Tuesday, April 28, 2015

My YouTube Channel Subscriptions

Here's a list of some of my subscribed and most frequented YouTube channels. Although I'm sure there's some I'm either missing or would and may add either in here, or more likely another entry.

The Needle Drop
I first saw this guy's videos I dunno, maybe 6 or 7 years ago on the Sound Opinions forum. He was kind of a meme at that point, but I guess making YouTube videos about album reviews seemed a little unusual too.

Fast forward maybe 3 years ago, and the guy started showing up everywhere, and I came to enjoy many of his reviews. Although he makes so many reviews, and about so many artists I don't know/have never heard of, and likely won't care about, I've really come to just pick my spots with what reviews he does. I actually seem to enjoy the videos he makes not about specific albums necessarily, but topics about music, the music industry, recording, music listeners, fans, etc.

But, at the same time, I have felt more or less since I really became aware of his approach and how he does it for a day job and how many subscribers he has, in that if this guy can somehow make a living out of this, what makes him any more qualified than me? Which really, he isn't. Except he's made enough connections and spent enough time, effort, and money? even to become as well known as he is. For that I don't fault him, nor hate him, but I just don't fully fathom his success in exposure and popularity to be warranted anymore than myself.

Other than, I suppose for the fact I do cover more niche areas.

And the fact his take on progressive rock isn't incredibly different than say the Sound Opinions guys. To a point, but in terms of his overall taste and percentage. He does however like some of the Post Rock and Metal I do, and even will review some of the albums I like, but frequently not that favorably. Which I've almost come to expect and maybe want, a bit like Pitchfork or even the Sound Opinions guys, but I suppose it's still a case-by-case basis.

However as of at least the last 9 months or more, I seem to be watching less and less of his album reviews videos, I think in part because of time and other videos/reviewers per the below names, being more for me/my taste etc.

Myke C-Town
This guy I only recently started to watch regularly, after seeing him make some co-reviews with The Needle Drop. And I honestly really dig his style and a lot of the content. He talks about a lot of underground music, namely underground Metal and Hip-Hop. He's also a Vinyl collector (as are most reviewers I subscribe to). The Metal reviews I probably enjoy most, although I still am pretty new to his channel.

But his taste is rather diverse and it wouldn't surprise me he has reviewed some stuff I am really into, in the past. He mentioned Men, Women and Children once, which impressed me.

I do think like my fiancee mentioned to me, maybe his biggest appeal is his personality. He is pretty outspoken, but in an appealing way. He says what he feels and feels what needs to be said, and his dialogue seems to rarely be boring. And that is probably as big of a reason I really enjoy his videos and at this point, plan to keep watching any new videos he makes.

I dunno, in a lot of ways, I'd like my videos to be as together as his, although I suppose not with the profanity (not that I am opposed to it, but I guess I consider the impression I might give with it).

Daniël Flux
Daniel along with Hamish and EQPTV I came across about a year ago I recall. They seem to be 3 younger YouTubers who love music and chatting about it per their channels.

Daniel specifically is from the Netherlands? I think, and it's odd how the 1st few videos I found from him, I swear he had to be American. He actually reminded/reminds me of this guy named Brian I used to work with at Richfield Best Buy in the Home Audio department in the late 90's. But, that was almost 20 years ago, so, I don't think it is, lol.

But his channel seems rather straight forward with album reviews/vinyl displaying, etc. Which I can totally relate to. Often what I and others are into is just telling about the album and showing it. Not needing a lot of extra bells and whistles.

Daniel's taste I would say, it seemed initially, aligned with my prog-leanings as I noticed him talking about maudlin of the Well, and if I recall the likes of Mastodon and Opeth?. And I even remember him talking about the new Yes album, and The Flower Kings at 1 point. And even showing some Vinyl and cds from some other prog. But the more I watch his channel, and even seeing his ratings on rateyourmusic, his taste is kind of all over the place.

He talks about a lot of Hip-Hop, punk and College Rock (or "Indie"), among a lot of others. Nordic Giants even so, who I suppose are related to progressive rock given they are on KScope, but are really of the "Post" variety moreso.

But I guess beyond his taste (which I could include even stuff like Alan Parsons Project among some others I recall in some recent Vinyl A-Z videos of his), I just enjoy his reviews overall. That and when him and Hamish and Elliot do their roundtable (or Round monitors, lol) discussion. I find it's usually a good back and forth with relevant, relate-able topics. So much so, I often yearn to chime-in with a comment.

His channel, as well as Hamish and EQPTV's, seems to be going through some transition, but it doesn't seem to be retiring thankfully. But at this point, I still look forward to checking out what he shares, however often and whatever topic, music or otherwise, he includes.

Hamish Observes
Hamish (I'm assuming is his name anyway), reviews a lot of music I enjoy. He's from Melbourne, Australia, which of course is quite a ways away from Daniel and Elliot.. A lot of his taste is in Metal and progressive stuff (Ne Obliviscaris, Opeth, Cynic? I recall among some others off the top of my head), which among Daniel, him and Elliot, his taste may share the most in common with myself.

His reviews are usually pretty cerebral and meticulous, And his comments are usually pretty thorough and tactful. I rarely notice him criticize something harshly, although maybe I just haven't seen enough of his videos.

I do really like his honest yet efficient approach to talking about the music he's been listening to. He also seems to take an environmental approach about music and music fans/culture and musicians I recall, into consideration. Almost like the psychology of music and being into music. Which is actually somewhat unique as I can't think of many others who focus on that aspect of music, so much.

I suppose that is part of why his other channel The Manifold Curiosity also exists, for things non-music and other kinds of analysis of literature, art and such?..I think I subscribed, but haven't gotten around to it just yet.

I also recall him talking about going to one of The Needle Drop's on-site discussions in Australia, which for what it's worth, that is interesting enough. I know if TND came here, I would try and go, even though paying money honestly seems silly, but I guess I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.

I can at least claim to have met the Sound Opinions guys I suppose, lol.

Elliot is a younger YouTuber from the UK who I 1st saw do a joint review with The Needle Drop of Agalloch's new album in 2014. I was definitely both surprised and impressed by him, perhaps due to how young he looked, but also his knowledge and taste in Metal. I had to subscribe at that point, and then began to get to know him and his taste in music better.

He definitely knows his Metal, although I'd say within the last 6 months or or less, he has began to start to talk more about College (indie) rock and other stuff like electronic music and Post Rock I suppose.

But most recently as around the beginning of 2015 it seems he cleared most of his videos off his channel and has kind of gone on a hiatus or something. I recall both Daniel and him mentioned reviewing albums isn't necessarily their thing as much as it was awhile ago.

So be it I guess, but he did show up in a Music Industry/Record Store Day discussion with the 3 of them a few weeks ago at least and so it doesn't seem he's completed turned off his channel, but maybe just in limitation and hibernation of sorts.

Him and the other guys I imagine are busy with things like school or other social activities understandably, anyway.

The Album Man
"Hello and welcome to the Album Man"...he like my "Kyle here from allmediareviews" he usually says at the beginning of each video.

I recall first seeing one of this channel's videos from my Yes-aholic friend John finding some commentary or review of a new Asia album? I think. I know it involved Steve Howe anyway. That was sometime in 2012 or 2013.

The guy who runs this channel, like some other favorites-to-come, was quite young, and yet pretty impressive in his knowledge and taste in music. Specifically Classic Rock I suppose.

He always says "Long Live Rock and Roll"..and his channel reflects that pretty well. He enjoys old rock and roll, classic rock, blues rock, and a fair amount of AOR/Hair Metal and 80's rock.

I know Magnum is one of his favorites, along with his probably #1 favorite band Guns N Roses.

But that style/period of music only was a vague impression of his taste, or what his taste has become the last couple of years? He seems to talk about more and more modern rock, including prog. Steven Wilson, Flying Colors, Anathema, Solstafir, Opeth, Mastodon,..to even stuff like Agalloch and Cynic perhaps? I'm forgetting, but I recall he has mentioned a lot of Black Metal, Death Metal, or Melodic Death Metal like At the Gates.

I mean he loves The Beatles and Bob Dylan especially. Pink Floyd,Zeppelin, Rush..and early Metal of course such as Judas Priest, Sabbath, Iron Maiden, Deep Purple, Motorhead, etc

So, he is pretty open/liberal minded. Although in 1 of his Q&A's I asked about Kevin Gilbert and he didn't think much of what he knew (although I might question how much he's heard, but I forget what he said).

His style is pretty in-depth, almost to the point of expecting his videos to be long. I must admit, i will often put his videos on while relaxing and doze off, not so much because they are boring, but easier to not worry about their length. So much so, I often will go back and finish them the next day.

He does do the monthly CDs and Vinyl showings, which I always enjoy, even mentioning the cost which I can relate to.

And I'd say one of the best things he's done is with the time, he's made these historical videos, 1 I recall about the birth of rock and roll and the power chord. I thought that was really well made, and would like to see him make more of those kinds of videos, but I'm sure time and priorities dictate that stuff.

Fulton's Reviews
I noticed Fulton post either his end-of-year video, or maybe a review of something Mike Portnoy/Dream Theater or even Steven Wilson related, I recall in 2013; and then checking out more of his videos, his taste is definitely of the prog/dream theater/prog metal variety. Not exclusively, but many of his reviews I notice are for albums that are buzzed about on Portnoy's forum and other related message boards.

He's done some cool concert reviews, sometimes with a friend who also has his own channel, that I recall subscribing to, but haven't noticed a lot of stuff in my feed from (assuming I did).

Between the Buried and Me, Intronaut and I want to say The Contortionist? or I do remember he did a review of Cloudkicker live with some other bands at least.

But a lot of his channel is about album reviews and showing vinyl, which for someone who is into a lot of the prog and prog metal like myself, I'm always curious to check out.

I honestly wish I could find more people doing reviews of the kinds of albums he does, because for whatever reason, unless it is Dream Theater or Steven Wilson, there aren't channels that focus on reviewing those kinds of albums, namely IN DEPTH in terms of titles. Not 1 or 2, but 20 or 30 or more at least for end of year lists.

I guess that is partly due to my own personal taste and wanting to see more folks with that prog-umbrella of taste, but a lot of the fans of this stuff, only like the 1 style or more often., the 1-3 bands/albums every year.

But Fulton seems to be an exception from what I can find at this point.

The Prog Report
This is for the most part, a musician-interview Channel. Of course artists/musicians who make progressive rock. It seems to be focused mostly on the traditional prog and neoprog stuff, although people like Steven Wilson, Devin Townsend and Thomas Giles from Between the Buried and Me have been on there as well as Steve Hackett and Doug Ott of Enchant. To name some names.

The guy who does the interviews also has a blog of course and does reviews there, although I do follow The Prog Report on twitter, I have not frequented the blog all that often. I recall he did an end-of-year list of course, and it included a lot of the releases I saw on many of the forums and such.

I suppose one thing it seems, especially if it's a buzzed about artist of band, or a band who ends up on a tour with someone like Dream Theater, Steven Wilson, etc..like Scale the Summit or Flying Colors, etc..those names will reach many folks.

Even the Prog Cruises as well.

Based on that,this channel has been good to keep up with. I would enjoy them interviewing some of my other favorites of course, but I dunno those names like Casey Crescenzo or Kimbra would be in the guy who runs it's taste/spectrum, etc.

But I suppose in a way, it's at least a semi-regular YouTube channel that does interview guests, like say Prog magazine does, etc. And the only of its kind.

That Drummer Guy of course does interviews with a lot of musicians, more Metal of course, but he may be one of the only other types like this. Although I'm not sure how many of his interviews are being put on YouTube as just on his site/radio podomatic feed? I forget.

Would I want to do this kind of stuff? sure, but of course taking the time and everything has never been available. Even the text interviews, but transcribing? yeah, I imagine that is not something that takes 10 minutes or even 2 hours, lol.

FTR: I did interview some musicians on KFAI back in the early 2000's including Jordan Rudess of Dream Theater. So I have done a few, back in the day at least.

Velocities in Music
This channel has been around for quite awhile I believe. I think I may have come across it the 1st time in 2009? I think the guys may have interviewed some of the members of dredg for that Pariah tour. And I remember wanting to go back to their channel after that, but maybe forgot to?

Anyway, I know then around the time I started checking out The Needle Drop's reviews, I also found reviews from these guys again, and at that point subscribed of course.

This channel is 2 guys from Iowa I believe. They review a lot of popular music among 20-somethings I suppose, although given their channel's extensive history, I know they've done some reviews that are "classic" or just older records from the 90's or even the 60's I recall.

The majority of their reviews, like The Needle Drop and many others, are from new albums though.

And style-wise, I know the 2 guys, Jake and Tom, have some differences in taste I recall, a bit like Sound Opinions etc, but it makes for a good dynamic. I recall Jake? was not into Metal until recently, as it was mentioned on 1 or more of their reviews.

But I guess from a taste standpoint, they do cover some stuff I'm  into like dredg, Pink Floyd, Fleetwood Mac, Led Zeppelin, Warpaint, The Antlers, ..trying to jog my memory, but I recall a fair amount of Classic Rock and even some prog (I think they may have reviewed In the Court of the Crimson King).

But their avg review is hit and miss, which means I don't watch everything review they upload.

However, they have been going through dry spells recently as I think their last video may have been 7 months ago, so perhaps life happens and their time is random to give to the channel. So much, I do kind of miss their reviews, and hope they return sometime in the near future, as it's one of the better music review channels out there.

Vinyl Fury
This is Dan Fury's Vinyl channel, which goes back 3 or 4 years I guess. Sadly, I only just came across it like 2 months ago. But Dan Fury, being a friend and one of the biggest supporters of one of my favorite bands Kaddisfly. He helped them out on tours and knows the guys like brothers. He almost could be considered like the 6th member of Kaddisfly.

But this channel of course is about him and others collecting and love of Vinyl records. Dan and his friends having some similar taste to mine in music, naturally I would enjoy seeing his collection. And Dan is very into the aspects of Vinyl, the thickness, pressings, rarity, etc the whole 9 yards.

He's made I dunno, 80 or 90 videos or something, which I am still reviewing when I have time. I think I found 3 or 4 of the "interviews" which I actually dig those maybe even more than just the videos of him showing his collection. I suppose part of that is just having 2 voices and opinions, etc, But his friends who collect, including 1 I recall from Kelsey Kuther of Kaddisfly, have some cool backstories about their vinyl collections, etc.

But I'm not sure how easy it is for him to make more of those. His channel is still somewhat active, but I guess it's primarily based on when he gets newly acquired Vinyl which I follow (he just uploaded a video this past weekend in fact).

Darren Lock
This is a guy from the UK who I have checked out here and there. He pretty active as I would guess he makes at least 3-5 videos per week. A lot of them are reviewing progressive rock albums, maybe mostly obscure and classic prog. He has included reviews of stuff like Queen's A Night at the Opera, but also stuff like Tangerine Dream, Faust, Jean Michele Jarre Kraftwerk, Roger Waters just recently.

I do recall he reviewed the new Steven Wilson album too, and maybe some more modern/newer prog albums, but I get the sense those are more rare.

A lot of his channel is also him talking about stuff like Doctor Who and Better Call Saul, which I was enjoying his BCS reviews for awhile, but fell behind and never went back to them.  Time permitting, maybe I'll manage to go back and watch the ones I never did.

Like Fulton and The Album Man (EQPTV and some other YouTubers as well I imagine), he's a musician and has done some of his own music, although I'll confess to not getting around to viewing many of those videos.

I like his channel as I do like a fair amount of the music he reviews, but I also find I pick my spots just per time with his channel. But he's a good reviewer, generally not going too in-depth (or too long I suppose), but just long enough usually.

Thomas Da RockaHolic
I've really only gotten around to watching a few of this channel's videos. I noticed he both commented frequently on many of the videos I watch and comment on, and asked some of those other YouTubers question in Q&A's, etc.

But from the limited amount of videos I've seen from him, like his end of year 2014 albums, he enjoys his Hard Rock and Metal, and and some prog included. I remember he didn't love Distant Satellites from Anathema all that much (maybe it was among his most disappointed? I forget), but I think historically he may have mentioned being a pretty big fan.

His channel is pretty active, but I think it's spotty on the music he covers for my taste. But I still keep checking his videos in my feed and I suspect he will make some videos I will be interested in checking out among his channels feed.

Joseph Auger
If I'm not mistaken, this is a fella I've encountered on Facebook and Twitter over the last few years. Aka "Jahgust"..He has some very cool or at least similar taste to me in music. From Kimbra and The Dear Hunter to The Monkees to a lot of older school prog if I recall.

His YouTube channel, to be honest, I don't notice a ton of activity from. I mean he does have some videos of course, but he may upload videos as often as I do, although he has had his channel for quite a bit longer as I just stumbled upon a video with Kimbra after a show in 2012.

Some of his videos are just showing Vinyl I guess, which like I said, based on his taste, him and myself very much have a lot of common taste, so I definitely enjoy and continue to subscribe to his videos. So in a lot of ways, I can relate to him and his channel.


I discovered this channel maybe 9 months ago per WatchMojo's "TopX" featured videos. Swoozie is 1 guy whose based in Orlando I guess. He has made videos for a number of years, but like some of the other channels I subscribe to, I sadly wonder if the amount of time he has for making videos is not what it once was.

But his older videos have been very enjoyable to check out.

The majority of them are these animated stories with his narrative over them. The videos are often about social situations, funny or unusual stories from his past, or his approaches to social things like dating, college life, co-workers, etc.

But they almost always are entertaining, which I sense is mainly due to HIM. The guy is just a very funny, honest, insightful guy about modern life in the 21st century, in America.

I dunno, maybe part of it is his stories with girls, and perspective. He tells their stories, perspectives, and even characters really well. And the animation is actually charming enough. Not high-res, but I suspect whoever makes them, does spend a good amount time on them, even just being able to sink them up with Swoozie's dialog, etc. And they work very well.

Although it seems he may be doing less of the Videos with animation of late? I dunno, at least since I subscribed, more of the videos seem to be just Swoozie, or Swoozie with others. 1 sketch with a girl/gf? is hilarious actually. I've watched it with my fiancee a handful of times even.

Which I'll admit, her enjoyment of Swoozie probably has as much to do with my appreciation for this channel as anything.


This channel, I guess originally was launched as information and entertainment resource or "infotainment" possibly not long after the launch of YouTube itself 10 years ago in 2005. Honestly, I'd never heard or stumbled upon until about 2013 though.

I guess with its large growth in subscribers, it expanded a fair amount, it seems in the last 3 or 4 years mainly. How I and it seems a fair amount of the people who found it was per their Top 10 lists (and the honorable mentions). Which frankly is more or less the reason I subscribe and still watch it.

And with their Top 10 lists, while they do have a poll on their site itself, it is clear the results of their Top 10's are finalized partially due to how they feel the order should go (it is their channel anyway, so I don't fault them).

Those Top 10's are about a lot of things, but I suppose the Music and TV/Movie ones are the videos I watch the most. The pop-culture related and food ones I and my fiancee even seem to get a fair amount out of.

No Sports? I really don't follow, but their reasoning seems to be a lack of universal/global perspective, which given they know their audience is like 80% males from North America, it really doesn't compute to me, but whatever. I guess it may only be a matter of time before they do make a top 10 Baseball or Football players or Teams list. Even just NHL Hockey would be nice given they are based in Montreal anyway.

I guess I see WatchMojo as a guilty pleasure, with some good info. Some of their bios I guess people like and were more common earlier in their history. If they made bios about some of my favorites like Kate Winslet or Rush or something, sure. Rebecca Brayton, their most frequent, recent host has actually interviewed John Petrucci and they do include Dream Theater in their lists kind of surprisingly for a somewhat mainstream media outlet. But of course for every DT inclusion, there's 10-30 or more names not included that I think/wish were, which is actually part of my interest in watching their videos and commenting. Just to voice what I think was missing (and what didn't belong), and even the entries in here with lists I thought worth sharing and lists worth making on my own that I'm pretty sure they'll never make (such as Top 10 Ours songs). Which I should do more of..per time of course.

Monday, April 27, 2015

SikTh News: NEW EP coming! Early 2016?

4/27/15 1:51PM

YES! New EP coming!..although noticing there, 217 days left to preorder, I.E. their deadline is the end of 2015. That translates to me as an EP likely in early 2016, or in terms of this blog's season, next season.

But, so be it, I'm fucking stoked to get to hear some new music from these guys finally after so many years!


Ladies and gentleman we have two huge pieces of news for you today.
For the first time since 2006's Death Of The Dead Day we will be releasing new music, this will come in the form of an E.P which we are currently writing.
As we are no longer with a Record Label we are running a PledgeMusic campaign which allows you, the fans to pre-order the E.P and purchase exclusive items and experiences which will be available nowhere else. This with your support should allow us to create a release which is of amazing quality. You can access this at the link below!
Secondly, we have just announced our 2015 winter tour tickets for which will be available initially Wednesday 29th April from the PledgeMusic site and then from other ticket vendors from the 1st of May.
The dates are as follows:-
5/12/2015 Glasgow Classic Grand
6/12/2015 Manchester Academy 2
10/12/2015 Bristol Marble Factory
11/12/2015 Birmingham Academy 2

12/12/2015 London Forum

4/26/15 12:00PM

Facebook Post

New album info coming tomorrow, April 27th?

Saturday, April 25, 2015

My Current (Spring 2015) Podcast Playlist: Music Discussion and some Non-music.

The Color of Air
Greg Massi, guitarist who was a founding member of both maudlin of the Well and Kayo Dot, and now has his own band Baliset, hosts this fairly regular podcast (Monthly? or even some months, Weekly)

I noticed it was posted on a forum like a week ago, and saw some of the conversations Greg did with various musicians and music people (Jeff Wagner who wrote Mean Deviation, the progressive metal book) and immediately had me interested. Not surprisingly,Toby Driver was one of Greg's guests, namely per his longtime working relationship and friendship with Toby. And that may be my favorite one of the podcasts I've checked out so far. They discussed obviously some stuff from maudlin of the Well and Kayo Dot, along with the music industry and recording. Being a musician and a lot of other elements.

I would say the way this podcast talks about music, making music, approach to making and listening to music, has really got me addicted to it. I've been looking for a good music-discussion podcast, namely that does cover my taste to a point (progressive rock and its umbrella primarily) for many years. And it seems like when it comes from a musician like Greg, it seems like I may have found just that. To a point. I'm sure there's a lot of music I love, that will never get talked about, but there's still a ton of music and just the stuff talked-about music and the music industry in general that is totally up my alley.

And I think there's probably a lot of other people who would enjoy this podcast of Greg's. Even with its length which is normally well over 1-hour, into possibly 2 hours at times. I suppose with myself having a dayjob where I can and often do have my headphones on for 5-7 hours a day, this is a nice diversion from music listening or much of the talk radio I enjoy.

It also reminds me a little of the podcast my friend Josh aka That Drummer Guy used to do, Epic Rock Talk although we never had higher profile guests, and frankly, I often felt I spoke too fast (or name-dropped bands too fast) and did more of the talking than I should have. But, that was then, and this is now, etc.

Anyway, I just hope Greg's able to continue to make this podcast for awhile (as he's mentioned, he is a busy guy with a wife, dayjob, and his work with Baliset recording and even playing live), and it continues to gain more of an audience.

Table Top Genesis

This is a new podcast with 4-6? people. A "Round-table" discussion about of course the band Genesis. That is only made once a month (or uploaded). They have only shared 2 episodes, each of them focusing in-depth on an album from Genesis. A Track-by-Track discussion.

I do love Genesis (at least a good percentage of their music), and so I am familiar and have my own opinions on what they discuss on this podcast.

The group are not discussing the albums chronologically, but I guess randomly. They did Abacab first and Nursery Cryme on the 2nd episode.

They have said they plan to discuss some of the solo and sideprojects of the Genesis members, and even music inspired-by Genesis (or tributes?), which has my Kevin Gilbert fandom curious what they may have to say about him, his band Giraffe's performance of The Lamb, etc.

I suppose my main issue with this podcast is the fact it seems to have so many voices, it may suffer from the whole "too many cooks in the kitchen" per say. Like some of those commentary tracks on DVDs where 5 people are trying to talk simultaneously. But given they have only made 2 of them thus far, I imagine any issues with too many voices at 1-time can be improved upon if not avoided entirely.

Yes Music Podcast 
This is a podcast, started by a guy from England, in sometime in 2011, I recall Summer or early Fall perhaps. I have been checking out many of the older episodes which he discusses/analyzes the studio
albums pretty well. I have checked out some episodes with guests too which are also often pretty good discussions.

But I haven't actually listened to that many of the more recent episodes yet, but given it's still going on some 3 1/2 years later, it seems I will want to stick with this one.

Sound Opinions
I've listened to this podcast for the better part of 10 years. While I have issues both with the hosts and especially the content (or lack-their-of), it is still pretty consistent with including at least something every week I want to hear. If for nothing else, the voicemails at the end of the show.

I'll credit them for introducing me to a band like Miracles of Modern Science in the last few years, even though Jim Derogatis actually saw them at SXSW in 2012 and said they sucked, lol.

The Kscope Music Podcast
I've also checked out this podcast for 5 years I recall, more or less since it started. Billy Reeves is the host and it covers of course, the music and happenings of artists on the British-based Independent Rock label KScope. Namely Steven Wilson and Anathema, as well as some others I enjoy like Nordic Giants and iamthemorning.

It does have often some good interviews with members of the artists on KScope which I often enjoy.

It's usually only once-a-month too, and recently, many of the discussions are not available to download but just stream. Why that is? I guess I can only guess per copyrighted music, at times long before the release, is included. I'm sure they have their good reasons, but given I listen to these episodes usually when I'm at work, I need a download, so I'm not sure how many new episodes of these I will be listening to in the future, at least until I get to the point I am working at home.

This is a podcast I found just doing a Google search for "prog discussion podcast" or something similar. And it is from what I can tell, just 2 guys from Australia discussing Prog and Pop culture. Movies, TV and some other things along with music, which is mostly prog. Heavy on the Australian and Tool influence I sense. I think the 2 guys on it, may have changed as they have included a 3rd person at points, and someone may have been a guest and joined, and then someone left, etc.

I do enjoy this one, although I'm still getting used to it as I have only listened to 2 or 3 episodes so far. I'm not sure how long ago it began, but I think a few years ago, and it is still active which gives me reason to keep up on it.

All Songs Considered
This is a funny podcast in that I would probably check it out nearly every week, except as far as I can tell, it's always been iTunes-only? and/or always only been available as a STREAM, which like how KScope is, I can't download it, thus I can't listen to it at work at this point.

I have sort of viewed it, from the podcasts I have streamed, as sort of a poor-man's Sound Opinions, although at the same time, the NPR guys on it, do cover more music, and more kinds of music, and more in a true Round Table discussion of album reviews. It's a little like some of the YouTube channels with album reviews I subscribe to (which may warrant a separate entry itself).

I just often at times get a sense about the music they cover is a little heavy on the Pitchfork/TrendRock approval list. Even if some of it I do like and support like Mew, Kimbra, Typhoon, The Family Crest, etc.

My issue is, why can't they also cover stuff like Fjokra, The Dear Hunter, Marillion, Steven Wilson, 22, Timbre, Small Leaks Sink Ships, The Reign of Kindo, etc etc etc...

And I don't use iTunes, never have, and likely never will. If they had an iTunes-alternative like Podomatic, Soundcloud, or even my 1st choice, a site like Archive.org, I might become a regular listener to this podcast, if I could DOWNLOAD IT on 1 of those other sites.  But as far as I know, I can't.  But maybe I'll be working at home soon and just be happy streaming on their site.

The Fundamentals
This is kind of a pop-culture based podcast that has 3 guys from Portland, Oregon talking about different topics, from a tv show like Cheers, to Online Dating. Even kidneys I recall were 1 topic they used.

I do have a slight personal bias for this one as it includes Dan Fury who is a friend of mine I know with his involvement with the band Kaddisfly and the guys from their band.  I like the stuff Dan does, including his band Madam Officer, to also his Vinyl-featured YouTube channel Vinyl Fury

But as for this podcast, it's pretty entertaining and informative. The 3 guys all have slightly different perspectives and I enjoy how it covers a lot of different subjects. A bit like some of the talk shows I listen to like Chad Hartman's show on WCCO, but it is from a perspective of guys who use social media and can be pretty relate-able. I mean Cheers for example is a favorite show of mine, so I'm always up for hearing discussion about it, etc.

Better Call Saul Podcast
About the new show, which I am a fan of. In fact I'd say it's my favorite show on TV right now. It includes Vince Gilligan and Peter Gould among some others including Kelley Dixon whose one of the main editors on BCS (and was on Breaking Bad too). And they usually have 1 of the actors on the show too.

I never listened to the Breaking Bad one, although it does make me want to go back to check those episodes out too after hearing this.

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Ours: Special Limited Quantity New Album Preorder

It  includes the signed cd and the documentary and some other little perks. And only a quantity of 300 as it says.

At least the hardcore, passionate fans like myself, this seems like something not to pass up.


Pre-Order a Signed and Numbered copy of the next OURS CD! 

You will also receive:

digital download of the new record
OURS rub off decal
a behind the scenes documentary of making the record
* There has never been any footage released of OURS in the recording studio.

Note:  This is a pre-order for the record OURS is about to make.  Orders will be shipped two weeks prior to the release date. You will receive an email once your order has been shipped.  

There's a few other details about Ours that are worth adding however.

-This is the 1st of I forget, but a handful of 1-week only-available new special sale items. Some of the people on the fans forum wondered about the Sour demo which is kind of a Holy Grail of sorts if/when it ever could get officially released.

-Also Jimmy just launched "Echowing"

which is a recording studio among other things, that will not only be used for Jimmy and Ours recording, but also other artists. Plus I guess it is a space for live shows, perhaps on a regular basis to stream as well.


So it's official. Our own place where we will record our music, and I can help other artists to develop their talent and their sound!!! This will be a place of love, and inspiration where we can come together to experience the amazing power of music. Sounds all hippy, but it's what I truly believe. More than ever I feel like it's important to come together as musicians and artists, inspire one another, and work on our craft. Technology is amazing, but it cannot replace the human element. I believe that when musicians work on their craft and then come together and put themselves into the performance, that is where the magic exists. No computer can ever make up for that. I will do my part here in this new space to help others prepare for exactly that. Playing live, and capturing the human spirit in a recording. It's not rocket science, but it is a science, and one that is slipping away. I am going to do what I can to preserve it. I'll keep you all posted on any and all details, and events in this new venture. EchoWing is born.

-Ours is taking out The School of Rock on tour

OURS Summer Tour

And as far as this album, My fanboy-kool-aid drinking take included, I'm rather excited to hear a lot of the recordings of many new songs, just based on that internet stream Jimmy did last month.

Some of the songs from a topic on the fans forum were:

Fallen Flower
New Age Heroin
Miles Away
Ring the Bell/When the Daylight Comes
Cry No More
Got a Feeling
Burn Down the Night

Between the Buried and Me - Bohemian Rhapsody (live)

Not the best recording as it's just an audience recording, and they sort of abridged part of it. Interesting using a higher octave single-string tone for some of the falsetto vocal parts.

Now, if only they would cover Stairway to Heaven and segue it with White Walls (or even just the solos somehow together).

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

2014-2015 Spring New Albums Now Playing List (+ highly anticipated for 2014-2015)

If I do manage to have the time, likely in a few weeks when I'm on PTO, the midseason List and/or Countdown should happen both here in text and video form.

But I gotta just include a list of some of the recent stuff, as it seems they're coming in like crazy.

Also I likely am deciding go by release dates and a deadline of May 1st for that list/countdown.

But for now, this is just a brief NP of new records:

Mew - + -
Nordic Giants - A Seance of Dark Delusions
Native Construct - Quiet World
Umphrey's McGee - The London Session
Faith No More - Sol Invictus
The Barnum Meserve - The Barnum Meserve
Signal-to-Noise - I Won't Let the World Become a Prison
Thurisaz - The Pulse of Mourning
Timbre - Sun & Moon

I must say, it's a lot of new stuff at once, although hardly the 1st time. But the last month or so has definitely added some depth to the current season, and in some ways, reduced the current high anticipation list whch I'm always sad when it happens.

I probably would include the following as the biggest anticipating-soon records:

Mike Vennart - The Demon Joke
Kaddisfly - Horses Galloping on Sailboats
The Dear Hunter - Act IV: Rebirth and Reprise

some others of course like Mutemath, 22, Muse, BTBAM are also among the anticipated of course, and a lot of stuff I'm sure I'm forgetting or unaware of. Fjokra of course being one when it's announced will be rather high too.

For the Imperium - Titans Fall [EP] (2014-2015)

4/22/15 6:06AM

Title track..damn, the new guys seemed to have added something.


Rel date is May 8th.

3/27/15 6:27AM

1. Titans Fall
2. Break the Silence
3. My Time Has Come
4. Holy Ground
5. Scripter
6. The Day She Died

Release Date is coming. They have new members that says, which I had no idea. I loved their S/T debut record, but their 2nd LP Hail the Monsters I never got too attached to. The teaser almost sounds more frantic/schizo than normal for these guys, but I guess we'll see.

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Record Store Day 2015

4/21/15 5:23AM

Here's the 1st part of the footage I shot, sort-of. Unfortunately, there's some here (and likely more in the rest of the content I tried-to shoot), which cuts off heads and shows the ground.

As I've said before, this shooting video stuff is a work-in-progress for myself. Recording  audio is 1-thing, but Video? especially while carrying other things in my hands as well, well, it's a skill I'm working on to master, but still needs practice.

Parts 2 and/or 3 if time allows, will be shared in the next few days. The editing on Premiere Elements tho is both rather un-user-Friendly and even more-so, time consuming when it requires over an hour just to convert a 450mb file, lol.

4/19/15 12:36AM

Myself, my fiancee and my friend John went to 3 stores today after a slightly *late* breakfast around 9:30AM.

Barely Brothers
Agharta Records
Cheapo in St.Paul


-The Decemberists - Picaresque (10 yr Anniversary colored, which includes a download of a live show from 2005 in Portland, Oregon)
-Tomorrow - Tomorrow (Gatefold)
-Typhoon - Prosthetic Love 7"

-XTC - Skylarking
-XTC - The Big Express (Promo)
-Pink Floyd - Atom Heart Mother (German issue)

Breakfast at Colossal Cafe in the Como area (the St.Paul location, the open date is still pending).

I attempted to shoot a bunch of 2-7 minute on-site video, which if by some miracle, I will be able to edit-together (while editing out much of it at points). But we'll see. A lot of the videos had durations of time where you don't see anything or people's heads are cutoff, hence why the editing would be beneficial.

A video with the Fiancee and I showing our RSD items again? may or may not happen. If it does, I would look for it to be shorter than the 30 min from RSD 2014. We'll see, time is rarely on our side tho.

I may just instead, try and write something more extensive about the issues I have with RSD and I suppose why this year was much less stressful and may be a new/best approach for years to come.

Or at least why Black Friday RSD seems to be a little more my and the Fiancee's thing I guess.

Monday, April 20, 2015

Sir Video - Backdoor Baby

Pretty sweet, energetic new track from Sir Video!

Facebook Post


Nordic Giants - A Séance of Dark Delusions (2014-2015)

4/20/15 6:24AM

Article with Album Stream Linked

rel date pushed back until April 27th (per an email I received).

3/20/15 7:41PM

Looks like the release date for this album is now April 20th. The tracklist and preorder links are below (Burningshed fwiw, it doesn't seem this record will get US distribution yet, but I imagine it'll be available digitally).

Also the 1st track shared "Rapture" was shared recently on YouTube.


Nordic Giants have announced their UK headline tour for May 2015. The seven-date tour kicks off at Leeds’ Brudenell on May 3rd and finalises at The Lantern, Bristol on May 10th. Nordic Giants will play their headline London show at Village Underground on May 4th.

Filled with intrigue and excitement, a Nordic Giants live show is an awe-inspiring sonic and visual spectacle. Using complex digital mapping with original short films –incorporating delicate illustration and animation as well as immersive actor-led stories from highly acclaimed directors – Nordic Giants provide the stunning soundtrack to this emotive sensual experience.

Nordic Giants are touring in support of their debut album A Séance Of Dark Delusions –due for release on April 20th on Kscope which will provide the soundtrack to this otherworldly cinematic showcase.

Largely instrumental, A Séance Of Dark Delusions reflects the inspired musical experimentation and atmosphere of SigurRós, Mogwai, Björk and Pink Floyd. Nordic Giants bring a heavy orchestral brutality through progressive guitar, drum and brass, which are paired with beautiful and haunting electronics as they warp loops and end-of-the-world samples through creeping keys. Mixing dark and light with ambience and raw power, the dynamics of A Séance Of Dark Delusions mark the changing moods of the human spirit.

Nordic Giants have just finalised a lengthy European tour in support of Sólstafir and are also set to play a number of European festivals this year including La Ferme Festival, Out Of The Crowd Festival and Aloud Music Festival – the latter of which Nordic Giants headline. 


03/05 – Brundenell, Leeds
04/05 – Village Underground, London
05/05 – Deaf Institute, Manchester
06/05 – Cottiers Theatre, Glasgow
08/05 – Contemporary, Nottingham
09/05 – Concorde 2, Brighton
10/05 – The Lantern, Bristol

Burningshed CD/DVD Preorder


1. Elysian Skies [3:57]
2. Evolve Or Perish [5:56]
3. Rapture feat. Beth Cannon [4:01]
4. Give Flight To The Imagination feat. Freyja [5:11]
5. Dissolve feat Saturday Sun [5:29]
6. Illuminate [6:21]
7. Futures Dark feat. Nadine Wild-Palmer [4:36]
8. Black Folds [3:23]
9. A Thousand Lost Dreams [7:47]


1. Seance Documentary [15:50]
2. The Last Breath - Through a Lens Darkly [10:32]
3. Year Zero - A Thousand Lost Dreams [6:41]
4. Shine feat Cate Ferris [4:12]

Burningshed Preorder Link (Vinyl)

1 Elysian Skies [ 03:35 ]
2 Evolve Or Perish [ 05:27 ]
3 Rapture feat. Beth Cannon [ 03:43 ]
4 Give Flight To The Imagination feat. Freyja [ 04:43 ]
5 Dissolve feat Saturday Sun [ 04:57 ]

1 Illuminate [ 05:50 ]
2 Futures Dark feat. Nadine Wild-Palmer [ 04:15 ]
3 Black Folds [ 03:07 ]
4 A Thousand Lost Dreams [ 07:07 ]

1/24/15 7:52PM
Great to finally find out information about this debut record of one of my favorite new bands, especially favorite Post Rock bands of late.


The lead single "Rapture (ft. Beth Cannon)" is streaming on that story's link.

This album is being released digitally, CD/DVD and Gatefold Vinyl. guests including members from Saturday Sun, Nadine Wild Palmer, Freyja, and, Beth Cannon whose on Rapture per the "featuring" title.

April 6th release date. Very excited to hear this. April seems like it'll be a pretty good month with Mew, Josh Rouse and now this record among others still to be announced.

Also it is probably worth noting the fact Nordic Giants are going on tour supporting Solstafir this Winter in Europe.

Mew - + - (2014-2015)

4/20/15 5:34AM

Whole Album:


1-week from release, they put it up to stream. Digging it. I guess Kimbra sings on  "The Night Believer" (I'm streaming right now before I head to work, and am not that far into the stream yet).

4/10/15 1:56PM


4/9/15 5:44AM

A couple of other tracks shared (for now, at least, no guarantee they stay shared). The Night Believer I like (even for a Radio Edit), Witness...not as sure about. As someone who really loves most of this band's work, and really enjoyed No More Stories quite a lot, I'm starting to question how much I'm going to love this record. Granted, sometimes songs and bands can just get better with a little time.

But I guess I'm not super-duper-uberly jazzed for this record as much as I might think I would be having heard a decent amount of it. I'm hoping at least a couple of the songs will blow me away like "Apocalypso" or "Am I Wry? No" etc..

4/7/15 3:55PM

This was shared a few weeks ago, but here's the official video.

Less than 3 weeks from the release date..

3/10/15 12:23PM

Not bad, although it almost sounds like a segue track.

Link to Stream of "Water Slides"

anticipate a few edits/add-ins for alternative links/embeds since trend-music links are best avoided if possible.

2/2/15 4:50PM

Link to official video for "Satellites"

why it is *unlisted* and recommended to not be shared, because this site gets an *exclusive* premiere? I don't follow. People are going to share it anyway, but whatevah, I linked it to their site for now.

1/29/15 2:37PM

You can now listen to the full version of 'Satellites' the first song from + - on Spotify here: http://tinyurl.com/pnyvy8d

FB link


1/21/15 5:23AM
itunes has the track times added below. The whole record clocks in at around 1 hour, including the 10+ minute piece "Rows"

1/19/15 9:18AM

Wednesday January 21st Preorder which is is online Here
Release date is April 27th

Odd title, and the "-" part may always throw me off (and it may be easier just to write "Plus Minus").

Edited Clip of the song "Satellites" sounds pretty sweet.

US Tour Dates?..given they are playing SXSW in Texas in Mid March, I gotta believe they will try and play some other shows in the States, but those have yet to be announced yet.

edit: below is supposedly the tracklist (per a post on absolutepunk)

edit 2:
Tracklist here:

We are pleased to announce our new album + - is released on April 27th, pre-order from Weds 21 Jan, and we will be touring Europe in May! Listen to ‘Satellites’ and see all dates on our new website: http://www.mewsite.com/

edit 3:  

Some more details, observations and information per

MewX.info (including Kimbra being involved)
Plus Minus will only include ten tracks, but they are above average in length. Those who saw the recent live shows already know that Satellites, My Complications and Cross The River On Your Own were all in the range of 6 to 7 minutes each when played live, and they will certainly not be any shorter on the album. The version of Satellites you heard today is – of course – a radio edit. Proper single release for the aforementioned song will take place on March 9th and extra songs are expected for the same release date (call them b-sides or whatever). Russell Lissack (of Bloc Party) and Kimbra are confirmed collaborators on Plus Minus. No information on possible music videos yet, but it is expected (or hoped for) that Martin de Thurah would return. Time will tell.

Tracks we’ve not heard so far are The Night Believer, Interview The Girls and Rows. Clinging To A Bad Dream is – as the lyrics revealed a while back – the song we’ve come to know as Changes or even Koor. This is one of the weirder tracks on the album and it changes radically a few times (prepare to hear Silas Graae and Bo Madsen go “nuts” here). If there’s a dark, so-called David Lynch track on the album, it is this one. Mew never had a problem spending weeks or even months on ONE track. Sold yet?

As was expected, Cross The River On Your Own will be the finale, and Johan Wohlert has already called it one of his favourite tracks on the album. Mew always know how to close a record and this is no exception.

01 Satellites 6:09
02 Witness 3:01
03 The Night Believer 4:12
04 Making Friends 4:52
05 Clinging to a Bad Dream 6:43
06 My Complications 6:03
07 Water Slides 5:04
08 Interview the Girls 4:04
09 Rows 10:42
10 Cross the River on Your Own 7:28

We are very excited to announce that our new album '+ -' will be released on 27th April 2015
Go to our new website at www.mewsite.com to hear ‘Satellites’ - the first song from the new album.
+ - will be available to pre-order on Wednesday 21st January HERE.  
Formats available are: CD, Heavyweight Gatefold Double 12" Vinyl LP (including CD insert), and a Deluxe Hard-Back Double CD Book (featuring + - and live recordings from 2014).
We are also delighted to announce a European tour in May, with a special pre-sale starting at 9am on Wednesday 21st January HERE
These tickets are also available to buy in an optional bundle with the new album. 
17/05/15: O2 Academy, Glasgow, UK
19/05/15: HMV Ritz, Manchester, UK
20/05/15: Roundhouse, London, UK
22/05/15: La Fleche D’Or, Paris, France
23/05/15: Melkweg, Amsterdam, Netherlands
25/05/15: Lido, Berlin, Germany
This year will be a very exciting one for us all, we look forward to sharing the new album with you and seeing you at a live show very soon...

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Native Construct - Quiet World (2014-2015)

I'm unclear how good this album is/will be as it's not released yet anyway, dropping next Tuesday April 21st I noticed.

But the video below with "Mute" definitely holds some optimism. Props to a friend of mine  named Jason on Facebook and Mike Portnoy's forum for recommending this song/band to me.

This is a 3-piece band as the info below shows, comprised of musicians who met at Berklee College of Music. Style-wise, it is progressive metal, that I suppose isn't exactly reinventing the wheel, but I do like the textures and symphonic elements. This doesn't sound like progressive metal trying to be Dream Theater really, but more just highly influenced by Between the Buried and Me and perhaps Mr.Bungle and some others (both are mentioned in the comments and some other places online).

I guess I hear this track "Mute" as sounding rather refined and the use of strings working quite well. In just checking out the 1 track on their Bandcamp Page from 2012 (embedded at the bottom), they clearly have an interest in using textures and strings? (even if they are just programmed). That along with composition could allow my feelings about this band stand out among so many "prog metal" bands who may be heavily influenced by BTBAM (or Dream Theater I suppose).

I guess if there's a band who I am most reminded of in that using that influence and doing cool thins with it, it'd probably be Painted in Exile, who, after that great EP in the late 2000's, have been rather quiet (1 new track recently), so perhaps Native Construct will bring that kind of thing in more quantity (at least they are signed to Metal Blade).

PiE and I suppose I am reminded a little of that newest The Contortionist album/style.

Perhaps Native Construct could do a tour with either Painted in Exile or more likely, The Contortionist?

I guess we'll see, but this album should be something cool to look forward to next week, post-Record Store Day even.

Purchase Link

1. Mute
2. The Spark of the Archon
3. Passage
4. Your Familiar Face
5. Come Hell or High Water
6. Chromatic Lights
7. Chromatic Aberration




Robert Edens: Vocals
Myles Yang: Guitar
Max Harchik: Bass

Native Construct is the product of collaboration between several students that began in 2011 at the storied Berklee College of Music in Boston, Massachusetts. Fueled by a desire to breathe new life into the modern metal genre, Native Construct artfully blends a wide spectrum of compositional influences, ranging from classical all the way to prog metal and musical theatre. The result is a wonderfully unique sonic texture, made up of extended-range guitars, theatrical vocals, and a full complement of symphonic instrumentation. Guitarist and composer Myles Yang's passion for innovation, coupled with his extensive academic study of arranging and compositional techniques, makes Native Construct a truly distinctive up-and-coming metal act.

In 2014, the band's music caught the ear of Brian Slagel at Metal Blade Records, and led to a recording contract and a worldwide release of the band's debut album, Quiet World. The album promises to be a rich, vibrant, and aurally engaging musical experience. While following a musically programmatic approach to its storytelling, the album demonstrates a fascinating unification of numerous musical styles and provides an emotional journey through the vast and imaginative world Native Construct have envisioned.

Quiet World was largely self-produced and written between 2011 and 2013 in between the individual band members' studies at the Berklee College of Music. What began as jam sessions simply for fun eventually turned into a full-fledged musical endeavor. All tracking and programming was done at the band's home studios in Boston, MA, with the exception of vocals, which were recorded with Jamie King at The Basement Studios in Winston-Salem, NC. The album was mixed by Rich Mouser at The Mouse House Studio in Los Angeles, CA, and mastered by Jamie King.

A brief listen to Quiet World is enough to make it apparent that there is a concept, here. Though it's best to let the band explain the album in their own words: "Quiet World is about a guy who loves a girl. The guy is a bit of an odd and eccentric person - an outcast. He's also a mute, and a little unstable, as it turns out. The girl doesn't return his feelings, but he can't bring himself to let go. As his unrequited passion for her devolves into obsession and eventual resentment, his mind begins to slip further and further away. He convinces himself that he can't be loved because of his condition and abnormalities. So he decides to create for himself a new, fantastic world of which he has complete control - a world where there are no oddballs or outcasts. A world where everyone is surrounded by people who are just like themselves: a much quieter world.

"It's at this point that the first track of the album, "Mute," begins. And it turns out that many of the subjects of his new world are not as content living this way as he is. In the second track we see a new character, the Archon, rise up and unite his people in the clouds with the once distant people in the sea. He leads an opposition to "Sinister Silence," as the people come to call him. The rest of the album unfolds with events within the "Quiet World" and manifestations of the enduring struggle between the Archon and Sinister Silence. The lone exception is track number four, "Your Familiar Face," which steps out of this world for a moment to give a closer look at the events prior to the first track and the tragedy of Sinister Silence."

What is impressive about Native Construct is not necessarily an involved concept on a debut record, it's that they wrote, produced, and recorded the album while balancing school work and on a college student budget. It's the epitome of "self produced." And what Native Construct wants fans to know is that "the composition process for this album was intensely meticulous from top to bottom. Each note, each lyric, each twist and each turn were arrived at with the utmost care. As such, we were able to weave rich, often subtle layers of meaning into the music and text. We're very excited for you all to experience the result of our efforts!"

Monday, April 13, 2015

The Barnum Meserve - The Barnum Meserve (2014-2015).. + LP's #2 and #3

4/13/15 1:49PM

"Underneath the Grey" video.

jeez, the lyrics are hardly happy, but this is definitely not quite what I pictured with this track. Not sure if the girl is the guy's daughter or someone he knew and cared about.

4/09/15 6:00AM

Finally got to check out the whole record, and I do like a lot of it. "Take Shelter" is probably my favorite. I really like the dynamics on that track.

This album and their sound I guess has a lot of emotional vocals from Leon Wiley. He can really wail or scream.

Also it seems nearly every track features some kind of chamber instrumentation, with strings, horns, or I suppose just the use of piano as a texture/adding-to-the-atmosphere, that adds a lot.

I suppose 1 of the best things about this album and band is, they do not sound like any other band I like really. Why in 1 way, it's hard to describe them accurately.

also It's for Sale on AMAZON.COM here (digital)

The CDs should be be going on sale soon, I guess.

3/28/15 8:13AM

Whole album stream:

Still unclear about cds, direct-to-the-band purchase (bandcamp?, etc).  The Soundcloud page has a link to the iTunes download page.

3/25/15 6:55PM

Digital Preorders


2/21/15 10:57PM

Tracklist below for the S/T debut coming on April 6th (iTunes/Amazon digital, and physical format from their online store)

Facebook Pic

1 War Games 3:35
2 Open Up Your Eyes 5:21
3 Colours 3:15
4 Don't Be Afraid 4:19
5 Last Forever 4:38
6 Half Mast 4:13
7 Underneath the Grey 4:02
8 Without Numbers 3:22
9 After the Fire 4:20
10 Losing Sleep 4:25
11 Dust 4:52
12 Take Shelter 4:51
13 Tides 5:56

1/24/15 11:37PM

Not a ton of details to share yet, but per these 2 articles below, there's a few things included.

Release date is April 6th. It is Self-Titled, and Self-Released. It includes a lot of their trademark strings, vocal harmonies among other things. Also the same release date of the Nordic Giants debut record and Josh Rouse.

Their 2nd LP has already been recorded and is in the mixing stage, and is looking to come out in 2016, may or may not be released on a label.

Their 3rd LP they are already working on, and if timing works well, may come in 2017, LOL.



After two years in the making, The Barnum Meserve now unleash their self-titled debut album, and it’s an outright scorcher. The record contains thirteen tracks that are epic, dark and cinematic, but above all, utterly compelling. The atmospheric piano openings and string sections of ‘War Games’ leads things off, before the current single ‘Colours’ (http://youtu.be/rFbN_mzIyaw) perfectly showcases the three piece’s unbridled emotion laced with a contagious and dramatic refrain. The forthcoming single ‘Underneath The Grey’ further demonstrates the band’s guile and deft ability to truly ignite anyone within earshot, and the video is also something special that magnificently portrays the track’s haunting beauty. With shows and festival appearances planned for this year, along with a new album already in works, there is no stopping The Barnum Meserve’s ascent.

I'm pretty intrigued not only by this upcoming record, but the stuff they also have planned over the next couple of years. Will they play live in North America? I dunno, but 1-step-at-a-time of course.

I will of course bump this when more of those details come.


Friday, April 3, 2015

Cloud Cult - Unplug [Live Concert Film] (2015)

Cloud Cult "Unplug" Theatrical Premier in Minneapolis
In anticipation of the film's national release, there will be a screening of "Unplug" on April 30, 2015 at the Riverview Theater in Minneapolis. This debut screening will take place at 7pm, with national release on the following day, May 1. The screening will be followed by a Q&A and meet-and-greet with the full Cloud Cult band and film Director, Jeff D. Johnson. All ages $10

DVD Preorder:

Tickets for Screening at The Riverview Theater on  Wednesday April 30th

I probably will get this, although I may be more just up for seeing it at The Rive on the 30th. Especially since I wish I had been able to make the show at the Southern Theater last year.

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Other Lives - Rituals (2014-2015)

New record from Other Lives drops on May 4th. I might have been more up for info about this and such, but I kind of lost some of my interest for this band after concluding how much I prefer their music as Kunek (or the 1 great debut album Flight of the Flynns )

That being said, they have written some good tracks since changing their name, and given that, I still will be up for checking this new record of theirs out.

1st single "Reconfiguration" is below. Not bad, although not dramatically different than the Tamer Animals stuff.

There's more clips/samples and things of course from Rituals on Other Lives Facebook Page


1 Fair Weather
2 Pattern
3 Reconfiguration
4 Easy Way Out
5 Beat Primal
6 New Fog
7 2 Pyramids
8 Need a Line
9 English Summer
10 Untitled
11 No Trouble
12 For the Last
13 It’s Not Magic
14 Ritual