. I knew U2 in the 80's of course, and The Joshua Tree and The Unforgettable Fire among them. But I guess I wasn't into U2 much then (I actually never fully got into them until about 2002) and it seemed most people I knew weren't highly into them.

That being said, this record has a lot of good stuff on it. From "Mysterious Ways" to "The Fly" to "Until the End of the World."

"Even Better Than the Real Thing" and "Ultraviolet (Light My Way)" are 2 others I've always enjoyed.

"One" while it's a ballad and maybe a bit too cheesy for me. And unlike some of the other singles on this record, it seems has been grossly overplayed. Or at least was throughout the 90's on the radio. But, I still don't loathe it or anything.

So while this album is hardly a #1 go-to for 1991 and even for U2, I can't deny, it's a great record with a lot of depth.

Michael Jackson - Dangerous
rel November 26, 1991

An underrated album from many accounts. Although the reputation from many is after Bad, most of MJ's music is not from albums, but singles.

Ironically though, I mainly know this album for the single "Black or White" which as much as I know that tune and knew it when it came out, I now think of it most for the fact Kevin Gilbert did engineering (sequencer work) on it. It was also co-written by Bill Botrell who of course worked with Kevin in the Tuesday Music Club. Tim Pierce as well, plays guitar on it.

Shadow Gallery (album).jpg
Shadow Gallery - Shadow Gallery
rel November 30, 1991

There's a long, detailed story about this album, that I may save for another entry. But I guess to say this is my favorite Shadow Gallery album probably is true, despite the fact there are no drums on it, but just a drum machine.

But when I finally was won over by Mike Baker's voice, I grew to adore this album and played it frequently. The vocal harmonies, channeling bands like Queen and Yes among others, and the guitar work and keys which I grew to appreciate a ton.

From the closing, cinematic/fantasy epic "Queen of the City of Ice" to songs like "Say Goodbye to the Morning" 'Darktown" "Mystified" and "The Dance of Fools."

Very melodic and well composed progressive metal. And even with all the criticism they received for ripping off Dream Theater and Rush, I honestly never agreed with. Mike Baker vocals alone allowed them to stand out.

Live - Mental Jewelry
rel December 31, 1991

This is Live's debut album, and while I am pretty sure I have heard it, it also is not as memorable as some of their others. I'm not sure if it's something I have on CD (dirt cheap from memory, with most Live CDs), burned a copy, or have a cassette tape copy from a friend who I used to talk to regularly back in the early-mid 2000's named Michelle (Michelle and I are friends on FB by the way).

But I find with Live, I get a similar take on a lot of their albums and their sound. I like moments and even songs, but never get addicted to them. At the same time, I've never hated any of their albums, so I suppose this album is no exception.

But I also would not consider them Grunge, but almost like a heavier/darker version of R.E.M. in a lot ways.

Ozric Tentacles - Strangeitude.jpg
Ozric Tentacles - Strangeitude
rel 1991

This is kind of my go-to Ozrics album, for various reasons. I'm not sure why I bought it, but I'm pretty sure it was the 1st and maybe only? Ozrics album I own. But why I bought it, I think was per it being the only cd that was at like Cheapo at the time they were suggested to me, sometime in the late 90's.

It's weird with Ozrics, while I enjoy their music, and respect them maybe more than being attached to their actual music. I find a lot of their music samey. But I have always felt that way, and also felt that I don't know if I'd want it any other way.

Their music is instrumental space rock to put it simply. I suppose the 2 times I saw them live, I maybe got more from it as it is jammy and it goes into a lot of different territory. And the crowd is very hippie-ish (including some of the women, lol).

But this album I have enjoyed historically. The title track maybe being my favorite. But it does flow quite well and doesn't seem to drag at any points.

Saturday, March 26, 2016

Eddie Trunk on why King's X never got huge

I can't say I disagree with what Eddie Trunk said, but its always been baffling.

Not commercial enough not so much for the fans, but for a label rep or promoter, etc to really push them everywhere.

And I kind of have often if not always seen them as the 1st of a long string of bands who the exact same thing happened to. Three, Oceansize, dredg,...I would say even to an extent The Dear Hunter, but I think the jury is still out about how commercially successful they will become. But, King's X is a good example of how you can still make music and survive, however frugally. Their art still ultimately won out, even if it didn't exactly make their financial lives comfortable like many of their contemporaries (the grunge bands namely).

Friday, March 25, 2016

React To: 89.3 The Current's "Essential Albums"+Ask a Cool Person

89.3 The Current's Voting Link

With your help, we're compiling a list of the top 893 albums of all time. (MPR graphic/Luke Mills)

As if we haven't already had enough musical madness this month, The Current is getting even crazier: We are compiling a list of the 893 most essential albums of all time.

What are we calling this endeavor? Okay, we didn't get too crazy with the name: The Current's 893 Essential Albums. (The world needs some sanity.)

Sure, we deejays and staffers could compile a list ourselves, but that isn't nearly as much fun as fun involving you and other listeners, readers and members of The Current. We can't do this without you, seriously.

We know this will be difficult — no, nearly impossible — but do your best to rank your personal top 10 albums using the form below. Each of your picks counts as one vote for The Current's 893 Essential Albums (and enters you for a chance to win a $893 gift card to, good for buying music, toilet paper, you name it!). Note: Please, please, please use the format Artist - Album, e.g. The Smiths - Hatful of Hollow. We truly appreciate it.

And because we're a radio station that likes to have fun with programming, we're going to broadcast the full countdown of The Current's 893 Essential Albums according to you during Minnesota Public Radio's spring member drive this May 5 to 12 with each album's defining track, adding up to more than 82 hours of music. Yup, it's happening.

If you share your picks with friends (which we encourage!), be sure to use the hashtag #893albums so we can find you on social media. We'll be highlighting picks from listeners and The Current hosts until voting closes on April 17!

The Current's 893 Essential Albums
Use this form to submit your votes for The Current's 893 Essential Albums and to enter the giveaway between 12:30 p.m. CT on Wednesday, March 23 and 11:59 p.m. CT on Sunday, April 17, 2016.

One (1) winner will receive one (1) gift card. Three (3) back up names will be drawn.

Prize retail value: $893

Taxes and expenses as a result of winning this prize are the responsibility of the winner.

We will contact the winner by Tuesday, April 19, 2016. Winner must accept by 10 a.m. CT on Wednesday, April 20, 2016.

So I saw this in an email, and decided I would do it. Of course none of my submission will end up in their list, or for that matter, even have any music on their air (sans for a rare "coffee break" perhaps).

The list that they end up with, well maybe I'll try and edit-in when it is announced. Assuming I remember/notice it, etc.  But I'm sure it'll be a combination of the neverending praised and played music from albums on their air (Nirvana's Nevermind? Radiohead's OK Computer? , lol). I mean there may be a Zeppelin or Floyd record in there, and The Beatles probably, Sgt Pepper's or Revolver? whichever is more *hipster*? I kind of suspect the hipsters lean towards Revolver per it came 1st and was less commercial.

I could also see Pet Sounds ending up on the list.

But I could also see something like Arcade Fire's Funeral on there, lol.

Or even a Kanye West album, which would be even more eye-rolling.

Anyway, regardless of what ends up on their "Essential" list of 10 albums, the below list is my submission. I can say though it's not a perfect top 10 favorites, nor is it in exact order. I forgot to include Soundscape's Discovery in there anyway.

But certainly the below list of 10 albums are among my top 10+ all-time. The 1st 3 are kind of certain though. The other 7 could likely be replaced by another 10-30, lol.

Marillion - Brave

KG Shaming.jpg
Kevin Gilbert - The Shaming of the True

 Blood Moon (album).jpg
Apes and Androids - Blood Moon

Jethro Tull - Thick as a Brick

Genesis - Foxtrot

Relayer front cover.jpg
Yes - Relayer

 A pleasant shade of gray.jpg
Fates Warning - A Pleasant Shade of Gray

Pain of Salvation - The Perfect Element Part I

dredg - El Cielo

Toy Matinee.jpg
Toy Matinee - Toy Matinee

On another note related to 89.3 though, Andrea Swensson, whose run the Local part of The Current Blog and just this year took over The Current's Local Show on Sunday evenings (previously hosted by Dave Campbell), started a new series called "Ask a Cool Person," which is potentially an interesting new feature.

It is an interview/profile of some local person whose involved in Music/the Music Community in Minnesota in some way. Not necessarily, but probably more often than not, local Minnesota music. It could be a promoter, a club manager, a musician, record store clerk, radio/media person including journalists and bloggers like myself?

So I emailed Andrea giving her complements about the new feature. A couple of people I know have even been featured with Ellen Stanley and Jon Jon Scott from The Electric Fetus.

And I mentioned to her that I look forward to reading it each week, to see people I know, etc. And also with a suggestion to feature myself and That Drummer Guy perhaps. I even passed along the featured entry I did about progressive rock in Minnesota. It may not happen, as I'm sure there are plenty of people that would make sense to feature as well. And she hasn't emailed me back even, or contacted Josh (TDG). But it would be cool if she did.

I guess I don't expect it, but even if it's a couple of years from now, it would be cool, even if as it's clear and I've mentioned frequently in here for many years about 89.3 and my taste don't exactly mix. I.e. they don't do a lot with progressive rock, even though they could. But, this feature on their blog is not fully about what's on their air or even what they promote largely. So it might be an exception. 

But then again, it is 89.3 and that culture, which I've come to not expect much. But I also figure, there really isn't much to lose in throwing my name/this blog out there again.

Vinyl Update 2 (3/25/16, 10 mins)

In this video I show

dredg - Catch Without Arms
Coheed and Cambria - Welcome Home 7"
Coheed and Cambria - In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3
Protest the Hero - Kezia
Jeff Buckley - Sketches (For My Sweetheart the Drunk)

Thursday, March 24, 2016

A couple of React-To type entries coming...

I have 1 entry in the works that will be reacting to both Sound Opinions and Velocities in Music podcasts about Grunge and 1991, which may get me back into the "Retro Favorite Albums" series, although if it does, it will definitely not be identical than before.

And also 89.3 The Current have a Essential Albums List for listeners that i submitted. I should post mine and also a write-up about it, the list and 89.3 The Current in regards to my list and the list that will likely show up.

Also another recent note or 2 about 89.3 I suppose.

Rare Futures - This Is Your Brain on Love (2015-2016)

3/24/16 12:35PM
Stream and Article 
From their Facebook:

The album is officially released tomorrow, but it's now up to stream there.

//// After 5 long years of blood, sweat, and groove, our NEW record ‪#‎ThisIsYourBrainOnLove‬ comes out TOMORROW! And as a special treat, the lovely folks over at Diffuser have exclusively shared the whole kit and caboodle for you to stream early TODAY!  

2/17/16 2:10PM

Sweet video for "The Pressure"

1/25/16 9:14PM
Bandcamp Page / PREORDERS

Release Date March 4th, 2016.

The trailer below sounds excellent, and the 1st track "The Pressure" as well. Whether they changed their name from Happy Body Slow Brain, and I guess are now a trio, this could be a less-is-more or change-is-for-the-good, etc.

Also among the guests are Gavin Castleton (Gruvis Malt, Ebu Gogo, Solo) and Steve Choi (RX Bandits).

This Is Your Brain On Love cover art

1. ////ove
2. Reminding Me To Live
3. Ride The Snake
4. Mercury [And Opposite Planets]
5. The Pressure
6. Cool My Mind | Reverie
7. Worst Thing I've Ever Done
8. This Is Your Future [Lost In A Black Hole]
9. Your Past
10. Hope [Feat. Gavin Castleton]
11. You're An Island
12. Standing On The Precipice
13. Not Giving Up Yet

The Jelly Jam - Profit (2015-2016)

The 1st single linked on the FB page isn't bad, namely the dreamy outro. I honestly don't even recall much about their last album from a couple of years ago, except not really getting all that into it. But perhaps this one will do more for me? The concept sounds interesting as well.

And I am up for hearing anything with Ty and John Myung regardless.

May 27th is the release date. And there are supposed to be some tour dates in fact, although the odds of a date coming to Minnesota are about as good as some of their music being played on 89.3 or 93X I suppose, lol.

Facebook Link with stream of 1st single "Care."

Preorder incl Vinyl

1. Care
2. Stain On The Sun
3. Water
4. Stop
5. Perfect Lines (Flyin')
6. Mr. Man
7. Memphis
8. Ghost Town
9. Heaven
10. Permanent Hold
11. Fallen
12. Strong Belief


Music Theories Recordings will release The Jelly Jam’s fourth full-length album Profit on May 27. The Jelly Jam is a three-piece rock band, consisting of Ty Tabor of King’s X on guitar, keyboards, and vocals; Rod Morgenstein of The Dixie Dregs and Winger on drums and keyboards; and John Myung of Dream Theater on bass, moog, and chapman stick.

What was a kind of outlet for creative surplus and started under the name Platypus a few years ago, has now established itself in the form a solid community. After the release of two records and after the leaving of keyboarder Derek Sherinian, the remaining Platypus protagonists Ty Tabor, John Myung and Rod Morgenstein sought new challenges under the banner of The Jelly Jam. In 2002 their self-named debut album came out; two years later, the successor 2 was delivered to the shops and in 2011 the band released their third album Shall We Descend.

Their upcoming album, Profit, will be the band’s first all-out concept album with the basic story written around the idea that we, the people of Earth have abused and exhausted the planet’s resources forcing mankind to either find a new home or face extinction.

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Vinyl Update 3/23/16 Part 1 of 2, 13 mins

As I mentioned, I'm splitting up or waiting to make another vinyl video once I pickup the record that's at the post office currently.

In this video:

Kevin Gilbert - Thud (Kashmir EP)
Transatlantic - SMPTe
Transatlantic - Bridge Across Forever
Fates Warning - A Pleasant Shade of Gray
The Tea Party - The Edges of Twilight
Kerry Livgren - Seeds of Change
Queen - A Kind of Magic

Monday, March 21, 2016

React To Underrated Movies + Vinyl Video coming

Here on the Non-Music Blog

I'd love to spend time just talking about many of the movies I mentioned, and for that matter, many I didn't even, as there are a lot of 4-star movies that I didn't include, that aren't incredibly popular, etc.

Time of course.

Also I have a good stack of new vinyls to make a video about in the next day or 2. I guess just as a preview it includes:

Fates Warning
Jeff Buckley
Coheed and Cambria
The Tea Party
Protest the Hero
Kerry Livgren

and I have some others in progress like Galactic Cowboys, Savatage, Extreme and Hawkwind, Dream Theater, Fates Warning and Marillion potentially. Although, I am still trying to save/pay for a wedding in September, lol.

Friday, March 18, 2016

Anderson / Stolt - Invention of Knowledge (2015-2016)

3/18/16 8:46PM
I saw some stuff about this, I forget when, maybe a couple of weeks ago? Or it may have been just over last weekend. Anyway, the thing about this is, I tend to notice like Neal Morse, most things Roine Stolt does, sound like him and The Flower Kings. So I guess my hopes and expectations for this would be for it to sound like TFK's with Jon singing.

Now with the emphasis and inpsiration even more from classic, 70's epic Yes stuff, and especially having Jon involved, it may not ultimately quite come out like The Flower Kings with Jon Anderson singing.

And it is impressive to have this come out, with Jon's track record of projects that are in-the-works but never seem to actually come out.

And just noticing the guests, I am curious what role Daniel Gildenlow will have? he may just sing some harmonies and play guitar on some of it, I dunno. And from creative standpoint, his role may be minimal at best. Since even the stuff he did with The Flower Kings I never fell head over heals with exactly.

But all that being said, I will certainly check this out and maybe at least hope to be pleasantly surprised by it. If they capture some of the Tales and Relayer/CTTE/Heart of the Sunrise vibe (or even "Mind Drive" for that matter) I cannot see myself not listening to it a fair amount.

1. Knowing 17:45
2. Everybody Heals 13:20
3. Invention Of Knowledge 23:10
4. Know 11:20

Anderson / Stolt, the brand new duo of legendary Yes vocalist & singer/songwriter Jon Anderson and progressive rock veteran Roine Stolt (The Flower Kings, Transatlantic), have announced the release of their collaborative album 'Invention Of Knowledge' for 24th June 2016 via InsideOut Music.

Jon Anderson had this to say: ".....Music is always the driving force in my life...working with such a wonderful musician as Roine Stolt made the creation of this album very unique,we are very excited with the release of 'Invention of Knowledge'."

Roine Stolt adds: "It is not aiming at being new Yes music; just new music, modern and classical, rock and ethno, tribal and orchestrated, grooving and floating. Hopefully in the true spirit of "progressive" - leaning forward, surprising and also comforting with familiar run-arounds. 

We've been "inventing" as we go along - Jon is an endless source of new ideas. We've been bouncing ideas back and forth for months and as a result there are probably dozens of versions of these songs. It's been a very interesting and rewarding time and the result is just insanely detailed."

InsideOut label-head Thomas Waber comments: "I have been talking to Jon for ages about making an album of 'Yes music' - as Jon calls it - and Roine seemed like the perfect guy for him to work with. I am really happy that it has finally happened and I am also thrilled with the material they have come up with. I think it will please a lot of fans!"

The idea came to life swiftly off the back of a performance from Roine's band Transatlantic, and Jon Anderson on the Progressive Nation At Sea Cruise in 2014, and was initially instigated by InsideOut Music label boss Thomas Waber. The duo set about crafting new music in the spirit of early epic works such as 'Tales From Topographic Oceans', 'Awaken' & 'Olias Of Sunhillow', but giving it a modern twist.

Written & recorded over the course of 1 and a half years, the tracks have been in a state of constant change as Roine and Jon swapped & refined ideas by sending tracks to each other via the internet. In March 2015, an ensemble was put together by Roine to realise the music live in the studio. Joining him there was Tom Brislin (who played on the Yes Symphonic tour) & Lalle Larsson on keys, Jonas Reingold & Michael Stolt on bass and Felix Lehrmann on drums. The sessions were also bolstered by appearances from Daniel Gildenlöw, Nad Sylvan, Anja Obermayer, Maria Rerych and Kristina Westas who all provided backing vocals.

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Random Artist Feature: Oceansize (17 mins)

Another one, 17+ mins is kind of par for the course for these. I'd love to make them shorter, but at the same time I'd like to tell as much of my history and the band's history with each.

As for Oceansize, I need to pickup both Effloresce and Music for Nurses on Vinyl. The latter may happen soon. Self Preserved perhaps as well. And the Feed to Feed boxed set as I mentioned,

I always meant to write up a more in-depth dissection of their catalog, which I could still do someday, but time always is not on my side. That and desire to cover more ground and music, etc.

Monday, March 14, 2016

3/12/16 Cloud Cult at the State Theatre Minneapolis, MN

Guess-estimated Set List:

The Great Unknown
Running With The Wolves
Time Machine Invention
Everything You Thought You Had
You Were Born
Story Of The Grandson Of Jesus
Days to Remember
Transistor Radio
Meet Me Where You're Going
Light at the End of the Tunnel?
No Hell
The Man Jumped Out the Window
Love You All
There's So Much Energy In Us
Complicated Creation
Through the Ages

Another uplifting show from Cloud Cult, supporting their new record/film The Seeker which has become my favorite record of 2015-2016 thus far, and among if not my favorite of theirs overall.

The set list is likely not 100% accurate both in titles and order as I was not able to find it anywhere online ( namely at this point), but it's relatively close to this. I did try to get a set list sheet after the show as I saw them on stage, but the security people wouldn't allow me to grab it, or have one of them go up and get one for me unfortunately.

But in terms of what is included, it is quite good and it has a lot material from of course The Seeker, Love and Light Chasers. Love, got a lot of *love*, although I was expecting them to play "Good Friend" after they kept playing tracks off it. But "Sleepwalker" is one of my favorites from that record and I was really happy to hear it last night.

I suppose I would have lost it probably had they included "You Never Were Alone" which has become maybe their saddest song to me ever, at least how the music sounds along with the lyrics hit me. I dunno, I wonder if they will eventually bring it out on another leg, or perhaps they'll play the entire The Seeker record at some point. Which that would also include "The pilgrimage" which has become a favorite of mine.

But the show, I guess while being sold out, many of the tickets were held by the band members for family, etc. I was fortunate enough to meet a gentleman named Gary who had an extra ticket. he was nice enough to give me. And his seats were pretty good, about 20 rows back on the right side in front of Sarah Perbix, Cloud Cult's keyboard/trumpet/french horn and vocalist (and whom I sort of know personally as I took some piano lessons from her a few years ago).

But it was more or less a capacity crowd at the State Theatre. And it had the crowd standing frequently, which I have mixed feelings about. For one, I like to see the whole band and the paintings that are being made by Scott West and Connie Minowa. And I also am not crazy about standing for long lengths of time, especially considering this show went well over 2 hours.

And the Cloud Cult fans also seem to enjoy standing, and even dancing, which I follow I suppose to a point. But what it led to was a lot of standing up, and sitting down. By about the middle of the set, I just couldn't sit anymore given some folks a couple of rows up were not going to sit anymore.

Which makes me wonder if they will do more shows at any of the Hennepin theaters, or go back to First Ave when they do shows in the Twin Cities, save for an outdoor event like Rock the Garden or whatever. Although considering they have played at Orchestra Hall and the Southern Theater, I suppose playing theater shows is not new to them. I was at the Orchestra Hall show back in 2011? I think it was, and it worked really well. I just don't recall the sitting-standing-sitting-standing-sitting-standing thing as much as last night.

But alas, it's been 3 years since I last saw them supporting Love, and even with a little bit of personnel changes, they still are infectious live act. I just feel a bit spoiled I suppose to have them from my hometown, so much that I don't try and see them every chance I get because of time, budget, and priority. But I mentioned to Gary, if they were from another town and came to Minnesota even once every other year, I'd likely never miss a show. They're still THAT good live.

And maybe someday they'll want to play like the complete Light Chasers live, which would probably be a dream set list for me for them.

Saturday, March 12, 2016

Oddland - Origin (2015-2016)

article talking about album and signing to Sensory Records

Finnish progressive metal band Oddland have signed with Ken Golden's related Metal label Sensory Records for their 2nd LP Origin.

A Summer release is expected per that article.

I'll be bumping this topic of course when more details come. I enjoy 2012's The Treachery Of Senses quite a bit. The Opeth influence is there, in a good way.

Here's the video linked on that article live at ProgPower Europe.

Friday, March 11, 2016

Keith Emerson Rest in Peace

Another revered musician from MY world is gone! Anyone's world I suppose. George Martin lived a full life, etc, but it is still sad.

But now Ketih.

I saw Keith once in 1998 at Grand Casino Hinckley with Dream Theater and Deep Purple. It was a very memorable show, including his famous work of getting on top of his piano and using a knife I recall.

While ELP aren't absolute favorite of mine, they are a band I have always enjoyed, and their best records like Tarkus and Brain Salad Surgery especially.

Godspeed..jeez, this has been one tough calendar year, and it's only March 11th :{

I hope this is the last for a long time.

But in the mean time, welcome back friends to the show that never ends, come inside come inside, and don't forget the life and work of the great Keith Emerson.

oh and I need to now for certain, spend time with his band The Nice. I guess him and Jimi Hendrix are now jamming up in heaven as they always did and meant to do after after 1970 (HELP happened in a parallel universe I will always believe).

Carl Palmer's Facebook

I am deeply saddened to learn of the passing of my good friend and brother-in-music, Keith Emerson. Keith was a gentle soul whose love for music and passion for his performance as a keyboard player will remain unmatched for many years to come. He was a pioneer and an innovator whose musical genius touched all of us in the worlds of rock, classical and jazz. I will always remember his warm smile, good sense of humor, compelling showmanship, and dedication to his musical craft. I am very lucky to have known him and to have made the music we did, together. Rest in peace, Keith.

Carl Palmer
March 11, 2016

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

Amanda Palmer - Machete [Single]

Good tune, not all that different for Amanda. The inspiration is interesting as usual. Cool that Ben Folds is included in the credits.

this song was written in memory of anthony: best friend, cancer victim, weapons enthusiast, life-saver and….it’s a long story. but a good one. read it here: 

this recording was able to come into being created because of my incredible patreon community. 
if you want to support more making of Things, please consider joining us: 

the band: 
amanda palmer - piano and vocals 
jherek bischoff - electric bass, string arrangement, mixing & mastering engineer, bad-ass 
ben folds - drums, spiritual editor 
ryan lerman - electric guitar 
aniela marie perry - cello 
lauren elizabeth baba - viola 
crystal brooke alforque - violin 

sound engineers: 
chris kahn at eastwest studio LA (band) 
jaron luksa at the rattle room (vocals and strings) 

thanks to mayumi heider for cat-herding, and to mayumi, risa luksa, and gracie folds for childcare.


i have never liked the box of knives 
you said was a paradox because you’re kind 
but withstood a childhood that robbed you blind 
of love that was safe and so you learned to fight 

what do i do with this stuff? 
it seems like yesterday i called you up 
i had a terrible case of the past 
i didn’t know how to get it off 
i didn’t know how to get it off 

and you took 
your machete 
and you sliced through the vines that wrapped around me 
and you said 
i don’t know what i’m doing 
so i’ll just keep on cutting 
it’s worth a little blood to get your arms free 

i have never liked the box of knives 
you said was a paradox because you’re kind 
but withstood a childhood that robbed you blind 
of love that was safe and so you learned to fight 

what do i do with this stuff? 
it seems like yesterday i was in love 
i kept of covering the soft parts up 
i didn’t know how to get them off 
i didn’t know how to get them off 

and you took your machete 
and you hacked through the woods in the surrounding 
and you said 
i don’t know where i’m going 
i just know that i’m heading from 
the dead things piling up behind me 

and you took 
your machete 
and you carved out a path to my chest and you said see 
there’s nothing not worth keeping 
you’ve felt so many beatings 
nothing’s going to work if you believe me 
nothing’s going to work if you believe me 

i have never liked the box of knives 
you said was a paradox because you’re kind 
but withstood a childhood that robbed you blind 
of love that was safe and so you learned to fight 

i have never liked the box of knives 
i took it to the oceanside the day you died 
i stood out on the dock 
no matter how hard i tried 
i couldn’t drop them in 
and i collapsed and cried: 

what do i do with this stuff? 
it seems like yesterday you were alive 
and it’s as if you never really died 
and it’s as if you never really died. 

and you took 
your machete 
and you said boo guess who 
but seriously, beauty 
you said 
see ? 
you get the drill now don’t you 
it’s not a will or won’t 
you can’t keep making symbols out of nothing 

so i took your machete 
and i sliced off your head and you laughed 
and you said see 
it’s just like anti matter 
it’s dumbo’s magic feather 
you don’t need me here to cut you 
you don’t need me here to cut you 
you don’t need me here to cut you 
you don’t need me here to cut you 

released March 9, 2016

Who the F*@% is Frank Zappa? (new Zappa doc campaign)

Documentary Kickstarter for this doc on Zappa. I have to admit, I would like to see this, even with my sort of love/not-so-love relationship with Zappa's music (i.e. From the limited amount I have heard, I enjoy a lot of it, but there's also a lot of it I don't care for).

Alex Winter of course from the Bill and Ted series of movies and who made the Napster documentary a few years ago titled Downloaded, is behind it.

Alex Lifeson interview about the future of Rush (in 2016 and Beyond)

RS story

rush band promo photo canada geddy lee thrash hits

This is not really news, except for it being more or less official now. Altough the quotes from Alex in that are more or less what he's said in interviews over the last 6 months about Neil and the R40 tour being difficult/painful for him.

And there's not an actual quote from Alex, at least that I can tell, that says they are never going to ever tour again.

It just has this quote

"We had such a great time on the tour," Lifeson tells Rolling Stone. "And it was really nice to go through all the material in reverse chronology, and I think our fans really enjoyed it. I think that no matter how long it would have been, it would have been too short. Neil was prepared to commit to 30 dates and he told us that right from the very beginning. He didn't even want to do the tour, to be honest with you. It's been increasingly difficult for him, but he committed to the tour and we got through it. As far as he was concerned, that was the end of touring."

But anyway, this has been more or less the belief long before the R40 tour even. I imagine they will still play the 1-offs or special shows at some point. Or Geddy and Alex will end up doing some shows either together or alone perhaps down the road.

And they may put out more recordings at least.

For me personally, I saw them I count 8? times, so I can't complain.

Sunday, March 6, 2016

Random Artist Feature: dredg

So I did a couple of videos about dredg.

I love dredg so much, I could see going back and doing more in detail album reviews at some point, but we'll see.

Black Mountain - IV (2015-2016)

3/6/16 1:49AM

2nd single and animated video for "Florian Saucer Attack."

2/13/16 2:06PM
I don't have a ton of time right now to elaborate on this, but I suppose I can just say this 1st single  (and trippy as hell video below) "Mother of the Sun" is 8.5 minutes and pretty much capturing a lot of what I used to love  .about this Canadian heavy psych/stoner/prog band who feature both male and female vocals, (namely from the In the Future period in 2008)

This 1st new album, after 6 years, since 2010's Wilderness Heart, drops on April 1st.

1 Mothers of the Sun
2 Florian Saucer Attack
3 Defector
4 You Can Dream
5 Constellations
6 Line Them All Up
7 Cemetery Breeding
8 (Over & Over) The Chain
9 Crucify Me
10 Space to Bakersfield

Saturday, March 5, 2016

Nerf Herder - The Girl Who Listened to Rush

This is a song from geeky pop/punk band from California, Nerf Herder from their upcoming record Rockingham, which is released on March 11th.

This is pretty much gold although on Sound Opinions last week with Geddy and Alex the lack of Female Rush fans was addressed. And at the end of the current week's episode of Sound Opinions, some female Rush fans called in of course.

Friday, March 4, 2016

Kevin Gilbert - The City of the Sun live + a Mix

I'm pretty sure I've heard some of the alternate live versions of "The City of the Sun" and a few of the other 'Shaming tracks. Perhaps even this version, I forget.

But this is cool to revisit again, even as different and stripped down as it sounds live. The Spoken Word does add a bit as well.

Kevin Gilbert - The City Of The Sun (Live + More Mix) 2016...just for fun.

Kevin Gilbert - Bass and Vocals
Nick D'Virgilio - Drums
Russ Parrish - Guitar

Spoken Word - Jamie DeWolf

Live at:
Rittenhouse Square (outdoors)
Aug 23, 1995

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

iamthemorning - Lighthouse (2015-2016)

3/1/16 1:54PM
1st track "Chalk and Coal" ..haven't listened yet, but should later today.

1/28/16 10:13PM
This is the new/upcoming album from Russian modern-classical influenced prog duo iamthemorning.
I really enjoyed Belighted from 2014 and the older records after finally being won over by their sound.

Gavin Harrison, Colin Edwin and KScope labelmate Marius Duda among the guests, adds curiosity.

Release date is April 1st. 

1. I Came Before the Water (pt. I) [1:41]
2. Too Many Years [5:09]
3. Clear Clearer [4:35]
4. Sleeping Pills [3:43]
5. Libretto Horror [2:13]
6. Lighthouse (feat. Mariusz Duda) [6:13]
7. Harmony [5:18]
8. Matches [4:18]
9. Belighted [3:26]
10. Chalk And Coal [4:56]
11. I Came Before the Water (pt. II) [2:56]
12. Post Scriptum [2:43]

Vinyl Preorder
CD Preorder

Featuring guests Gavin Harrison, Colin Edwin and Mariusz Duda (Riverside, Luantic Soul) and engineered/mixed by Marcel Van Limbeek (Tori Amos), Lighthouse is the 2016 album from Russian Post-Progressive duo iamthemorning. 

Rich and eclectic, Ligthouse possesses elements of Classical music, Canterbury Prog, northern Folk, Jazz and Ambient music. 

Recorded across London, Moscow and St Petersburg, the core instrument of the band, the grand piano, was recorded in Mosfilm Studios Moscow, the largest and oldest studios in Russia. Founded in 1920, Mosfilm is renowned for recording orchestras for soundtracks for the most famous Soviet-era films, including works by Tarkovsky and Eisenstein. 

Lighthouse chronicles the progression of mental illness. The album takes the listener through the stages of breakdown via a central character - her attempts to fight it, temporal remission leading to a final collapse and has been inspired by the works and lives of Virginia Woolf and Sylvia Plath. 

The album artwork for Lighthouse was created by watercolour artist and long-term collaborator, Constantine Nagishkin. 

iamthemorning on Facebook