Monday, February 29, 2016

Vektor and Ne Obliviscaris interviews (per That Drummer Guy)

2 really good interviews from That Drummer Guy, these 2 interviews were done at shows in Minnesota over last weekend.

A lot of good content about both Vektor and Ne Obliviscaris in them, including the new Vektor album of course, and Ne Obliviscaris upcoming tour plans in 2016, likely to include more dates in North America.

I actually was at the Vektor show on Friday night, but didn't make the Ne Obliviscaris show on Sunday. But it was great to recall/hear about both them here.



Cloud Cult - The Seeker (Video Review, 9 mins)

A relatively brief review of the album and film. Warning: a few spoilers for the film, but it was kind helpful/important to include.

Random Artist Feature: Cloud Cult

These videos turned out okay, although I spent day after day trying to prep for these, I would like to go more in depth about their music even. Perhaps I will eventually.

The Seeker review will be posted in a separate entry right after this.


Thursday, February 25, 2016

Joey Eppard - Word to the Wise (2015-2016)



Per Neesh's post in Threedom Fighters, this album is coming out on June 21st. Which is a Tuesday, which is odd, but I'm not sure if it's released per https://joeyeppard.bandcamp.com/ if the Friday-only release dates really mean anything.

Regardless, should be great to hear. It's been 12 years as Neesh pointed out, since the release of Been to the Future.

No idea as far as stylistically, if this will be more acoustic-driven recordings like that record, or if it may include some other things like Orchestral stuff, maybe even with the assistance of Josh Benash, who I know is friends with Joey and Joey admires his work in many ways musically, namely the string arrangements with Kiss Kiss, Vuvuzela, and his solo music.

And it's been quite awhile since the last Three full-length album, being The Ghost You Gave to Me in 2011, so it'll be great to also just hear anything from Joey again. Although the 2014 Song of the Month project was cool, regardless.

Will bump when more info comes of course. I like the cover already.

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Sir Video - Power of Love +Back to the Future Day Sync



I am a Back to the Future fan like many, but I can't claim to be this into the movies as some of the people at this party.

The cover is good though, not straying all that much from the original arrangement, yet you can still tell it's Sir Video and Timmy Sean.

Monday, February 22, 2016

Painted in Exile: Indiegogo

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/painted-in-exile-new-full-length-album-2016--3#/



The video more or less explains everything. I am still optimistic about what this band will do, even after everything that's happened with lineup changes (member's leaving, and returning in the case of their singer Rob Richards) and just how many years its been since I first got into them, 2009?

I can't help though think about  Native Construct and how they got signed to Metal Blade records, and this band has been around longer I recall, but were not signed to them nor a label like Summerian or Relapse.

But maybe putting this album out how they will could be for the best.

I'll try and bump this as their progress on the campaign happens.

Sunday, February 21, 2016

Kimbra singing live with AS TALL AS LIONS "Where Do I Stand"



As Tall as Lions did some reunion shows recently and Kimbra joined them for the track she sang on, on the album.

I'd love to see this, or even ATAL live again. Or another album even. Maybe this will spark that?

Rest in Peace Piotr Grudzinski (Guitarist of Riverside)

40 years old, jeez.

Mike Portnoy even just posted on his forum he was at The Winery Dogs show the other night.

Not that I can claim to be a *huge* fan of Riverside's music, but I do like some of it, and I know a number of people who do really love them, and this is very unexpected and tragic. How he died? I dunno, but it sounds like in his sleep. Perhaps like the co-worker of mine did a few weeks ago. Although she was 67, but still very sad and hard to believe.

Rest in Peace Piotr.


Riverside's Facebook

With great pain and disbelief, we inform you that our dear friend and brother Peter grudziński left us this morning. We ask that you respect the privacy of the family and loved ones.

***

In our deepest pain and disbelief we would like to inform you that our dearest friend and brother Piotr Grudzinski has passed away this morning. We kindly ask you to respect the privacy of his family and friends.



Friday, February 19, 2016

Jolly: JOLLY Kills Steven Wilson (Animated Prog Rock Parody)

This was posted about a month ago, so it's not exactly in-the-now per say, but I also am not sure how circulated it got when it was shared.

At any case, it is worth a laugh or 2, especially with some of the progressive rock name dropping: Mike Portnoy, Devin Townsend, James LaBrie and Steven Wilson of course, among others I may not have noticed.

I guess my only criticism would be the squirrel and the graphic art of that, I may have gone for not including. That and I thought of an alternative plot about Steven, where there's a JUKEBOX, and knowing he is not a fan of ipods and the jukebox/shuffle mentality for music; have it be setup that he or someone wants to have a hit song of his played on a Jukebox somewhere. And after dialing it up, it fails to play his song. Steven gets so peeved by it, he ends up taking it out on the Jukebox and shaking it so profusely, it ends up collapsing on him.

But, maybe that's MY progressive rock parody, lol.


Props to the JOLLY guys, especially Louis Abramson. And I'm looking forward to the next and all future episodes of this series (and their new album, which I have yet to check out the 1st single, but should soon).

Thursday, February 18, 2016

Cloud Cult: February 2016 (videos coming soon...)

The new Cloud Cult album The Seeker has obviously been on my mind a lot the last couple of weeks. And in the process, I thought it would make sense to make a review video of it, which makes sense.

But I also just thought, why not do a Random Artist Feature video about them.

So, over the last few days, I've been revisiting their catalog and history quite a bit.

I hopefully will manage to finish my revisiting or hearing for the 1st time, stuff like The Shade Project perhaps, and even Who Killed Puck? which I thought I had, but can't seem to find it. But I did find it on YouTube at least.

After that is all accomplished, a video and/or another write-up about Cloud Cult may happen.

I actually have meant to try and dissect their whole catalog for quite sometime, especially their 1st 4 or 5 albums. Them and Lehto and Wright actually.

I don't know how in-depth it'll be on video, but at least revisiting those early albums again, I am reminded why I feel/felt about them how I do, etc.

I guess I am finding the inspiration/motivation after being so connected to The Seeker of late, and even the fact it's their 10th studio record. It's kind of a milestone or significant time for Cloud Cult and to be a Cloud Cult fan.

Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Mayer Hawthorne - Man About Town (2015-2016)..("Love Like That" Streaming)

2/17/16 11:23PM

edit: the next single "Love Like That" now streaming


The release date is now April 8th, but the title "Man About Town" rings a bell or 2, which for myself I suppose it is Kevin Gilbert and the song "The Ballad of Jenny Ledge" from his band Toy Matinee:

Tempted by half-Elvis, half man-about-town

But as far as the track list and artwork, etc. I expect it to be good, even though it's hardly a long record clocking in at just under 34 minutes (per the iTunes track times, Amazon has it at 34:02).

The fiancee will want probably 1 of the big bundles and a tour hopefully will follow with a date in Minneapolis (preorder page on his site mentions a headlining tour). I think this album would be a huge deal right now to her, but with The Monkees album, it may take a little bit of a backseat, which could be interesting to find out how she feels about it vs The Monkees album (2 of her favorites in the same year; for me it might be like when dredg and The Dear Hunter came out the same year..or Marillion and Fates Warning, etc).

http://store.mayerhawthorne.com/
Facebook Post (with all the preorder links)

 photo Mayer Hawthorne - man about town cropped2_zpslvonmxoe.jpg
1 Man About Town 0:41
2 Cosmic Love 3:13
3 Book of Broken Hearts 3:31
4 Breakfast in Bed 4:07
5 Lingerie & Candlewax 3:37
6 Fancy Clothes 4:05
7 The Valley 3:32
8 Love Like That 4:06
9 Get You Back 3:36
10 Out of Pocket 3:22

1/14/16 2:00PM
Yet to be announced titled new album coming in April. 1st single "Cosmic Love" streaming:

Story




Monday, February 15, 2016

Dead By Wednesday - Darkest of Angels ft JOHN ARCH!

This is awesome, but then again, more or less everything John Arch sings on is.

I swear the guy could sing the phone-book and I'd love it.

Saturday, February 13, 2016

CONCERTARCHIVES.ORG

Per the previous entry, this is just a heads up, original/new Entry just about this site.

I may edit-in the Concert Attendance history entry about it once I've used http://concertarchives.org

Or maybe just stick with one or the other.

My Concert Attendance History: An Incomplete List

So I'm bumping this to update it I suppose, but also what I just posted on the Social Medias

why have I never heard of this site until now? http://www.concertarchives.org/

I guess I'll have to start transcribing the list below into there, time permitting.

I suppose though, given the extensive yet somewhat organized list below, I have already done some of the work compared to many others who would be starting from scratch or using their last.fm or rateyourmusic.com pages.


11/6/15 2:08PM
So it came to me like a month ago while stumbling upon setlist.fm for something that I should try and compile and update all the concerts/live shows I've been to. And by date, month, year and venue and including every act on the bill.

Now this is far from complete, and I have some of the local concerts I've seen here, but am missing dozens if not 100's, which given some time, I'll try and edit-in I suppose.

1988
4/15/88 Canadian Brass - Orchestra Hall Minneapolis, MN
1992
2/29/92 Maynard Ferguson - Mounds View High School Mounds View, MN
8/28/92 Steve Miller Band - Minnesota State Fair Grandstand Falcon Heights, MN

1993
6/22/93 Sting - Target Center Minneapolis, MN

1994
4/8/94 Rush/Primus - Target Center Minneapolis, MN

1995
4/17/95 Wynton Marsalis - Ted Mann Concert Hall Minneapolis, MN
5/23/95 Boston - Target Center Minneapolis, MN
7/30/95 Van Halen/Our Lady Peace - Target Center Minneapolis, MN

1996
5/30/96 Styx/Kansas - St.Paul Civic Center St.Paul, MN
8/26/96 King's X/Galactic Cowboys - The Mirage Minneapolis, MN
10/29/96 Rush - Target Center Minneapolis, MN

1997
7/9/97 Queensryche/Malicious Mischief - Target Center Minneapolis, MN
7/22/97  The Who - Target Center Minneapolis, MN
11/01/97 Kansas - Treasure Island Casino Red Wing, MN
11/2/97  Dream Theater/Big Wreck - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
11/18/97 Yes - The State Theatre Minneapolis, MN

1998
8/23/98 Deep Purple/Emerson Lake and Palmer/Dream Theater - Grand Casino Hinckley, MN
10/19/98 King's X/Galactic Cowboys - Ground Zero Minneapolis, MN

1999
2/2/99 King's X/Galactic Cowboys - Medina Ballroom Minneapolis, MN

2000
2/11/00 Dream Theater/The Dixie Dregs/The Star People - State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
6/16/00 North East Art Rock Festival
Happy the Man/Anekdoten/Iluvatar/DFA/North Star - Zoellner Arts Center Bethlehem, PA
6/17/00 North East Art Rock Festival
Transatlantic/Par Lindh Project/Il Balletto Di Bronzo/Thinking Plague/Nexus - Zoellner Arts Center, Bethlehem, PA
8/13/00 Dream Theater - The Quest Minneapolis, MN
8/15/00 King's X/Podunk - The Quest Minneapolis, MN
12/ /00 Chick Corea - The Dakota Jazz Club St.Paul, MN

2001
2/23/01 Prog Power USA
Symphony X/Jag Panzer/Reading Zero/Onward/Etheria/ - JJ Kelley's Lansing, IL
2/24/01 Prog Power USA
Pain of Salvation/Evergrey/Ion Vein/Power of Omens/Zero Hour JJ Kelley's Lansing, IL
5/5/01 Savatage/Fates Warning - The Lab St.Paul, MN
5/01 Bill Bruford's Earthworks - The Dakota Jazz Club St.Paul, MN
5/30/01 Yo-Yo Ma - The Ordway Theater St.Paul, MN
6/23/01 North East Art Rock Festival
Porcupine Tree/Deus Ex Machina/White Willow/Under the Sun/Birdsongs of the Mesozoic - Zoellner Arts Center Bethlehem, PA
6/24/01 North East Art Rock Festival
Banco del Mutuo Soccorso/After Crying/California Guitar Trio/Djam Karet/The Underground Railroad - Zoellner Arts Center Bethlehem, PA
7/26/01 Spock's Beard/Event - Shank Hall Milwaukee, WI
8/23/01 East Meets Jazz - The Dakota Bar and Grille St.Paul, MN
9/14/01 The Flower Kings/ - Shank Hall Milwaukee, WI
10/26/01 Tim Reynolds/Greg Howard - The Women's Club Theater Minneapolis, MN
11/5/01 King's X/Moke - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
11/10/01 Prog Power USA
Kamelot/Evergrey/Steel Prophet/Spiral Architect/Superior - Earthlink Live Atlanta, GA
11/21/01 King Crimson/John Paul Jones - Grand Ballroom in River Center St.Paul, MN


2002
3/13/02 Dream Theater - The Orpheum Theatre Minneapolis, MN
3/22/02 Collective Unconscious performs The Beatles Abbey Road - Bryant Lake Bowl Minneapolis, MN
5/30/02 Sleepytime Gorilla Museum/Bubblemath - The Lab St.Paul, MN
6/17/02 King's X/Tapping the Vein - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
6/29/02 North East Art Rock Festival
Nektar/Echolyn/Miriodor/Isildurs Bane/La Torre dell'alchimista/ - Patriots Theater Trenton, NJ
6/30/02 North East Art Rock Festival
Steve Hackett/Caravan/Enchant/Gerard/Spaced Out - Patriots Theater Trenton, NJ
7/19/02 Kansas - Hennepin Ave Block Party Minneapolis, MN
8/2/02 George Duke/Jeff Kashiwa/California Guitar Trio - Old Chicago Navarre Uptown Art Fair Minneapolis, MN
8/26/02 The Victor Wooten Band/ - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
10/6/02 Scott Henderson Trio/Dean Magraw and Jim Anton - The Cabooze Minneapolis, MN
10/9/02 Tried for Fine/Bubblemath - The Uptown Bar Minneapolis, MN
11/2/02 Rush - Target Center Minneapolis, MN
11/8/02 Herbie Hancock - Ted Mann Concert Hall Minneapolis, MN
11/15/02 Prog Power USA
Blind Guardian/Pain of Salvation/Edguy/Silent Force/Zero Hour - Earthlink Live Atlanta, GA
11/16/02 Prog Power USA
Angra/Gamma Ray/The Devin Townsend Band/Threshold/Reading Zero - Earthlink Live Atlanta, GA
11/18/02 Porcupine Tree/Greg Howard - Shank Hall Milwaukee, WI
11/23/02 Yes - State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
12/ /02 State 4/Little Tin Box - 4th Street Station St.Paul, MN
2003
1/11/03 Dean Magraw with Randy Sabien and Jim Anton - Weisman Art Museum Minneapolis, MN
1/24/03 Courtney Yasmineh w/ Dean Magraw - The Bean and Wine Cafe Excelsior, MN
1/31/03 Vulvox/Trend 86 - The Uptown Bar Minneapolis, MN
2/4/03 Larry Coryell - The Dakota Bar and Grille St.Paul, MN
2/28/03 Courtney Yasmineh w/ Dean Magraw - The Bean and Wine Cafe Excelsior, MN
3/18/03 Bireli Lagrene - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
3/28/03 Courtney Yasmineh w/ Dean Magraw - The Bean and Wine Cafe Excelsior, MN
4/25/03 Courtney Yasmineh w/ Dean Magraw - The Bean and Wine Cafe Excelsior, MN
5/20/03 Opeth/Lacuna Coil - The Quest Club Minneapolis, MN
5/23/03 Courtney Yasmineh w/ Dean Magraw - The Bean and Wine Cafe Excelsior, MN
5/28/03 Iced Ink/Sacred Ground (Beef) - 4th Street Station St.Paul, MN
6/20/03 Courtney Yasmineh w/ Dean Magraw - The Bean and Wine Cafe Excelsior, MN
7/26/03 Porcupine Tree/Opeth - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
7/29/03 Roy Haynes - The Dakota Jazz Club - St.Paul, MN
7/31/03 Bela Fleck and the Flecktones - The Weesner Amphitheater at the Minnesota Zoo Apple Valley, MN
8/4/03 Peter Frampton - Mystic Lake Casino Prior Lake, MN
8/13/03 Steve Hackett - Borders Books Nicollet Mall Minneapolis, MN
9/11/03 California Guitar Trio - Sartell, MN
9/29/03 Remember Shakti - Orchestra Hall Minneapolis, MN
9/ /03    Bela Fleck and Edgar Meyer - St.Benedict College St.Joseph, MN
10/10/03 The Mars Volta/Saul Williams - The Quest Minneapolis, MN
10/25/03 King's X/Fishbone - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
10/30/03 Ian Anderson - The Fitzgerald Theater St.Paul, MN
10/ /03   Jean-Luc Ponty - Rossi's Blue Star Room Minneapolis, MN
11/5/03  Hammer of the Gods - BB Kings New York City, NY
11/23/03 Iced Ink/Sacred Ground (beef)/Lost Mind Found - 4th Street Station St.Paul, MN

Unclear:
Rachel Z - The Dakota Bar and Grille St.Paul, MN
Jean-Luc Ponty - The Fitzgerald Theater St.Paul,MN
2004
1/10/04 Jon Anderson - Keswick Theatre Glendale, PA
3/13/04 Dream Theater - State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
3/24/04 The Musical Box - The Pabst Theatre Milwaukee, WI
4/14/04 California Guitar Trio - Paramount Theatre St.Cloud, MN
5/ /04    Iced Ink/Odds Vs./Lost Mind Found
5/16/04 King's X/Serotone - The Rock Maplewood, MN
*5/18/04 Opeth - The Quest Club Minneapolis, MN
7/18/04 Eric Clapton/Robert Randolph and the Family Band - XCel Energy Center St.Paul, MN
7/27/04 Ozric Tentacles - Shank Hall Milwaukee, WI
8/24/04 Deep Purple/Joe Satriani/Thin Lizzy - XCel Energy Center St,Paul, MN
9/7/04  Yes/Dream Theater - Target Center Minneapolis, MN
9/17/04 Prog Power USA
Edguy/Pain of Salvation/Brainstorm/Wuthering Heights/Adagio- Earthlink Live Atlanta, GA
9/18/04 Prog Power USA
Weapons of Mass Destruction (Savatage)/Kamelot/Tad Morose/Dreamscape/Into Eternity - Earthlink Live Atlanta, GA
9/30/04 Brian Wilson - Orpheum Theatre Minneapolis, MN
10/2/04 Marillion/John Wesley Park West Chicago, IL
10/22/04 California Guitar Trio - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN

Unclear: Likely November or maybe March as they toured the US during those times:
The Australian Pink Floyd - The State Theater Minneapolis, MN

2005
2/17/05 Umphrey's McGee - The Quest Club Minneapolis, MN
2/22/05 Pat Metheny Group - Orchestra Hall Minneapolis, MN
5/19/05 The Mars Volta - Roy Wilkins Auditorium St.Paul, MN
5/29/05 Porcupine Tree/Salubrious Invertebrae - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
6/19/05 Marillion (Los Marillios Trios)/Jason Hart - The Double Door Chicago, IL
6/25/05 The Moody Blues - Northrop Auditorium Minneapolis, MN
7/3/05 Robert Randolph and the Family Band - Weesner Amphitheater at the Minnesota Zoo Apple Valley, MN
7/24/05 Gigantour
Dream Theater - Verizon Wireless Amphitheater Irivine, CA
9/8/05 The Victor Wooten Band/MC Divinity - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
9/18/05 Cygnus and the Seamonsters/George Brooks Summit - The Vic Theater Chicago, IL
9/23/05 System of a Down/The Mars Volta - XCel Energy Center St.Paul, MN
10/22/05 Steve Hackett - Rossi's Blue Star Room Minneapolis, MN
11/6/05   The Australian Pink Floyd - The Orpheum Theatre Minneapolis, MN
11/19/05 Jethro Tull - The State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
11/19/05 Wishbone Ash - Star Central Minneapolis, MN
11/20/05 King's X/Casanatra - Star Central Minneapolis, MN

Unclear:
Machinery Hill - The Riverview Cafe Minneapolis, MN
2006
2/10/06 Mutemath/Vedera - The Ascot Room Minneapolis, MN
2/25/06 California Guitar Trio - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
3/17/06 Dream Theater - State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
4/17/06 Three - 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
4/18/06 dredg/Ours - The Metro Chicago, IL
5/18/06 Mutemath/Under the Influence of Giants - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
6/11/06 Bruce Springsteen performs Pete Seeger - XCel Energy Center St.Paul, MN
7/2/06   Roger Hodgson - Harriest Island at the Taste of Minnesota St.Paul, MN
7/2/06   Davy Jones - Harriet Island at the Taste of Minnesota St.Paul, MN
7/26/06 Muse/The Cloud Room - The State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
8/10/06 Live - Myth Maplewood, MN
8/12/06 Kaddisfly - Profile Center Minneapolis, MN
8/23/06 Mae/The New Amsterdamns/Vedera - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
8/30/06 Umphrey's McGee - Minnesota State Fair Falcon Heights, MN
9/01/06 Head Automatica/Men Women and Children - The Fine Line Minneapolis, MN
9/14/06 dredg/Portugal the Man - The Catalyst Santa Cruz, CA
9/15/06 dredg/Portugal the Man - The Catalyst Santa Cruz, CA
10/05/06 Kasabian/Mew The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
10/06/06 Mutemath - The Loft at Barfly Minneapolis, MN
10/19/06 Opus Dai - The Toybox Minneapolis, MN
10/20/06 Zappa Plays Zappa - The Orpheum Theatre Minneapolis, MN
10/26/06 Kaddisfly/Cue the Doves - The Toybox Minneapolis, MN
10/26/06 Mew - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
10/29/06 Anathallo/Fitzgerald - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
11/6/06   King's X - The Rock Maplewood, MN
11/12/06 The Decemberists - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
11/13/06 Under the Influence of Giants - The Loft at Barfly Minneapolis, MN
11/20/06 Margot and the Nuclear So and So's/Elected - Modified Tempe, AZ
12/8/06   The Who - XCel Energy Center St.Paul,MN


2007
2/14/07 Dir En Grey/Fair to Midland - The Fine Line Minneapolis, MN
4/23/07 The Dear Hunter (Say Anything/Saves the Day/Meg and Dia) - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
4/05/07 Mutemath - The Fine Line Music Cafe - Minneapolis, MN
5/10/07 Andy McKee/Antoine Dufour - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
6/16/07 Fair to Midland/69 Eyes - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
7/3/07 The Police/Fiction Plane - XCel Energy Center St.Paul, MN
7/5/07   Ours/April Bauer - The Fine Line Minneapolis, MN
7/24/07 St.Vincent - 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
8/9/07   Dream Theater/Redemption/Into Eternity - State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
8/23/07 Fair to Midland/Far From Falling - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
9/6/07  The Receiving End of Sirens/Envy on the Coast/Emanuel/Middle Class Rut - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
9/9/07   Rush - XCel Energy Center St.Paul, MN
9/12/07  Editors/Biffy Clyro - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
10/14/07 Pat Metheny Group/ Nachito Herrara - Orchestra Hall Minneapolis, MN
10/16/07 The New Pornographers/Benjy Ferree/Emma Pollock - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
10/19/07 The Polyphonic Spree/Rooney/The Redwalls/Person to Person - The Pantages Theatre Minneapolis, MN
10/21/07 Between the Buried and Me/Horse the Band/Animosity/Giants - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
10/23/07 Figurines/The Appleseed Cast/Dappled Cities - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
10/23/07 Do Make Say Think/Apostle of Hustle - The Varsity Theater - Minneapolis, MN
10/26/07 Empires/Nomia - Memory Lanes Minneapolis, MN
10/27/07 Minus the Bear/The Helio Sequence/Grand Archives - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
10/31/07 Al Di Meola - The Dakota Jazz Club Minneapolis, MN
11/6/07   Behemoth/Job for a Cowboy/Gojira/Beneath the Massacre - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
11/07/07 Annuals (soundcheck) - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
11/07/07 Dethklok - Coffman Memorial Union Minneapolis, MN
11/07/07 Battles/White Williams - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
11/14/07 Nonpoint/Skindred/Karnivool - The Rock Nightclub Maplewood, MN
11/16/07 Blues Traveler/Lisa Bouchelle - The Cabooze Minneapolis, MN
11/17/07 Enslaved/Arsis/The Faceless/The Agonist - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
11/18/07 RX Bandits/Men Women and Children/Nurses - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
12/1/07  Particle/House of Fools - The Cabooze Minneapolis, MN
12/16/07 Fair to Midland/Resident Hero - Station 4 St.Paul, MN

2008
2/8/08 Marilyn Manson/Ours - Myth Maplewood, MN
2/22/08 St.Vincent/Foreign Born - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
2/13/08 uneXpect/Visideon/Echoes of Eternity - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
2/25/08 Nicole Atkins and the Sea - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
3/1/08 Russian Circles/Dalek/Young Widow - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
3/24/08 Black Mountain/Nordic Nomadic/Birds of Avalon - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis,MN
4/7/08 Dimmu Borgir/Behemoth/Keeper of Kalessin - Myth Maplewood, MN
4/8/08 Baroness/Genghis Tron/ - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
4/8/08 Between Two Skies
4/11/08 Kansas - Mystic Lake Casino Prior Lake, MN
5/7/08 The Swell Season - The Orpheum Theatre Minneapolis, MN
5/12/08 Progressive Nation
Dream Theater/Opeth/Between the Buried and Me/3 Myth Maplewood, MN
5/12/08 Margot and the Nuclear So and So's - The Turf Club St.Paul, MN
5/22/08 Rush - XCel Energy Center St.Paul, MN
5/29/08 Kaddisfly/Between Two Skies - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
6/12/08 Ours/Plain Jane Automobile/God or Julie - The Fine Line Minneapolis, MN
6/13/08 Annuals - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
6/19/08 Return to Forever - The Orpheum Theate Minneapolis, MN
6/25/08 Liquid Tension Experiment - Park West Chicago, IL
6/28/08 Fair to Midland/Far From Falling - The Rock - Maplewood, MN
7/6/08 Umphrey's McGee - Minnesota Zoo Amphitheatre Apple Valley, MN
7/22/08 The Apples in Stereo/Poison Control Center/Big Fresh - The Turf Club St.Paul,MN
9/6/08 Jenny Dalton/Murzik/Lamb Lays with Lion - The Ritz Theater Minneapolis,MN
9/7/08 Eight-Head - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
9/22/08 Cavil at Rest - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
9/26/08 Nordic Roots Festival
Vasen - The Cedar Cultural Center
9/28/08 Nordic Roots Festival
Hoven Droven/Hurdy Gurdy - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
10/02/08 Three/Tub Ring - 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
10/10/08 Oceans - Ogara's Bar and Grill St.Paul, MN
10/15/08 Minus the Bear/Annuals - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
10/21/08 Ours - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
10/31/08 We Valedictorians - The Music Box Theatre Minneapolis, MN
10/31/08 Vulnerata - Big V's St.Paul, MN
11/17/08 dredg/Judgement Day - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
12/5/08 Amanda Palmer - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN

2009
1/12/09 Jeremy Messersmith/Best Friends Forever/Caroline Smith and the Goodnight Sleeps - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
1/22/09 Greg Herriges - Celtic Junction St.Paul, MN
2/01/09 Umphrey's McGee - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
2/13/09 Delta Spirit/Other Lives - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
3/1/09 Collective Unconscious performs The Beatles Abbey Road - St. Joan of Arch Church Minneapolis, MN
3/20/09 Collective Unconscious performs Simon and Garfunkel's Bridge Over Troubled Water - Little Falls High School Little Falls, MN
4/5/09 Fair to Midland/Far From Falling - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
4/9/09 Bloc Party - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
4/10/09 dredg/Torche/From Monuments to Masses - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
4/11/09 Paper Route/Brooke Waggoner - Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
4/19/09 Robyn Hitchcock/Adam Levy - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
5/2/09 Elvis Perkins/Other Lives/Dawes - The 400 Bar Minneapolis, MN
5/9/09 Between Two Skies - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
5/15/09 Protest the Hero/Misery Signals/The Number Twelve Looks Like You/Fall From Grace - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
5/22/09 The Bewitched/Natalie Lovejoy - Bryant Lake Bowl Minneapolis, MN
5/28/09 Doves - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
6/04/09 St.Vincent - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
6/6/09 What's That? (Radiohead Tribute)/Exit Stage Right (Rush Tribute) - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
6/10/09 Ozric Tentacles - The Loft at Barfly Minneapolis, MN
6/13/09 Within Reason/Janus/Pop Evil - The Rock Night Clun Maplewood, MN
6/17/09 Blind Pilot/Local Natives - The 400 Bar Minneapolis, MN
6/20/09 Red Pens/Total Babe - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
6/21/09 Hiromi's Sonic Bloom - The Dakota Jazz Club Minneapolis, MN
*6/23/09 King's X/B!Cold Colours - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
7/2/09 mewithoutYou/Kay Kay and His Weathered Underground - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
7/24/09 Exit Stage Right (Rush Tribute) - The Lowry Theater St.Paul, MN
8/8/09 Exit Stage Right (Rush Tribute)/Animus (Dream Theater tribute) - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
8/9/09 dredg/RX Bandits/As Tall as Lions - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
8/21/09 Progressive Nation
Dream Theater/Zappa Plays Zappa/BigElf/Scale the Summit - Orpheum Theatre Minneapolis, MN
8/30/09  Do the Dean
Boiled In Lead /Prudence Johnson and Dan Chouinard/Greg Herriges Trio/Diane Jarvi/ AntonCafé Accordion Orchestra/Marc Anderson, JT Bates and Jim Anton/Laura Mackenzie and Dáithí Sproule/Marcus Wise and Mike Salovich/Nirmala Rajesakar and Marcus Wise/Elgin Foster/Tim Sparks/The Petesons/Axis Mundi/Eric Hohn and Blair Krivanek/ Lehto and Wright/Eastside/Dakota Dave Hull - Celtic Junction St.Paul, MN
9/9/09 Ramona Falls - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
9/11/09 Prog Power USA
Crimson Glory Tribute/Royal Hunt/Sabaton/Diablo Swing Orchestra/Mindflow/Cage - Center Stage Atlanta, GA
9/12/09 Prog Power USA
Fates Warning/Brainstorm/Pagan's Mind/Orphaned Land/Circus Maximus - Center Stage Atlanta, GA
9/30/09 The Dear Hunter/The Felix Culpa/Empires - The Triple Rock Social Club - Minneapolis, MN
10/12/09 Fair to Midland/The House Harkonnen/Far From Falling - The Rock Maplewood, MN
10/13/09 School of Seven Bells/Warpaint/The Depreciation Guild - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
10/17/09 Mutemath/As Tall as Lions - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
10/29/09 The Bewitched - The Bryant Lake Bowl Minneapolis, MN
11/8/09 Steely Dan - Northrop Auditorium Minneapolis, MN
11/24/09 Soap performs Pink Floyd's Animals - Downtime Bar and Grill Minneapolis, MN
11/29/09 Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros/Fool's Gold/Local Natives - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN

2010
1/9/10 Lehto and Wright - Celtic Junction St.Paul, MN
3/2/10 Laura Veirs/The Old Believers/Cataldo - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
3/15/10 The Clientele/Field Music - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
3/17/10 Exit Stage Right (Rush Tribute)
3/25/10 Afton Showcase (We Valedictorians/Total Babe/Howler) - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
4/7/10  As Tall As Lions/Bad Veins - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
4/7/10  Judgement Day - The 400 Bar - Minneapolis, MN
4/10/10 Rocky Votolato/Brooke Waggoner - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
4/12/10 Fair to Midland/Karnivool/Something to Burn - The Rock Nightclub Maplewood, MN
4/20/10 The Antlers - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
5/1/10 The Apples in Stereo/Generationals/Laminated Cat - The Turf Club St.Paul, MN
5/8/10  The Most Serene Republic/Annuals - The 400 Bar Minneapolis, MN
5/14/10 Howler - The Beat Coffee House Minneapolis, MN
5/14/10 Greg Laswell/Jimmy Gnecco/Brian Wright - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
5/17/10 Local Natives - The 400 Bar Minneapolis, MN
6/11/10 The New Pornographers/My Gold Mask - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
6/12/10 Exit Stage Right (Rush Tribute) - Tuttle's Hopkins, MN
6/29/10 Renaissance/Steve Hackett - Park West Chicago, IL
7/1/10 Styx/Kansas - Target Center Minneapolis, MN
7/18/10 Wolf Parade/The Mools - First Avenue Minneapolis,MN
7/30/10 Cynic/Intronaut/Dysrhythmia - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
8/16/10 Jon Anderson - The Guthrie Theater Minneapolis, MN
8/22/10 Do the Dean
Boiled in Lead/Kari Tauring with Drew Miller/Frank Boyle and His Eminent Acoustic Entourage/Dakota Dave Hull/Prudence Johnson/Anthony Cox/Hart Lieberman and Smith/Marcus Wise/Laura Mackenzie/Marc Anderson/Eric Hohn/Elgin Foster/Greg Herriges/Cory Wong/
Lehto and Wright - Celtic Junction St.Paul, MN
8/24/10 East of the Wall/Iron Thrones/name - Tarnish and Gold Minneapolis, MN
8/27/10 Rush - Minnesota State Fair Grandstand Falcon Heights, MN
9/3/10 Karnivool - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
9/19/10 School of Seven Bells/Active Child - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
9/18/10 Katatonia/Orphaned Land - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
9/23/10 Menomena/Tu Fawning The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
10/1/10 Local Natives - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
11/9/10 Dean Magraw and Marcus Wise - The Artists' Quarter St.Paul, MN
11/17/10 Circa Survive/dredg/Codeseven/Animals as Leaders - The Cabooze Minneapolis, MN
11/18/10 Cloud Cult - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN

2011
1/24/11 School of Seven Bells/Mystery Palace - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
2/17/11 Deerhoof/Ben Butler and Mouse Pad/Heatdeath - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
3/1/11 Nicole Atkins and the Black Sea/Buffalo Moon/Cotton Jones - The Turf Club St.Paul, MN
3/4/11 Menomena/Cloak Ox - The Whole Music Club Minneapolis, MN
3/19/11 The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra - The Dakota Jazz Club Minneapolis, MN
3/19/11 Brute Heart/The Great Confinement/The Funeral and the Twilight - The Kitty Cat Klub Minneapolis,MN
3/24/11 Fair to Midland/Periphery/Scale the Summit - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
3/26/11 Judgement Day/Metropolis/Ruth and Rosie/The Gatino Quartet - The 400 Bar Minneapolis, MN
5/13/11 Dean Magraw's Red Planet - The Artists' Quarter St.Paul, MN
5/14/11 Brute Heart/Tender Meat/Lighted/Patches/Jerusalem and the Starbaskets - The Turf Club St.Paul, MN
5/19/11 Progasm
Orphan Bloom/Watercolors/The Royal Veil/Brice Plays Drums - The 400 Bar Minneapolis, MN
6/4/11 Raphael Saadiq - The Cabooze Minneapolis, MN
6/25/11 Zebulon Pike/The Book of Right On/Battlefields - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
6/29/11 Elvis Costello and the Imposters - The State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
7/16/11 Fair to Midland/10 Years/Kyng - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
7/2/11 The Monkees - The Minnesota Zoo Amphitheater Apple Valley, MN
7/22/11 The Dear Hunter - The Triple Rock Social Club - Minneapolis, MN
7/29/11 Cloud Cult/Caroline Smith - Orchestra Hall Minneapolis, MN
8/13/11 Chris Isaak - The State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
8/24/11 Return to Forever/Zappa Plays Zappa - The Orpheum Theatre Minneapolis, MN
9/7/11 Vasen - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
10/1/11 The Besnard Lakes/Malajube - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
10/2/11 St.Vincent/Cate Le Bon - McGuire Theater Walker Art Center Minneapolis, MN
10/2/11 St.Vincent/Cate Le Bon - McGuire Theater Walker Art Center Minneapolis, MN
10/6/11 Kaki King - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
10/7/11 Opeth/Katatonia - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
10/10/11 Minus the Bear/The Velvet Teen - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
10/30/11 East of the Wall/Iron Thrones/Witchden/Earthrise - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
11/4/11 Boogie Wonderland - Minnesota Music Cafe St.Paul, MN
11/5/11 Manchester Orchestra/The Dear Hunter/White Denim - The Cabooze Minneapolis, MN
11/11/11 The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra/Trent Romens/Karmic Sound System/Z-Puppets Rosenschnoz - The Ritz Theater Minneapolis, MN
11/13/11 Cynic/Three/Scale the Summit - Station 4 St.Paul, MN
11/25/11 Rush Heads/Quadrant 4 - The Red Parrot Eau Claire, WI
12/13/11 Fair to Midland/Dead Letter Circus/Aficionado/Throw the Fight - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
12/17/11 The Book of Right On/Kill the Vultures/Gay Witch Abortion - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN

2012
2/18/12 Mutemath/Canon Blue - First Avenue - Minneapolis, MN
3/3/12 Memoryhouse - The Turf Club St.Paul, MN
3/28/12 Timbre/Samuel Lockridge/Amy Courts - The Beat Coffee House Minneapolis, MN
4/4/12 Gotye/Kimbra - Epic Minneapolis, MN
4/28/12 Fountains of Wayne/Nicole Atkins - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
5/18/12 Mayer Hawthorne and the County/The Stepkids - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
6/1/12 Jon Anderson - The Dakota Jazz Club Minneapolis, MN
6/5/12 Ramona Falls/The Darcy's - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
6/6/12 Soap performs Pink Floyd's Animals - The Cabooze Minneapolis, MN
6/23/12 Marillion - Park West Chicago, IL
6/22/12 Marillion - Park West Chicago, IL
6/27/12 Dream Theater - State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
7/10/12 Ours - The 400 Bar Minneapolis, MN
8/16/12 Brice Plays Drums/Super Pilots/Peregrine Perspective/There Are No Words - The 400 Bar Minneapolis, MN
8/18/12 Randy Brecker/Super Pilots - Nicollet Commons Park Burnsville, MN
8/21/12 Dean Magraw - Cafe Maude Minneapolis, MN
8/24/12 Media Addicts - The Artists' Quarter St.Paul, MN
8/27/12 The Turtles/Micky Dolenz/Gary Puckett - Minnesota State Fair Grandstand Falcon Heights, MN
9/4/12 Dean Magraw with Davu Seru - Black Dog Cafe St.Paul, MN
9/22/12 Kansas/King's X - Myth Maplewood, MN
9/24/12 Rush - Target Center Minneapolis, MN
10/3/12 Amanda Palmer and the Grand Theft Orchestra/The Ronald Reagans First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
10/6/12 Timbre - The Lion's Lair Northfield, MN
10/12/12 Debashish Bhattacharya/Steve Sklar/Johnna Morrow - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
10/16/12 Kimbra/The Stepkids - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
10/20/12 Menomena/PVT - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
10/26/12 Poncho Sanchez - The Ordway Theater St.Paul, MN
10/29/12 Brute Heart performs live score for The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari/MAKR - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
11/8/12 Ramona Falls/The Helio Sequence - The Turf Club St.Paul, MN
11/15/12 The Monkees - The State Theatre Minneapolis, MN
11/27/12 The Who - Target Center Minneapolis, MN
12/19/12 Billy Graczyk - The Artists' Quarter St.Paul, MN
2013
1/19/13 The Champions of Nothing: Kevin Gilbert Tribute - Shank Hall Milwaukee, WI
1/23/13 Ramona Falls/Wolfhoppers/Prissy Clerks - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
2/10/13 Coheed and Cambria/Between the Buried and Me/Russian Circles - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
3/20/13 Bend Sinister - JBTV Studios Chicago, IL
3/20/13 Bend Sinister/Single Channel Stereo - Township Chicago, IL
3/23/13 Local Natives/Superhumanoids - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
6/5/13 Michael Nesmith - The Fitzgerald Theater St.Paul, MN
4/14/13 The Dear Hunter/Naive Thieves - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
4/25/13 Mindless Self Indulgence/The Red Paintings - Mill City Nights Minneapolis, MN
5/4/13 Steven Wilson - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
5/17/13 Laura Stevenson/Field Mouse - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
5/20/13 Foals/Surfer Blood/Blondfire - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
6/15/13 Josh Rouse/Field Report - The Dakota Jazz Club Minneapolis, MN
6/15/13 Josh Rouse/Field Report - The Dakota Jazz Club Minneapolis, MN
6/17/13 Fitz and the Tantrums/ Sons of Valory/Ivy Levan - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
6/28/13 The Polyphonic Spree - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
6/30/13 Wishbone Ash/Nektar - Famous Dave's Calhoun Square Minneapolis, MN
8/9/13   Yes - Mystic Lake Casino Prior Lake, MN
9/15/13 Debashish Bhattacharya's Modern India - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
9/17/13 The Dear Hunter/Rogue Valley - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
9/19/13 Typhoon/Radiation City - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
9/22/13 David Cassidy/Peter Noone/Micky Dolenz - Grand Casino Hinckley, MN
9/22/13 Anathema/Alcest - Mill City Nights Minneapolis, MN
10/1/13 Billy Cobham - The Dakota Jazz Club Minneapolis, MN
10/11/13 Between the Buried and Me/The Faceless/The Contortionist/The Safety Fire - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
10/16/13 Radical Face/Jonny Rodgers - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
10/22/13 Janelle Monae/Strange Names - The Skyway Theater Minneapolis, MN
11/1/13  Living Colour - Mill City Nights Minneapolis, MN
11/16/13 Umami/Aaron and the Sea/Genders - Kitty Cat Klub Minneapolis, MN
11/20/13 Miracles of Modern Science/The Loose Cannons - The Lion's Pause Northfield, MN
11/21/13 Fitz and the Tantrums/Capital Cities/Beat Club - Myth Maplewood, MN
11/24/13 Michael Nesmith - Turner Hall Ballroom - Milwaukee, WI
11/30/13 Goblin/Zombi - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
12/12/13 Boiled in Lead: Acoustic Yule- Celtic Junction St.Paul, MN
2014
2/13//14 Mayer Hawthorne - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
3/7/14  The Musical Box - The Skyway Theatre Minneapolis, MN
3/21/14 Led Zeppelin 2 - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
3/29/14 Warpaint//Cate Le Bon - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
3/30/14 Bend Sinister - The Turf Club - St.Paul, MN
4/8/14  Dream Theater - Performing Arts Center Burnsville, MN
4/23/14 XTC Tribute: Senses Working Overtime 2 - The Icehouse Minneapolis, MN
5/15/14 Cage the Elephant/Foals/J Roddy Watson and the Business - Myth Maplewood, MN
5/16/14 Chromeo/Oliver - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
6/2/14 The Monkees - The Minnesota Zoo Amphitheater Apple Valley, MN
6/6/14 Mother Falcon/The Family Crest - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
6/9/14  Elvis Costello - O'Shaughnessy Auditorium - St.Paul, MN
6/18/14 Agalloch/Blood and Sun/Obsidian Tongue - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
6/29/14 Michael McDonald - Mystic Lake Casino Prior Lake, MN
7/18/14 The Human Empire/Narrow Vines/RisingSide - Minnesota Music Cafe St.Paul, MN
7/25/14 Yes/Syd Arthur - Overture Hall Madison, WI
8/23/14 Nomia/Hardcore Crayons/Morality Crisis/More is More - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
9/7/14 Genders/Strange Relations - The Turf Club St.Paul, MN
9/9/14 The Mercury Tree/Brice Plays Drums - Whiskey Junction Minneapolis, MN
9/27/14 A Progressive Soundscape Evening
Scotty Horey/Rising Side/Harakiri - Old Arizona Minneapolis, MN
10/8/14 Motopony/The Family Crest - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
10/10/14 Sloan - The Turf Club St.Paul, MN
10/17/14 Marketa Irglova/Rosi Golan - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
10/30/14 Kimbra/Empress Of - The Fine Line Minneapolis, MN
11/9/14 Captial Cities/Cherub/Night Terrors of 1927 - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN
12/13/14 The Birthday Massacre/The Red Paintings - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN


2015
2.20/15 Zoso: Led Zeppelin Tribute - Mill City Nights Minneapolis, MN
3/29/15 Stevie Wonder - Target Center Minneapolis, MN
5/5/15 XTC Tribute: Senses Working Overtime - The Icehouse Minneapolis, MN
5/12/15 Rush - XCel Energy Center St.Paul, MN
6/5/15 Josh Rouse/Walter Martin - The Fine Line Music Cafe Minneapolis, MN
6/7/15 Steven Wilson - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
7/6/15 The Family Crest/The Lonely Wild - The 7th Street Entry Minneapolis, MN
7/24/15 This Will Destroy You/The Velvet Teen - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis,MN
8/26/15 Brice Plays Drums/The Mercury Tree/The Bob Pat Band - The Nomad World Pub Minneapolis, MN
9/13/15 The Dear Hunter/Chon - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
9/18/15 Micky Dolenz - St Croix Casino Turtle Lake, WI
10/5/15 Mew/The Dodos - The Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN
11/2/15 The Bird and the Bee/Alex Lilly - The Cedar Cultural Center Minneapolis, MN
11/23/15 Between the Buried and Me/Enslaved/Intronaut/Native Construct - The Varsity Theater Minneapolis, MN
11/30/15 Charlie Engen Recital/McNally Smith College Auditorium St.Paul, MN

2016
2/11/16 Godspeed You Black Emperor/Xylouris White - First Avenue Minneapolis, MN

Friday, February 12, 2016

Cloud Cult - The Seeker (2015-2016) [Album+Film] 1st Single 10/23/15

2/12/16 10:19AM
I just wanted to bump this as the album is released finally today.
Here's Amazon's link

And I saw the film actually the other night at The Riverview Theater, which was beautiful yet incredibly heart-wrenching.

Per time of course, I should try and film a video or 2 about Cloud Cult, 1 about The Seeker album and especially the film.

The other, hopefully about their history/my history, which is somewhat well documented in this blog, but obviously not on YouTube.

This new album and the film has gotten me back thinking about them the last few days. I'd say maybe what I just wrote on their Facebook Wall has something to do with that.

here

hey, I just wanted to congratulate you guys on Album release day today. And seeing the film the other night. I honestly cannot get many parts of it out of my head. Namely "You Never Were Alone," totally gets me every-time I hear it now. That scene in the film where Grace is running and seeing her dad is breathtaking. I was in tears at the theater the other night, and still find myself in the same way when listening to it. You guys may have written and filmed one of the saddest/most melancholy things I've ever come across.

12/4/15 6:21AM
Stream "Through the Ages"

Really good tune. I haven't been able to even see every update via the Pledgemusic campaign that I should have due to time and discipilne, but I mean, namely during the week I have off coming up in a little over a week. But I'm pretty excited for this record and film, more than I was before.

10/23/15 6:10AM
Story with Stream to "No Hell"

It also says Josh Radnor of How I Met Your Mother, will be in the film, which has no dialogue. I imagine it'll be a bit like the Marillion Brave film, with the music on with the actors going through the story. That story has some quotes from Craig Minowa and the story or concept behind The Seeker being about the life of a girl.

Josh Radnor of course, is a noted big fan of Cloud Cult, so that doesn't come as a huge surprise.

"No Hell" of course, also is download-able with a preorder/pledge.

10/22/15 2:07PM


The Seeker, Looks and sounds intriguing, I doubt it has any reference to the song by The Who though. The Seeker is coming out in multiple formats, including for the 1st time ever, VINYL (recycled..CC have been noted as to against Vinyl per the environmental issues that the manufacturing can create, but maybe Recycled is more friendly?..I'd love to see/purchase a lot of their more recent albums, on recycled vinyl at least..Light Chasers namely).

A New song is coming tomorrow 10/23, so I'll have to bump/edit this entry when that happens tomorrow.

February 2016 is when this sucker drops though. I did *love* a number of tracks on their last record Love from 2013...Pretty excited.

http://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/cloudcult


Preorder “The Seeker” and you'll get weekly downloads from our forthcoming album and film starting now! http://www.cloudcult.com/seeker

Cloud Cult presents “The Seeker”, a new studio album and feature length fiction film coming February 2016. But those who participate in our Preorder Campaign will get an “All Access Pass”, where every Friday, starting now until the release date, you will get one song from the album and/or get to watch one “chapter” of the movie in chronological order and gradually watch the story unfold. Also see behind the scenes footage, and buy exclusive Preorder merch not available anywhere else: Signed props from the film, one on one time with the band, autographed recycled vinyl records, handwritten lyric sheets and more… Profits of the preorder are donated to environmental charities.
Preorder “The Seeker” and get your All Access Pass now! 
www.cloudcult.com/seeker

Monday, February 8, 2016

Random Artist Feature: Porcupine Tree (2 videos, 30 minutes)

Here's another RAF, and with Porcupine Tree, a band I've been a fan of for many years, and who have an extensive catalog. I own most of their catalog, including all of their full-lengths. My copy of Deadwing I looked for, for the better part of 3 days, but failed to find. I can attest to organizing and finding a lot of my cluttered compact discs though, which are mostly now together on my shelves.

But as I mention at the end of the 2nd video, I may do the name-in-a-hat thing for this project.

PT of course have that large catalog, like most of the RAF's I've done so far, but I imagine doing artists with shorter catalogs at some point, and thus, the video won't go 30 or even 20 minutes necessarily.




Friday, February 5, 2016

YouTube and Podcast Subscription Update:

Velocities In Music 2.0
What was an active Album-Review channel, went on a 1-year break in September 2014 and returned in September 2015 with a brand new format. Instead album reviews, Jake and Tom are now doing longer, extensive discussion on musical topics in a Podcast format. And their podcast is available once-a-week.

The length varies between 30 minutes-close to 2 hours on occasion, which seems like a great format, and transition for them to remake/rebrand their channel/media about giving their opinions about music.

And they are not exactly doing Album Reviews, but more just music topics, like Band/Artist "Deep Dives" which is where they cover pretty thoroughly, an artist's catalog. Most recently they did 2 episodes on The Beatles, which I loved. Others such as Led Zeppelin, Modest Mouse and Nick Drake? I think it was, they have done.

But other things like favorite double albums, Monthly New Release roundups, favorite concerts, collecting Vinyl among many of the other theme-based discussions about music they've done have all more or less been engaging.

I used to like their videos, but honestly, I think this new format is even better. I really think both of them have a ton of opinions and points to say about music and certain artists, that wasn't exactly easy for them to do making Album Review videos of 10-15 minutes in length. And without time restrictions and given the ability to cover more broad subjects, it has really made their discussions even better.

I suppose part of it is time and age, and I also can't deny, some of the artists they talk about aren't necessarily my thing (but many of them still are. They're fans of The Dear Hunter, Menomena and dredg to name a few); but it seems their discussions and content is entertaining enough on average, I don't mind. Which I'd say this right now is my favorite weekly podcast, and I hope they are able to keep it up and do it every week, or at least on a pretty active basis.


The Only Music Podcast
This podcast is linked to the http://hasitleaked.com site. It has 2 regulars, a guy named Staffan and a woman named Louise who I guess are both from Sweden. Louise is somehow involved in the Music Industry, possibly for a record label. I know she's mentioned it a few times, but I forget the specifics.

edit: Louise runs an independent record label named Telegram Studios.

Staffan I guess is a producer and has done/made/remixed electronic music, as well worked with the likes of Radiohead and Muse (remixing).

But the podcast itself is surprisingly, pretty entertaining. The 2 of them have a good chemistry that is funny at times.

This podcast is made once-a-month, but it usually is pretty long (1-hour or longer).

As far as what they talk about? They cover a lot of mainstream music and music news, but they also will play tracks from underground artists. Prog? not a lot, but like I mentioned Staffan has worked with Muse. I remember he mentioned liking the new Foals album from 2015. In fact I think both of them do. I also recall them talking about Bloc Party at 1 point.

I dunno, I guess it's a podcast that I wouldn't expect to go back to, but I have and grown to enjoy it more and more. I suppose part of it is when they rip certain artists work the gossip part. Part of it is the personalities being funny. And maybe part of it is the unknown stuff they do play once in a while.

ProgTopia
This is the personal podcast and blog for Mark Ashby, whose the moderator of The Prog Squad podcast. 

Mark talks about a lot of underground progressive rock and metal, and does interviews on this podcast. And while I can't claim to have invested the time to check out every podcast he's made, like TPS podcast, the ones I have checked out, like the Yossi Sassi and Orphaned Land episodes, along with Anneke Van Giersbergen and his ProgPowerUSA interviews have all been enjoyable.

Black N White Neon Knight Progcast
This is DownFall and another YouTube Album reviewer's new podcast they are uploading to YouTube. They started out a couple of months ago, under another name which I'm forgetting, but under this new name/youtube url, they have seemed to have abandoned/transitioned from.

But these are much more in-depth discussions about albums and artists. I imagine they are intended to do more album analysis than their own personal YouTube channels may do, along with just having a 2nd voice and conversation with someone else about said band or album.

They did some Black Sabbath discussions originally under the other channel name, but in the last week or 2 they made relatively in-depth discussions about Iron Maiden and Yes. Which especially Yes, I'm always up for hearing discussion about.

I guess we'll see where they go/how far/long they stick with this. But certainly initially there is a lot to like about this new Podcast.

WTF Podcast with Marc Maron
I just stumbled upon this podcast from an interview Marc Maron did with Charlie Kaufmann about his career and of course new film Anomalisa. Marc is a comedian himself has his own TV Show in fact on IFC titled "Maron."

I guess this podcast may have been a 1-off for me, but then I heard he had Cintra Wilson on recently, so it has given reason to check it out again. Cintra of course being someone close-to Kevin Gilbert (an ex-girlfriend).

I suppose the jury is still out as some stuff I'm not sure will kill my interest or not (he seems to speak with a lisp or something).


-----------------YouTube-----------------

Some of the regulars:

MinistryofMusic: Still a regular, multiple videos everyday on my playlist. The guy just knows how to review albums and with my taste, and rather open-minded taste. And the frequency. I totally applaud him, but I also just hope he can keep it up. The only thing with so many requests, it does seem to cause long waits. So much, a request may be made, and it could be a month or 2 before he is able to make the review. But patience I suppose. I do enjoy when he makes a "Next 10 Album Reviews" video, which gives you good idea what's coming up in the next 10-12 days.

CoverKillerNation: I have become rather addicted to this guy's channel. From the extensive number of reviews he makes, to even variety. He's usually pretty easy on the albums, which is cool. I mean, it seems he speaks kindly of most of the reviews he makes. But I've grown to be fine with that, even if it's a band or album I don't care that much for.

He's been covering a lot of prog especially, which I will obviously check out. He also is doing some series, namely Rush and Porcupine Tree.

Talking about the prog and obscure bands namely, is great to see, I think largely due to his subscriber number being over 40,000 now. Many of those bands will get exposure they normally wouldn't. A bit like The Needle Drop I suppose.

His channel having its popularity almost feels like 1 of us actually is speaking to the masses. And for that, I totally applaud him and wish him as much success as he can get.


FoxyPancakes: This channel is starting to be more active. I get the sense the host, Darien, is starting to make the channel more of a priority for her. Granted, it's still almost entirely Metal, but maybe more kinds of Metal? older Metal? I liked her 2016 Anticipation video, and I commented about some bands like Pain of Salvation and Fates Warning, and she commented back, she is looking forward to those as well.

New subscribed/Newly mentioned Channels

FreqsTV
This channel I 1st noticed about a year ago when I saw they had some live on tour footage/documentaries. Steven Wilson I recall, and some others like God is an Astronaut. And then within the last month, they started a new series titled "Into the Machine" which are weekly short 5-minute documentaries on modern progressive rock artists. From Opeth, Between the Buried and Me, Leprous, and Haken to Periphery next week.

I really dig these, even if they are only 5-minutes. The artists they feature? I can totally see why. I mean sure, if I was choosing artists to feature, I would probably include some others as Haken and Periphery aren't exactly favorites of mine (although at 1 point I did like Periphery, before they changed singers, etc). But as far as fans of modern progressive rock and metal, they definitely make sense.

Especially the whole modern element to them, the potential for this series could be huge. Many of the artists, that are still active at least, could be included from this list I made. But I just suggested a few on twitter like The Dear Hunter, Oceansize, Pure Reason Revolution and Three

And I like how they include info and a link to each artist's newest album, etc.

I just hope they can keep making them. Even if it isn't once-a-week, but just 1 or 2 per month.

With the footage they use, I wonder if they have some help or when a band comes on tour, they are able to shoot footage with them, etc. Especially the bands from Europe I suppose.

I dunno, I guess I'm hopeful about Into the Machine and their channel has a fair amount of coverage on modern prog and prog metal, I'm hoping it gains as much of a following as possible. I mean a channel that does documentaries on modern prog? that is totally up my alley, but never really been made before. The closest thing I can think of is "ProgRockTV" from Phil Satterly in the late 90's. And that show, I never saw because I didn't live in Colorado. But "Into the Machine" is a little bit like that, which I'm totally a fan of.


Screen Rant
This is a channel I recently came across, that per its name, is about movies and television. And it is a little like Watchmojo.com in that it seems to include Top 10's and such. But it's a little more personalized I guess.

edit: it may just be about movies, and not television.

At any case, the videos are well made, and the lists or topics they cover are good. Largely stuff the fans talk about, that are rumored or secrets in hollywood. Stuff that WMJ will cover, but maybe not quite as fan-based and maybe not even as in-depth? I dunno, but I guess in the brief time I've been watching this channel, I do really enjoy it.

Stuff like movies that were never made, conspiracies, mistakes, etc. I wonder how much they've done with Independent films. Probably some stuff, but I haven't invested the time/research yet to find out.

Off the Record
This guy named Paul makes mostly Vinyl-showing videos. I've been subscribed for probably close to a year, and while his taste is hit and miss with me, I do enjoy his videos. They usually are well made and his dialog usually is engaging and entertaining enough about each album.

There are a lot Vinyl video channels out there, and some focus more on my taste than others, but for some reason, OTR's channel is among the best. I guess part of that is I can relate to him as a vinyl collector and one that enjoys hearing about others experience finding vinyl, namely in Record stores.

Chris Stuckmann
This guy has a movie review channel that is quite popular. He's quite active for one thing, and his videos are pretty informative, while not being excessively long (which I suppose has its pros and cons).

I guess in my search for movie review channels, this channel is about as good of one out there. Now, I'm not sure how much he covers as far as Independent Film, and I thought I notice he did some reviews of older movies:

Yes, Spiderman, and The Wicker Man (2006) with Nicholas Cage, in sort of a razzy type thing called "Hilariocity."

I imagine the movie review channels on YouTube, like the Music Review channels, often focus largely on new movies (like The Needle Drop does with new albums), but I suppose there are some out there that cover as much if not more from the past. Good or bad, although I would imagine more so Good.

I wonder what he thought of stuff like Ghost World or The Jacket for example,

What the Flick?!
This is a panel-discussion channel mostly about movies, but also sometimes about Television reviews. The cast varies it seems, but among the regulars, Christy Lemire who I know best from when she sat in with Richard Roeper on At the Movies in the mid 2000's (when Roger Ebert was ill). She currently also writes for Rogerebert.com

Also Ben Mankiewicz who was briefly on the newly casted At the Movies in the late 2000's along with the another Ben, Ben Lyons.

And another 1 of the regulars is this guy named Alonso Duralde, who is someone who seems familiar, but I can't recall where from. But I think he may be the most entertaining guy on this channel. At least he highly endorsed the new Charlie Kaufmann movie Anomalisa, and also gave props to Synecdoche, NY, which the rest of the panel liked, but still don't consider the masterpiece that I did from the 1st time I saw it.

The Moon Tune
A music reviewer, who while his taste only crosses over to mine to a point, I do enjoy still. I guess why being he is pretty brutally honest, without coming across too animated. And he has been receptive to my comments, which not all YouTubers seem to be.

And I guess he's starting to be more active this year, which should only have me going back to his channel more.

Bull Moose Store
I'm including this channel, mostly per the great and thorough Record Store Day Videos Chris Brown makes from the store he's at in the great New England state of Maine. He makes them for both the main April Record Store Day and the November Black Friday Record Store Day.

Now, they are never short, sometimes going well over an hour, but I've come to expect that.

But as a whole, seeing those videos 2 or 3 times a year from him are always looked forward to. He shows pretty much everything Bull Moose has received, a couple of days before RSD, which admittedly, isn't every RSD special item unfortunately, and probably not every single item they get there since some come in the day before, etc.

But he shows so much, it's usually worth watching to see what something may look like or some info about an item he adds. A rare b-side, color, track list change, visual or novelty thing about it, etc.

And he actually does include a lot of facts about music, I suppose logically since he works at a Record Store anyway. But also per his taste, which includes some progressive rock and metal.

I'm not sure if their channel may start doing more special release stuff, as Chris just made a video a couple of weeks ago for the special Rhino releases that came out, including The Monkees Cereal '45 and the calendar. That and a cd boxed set.

Maybe that was a 1-off, but it would be neat to have Chris or someone else make more special videos like that beyond the 2 RSD ones.

The Bull Moose channel has also recently included some nice little short interviews and such with consumers or employees. I suppose it's a little like the Amoeba Music channel of "What's In My Bag?" kind of thing. Something like that would be cool to do in Minnesota at The Electric Fetus or Cheapo, but time/money of course. Maybe I will one day when I'm retired, lol.

If I'm ever in Maine, I will have to try and go there.

Stereola Music Reviews
This guy is music reviewer from the UK who I noticed in 2015 did a review of Everything Everything's new album Get to Heaven. I remember subscribing to his channel after that as he really enjoyed that record like I did. Although after that, I didn't find myself checking out that many other of his reviews, just based on taste.

However, he made 4 or 5 of these End of Year List videos in December and they were all quite good. Mainly per the editing and new format/approach he is using now. He added graphics and live clips and included key tracks, and such, which added a lot.

I suppose it still may partially come down to personal taste and what albums he reviews, but I definitely enjoy his channel a fair amount more now.

I even did like his interview/chat with The Needle Drop, which if he does more of those type of interviews, it'll just add to my interest in his channel.

Buzz Feed Video
This channel is the extension of the website http://www.buzzfeed.com/ , which is an entertainment website. I have seen a ton of comments on the WatchMojo.com videos about how they are just a poor man's version of Buzz Feed, which I can kind of see, at least the website. The videos though on this channel are next to nothing like the WMJ videos I watch.

They are mostly sketches or little clips of people trying foreign foods. Or just odd, awkward yet curious situations people can get in. Sometimes playing to the Stereotypes of races, cultures, etc.

I guess my feeling on this channel it's very hit and miss. Once in awhile they will have some cool sketch or feature on it. And it is active. But I guess at this point, they don't score nearly as high with my interest as WMJ does with the Top 10's and whatnot.

Now, I suppose given I haven't been subscribed that long, perhaps some of their older videos may have more Top 10's and other music related things I would find appealing, but I'd have to do a fair amount of research likely to find out.

MrLtia1234
This is often 2, but maybe at times only 1? Or even 3 guys making album reviews together. Mostly about progressive rock, and the majority being older progressive rock. I believe they are from the UK per their accents.

I recall seeing their channel and it was a bit like MinistryofMusic's channel on impression in terms of their history of reviews having reviewed dozens of the classic prog records. I forget how many of them I marked to check out at work.

I did check out some of theirs, and for various reasons haven't gone back. I recall 1reason being they were not incredibly striking in their enthusiasm from memory. They seemed kind of laid back and sarcastic from memory.

Also I think their accents and the lower level of audio hurt my ability to understand and follow everything they said.

But at the same time, I may not have checked out enough of their reviews at this point. They have reviewed a lot, from Rush, to ELP to Tull to King Crimson. Crimson namely, as it seems they title many episodes after "In the Court of the Wenton King" which often throws me off thinking it's always a Crimson album review.

I suppose it's a priority thing, and I need to invest some more time with their channel, but at least on the surface, this could become one of the better channels out there, especially for progressive rock and depth/frequency/activity (they have 215 videos which is quite a lot).

College Humor
This is a channel I've known about for many years, as many have. I have no clue how many subscribers they have, 5 million? maybe more.

edit: over 10 million.

Anyway, when I first was exposed to them, they made videos I always would watch. I think the best or my favorite from a few years ago being "Too Many Avengers" video. Like all their videos, it was animated. That video is/was comedic gold, I think largely per all the different animated characters they brought into the Avengers party. Captain Caveman and Plastic Man among them.

And the Samuel L Jackson impression was gold.

Their channel reminds me a lot of the How It Should Have Ended channel. Short animated sketches poking fun at Hollywood and pop-culture.

I can't foresee not watching this channel, but at the same time, it seems like the last few years, their sketches have been hit and miss. But even if they make 1 video a year I find good, it's a channel I will want to keep up with.

Gideon Strumpet
This is another Vinyl-centric if almost entirely all vinyl showing videos channel. I know I subscribed to it for good reason, maybe because the guy whose channel it is, shows a lot of vinyl, and makes videos relatively often. On the other hand, I haven't spent enough time checking out a lot of his videos. I think he has taste that includes some classic rock and prog (go figure), and maybe some modern stuff, but I can't recall.

Part of the issue with Vinyl videos is, I of course don't fathom checking them out while I work given if it's just audio, and I like to actually SEE the records they are talking about and SHOWING, it kind of defeats the purpose.

But I think it has as much to do with time and discipline to check them out soon, and get a better take on this channel. I hopefully will soon.

Berklee College of Music
The renowned music college (at 1 point, largely Jazz) YouTube channel is often worth checking out. I enjoy the short little clips asking students what music they are listening to, or what piece/song they auditioned with, etc probably most.

The performances, while I'm sure are often great, are a matter of taking the time, which sadly, I don't often do. They are frequently of jazz standards or just pieces that are reproduced or interpreted. Sometimes not jazz, but rock, pop, metal, and even prog occasionally.

A nice channel, that is hit and miss, but certainly still worth paying attention to.

Trippy McMuffin
MinistryofMusic's brother's channel, which I have enjoyed some of his reviews here and there. His channel covers a decent amount of the progressive rock that Ministryof does, but also some different stuff as well. He also talks about movies, which of course Ministry does not.

I try to check out his reviews as much as I can, although his style is a bit different in some ways. His voice is different for one thing. His accent is a little thicker, which makes it at times a little harder to follow. But overall, I still can follow what he talks about.

I suppose part of it is frequency and then just specifics. Like if he reviewed some of the stuff his brother has that I requested, of course I would totally be up for checking it out. Marillion or Kevin Gilbert of course.

Or even with film, the likes of Ghost World, Caddyshack, Synecdoche, NY, etc...any of my all-time favorites, I would totally be on board with. And that's not to say the movie stuff he's reviewed has been bad, just not as much of a priority, for me.

But his channel certainly has a lot of good reviews, and I imagine more will be coming. But I suppose his interest or priority for his channel may not quite be what his brother's is? I dunno. Maybe it's just a bit more of a work in progress, like my own (I can hardly talk, as I struggle to find time to make videos and my format namely).

Seqouiaflame
Another Vinyl centered channel I came across recently, and like some of the others on this recent update, it's a channel when I have watched some of the videos, I have certainly enjoyed. The taste and the hosts personality.

I get the sense the dude who runs this channel enjoys collecting older vinyl and in a lot of kinds of genres. From soul, to jazz fusion, to pop, to metal even.

Another Vinyl channel I mean to watch more of, but have not yet. If I could just listen to audio on Vinyl videos, I'd probably be a lot more familiar with this channel at this point. Maybe I'll try to soon.

The Vinyl Corner
Like Seqouiaflame and some others on this new update, this is another Vinyl Community channel it seems. The host is from somewhere in Europe. Maybe Germany? I'm not certain based on his accent.
I recall the host collects a lot of vinyl, and a good amount of it is Metal.

So I suppose this would be one of the better Metal Vinyl channels out there. Although from memory, it's not exclusive to Metal.

Anyway, like some of the newer Vinyl-based channels, The jury is still out on them to a point, but it's also just a matter of myself finding the time to watch them. Or finding Vinyl video, audiorips at work, being something I enjoy.


Thursday, February 4, 2016

Kaddisfly - Horses Galloping on Sailboats (MMXV)

2/4/16 1:30AM
VINYL LINK



finally!. I'll likely make a video of unboxing, etc.

6/29/15 6:46AM

Video review. I unfortunately said "The Watchman" accidentally. That and the whole *um* is the only issue I had with this, other than there are a ton of other points I just didn't have time to include, but maybe will down the road.

Maybe when I get the Vinyl I'll be able to show it and say a lot more about this album which I can't get enough of right now.


6/25/15 2:47PM
good interview I just saw on 1 of the forums with Chris. He does mention this may or not be their Swan Song. Overall, that's good to read.
Interview with Chris

As far as a review, I filmed a video review this morning that I am going to not share per a few reasons, #1, just per the length (16 mins).

But I should have time this weekend.

I'm Loving this album a ton, and am starting to think it may find 5-stars soon, and belongs in the discussion with Small Leaks, Sink Ships for favorite album of the year/season.

1 thing I noticed today, a reprise on the track "Guru" being that it reprises not only the phrase from Forest, but also the melody from "The Middleman"

HGOS is a puzzle, and a trip, and a journey like their other albums. It seems it's about the main character meeting different people (men?) etc from a literal standpoint.

More soon..gotta go though as I have dinner (and a Living Social credit as a gift from the 'rents) at my fiancee's favorite place, Cravings tonight that includes my favorite cake, Seasalt Caramel Chocolate.

6/21/15 4:59PM
Link

I haven't listened to any of it yet per Birthday/Father's Day activities, and now watching the US Open which goes potentially til 9:30PM, lol.

I have read some comments about it, and for the most part people are liking it, but are not sure how it compares to Set Sail..I guess I always kind of almost assumed it would be almost monumental to match or even top Set Sail..but then again, I look at the Soundscape follow-up and they almost topped that album..so I dunno.

I'm just still super excited to hear this and also hopeful we may see more acitivity from them and even re-releasing their back catalog in the near future.

1, The Architect 5:49
2. The Companion 3:54
3, The Middleman 4:32
4, The Traveler 1:57
5. The Watchmaker 4:03
6. The Painter 4:59
7. The Butcher 4:21
8. The Raconteur 4:16
9. The Guru 1:47
10. The Sage 3:48
11. The Author 4:40
12. The Apparition 12:15
56 minutes 20 seconds


6/16/15 2:18PM

27 second teaser. I'm not sure what to make of this sample. Chris sounds like he's screaming which almost harkens back to their pre-Trilogy sound.

But, too short to fully judge of course. Also nice to know precisely what time it goes on sale on Sunday, so expecting to go to the youaretheend site at 12:01AM or 1:01AM etc to download it won't be confusing if it's not there.

Also a word about the auction, I was the high bidder briefly last night, but decided not to go as high as it went, Congrats to the winner.

Also now seeing the YouTube teaser below, I do really like the brief message about "no single, no stream" etc..which reminds me of how music used to always get introduced. You just went to the store the day it got released and heard every song/part of the album for the 1st time.

Both Mike Portnoy and Steven Wilson would appreciate that I imagine.


summersolstice from Kaddisfly on Vimeo.




  6/12/15 4:30PM

http://youaretheend.com/

I'll definitely watch this and would consider bidding on Monday, but as a realist fan, I'm skeptical I'll have enough disposable money to shell out to win this thing. Especially considering I'm trying to save for a few other things like a Wedding, lol and even a trip to Irvine, CA for Mayer Hawthorne/Hall and Oates and Amoeba Records in late August.

But..who knows what will happen on Monday I suppose. I was close to getting a Kevin Gilbert Thud Vinyl test pressing, but I suspect plans changed for that availability. This would mean a lot like Thud, to have an extremely rare item of.

I assume I will be purchasing a number of copies of this album regardless in all formats.


Horses Galloping on Sailboats will be available Digitally on Summer Solstice (06.21.15) via intheclouds
On the prior Monday (06.15.15) there will be a 24 hour auction for a test press of the record
and hand written lyric book exclusively at youaretheend.com.
The winner of the auction should receive the album by Friday (6.19.15), giving them the opportunity to have a true "first listen" experience.
Horses Galloping... will mark the first time the band’s music has been pressed on vinyl (Due later this fall)
and will be available in both a Standard and Limited collectors edition 12"/10" vinyl package.
 

6/8/15 5:57AM

A Likely Preorder/Order Page on Intheclouds Site

For sale including as a Vinyl release on the Summer Solstice aka June 21st, 2015. Which is actually the day after my birthday in fact, lol. And of course a reference point on Set Sail the Prairie.

Facebook Announcement

Our new album HORSES GALLOPING ON SAILBOATS will be available via intheclouds records on Summer Solstice. Details on limited edition vinyl packages to follow soon.

 photo Horses Galloping cover crop1_zpsebnfwljf.jpg

1, The Architect
2. The Companion
3, The Middleman
4, The Traveler
5. The Watchmaker
6. The Painter
7. The Butcher
8. The Raconteur
9. The Guru
10. The Sage
11. The Author
12. The Apparition





6/5/15 5:02PM

"iamariver"?

Everything's been so ***CRYPTIC*** I'm wondering this could be a little movement or something in 1 of the songs.

Hopefully more about that and details beyond the track list will be coming non Monday.


iamariver from Kaddisfly on Vimeo.

6/1/15 3:00PM

It is JUNE now, so..we finally get a small part, which I imagine a lot of stuff will be coming in the month of June about this album. One thing I wonder tho, if they signed to this label, might that suggest there could be more releases after Horses Galloping?..ala Set Sail and Buy Our Intention Vinyl even?

just received this email...

http://youaretheend.com/





Kaddisfly sign with intheclouds
New album Horses Galloping on Sailboats
Coming Sooner & Later... and no that's not a typo


intheclouds is proud to announce our latest signing, Portland OR's Kaddisfly and we welcome them to the family! 7 years after their last release, Set Sail the Prairie, the band returns with the long awaited third album in their concept Trilogy: Horses Galloping on Sailboats.



Tracklist:
The Architect
The Companion 
The Middleman
The Traveler
The Watchmaker
The Painter
The Butcher
The Raconteur
The Guru
The Sage
The Author
The Apparition




More details to come one week from today.

internet us. 
inthecloudsrecords.com / youaretheend.com

5/15/15 4:33PM
New interview from Eatgeekplay.com

Some nice info/update albeit vague in some ways.

Kile Brewer: This album was created for you.

I also like how Kelsey mentioned getting into Gatherer. Who knows, maybe Gatherer finds their way to the US and Kaddisfly could play some dates with them? It would be an amazing bill if it happened.

Still waiting on more details like a release date and artwork, etc..format even. I wonder if they will put out a lead single though.

edit:
another short teaser
Here

3/24/15 10:15PM

June 2015?

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10153303013260039&set=vb.7849795038&type=2&theater

itisnowtime 

.--- ..- -. . / ..--- ----- .---- .....

"it is now time...to open the doors"




2/19/15 9:26:AM

just a sample/clip/teaser

https://www.facebook.com/Kaddisfly/posts/10153213254755039

"The Architect"



1/5/15 7:16PM

https://www.facebook.com/Kaddisfly/photos/a.10150672788040039.450235.7849795038/10153102055405039/?type=1&theater

Obviously not certain, but appears to be likely a TRACKLIST?.

1, The Architect
2. The Companion
3, The Middleman
4, The Traveler

5. The Watchmaker
6. The Painter
7. The Butcher
8. The Raconteur

9. The Guru
10. The Sage
11. The Author
12. The Apparition




They have been posting little teasing quotes it appears a few times over the last 4 or 5 months on FB,
But now this after on New Years Day

"This will be the year. Have a safe and happy one. Cheers."


7/10/14 12:07PM
https://www.facebook.com/Kaddisfly/posts/10152652346040039

it's being MIXED.

2/22/14 12:09AM

from Facebook. A tracklist/possible track names/influences, etc? (I know it's not much, but at least it's something, lol)




12/31/13 7:02PM

Not 2013 (MMXIII) but 2014 it appears with the MMXIV, it's coming...

And I would't be surprised to see some of these tunes here http://kaddisfly.bandcamp.com/  included, perhaps in different arrangements.

COLOR ME STOKED.

https://www.facebook.com/Kaddisfly/posts/10152215047705039

our seeds are planted. we're building and nurturing. things are progressing and we're excited to show you. it has been a bit. thanks for sticking it through with us. LOVE

to MMXIV, cheers



4/2/13 9:36PM

So excited. This year hopefully will include more of these leading up to the details and release.

"vos estis finis," "you were finished" in Esperanto?


vos estis finis from KADDISFLY on Vimeo.


there are few things in this world that are entirely undeniable. commonly, these things are encompassed in a feeling. less commonly are these feelings felt shared and communicated between people. even less common is to have the chance to create something that celebrates and communicates this feeling, and to share it with with those who have been a part of it, as well as those willing to lend a curious ear. to share this level of joy and intimacy between people is a lacking trait in a modern and momentary world.
we are honored and endlessly excited to create and develop "HORSES GALLOPING ON SAILBOATS" in 2013.
VOS ESTIS FINIS

1/31/13 11:55AM

"The Dark and Stormy Tour"
New (Old) Documentary the guys posted. About 6 minutes, from 2005 (through 2008?). I haven't watched it yet though.



also the HGOS (Horses Galloping on Sailboats) part is shown on some places. The one thing to add to this, the album likely won't be released until late in the year given the guys are living in different places now. I wouldn't expect to see it until late Summer August/September at the earliest. Which will mean no matter what else is released prior to it as far as Album Index rankings, the Kaddisfly card very easily will find a way to change the results come early December. Even if the sucker is released the 3rd week of November, I won't be surprised to see a different top 10 or even top 5 only a few weeks after it's released.

1/25/13 9:39AM
Come to this blog/twitter/facebook or just  Watch this Space

http://www.facebook.com/Kaddisfly/posts/10151462633685039





we can travel forever this way from MMXIII on Vimeo.

[IMG]

only guess work right now (and no I of course haven't heard the song in the video "We Can Travel Forever This Way" but this is likely 1 of 2 things.

1) This is in effect, Horses Galloping on Sailboats, just named a little more cryptically.

2) This is a reunion/new work/album, but still under the Kaddisfly name.

the MMXIII = 2013?

The one thing I hope though is they talk about the status and it includes Kelsey Kuther who was in, but is not now currently in Water & Bodies.

I know people like Dan Fury and some others I know from the forums have more or less any and all details about this information, but then again, they may not be privy to share it with me just yet. It may not matter because this stuff is far too far already for the band not to post some kind of detailed announcement.