Sunday, August 31, 2014 List: Top 10 The Police songs (MY LIST, their video)

I'm a somewhat nostalgic, from High School mainly, Police fan, mainly because my best friend in HS was an absolute Police and Sting addict, and he drove every where we'd go, thus he also controlled the music. So I spent dozens and dozens (literally) of trips and especially Friday and Saturday nights listening to The Police and Sting on those drives getting into mischief, or just to our local McDonalds and Mr.Movies/Blockbuster/Hollywood Video..and of course Best Buy and Tidal Wave at one point.

Why we rarely went to Cheapo? I honestly don't recall. I suppose mainly due to the fact my best friend was someone who time was of the essence, and he always wanted to go do things asap (eating dinner on the drive home for instance, lol). And so driving into St.Paul to Cheapo would have compromised more time that he'd rather watch movies or play basketball down at the park near my folks place.

At any case, the list isn't bad, but also pretty predictable. Voices Inside My Head gets an HM and not something like Spirits in the Material World? yeah, that one is kind of surprising given the shear amount of Airplay for both songs, but whatevah.

Below is an Guestimation of my own personal top 12 or so with a few Honorable Mentions. I probably am leaving a few off at least the HM, but this is pretty close to my favorite songs from these guys.

Synchronicity II
Wrapped Around Your Finger
The Bed's Too Big Without You
Spirits in the Material World
Man in a Suitcase
It's Alright For You
Message in a Bottle
Secret Journey
Synchronicity I
Canary in a Coalmine
Bring on the Night
Too Much Information

HM: Can't Stand Losing You, King of Pain, So Lonely, De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da, Tea in the Sahara


Monday, August 25, 2014

Kimbra - The Golden Echo (2014)

8/25/14 12:07PM
I just watched it without sound, but I guess the mixing and some other elements of the song in this video differ. The video itself, meh, I guess if it has it's Madonna or Britney style to it a little, it's no big deal, as long as someone new to her doesn't pigeonhole her music that way (which I'll admit, I once sort of did with Janelle Monae).

8/11/14 1:01PM
Full Album Stream

npr again *rolls eyes*, although at least in this case they aren't being given an exclusive stream to a Metal album.

As far as the record, I am enjoying it a lot, although I would be surprised if I consider it as good as Vows ultimately, but time will only tell of course. "Carolina" may be my favorite track. "Teen Heat" "As You Are" and "Madhouse" also all have stood out in some ways, although I think every track on this album is worth listening to at this point.

I haven't heard those 3 bonus tracks of course, 1 of them includes Jonas from Mew.

7/26/14 1:06PM

cool lyric video for "Love In High Places" (previously posted below).

opener for the Fall US Tour is "Empress Of" although apparently not in Minneapolis according to that link edited in below.

7/21/14 5:12PM-7/22/14 1:40PM

Brief US Tour this Fall including October 30th @ The Fine Line in Minneapolis. I wonder if she'll get an opener (The Dear Hunter?..wishful thinking of course)

10/20 San Francisco, CA - The Independent*
10/23 Los Angeles, CA - The Roxy*
10/24 Santa Ana, CA - The Observatory*
10/25-10/26 Las Vegas, NV - Life Is Beautiful Festival
10/27 Salt Lake City, UT - In The Venue*
10/28 Denver, CO - Sherman Street Event Center*
10/30 Minneapolis, MN - Fine Line Music Café
11/01 Chicago, IL - Lincoln Hall
11/06 New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom*
11/07 Philadelphia, PA - World Café Live - Downstairs*
11/08 Washington, DC - U Street Music Hall*
11/09 Allston, MA - Brighton Music Hall*
Edit: opener listed here:
* w/ Empress Of

"Miracle" dancey/disco-ish.

6/13/14 10:30PM

Jonas from Mew (along with Ben and Omar) are on Bonus tracks. Longstreth and Flying Lotus won't be on any version of the album at this point (but will come out).


UPDATE: Warner Bros. have issued a correction saying that while Kimbra worked with Flying Lotus and Dave Longstreth during the making of The Golden Echo, those songs will not appear on the album. They will eventually be released however. Also, "bonus tracks on the deluxe edition include appearances from Ben Weinman of the Dillinger Escape Plan, The Mars Volta's Omar Rodríguez-López, and Jonas Bjerre of Danish band Mew."

6/10/14 10:58PM

Released August 19th

2 new tracks "Nobody But You" and "Love In High Places."

Deluxe Edition (iTunes)  Tracklist (see the Preorder link in the YouTube videos)

The Golden Echo

1 Teen Heat
2 90s Music 3:36
3 Carolina
4 Goldmine
5 Miracle
6 Rescue Him
7 Madhouse
8 Everlovin' Ya (feat. Bilal)
9 As You Are
10 Love In High Places 5:15
11 Nobody But You 5:22
12 Waltz Me To the Grave
13 Slum Love (Bonus Track)
14 Sugar Lies (Bonus Track)
15 The Magic Hour (Bonus Track)

Daniel Johns/Can Dyke Parks? Omar Rodriguez-Lopez? Ben Weinman? more details I'm sure will include them, but Bilal appears to be the only name "featured" which honestly, might be a good thing with so much emphasis on whose-who of guest in the track titles on so many recent albums.

edit: ...
"with a list of collaborators including Flying Lotus, Dave Longstreth, John Legend, and Matt Bellamy."

6/3/14 4:15PM

Video for "90's Music"..dig the pop/culture (pop music) references. Playful video that at times resembles something Michel Gondry might do, which fittingly, the 1990's is when he was making music videos if I recall, lol.

Nice chameleon looks from Kimbra as well.


  5/19/14 5:25PM

cover art: see above

Billboard Link
"from the singer's second studio album, "The Golden Echo," due out in August on Warner Bros. Records." 

for the official release of the "90's Music" single, Kimbra's album title and release month were also included in the press release. What format and of course all the details of the track list and artwork probably aren't too far away.

Also kind of obvious now why her tour with Janelle Monae down under was titled the "Golden Electric Tour." Which it probably is worth adding how Janelle had to pull out of a show and the dates until May 26th due to some kind of health issue. I haven't seen any details, but Kimbra posted a get well wish to Janelle the other day after she had to bow out of a show the other night.

5/4/14 2:13PM

The first single is titled "90's Music" and I'm just guessing, but I think it was played on Triple J yesterday or early this morning and someone may have ripped it and it was shared on the Tumblr Link below.

Odd tune to say the least, but take this 1st track with a grain of salt given the assortment of guests showing up on this record.

Someone also claims on twitter, the album title and more details will be announced per Triple J in the next week or 2. The fact Kimbra has been teasing with cryptic comments on fb/twitter about it.

The beetle wings are rustling with whispers of what's to come!!!


Check Out/Stream a 90's music MIX Kimbra made

Also here's a live version of 1 of the new tracks "Madhouse."

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Kevin Gilbert and THUD "City of the Sun" live 19 Years Ago Today (8/23/95)

Rather different arrangement of the final version that ended up on 'Shaming. I don't recall ever hearing this song live from Kevin before.

Anyway, quite different, but almost equally as interesting, even though Kevin and his perfectionist ways, I'm sure was still bound to change things up, tinker with many parts of this tune as he did.

@ Rittenhouse Square in Philadelphia, PA.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Miracles of Modern Science - Swipe (feat. Kristin Slipp)

nice video, cool tune! Love these guys! And never heard of Kristin Slipp (from a band called Cuddle Magic? I guess), but she sounds nice on this track.

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Imogen Heap - Sparks (2014)

8/12/14 12:28PM
Full Album Stream

Like Kimbra, the mecca of all exclusive album streams and music opinions, has the 1st full stream of it. But then again, the campaign backers and deluxe version preorders I imagine have had it for a few weeks.

My take: I am enjoying a lot of it. The world/ethnic influence works pretty well and is a nice progressive/change from Ellipse and even the Speak For Yourself. But there's a lot of classic Heap stuff on here as well with electronics, conversational lyrics, vocal layering and a lot more.

I suppose my favorites initially: Lifeline, The Listening Chair, Neglected Space, The Beast, Entanglement, and Telemiscommunications.

A good chance I will get more into this than Ellipse, but I suppose part of that is my expectation level for that album this were pretty different.

7/17/14 1:26PM

New song/video "Cycle Song"
Nice but short. Sounds more like an interlude. Rather ethnic sounding which is not surprising given how this album was made.

6/30/14 4:33PM

Here's a story confirming the release date is August 19th. I likely will get the standard vinyl

Amazon Preorder (Vinyl) Preorder (CD)

Grammy and Ivor Novello award winning recording artist Imogen Heap will release her highly anticipated 4th solo album “Sparks” on August 19th, 2014 through RCA Records. The physical album is currently available for pre-order on Amazon here. 

Sparks has been on a well travelled journey, one which Heap began at 6am 14 March 2011, with a live stream from her home studio in a small village on the outskirts of London, gathering 'sound seeds' from fans and weaving them together to form the first song (Lifeline). Fast forward, 4 continents later, a dozen related projects and 14 tracks, the album cover artwork was then completed by those who pre-ordered the limited edition, super deluxe box set by sending in their footprints! The stunning piece of artwork and packaging, designed and developed over the past three years by Imogen and her creative team with CSV (the company behind Radiohead’s special packaging) it is the very first time that Imogen has released such a super deluxe package. An interactive album cover featuring the footprints of fans worldwide also just premiered on The Creators Project, a partnership between Intel and VICE. 

Says Heap, “The album began with someone sending in the sound of striking a match for what became Lifeline in March 2011. I then dived into the most immense, intense creative 2 and a half years of my life that took me all over the planet, collaborating on so many projects with so many people and often totally spontaneously. The album is then in some ways for me grounded with fans’ footprints bringing the finishing touch for the album art, as so many of them came along for the ride.” 

“Sparks” will be available in four formats – a standard edition, a double-disc edition with instrumental versions of all tracks, 12 inch vinyl and the super deluxe; super deluxe packaging will contain 12 individual data discs, 14 HD music videos, plus videos documenting the making of each song and the entire album, a double 10” vinyl album, a special deck of playing cards which unlock exclusive web content and a 120 page coffee-table-style book telling the story of “Sparks” along with the special ticket of blended items that allows access to sound-checks on the next tour. 

While working on “Sparks,” Heap turned songs into projects and projects into songs, to bring her out of her studio and 'let life in' rather than postponing things until her album was done. This fresh approach found Imogen collaborating with everyone from her fans to unsuspecting passers-by, gardeners to filmmakers, scientists to newspaper journalists and brings us her most diverse and daring body of work to date. From the River Thames (You Know Where To Find Me) to 5000 feet up in the Himalayas (Climb to Sakteng, Cycle Song), from her local community garden (Neglected Space) to 6 weeks in the Chinese metropolis of Hangzhou (Xizi She Knows), Heap was soaking it up, writing, developing, recording and producing. Sounds of a dishwasher door to a Bhutanese dranyen, the voice of a crumbling wall to 700 fans’ becoming a spoken word chorus. One of Heap's projects include her brilliant Mi.Mu Gloves, developed over this album period with an incredible team of scientists, engineers, and artists (Me The Machine) and dabbled in generative and reactive music with music app developers RJDJ (Run-Time) connected to a jogging app. From the deeply personal love songs Propeller Seeds and Entanglement to the crowd sourced response to the Sendai earthquake (Lifeline), her trademark honesty runs through the album. 

One of the songs will only be finished once she’s dead! The Listening Chair whizzes us through her first 35 years in 5 minutes and will be added to every 7 years with another minute of a cappella song! 

Heap's last album Ellipse earned her a Grammy and Ivor Novello award. This summer marks the release of Sparks, her fifth (including Frou Frou's album Details) and most ambitious album to date. Sparks' songs have taken Imogen all over the world from her North East London home studio to the Himalayas via China. This year Imogen is the guest artist-curator for the iconic London Roundhouse venue’s new music festival Reverb. The eagerly awaited Sparks world tour will begin at Reverb with an extra special show in August 2014, however the rest of the tour is slightly delayed to May 2015 as Imogen will be a mum come November! 

To follow more news from Heap herself, her much loved vBlogs are back. You can watch them here ( or sign up to her mailing list ( to never miss a beat from the Heap 

Full tracklisting for “Sparks” standard edition: 

01. You Know Where to Find Me
02. Entanglement
03. The Listening Chair
04. Cycle Song
05. Telemiscommunications
06. Lifeline
07. Neglected Space
08. Minds Without Fear
09. Me The Machine
10. Run-Time
11. Climb To Sakteng
12. The Beast
13. Xizi She Knows
14. Propeller Seeds

4/22/14 5:21PM
 "The Machine" video

3/1/14 12:00PM

This (below) is supposedly 1-of the tracklists, per the Deluxe Boxed Set, which I will admit to not ordering. And unfortunately, I read was pushed back a bit, until April or May. But the release date was set to March 3rd a while ago. I have not seen many official sites mentioning, just the standard version. Promos, reviews, etc. Why I wonder if the March 3rd street date is still accurate. But if it is, I'll be looking to check this record out on Monday or at least in the next week or two.

edit:  per Wikipedia
Sparks is the forthcoming fourth studio album by English recording artist Imogen Heap. The album will be released, via RCA on 3 March 2014, in two editions: standard and deluxe box set. The standard edition will consist of 14 tracks and will include all of Heap's 2011–2013 singles. On 21 February 2014, a video was posted on her official site stating that the release date has been changed to April.

1 You Know Where to Find Me
2 Entanglement
3 The Listening Chair
4 Cycle Song
5 Telemiscommunication
6 Lifeline
7 Neglected Space
8 Minds Without Fear
9 Me the Machine
10 Run-Time
11 Climb to Sakteng
12 The Beast
13 Xizi She Knows
14 Propeller Seeds

Even the standard ARTWORK I'm not finding at this time. The Deluxe Boxed Set shows some artwork.

I do like the way the Deluxe Boxed Set includes

Here's a re-cap of what's included:

• Sparks album on CD

A special ticket that grants you access to a sound check on Imogen's 2014 world tour

• 10 inch Sparks double gatefold vinyl album

• 12 DVD data discs with lossless versions of each Heapsong inc HD music videos + making-of videos of each song, packaged in beautiful case bound books with 16 page colour booklet

• Making of the album DVD featuring all box set material

• 120 page photo book telling the story of 'Sparks'

• Deck of 52 playing cards that unlock exclusive web content

• Specially blended paper made from objects Immi use to make the album
9/20/13 11:45AM

From the Mailing List:

We are delighted to announce that Imogen's brand new album 'Sparks' will be released on 3rd March 2014. We are giving mailing list members the chance to pre-order the strictly limited edition deluxe boxset for delivery a week earlier, on 24th February 2014.

What's more, if you pre-order before 30th September 2013 you can upload your footprints and they will become part of the 'Sparks' album cover across all formats. The first 100 people to order also get to visit Immi's house!

A message from Immi:

Hello there. Hope all's well with you.

I've been little miss hermit heap in my studio the Hideaway these past months with a real push to get the audio for the album finished in time for my sanity to stay intact!

It's turned out to be a monster of an album and even though I finished it two weeks ago, it still hasn't dawned on me. A bit like your last day at school!

For all the other bits, like making of documentaries, photos, music videos, commentaries etc, I realised pretty early on (about 2 years ago) that it won't fit onto your average CD, so I've been cooking up a Deluxe box set!

I've made a little video for you to explain a bit more about what's in it. You can watch it here :)

I may have a glass of champagne when I get mine as It pretty much represents my musical life since March 2011 with all the projects I've been involved in, connecting to a song.


Really hope you love the music and this rather sexy deluxe box set to accompany it!

xxx immi xxx

Visit the deluxe website to pre-order your boxset now and upload your footprints which will become part of the album cover!

All these wonderful details aside, this DELUXE BOXED SET is well, rather DELUXE being 10 discs, a DVD-Doc, and Vinyl. The price on the site shows a cool $299.99. So, yeah, I'd love a copy, but I also would love to use the $260+ extra to use on a plane ticket to Arizona or my savings account. There's only a limited number of the Boxed Sets anyway, so who knows if they are already sold out.

But at least we do know the actual Title being SPARKS (not Spark), and the release date being March 3rd of 2014.

9/3/13 8:53PM

just a follow up to  this Entry "Imogen Heap: 2012 Recap

This is just information she's posted at scattered points throughout the last 3 years. But taking this info to be somewhat if not rather accurate. this upcoming LP will be coming out in November. The title "Spark" is a *POSSIBLE* title as that twitter post linked on Wikipedia does not really sound certain at all (and it was from just a few months ago, in July).

But assuming the November release happens and that track list is close if not fully accurate (and the order for that matter), more of the details shouldn't be far away.

Wikipedia Page

Spark is the tentative title[1] of the upcoming fourth studio album by English recording artist Imogen Heap. The album will be released on Megaphonic Records in November 2013 in two packages: standard edition and deluxe album box set. The standard edition will consist of 14 tracks and will include all of Heap's singles released between 2011 and 2013.

Background[edit source | editbeta]

Spark is a concept album. Each song that is related to a certain project has been released every three months. On 14 March 2011, Heap started work on a new record as fans sent in nearly 900 "sound seeds", or samples of everyday sounds such as a "dishwasher door", a "bicycle" or a "burning match". Heap says the concept for this album will be to record one track over a two-week period every three months. Each song and video will be released immediately.
The first song, initially entitled "#heapsong1" and later retitled "Lifeline", premiered worldwide on 28 March 2011 via Ustream[2] along with a live remix by Tim Exile. "Lifeline" was released on 30 March 2011 as a digital download from Imogen's website and via iTunes, Amazon and other digital retailers. Released alongside this was a 12-page 3DiCD package (a 3D virtual CD) including crowd sourced (and paid for) images, the instrumental version of the song, the "seeds and solos only" version and "heap speaks seeds and solos" - an-18-minute commentary by Heap on how the sounds and solos were used in "Lifeline". The song is a tribute to the victims of the2011 Tōhoku earthquake and tsunami. The second song, "Propeller Seeds", was recorded using 3D audio effects and headphones are recommended for listeners to get the full effect. The third song, "Neglected Space", incorporates concepts, people and sounds from a lab organized by the Clear Village Charitable Trust to restore a walled garden in Bedfords Park.[3] The fourth song, "Minds Without Fear", was the first song to be featured on the 2011 Indian show, The Dewarists.
The fifth song, "Xizi She Knows", was recorded during Heap's six-week trip at Hangzhou, China.[4] The sixth song, "Me, the Machine", was recorded using the musical gloves. The seventh song, "You Know Where to Find Me", was recorded in London and is thematically about the River Thames.[5] The eighth song, "Telemiscommunications", is a collaboration with Canadian house producer deadmau5which is included in his sixth album Album Title Goes Here.

Track listing[edit source | editbeta]

All songs written and composed by Imogen Heap. 
1."Lifeline"  4:47
2."Propeller Seeds"  3:52
3."Neglected Space"  5:20
4."Minds Without Fear" (with Vishal-Shekhar)3:41
5."Xizi She Knows"  4:41
6."You Know Where to Find Me"  4:56
7."Telemiscommunications(with deadmau5)4:07
8."The Listening Chair"  
9."Me, the Machine"  
12."Climb to Sakteng"  
13."Cycle Song"  
14."TBA (new song)" 

Sunday, August 10, 2014

Revolution Harmony: Steven Wilson + Tom Morello with some Rappers

People are dogging this, but actually this isn't bad. The basic melody and music composed is decent. And the rapping, honestly works well with it. Not that the rapping is the most outspoken, badass, poignant thing out there, but it doesn't necessarily have to be.

The proceeds to the money for the downloads for this go to

which just per their frontpage on their site says:

Hope Runs is a non-profit organization that uses running to empower AIDS orphans in Kenya with the tools of personal health, social entrepreneurship, and education. Read about us in the press, watch our videos, and explore the rest of our site!

Out 28 July 2014. All proceeds go to
(c) 2014 Revolution Harmony
BUY NOW on iTunes: |

In memory of the great Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela (1918-2013)

Tom Morello - guitar solos
Eric Wainaina - vocals, lyrics
Madchild - vocals, lyrics
Steven Wilson - vocals, lyrics by Messiaen
Kool Keith - vocals, lyrics
White Noize - vocals, lyrics
Stefan Loh - guitar
Ray Holroyd - music (composing/arranging/programming)

Produced by Ray Holroyd at Revolution Harmony in Vancouver, Canada
Recorded by everyone at various studios in Canada, USA, Kenya & UK
Mixed by Rohan Onraet at The Tower of Power in London, UK
Mastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound in New York, USA
Art & Design by Maria Picassó in Barcelona, Spain


Power to the people, our voice is lethal
We can come together now, everybody's equal
I can see their plans, it is see-through
Lying and deceitful, nowadays I'm trying to be peaceful
I have let love into my heart, music helped that
When it comes to lyrics, I'm a fire-breathing hellcat
Planets have aligned, feel the good vibrations
Now we feel alive, it's a new sensation
Now I'm feeling fine, never lose my patience
Harmony, revolution, a true live nation
Once I was a sinning beast, music gives me inner peace
John Lennon, all you need, Paul McCartney, let it be
Never be afraid of the word Love, hands hold the white dove
Future for the kids that I dream of
Used to feel trapped, was surrounded by evil
My music set me free, one love, one people

Everywhere you go, seems apropos
To show a little love and let the people know
As the world turns, far as you're concerned
There's never been a wall that love can't burn
Hello! Hello! Hello!

Unify the culture, love drawn from the synergy
Universal language spoken in the form of a symphony
Music is a source of divinity
Thoughts are orchestrated, audible
They're transporting me lyrically
From your data chip to your desktop
Straight to your MP3, making your head nod, let's rock
My heart's driven by harmony
Every bar I breathe is synchronistically
A part of my body's armoury
We impact the world with everything we do and say
I ain't in this for vanity, I'ma prove my claim
There's redemption in my songs like the voice of Marley
Be the change I wanna see like the choice of Gandhi
Alpha rhythms connected up to my joints to charge me
Celebrate the revolution, come and join the party

Play bird songs to those who dwell in cities
Paint colours for those who see none

Life struggling to our destiny
It'll be a venture for my people to believe
The colour no boundaries
Skin beautiful as Richard Lampen
With his queen around a tree
No starving the rich might sacrifice
So the Nubian kids can eat
Their houses and ceilings
Like colour schemes on parakeets
Don't get souped up and do a jinx
Give up your Yankee game box seats
Selfish gentlemen trying to live elite

Saturday, August 9, 2014

PROG magazine's top 100 "Prog" albums issue coming

8/8/14 12:03PM-11:52PM

Okay, so the below list is sort of a prediction, which many of which I was correct about, and many not of course.

What I meant to earlier, is sort include something about this kind of poll and the "PROG" magazine in general.

I struggle with making a list like this, naturally trying to rank albums I love one over another, etc. But this poll is about "prog" specifically, so as my email states, the albums I voted for in my top 10 were hardly my favorite 10 albums of all-time exactly, or even my favorites from said bands entirely (although a number of them are I suppose, if I had to decide).

But I would wonder what the readers of "PROG" would vote for, and how different it is. Why i say that, is while their readers do love and favor "prog" over other styles of music, I'm sure many enjoy bands who did progressive music, but may not exactly be doing "prog" as their only emphasis. 

I'm thinking stuff like The Beach Boys Pet Sounds or Smile, many of The Beatles albums, or more modern music like from people like Muse, Radiohead or even U2. Ours in my case, etc..or Jellyfish, Faith No More, XTC and so many others.

Unfortunately with "PROG" magazine, while they do or at least are intended to serve a certain niche audience, and do to a point as they have been able to be successful for what, 5 or more years? they have frequently, if not almost always had a HEAVY BRITISH and EUROPEAN BIAS. I guess with my taste, interest I notice how they will talk about bands like Muse, Radiohead, Porcupine Tree/Steven Wilson and even Pure Reason Revolution and Oceansize (I think), and yet have not really talked about some of those bands contemporaries outside of the UK really.

dredg? Fair to Midland? Kaddisfly? even The Dear Hunter I don't recall ever receiving mention. 

Coheed and Cambria have, as well as Mastodon and Tool I recall, but those names are so big, I suppose they don't have much choice.

I suppose if a American/North American version/counterpart were printed, they might include more focus on those American prog bands, and maybe not as much on the European prog scene (per say). But, then again, I would be surprised if not shocked if an American version of PROG could even sell; which might suggest blogs like my own and some others are that version.

So, that is kind of my take on their magazine, at least a few years ago. I don't buy it or religiously try and find it at the bookstore like I once did, so maybe they have improved some, with their coverage outside of their home continent.

And the results posted below my predictions, are pretty predictable with the big 5 bands pretty well represented. Dream Theater and Marillion as well.

Fear of a Blank Planet and even the Steven Wilson solo albums? meh..even The Incident is surprising to see on there, as there are other albums, even from PT's catalog that make more sense.

And Storm Corrosion?..mmkay, that might be the most shocking. Distorted Lullabies or Spilt Milk make a lot more sense to me when voting for "prog"

Raven being at #9? while it is a good album, I would guess in 10 years or more, when people make a list like this again, it won't rank nearly that high. Even Weather Systems from Anathema, I think has become a little overly praised, or, at least how much more praise it receives than We're Here, Because We're Here, etc.

I guess this poll, like some of the Lists results, reflect the recent history/tastes and times, and are voted on by a lot of kids. Because to not find Fates Warning on this list, or Kevin Gilbert among many others, and see bands like Haken on here..doesn't seem totally accurate. Or no Soft Machine..I guess they come across too jazzy. For that matter, no Fusion really from RTF to Mahavishnu to Metheny, I guess aren't "prog" enough, which again goes back to my original point of having people vote for their favorite albums, not necessarily their favorite purely "prog" albums.. Although with Storm Corrosion, I suppose may not have.


Yes (5)
Close to the Edge
Tales From Topograpic Oceans
The Yes Album

Genesis (5)
Selling England
The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway
Trick of the Tail
Nursery Cryme

Rush (6)
Moving Pictures
A Farewell to Kings
Permanent Waves
Caress of Steel

Emerson Lake and Palmer (3)
Brain Salad Surgery

King Crimson (5) 
In the Court of the Crimson King
Lark's Tongue in Aspic
Wake of Poseidon
Starless and Bible Black

Pink Floyd (4)
Dark Side of the Moon
Wish You Were Here
The Wall

Jethro Tull (3)
Thick as a Brick
A Passion Play

Marillion (4)
Misplaced Childhood
Clutching at Straws

Dream Theater (4)
Images and Words
Scenes From a Memory
Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence

Porcupine Tree (4)
Fear of a Blank Planet
In Abenstia
The Sky Moves Sideways

Steven Wilson (2)
The Raven that Refused to Sing
Grace for Drowning

Storm Corrosion (1)

Gentle Giant (2)
Free Hand

Camel (3)
The Snow Goose

Opeth (4)
Ghost Reveries
Blackwater Park
Still Life

Pain of Salvation (2)
Remedy Lane
The Perfect Element I

The Mars Volta (2)
Frances the Mute
DeLoused in the Comatorium

Transatlantic (2)
Bridge Across Forever

Spock's Beard (3)
The Light

PFM (1)
Per Un Amico

Tool (1)

Mastodon (3)
Crack the Skye
Blood Mountain

Radiohead (1)
OK Cumputer

Muse (1)

Coheed and Cambria (2)
Good Apollo 1
In Keeping Secrets

UK (1)

Return Forever (1)
Romantic Warrior

Mahavishnu orchestra (1)
Inner Mounting Flame

Gryphon (1)
Red Queen to Gryphon Three

Caravan (1)
In the Land of Gray and Pink

Nektar (1)
Remember the Future

IQ (3)
Dark Matter
The Wake

Happy the Man (1)
Crafty Hands

Jon Anderson (1)
Olias of Sunnhillow

Chris Squire (1)
Fish out of Water

Echolyn (2)
As the World

The Flower Kings (2)
Stardust We Are
Unfold the Future

Mike Oldfield (1)
Tubular Bells

Between the Buried and Me (3)
The Great Misdirect
Parallax II

Oceansize (1)

Pure Reason Revolution (1)
The Dark Third

Fates Warning (4)
A Pleasant Shade of Gray
Perfect Symmetry
No Exit

Queensryche (3)
Operation Mindcrime
Promised Land
Rage for Order

Renaissance (2)
Songs From Scherazade
Ashes are Burning

The Dear Hunter (1)
Act II: The Meaning of and All Things Regarding Ms.Leading

Liquid Tension Experiment (2)

Soft Machine (2)
The Soft Machine

Hawkwind (1)
Doremi Fasol Latido

Gong (1)
Flying Teapot

Karnivool (1)
Sound Awake

Wishbone Ash (1)

Steve Hackett (1)
Voyage of the Acolyte

Queen (1)
A Night at the Opera

King's X (1)
Gretchen Goes to Nebraska

Faith No More (1)
Angel Dust

Kansas (1)

Big Big Train
Frank Zappa
Shadow Gallery

Alright, I need to do said write up, and I actually may include my PREDICTIONS I was making not long after posting this, on Tuesday night. But for now, since it was shared online, here's the results apparently. I'd like to see the albums that were close to but not making it.

No Fates Warning, no Soft Machine, only 1 The Mars Volta and 1 Pain of Salvation and only 1 Spock's Beard. No The Flower Kings. No Hawkwind and many others.


1. Close To The Edge – Yes
2. In The Court of the Crimson King – King Crimson
3. Selling England By The Pound – Genesis
4. Dark Side of the Moon – Pink Floyd
5. Thick As A Brick – Jethro Tull
6. Foxtrot – Genesis
7. Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd
8. The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway – Genesis
9. The Raven Who Refused To Sing – Steven Wilson
10. Fragile – Yes
11. Brain Salad Surgery – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
12. Red – King Crimson
13. Moving Pictures – Rush
14. Animals – Pink Floyd
15. 2112 – Rush
16. The Wall – Pink Floyd
17. Scenes From A Memory – Dream Theater
18. Fear of a Blank Planet – Porcupine Tree
19. Relayer – Yes
20. Misplaced Childhood – Marillion
21. A Trick of the Tail – Genesis
22. Tales from Topographic Oceans – Yes
23. Hemispheres – Rush
24. Pawn Hearts – Van Der Graaf Generator
25. Images and Words – Dream Theater
26. Going for the One – Yes
27. Deadwing – Porcupine Tree
28. Tarkus – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
29. Brave – Marillion
30. Larks Tongues In Aspic – King Crimson
31. The Snow Goose – Camel
32. The Yes Album – Yes
33. Lateralus – Tool
34. Bridge Across Forever – Transatlantic
35. In the Land of Pink and Grey – Caravan
36. Blackwater Park – Opeth
37. Meddle – Pink Floyd
38. English Electric – Big Big Train
39. The Whirlwind – Transatlantic
40. Script for a Jester’s Tear – Marillion
41. Nursery Cryme – Genesis
42. Trilogy – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
43. Aqualung – Jethro Tull
44. Wind and Wuthering – Genesis
45. Colours – Between The Buried and Me
46. Ghost Reveries – Opeth
47. Clutching at Straws – Marillion
48. The Incident – Porcupine Tree
49. A Passion Play – Jethro Tull
50. Grace for Drowning – Steven Wilson
51. Mirage – Camel
52. Marbles – Marillion
53. A Farewell to Kings – Rush
54. The Mountain – Haken
55. Journey to the Centre of the Earth – Rick Wakeman
56. Acquiring the Taste – Gentle Giant
57. Crack the Skye – Mastodon
58. Moonmadness – Camel
59. Weather Systems – Anathema
60. Tubular Bells – Mike Oldfield
61. De-loused in the Crematorium – The Mars Volta
62. Aenima – Tool
63. The Parallax II – Between The Buried and Me
64. Operation Mindcrime – Queensryche
65. Octopus – Gentle Giant
66. In Absentia – Porcupine Tree
67. Insurgentes – Steven Wilson
68. Rock Bottom – Robert Wyatt
69. Permanent Waves – Rush
70. Discipline – King Crimson
71. Atom Heart Mother – Pink Floyd
72. Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band – The Beatles
73. Godbluff – Van Der Graaf Generator
74. Hot Rats – Frank Zappa
75. Free Hand – Gentle Giant
76. Songs from the Wood – Jethro Tull
77. Crime of the Century – Supertramp
78. Still Life – Opeth
79. Emerson, Lake & Palmer – Emerson, Lake & Palmer
80. Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence – Dream Theater
81. Leftoverture – Kansas
82. Subterannea – IQ
83. Still Life – Van Der Graaf Generator
84. Remedy Lane – Pain of Salvation
85. UK – UK
86. Six – Mansun
87. OK Computer – Radiohead
88. Snow – Spock's Beard
89. Awake – Dream Theater
90. Afraid of Sunlight – Marillion
91. Damnation – Opeth
92. The Six Wives of Henry the Eighth – Rick Wakeman
93. Storm Corrosion – Storm Corrosion
94. War of the Worlds – Jeff Wayne
95. To Our Children’s Children’s Children – The Moody Blues
96. Lizard – King Crimson
97. Voyage of the Acolyte – Steve Hackett
98. Tago Mago – Can
99. Moving Waves – Focus

100. Drama - Yes

8/5/14 12:08PM
This whole idea/process warrants more elaboration from myself, but my lunch break doesn't allow enough time to do so, so for now I will just share my submission/vote and the email I sent and the Cover of the issue coming rather soon to subscribers, bookstores, readers, etc. If I recall, it'll be out in Europe this month, but maybe not until September or later in North America.

Also I'll try and add-in every album visually represented on the cover later as on nearly all of them were mentioned (most of which I noticed, but I'll admit, not all).

1. Jethro Tull - Thick as a Brick
2. Rush - Hemispheres
3. Genesis - Foxtrot
4. Yes - Relayer
5. Marillion - Misplaced Childhood
6. Dream Theater - Images and Words
7. Fates Warning - A Pleasant Shade of Gray
8. Pain of Salvation - The Perfect Element I
9. Marillion - Brave
10. Kevin Gilbert - The Shaming of the True

note: these are more or less in order of my favorites IN REGARDS to also being "Prog," and somewhat in their importance and influence in my taste as well as others (in other words, Dream Theater for example, I don't consider Images and Words my favorite, but rather my favorite with their emphasis on "Prog.")

Also, of course in making a favorite albums list overall, I am not including some, namely Apes and Androids's "Blood Moon" or dredg's "El Cielo" which I guess I don't consider as emphasizing "Prog" enough to vote for this list.

Suggestion: Maybe do another poll at some point, where people vote for their favorite albums of all-time, REGARDLESS of genre/style etc. Sort of a "Top 100 Albums from READERS OF PROG MAGAZINE," could turn out more different than this poll, than many might think.


--Kyle aka "allmediareviews blog owner"