Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Umbrella Tree RIP




















I feel bad about this as I don't have the time at the moment to add the amount this band deserves. But as it says, they are ending sadly (but not surprisingly). Timbre even played on 1 of their albums. Hopefully I'll have the chance to edit in a bit more, but for now, RIP another good 2000's college prog band.














from their latest newsletter:


This is what happens when you run out of gas.
On August 23rd, we celebrated the 7-year anniversary of our first show as Umbrella Tree. We now announce, with introspection and cautious optimism, that Umbrella Tree is no more. So it goes. We part ways with a great surplus of love and mutual well-wishing.


As our final encore, we are now making available the complete, multi-camera, HD video from our album release show this past May. It is available HERE for free. Enjoy it. Pass it along. Remember us fondly, as we will remember you.


Finally, we must thank a considerable enclave of supporters. Thank you everyone who ever bought an album or came to a show or put us on a mixtape. Thank you all Kickstarter backers, everyone who made their own Umbrella Tree music videos, and those of you who choreographed dance pieces to our songs. Thank you to all the bands with whom we played. Thank you Christi Bissell, Matt Slocum, Richena Purnell, Matthew Beale, Chris Click, Adam Troxler, Jamie Bacon, Timbre Cierpke, Anna Fitzgerald, Tia Shearer , Jill Ann Raney, and Poly for performing on our records or with us live or doing sign language interpretation or some combination of these things. Thank you Jeremy Ferguson for everything you have ever done for us, and Jimmy Abegg for introducing us to Jeremy. Thank you Jim DeMain, Loney John Hutchins, Justin Boots Herlocker, Steve Mabee, and Al Willis for your work on our recordings. 


Most of the photographs we have ever used professionally were taken by either Ben Pearson or Sally LaFave; thank you pixels and pixels and pixels. Thank you Amy Smith, Jack and Heath Henley, Kip Kubin, and especially Dave Ogle for your help and work on our videos. Thank you Sandy Craven for your work and personal investment in the band. Thank you Sylvie, Ben Frank, Laura Baisden, and Rachel Gresham for your album and poster and t-shirt art and layout. Thank you Annalise Frank for introducing Zack to Derek, and Justin Spencer for introducing Zack & Derek to Jilly & Ryan. Thank you Stefaniah McGowan for jumping on board in the 11th hour; we wish we had met you 5 years ago. Thank you Kristin Pearson for being our beloved den mother from note one.
 

So that’s that. We had a great time with you. Enjoy the live video. We hope to remain on your turntables, virtual or actual, for many years.

Lovey dovey,
Zachary, Jillian, Derek, Ryan
Umbrella Tree

Monday, October 29, 2012

Negroni's Trio - On the Way (2012)



1 On the Way           
2 Matices           
3 Blue Forest           
4 Estate           
5 Dancing With the Bass           
6 Oak Tree           
7 Expressions           
8 My Way           
9 Looking For You           
10 Retrospection


I haven't heard it, and didn't even know it was released I guess on September 18th. Kind of cool to find out about coming on the heals of seeing another great latin jazz artist, Poncho Sanchez the other night. I really enjoyed Negroni's last record Just Three as well as some of their earlier work back towards the end of 2010. Their drummer is awesome. I wonder how this will stack up for 2012, especially among the other good jazz-related records i.e. Mike Linden, Media Addicts, etc. But it should be great to hear in the coming days/weeks before the 2012 Index is published.

Bend Sinister - 2012 Fall West Coast Tour





11/4/12 Vancouver, BC The Electric Owl
11/6/12 Seattle, WA El Corazon
11/7/12 Portland, OR White Eagle Saloon
11/8/12 Oakland, CA The Stork Club
11/10/12 Los Angeles, CA El Cid
11/11/12 Santa Barbara, CA Whiskey Records
11/13/12 Fullerton, CA Slidebar
11/14/12 San Diego, CA Bar Pink
11/15/12 Scottsdale, AZ Pub Rock
11/16/12 Las Vegas, NV Beauty Bar
11/18/12 Boise, ID Grainey's Basement

with The Royalty http://theroyalty.bancamp.com

I'd love to try and see a show on this tour, but unfortunately it isn't in the cards given the timing and of course Minnesota isn't too close to any of these locations. But as I posted a bit ago

they are finally touring the US! It appears to be just on the West Coast this Fall, but in more than 1 interview with Dan Moxon this Summer, he said the belief is they are looking to do a full-scale US Tour next year.

So hopefully this will be the 1st of a handful of tours for them in the coming months, and I'll manage to either see them in Minnesota, or perhaps at least in another city when my schedule and budget allow. They're in Scottsdale on the evening I'm seeing The Monkees with Michael Nesmith in Minneapolis, lol. Scottsdale probably would have been my 1st choice among those location purely due to the fact I would have a place to stay and a car likely given I have family there during the Winter.

edit: it appears they played a show in Chicago last night, and Michigan on Saturday???. I suppose logistics of timing would have made it nearly impossible for me to see them, but I can't help but be a bit saddened. Although at least I got to see Poncho Sanchez finally, after 10 years, this past Friday night. The fact they did a last-minute Chicago show stings a little bit.

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Live Music Venues in Minnesota



This is a list of sorts of my own personal rankings of venues in the Minneapolis and St.Paul area. This list and the hyperbolic opinions of course are my own, and are not meant to over inflate nor disparage these venues from doing business, as without them, there would be no live music in Minnesota. But I am not pulling many punches here, as I think it's good to get out an honest take on a lot of these places.

Not to forget, the mainstream music media doesn't necessarily include some of these spots, or opinions about them. To throw out a different feeling might actually get them to re-examine their own sense about the live music scene in my hometown.

Also the fact I'm sure plenty of those types don't know, or maybe stumbled upon this blog once or twice. The networking within their circles doesn't seem to know this blog as a MINNESOTA/MINNESOTA MUSIC BLOG. But the fact is, it is, along with a blog for tons of music not from Minnesota. They seem to be captured in their own little bubble, but perhaps by giving an extensive look at live music here from someone not inside said bubble, they will realize not everyone reads Citypages, listens to 89.3 and shops at The Electric Fetus exclusively like they like to give the impression they should.

Edits, Images and other things may be added in due time, but given some factors, I'm going to have to go with this the way it is for now.



I would rank the live music venues in the Twin Cities as follows:

1. Whole Music Club Why is this #1. The only show I saw there, Menomena with The Cloak Ox and 1 other band, I thought was terrific. They have couches, it's isolated downstairs at the Coffman Student Union at the U. The Sound is nice. I had no issues bringing my laptop or getting Wifi. Chatting with the bands afterwards was totally cool.

I really want to see more shows there, but I'm not sure how likely that'll be given the costs, but if an artist wishes to play for other means.

Edit: Ted Mann Concert Hall/The Weismann Art Musuem/Coffman Student Union
I need to bundle in these other 3 venues at the U of M as they are all nice places to see music at. Like The Whole, I only have been able to attend a few select shows at each of them. But I like the fact they are student promoted, and thus the hipster media doesn't seem to force their way into pimping them. I recall

2. The Artist Quarter This place is what The Dakota Jazz club used to be in St.Paul, sans for the food (fries). But the atmosphere, convenience, sound, setting, times of shows, cost of shows, and artists that play there are all very much in my preference. It is for Jazz, but Jazz is best experienced live anyway. There's not a more intimate, relaxing venue in Minnesota.

3. Celtic Junction The 2 Dean Magraw all-day benefits that were there, along with Lehto & Wright's Children's Songs CD Release show are the only shows I've seen there, but I can't really say much if anything bad about this place. It very much has the environment and blue collar/community approach that The Cedar Cultural Center used to have when Bill Kubeczko ran it. The only things I wish were different about it, are the lack of non-Irish (or Celtic) acts performing there. And how few concerts have been held there; but it was not even primarily set up for live music, but things like dance lessons and classes, etc.

4. Triple Rock Social Club This has become the best rock venue in the Twin Cities, in some ways by default. They have Air Conditioning, a number of places to sit, they allow you to bring in your computer, and normally you're able to meet the bands afterwards. Along with seeing a number of really memorable concerts there over the last few years (The Besnard Lakes, The Dear Hunter, The Receiving End of Sirens, Brooke Waggoner, Deerfhoof). The only things about it I'm not as crazy about is it being in the Cedar/Riverside area, and the fact a lot of concerts go late there. But the staff don't even get on you to leave like some venues (including their neighbors at The Cabooze). I honestly would rather see a band here over almost every other venue in town, and they do get a lot of touring acts I like thankfully. I think other venues should model themselves after this place.

5. Varsity Theater For a number of years, this was the premiere live venue in Minnesota for clubs at least. Good sound, charming decor, parking was convenient, and getting to meet the bands was almost a sure thing every time. But, the reason they have dropped down to 5th (and even below Triple Rock), is what seems like the First Ave/Hipster have poked their head into their business process, and they seem to be catering more towards the hipster than I would prefer. When they 1st started having live music there in 2005, 2006, 2007, that didn't seem to be the case. They were sort of a rival to First Ave. Now they seem to be acting like First Ave's little brother. I can't even seem to bring in my computer in anymore and blog, at least depending on some shows.

I will say, I still prefer this place over most, and do like some of the changes they've made, like the upstairs area. But I suppose it's maybe a push, because the old Risers and Couches seem to be gone, or random at best to find there. You don't know what the seating situation is before every concert, which, I wish I did. Mesa Pizza and Five Guys in the area are nice traditional food spots, but the lack of a Wells Fargo ATM down the street now kind of sucks.

6. The Baroque Room Personal bias aside (my cousin and his wife run this place in downtown St.Paul), this about as nice of a venue to hear acoustic music. At least intimate, and for Classical music, specifically Baroque and Chamber. I have only seen my cousin and his wife with some others perform there a couple of times, but I can't think of another spot better, for what it's used for. They even offer wine, cheese, crackers, fruit, veggies, etc. The biggest downside to it I suppose is in order for artists to perform there at this point, they don't really get paid (but have to pay?..I recall asking my cousin and thought he said). So, in a way, it's sort of a music space purely for performance. Tips, cd sales, etc I'm sure can help, but it does hurt the idea of recommending some artists I know to desire to play there. But it's not impacting their success from what I can tell as they have performances very regularly.

7. Black Dog Cafe I've seen Dean Magraw at this place like 8 times in 2012. It's a perfect situation, where the 1st Tuesday of every month Dean goes on with some other musicians, usually Davu Seru on drums and at times some others. He plays from 7-9PM. There is no cost, just suggested tipping. Dean will do his thing, usually Jazz interpretations. It's about the most relaxing, enjoyable live setting I could ever ask for. And it's only once a month.

Plus the Cuban sandwich is maybe the best entree of any kind I've fallen for over the last year. There's a reason why it won an award in 2009 in Citypages. Plus they have a great Carmel Apple Cider in the Fall/Winter time.

I love the fact Dean is doing well, and playing these gigs every month there (although he won't be there this next month of November, but Davu and Marcus Anderson? I think will be at least).

I can't say enough good things about Black Dog at this point, I only worry about when the Light Rail is connected in 2014, the traffic levels for Dean's shows and Black Dog in general may change, for better or worse. I just hate to see little secrets spots become not so secretive (I know, why am I talking about it then? :p).

8. McGuire Theater at The Walker Art Center I saw St.Vincent do 2 shows there last year, and I must say, the theater's acoustics, design, and even the convenience/affordability of the parking really impressed me, so much I really want to go back. The show itself was mixed, and it does give off a little bit of a hipster vibe, but I could look past that stuff if I may end up there more. I guess on paper, this is a very desirable venue with the jury out about it's potential flaws. It's not even quite in downtown Mpls too which is preferable.

9. The Ritz Theater A very nice theater in Northeast Minneapolis. I have seen 2 shows there, Jenny Dalton (with Murzik) and The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra (with Trent Romens). Both of those shows were very enjoyable. The sound, size, area, parking, etc were all quite welcoming. I guess the only issue with this place is cost and booking artists/events. Very much reminds me of The Woman's Club Theater's issues as well.

10. Cedar Cultural Center I used to love this place. It truly was the anti-First Ave. They booked almost exclusively ethnic, acoustic and musician-based acts. But when Bill Kubeczko left, the people who took over clearly joined up with 89.3, First Ave and the Hipster monopoly to an extent. And what ended up happening is a lot more artists who were championed by those crowds ended up there. Now, they have still brought in a lot of the kinds of acts they used to, although not all of them, per Bireli Lagrene for example.

Dean Magraw does still play there, but not as much as he used to I don't get the sense. Nor is their Tabla Nights, Solstice Events, nor The Minnesota Guitar Trios. And not to forget Nordic Roots Festival and the Hawaiian Slack-Key guitar festivals that don't happen there anymore either.

So what you have is, another venue, that had to cater to the populous to stay afloat, but in the process, is not quite what it once was. Mind you, I still enjoy going there, and seeing acts perform. But it is without question more hipster than it used to be.

11. Turf Club This place is a safe haven in a lot of ways. So anti-Minneapolis. The parking is convenient and free in the area, since it's in St.Paul. There's plenty of seating. They don't care about you bringing in a laptop to use. Meeting the bands is almost always possible. The sound for the most part is decent. And at this point, it's not hipster enough to bug me. Now, like many others in St.Paul, once the Light Rail is running in 2014, it may change, but for now I am totally happy seeing shows here. I suppose the only issue I have had with it is the shows almost always tend to go late. But given its in St.Paul, it's easier for me to work around that.

12. Woman's Club Theater I saw Greg Howard and then stayed for Tim Reynolds at this nice Loring Park area theater in 2001. That was 1 of the most memorable concerts I've ever seen. They have not booked another concert or event I have wanted to go to since. That saddens me, but I've come to forget about expecting it to happen. I'd put this closely on par with The Ritz Theater, but the Loring Park area is less desirable than The Ritz's area. But I'd rather see a show here over any of the Hennepin Theatre district spots.

13. Dreamland Arts I saw Greg Herriges there, just once, but it was a great show. Very intimate little place in the Hamline University area. Among the smallest little venues, this is definitely one I would want to frequent more.

14. Fitzgerald Theater This is definitely the best larger theatre in the Twin Cities. A classic old theater, with great acoustics. For a little while I was seeing shows there regularly (Jean Luc-Ponty, Ian Anderson), and was able to meet them after shows in fact. But in the last 6 or 7 years, they haven't been getting the acts I enjoy. Prices are usually more spendy too (Pat Metheny, $75 I recall back in 2002). And of course the most noteworthy thing personally was in 2004 when the somewhat renowned Genesis concert recreation act The Musical Box were confirmed to play there, and I busted my ass to try and promote it, but ultimately, Sue McLean had to pull the plug due to the band needing to sell like 2/3 or more of the seats to break even for the travel costs (they traveled with Genesis original SLIDES and SETS among other things).
Would have The Musical Box show gone through at another venue? unlikely, but I never knew all the logistics.

Had Minnesota Wild Goalie and hardcore Genesis fan Dwayne Rolloson been able to help, or by some freak circumstance, getting ahold of all the people who went to Peter Gabriel in 2002 at Target Center, might  have allowed enough ticket sales for Sue not to pull the plug, but that's again pure speculation and far in the past sadly. It probably would have been the most memorable show at The Fitz for me, but so be it.

15. Orchestra Hall I like this place, and often find ways to see shows for affordable rates.Being downtown Minneapolis and the way they kind of push their events at you are the main negatives about it. For a large classical or string/chamber based concert, I'm not sure there is a better spot. The Ordway maybe, but this place always seems more grand and epic. The Pat Metheny show I saw in 2005 and Cloud Cult in 2011 are among the best things I've seen there.

16. Orpheum Among the 3 theatres in the Hennepin trio, this is the best. The sound is best, the security often seems less forward (save for Jethro Tull in 2011). I guess it still has some issues that all 3 of them do, like jacked up ticket prices and merch, but I have always felt it less so here compared to the State Theatre.

17. First Ave As much as the hipsters run this place, I have grown to accept the Main Room for the most part. But, it would probably be higher if the negatives didn't stick out so much. The lack of soundproofing walls/booking music-based events simultaneously that create distractions from other rooms. I.e. The Record Room, and both Main Room-to-Entry and Entry-to-Main Room. The location being so close to Twins games(for parking, downtown crowd size), and late shows. At the Bloc Party show in 2009, they had a DJ spin music for 2 hours after opening the doors (instead of a later door time, or an opening act instead). It was A HUGE waste of time.

That all being said, the fact is, they do get acts I enjoy, and want to support/see live. And the Sight Lines and sound are preferable to many. If they relocated, changed management, stopped booking/promoting genres based on what Pitchfork spits out to them, I would actually be proud of this place. But that unlikely will never happen. In the mid 2000's I recall them being out of commission, and I was honestly happy to see that. Now, I'm sort of on the fence, but to say I'd rather see bands play other venues is accurate. Although if they actually booked some bands (to headline) like The Dear Hunter, Fair to Midland, Porcupine Tree, dredg or Marillion, my feelings about it might change.

18. Kitty Kat Club I like the location for the most part, and the intimacy. Is it a hipster spot? maybe a little bit, but the U of M crowd is less 89.3/Pfork and more just funny/peculiar people-watching college crowd. This is almost Dinkytown's answer to the Turf Club in a way. It's a good place to unwind and escape. And the live music and staff are usually very low key. I honestly wish I could see more local artists play there. They even have a Soul Night with a DJ that plays some really cool, obscure songs I should really research and seek out.

19. Ordway I've only seen a few shows there, most notably Yo Yo Ma a number of years back, and it was great. I guess the biggest issue it has is, it's not maybe primarily used to for music (more plays?), and the cost of tickets. But I plan to see Poncho Sanchez there this Friday evening, so my feelings about it may change.

20. Northrup Auditorium I like how large this place is, but the area at the U of M makes it a journey to walk to at times. They also are spotty in the shows they book. But when some  tours are looking to come to Minnesota, I'd rather they get the show, compared to some of the other theaters here.. I saw The Moody Blues and Steely Dan there within the last 8 years, 2 decent shows, although that's kind of all they were, decent. But given the choice between this and say a smaller arena like Roy Wilkins, I'd go with Northrup. Even just based on weather and drive, I'd take this spot over the Minnesota Zoo.

21. Music Box Theatre/Loring Theater I only caught 1 show at this place back in 2009 on Halloween I recall, We Valedictorians (Jordan Gatesmith of Howler/Total Babe's 1st band), and it was really nice. It is a theater, so it wasn't a typical rock music venue. But the size was nice, not small but not too big. I guess given it is not up and running currently, it was almost a "what could have been." The Ritz and Woman's Club theaters are similar (along with many locations at college auditoriums like at Hamline University, and others such as Ted Mann concert hall).

I suppose given it's location and lack of affiliation with a school. it had more opportunity to gain a following/momentum, but it didn't seem to be in the cards. It might have been cost, with liquor licenses and such. Star Central I think found itself in a similar financial bind after less than a year of booking national touring acts. Although perhaps this place would only have held locals anyway, but who knows if that made any difference.The Heliotrope festival was even held there its last year.

The building may be in limbo right now, but if it ever comes back, I would still regard it as one of the better venues in Minnesota.

22. Club Underground I only caught 1 concert at this place a few years ago. It's a club in Northeast Minneapolis, that I figured would suck, but in fact it was really pretty nice. Bands play downstairs, they have tables and chairs. It's pretty laid back. Parking isn't an issue. And the sound is okay. I suppose like Kitty Kat, I just wish more bands would play there, so I could go back. But beyond The Ritz, it's the 2nd best venue in Northeast for music.

23. Patrick's Cabaret This space in the East Lake St area is actually really nice. I only went there once, in 2011. It almost reminds me of a Cedar Cultural Center or Celtic Junction with bleachers? Sound wise it's good, parking is not great, but I suppose acceptable. The area is maybe the biggest issue I have with it as I don't love that area too much. That and the fact they don't typically book artists I know. I wonder if Dean Magraw has ever played there. Perhaps, and I didn't know about it.

24. Pantages Theater Given the issues I have with the State Theatre, this by default I enjoy more. I only caught 1 show there I recall, Polyphonic Spree in 2007, but it was rather memorable. Size-wise, it's smaller than the other 2 Hennepin Theatres, which in some ways is a good thing. I just wonder if the cost to book acts there is a lot higher than comprable size venues like First Ave, Varsity, etc. I guess depending on the kind of music, I'm not sure why an artist would go here instead. But I suppose if they want a smaller theatre show, this is the one. But being in downtown Mpls, ticket prices, and the alternatives, it is a 2nd or 3rd choice. But that being said, I would go for seeing more shows there. I wonder if Hennepin Theatres end up sticking many of their non-music stuff like plays, stand up comedy there instead just based on demand/draw.

25. The Guthrie Theater A nice place, despite the new location. But it's isolated, and thus many people don't hear about shows there. The Jon Anderson concert in 2009? that happened there didn't sell incredibly well. But the show itself was good enough. The sound, seating, etc, were nothing to have issue with. I guess booking more concerts, prices, and not comparing as well with some others are the reasons this place is lower. Also the fact like Ordway and some others, I don't get the sense it's primary events are music, but plays and other things instead.

26. Highland Library I've seen Greg Herriges and his ensemble here a couple of times, and always enjoyed it. The acoustics are nice for Greg's style of ethnic/folky prog. I like the fact it's in Highland Park, the shows don't go late, it usually is free, and it's quite welcoming. Parking is easy as well, plus it's right down the street from Half Price Books and not far from where my girlfriend is attending grad school at St. Kate's. The only issue I suppose with it is how infrequent I have gone there, but in some ways it's nice given how intermittent that makes shows.

27. The Beat Coffee House I have been to this place maybe 3 or 4 times, and really can't say I've ever had any bad experiences there. It is 1 of those cafe's I suppose, like a Dunn Brothers or Gingko's, but I guess I have enjoyed shows there a little more. Maybe due to the seating. It's intimate, but not exactly a shack. I'd say it's as if not more comfortable than most other venues of its type. And props for booking Timbre earlier this year at the 11th hour. Location wise, it is in the Uptown area, not far from Cheapo, but at least when I have gone there, the shows have been over relatively early. Maybe in some ways, it's Minneapolis version of Sin-E?

28. Fine Line This used to be somewhat of a staple venue, especially back when I loathed going to 1st Ave, it was the best alternative. Granted, I've never been crazy about it's location in the Warehouse District, but I suppose back about 10 years ago, the WH district was a bit less shady than it has become. And I had a better system to park (along Marquette Ave near the Library was my goal). I suppose had I made a list like this 10 years ago or less, this place would have made the top 10 for sure. But the issues it has now, maybe 1st and foremost due to not booking shows I want to see anymore, have caused it to drop.

I did see some of my favorite shows there, from Porcupine Tree/Opeth to Mutemath to Ours twice, including joining them onstage to play drums once (maybe the greatest moment of my concert going life). And the staff usually is pretty cool, including a few times I came in late within a gig, and I ended up getting in free. They also do have seating upstairs at least, although those often disappear fast.

I guess given its present state, and the fact it is downtown Mpls and where it is down there, not far from the shady crowd near Tropix and Sexworld, it is this low. But historically, this place definitely is a spot I have a lot of fond memories of. But then again, the same can be said about places like The Entry or the 400 Bar; i.e. not necessarily at the top of my venue choices still.But not at the bottom either.

29. XCel Energy Center Without question the best Arena venue in Minnesota. The gap between it and Target Center is like Night and Day still. The acoustics, visuals, and even the fact it's in St.Paul scores in its favor. But, of late it seems more shows are ending up at Target Center instead. Likely due to the promoters are forking over more dough. And the fact is, like most Arena and Theater shows., the prices are through the roof. Now, I'll fully admit to having some luck finding people with extra tickets on the street down there. But at the same time, I've enjoyed hearing shows in the background in the corridors while killing time.

So, with those factors, this place is desirable for it's size (and also light years better than the Roy Wilkins auditorium within the same building), but within the budgetary concerns, and lack of reliable bookings, I can't say I wish to have bands play there every time out. But more or less on every level, it's an upgrade from it's Minneapolis counterpart in Target Center. Even just with parking, given in St.Paul, meters aren't enforced after 4:30 (on most streets, as of 2012 at least). I do wonder like most St.Paul venues, what impact the Light Rail coming in 2014 will have. Hopefully nothing major.

30. Hosmer Library This is a bit like The Highland Library in that I've seen Greg Herriges there a few times, and it works pretty well. It's not as large a room where they perform as Highland, but for that reason, it's a little more intimate (if that's possible). I guess other IMSOM (Indian Music Society of Minnesota) shows end up there at times? So perhaps at least in terms of frequency, they have more concert events than Highland. But on the flip size, being in South Minneapolis, while not undesirable, is not as desirable an area compared to Highland. But at the same time, I prefer it's area over other parts of town  (North Minneapolis for example, or even East Lake St near Patrick's Cabaret). Given it is a library, I'm not putting it higher, but for what it is for live music, it is 1 of the better options in Minnesota.

31. The Minnesota Zoo When the weather is nice, and they book shows I want to see, this is an enjoyable location. However, I don't live in Eagan anymore, thus it's a little more of a commute than I'd prefer. The tickets are often rather high as well. It is seasonal of course which limits it's quantity and time-of-year, for shows every year. And the fact it is outside, at least for the shows I saw, the smokers presence was at times unavoidable to notice. Also the fact the seating is sardine-can-like makes some of the concerts less comfortable than I would prefer.

As far as outdoor venues, there aren't many better, it's just the different issues that factor in to shows there force it to be a bit lower comparably. But I'd be lying if I didn't include the fact I wish more acts would get booked there. Porcupine Tree of course for there name would be nice. But the fact the shows don't go too late and it's not in either downtown is in its favor. Back in my Eagan days, it was about as perfect a location, but I'm not residing there anymore. Myth I suppose is the current equivalent, although the negative factors at Myth outweigh the Zoo's by a little.

32. Barfly I've ended up seeing a few concerts at this place as a last-minute substitute venue, and the experiences have been mixed. Mute Math, Under the Influence of Giants and Ozric Tentatcles. I all saw there. It's less of a concert hall, but more of a dance club. And the way the security works, it makes me wonder sometimes. The people who run it are rather nonchalant about acoustics, entrance, and other factors. The shows though often go on very late, and it's right off Hennepin Ave in Downtown Minneapolis.

I guess it's not the worst place to see a show, but also a bit unsettling knowing a band I want to see may play there.

33. Bryant Lake Bowl This is in some ways, a hipster venue, for the sake of being hipster. Although, I at times get past that, and have enjoyed seeing shows in their little intimate theater right next to the bowling alleys. The food for the most part is good there, and the shows they have wait staff that'll allow you to buy dinner. In a way, it's almost like a blue collar version of The Dakota in that sense.

The negatives I suppose are its crowd and the area. It frequently gets crowded,so much so, getting a table to eat or bowl can take awhile. And shows usually go late. I have found it to be a spot to go to when time is not a factor and/or I don't necessarily have to wake up for work the next day.

The bowling itself I enjoy more than at a place like Memory Lanes for example. Also the fact retro video game spot "Rusty Quarters" opened up nearby is a plus, save for the fact like Bryant, that place seems to get crowded pretty easily during the evening.

I have seen The Bewitched there and Jenny Dalton from memory, and I think for performances, it works well, even when it's crowded. The walls are more soundproofed than 1st Ave/The Entry from memory. And to see Cabaret or performance art there seems fitting. But I suppose given some of the other factors and how infrequently I've gone there, it ends up more middle of the road. Although there are events there often, I just don't find myself demanding to go to them. If I had more evenings available, I probably would consider going there more. If I lived closer as well, as I once dated someone who was and it seemed rather convenient (almost like it could become addictive).

34. Tarnish & Gold Cool little art gallery in Northeast Minneapolis. A bit like The Baroque Room, but primarily used for showing art. I guess if they had more concerts, or I found reason to go there more often, I'd endorse this place more. I think what they're doing is cool. The sound wasn't amazing though, at least for Metal, the 1 show I saw there.

35. State Theatre Very annoying security, the mix of the sound for nearly every Dream Theater concert I've seen there has been frankly, awful. Heavy Rock and Metal doesn't work at this place, but people probably will never follow that. I suppose I'd rather go there instead of Station 4, but that's not saying a lot. The Merch is usually spendy. Most of show, you get ushers having to walk people down to their seats in the dark.

And even Rock Bottom Brewery has become a huge ripoff ($35 for 2 appetizers and 2 drinks, lol).

The suppose best thing I can say about it is, they do often book good bands including some prog who are big enough. I have met many bands afterwards near where there bus is. And I have found a spot to be able to hear some of the shows outside, which is not a terrible last resort if I don't manage to get a ticket.

36. Memory Lanes I've seen a few shows at this place, along with some Burlesque performances, and have definitely enjoyed those overall. But, they were not without issues at the same time. For one, people end up bowling on the sides while the performance in the middle lanes are taking place. I guess if this place likes to allow people to do that fine, but it ends up distracting those who are interested in the music or performer only. Also the fact the bowling is a bit pricey from what I recall, compared to other bowling alleys. And the seating, while not terrible, seems to be a little bit a race to get spots in the middle. If you don't get there and sit down early enough, you may end up way down the sides. The food is hit and miss, although at least there almost is never a cover charge. But my girlfriend seems to enjoy the food a little more than myself. The shows do happen to go late, which in some ways can get depressing, but I've come to assume that is the case. Things happen late in the Seward area anyway, but also a reason why I try and avoid events down there if possible.

37. Dunn Bros (St.Paul) Probably the best Dunn Brothers, and maybe the 1st? I don't see shows at cafe's too often, but once in a blue moon, they are nice enough. And I've ended up at this location a few times more than some others in recent times. At least it's not typically too crowded and allows for a stop at Cheapo if time works out, namely on a weekend evening.

38. Minnesota State Fair Including the free stages and the Grandstand, the outdoor shows they have are not bad. Although the Grandstand shows have been spendy, Micky Dolenz/Happy Together tour was affordable thankfully. The crowds are a bit repulsive, often chatting during shows, smoking and not typically my demographic.

The Fair itself is at best a-work-in-progress for my girlfriend and I, but live music has helped motivate me to go back there. I just find going to the fair and seeing a concert is a bit draining.

Not to forget tickets for concerts there, do not include tickets to actually get in to the Fair.

Not the worse location to see live music, namely outdoors, but The Minnesota Zoo is definitely better for multiple reasons. Maybe 1st and foremost, the lack of a mob that happens at the fair.

38. Gingkos I was ending up at this place a fair amount like 10 years ago. Within the last few years, not so much. There's something rather retro about it, almost like a Cafe version of a Thrift Store (the old board games on the shelves?), although I suppose I could go to a place like the Chatterbox (or Hard Times Cafe, or Bad Waitress) instead. The Black Sea is just down the block, which I could go to for dinner once a week or more. But given how infrequently I've gone to this place in recent years, it doesn't find its way higher on this list. I heard Dean Magraw did a show a few months ago where they charged pretty high rates for tickets. I'm not sure if that would have happened 10 years ago.

Not a terrible spot for a coffee house show, but not the most desirable in general.

39. Minnesota Music Cafe I only have been to this place once, and it was rather loud. Kind of a blues-bar venue. I get the sense they only book certain local acts that have a draw, and get regulars every week. Almost like The Cabooze of St.Paul. If it wasn't for the fact the area is kind of shady, it might not be at The Cabooze's level. But I just haven't ended up there. Dean's name/guitar isn't even on the wall there. The 1 show I saw was okay, so for that reason, the jury is a little bit out. But it's kind of an afterthought for me still.

40. Roy Wilkins Auditorium I saw The Mars Volta there and the acoustics were plain awful. It is like a Gym. Actually, I'm not sure why this is as high as it is actually. This is 1 of the worst venues to see music, at least when I last went back in 2005?. It's almost the polar opposite of the X.

41. Myth Corporate. The fact they are in Maplewood and book some classic rock bands is about the only good thing about this place. They had Between the Buried and Me selling short sleave t-shirts for $50, lol. 50 fucking dollars. Also the last time I was there, the security made me check my sharpies (and some other things in my pockets).

The Marilyn Manson show with Ours wasn't incredibly memorable. Progressive Nation in 2008 wasn't bad, but that may be 1 of the only shows I saw there I really loved. They don't have much if any seating. Only on the sides. If you lean against the rails, the security may tell you, you can't.


42. 400 Bar This place gets bands I like, and tickets are usually not spendy. However, they have serious issues with heat or lack of Air Conditioning, that they have to rank this low. I guess other than that big factor, I haven't had many, if any, negative experiences there. I just can't say I would prefer going there compared to a number of other clubs of its kind. Although I'd probably still take it over The Entry for what that's worth.

Sauna's lose for me. But if they, like Station 4, could ever get their AC working/have AC, my feelings about it probably would go up. The people who work there seem cool for the most part. The recent redesign with the wall from the stage area, I'm not sure how much  has actually helped. The sound is hit and miss. The last Ours show was there; I wasn't thrilled with the sound, but I've seen many other shows where the sound seemed pretty good.

I guess it is a place with some history, and such as a place like The Uptown Bar, it would be sad to see it go, but at the same time, the West Bank, especially on weekend evenings, is an area I try and avoid.So, its location is another reason  why I'm not as high on it. But beggars can't be choosers, and if bands like Judgement Day, Annuals and Ours end up there, I'm not going to skip it unless there's a better alternative despite its issues.

43. 7th Street Entry The shows frequently have to have 4 or 5 bands, and go late. It's hot at times in there.It feels like a shack. I will not deny though, School of Seven Bells in 2009 was an amazing show, and I have seen some others like Ramona Falls, St. Vincent, Black Mountain, 3,  Unexpect (even as awkward as a Metal show is at any First Ave venue).

But the lack of sound proofed walls., limited seating, has made this place almost boycott-able for me. I mean yeah, I did see some great shows there, but the cons outweigh the pros so much and in a handful of ways, I just loathe going down there at times. Like the Main Room, if it were moved to different area and some other things changed i.e. it were more like The Turf Club, I'd have much more positive feelings about this place.

That being said, if a band I totally love like Ours, Foals or Oceansize, etc were there, I'd go of course. But if there's a conflict or I'm on the fence about the act in some way, the fact it's there certainly factors in to my decision (Biffy Clyro a few years ago is 1 example).

44. The Rock Night Club This is included only by default as they are now officially not a national touring act venue. In fact the name is different now I think. Which overall I'm not happy about given they did book some bands I liked such as Fair to Midland, Karniivool and King's X. And they were an alternative to Station 4, for Metal. And the fact it is located in Maplewood I can't deny helps.

But on the flip-side, shows would always go late there, the Maplewood cops have quotas to fill, and that area seems to be filled with them. The sound is/was spotty at best. The patio area was always filled with smokers, which isn't unusual, but I often went out there to chat with friends, even bands, and that at times made me want to go back in.

I dunno, this place for what it is was, the issues weren't so bad, but I guess I never loved this place for live music.But given Station 4 being the only place for Metal now, I do kind of miss it and wish it was still around.

45. Target Center Blech. I've seen Rush a few times there (4 I recall), Kansas, Sting, Queensryche, Yes/Dream Theater. It is the typical Arena venue, with some seating not lending to be all that great for music, and acoustics that are extremely hollow. The most recent Rush show I reviewed last month re-emphasized its issues, now with whoever was mixing that show having the bass vastly higher than everything else. Thus, the string section was not audible.

Tickets are of course corporate level, and merch as well.

I honestly can't say much else good about it, other than I have had luck finding my way into shows at affordable rates thankfully. And I suppose seeing a show there is better than at some of the other places below it on this list, but I'm not sure what that's worth or if it makes sense.

If dredg (or even like Local Natives) ever got Arena-worthy (which I'd be shocked if they did), I sincerely hope they never end up playing here. The X is so much better in every way. Why Muse doesn't end up there instead is baffling.

46. The Hexagon Bar/The Blue Nile Both of these venues I only went to once I recall, and found them pretty forgettable. The Seward area is a pretty forgettable area overall for live music. I guess some bands I like have played Hexagon like Brice Plays Drums and Brute Heart, but until I end up there to see them, my feelings are going to remain nondescript. The Blue Nile has some ethnic music I guess, but my feeling is to try and see those kinds of shows at The Cedar or 1 of the libraries if possible instead. At least those performances won't go on until the middle of the night. 

47. Epic (formerly The Quest/Glam Slam) Absolutely awful SITE LINES for live music. The Security there are obsessive as they forced me to check my laptop bag. The Sound wasn't great, but admittedly, when I saw Gotye (pronounced GORE-TI-YEAH by the way) and Kimbra, given the demand for tickets, they did the best they could. But I don't think I desire to ever see a show there anytime soon. It's a DANCE CLUB, even more now more than before the fire. The Ascot Room was the real music venue there, but as far as I know, that place is RIP now.

48. The Dakota 10 years ago when it was in St.Paul, this would have been maybe #2 or #3. The move to downtown Minneapolis has totally ruined this place. When they were in St.Paul at Bandana Square it was intimate, sometimes you could come in just for dinner and the show was free. The French Fries were maybe the best in the state. And the ticket prices were for the most part reasonable. Now? the site lines aren't perfect, the fries to me taste like they were store-bought and thawed-out from being frozen. When you sit down, the wait staff almost presume you're not only there to see live music, but also at least to drink, if not dinner as well, which with entrees, tax & tip, can run easily $50 or more. The ticket prices are definitely higher (honestly A LOT higher. How much was Pat Metheny back in September, $150? lol).

They even seem to have some of their employees suspicious of you not having tickets, as in at the Jon Anderson show a few months ago, I didn't have a ticket but hung around outside as I have done before. A friend of mine had an extra more than half way through the show, and was nice enough to allow me to use it. Within 15 minutes of sitting down, I was approached by 1 of their employees if I had a ticket. I told them I was with the party I was sitting with, as my friend vouched for me. Almost like they were profiling me as someone else.

To add to that, the guy who was so cool in running the Bandana square location, I guess is barely involved (if at all), in many of the operations. And it's pretty obvious when they start booking acts like Keri Noble and non-Jazz artists, it is not exactly the "Jazz Club" it seemed to be. A bit like The Cedar (or movie theaters like Lagoon I suppose in a way), they seem to be doing things different, almost purely to keep their business afloat. Which I suppose I understand in some ways, but ultimately, it still saddens me and gives me a "how the mighty have fallen" impression.

But at least there still is The Artist Quarter among other spots for Jazz in town.

49. Station 4 The 1 Metal venue in Minnesota. Originally it was called The "4th Street Station." And then "The Lab." But the name is secondary to why it places this low.

Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning. They don't have any, and who knows if/when they ever will get some. That and the sound at times is not very good as the vocals can get drowned out easily. It's a bit of a shack at times, both in the bar area and of course the main performance area. The poles, while I understand why they are there, are a little distracting. The stage is compressed.

I suppose I would not be giving them some credit for things like booking a lot of bands I like, which the list is long. dredg, Fates Warning, 3, Behemoth (1 of the best Metal performances I've ever seen), Cynic..to bands like Cavil at Rest, Kaddisfly, The Dear Hunter, and Fair to Midland of course. And it is at least in St.Paul which is preferred.

But I've kind of been Station 4-ed out, so much so, if I'm on the fence about a show, their venue may factor in. If they redesigned the place, like putting the stage somewhere else where the poles didn't factor in in the sight lines, and of course they added AC, I might come back to accepting if not looking forward to going there. But for now, they are not going up too high on my desirable venue list, despite the fact they have become maybe the best, if not only venue, for a lot of my taste. Metal likes prog, of course. If the bands I love are heavy and/or obscure, the odds are they'll end up there, for better or for worse.

But then again, bands like Porcupine Tree and Agalloch also don't end up playing Minnesota anymore. Whether the promoters here suggest Station 4 or not, I find it a little interesting and fortunate in a way they don't. But I wish these bands would come, despite how I feel about our only Metal venue.

Maybe Ground Zero could become the Minneapolis alternative again? I saw King's X there in the late 90's and in some ways, Station 4 carries a similar element.

50. The Cabooze Bluesy Bar Rock venue, where the security kick you out right after a band is done.It's in the Seward area, near the West Bank. There is seating, but it often seems like a fight to acquire. The crowd often ends up with drunk idiots who find reason to bogart more space than they deserve. And the blues rock regulars (both bands, and customers) really don't go all that far for me.

They even loaded a drink far too high of a percentage of vodka for my girlfriend once, so much so, she was in peril if not for the Pizza Luce we got into her system soon after.

The sound isn't incredible either, at times the vocals get drowned out. The sight lines are limited, which may be partially by design as it's a bar and a nightclub.
The parking is often impossible to find, for any popular artist, I always end up near Augsburg or recently , in the lot I go to along Riverside. Which makes for a little bit of a trek.

And the crowd also is a bit like some of First Ave hipsters, in that they won't shut the fuck up be it talking to someone they are with, or on the phone (or texting?).

I guess the positives remain, they do get some bands I like (House of Fools for example and Brice Plays Drums recently), and you can find seating if you're early enough. Plus they're fine with laptops and using their Wifi.

Overall, I don't loathe this place maybe as much as it seems, but I've had a few too many negative experiences there to desire to go back on a regular basis. Kind of the opposite of its sister venue in The Triple Rock.

51. Big V's I only saw 1 show there, Deretla, a few years back, and didn't think much of it. It's kind of a shack, in that there's a little stage within a bar area with pool tables and some other things. In fairness, 1 show is hardly enough to fully compare, but I recall just thinking of not desiring to go back there if possible. Although I don't mind that area overall, given I like The Turf Club as much as I do. I just wonder what the point is to trying to see a show there in such a confined space.

haven't been to (among others):
Amsterdam Bar
Golden's
hell's Kitchen
The Ice House
Metrodome
Mill City Nights (formerly The Brick)
Nomad World Pub
Target Field
TCF Bank Stadium
331 Club
Whiskey Junction
Acadia Cafe (Cedar/Riverside)

Missing, mostly venues of the past:
The Dreamcoat Cafe (RIP)
Star Central
Ground Zero
Medina Ballroom
The Mirage
Sharky's
The Uptown Bar
The 318 (formerly the Bean and Wine Cafe)
J & S Bean Factory aka The Beanery
Coffee Grounds
Dunn Brothers (Apple Valley)
Anodyne Cafe
Famous Dave's (Uptown)
Art and All That Jazz Festival  in Burnsville
Roseville Parks
Washington Square Bar & Grill (White Bear Lake)
Trocaderos
Lexington Parks in St.Paul near Como golf course
Santorini's Tavern (Eden Prairie)
McKrackens (Burnsville)
O'Gara's
Cafe Maude
Rossi's (RIP)
Aster Cafe
The Red Sea
Palmer's
Riverview Cafe
Bunny's
Arcadia Cafe (Nicollet Ave) Mystic Lake Casino
The Lowry Theater (I saw Exit Stage Right, the Rush tribute band there. Really nice place actually

Monday, October 22, 2012

Jeff Buckley Documentary - Everybody Here Wants You (2002)



Wow. I stumbled across this on Youtube earlier, and I must say, this is about as thorough a documentary of Jeff Buckley (including much about Tim) as I've ever seen. What I'm surprised about is never having seen it until now. Although I've seen a number of the clips, there's plenty I never recall seeing, namely the early footage.

But it does tell his story pretty thoroughly, save for the fact the details of how he ended up going to the Wolf River in Memphis in the 1st place; him and Foti were trying to find the studio where they were going to record at and couldn't find it. But Jeff grew frustrated and decided it would be better to go swimming instead of spending all night driving around. Thus they ended up at the Wolf River, etc.

They should officially release it. I'm sure his Mother would want to, anyway.

Of course, a few things pop into my head in seeing it.

1) This is really what people should see instead of



for one thing, Mark Rendall was the best actor in Hollywood to cast. Not only does he look a ton like Jeff, but he's a musician as well. But also in seeing that, it really fits the title Greetings From Tim Buckley and it appears to only be about Jeff doing this tribute show and his father Tim's limited time with Jeff. Because the David Browne book has WAY too much about Jeff's upbringing and his life after that show. Almost to the point, I wonder if this movie actually used much if any basis from Dream Brother at all.









Although I suppose Penn Badgley was a better choice than Robert Pattinson, but so be it.

But the other obvious thing about Everybody Here Wants You I can't help but think of is the obvious Kevin Gilbert parallel, and the desire to have his story out there in a documentary or movie of some kind. Hell I'd even go for just a published Biography that goes beyond the stuff written online. But as I have thought the last few years, it may be a life's goal if nobody ever else tries to make one, to make a Kevin Gilbert documentary. And the way this Jeff Buckley one was made 10 years ago, would be a good source. The problem being, with Jeff there was a lot more video footage and television exposure, but with Kevin, there wasn't all that much that I've seen. The best bet may be home videos shot by friends and his family, but getting access to that may be many jobs-and-a-half themselves.

2013 Releases (just a list, no blurbs yet)

This is just a list, that hasn't even been published yet on my rateyourmusic page yet. There's definitely a number of names that are missing and carrying over from 2012 that haven't been added. But My thinking is to get a reasonable idea about 2013 by the 1st week of November.

But for now, this is where that anticipation list is.

 
1

Annuals

Born Raised (2012)


2
Opposites

Biffy Clyro

Opposites (2012)

apparently now pushed back until early 2013.


3
Act II: The Meaning of, and All Things Regarding Ms. LeadingThe Dear Hunter

4
Building an EmpireDemians

5

Evarusnik

May


6

Everything Everything

Arc (2013)

1/14/13


7

Foals

Holy Fire


8
For the ImperiumFor the Imperium

9
Terror and Everything AfterHotel of the Laughing Tree

10
MantraIn Vain

11

Local Natives

Hummingbird (2013)

1/29


12
And the Glass Handed KitesMew

13
The ArchAndroidJanelle MonĂ¡e

14
Distorted LullabiesOurs

pledgemusic campaign is at 91% funded with 20 days left.


15

Pain of Salvation

Clean (2012)


16
Suspended AnimationJohn Petrucci

17
The Beginning Stages Of...The Polyphonic Spree

Kickstarter
They need 100K within the next 44 days (on 10/14/12). New live album and doc coming as well as their next studio record in May 2013, all with a Successful 100K from Kickstarter backers.


18

Portnoy + Kotzen + Sheehan

19

Radical Face

The Family Tree: The Branches (2012)


20

The Reign of Kindo

Play With Fire (2013)


21
Grandine il Vento

Renaissance

Grandine il Vento (2012)


22
Hey! SelimRevere

pledgemusic campaign is now a Success!


23
Little FlowersTimbre

It may come in 2013, or maybe later. But she told me at a concert 10/6/12 that she has enough material for a double album.


24
Flux22

25
Originator

Brooke Waggoner

Originator (2013)

early 2013.

Thursday, October 18, 2012

2012 Citypages "Picked to Click" (HAS PROG!!!!)

http://www.citypages.com/2012-10-17/music/picked-to-click-2012/

The winners of the 22nd Picked to Click poll:

1. The Chalice 83 points
2. Pony Trash 78 points
3. John Mark Nelson 71 points
3. Wiping Out Thousands 71 points
5. Heavy Deeds 63 points
6. Actual Wolf 58 points
7. Strange Names 39 points
8. Observer Drift 36 points
9. Prissy Clerks 34 points
10. Audio Perm 32 points

Hey Shittypages, thanks for getting in touch with me again to vote for this poll.

While I don't know any of these bands well, on the surface, I could name at least a few bands who deserve to at least get votes/points if not usurp some of these names. The only noteworthy name on there is Prissy Clerks, and not so much due to my interest in their music, but ex-Total Babe frontwoman Clara Sayler is a founder of that band. And I'm happy to see her at least get some recognition.

But the likes of Brice Plays Drums, The Royal Veil, Mike Linden, There Are No Words, The Bewitched, The Book of Right On, Media Addicts, Lehto & Wright, The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra,  etc ..I wasn't even able to vote. After I wasn't able to  last year as well, I EMAILED Citypages about doing it, and got NOTHING.

I mean maybe every August/September I need to frequent their website looking for Voting Forms? or maybe CALL them, because emailing them sure doesn't seem to work too well.

Hipsters, Blech.

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

The River Empires - Cellar Door (Series)

10/17/12 8:19PM


​CELLAR DOOR

Five teenagers discover mysterious glowing orbs that hold a great power. They soon run into a group of others who possess the same type of orbs, joining them in constructing a spaceship to leave the earth and search for answers.  




Cellar Door is a television series with a finished pilot episode script and a treatment of the entire first season (7 episodes). For my protection of the story and idea, I didn't want to post the pilot episode or the treatment online. The trailer above is designed to represent the pilot episode and overall concept of the series. If there is any interest in either the treatment or the pilot episode script in PDF, please contact me personally through the email on the site. Thanks!  ​

I've said it a number of times, but I just wish I could help get this off the ground somehow, but having a cousin whose a wardrobe buyer in Hollywood doesn't exactly give me one of those *connections*. It might even be worth just posting something to Kevin Pollak on Twitter, except both him and his sig other/producer Jaime Fox probably don't even remember me. :-\.

I mean take Coheed and Cambria or The Dear Hunter. Neither of those have been made into a series/movie. Coheed has the graphic novel, but given how much bigger both of them are to TRE's, this may all be just false hope.

But Jessy has to try of course. And Mars/Brighton II hopefully is coming soon regardless. It sounds like the 2 mediums (Albums and TV Series) are moving further apart, than originally Jessy intended. No biggie, but it's interesting to notice.

12/22/11 4:28AM
See this post on Facebook with Video Trailer

I am going to presume this is for a series, my guess would be a Web-based Series, just based on budget and interest levels. I'd love to be wrong and have this air even on some smaller Cable network like A&E or something, but I'm not expecting it.

But clearly, there's something soon to be announced, and how and whatever the format it is, it's titled "Cellar Door" from seeing that trailer. Hopefully there'll be more to know and add soon, like sometime early in 2012.



Also check out the new piece at jessy's blog

In order to help myself finish the end of my series pilot script, I wrote this piece. Right when it climaxes is when the last scene takes place, then credits will roll — in my mind.

And I did stumble upon this video a bit agoo on Vimeo, of Jessy in a studio last year sometime.

Kimbra (w/ The Stepkids) in Minneapolis @ The Varsity Theatre 10/16/12


Setlist

Limbo
Posse
Good Intent
Plain Gold Ring
Two Way Street
Marigold
Old Flame
Settle Down
Warrior
Something In the Way You Are
Cameo Lover
Come Into My Head

Encore
Withdraw
Call Me

Well, this is just a portion of a review, if I manage to add more tomorrow to this. But, great show overall. "Withdraw" was definitely the surprise, as I hadn't checked any other setlists before the show tonight.

Like the show I saw when she opened for Gotye last April, she has a very tight band. And the sound at The Varsity Theatre was better than that show at Epic certainly. However, it's odd how her sound and band have many styles or approaches live. At times her band comes across as heavy and VERY LAYERED. Her studio music can too, but especially the 2011 Vows, I never had issue with it. At times the heavy synths almost overpowered some of the wonderful subtleties in her music.

But for the most part, her performance, the setlist, the venue, sitting upstairs at The Varsity Theatre for the first time, etc really couldn't have been any better.

And of course Kimbra's arrangements and interpretations of these songs are very *live*. Why I think she gets how to give music both a new spin live, as well as the desired ENERGY live.

The Stepkids opened, and were probably even better than the 1st time I saw them open for Mayer Hawthorne back in May at First Ave.

more to add...(crowd, media coverage, and other opinions)

Monday, October 15, 2012

The Reign of Kindo - Manwood / Basement [Live, Rio De Janeiro Brazil]



Damn, this new song is awesome. It starts out kind of slow, but starts to get really good about 3 minutes-in.

Of course they can tour for the 2nd time in 2 years in Brazil, but the Upper Midwest of the United States? of course not. Perhaps with a little more push for their next record, they could get a gig @ The Cedar Cultural Center (or somewhere else in Minnesota).

The new album? I'm assuming it's not coming until early 2013 given lack of info the last few months. They have set up a new website at least at http://thereignofkindo.com, which is something I guess.

I suppose given some of the music they've mentioned like Between the Buried and Me and playing with Pain of Salvation, I wonder if their next record may have a bit of a Metal element to it.

Sunday, October 14, 2012

The Polyphonic Spree: Kickstarter

Kickstarter Link



Pretty large sum there, but given the number of things they are looking to help *kickstart* (Live CD, Documentary DVD, new studio record), and the number of people involved with the 'Spree, 100K may not seem so outrageously high.

Plus it's not like they're a completely obscure band (despite their hiatus of sorts from '2008-2010). I still say, all the lemmings who kiss the ass of Arcade Fire should appreciate these guys a ton more. But whatevah.

They're at 30K with 44 days left. With others I have been skeptical, but after seeing most of those succeed, I'd be a bit surprised if this one did not succeed as well.

Friday, October 12, 2012

Dear 89.3, Radio K and others..

I am a volunteer at KFAI, I know about pledge drives. But I guess I can't help but still raise the question when hearing your drives on the air.

How often do they play my favorite musician of all-time, Kevin Gilbert?
How often do they play my favorite band of all-time Marillion?
How often do they play one of my favorite bands of the last 5 years, The Dear Hunter?

The same might be asked of Citypages, The Electric Fetus, both the Star Tribune and Pioneer Press music sections, even Vita.mn to a lesser degree. Did Citypages include much about the upcoming Kimbra headlining show that is SOLD OUT at The Varsity Theater? no, not really. They found Mike Snow to be more significant of a concert to feature next Tuesday. Why? I'm not sure, but perhaps because he's playing at First Ave?

Monday, October 8, 2012

Fair to Midland - Live at Andy's Bar [DVD/CD] (2012)




1. Amarillo Sleeps on my Pillow 
2. Well, Well, Well (Cover) 
3. A Loophole in Limbo 
4. John Wayne Gacy, Jr. (Cover) 
5. Dance of the Manatee 
6. The Wife, and the Kids, and the White Picket Fence 
7. Hope There's Someone (Cover) 
8. Musical Chairs 
9. Golden Parachutes

Live @ Andy's Bar. Acoustic album recorded March 31st, 2012. This DVD/Audio Recording will include the Violitionist sessions and many other behind the scenes features.

http://www.fairtomidland.com/merch/

Damn, I'm curious about some of these covers, namely "John Wayne Gacy Jr" which I suspect is a cover of the Sufjan Stevens tune.


Sunday, October 7, 2012

Pepe Deluxe - Captain Carter's Fathomas (video)



This is a video made for this track off Pepe Deluxe's previous record Spare Time Machine. It wasn't made by the band (though just shared on Facebook by them), but the animation is nice and the interpretation of the song is pretty sweet. It's like a short film.

I have gone to enjoy both Spare Time Machine and Beatitude a fair amount, although not as much as Queen of the Wave.

The band mentioned how this has it's Italian prog infliuences, which I hear. They also said Queen of the Wave has been called "Prog," (by me among others), but really isn't other than "Grave Prophecy."

That I don't entirely agree with, as I regard "Prog" as being many approaches to music and album composition. But I imagine the band don't look at "Prog" exactly that vaguely.

Saturday, October 6, 2012

Vuvuzela - The Hollow Choir (Early Review)

10/6/12

1 Our Ghosts 4:31
2 Star Shoes 2:50
3 Sylvia 2:54
4 Rings and Things 2:53
5 The New 4:30
6 Distracted Eyes 2:33
7 Like A Lion 3:10
8 The Hollow Choir 3:39


Release date is October 23rd on Motor Oat Records

"Using a clever story Waltz/Prog band Vuvuzela announce the date for their upcoming release."


1 Our Ghosts 4:31. There's a Gradual building Harp and piano interplay that sets the tone for the album."This House Holds Our Ghosts" "Memories from out (past?).."
One thing that sticks out is there are a lot of very Clean Cymbals in this song, that are High in the Mix.
2 Star Shoes 2:50. The Opening piano sounds like The Dear Hunter track "Lillian" from the Violet EP off The Color Spectrum..Tempo/Time Change "The Stars in My Eyes..They know nothing"..Quiet then Heavy/Slammed Piano.
3 Sylvia 2:54..This one starts off dreamy, almost like Mew, with a sad, dark, beautiful, romantic theme in the melody. Which may be about a relationship that went bad. This piece crescendos to an odd rhythm where the piano gets slammed.
4 Rings and Things 2:53.."Repetition is Blameless". Waltzy/Cicusy Piano and Bass leads to a Wall of vocal layers and a bombastic interplay Between the drums, piano and harp.
5 The New 4:30. The Intro is rather dreamy, with some subtle piano. There are tempo changes back and forth between slow and fast.."turns dirt to sand" the outro is gorgeous with the piano and synths layers and vocals. This is one of Josh Benash's best vocal lines ever. One line sounds like: "I don't care about the [ones?]..all I wanted. my one ..?"
6 Distracted Eyes 2:33..This piece feels almost like a segue song, but it is big and dreamy.
7 Like A Lion 3:10 This starts out dark with Screamy Vocals, then there's a Tempo change, the vocals are clean. Which is kind of Jekyl-and-Hyde thing in that sense. I love the way the bridge has a Circus-y/bombastic/dramatic twist to it.
8 The Hollow Choir 3:39 There's a lovely slow Intro with Harp and Piano.
"We are born beneath the waves"
"We Don't need Anyone or Anything"
(female harmony vocals)
"Don't Speak of that please. Don't Speak"
"Son of man says he's gone. Says he's saved"
The gradual crescendo on this song is tremendous, which then leads to a quiet Harp Outro.

This record has highly impressed me. It has a lot of what I love about Kiss Kiss, while still being different. The dynamics and less-is-more approach to songwriting. Kiss Kiss made a debut record that was 32 minutes long, this album is pretty close in length to that. It also *feels* longer than what it clocks in at.

Every track works in different ways, from gorgeous Harp layers, to infectious piano melodies, I really am getting a similar feeling when I first discovered my love for Kiss Kiss 6 years ago.

Many of the songs have those sad parts that strike a strong amount of emotion. While Vuvuzela's sound is for the most part acoustic, it has enough textures and instrumentation going on, it doesn't sound so stripped down.

I guess specifics after playing it only a couple of times, "Sylvia," "Rings and Things," "The New," "Star Shoes," and "The Hollow Choir" have my attention the most. But I'd say other than the screaming in "Like a Lion" every part of this record seems to fit.

4.5 stars and on par with both of the Kiss Kiss records.

http://www.wearevuvuzela.com

Friday, October 5, 2012

Rush and Deep Purple on Rock and Roll Hall of Fame BALLOT

FOR WHAT IT'S WORTH (WHICH MAY NOT BE A WHOLE LOT):

1 story

Go Here to VOTE

from Rush's Facebook

"We are honored to be among the nominees for this year's Rock 'N Roll Hall of Fame. We are especially thrilled for the many, many dedicated RUSH fans to whom this nomination is so very important." – Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson, Neil Peart




Go here at 3:11 of the video above.

Not a ton to say other than the fact the stories about how Rush (and others) are not in, or should have been in eons ago, should be funny to read leading up to knowing the results. I suppose even if they don't get in this year, they may get nominated again due to the fact they are finally nominated this year.

The whole opening up the Flood Gates for progressive rock bands to finally get in (as I posted here December of 2009) when thinking about when Genesis finally got in a few years ago, still may be far-fetched. But if Rush and Deep Purple do get in, Jethro Tull, Yes, ELP and even King Crimson may find their way on to the ballot soon after. The members of those groups being alive to attend if they got in may be an entirely different story (see Jon Lord).

I might vote for both Public Enemy and NWA, but I suppose by voting for them, it is like a vote against Purple and Rush.

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Amanda Palmer & the Grand Theft Orchestra @ First Ave 10/3/12


This is another one of those reviews, that should have been posted just after the concert ended, but I only got about 4 hours of sleep last night as I didn't get home until 1:30AM. I may never learn the lesson, but weeknight concerts that are 18+ or 21+ unless a nap or in-late-to-work-request is made prior, really are not a desirable circumstance.

But, as far as reviewing this somewhat largely anticipated concert.

An Estimation of the Set List 

(I believe there was at least 1 Dresden Dolls or another cover in here that I am not remembering right now, but if I find a set list I'll edit it in).


-Meow Meow Introduces The Grand Theft Orchestra  
-Smile (Pictures or It Didn't Happen)
-The Killing Type
-Want It Back
-Grown Man Cry
-Astronaut
-Trout Heart Replica
-A Grand Theft Intermission
-Lost
-Bottomfeeder (Amanda goes crowd surfing with a 20x20 Sheet?)
-The Bed Song?..(sometime around this time Amanda read off the depressing messages put in the Box that were then sampled and music played over)
-Berlin
-Careless Whisper including jam (Wham..also George Michael)
-Olly Olly Oxen Free

Encore

-Do It with a Rockstar
-Leeds United





First let me point out, I just scanned a review here from Citypages.com and they referred to the Wham/George Michael tune as "Never Want to Dance Again." While that is a line in the chorus, the song is called "Careless Whisper" and not "Never Want to Dance Again." I myself didn't even know that, but at least would be responsible enough to mention that, or more likely just do a web search.

Is it really so hard to do? That is now the 2ND time in the last 6 months a reviewer on their blog had to be corrected about a fact (the Mayer Hawthorne guitarist's name back in May). Which brings me to ask the question, how do people like that get to positions where they can review (and maybe even be paid?..likely at least free tickets and perhaps backstage passes), and someone like myself receives very little to no recognition? I emailed Citypages more than once about writing for them, but obviously this blog does nothing for them. Blech.

This show was pretty LOUD and crazy at times. Amanda's TGTO or 3-piece backing band was rather tight. Although I suspect it was the people who did the mix last night who are responsible for the drums and guitar being at times too high to hear Amanda sing. At the same time, her vocals had a fair amount of reverb and distorted tone to them anyway, so that could have just been her too.

The extra chamber musicians from both local, and from some of the opening acts like Ronald Reagan, did add a lot to hearing many of these tunes live. Although at times the mix issues made them a bit difficult to hear clearly. As well, Amanda didn't have them on stage for every tune, namely a song like "Astronaut" if I recall, wondering why the string section was not included, given there are string parts in the song anyway..

Around the 4th or 5th song of Amanda's set, I want to say soon after "Want it Back," this act (DJ?) named Konkrete Jungle started spinning some heavy-bass based music in First Ave's "The Record Room," which especially given I was sitting on the Upper Level about 200 Feet in front of the Door, it became disgustingly apparent how distracting their music would become.

People kept going in and out of The Record Room to use the Restroom or for other reasons, and the bass especially was vibrating louder than Amanda's bass guitarist.

And by no coincidence it seems, this was the 2nd straight concert where Amanda played in the Main Room and another musical act in 1 of First Ave's bordering-walls was going on at the same time, and impossible to ignore.

As I recall thinking and probably writing back in 2008, when some hip-hop group could be heard in The Entry when she was playing, especially the quieter parts and just talking to the crowd; First Ave apparently does not SOUND PROOF their walls. Why this is? maybe cost or just lack of complaints?

It's shit like that, among a few other factors like the Hipster environment, failure to book certain bands, and booking Metal and cross promoting Hipfork Media music to the Metal crowd; that prevent that place from even coming close to living up to the reputation it receives. I have come around a bit with it, but last night's distraction from Konkrete Jungle (who may be great at what they do, but that doesn't matter when they end up hijacking my and I'm sure many others concert experience to a point) , in The Record Room just soured my feeling somewhat about First Ave again.

I suppose the key is to look at both The Record Room and The Entry's schedule and consider skipping a show if there's a chance another act may perform simultaneously. Especially if it's a show that I'm on the fence about anyway, on a weekend evening, there's another event to see instead, or just the price of tickets (or going down to find someone selling an extra).

Amanda herself even mentioned it on stage, if there were more time, a large group of fans with her should consider storming in there to try and get the attention of the group performing about how distracting their music is for her, while she was trying to tell a story and read off those depressing experiences from the box.

Putting the mix, arrangements and The Record Room distraction aside, this was a rather wild and chaotic show; probably more so than the show in 2008. Although less theatrical, than that last show was. I just got the sense given it was the "last show" of this tour as they said, Amanda and TGTO along with the musicians from the opening acts, wanted to go out with a bang.

They played more or less every tune I would have wanted off Theatre is Evil save for "Massachusetts Avenue" and "Melody Dean." I suppose some of the Kickstarter Bonus tracks like"Ukele Anthem" and "Provanity" as well would have been nice; but beggars can't be choosers of course and given they played almost the entire record plus a few others and the Wham/George Michael cover, the set list was fulfilling enough.

The pictures and videos even added more. And the pictures, I may me mixing up with something else like for the massive $50 BOOK that the Kickstarter campaign helped fund, I recall Amanda sending out something requesting the Kickstarter backers send in Photos or Videos of themselves? Maybe they were used for something else, but part of me wondered if some of the photos used in the background on the screens were from those Backers, and I wished I had sent one in.

One other thing I am still forgetting or thrown off by is, while this was the last show of THIS LEG of the American Tour, last time I checked, she goes to Europe in a couple of weeks, and then is back in the States doing more shows in November. Unless some of her tour was canceled?

The extra jams and things, along with thank you's I believe also came out last night due to the fact her husband Neil Gaiman was there (I don't think he was at many if any of the other shows thus far), given he lives in nearby Menomonie, Wisconsin. He even did a storytelling of sorts as 1 of the opening acts, telling his "Origin" of sorts about how he became a "writer" in some ways perhaps. I did find some of his story funny, although at times a bit over-the-top with the lude and sexual humor. I do think seeing him talk, I follow more now why Amanda and him are a couple. They do share many elements of being overtly honest, sexual and profane.

I should probably add, all of the opening acts, from Jherek Bischoff stuff including the Chamber pieces, to Chad Raines whose group The Simple Pleasure with their almost David Bowie-meets-Boy George Glam Rock, to Ronald Reagan "Boston's Premiere 80's Pop Saxophone Duo" all were entertaining, and artists I likely will seek out. I did even pick up a copy of Ronald Reagan's new EP which includes "Girls Just Want to Have Fun" (Cyndi Lauper) "Take on Me" (A-ha), "We Built This City" (Starship), "Total Eclipse of the Heart" (Bonnie Tyler) and "Beat It" (Michael Jackson) among others, which they played live.