Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Battle Circus RIP


I can't claim to be surprised, but it sucks being won over by another band and to see it happen. Most bands have a shelf life. I'll likely try and write more about this soon, but if not, certainly around the end of the year in my Albums Index as their debut record will certainly be well represented.

For all the folks who never caught on to them, well, you can still do so, but their end can't be blamed on myself. All I can say is it's a shame, and it sure would be nice if more people online would help me out here and take faith in bands like this I suggest.

facebook announcement

We are sorry to announce that Battle Circus disbanded. We hope that you have enjoyed the music as much as we have enjoyed your support and although Battle Circus has come to an end, Marcel will continue to write under another project and you will find updates here regarding it's progress.

Our debut album is still available. We’re very proud to have this as a permanent record of the band’s time together.

Related: Battle Circus - Battle Circus (2011)

Opeth - Heritage (2011) (1.0)

7/27/11 9:20AM
I know I'm almost a day late, but I didn't see anything about it yesterday somehow. But for those like me who didn't see it yet, here's 1st single "The Devil's Orchard":

Or Go Here to listen

6/1/11 12:20PM

01. Heritage
02. The Devil's Orchard
03. I Feel The Dark
04. Slither
05. Nepenthe
06. Haxprocess
07. Famine
08. The Lines In My Hand
09. Folklore
10. Marrow Of The Earth

5/25/11 11:37AM-5/26/11 2:02PM

press release


RSS Feed
Posted on May 26, 2011
OPETH, one of the most revered and respected bands in metal, release ‘Heritage’, their third album for Roadrunner on September 19th. The first video and single will be for the track 'The Devil’s Orchard'. ‘Heritage’ follows up 2008’s ‘Watershed’ and 2005’s ‘Ghost Reveries’, each of which brought the forward-thinking, genre-bending band some of the best reviews of their career.

Opeth frontman and guitarist Mikael Åkerfeldt weighed in on ‘Heritage’, saying, "It will be our 10th album/observation. I dig it; we all do. In fact, it feels like I've been building up to write for, and participate on an album like this since I was 19."

Åkerfeldt went a little deeper and described the music contained within ‘Heritage’, saying, "It's quite intense at times in some 'old' murky way, and quite beautiful and stark at times, if I may say so myself. It's obvious I'm going to say nice things about it since I wrote basically the whole piece, but I guess it will raise a few eyebrows and it certainly is an acquired taste. I think you'll need a slightly deeper understanding of our music as a whole to be able to appreciate this record. I've realized my influences for this album are so diverse that I can't really say what it sounds like. If I can compare it to any other band, it would have to be Opeth, but it's different from the stuff we've done before. I've listened a lot to Alice Cooper for the last year, yet I can't say it sounds like 'No More Mr Nice Guy'. I hope you'll like it once you hear it."

The album was produced by Åkerfeldt and mixed along with labelmate and friend, Porcupine Tree frontman/guitarist Steven Wilson. Longtime collaborator Travis Smith also worked with Åkerfeldt to create, design and execute the album’s artwork.

Track listing for ‘Heritage’ is as follows:

The Devil's Orchard"
I Feel the Dark"
The Lines in My Hand
Marrow of the Earth

‘Heritage’ will be released in several configurations that will certainly ignite the interest of Opeth’s legion of fans, known for their passion for collecting and collectibles. The album will be released as a standard version, as a special edition loaded with extras, as a box set exclusive to the bands own official Omerch webstore and as a double vinyl LP. Something for every Opeth fan!

Meanwhile, Opeth will be appearing at the Sonisphere Festival at Knebworth Park on Sunday 10th July.


and bmouth

Swedish progressive metallers OPETH will release their tenth album, "Heritage", on September 20 via Roadrunner Records. The CD was produced by OPETH vocalist/guitarist Mikael Åkerfeldt and was recorded earlier this year at Atlantis studios (formerly Metronome studios) in Stockholm. Mixing duties were handled by Steven Wilson (PORCUPINE TREE) and Åkerfeldt. Longtime collaborator Travis Smith also worked with Åkerfeldt to create, design and execute the album's artwork.

will be released in several configurations that will certainly incite the interest of OPETH's legion of fans, known for their passion for collecting and collectibles. The album will be released as a standard version; as a special edition loaded with extras; as a box set exclusive to the Roadrunner and the band's own official Omerch webstore; and as a double LP. There is something for every OPETH fan, thanks to this variety of options.

Åkerfeldt, "It will be our 10th album/observation. I dig it; we all do. In fact, it feels like I've been building up to write for and participate on an album like this since I was 19."

went a little deeper and described the music contained within "Heritage", saying, "It's quite intense at times in some 'old' murky way, and quite beautiful and stark at times, if I may say so myself.

"It's obvious I'm going to say nice things about it since I wrote, basically, the whole piece, but I guess it will raise a few eyebrows and it certainly is an acquired taste.

"I think you'll need a slightly deeper understanding of our music as a whole to be able to appreciate this record.

"I've realized my influences for this album are so diverse that I can't really say what it sounds like.

"If I can compare it to any other band, it would have to be
OPETH, but it's different from the stuff we've done before.

"I've listened a lot to
ALICE COOPER for the last year, yet I can't say it sounds like 'No More Mr. Nice Guy'.

"I hope you'll like it once you hear it."

track listing:

02. The Devil's Orchard

03. I Feel The Dark

04. Slither

05. Nepenthe

06. Haxprocess

07. Famine

08. The Lines In My Hand

09. Folklore

10. Marrow Of The Earth

will embark on a seven-week, headline tour of the U.S. Dates will be announced imminently.

facebook link
We can exclusively reveal that the new Opeth album will be titled 'HERITAGE'. The record is due for release through Roadrunner Records in September. More details to follow soon.

 title sounds pretty Opeth-like. I just hope it's better than Watershed.

edit: September 20th is the Street Date.

11/19/10 1:37AM

Thread from the Unofficial Opeth Forum

"8 new songs for next Opeth-album, Metronom Studio in the end of January

I just read an interview with Mikael Åkerfeldt in Scream Magazine #151 (Norway's biggest metal/hard rock-magazine). It featured very interesting news regarding the next album! According to Mikael Opeth have written 8 songs so far. They won't enter the studio before they have 15-20 songs ready. Opeth will enter the studio in the end of January. The studio they will use is Abba's old studio Metronom in Stockholm. Mikael wants to have a 70s-sound on the album, more precisely like the album had been released in 1978. Mikael mentioned that there are some very dark tones on the new material. One song is a tribute to Ronnie James Dio. This song might be on the album, but maybe not on the regular edition. "

70's vibe? Deep Purple meets Dio meets Black Sabbath meets Camel? (just thinking about Mikael's taste and what can be Opethian.

hmm hopefully it'll end up better than how Pain of Salvation tried that. Watershed is a mediocre album by Opeth's standards. How much do people even talk about it now? sure doesn't have that 2008-Apes and Androids impact now nearly 3 years later.

But, I do want new Opeth :)

However, I'd be pretty surprised if this new album is better than the new Agalloch.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

A Bend In the Road (Bend Sinister/Canadian Rock Doc)

I probably should write up more about this, but for now, I'll just say this documentary is both eye opening and depressing in many ways. I do like seeing members of People For Audio and The Most Serene Republic in here (along with Mahogany Frog who I know), along with Brasstronaut at the end.

The best thing to say, if it could do any amount of good is, MORE PEOPLE SHOULD SEE THIS. It is the hard, cold truth about touring, having 12 people show up for your gig. It's heartbreaking, not only for Bend Sinister who I of course heart immensely, but the other bands struggling.

The 2 bands I thought of who I wanted to see but didn't were the Eastern Canada acts Bruce Peninsula and Neverending White Lights. I wonder if Bend Sinister knows them or has toured with them since this footage which is a few years old now.

Also to add, reading about the lineup changes, I love them, but I follow why Spring Romance was more piano-driven music. I guess when their next full length comes out (maybe in 2011 still), I kind of don't expect it to have as much guitar featured songs like their other albums. But I'd like to be surprised by that of course.

Saturday, July 23, 2011

The Dear Hunter - Triple Rock Social Club (7/22/11)

Awesome show last night. But that's not too surprising. Here's what I recall of the set list.

Edit: here's a set list from last week, which I'm pretty sure is the same.

Never Forgive Never Forget
We've Got a Score to Settle
Mr. Malum
She's Always Singing
The Dead Don't Starve
The Church and The Dime
He Said He Had a Story
Fall and Flee
The Thief
Lost But Not All Gone
Filth and Squalor
Red Hands

the band are *tight* as they say. And while this lineup I had never seen them in. Nick, Casey's brother, is the only member who was with them the last time they played here in September of 2009. I think this may be the most cohesive group Casey's brought here. Although, the others were good too, including Erick Serna, Josh Rheault of course and Nate Patterson (formerly of The Receiving End of Sirens), Josh and some others who used to play with TDH actually have a new project coming in a few weeks called mThe Mercies.

Casey's cousin Max along with a fella named Connor and Robert Parr, who the whole show (and even seeing amongst the crowd) I knew I recognized. He had at least played with live, As Tall As Lions, at at least 1 of the 1st two shows I saw them. The last one at The Varsity Theater, he wasn't with them though. Not sure why (budget?), but it was cool to see another familiar face with The Dear Hunter last night.

The show itself was great. Energetic, and actually pretty loud at times. As you can see by the set list, it was mostly stuff off The Color Spectrum. Some of which are among my favorites like "Echo" "Lost But Not All Gone" and "Home" which is one that I almost tear up now hearing. And "Mr.Malum," man the vocal performance on that song is just immense! One of the best vocal parts Casey's ever written, and it was just as outstanding live.

As I told Casey, I think each show they've played here in Minnesota has been better than the last. I suppose at some point they may not be able to top themselves, something I'd say Fair to Midland has struggled to do the last few shows here.

But The Dear Hunter in concert is an EVENT for me. And hopefully for others as well. Hopefully they'll headline more shows here, although in chatting with Casey and Connor I believe, they mentioned coming back (or translation, ON TOUR and maybe  but not guaranteed to be back in MN) in October with Manchester Orchestra. They likely would be opening for MO though, but perhaps it will be held at The Varsity Theater.

Whether I'll be able to use my Lifetime Membership Badge for that show? it may or may not happen. Supposedly for the Non-Headlining shows, they do allow like 5 guest list spots, and as evidenced last night, there aren't many Lifetime Members too close, a couple were there from Wisconsin. But beyond them and like 1 or 2 others, sadly/luckily, unless someone travels from further out of town, I won't be likely competing for Lifetime Member guestlist slots HERE. Now if it was a show in Philadelphia, or Los Angeles or something, I probably would.

It was interesting how I walked up and showed my badge and ID and the security guy just marked my hand and I went in. So maybe they put me on the Guestlist and just never emailed me. Or maybe Casey did after I received a message from him on the Lake and the River message board.

I did mention both Falling Up and The River Empires to fans and Casey, although I didn't really get to ask Casey why he hasn't promoted/mentioned The River Empires all that much. Shoot. I also wish I had asked/mentioned to Casey about Used Bin Radio and touring with dredg and Porcupine Tree. Hopefully next time.

So, I should probably add some stuff about the other bands as well.
The Felix Culpa
Kay Kay and His Weathered Underground

The Felix Culpa I actually re-checked out a few months ago and have begun to really like. I saw them actually open for The Dear Hunter back in 2009 and remember liking them, but not enough to go back to them. But I don't recall if it was on The Lake and the River, 5/8 forums, or just a blog or something, but I believe their album Sever Your Roots from 2010 impressed me more than enough, that I was excited to see them again. And they were pretty good, except the fact they began at 5pm on the nose I guess, I only caught maybe their last 4 songs.

They're progressive rock of a sort, using varied dynamics, and emotional (hardcore) vocals at times. I guess the thing I want to do is go back and listen to Sever Your Roots on cd and write a more proper review of it. But my interest in them is definitely higher than it was a few months ago.

O'Brother and Kay Kay were kind of both a mixed bag. On one hand, they both had some wonderful moments. O'Brother at times were reminding me of the Doom/Sludge stuff I saw at the Triple Rock with Zebulon Pike. But they also had these softer textural sections which I enjoy. They have a debut album expected in a month or 2 (October did they say?), and I will check it out. One big reason in fact is the fact Timbre will be playing harp on like 4 songs.

Kay Kay and His Weathered Underground I saw at Station 4, at the show The Dear Hunter were supposed to be at back in July 2009, but didn't make it due to food poisoning. And I recall mewithoutYou was the headlining band that night. And compared to mwY, Kay Kay was great (I never got into mwY even with the fact Timbre played with them as well, their christian element certainly didn't help). I actually recall after that show, buying their cd and thinking I would get really into Kay Kay. But I probably played it once or twice since.

Why? I'm not sure, as on paper (lots of chamber instruments, piano, vocal harmonies), I should love them. Part of what I struggled with last night is their vocals. Their lead singer isn't punchy or really upfront/strong in his vocal delivery; he doesn't really extend himself much. They played 4 new songs, and there was one track he did, which I was really vibe-ing on. I guess those 4 tunes are from a new record, so I suppose I owe it to myself to at least check that out and perhaps revisit the album I bought a few years ago.

I also should add, Howler played with 2 other bands AFTER this show at The Triple Rock, and I was unclear if I should stick around for various reasons (sleep, I went to a Midnight screening of Captain America with the gf and another friend just on Thursday), but I did. I saw Jordan Gatesmith in the parking lot behind the club and if the timing or he had been hanging outside the front of the club, I would have been able to introduce him to Casey. It should have happened, but so be it. I gave him some burned copies of TCS to check out as I don't believe he knows Casey or TDH. But it is odd in a way to have one of Minnesota's best (and youngest) musicians/songwriters in the very same place/time as one of the world's best. But neither knows/knew that. But years from now, maybe it'll be noted. Much like when I ran into Dean Magraw and Earl Root together at Pizza Luce in the Warehouse District after an Opeth concert 2001.

Howler 's performance was, fun energetic, and a bit mesmerizing at times, live last night. The single "I Told You Once" is catchy, even if it may become overplayed on Radio K. I am a little on the fence about them overall, only that Jordan's vocals heavily emphasize the punk-screaming, and their tendency to use power chords/distortion, may hurt the other parts of their music. But I will say, their best moments are really good. Almost trippy or psychedelic. Jordan told me he likens some of their music to the band Television which I can see, and I do like them (from the brief amounts of their music I've heard. Marquee Moon of course is regarded as a classic. And Local Natives played on a tribute/benefit album for them a few years ago).

I should not forget though a little bit of a rant about this show. The Dear Hunter HEADLINE here at The Triplerock, yet the only media publication that talked anything about it as far as I know, being and Jay Boller. Props to Jay anyway. But I find it still pretty PATHETIC that the Twin Cities Music Media don't give The Dear Hunter the time of day. I'm referring to Jon Bream, Chris Riemenschneider and of course the people in charge of 89.3 (MW?) and even Radio K (sorry Kayleigh). I suppose to add to that group, just the hipster bloggers like at , Citypages and even some of those people who keep blogs that others know like Culture Bully and Minneapolis Fucking Rocks blog.

I have to continue to say to those folks: WHERE THE FUCK ARE YOU??? And why do you continue to SLEEP ON, The Dear Hunter's music? They were just on NATIONAL FUCKING TV, lol. They come in town to HEADLINE and at a  rather prominent/hip venue like The Triple Rock, and you don't say one fucking word about them. "It's going right under their noses"

Years from now, if/when The Dear Hunter become even a fraction of how popular they should be, I hope those folks remember this and wonder why the fuck they didn't give them their deserved attention. Is it because they're "prog"?? Well if that's the case, those people should take their heads out of their asses. The Color Spectrum is FILLED with short/radio-friendly and amazingly accessible songs that have little to no element of the common stereotype of "prog rock." But because TDH get the "prog" label, those people won't hear about them in the 1st place, or even if they do, they will decide they suck without even hearing 1 note. Which by the way, the fact they do that is fundamentally what's wrong with the people in charge/influence in the music media today, in Minnesota and around the globe actually. But Minnesota it frequently sticks out like a sore thumb maybe worse than other markets.

Friday, July 22, 2011

Beavis and Butt-head - RETURNS!

7/22/11 2:21PM

A clip shown at Comic-Con (I haven't watched it yet tho. Hopefully it won't be pulled anytime soon).

2/3/11 12:17AM


Confirming reports that first surfaced last summer, MTV announced today that Beavis and Butt-head is returning with new episodes. Mike Judge is back as the main creative force, and of course, the voice of the title characters, who were last seen in a cameo in Jackass 3D. reports that MTV made the announcement at their Upfront presentation in New York today. The network hasn't revealed yet when the new episodes will debut.

Wow. I have about a "bazillion" (as they say on the show) thoughts, or potential thoughts about this. Let's see how much I can cover here.

a) This is one of my favorite television shows or any kind of humor/entertainment of any kind to exist. So, for that fact, this is a REALLY big deal.

b) I have often wondered what the show would be like now. Technology, the internet, cellphones, ipods, I mean in the 14 years since it went off the air, a lot has changed. Technology, the music industry, reality shows. There's a WEALTH of pop-culture resources to use in an updated version of the show, now in 2011.

c) Could this hurt or taint the legacy of the show? I would hope not, but part of me is a little worried about this.

d) Is this a sign of desperation on Mike Judge's part? I would hope not, but part of me can't avoid asking that question. Why now? the economy? lack of success/jobs for his other work?

e) I have never, I don't believe, had something this significant in terms of my entertainment interests, return like this. TV movies/specials, or even feature films I suppose. But it's a bit like if Cheers came back now. Or in a looser sense, for people who loved the original Star Trek, when The Next Generation and Deep Space 9 came in. Or Galactica more recently.

e2) and along those lines. Could this taint the originals legacy? As long as they have Mike Judge doing most of the work he did on the original, I have hope. Although, part of me wonders if Judge himself will be able to hit on as many cylinders now, so many years later, like he did with the original show. I mean look at The Simpsons now? case in point.

So, those points all in mind, to say this is something that I'm excited about would be true. This almost feels like in 2006-2009 anticipation and then realization of the Soundscape album coming out. Huge levels of nostalgia. I think the nostalgia factor may allow this to work, at least to a point, no matter how good or not-as-good it actually is.


Now, maybe a Deep Space 9 movie/mini-series/reunion will happen too. That actually might top this for me, if that's possible. Or Freaks and Geeks as well.

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Psych: Don't You Forget About Me (6th Season Promo Video)

haha, it's funny, as my co-host and I used this song for the one of the John Hughes-themed High School episodes Podcasts: Murder Anyone? Bueller? Anyone? a few years ago.

Gee, did they possibly come up with the idea after hearing our Podcast? doubtful, but if there was some justice, they could/should have.

Anyway, good to finally learn the season premieres in OCTOBER.

Jimmy Gnecco News: (The Heart re-release/Weathervane)

Interesting interview, 1st off the frequent praise of Mercy and stressing how still not enough people even heard it, which I would totally echo, in fact I probably haven't echoed enough even on this blog. Mercy is a 5-star record that Rick Rubin's name is on as the producer (for what that actually means), yet even with Rubin getting a Grammy Nomination for its mix I recall, it really never got talked about like it should have. Hip4k I don't think even reviewed it, nor did 89.3 or Radio K ever play anything off of it. But they still could of course. Will they? I probably have a better chance getting my own Technical Death Metal show on 89.3, than that happening.

But also in that interview, it's good to hear info about his current work. The Heart is being re-released and re-arranged, and initially coming out in Europe. The way he describes the difference in the songs, and adding strings, layers, electric guitar, has me pretty curious (even tho I'm a huge fanboy anyway, The Heart didn't end up as great as I hoped last year. Maybe revisiting it would help).

And then the info that I was just reading about this project Weathervane here on the Ours forum, and Weathervane made music for the soundtrack for the film Head Hunters. If I'm getting this all correctly.

Sample of a song/interview here with Paul and Jimmy.

This musician Paul Waaktaar-Savoy I guess is one of if not the main creative force behind a-ha.

I'm curious what this may lead to as that song is pretty good, albeit a little different than Ours and Jimmy's solo music.

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

The Gloomcatcher - Starla Over the Fences [EP] (2011) (1.0)

7/15/11-7/17/11-7/19/11 9:AM
it should be available this coming Tuesday, July 19th.

1. Younger Wives 04:27
2. Junelight 04:40
3. Cinevexions 03:41
4. Sleep Now Westward 02:18
5. Horses 04:13
6. The Wayfarer's Daughter 02:43
5/29/11 11:48AM

facebook announcement

The new EP - Starla Over The Fences - will be out July 19, 2011

So, here's looking at an incredibly busy and prolific schedule this Summer for Jessy.

6/28/11: Falling Up - Your Sparkling Death Cometh
7/19/11 The Gloomcatcher - Starla Over the Fences EP
9/2011: The River Empires - Mars/Brighton II + Documentary

also he is to appear on The Dear Hunter's The Color Spectrum which is released on June 14th. Wow. They say I'M "a machine" with music intake. I don't seem to have much of anything on Jessy ;).

facebook post

"Guess what I'm currently working on??? A little EP that I was supposed to release in October last year."

I read a quote I thought Jessy Ribordy saying that he's working on this EP due to the fact the timing of the next The River Empires album was delayed more than he anticipated. Sort of as another thing to put out for the fans of his work until TRE's. And as that says, this EP was supposed to be released last year actually. I recall seeing a few posts from him or others about that.

Slow Chorale, the debut record from TGC was pretty good. I think the stuff on this EP is going to be some songs (or ideas for songs) that he hadn't finished, but were written (came up with) during the same time as the music on Slow Chorale. So to expect vast differences in the music on this from SC might not make sense.

But regardless, this is something to look forward to along with the new Falling Up record, and then likely in the fall sometime, Mars/Brighton II the 2nd LP from The River Empires. And soon, as it may even be released digitally before the new Falling Up record.

Thursday, July 14, 2011

2011 Emmy Nominations INCLUDE PSYCH!

well, they don't, but they should have. I obviously do not have time to dissect these right now category by category as I'm at work. But if I do have the time soon, I shall, maybe in podcast form and/or as well.

But yeah, fucking predictably pathetic list. Breaking Bad MIA, but I'll give them a pass given the show hasn't aired since the last Emmy's. But Psych, White Collar, Royal Pains, and even Burn Notice absent (save for 1 sound mixing nomination that nobody gives 2 shits about, lol).


Nominees for the 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards
July 14, 2011, 7:45 AM EST
MSN Entertainment

The Primetime Emmy nominations have been announced by the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The HBO miniseries "Mildred Pierce" starring Kate Winslet earned 21 nominations, more than any other program. "Mad Men" received 19 nominations and has a chance to continue its winning streak in the Best Drama category for the fourth year in a row. "Modern Family," last year's top comedy series, was the most-nominated sitcom, earning 17 nominations.

Bing: Emmy nominee reactions

The 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards will be presented Sept. 18 at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles. The show will be hosted by Jane Lynch and will air on FOX.

Photos: See all the nominees

Drama Series
"Boardwalk Empire"
"Friday Night Lights"
"Game of Thrones"
"The Good Wife"
"Mad Men"

Drama, Lead Actor
Steve Buscemi, "Boardwalk Empire"
Kyle Chandler, "Friday Night Lights"
Michael C. Hall, "Dexter"
Jon Hamm, "Mad Men"
Hugh Laurie, "House"
Timothy Olyphant, "Justified"

Drama, Lead Actress
Kathy Bates, "Harry's Law"
Connie Britton, "Friday Night Lights"
Mireille Enos, "The Killing"
Mariska Hargitay, "Law and Order: SVU"
Julianna Margulies, "The Good Wife"
Elisabeth Moss, "Mad Men"

Comedy Series
"30 Rock"
"The Big Bang Theory"
"Modern Family"
"The Office"
"Parks and Recreation"

Comedy, Lead Actor
Alec Baldwin, "30 Rock"
Louis C.K., "Louie"
Steve Carell, "The Office"
Johnny Galecki, "The Big Bang Theory"
Matt LeBlanc, "Episodes"
Jim Parsons, "The Big Bang Theory"

Comedy, Lead Actress
Edie Falco, "Nurse Jackie"
Tina Fey, "30 Rock"
Laura Linney, "The Big C"
Melissa McCarthy, "Mike and Molly"
Martha Plimpton, "Raising Hope"
Amy Poehler, "Parks and Recreation"

Comedy, Supporting Actor
Ty Burrell, "Modern Family"
Chris Colfer, "Glee"
Jon Cryer, "Two and a Half Men"
Jesse Tyler Ferguson, "Modern Family"
Ed O'Neill, "Modern Family"
Eric Stonestreet, "Modern Family"

Comedy, Supporting Actress
Julie Bowen, "Modern Family"
Jane Krakowski, "30 Rock"
Jane Lynch, "Glee"
Sofia Vergara, "Modern Family"
Betty White, "Hot in Cleveland"
Kristen Wiig, "Saturday Night Live"

Drama, Supporting Actor
Andre Braugher, "Men of a Certain Age"
Josh Charles, "The Good Wife"
Alan Cumming, "The Good Wife"
Peter Dinklage, "Game of Thrones"
Walton Goggins, "Justified"
John Slattery, "Mad Men"

Drama, Supporting Actress
Christine Baranski, "The Good Wife"
Michelle Forbes, "The Killing"
Christina Hendricks, "Mad Men"
Kelly Macdonald, "Boardwalk Empire"
Margo Martindale, "Justified"
Archie Panjabi, "The Good Wife"

TV Movie or Miniseries
"Cinema Verité"
"Downton Abbey"
"The Kennedys"
"Mildred Pierce"
"Pillars of the Earth"
"Too Big To Fail"

Lead Actor in a Miniseries or TV Movie
Edgar Ramirez, "Carlos"
Greg Kinnear, "The Kennedys"
Barry Pepper, "The Kennedys"
Idris Elba, "Luther"
Laurence Fishburne, "Thurgood"
William Hurt, "Too Big To Fail"

Lead Actress in a Miniseries or TV Movie
Diane Lane, "Cinema Verite"
Elizabeth McGovern, "Downton Abbey (Masterpiece)"
Kate Winslet, "Mildred Pierce"
Taraji P. Henson, "Taken From Me: The Tiffany Rubin Story"
Jean Marsh, "Upstairs Downstairs (Masterpiece)"

Supporting Actor in a Miniseries Or A Movie
"The Kennedys" - Tom Wilkinson
"Mildred Pierce" - Guy Pearce
"Mildred Pierce" - Brian F. O'Byrne
"Too Big To Fail" - Paul Giamatti
"Too Big To Fail" - James Woods

Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie
"Downton Abbey (Masterpiece)" - Maggie Smith
"Mildred Pierce" - Evan Rachel Wood
"Mildred Pierce" - Melissa Leo
"Mildred Pierce" - Mare Winningham
"Upstairs Downstairs (Masterpiece)" - Eileen Atkins

Guest Actor in a Drama Series
"Big Love" - Bruce Dern
"Brothers & Sisters" - Beau Bridges
"The Good Wife" - Michael J. Fox
"Harry's Law" - Paul McCrane
"Justified" - Jeremy Davies
"Mad Men" - Robert Morse

Guest Actress in a Comedy Series
"Glee" - Kristin Chenoweth
"Glee" - Dot-Marie Jones
"Glee" - Gwyneth Paltrow
"Raising Hope" - Cloris Leachman
"Saturday Night Live" - Tina Fey
"30 Rock" - Elizabeth Banks

Reality Competition
"The Amazing Race"
"American Idol"
"Dancing With the Stars"
"Project Runway"
"So You Think You Can Dance"
"Top Chef"

Reality Host
Tom Bergeron, "Dancing With the Stars"
Cat Deeley, "So You Think You Can Dance"
Phil Keoghan, "The Amazing Race"
Jeff Probst, "Survivor"
Ryan Seacrest, "American Idol"

Exceptional Merit in Nonfiction Filmmaking
"Freedom Riders"
"The Most Dangerous Man In America: Daniel Ellsberg And The Pentagon Papers (POV)"

Sound Editing for a Series
"Boardwalk Empire"
"Game Of Thrones"
"True Blood"
"The Walking Dead"

Sound Editing for a Miniseries, Movie Or A Special
"Any Human Heart (Masterpiece)"
"Downton Abbey (Masterpiece)"
"Mildred Pierce"
"The Pillars Of The Earth"

Sound Editing for Nonfiction Programming (Single Or Multi-Camera)
"The Amazing Race"
"American Idol"
"American Masters"
"Baseball: The Tenth Inning"
"Whale Wars"

Sound Mixing for a Comedy Or Drama Series (One Hour)
"Boardwalk Empire"
"Burn Notice"
"Mad Men"

Sound Mixing for a Miniseries Or A Movie "Cinema Verite"
"The Kennedys"
"Mildred Pierce"
"Too Big To Fail"

Sound Mixing for a Comedy Or Drama Series (Half-Hour) And Animation
"Family Guy"
"Modern Family"
"The Office"
"Parks And Recreation"

Sound Mixing for a Variety Or Music Series Or Special
"83rd Annual Academy Awards"
"American Idol" finale
"The 53rd Annual Grammy Awards"

Sound Mixing for Nonfiction Programming
"The Amazing Race"
"American Idol"
"American Masters"
"Deadliest Catch"

Special Visual Effects for a Series
"Boardwalk Empire"
"The Borgias"
"Game Of Thrones"
"Stargate Universe"
"The Walking Dead"

Special Visual Effects for a Miniseries, Movie Or A Special
"Mildred Pierce"
"The Pillars Of The Earth"
"Sherlock: A Study In Pink (Masterpiece)"

Stunt Coordination
"Game Of Thrones"
"Hawaii Five-O"
"Spartacus: Gods Of The Arena"

Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Series
"American Idol"
"The Daily Show With Jon Stewart"
"Dancing With The Stars"
"Saturday Night Live"
"30 Rock"

Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special
"83rd Annual Academy Awards"
"Don Pasquale (Great Performances At The Met)"
"The 53rd Annual Grammy Awards"
"The Kennedy Center Honors"
"Lady Gaga Presents The Monster Ball Tour: At Madison Square Garden"

Writing for a Comedy Series
"Modern Family"
"The Office"
"30 Rock"

Writing for a Drama Series
"Friday Night Lights"
"Game Of Thrones"
"The Killing"
"Mad Men"

Writing for a Miniseries, Movie or a Dramatic Special
"Downton Abbey (Masterpiece)"
"Mildred Pierce"
"Sherlock: A Study In Pink (Masterpiece)"
"Too Big To Fail"
"Upstairs Downstairs (Masterpiece)"

Outstanding Writing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Series
"The Colbert Report"
"The Daily Show With Jon Stewart"
"Late Night With Jimmy Fallon"
"Saturday Night Live"

Writing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Special
"Colin Quinn: Long Story Short"
"Louis C.K.: Hilarious"
"Night Of Too Many Stars: An Overbooked Benefit For Autism Education"
"The Real Women Of SNL"
"64th Annual Tony Awards"

Writing for Nonfiction Programming
"Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations"
"Freedom Riders"
"Moguls & Movie Stars"

Scott Matthews - What the Night Delivers (2011)

1. Myself Again
2. Obsession Never Sleeps
3. Ballerina Lake
4. Bad Apple
5. So Long, My Moonlight
6. Head first into Paradise
7. Walking Home in the Rain
8. Echoes of the Lonely
9. The Man who had Everything
10. Piano Song

well this is another pleasant surprise. It drops on September 5th. 2009's Elsewhere I found to be rather refreshing, and good, but not really an exact repeat of his highly Jeff Buckley-like debut album Passing Stranger.

Could be another sleeper for 2011. We'll see.

Jazzkamikaze - Future Blaster (2011) (1.0) 2 new songs

7/14/11 5:30AM
"Volcano" clip

it says "Return of Jazzkamikaze Fall 2011". So Fall this should be out (hopefully).

5/28/11 9:46AM

Facebook post with In Studio Footage

I dig the guitar solo.

3/31/11 9:47AM

facebook wall post

Alright everybody!!! Get ready... Check out a snippet from our album-to-be-released-later-this-year.... FUTURE BLASTER!

1 minute 05 second snippet

1/21/11 5:15PM


2 new songs are on their myspace "Fatine" and "Rafters"..still hoping to see news about their next album soon beyond their latest post on facebook

is working... on something... old school... yet completely fresh

as they posted about spending a fair amount of time in the studio last Summer, and with those 2 new tracks (which are both good by the way), the next album seems like it could come rather soon. But without a lot of info specifically about it, a Summer or Fall release might be likely if it comes this year.

Oh, and I still loathe myspace. Hopefully within a few years it is literally a dire wasteland. As every time I go there, firefox slows down horribly.

The Dear Hunter - on G4's "Attack of the Show" 7/14/11

Supposedly they will be appearing on there later today. 1st television appearance by The Dear Hunter ever. Who knows, maybe it'll lead to Conan, Leno, etc.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

2011 Albums to Come:

I'll edit in (or post another entry soon, hopefully tomorrow) with a list of the Pending info about, maybe with a rating with how likely it'll be. But these are as far as I know, the certain records on my radar that are set to come out at this time. The 3 album doesn't have a date yet, but at least a title, track list, and projected month.

EDIT: the "Pending Info" list has been edited/added-to.


War of Currents (2011)

July 15th.

The Gloomcatcher

Starla Over the Fences (2011) [EP]

July 19th.
Three Thousand Days


Three Thousand Days (2011)

July 25th.
Sky Full of Holes

Fountains of Wayne

Sky Full of Holes (2011)

August 2nd.
Falling Deeper


Falling Deeper (2011)

September 5th.


Sympathetic Resonance (2011)

September 13th.
A Dramatic Turn of Events

Dream Theater

A Dramatic Turn of Events (2011)

September 13th.

Umphrey's McGee

Death by Stereo (2011)

September 13th.

St. Vincent

Strange Mercy (2011)

September 13th.


Heritage (2011)

September 20th.
Grace for Drowning

Steven Wilson

Grace for Drowning (2011)

September 27th


The Ghost You Gave to Me (2011)


Pain of Salvation

Road Salt Two (2011)


Mute Math

Odd Soul (2011)

October 4th.
The Hunter


The Hunter (2011)


Info Pending

House of Fools

Versus the Beast (2011)

Neverending White Lights

Act III: Love Will Ruin (2011)

The River Empires

Mars/Brighton II (2011)

Bruce Peninsula

Open Flames (2011)


Future Blaster (2011)

Klimt 1918

Die sentimentale jugend (2011)

The Jelly Jam

Shall We Descend? (2011)

East of the Wall

The Apologist (2011)


Songs of Ascent (2011)
Drawing Circles Textures
Black Future Vektor

Exotic Animal Petting Zoo

The Tree of Tongues (2011)

Timmy Sean & the Celebrities

East Coast Girls and West Coast Dreams (2011)
Akeldama The Faceless

Nashville Josh Rouse
Absence Paper Route
Enter Russian Circles

Stories of Brothers, Tales of Lovers Bend Sinister
De-Loused in the Comatorium The Mars Volta
Be He Me Annuals
Strike a Mortal Terror Shelter Red
The Spear of the Lily Is Aureoled Sculptured
Hannah The Age of Rockets
The Aurora Veil Ne Obliviscaris
Revitalized Painted In Exile

Steve Morse + Neal Morse + Mike Portnoy + Dave LaRue + Casey McPherson Project

Adrenaline Mob

2011 Album Index Midyear (or the 60% or so mark)

Alright, here's my lazy copy+paste list from my rateyourmusic page. I know, some words should be added. Too busy, too much procrastinating, too distracted, too lazy etc.

I should just post this identical list every week or 2 (*has idea, maybe for the rest of this year/next year*).

The next post I make, is the more intriguing one anyway.


Released but haven't Heard Yet/Enough


One (2011)
Stone Rollin'

Raphael Saadiq

Stone Rollin' (2011)


Voice (2011)
Rocket Science

Béla Fleck & the Flecktones

Rocket Science (2011)

Have Heard
White Silence

Cave In

White Silence (2011)
Helplessness Blues

Fleet Foxes

Helplessness Blues (2011)

Friendly Fires

Pala (2011)
Amanda Palmer Goes Down Under

Amanda Palmer

Amanda Palmer Goes Down Under (2011)
Tunnel Blanket

This Will Destroy You

Tunnel Blanket (2011)
Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will.


Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will. (2011)

Devin Townsend

Deconstruction (2011)

2-stars. Another job and a half to get through. I'm likely giving up on him. Even though there were a couple of songs that worked, and some others with momentary highlights.
The King Is Dead

The Decemberists

The King Is Dead (2011)
Deep Politics


Deep Politics (2011)


Silesia (2011)

w h o k i l l


w h o k i l l (2011)

Elef Kirot

Daniel Jakubovic

Elef Kirot (2011)

Modern Skirts

Gramahawk (2011)
The English Riviera


The English Riviera (2011)
Welcome to My DNA


Welcome to My DNA (2011)



08:36:59 (2010)

Thomas Giles

Pulse (2011)
Digital Veil

The Human Abstract

Digital Veil (2011)
Anna Calvi

Anna Calvi

Anna Calvi (2011)

Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears

Scandalous (2011)
Level 2

Last Chance to Reason

Level 2 (2011)


People (2011)


The singer's swallowing and effeminite nature kills what is a record with some wonderful harmonic moments.
Now Comes the Mystery

Sound & Shape

Now Comes the Mystery (2011) [EP]
La caverne


La caverne (2011)

Dead Pool

Shadows (2011) [EP]

Protest the Hero

Scurrilous (2011)

Follow Me Down

Sarah Jarosz

Follow Me Down (2011)
Technicolour Experiments

Strange Maps

Technicolour Experiments (2011) [EP]

Long Distance Calling

Long Distance Calling

Long Distance Calling (2011)

The Audio Guide To Happiness (Part I)


The Audio Guide To Happiness (Part I) (2011)
Tamer Animals

Other Lives

Tamer Animals (2011)
Gloss Drop


Gloss Drop (2011)

Emanuel and The Fear

Hands (2011) [EP]
The Collective

Scale the Summit

The Collective (2011)


I still have issues with their recipe, of instrumental prog-metal, because the fact remains, it has been done many times before, and in some cases much better. But this is an improvement over their last album. I may find myself playing this record at times this year, mostly for energy purposes. Also one observation to make is how the 2nd half of it includes more moments to enjoy, which overall, adds to reasons to go back to it.
Deerhoof vs. Evil


Deerhoof vs. Evil (2011)


Omnivium (2011)
Burst Apart

The Antlers

Burst Apart (2011)

3.5 stars
3x's live, 1x stream
Arrows and Anchors

Fair to Midland

Arrows and Anchors (2011)
Carnival Is Forever


Carnival Is Forever (2011)


Matilda (2011)
The Cimmerian Years


The Cimmerian Years (2011)
Lonely Hunter

Brute Heart

Lonely Hunter (2011)

大発見 (Daihakken)


大発見 (Daihakken) (2011)
All Out of Peaches

The Galactic Cowboy Orchestra

All Out of Peaches (2011)

early review
The Discovery

Born of Osiris

The Discovery (2011)



DeEvolution (2011)

1x Prelim. This could become one of my favorites of 2011 just on 1st impression. Erik Rosvold sounds wonderful on here. Rather Pink Floydy.
Fables of the Sleepless Empire


Fables of the Sleepless Empire (2011)
I Laugh at Your Greener Pastures

Brice Plays Drums

I Laugh at Your Greener Pastures (2011)
Your Sparkling Death Cometh

Falling Up

Your Sparkling Death Cometh (2011)
Pursuit of Radical Rhapsody

Al Di Meola

Pursuit of Radical Rhapsody (2011)

Fly From Here


Fly From Here (2011)
Chuckles and Mr. Squeezy


Chuckles and Mr. Squeezy (2011)
Mondo Amore

Nicole Atkins

Mondo Amore (2011)
Plains of the Purple Buffalo


Plains of the Purple Buffalo (2011)

massive record, depending how addictive it gets, could be a top 10 contender at least.
Light Year

Water & Bodies

Light Year (2011)
Deaden the Fields

Tangled Thoughts of Leaving

Deaden the Fields (2011)

slight projection, but I was stunned by a lot of this for the 1st time today (7/7/11)

Battle Circus

Battle Circus (2011)
The Parallax: Hypersleep Dialogues

Between the Buried and Me

The Parallax: Hypersleep Dialogues (2011) [EP]

1 1/3 x's
The Color Spectrum: The Complete Collection

The Dear Hunter

The Color Spectrum: The Complete Collection (2011) [Compilation]
Terror and Everything After

Hotel of the Laughing Tree

Terror and Everything After (2011)